(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

actually need not bring so many things, later have trouble to unpack and bring hm.
i intend to use kk one, like pad, dispoable panties etc.....this is my friend advise as she just give birth in kk.
not really very exp compare to outside

gemini,
i oso hav that kind of feeling since last week. hb oso can feel when he put his hand on my tummy. we r wondering wat he doing inside. guess like wei kuan said, bb is learning to breath so got hipcup.

coral,
but then dun u think wear long pants will not b tat comfortable?
i will wear those maternity dress & cover wif sweater lol. at home, will wear the sarong with big tee tat mum sew for me ba....

mummyjoy
cld it b hiccups? if its rthymic, it might be.

Coral
i heard its best to wear long pants. my mum told me if we sleep in aircon rm, then its a muz. if during daytime, think 3/4 pants can. but we muz wear bedroom slippers during confinement.

Jasmine
exactly. i think small bag not enuff, tts why i think of small travelling trolley lugguge bag. hb alrdy said i siao, and he not gg to carry! hahaha

hi hi mmummyjoy...
i think it's the hipcups lah..coz i do realised nowadays..i feel more of my boy's hipcups also more often..very cute hor..

hi hi janice..
coz i sweat very easily..so i thot buy more better lor..at least when i wash then can have the others as stand-by lor..keke..

hi hi jasmine..
icic..i hope he can come out ard the date i told him to..hehe..dun think we will both deliver at the same date lor..haha..got to chk with him aft our coming visits lor..coz got to see if baby is engaged..keke..also i got annual leave to clear..so see how it goes aft our coming visits ba..oh..for me, i m using the kodomo laundry detegent but i realised that there's a lot of bubbles foam..so maybe i will switch to the Pigeon washing powder aft his kodomo one finishes..

Weikuan,
my friend told me about Cassandra See's story. She took the placenta home and chucked in the freezer for months until she remembered. She put the placenta in the oven and baked it. Threw away the burnt edges and ground the remaining placenta into powder. Mix the powder with milo to drink every morning. Everybody commented that she looked radiant wor.

Coral
Oic... thot u wanna wear it during ur stay there. pants wun b convenient. i thinking to pack a dress leh, easier to wear. undecided yet.

crystallized,
tell hb tonite tat the tote bag not enuf 4 me. see how he react.

wendy,
yea...u still hav a lot of AL to clear, hor? hmm... friday can see our bb again.

i think liquid detegent always hav more bubble than washing powder. mayb u try to cut down the intake ba...presonnaly i still prefer washing powder even for my clothes too...

Crystallized, maybe I'll also pack a dress to see how ba.

Jasmine, so far ok lah. But not use to sleeping in the new environment lor. In the past only Hb and i super quiet. And i think our windows was sound-proof. but not here lor, so keep waking up in the middle of the nite. Colleagues say i look pale. Yesterday also felt faint and the floor seem to be moving so quickly grab hold of a pillar. But guess I'll get use to it over time...

Crystallized, I think it'll be good if the hospital bag is slightly bigger so got space to keep the free gifts in there too so don't have to carry so many bags mah.

hi hi jasmine...
ya..this fri seeing our boy..keke..btw, this time round i will be inviting my in-laws with us for the appt..they like very "big shots"..i m keeping my fingers cross if they will really turn up..oh ya..got to decide on the hospital's details liao..me hvnt got time to discuss it out with hubby..i think tonight got to talk to him..ya, got AL to clear but not a lot but got to clear by this yr end..so my HR will deduct the AL 1st then clear my maternity leave lor..ya, i think liquid one got more foam..i got to scroop out the foam when washing..i guess i will switch to the pigeon washing powder aft that...

hi hi coral..
hope u get use to it fast..coz u will be doing confinement there, right? try to sleep earlier ba..or play some light music also not bad lor..

coral,
ic.... think u need time to use to the new environment ba....
try to catch up the sleep time during the weekend or sleep early. take care of urself as now is the impt period, b avoid fall down lol.

Jasmine
has ur bag been stuffed wif ur hb's items oso? if not, tell him its def not enuff!

