(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

harlow mango, i rem for the kotex maternity pad dey have the string include in the packet, maybe its at the bottom of the bag.. can try to look for it.

Gd morning ladies! its FRIDAY! YIPPIE!

Rzz,
wat was the exercise to encourage ur baby to turn? was it on all fours? when gynae said my baby was in breech position at 28 wks, i diligently did it almost daily to encourage him to turn. and i think it really helped.
but cannot tahan the hands on the bed for so long lah. after say 5 mins, i will use lazy position, tt means my hands will b folded, resting on a pillow (my head will either b watching tv or i turn & lie on my side). then my bum will b like super high. dunno u get wat i mean anot. hahaha

Vivian
am trying not to over worry the baby's weight since bbgrace and ur SIL case oso miscalculate the baby weight by alot.

U can take bbgrace's advise to get new funnels or quickly get a new one. else if ur frens/coll gg to buy u a gift, dun b afraid to tell them u need a breast pump. at least they can buy u sthg useful.

Jenny
i got use sanitary pads, but hor aft not using for 9 mths, i 4get how it feels and looks like liao. hahahahaha
yest i opened the netted one, i think i prefer this as like wat u say, feel more fresh and our discahrge gets absorb & cant see much. 4 cotton ones, quite gross at times. hahahahaa

me gg CWP to check out again aft work.

bbgrace
i agree wif u. too many flower baskets v wasted hor? more practical items like chix essence will b gd. hvg like 2 flower baskets r enuff to lighten the rm. i love flowers oso.
i think it will b the only time i see so many flowers bah. hahahaha

Wendy
Selina is right. Heard Shangri-la's buffet is gd. But its like $68+++/pax and they serve oysters etc delicacies, not suitable 4 preggies leh. but there r other spreads lah. so mayb u can call them to find out more.

mango
me gonna work till i deliver. i figured my baby is gonna pop within the nxt 2 or 3 wks. if u hv difficulty moving ard, then mayb u need more rest, since each movement is a chore.

babybenmen,
yah juz try to get prepared for it. dun worry too much. most impt is baby muz b safe & healthy!
i am trying to tell myself that as well!

Vivian,
Depends on how you "trust" the owner of the breast pump. For me, I definate prefer a new one cos I feel breast pump is like panty, very personal thingy lor. My colleagues have been sharing the Avent Manual Pump.
Most pumps have the milk backflow problem. I found out Ameda pump does not have this backflow problem. Hence, if dun need to use, can re-sell or lend ppl, but advise the "new owner" to change a new set of funnel, valve, bellow and bottles. The motor of the Ameda pump and the tube that links to the funnel will not come in contact with milk. Hence, you may wanna consider.

mango16,
For kotex maternity pad that comes in loop, yes, you need a string to tie around your waist. Last time, women use this kind of pad during their menses cos no invention of double side tape haha...

babygrace,
Think not only need to change the funnel for PIS, but also the something that is near the motor cos that comes contact with milk, forgot the name... I read just few days back from an article that Medela Distributor said this "something" is attached to the motor, cannot change one.

crystallized,
ya lor, I also feel cotton type pad gross... like can't absorb in the blood like that, especially if got blood cloth... YUCKS!

Hi hi vivian..
Thks for sharing abt ur SILs birth story..really make us look forward to share ours soon..yeah!u got to be careful at sch..slowly walk ahh..oh ya, happy teachers day to u!i do have the contact number of the service centre in spore..i can pass to u & u chk with them to see if u can change anything for this PIS?

Hi hi crystallized..
I think I saw some photos of the placenta in one of the books I got from one mummy..uhmm..better dun describe liao..haha..wait u all lost appetite..okok..thks..thks..

Hi hi babybenmen..
Dun worry..wait till this sat then see how it goes..i think ur gynae just wana prepare ur heart for it..

Hi hi Gemini..
Nice to hear that ur girl is growing well..so sweet..can see features ahh..this is wonderful..thks for sharing this to perk up our day..cheers~

Hi hi selina..
Ya, u r right..last night I went for a ex-coursemates gathering..also asked feedbacks abt wkend hotel buffet lunch..got to know that Shangri-La & The Oriental serves very nice buffet lunch but very ex..my ex-coursemates was telling me that thou ex but worth the price..I guess I will give them a call to find out more abt the spread..thks..thks..

