Sept. 19 (Bloomberg) -- The number of fetuses and newborns who
die because of a condition their mothers develop while pregnant has
fallen as doctors perfect their timing in inducing labor, a new
study shows.
Doctors in Norway are inducing deliveries earlier for pregnant
women with preeclampsia, a condition marked by high blood pressure
and protein in the urine, boosting survival for both mothers and
their babies, according to the study, published today by the
Journal of the American Medical Association.
Doctors have been trying to balance the need to give a baby as
much time as possible in the womb with the medical strain on the
mother.
``There have been great advances in timing the delivery, so it
benefits the baby and the mother,'' said Olga Basso, one of the
study's authors and a researcher at the National Institute of
Environmental Health Sciences in North Carolina. ``As the mother
crashes, the baby will crash, too.''
The study reviewed Norwegian records for single births to
first-time mothers from 1967 to 2003 to compare incidents of
preterm births and induced labors for women with preeclampsia and
rates of infant survival. It found that while the percentage of
induced labors before 37 weeks rose to 20 percent from 1991 to 2003
from 8 percent in 1967 to 1978, stillbirths fell to 1.3 per 1,000
babies born in the later time span from 4.2 in the earlier period,
Basso said.

8 Percent of Pregnancies

Preeclampsia affects as many as 8 percent of all pregnancies
and typically occurs after 20 weeks of gestation, although it can
occur earlier, according to the Preeclampsia Foundation, a
nonprofit research and education advocate based in Bellevue,
Washington. High blood pressure and protein in the urine are often
accompanied by swelling, sudden weight gain, headaches and changes
in vision, and can cause illness and death in the mother and the
baby.
``There's not really a science to treating preeclampsia,''
said Eleni Tsigas, chairwoman of the foundation's board. ``All
you're really doing is monitoring it because it can go from mild to
severe very quickly.''
The condition is responsible for 76,000 deaths a year, the
group said.
Medical advances, including better care of premature babies
and improved access to prenatal care, have helped push down the
overall number of infant deaths, including those related to
preeclampsia, Basso said. Early detection of the condition through
a noninvasive test, as well as improved fetal monitors, have also
helped, although there is no way to prevent it.
``Just delivering the babies isn't enough,'' Tsigas said. ``We
really need to find a way to prevent preeclampsia.''

--Editor: J. Norton.

Story illustration: For the Journal of the American Medical
Association, see http://jama.ama-assn.org. For the Preeclampsia
Foundation, see http://www.preeclampsia.org.

To contact the reporter on this story:
Courtney Dentch in New York at (1) (212) 617-8732 or
[email protected].

To contact the editor responsible for this story:
Aimee Sullivan at (1) (212) 617-8957 or
[email protected].</font>

GingerCat
Dun mention it!
hope u get better soon!

Aspialle
then i think u miss ur hb lah.
u can try massaging ur calves on ur own, though it doesnt feel as gd as ur hb massaging u. he will b back soon.

Selina
Seems like me, u &amp; Vivian's babies top the charts wif their weights still!

Selina
She told me yest alrdy... but i din wanna announce on her behalf... let her tell the rest when she logs in.

yah she did say bfg v challenging. i asked her to seek LC's advice. And ask her to press on!

Ester/Aspialle
When I had v frequent leg cramps in my 2nd trimester, I did all the followings and they help. After I stopped for a mth plus, it came back yest.
1. wear thick socks, up to ankle can liao
2. ask hb to massage ur calves every nights b4 u sleep
3. put a pillow below ur feet when u sleep

jenny
I dont rem the wordings on the carseat I bot, only rem the pure blue one is in Japanese. I was too happy to see it, so I just quickly check the quality then pay for it liao. Oh ya, need to bring my IC. I better leave it with him now, else forget they dont let me in. hehehe.

Wendy/Gemini
Yest was the first time I experienced white colour mucus like discharge in the morning. Just wonder is yours more like mucus or water? Happened once or more? Im going to check with my gynae this Sat too.