Coral
its juz a transition period. u will get used to staying there. stay positive and hope there wun b much conflicts, hopefully.

extra space? heehee, i dun dare to think abt it, coz when i pack my bag, no extra space one.
i guess those hampers & gifts etc, ask my PILs to bring home when they come visit me.

Hi weikuan,

i heard about pple eating the placenta. Said that the placenta is very nutritious. My hb friend was telling him that also. I told my hb if he wants, he can tell my gynae to keep the placenta and eat for himself.

Hi coral,

I think what jasmine means is the clothes that we are wearing when discharge from hospital. Jasmine, correct me if i'm wrong. I agree with her that maternity dress will be easier to wear than pants. But during the confinement, really need to wear long pants. I was asking my mum how to sleep at nite, since we're not allowed to switch on the fan & aircon also cannot. I cant sleep without fan....

Maternity bag
=============

I will try not to bring so many stuff, as my friend did tell me that in the end, have to bring the un-used items back, on top of additional stuffs. If really in need, will get my hb or mum to either buy/get from home.

Hicups
======
i think i'm a very blur mummy, not very sure whether my bb is hicupping or kicking.

Tummy sound
===========

Sometimes, i do hear sound (like gurgling water) coming from my tummy and it's for quite a while before it stops. Does anyone experience this? Really wondering what my bb doing...

Gemini
Ur confinement rules so strict ah? no fan and no aircon? i will collapse!

my mum says cannot let the fan blow directly at us esp aft we juz bathed. aircon is fine lah, thus we need to wear long pants.

dun say u blur lah. sometimes i oso cant differentiate if baby is hvg hiccups or wat. but now aft i got used to it, i will juz treat tt he is hvg hiccups lor.

Gemini, I mean the clothes we wear for discharge too. Cos when we're discharge, depends on whether you have cover car park etc, we might be more exposed to the weather, thus better to be more protected so i intend to wear long pants, top and cardigan and socks with shoes too. I do believe in confinement cos when i did my confinement last year I can feel the boost in energy and my body feel so rejuvenated and fatigue left me.
So I intend to be obedient...of course to the things that make logic sense to me.

Crystallized, so far my PIL very much leave me to do what I need, so I guess should be fine. Hpefully I won't have too much mood swing after delivery else higher chances of conflict ba.

hi wendy,
ic...u r inviting ur in-laws seeing ur baby. be fair, hor? ur parents & in-laws got chance to see ur baby.
i already discuss wif hb & decide to take 2 beded. actually early stage i wanna to take 4 bedded one, but after see the list, 4 bedded jz $100 diffrent wif 2 bedded, & kelly oso mentioned tat normally dr koh will advice take 2 bedded. i didnt consider 1 bedded coz too costly & dun think hb will stay over wif me. somemore bb also wun stay wif us, no point take 1 bedded. all this jz my thought lol.

gemini,
yeah..u r right. i'm talking about clothes tat we are wearing when discharge frm hospital.
i tot at home, we can wear 3/4 pants, as long as we didnt switch on fan or aircon. if tat, how to sleep & sg weather is so hot & humid.

Weikuan/Janice/Jasmine/crystallized/wtan/coral,

thks...tot beating twice continuous is hipcups but this is more like rhythm beats...can last couple of mins...just like heart pounding after a run. I feel it when I go to bed, then sometime once at middle of night, disturbed by it and can't get to sleep when it start beating. all of u also experience something like this?.. how you all overcome it or just let it stop naturally?

Now I also cannot sit for too long, like BB whole weight tighten on lower abs, have to go lying flat then can get the relieve
I get BH a few times a day, especially when lying down, can see the whole tummy tighten up.

Jasmine,
Ya lor, last time where got bb washing powder. Haiz... bbs nowsday so hao ming hor?
I just wash adult and bb clothings together after 3rd or 4th week. 1st 2 weeks got separate lor.
Tell your hb you going for hotel stay lah... My hb was telling me yesterday nite, that we are going for "hotel stay" soon hahaha...