Hi hi mango16..
I will try to see if my mum can help to look aft when I got back to work..but the thing is she will be undergg a operation at her leg..so I m not sure if shes ok then..anyway, I also stand-by my MIL whos currently a housewife..but see how things goes during my ML ba..

Sorry to interupt, i have this brand new babywell milk expresson at $150 (self collect, additional $20 for delivery). Retailed selling at $300 odd.

Reason for selling - receive as a gift and my baby is already 8 mths old.

See the link : http://www.babywell.com/intro.jsp

Pm me if interested.

Vivian,

Ha, that is the article I read few days back lor. That "something" is diaphragm.

Extracted from the article from Medela announcemnet:

Medela strongly discourages mothers from re-using or re-selling previously owned breast pump equipment. The Medela Pump In Style Breast pump has an internal diaphragm that cannot be removed, replaced, or fully sterilized. Therefore, the risk of cross-contamination associated with re-using a previously owned pump such as the Pump In Style cannot be totally dismissed.

wendy

there is a reasonably priced but wonderfulspread buffet at The Cheverons, near Jurong East. Less than 25 per person but serve good restaurant food =)

Jo
wendy stays in tampines, i think. think she wun come all the way to JE for the food.

Wendy
oh u saw the pix of the placenta recipes ah? then no wonder u dun wanna eat lasagne alrdy. hehee, 4 me, haven seen it & i dun wanna imagine.

Jenny
some mummies quite ok to share breast pumps. 4 me, its oso a personal thing. initial pregnancy, i was thinking to borrow fr a close fren whom uses it 4 herself only. but aft reading up, i prefer to get my own oso. somemore if its being shared ard, u wun noe the hygiene practices of each person, so i feel worried as well.

crystallized,
ya, agreed, especially those pump where the milk will backflow. My colleagues passed me the Avent Manual Pump, used and shared by few of them lor. I never dare to use. Bought a new one for myself instead.

I was at KK yesterday, for those who have yet to buy ur Medela Electric Pump, the KK pharmacy is offering a good price at 135 instaed of 160 =)

Ladies, I've been have dizzy spell these few days. Dunno why leh. Some say i might lack iron, but i take multi-vit. Thenlast nite has a scare. As I was walking home, i felt a drop of water in between legs. Not sure if it's water from the ground that splash up or was it my waterbag leaking. Then i started having contraction on and off throughout the nite. But this morning wake up everything seem to be normal. Well, I'll be seeing gynae tomorrow. hope I won't go into premature labour. Cos i'll only be 34wks by Monday...Now just gotta have more rest.

I think we should not worry too much. Since so many things are beyond our control. I guess the best we can do for our bbs is to stay calm and eat well.

Selina, if i'm still unwell tomorrow, i may not join you ladies as I believe I have been too tired this whole week due to the move and travelling to work on public transport. I'll sms you on Sat after gynae visit to confirm my attendance.

My fren also passed me a used pump, I don't think I'll use it too. But too pai seh to pass it back to her now. But should be ok if I tell her I don't intend to pump since I'm not working right and i already have a manual pump myself. She has an unused pump, the MIS, and asked if I want to buy from her. But her daughter already 4yr-old, so i wonder how long has that pump been kept so the parts also dunno functioning well or not. And no more warranty, to buy something this ex ($700)without warranty doesn't make sense leh. Now I'm so stuck, cos i don';t want to lie to her. So will prob not buy a pump since I really don't need it now. Until such time when i'm really joining the work force again then I buy ba.

Hi Babybenmen

Cheer up! Think of seeing yr little one real soon. You will be in good hands as yr gynap knows best. Take care!

Hi Crystallized,

Yeah..the excercise is on all 4 fours, but I am much too tired and lazy to do all these while. After hearing after you have mentioned, from tonight onwards, I will try to do the excercise at least for 5-7 mins daily to encourage the turn of my baby.

Coral..take care, good that you are seeing your gynae tmr =)

MTBS : can i check soemthing..when u reach ur 34th week, how regular does ur gynae visits become ?