Wendy
Ur EDD is 8th Oct and u hvnt get started on the name? think u better speed up cos I took a v long time to just come out with a few names. And till now have not decided which one to use.

YES, today is wed liao, 3 more days to weekends. This Sat I can go see whats my bb doing inside my tummy again and whether he is gaining weight as I told him so. Im also going to hv dim sum at Tung Lok with my family
kao_drool.gif
, just in case I pop anytime after I stop my medication next week.

gemini,
Pooing is not really one of the symptons. But you got to observe, if you suddenly got LS or pooing (like a few times), this is the time that our bodies are clearing the bowels. Then after that, you will feel like want to poo but nothing comes out. This is one of the symptons that you got to observe.

babygrace,
hee hee... if you gal wanna come out early also no choice. Anyway, wait for the big day!

crystallized,
Looks like your boy will come out full term. Maybe few days before your EDD. Why ah? Wanna meet me at TMC is it? kekeke...

By the way, my BH getting stronger and stronger... Just now pain till my tears came out... Now I'm starting to get confuse... dunno is BH or BB's movement or contractions!

Selina,
Open up the package to check if all parts are there. Then try to see if the motor works. I tot you collecting on 29 Sep wor. I may intend to collect it early too since I'm seeing gynae on 25 Sep, thinking to drop by to collect (since I will pass by Infantree) on my way from office to gynae's clinic.
Did you call them up to inform you collecting early? Or just pop by?

Selina, crystallized,
Wah liew, from the way you gals talk, is Vivian's boy big or small? Make me very curious leh.

coolcoolmum,
So the Ace Baby carseat you bought, the words is in Japanese or English? Winnie and the staff in Kiddy Palace told me Japanese wordings is the old batch stock. New stock is the English words. And becos of the English words, the price increase by $10!

jenny,
since i might go for induction next week or so, i thought better collect early to be on the save side. hb was ard that area yesterday so i called up to tell them i collecting it so they say ok.

tks for your advice, i will go open it later and try out. i tried the motor yesterday and it works but did not open the packet with all the funnels etc. hb said the person told him there's an extra valve inside.

wait till vivian post. u will b surprised

wah selina
u really making us v curious leh... let me guess, i think more than 3.5kg.

jenny
huh, $10 more just for the english word?? then i rather it to be in japanese since i think it looks nicer in japanese. will go take a look this weekend since it is still in the box inside the car boot.

crystallized/jenny
i've been telling my boy to come out on 6th oct cos that day is chinese "ba yue shi wu"! seems like there is a chance to meet at TMC wor.

Jenny
die lah, u 2nd ti,e mummy oso confused wif the symptoms liao. me no more tensed BH since the last false alarm 2 sundays ago. aiyoh, ur BH so scary one, pain until ur tears come out?
u got check wif ur gynae is this normal? got do CTG? mine wkly CTG scans r ok one, not much contractions and bb's heartbeat is v gd reading.
funnily nxt wk, i no need to do CTG liao. dunno why. hahaha

yah man, think my bb aiming to come out nearer to full term. think min 39 wks then he will wanna pop.

hehehe, then u guess lor. vivian's bb weight...

Hi Jenny

You should be now in your 36 weeks already right?

I am now in my 34 weeks already.

I am also feeling very heavy and tired easily.

My doctor said that my baby gal is now very low but not yet engaged and might come out earlier. Maybe she might come out on week 36 (like my son).