Janice,
The stitching thread that Dr Ang used will melt one. When to start ML depends on when you dare lor hahaha... Most ppl start after 2 mths for natural birth. I ever heard got a mum started after 1 mth. Some ppl start later cos scare will "tear" the wound. So it really depends on your comfort.
Can't get excuse to wear Crocs to office? Ask gynae for medical letter lah, and submit to your HR.

crystallized,
Haha... I never go and smell the powder leh, so I dunno wor.
Hey, the dettol laundry smells nice leh. But dun add too often, too much dettol also no good. Maybe once a week with little will do.
Aiya, yours is 1st grandchild leh, sekali the whole family go down to "escort".
I remove my jewellery before I go hospital. Just get a container to keep will do lah.
Hahaha... I was commenting to hb that last delivery, I brought a haversack only. This round, hb is staying over, I was telling him we need a small trolley travelling bag too!
Yes yes, got to wear slipper at all times during confinement, cannot barefoot.

Coral,
Yep, heard got to wear long pants and long sleeve. But I dun. I wear sleeveless batik dress, cooling man! Maybe last time women stay in kampong, the weather is cold bah, so they need to wear long pants and long sleeves.

gemini,
can on fan, but dun blow directly, put it to swing mode. Aircon also can. Hospital also aircon mah.
During my confinement, the whole house fans are on everywhere I go. I even had a "on hand" fan.

Gemini,
I totally agreed with you about the Hougang shops. Only some items are cheaper.
I went to check out their j&j baby bath. Not any cheaper leh. Lacyd also... some even more ex...
At first, I also prefer chinatown one, but hb say, by the time we reached there, carpark, and fuel, added up to be more than
the few cents we saved liao.. so I gave up. Just keep a look out whenever I go out lor. =)
My MIL lived hougang so that place to me is quite convienent... =)

mmummyjoy,
I felt both BB kicks and wriggling. Rhys these days like to shift his position a lot coz now very tight liao.
Now he bigger so cannot kick too far, and we can feel more of his movements actually.
Sometimes, he will just show me his favorite "Kallang Wave" lor... or the "Mountain" at one side of my tummy (his butt actually)...
Dun need to worry too much... in fact, enjoy while the bb is still in you...
Sometimes, might be painful but I really going to miss these when he is out... =)
As for the rhythm beat... I always got it. Most probably is his hiccups.

Janice,
What i heard is that the stitch will dissolve by itself. And as for ML after birth, recommended is after at least 6 weeks.
Coz my friend tried after 1 mth, pain... then her gynae told her try only after 6 weeks for full recovery better.

Aspialle,
Think only KKH have those gowns for mummies to wear during the stay. Not sure abt the rest.
MAH only provide those "bare backs and butts" gown during labour and after that, you got to change to your own clothes liao.

hi hi coral...
i also like the smell..just that alot of foam lor..i got to scroop away the foam during the wash..maybe u dun put so much ba..

hi hi jasmine..
ya, be fair..actually as a respect..we tried to invite my MIL b4 at my early stage..then that time cant remember she say cannot or comments like "wait till bigger then can see, now cannot see"..i was like "what cannot see?"..anyway, she didnt make it for that visit also..so aft that, we tried to ask my PIL together again..FIL say dun want..if his own daughter then he will go..aiyo, i hear liao like very upset lor..this is his 1st grandson leh..also dun give face..ok never mind..then this time round i ask hubby to ask them again..if they not keen, then next time my FIL want to see my son..then i got to think carefully, i know i very bad..but at least u can tell me that u r very shy than to reject me straight away..anyway, it's my 3rd SIL that managed to convince my PIL to go with us lor..duno lah..if they come, they come, if not, dun say i never ask lor..oh, i didnt notice the prices of the 2 bedded vs the 4 bedded..okok..let me go back & discuss it out with hubby..let u know again..cheers~

hi hi mmummyjoy..
for me, aft a while..ok liao..so i didnt think too much on it..maybe u try to walk ard often ba, if not, lie down also not bad lor..for me, it's not that comfy during travelling..u know spore's road is very bumpy..so at times, hubby drove passed some bumpy road..then i dun really like it..so i will try to get him to avoid that lane whc is more bumpy..

