(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

babygrace, coral,
sure. no prob abt the discounts. just let me know when u wanna buy anything. actually now we having a promo for our famous heart pendants.

aspialle,
my mum wants to use cloth diaper so will prob use it during confinement only since i staying with her. once i move back pungool, will use disposable diapers lor. when at home, will wash bb backside after every poo but when out, then just b flexible n clean him wif wipes.

wei kuan,
yes bah kwa. was thinking of having it like 2 months ago. finally got my butt down to go buy it
me too just had durians yesterday. later seeing gynae so hope all the urine test will be ok.

bbgrace,
u r right tt i am pretty determined. so most times when ppl say things like there will b no milk in the 1st few days and bb will go hungry, i will tell them wat i read fr the books. the baby's 1st few days will b easily supplemented by the colostrum we produced though the quantity is little. and their tummy is oso still quite small, so there isnt any neccessity to supplement wif FM at this time.

And i rem wat my antenatal teacher said, 1 day old new born has 1 wet nappy a day, 2 day old 2 wet nappies, and so on until he gets older and wets abt 6-8 nappies a day. this is to gauge if NBs r adequately fed.

yes, i rem u telling me the 1st feed to ur boy was FM as u were still under GA aft the C-section. But later ur boy still had no problem adjusting to BM.

I am trying not to b so hard up on myself in case things do not turn out the way i wanted to. but having said tt, i muz oso not b so lax on my thinking tt i can always fall back on FM lor. so its kinda hard to balance my thoughts at times.

abt wat u said on books not encouraging a standby tin of FM, i read tt as well. in fact the book i am currently reading on is v encouraging. so i get most +ve feelings and thots fr the book.
which makes me more determined to BF.

I think u r lucky in a sense ur son is quite adaptable.
can mix BM & FM and still ok wif it. juz hope my baby will also b as flexible.

I oso think likewise, when the need really arises for FM temporpary, surely somewhere somehow somewhat there will b samples provided. thats why all along i dun even think of buying a tin.

Luckily got a few experienced BFG frens ard. when the time comes and i need SOS, i will call them lor.

Wendy,
I think my ex-colleague's 3rd child was very comfortable inside the womb. His daddy said come out le, only drank milk mah. Stayed in mummy's womb, ate all kinds of good food.

aspialle,
Oh, I see, is durian lah! Durian very high in sugar content. Hee Hee, my dad just bought some yesterday and I ate like mad!
I'm not using cloth nappy, so troublesome. Got to change frequently and the washing as well. You can get a box of nappy liner to put on the cloth nappy, so when bb poos, you just remove the nappy liner and throw. Then wash the cloth nappy with some scrubbing if need to. I prefer to use water and cotton/cloth to clean the button, instead of bb wipes (unless outside, no choice lah). I dun use powder, I use drapolene cream.

Selina,
Drink lots of water to "flush" out the sugar content from the durian bah. I think overnite le should be ok.
Actually, nursing wear is not really a must.

jenny,
yah. was thinking of drinking more water to flush them out. think better start drinking now. tks for the advice on nursing wear. was actually planning to get them only after confinement. in that case, i will make do with my clothes first then decide later.

crystallized,
not exactly. i refering to nursing wear. clothes that have special openings designed for easy Bfdg. I bought the nursing bra over the weekend from OG at chinatown. they still having the 2 for $17.90 promo so bought 2 first.

crystallized,
you've armed yourself well with bfg knowledge. i'm sure you'll be able to handle well when the time comes

As for samples, PDs and milk companies don't give out FM samples for those under 6 mths cos of MOH requirement that encourages BF. So your only source of sample will be from hospital nursery or maybe get from friends who are still using the same FM.

Actually this time round, i'm thinking of trying another method of bfg that is a bit more radical than what the usual pro-bfg groups advocate. you know, they always encourage feeding bb on demand.
this has led to some problem for lots of mommies, cos of the lack of rest, esp for those who suckle non-stop every 1-2 hours. And u know, insufficient rest = cranky mommy and dip in ss. And lots of bf babies do not sleep thru' the night till quite a late stage. I was not working during the first 6 mths so it was still bearable for me to constantly wake up at night.
i'm reading this book that advocates scheduled feeding even for bfg. Some friends have tried it and says that it worked. So i'm quite game to try it this time.