I m reaching my 34th week on 5 Sep..last seen gynae on 26 August 2006 at my 33rd week..

problem is i m supposed to see my gynae ard 15 sep, but i m pushing it to 23 sep (becos she sees patient on alt sat and being a new staff for less than 3 months, i dun wan to take unnecessary leave or time off...

coral,
Just tell your friend you have your own pump already lor. Aiyo 4 years old and she still wanna sell to you, dun want lah... too long din use, dunno the motor can work or not leh.

mango16,
updated your details. i just trying my best only lah. btw if u free this sat, do join us for the gathering.

still not decided yet. cant afford at this moment to be a SAHM. mum cant help cos still working. MIL... eh... too old... guess my only choice now is between nanny or infant care.

babybenmen,
u r welcome. think if can tahan another week or as long as possible, better lah. let bb be more matured first lor.

coral,
take care. no prob. sms me tmr lah.

wendy,
i heard the spread at shang quite wide so u can skip those raw ones and take other things ba. u go try out n let me know lah. i also wanna go have a good meal wif hb. see he sometimes quite poor thing. i a bit xin tong lor. shuttle btwn punggol n jurong like very tiring for him like that.

jo,
my gynae appt is every 2 wks once from 32 wks onwards. my last fornightly appt will be on 11 sep. after that will be once a week liao upon reaching 36wks.

Wendy,
Shangri La buffet has 16 stations. 1 time visit can't finish all the food. Need to visit a few times

Very worth it though ex. Yummy food, and also a big chocolate fondue fountain.

ya lor ya lor..agree with jENNY, 4 YEARS still sell..aiyo , If i were her , i will give man .

Babybenmen,
induced may be the best solution but wat is your baby weight now ?or maybe you can ask for stay in the hospital to drag for another week or two. I heard a few cases like that. One case is the disruption of water bag (think so) and the other is fluid too low.My frds stay in and the baby come out two week later . Pls keep posted of your condition.

As for the gd buffet ladies , last time i used to eat at the grand plaza hotel , not bad , price v reasonable at $30 /32 nett. Serve duran prata and oyster and sashimi( but cannot eat)so save for after delivery.
Another good usual hang out place is the holiday hotel @serangoon rd . Level 2 one , serve chinese food but need 3 ppl. This one is suitable cos all foods serving warm as a le cart buffet .Worth but need 3 pax to go in. Everytime i go , i will get few kaki then we will eat to our fullest . Good wood park serve good tim sum buffet also . me and my hubby will go for tim sum after shopping . Maybe you can find me there hee...

babygrace,
Dun think by changing the funnels helped coz as Jenny have highlighted in the article, there are parts that are not changable.
Think to be safe and KS, got to buy a new one better.

Crystallized,
Yah hor, maybe I can ask my close friends to buy a new pump for me. Actually, I quite like the Ameda one leh. I see how lah. Thanks for the idea.

Wendy,
Thanks. Dun think I want to change anything for the PIS since I borrow it from my colleague's wife and he told me that his wife want it back after I used it. So think to save trouble, I already told my hb that I am going to get a new one.

Coral,
Take care leh. Dun worry. Think you over-tired yourself liao. Rest more and dun exert yourself now. As for the water, if it is your waterbag leaking, dun worry, you will know one... So if the next day everything seems normal, most probably, it is not your waterbag burst and the contraction you felt might just be BH. Dun worry ok?

MummytobeCaleb,
I would love to join but gg to my prenatal course. You gals enjoy,... yummy yum. "FU REN " CLUB. Must be quite fun man . Must take photos !!How to get so many mummies get together ?? Good JOB !

Hi all, would like to check with ladies, how long is the waiting period to ur next chk up... I am now 33wk coming 34 wks.. my appt is like 3 wks apart. very gan cheong... cos doc says bb not growing well... tot of requesting to see him every 2wks instead.

anyone book their hospital room aldy?? I am delivering at TMC but cant decide 4bedded or 1 bedded... very headache...

Hi May,
My appt just started once every 2 weeks as I am 36 wks tis sat. before that, I was only once every 4 weeks. Only my last one is 3 weeks once. I also not sure abt this thing coz some mummies here, like Selina, will start once a week when they are 36 wks liao.. so depends on your gynae too.
If you think you dun feel comfortable with the duration, you can always discuss with your doc, esp. he say bb not growing well.

As for hospital room, I have pre-booked my 1-bedder in MAH liao. For TMC, my SIL is staying there now, she took the 4bedder but autoupgrade to 2 bedder as they are running out of 4 bedders. You might want to consider that.

Vivian,
Since your colleague wife wants back the PIS, then no point buying the parts. Later return, no more motor, No.2 you still got to buy new pump. Might as well invest one now. I kinda regret I din invest in an electric pump for No.1. Now buy le, after using then I see how, either sell away or give away the motor. Depends on how long I will be using.