Hi coral, jasmine, crystalized, jenny,

coral, thks for the explaination.
my mum theory is that air con is cold wind, since we cant let the fan blow directly at us, then how come we can sleep in air con? My parents' hse are all ceiling fans. But i will "negotiate" with my mum. Nite time, if without fan or aircon, i think i will go crazy...

hi wendy,
actually 1st time is my hb invite MIL go wif us. then FIL wait for us at carpark. MIL very happy, think she 1st time seeing bb thru utrasound scan lol. till now, didnt invite liao, jz showed them the scan pic nia....
ya lor...as u said. as long as u invite them ma..if they go, then ok. if they didnt go, oso nvm lal. not a big deal. as long as ur hb company u is more than enuf. so, next time no need to ask them liao, hor?
yeah..discuss wif ur hb, see he wanna go to 'hotel stay' or not...hehe///

gemini,
i will stay wif baby in another room. thinking can we cover ourself wif blanket then on the fan ba...at least there is air in the room. hmmm...see how ba.

Hi wendy,

Dont bother so much about your PILs. I have given up on mine, esp my MIL. Not that I fancy very much on tonics, but till today, she has not even cooked any bu for me. Even her dishes, already tell my hb to tell her that some food i cant eat during pregnancy, she will still cook, saying that eat a bit never mind one.

Lucky thing, got my mum to cook those nutritious stuff for me.

hi hi jasmine..
ya,i guess as long as i do my part..nothing much to think abt also..keke..see how ba..hehe..ya, will discuss it out with him tonight..thks..actually i didnt know that the difference is $100 betw the 2 bedded & 4 bedded..

hi hi gemini..
ya, i tell myself..small issue lah..if they come, gd, if not, then never mind..as for food intake..i guess their mentality is "last time i preggy, everything also can eat, now young pple, this one dun eat, that one cant eat.." i get wat u meant here..i also know that maybe my MIL has been "complaining" to my hubby's 3 sisters that i m very "ma-fan or hard to please" coz sometimes i get frustrated very easily when i cant stand some smell in my in-laws' place..but i always tell hubby lor..wait till ur sisters get preggy..then they will understand lor..i dun mind u back-mouth me..wait till ur turn then i m sure u know lor..

Coral
its gd tt ur PILs leave u alone. my PILs usually does tt oso. my MIL is caring lah, but sometimes i will feel she is over concerned and i cant stand it when i get too much attn. weirdo hor?

dun worry so much. my MIL was telling me even when i flare up at this stage or even during confinement, they will all understd. hmmm, so shall i take it as an "open" invitation? hahahaha
no lah, my ILs r nice folks, i cant bear to raise my voice at them. i juz worried i will keep everything bottled inside until i got PND. *choy choy* always look on the bright side!

Jenny
yah lor, i think baby's clothings no need to clean one, unless its soiled diapers, then need to clean thoroughly.

i worried the whole family come & escort me lor. i dun like a lot of fuss one lah. my frens say i weird...
i juz like to be left alone.

wah u power lah! confinement still hvg fan ard u!

wendy
u prefer ur ILs to tag along 4 the scan ah? heee, i find it weird man. i dun think my MIL wld hv mind, but i juz feel funny leh! hvg her in the same rm and seeing my tummy! eeee, i cant bear the thot!

wow! ladies, you all really bombarded the thread here hor. so fast today's posting archives liao... i really got hard time catching up.

boss dropped me an email late last night to plan a sales incentive programme so whole morning doing that. just finish lunch.