Hi Janice, Jenny, wtan, Crystallized,
me oso not sure abt the ang bao thinggi... they say scared some ppl get "chong" cos we r stil in our confinement mth. for kids, they scared the kid who came may b pantang wic we wont know until the kid show the signs... like being v fussy or cranky when they go hm, wic can b very taxing on the parents or caregiver, esp at nite. so the ang bao is actually for luck lor... Jenny, mayb the sweets oso for this reason ba...

anyway, the last time, as im at my in-laws plc, only my mum n sis came to visit me occassionally. other than them, its my hb's granny, she'll come by everyday to see bb. but she din bother me at all, the most she juz ask if my in-laws' cooking suits my appetite anot, or juz ask my hb to buy things tat i 1 2 eat for my in-laws to cook for me.

i don tink i'll hv many visitors, the most mayb my close frens n some aunties... prob they'll only dropby during the 1st wk ba... i don mind visitors actually, cos i tink they more interested in bb rather than me... so while they entertain my bb, i can at least hv some rest lor...

babygrace,
my mum, in-laws n my hb's granny were v pro in bfg, they gave me lots of encouragment, but tink my ss not enuf aft 1 wk, my gal keep crying even aft latching on me for 1hr. in the end, my MIL say try the FM and if she can finish, means she din hv enuf. true enuf, she finished the whole 30ml of FM and aft tat she kept quiet n fell asleep. i tried to express but each time only 20-30ml... i was so disheartened tat time. my FIL even went all the way to buy green papaya, fish n fish bones, n cook all sorts of soup tat can stimulate milk ss for me. i tried for 1 mth den gave up liao. really hope tis round i can b successful in bfg.

Selina, talking abt nursing wear, me oso looking ard for nursing nitewear. any idea where can i get 1? last time i din manage to find any suitable 1, so juz bot those button front pajamas... those long/short sleeve shirt w long pants kind... v ugly 1...

hi ladies..morning...

me super tired todae, dun feel like coming back to work..was tossing on my bed literally the whole of last nite...just couldn't find a good position to sleep...then wake up wif a backache...feel like taking half day later...

went to the anmum seminar cum workshop wif my HB yesterdae...quite informative and fun also..especially the topics on Breastfeeding and BB Massaging..though short sessions, but was quite fun and cute, cos can see how amazing BBs are so comfortable towards massaging..heehee...the session covered on managing labour and taking care of BB too...
487146.png

i am not sure abt other hospital, all my friends deliver at kkh were given FM during the first few days cos mum have no milk flow.
if do not let baby drink, so poor thing, cry of hunger

Bunny,
Oh talking about "chong"... I know what it refers to. I have one cousin, she very sensitive one. Whenever she attends hong bai shi, she sures fall sick one. So usually for us, if she attends any birthday parties, full mth celebrations, wedding etc, we will give her a red packet. Funny thing is she will be ok if she receives the red packet from us. But if we dun give hor, she sures fall sick one. Heard from my aunt cos last time one of her ah yi carried my cousin when tat ah yi was preggie. Somehow bb sensitive, so kena sensitive thingy. Very pantang for such kids one.
Ya, I think the sweets also for such reason bah.

Morning MTBs,

After attending the BF class last wk, I'm having 2nd thoughts on whether to BF. I have actually made up my mind not to BF but after talking with the instructor, my decision starts to waver again.....
Now I'm thinking whether should I just BF at hopsital and when I'm back @ home, change to FM.

Selina
Nursing bras equals to BFG bras lor. those wif front openings to feed baby when we r BFG rite? i tried the one fr Impressions. Cheap and quite comfy leh. might go back and get a few more pcs.

wah so shiok... facial...
as my skin is sensitive esp during pregnancy, i will only go facials after delivery lah. these few days jia lat liao, breakouts all over my face. old wives tales say when hvg boys, mummy will look ugly. so i wonder shld i b thankful tt its only now i kena outbreak?
anyway hope the outbreak goes away soon lah. i really feel like wearing a scarf to cover my horrible face.