What did your doctor say?

hi hi gingercat..
do hope u get better soon..cheers~

hi hi selina..
tell me..tell me Rhys' weight..aiyo..very exciting leh..keke..

hi hi coolcoolmum..
no, mine isnt the white colour mucus like discharge..cld u be losing ur murcus plug?u on what medication now?ya lor..me hvnt really started acting on the names..alamak..i got a few shortlisted but not able to firm it yet till date..keke..i think i better decide by this wkend..thks!

wendy
i'm on medication to stop the contraction. intend to stop the medication next week. i thot mucus plug discharge is red in colour? like that do i hv to call my gynae? but i still dont hv any feeling of contraction (maybe due to the medication) and i think my bb still not engaged yet. i rem my gynae said if the bb wants to come out now, even with the medication i should still feel the contraction.

hi hi coolcoolmum..
oic...why did ur gynae give u that medication to stop contraction?i guess maybe becoz of the medication, that's why u r not experiencing that much of the contractions ba..i m actually not sure if the mucus plug is in whatever color..becoz i think i read somewhere &amp; posted earlier on this..let me go &amp; find the url link ahh..give me sec..

hi hi coolcoolmum..
one more link..aft reading ahh..me now wondering if it's something like the "bai-tai" that we used to get b4 preggy..not very sure leh..

http://www.geocities.com/Wellesley/1483/mucusplug.html

What will it look like if I lose my mucus plug?
When you lose your mucus plug, it may be a little or a lot of gel like material. It will may be in a glob, stringy or just wetness. The mucus plug is clear to yellow-brownish in color, but may also be pinkish.

wendy
thanks alot for the links. based on the 2 links, now it does seem like mucus plug discharge to me. mine is white in color but towards v slight yellow. it seems like gel and abt a teaspoon or more amount. seems like i can still wait till Sat then check with my gynae. will monitor more on the contraction now. hopefully water bag dont break cos i still hope to wait for another 2 weeks to reach 37 week. bb guai guai be patient hor...
kao_kiss2.gif
kao_scared.gif

hi jenny,

thks for ur feedback on the pooing. Will observe the no of times that i go. Now after lunch, feeling tightness at both sides of my tummy.

Hi wendy/coolcoolmum,

my discharge is yellow-brownish which is slightly more watery than mucus. I thought it's like those "bai-tai" before preggie cos I have this problem. I was wondering whether it's due to the food/tea that I take, too liang for me so resulted in discharge.

Hi coolcoolmum,

same as u, my hb &amp; i was telling bb to come out on 1 Oct (Children Day) or 10 Oct (ba yue shi wu), easier to remember...

Selina,
Yes, there's an extra valve. My colleague is going to US next week. I'm asking him if is convenient to help me buy extra valves kekeke...
Take out to check the rest of the items for "in case".
Aiyo, you and crystallized very bad, make me more curious of Vivian's boy's weight. Maybe not that heavy bah...???? Or very heavy???!!!! Argh, I dun wan to guess. I let Vivian comes in to update us haha...

coolcoolmum,
Ya lor, I agreed Japanese wordings nicer. But no more stock for that. I will much prefer the baby blue color with Japanese wordings than this blue that I bought. I think we got the same stock lah, since we bought from Kiddy Palace.
Hahaha... ba yue shi wu ah, wait ppl busy eating mooncake and playing lantern, you busy in the delivery room kekeke... Like my time, I gave birth to my gal on zheng yue chu qi, ppl busy lao yu sheng...

crystallized,
Dunno leh, the contractions now make me very blurred! Not like this for my last pregnancy wor. My legs are very swollen today, and my tummy very tight (like going to explode) and pain. The lower part also pain, sometimes pain till I can't walk.
I going to "ren" till next Mon's checkup. Telling myself won't be so fast one lah. One of my friends, she got such contractions for 1 week plus before she gave birth.

jackiejon,
Yup, in my 36th week now (my first gal was born on week 36th, won't be so qiao bah?). I haven't see my gynae yet, so dunno if bb engaged or not. Dun wan to go see him now to make myself more worried. Just spoken to my mum when I went back during lunch time just now, she told me "when is time to due, you will know one lah". I guess I shall wait and see for now. Dun think so fast hor?