<font color="119911">OCT MTBs Gathering #2
===============================
Date: Sat, 2 Sep
Time: 3pm
Venue: Aerin's (#B1-11/12 Raffles City Shopping Centre, MarketPlace)

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">2 Sep</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>coral</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">OK</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>doreen</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">OK</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>MummyToBabyCaleb</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">OK</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>misterygal</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">OK</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>janice</TD><TD><font color="808080">NO</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>wtan</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">OK</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Gemini</TD><TD><font color="808080">NO</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>aspialle</TD><TD><font color="808080">NO</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>crystallized</TD><TD><font color="808080">NO</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jo</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">OK</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mummie_of_Rhys</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">OK</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wei Kuan</TD><TD><font color="808080">NO</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Please please let me know if any HB attending. Me HB same as coral's. Will join if there are other HB otherwise coral, we can ask them to go play golf. i spoke to HB and he quite interested actually. also, for ease of reservations purpose cos i'll b calling to try to reserve as they dun accept reservations on sat.

Repeat Thumping
===============
i experience it very very frequently every day. told hb it is hiccups then he say wah hiccup so long dunno got problem or not. but the thumping is felt at the bottom which is likely to be hiccup cos the head is down mah.

BB wriggles &amp; kicks
===================
agree. feeling less kicks but more wriggles now. especially so when sleeping time when i lie on my side. his hands and legs will start to push against my tummy until hb everytime got to help me soothes him.

had an amazing experience last nite. when to bed crying cos earlier on hb raised his voice at me for no apparent reason. kept weeping in the room until think my boy also affected and kept moving. no matter what i do he just refused to cool off (usually after i soothe my tummy for a while he will relax liao). then i started singing his favourite songs (i think is his favourite) while at the same time rubbing my tummy. after a while, my boy actually cools off n wriggles just once or twice. so amazing man...

sorry. there's a mistake to the list for the gathering. here's the updated one:

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">2 Sep</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>coral</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">OK</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>doreen</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">OK</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>MummyToBabyCaleb</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">OK</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>misterygal</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">OK</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>janice</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">OK</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>wtan</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">OK</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Gemini</TD><TD><font color="808080">NO</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>aspialle</TD><TD><font color="808080">NO</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>crystallized</TD><TD><font color="808080">NO</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jo</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">OK</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mummie_of_Rhys</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">OK</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wei Kuan</TD><TD><font color="808080">NO</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Selina,

I think hor, since you, coral and my hb are available, we can confirm that at least there are 3 hbs going liao.. hee... we set the trend lah.. hee..

Sayang lah, dun cry okie... sometimes these things happen, plus we are more emotional now...
Just concentrate on Caleb lah... sometimes, bb more understanding than hb...

Selina,
u sing to Caleb? I dunno what to sing or talk to baby leh. just sayang tummy only.

Vivian,
U mean small bb more understanding than big bb lah.

vivian,
ok. then 3 hbs going so far. tks. m fine after sleeping liao. dunno y just felt so wei qu like that lor. then my mum was ard some more so didnt dare to cry. cried only when in the room.

here's the updated list again. please confirm if your hb attending.

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">2 Sep</font></TD><TD>HB </TD></TR><TR><TD>coral</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">OK</font></TD><TD>YES </TD></TR><TR><TD>doreen</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">OK</font></TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>MummyToBabyCaleb</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">OK</font></TD><TD>YES </TD></TR><TR><TD>misterygal</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">OK</font></TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>janice</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">OK</font></TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>wtan</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">OK</font></TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>Gemini</TD><TD><font color="808080">NO</font></TD><TD><font color="808080">NO</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>aspialle</TD><TD><font color="808080">NO</font></TD><TD><font color="808080">NO</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>crystallized</TD><TD><font color="808080">NO</font></TD><TD><font color="808080">NO</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jo</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">OK</font></TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mummie_of_Rhys</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">OK</font></TD><TD>YES </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wei Kuan</TD><TD><font color="808080">NO</font></TD><TD><font color="808080">NO</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

janice,
i play christian bb song for him every nite. last nite too sad to on it but when i kept moving, i decided to sing to him and amazingly, he calmed down after the 2nd song. if still dun calm down by then. i really dunno what to do liao cos i only know how 2 sing 2 songs

Selina,
If want to cry, just cry ba. After that, u'll feel better. Dun bottle up your feelings. But try to think about happy things, like u're finally going to meet little Caleb face to face lor!

my hubby only back on 18Sept. Otherwise would ask him to join.