Wei Kuan
u hv to let the nurse noes if u wan to BF. and if u only wan ur bb to b on TBF, they cannot feed ur baby wif FM w/o asking u. i think so lah.

bbgrace,
yah those bfg books says to feed on demand, but i think 4 the initial stages when i am trying to latch the baby on and to ensure this stage is smooth, i am not gg to let the baby cry angrily until he refuses to latch on. so which explains why i prefer to let my baby stay in the same rm wif me in hospital. but i noe u & jenny mentioned its a bit hard and doesnt really matter as its only for a few days. once we go home, i can easily try to monitor the baby's signs again.

i wish to latch my baby on when he show signs on hunger, like licking lips and getting edgy. though books say no need to time, i think i will still use the clock as a gauge so tt i dun overshot his feeding and by the time he wants milk, it will b hard to pacify him liao. i am intending to feed on demand after i hv managed to latch him on successfully.

i think the radical bfg method cld b worthwhile a try.
u cld use it for this coming baby. by the way wats the title of the bk? i am keen to read up bfg books.

bunny
thats why i say i am one of those exceptional ones tt dun like visitors. even if their main interest is on the baby, i cant stay cooped up in my rm and dun entertain rite?

so u r saying to ward off the pantang, when pple come to our hse, we supposed to give the kids ang pau huh? tt reminds me, i think no one really bring kids along when they visit the mummy during confinement. i think so. thats why confinment mummies cant even go temple until aft baby full mth.

Jenny
i thot pantang will wear off when the kid gets older? i guess some of these things we juz gotta believe it.

Gemini
how abt checking wif ur gynae or a lactation consultant on ur BFG decision?

gemini,
keep your options open first and see how after delivery.

crystallized,
Selina is referring to nursing wear, not nursing bra.
I think depends bah, my cousin already 22 this year, but still very pantang. On and off, my aunt still has to bring my cousin to pray pray one.
Kids (unless close relatives like our nieces and nephews) usually dun visit confinement women. Scare kena "chong" lor. Like some adults, they won't step into the room of confinement women one.

crystal, the thing is baby keep crying for milk, how to say we only want them to have BM when we do not have a lot first few days.
I will see how it goes lah.
All my friends go home then start Breastfeeding

Hi crystailized,

my gynae has said that even on medication, I can still BF. But I still dun feel comfortable. Maybe as what Jenny, keep my options open first. See how it goes after delivery in hopsital.

Hi jenny,

Before I was married, my mum dun allow me to visit my friends either in hospitals or during their confinement. Can only visit them after 1 mth. I can only visit my SILs & sis. Now that I'm preggie, my mum also does not really like the idea that I attend my friends' kid mth old celebration/birthdays.

Jenny
oh i blur again. misread her sentence. meaning the tops 4 BFG lah. keke...
think Moms in Mind is quite popular for such nursing wear.

Yah lor, they usually wun step into the room. i rem vaguely wat my mum said when we visit mummies in confinement. strangely, i totally 4got abt this thing when i visited my fren during their confinement.

yah best if they scared of the chong thing, then wun come to visit me. hahaha

wei kuan
u hv to play by the ear lor. by right the 1st few days they juz need to suckle and drink the colostrum fr our breasts. that is not milk at all. but it will b sufficient for the NBs. the milk will slowly establish as u go by and keep latching on. anyway there r nurses and lactation consultant ard. u can check wif them while u r in hospital too.

Wei Kuan,
Crystallized is right. The nurses will not feed bb FM if u indicate ur preference to breast feed bb unless under medical circumstances where the doc orders for the bb to be fed.
There are many reasons why bb cry, not necessarily out of hunger and they really dun need so much milk in the first few days as crystallized said. So long as they pee and poo, it should be ok. besides the bb's PD will come and check on him everyday, so if bb is dehydrated or starving due to insufficient BM, u will be alerted.

bunny,
there are many reasons why bfg didn't work and so sorry to hear that you could not do if for the first one.
where u having enough rest? i find that my breasts are fuller after a nap. make sure u stay relaxed while feeding also so that you can achieve a good let-down of breastmilk. or maybe your bb was not latched on properly?
In whatever case, hope your 2nd try will be successful.