May,
If I remember correctly, From 34 to 36 weeks is once in a fortnite. From 36 weeks onward, is weekly. But I think depends on gynae's practise also.
I haven't book, still waiting for TMC to send me the letter for booking. Gynae will give me the admission letter on next Mon when I visit him. I'm booking for 1 bedded cos hb said he will stay over with me this round. If you book for 4 bedded, very high chance to be upgraded to 2 bedded FOC.

Hi All...so do we need to bring our milk pump to hospital ?? Pls advise..tks

May ,
Think I should be seeing my gyne twice a week liao. my last visit is 30 week and next one will be 32 week to do the scan

Today is my 35weeks liao, so anxious as the day is so near.
Baby may pop within the next 2 or 3 wks times.

Coral, I did not know that preggy can go for foot reflexology.
Will it cause contraction?

Wtan, I will find it weird if PIL is with me during scanning, cause my hubby commend that they will put the scanner till very low and can see our hair down there (unless u have already shave yours)

Jenny,
That mean I have to tell the CL to prepare tonic only after abt 10days. Not sure if she know abt it.

Coral, you have to rest very well this few days and do not carry heavy stuffs and walk so much.

Jenny,
Yah lor, I also think no point buying the parts. Actually I also never expect the pump to be yellowish leh. But pai seh mah, got my colleague to bring the pump all the way to my house liao, cannot say that I dun want lor. Actually, after seeing the pump and Selina told me abt the BP on Ameda pumps, I did ask my colleague and hb whether I should buy or not. But hb say dun buy first coz also cannot confirm got milk flow or not.
Now think of it, sigh, should join the BP coz the price is really good. Now if want to pay $350 for the same thing, like very lugi like that... sigh..

hi mummie of rhys, thks for ur info... was quite concern.. as although my gynae says 3wks.. his nurse still gives me the appt coming to 4wks... :-(

jenny, we are using the same gynae dr ang rite?? 36wk onwards is wkly?? cos my nxt appt will be like ard duno 35 or 36 aldy... i am oso very blur abt hw many wks i am nw.. kept track from the updates babycentre sent... last visit dr ang still ask me how many wks i am?? told him i oso blur blur.. told him duno.. hahaha... nxt round must ask him to confirm the wks. last scan for bb.. saw on the ultra sound.. my edd bcomes like 6th nov... mayb bb too small liao. :)

Btw any idea how do we maintain the level of amniotic fluid?? last round of preg was ask to induce due to low amniotic fluid.. scare same thing will happen again.

Coral
Take care leh. Dun worry too much if there is no bleeding and baby is moving as per normal. this is the least u can monitor for now until ur visit tmrw. Rem to tell ur gynae abt ur dizzy spells. i get it occasionally oso and it happens suddenly.

Coz i feel when we panic or stressed will trigger off false contractions. tt was wat happened to me 2 days ago. aft resating & calming myself down, the BH was not as intense but still cont throughout the day. so try to keep ur mood light.

Dun feel pai seh to reject ur fren. its reasonable to explain tt as its 4 yrs old, u rather get a new one OR tell her ur close frens r getting a new one 4 u as a gift lor. i noe its hard to reject fren's gesture at times so u think of a nice excuse to reject her yet wun offend. hope it helps.

Rzz
u dun hv to do 15 mins at 1 go. its v taxing one. juz try to do it a few times a day, at least better than nothing. i only do in bed, coz got cushion and my bed not too soft. or u can try this position if u r still washing ur bathrm. that was wat i did lor. u wun feel the strain coz u r concentrating on scrubbing the floor.
gd luck!

Jenny
wah 16 stations! i cant take buffet style now coz my apeetite not tt gd. sure lugi. if i gorge i will end up puking aft the meal. so better dun waste money now. aft i deliver then can consider buffet style.

Vivian
Welcome! Hope u get ur dream pump!
at most u top up some money if ur frens cant pool enuff to pay 4 the full set. 4 me, i dun mind, since the pump is almost $300.

GYNAE VISITS
Most visits will b fortnightly aft 32 wks. i.e see gynae at 34 and 36 wks. aft 36 wks, then its wkly liao.
if there is any issue, then gynae might schedule a visit as and when necc.

mango
u can bring ur pump to hospital if u wan to. Coz i heard if baby dun latch on, or u r trying to stimulate milk flow, the pump will b useful. however even if u dun bring it there and need it later, can ask ur hb to go home and fetch it. owise can rent fr hospital.