Jenny
Aiyoh muz suffer 1 wk for the contractions! how to endure the discomfort? tummy wanna explode is no fun leh.
u shld go visit gynae and find out wats the problem lah. so near ur plc somemore.

hehehe, we r gonna keep our lips shut until vivian comes in to reveal Rhys' weight.
u all guess 1st lah, then see who got the closest answer.

aspialle
cheer up! he will b back v soon!

hi crystalized &amp; selina,

both of u are indeed very bad.... hmm... this means vivian's boy wt is either very below or high from the estimated wt.

hi coral,

thks for pointing out. I'm the one who got the date wrong. verbally know that it's 6 Oct but when type it, it's become 10 Oct.

gemini,
Agreed... both crystallized and Selina gu zhuo shen mi hor.

crystallized,
Just checked with a few colleagues, they all said is intense BH. Shouldn't be real contractions. Though gynae is very near my home, but the waiting time can kill.

No lah, not tt we purposely dun wanna tell. coz vivian alrdy said she will come in and tell us her birth story so muz wait 4 her. cannot anyhow announce on her behalf mah.

u go get a queue number then go 4 dinner lah. go back clinic aft tt... dun tell me juz coz of the queue, u rather suffer?

nia, just met some colleagues and they also commented is intense BH. If real contractions, I should know. Will just wait and see... They said usually pain for 1 to 2 weeks wor... Anyway, will be seeing gynae next Mon, just few days nia

Jasmine,
yesterday bought the Toyogo 804-5. Think only difference is 5 drawers instead of 4 drawers. Ok lah. Our bedroom very small, so taller cupboard better lor. Btw, did u buy video cam? Any recommendations?

Aspialle,
Your sweetheart will be back very soon. Cheer up gal! Sunday coming liao!

Jenny,
the raffles mooncakes are those typical lian rong type lor. Raffles place has quite alot of stalls selling mooncakes now.

I haven't receive any letter from TMC also leh.

Ya, do agree that the waiting time at Dr Ang's clinic is terrible. Sometimes not according to queue somemore...Mayb u can call the clinic if u still feel very comfortable? If the nurses can't answer u, they'll transfer the call to Dr Ang. Last time I asked about chix pox, they also transferred call to him.

we play gao gao di di gao gao di lah. it's either higher than estimated weight or lower so u ladies see how many take the higher side, how many po the lower side.

let her update better lah. more interesting like that mah...

hi hi coolcoolmum..
ya..based on what u have described &amp; what i had read..seems like ur discharge is more like mucus plug to me..u monitor &amp; see how it goes ba..coz some pple might not even noticed that their mucus plug has fallen off if mucus plug comes out with urine lor..do keep us posted hor..cheers~

hi hi gemini..
mine is everyday also will have one..milky &amp; slightly yellowish most of the times..i hope this gets better..this coming fri i will need to chk with gynae again..somehow getting a little worried on the discharge..

wah say, after talking abt the mucus plug, think my mind is now thinking of labor coming soon. first thing i woke up fr my nap i noticed my whole tummy was tight and i can feel the shape of my bb, but no pain lor. i can even sia young his buttock!

Hi all MTBs
I'm new to this thread though I did "bump' into Jenny in the another thread. Am also seeing Dr Ang at Sun Plaza and due in Oct06.

Jenny &amp; Janice
I just received the TMC letter 2 days ago and posted the pre-admission form back to them yesterday. Yours should be on the way to your post box soon.

Jenny
You seriously can tahan the intense BH hor? If in doubt, call the clinic any time before 6pm. The call will most probably be forwarded to Dr Ang's mobile. I did that before and he answered the call. But this is last resort lah.

hehehe, jenny u so funny... say u took too much MC...
aiyoh, u dun like home alone ah? i LOVE it.

no one to bother or talk to me... if i wanna "talk", juz log into forum lor.

thot i was gg to hv flu but in the end hor, fake one... nvr fall sick. bleah

Selina
u wanna host the gao gao di di game ah?
any ladies wanna guess the baby's weight?

Hi Jenny

Okie, you let me know the outcome after your visit to your doctor on next Monday.

How long were you in labour when you had your eldest gal?

I heard people say that normally for the 2nd child it will be faster but dont know whether is it true or not?

crystallized
actually i dont feel my tummy tightening or shrinking. i only feel that it is tight when i use my hands to stroke my tummy then i feel the shape of my baby. after awhile when i stroke it again i feel my skin soft soft liao and the bum not there any more. this is the first time i notice it actually. not sure if u get what i mean.

Janice,
Ya I think so, but they mix with chocolates lah, champagne lah etc.
Called TMC again. This time, the lady who answered the call said is ok if din receive the Pre Registration Form.
Ya lor, some times not according to queue hor. Si bei sian leh... Got 2 times I waited for almost 3 hrs even though I got appt!

Selina,
Wanna play gao gao di di game ah kekeke... but your gao and di range is how much to how much?

dorayaki,
Nice seeing you here. When's your EDD ah? Today, Doggies Mummy goes off for her c-section for her twins boy. Is Dr Ang scheduling you for C-section or natural birth for your 2 princesses?

crystallized,
really lah, imagine I took 24 days MC this year liao leh. So malu to take. Now is not a good time to be home alone. Sekali I going to delivery, then no one at home, I die ah. Now in office better, got ppl.

jackiejon,
My 1st delivery is thr induction. Labour is 2 hrs only. I also heard many ppl said 2nd child will be faster. Now I have all kinds of symptons for delivery, but I dun find my tummy very low leh. So dun think going to due so fast bah??

hi hi dorayaki..
welcome to the thread!wow..so nice to have 2 princesses..doggiesmummy is having 2 princes..u both can make friends &amp; who knows can intro the princes &amp; the princesses together ahh..kekeke..

hi hi selina &amp; crystallized..
can i guess Rhys at 3.5kg?aiyo..making me so excited for her leh..tell me leh..

hi wendy,
oic...u did check wif kelly on the CTG check. hmm....i still try not to use epidural if i can endure the pain. i did called up my sis &amp; get her advice. for her 3 kids, she never use epidural &amp; all gave birth naturally. but hb oredi told me, if i really cant endure the pain, then jz ask for it. let see how ba..&amp; also my bb not so big size, shld b ok ba..
actually i oso notice my dischange came back. sometimes light yellow &amp; sometimes is those milky one. i will check wif dr koh 2molo appt.

janice,
oo..u bought the 5 tier one. actually i thought to bought 5 tier one but found tat 4 tier more suitable to me as i'm not very tall person.
then the 4 tier jz nice for me. hehe...
i just bought DVD camcorder last mth. is panasonic brand. i think coral oso jz bought. cant remember the brand liao. u can check out best denki or courts when they having promotion. mostly come wifh freebies. better buy those with CD instead of tape one. for CD, u can edit &amp; re-use but not for tape one.

hi dorayaki,
welcome to the thread. did ur gynae plan for u when u need to deliver ur princesses?

selina &amp; crystallized,
hmmm....i guess Rhys should be 3.2kg?????

Hi Jenny
My EDD is 26 Oct. Will be seeing Dr Ang this Fri nite to review the position of the twins. One of them already turned head down at 28wks. The other princess still sitting comfortably butt down leh. Boh bian... If she doesn't turn by this Fri, Dr Ang will schedule me for C-section after 2 weeks. I'm hoping to deliver naturally.

Hi jackiejon &amp; wtan
I'm happy to have 2 princesses. Thinking of "closing shop" after this. Scared next pregnancy also twins, then I will be super "gong" (confused on teochew)! Hehehe...

Welcome dorayaki.

Janice, I bought a JVC camcorder. The one with harddrive so I can record up to 7hrs at one go with highest quality. If adjust to lower quality like DVD, it can last even longer.