Wei Kuan
If the cramps cont, u might wanna call & check wif ur gynae.

Wei Kuan,
A good CL should know what to do.

Vivian,
Tell you what. The most you keep the pump with you first. This is what I did. The pump my colleague passed to me is still with me. I keep it but din use. Use my own one (new set) instead. Then no need to worry about pai seh lor. Like some bb stuff hor, my colleagues also pass to me, I dun need them, or rather some items very old or bad condition (my hb and mum dun want to use), so I keep them in my store room first. Then later few mths later, say bb over that stage, then I return to colleagues. Some colleagues dun wan to take back, so I just said "then I pass to ppl who need them", then I pass those still in good condition and throw those not so good condition one. Some ppl just dun wan to throw the stuff they bought mah, so pass to ppl lor.
Hmm... dun think about the price lor. See how, cos the RPP will be $350 in dept store. I think there won't be any more BP for Ameda Pump.

Jenny's idea is oso gd. No choice if u find it pai seh to reject. That was wat i did when ppl offer to give me their hands-me-down. i juz take and filter away those i dun need. Oso got a used manual breast pump but i dun dare to use.

hi mango, for me i wont be bring the pump.. tot of direct feed in the hospital.. cos 1st few days the milk supply wont be alot... oso hard to store the bm in hospital.

wei kuan, wow... u 35 wks aldy?? i heard 36 wks is quite safe for bb to come out aldy rite?? must be very excited now... :)

Hi ladies, thanks for the concern and advise. Been trying to keep cool. Cos has been very unhappy at work. So this morning gal has been moving alot, my colleague can see my tummy going up and down and one expereince mummy help me stroke her to calm her down.

Wei Kuan, I'll not let the person massage the points on my feet, just want some soothing touch for my tired legs. So should be alrite ba.

Breast Pump
===========
Ya, think will tell my fren that I'll probably not need the set from her since I'm uncomfortable to use a used pump and return to her now in case she want to lend it to someone else.

Driving
=======
Wei Kuan, I think better stop in case you go into contraction can be dangerous on the road.

Gynae visit
===========
Mine start to be bi-weekly from 32 wks, and from 36wks it'll be weekly.

<font color="ff6000">hi mummies</font>
how's everyone?
aiyo, this thread is forever running very fast, difficult to catch up ..*pant*

Front button PJs
for those mummies who hvnt gotten any and dun mind cartoon cartoon ones, there's a pasar malam gg on on Bedok Central, can get short sleeves top &amp; long pants for $6

<font color="ff6000">Vivan</font>,
im also gg to borrow PIS from my fren, she told me that i can get its accessories from a shop in UNited Square.. can't rem teh shop's name. I let u know when i find out. im gg to get to coz for hygine purpose, better to get new accessories.
im tinking if i manage to sustain BFing for long term, i will go and buy the pump and return tis to my fren, then tis set of accessories can still be used and the other one can be a back up in case any parts of it spoil..
for me, at least if i decdied to stop 1/2 way, at least i did not spend a lot on the pump lah..not so heart pain .. :p
coz tis is my #2 liao..dunno if got #3 coming or not also .. keke

anyone has any idea where to get Avent's pump accessories ah?

<font color="ff6000">May</font>
me too my last preg i had low aminotic fluid too, i've asked gynae abt the chances of happening again, tink he told me its not the same for every pregnancy lor..may not happen again for tis..so im keeping my fingers cross.. ;)

dun think there's anything we can do to avoid bah

<font color="0000ff">maternity pad</font>
there's tis brand Pureen, can be found in KP, abt $7.90/pack for 20pcs..its stick on type
much more cheaper than Kotex's stick on maternity pads. ;)

hi chihiro, avent pump accessories can get from office at concourse
email : [email protected]
tel:63919191(general line)
i wrote email to dem this morning asking abt the pump accessories .. waiting for their reply...

<font color="ff6000">wei kuan</font>,
hmm..i din ask gynae wat happen wor or i can't rem liao :p
tt time only know tt level cannot be lower than 4cm .. if so need to induce birth immediately..

mine was ard 6cm then..and my gynae decided to induce in case it dropped further, but my gal decided on her birthdate instead..came out before the nx chkup for the fluid level

<font color="ff6000">may</font>
u getting anytHing? if so, can i tag along my orders and then collect from u? i juz need to replace the silicon membrane that is placed on the funnel for my manual pump..