crystallized,
The book that i'm reading now is titled "The Contented Little Baby Book" by Gina Ford. It not only covers bfg but the whole lot of other things eg sleep problems, weaning etc.
You can refer to this
http://www.contentedbaby.com/index.htm
for more info.

i intend to try this method for #2. you're right in saying that u'll use the clock to gauge feeding times cos this book also says not to overshot feeding times cos it would result in an angry bb. Read this book with an open mind and decide what's best for you.

gemini,
Some elders very sensitive one lor, so won't allow their kids to attend or pay visit. Like some parents dun allow their kids to eat full mth cake, said will "turn stupid" after eating.
As for preggie can't attend full mth or birthday party, the elders scare unborn will be kena "chong", thats why lor. Up to individual lah, if you feel ok, then attend lor, if not, dun attend lor. The host will understand one lah. Like for me, I will attend "hong shi" but not "bai shi" lor.

crystallized,
ya lah, you blurred queen. Some maternity shops also got sell nursing wear. But nursing wear q ex wor. Anyway is not really a must lah.
Ha, remembered I told you I got a friend who given birth in may and I'm using her CL this round? I got step into her room wor, though I know cannot. I forgot le lah. Anyway, me not that mi xin

crystal and babygrace, thanks for your advise.
I will let nurse know I want totally breastfeeding.
Hope everything go smmothly

Good Morning to all MTBs

Hi Wendy

I have called the CL but she is not available in October. Anyway, thanks for your help.

Hi Coral & KCM

Went to see my gal on Sat and she is now 1.34 kg @ Week 29. I also booked my package and will be taking the 1 beded (as there is not 2 beded). By the way, are you aware that Dr Tan will be leaving KKH?

bbgrace
Thks 4 sharing the book. If i am interested in getting it, will try kinokuniya. I intend to bookmark the impt points on BFG tips for my current bk. then when i kan cheong i can quickly refer instead of flipping here and there.

i saw in the news yesterday there was a mass BFG session at one of the CCs. Quite motivating to see so many toddlers still being breastfed. i cant imagine there is one fine day, my baby so big liao, still wanna BF. thats will b such an achievement!

Jenny
Huh? wat eat the cake will become "stupid"?! wat nonsense is tt lah? alamak!
last time i still young, dun hv my own ideas, will do wat mum says. but nowadays, if wat they say dun make sense or logic, i juz 1 ear in, 1 ear out.

Yah lor, i blur queen one. got a habit of misreading sentences and end up misinterpretating it. hahaha
its a bad bad habit and i am wat u can call "reading wat i wanna read". hahaha. it happens in emails, forum msg & sms. hahaha, so if happens, feel free to tell me off.

yah the maternity shops will sell lor. but exp lah. me not intending to buy any yet.

heee, it also totally slipped my mind abt not entering my fren's room. i think nvm lah. we r not at fault since we 4got/dunno. anyway i dun go and think think abt it aft supposedly doing sthg i shldnt hv, like tt it becomes a vicious cycle and 4 everything i do, i will blame myself how come i dun listen, blah blah.

Wei kuan
U r welcome. most r wat i read fr books and hearing fr frens. we pick up as we go along lah. then can share here.

Crystallized, I'm with TPS, and the wait is usually less than 30mins, so quite ok.

Selina, I've already bought 2 pieces of ursing wear. I think for nursing bra can start buying after 32wks, as for mursing wear so long as you find something you like, i think can buy too.

Jackijon, no wonder Dr Tan has been going on leave. When will he be leaving? Before or after our delivery?

Crystallized, you seem very very anxious abt BF. Don't stress yourself k, cos stress can lower MS. I hope my milk flow will be good this time too. I remember the last time on 2nd day my milk started flowing out automatically liao. try to eat more fish ba. Cos last preg, I love fish and my mum cooked fish for me almost everyday. but this preg I don't eat much fish cos like you I'm afraid of fish too. But fried ones still fine.

Hehe, I think most of us though not pantang, but try to follow as much as we can remember cos our bbs are precious to you. I also try to follow, but sometimes close one eye lor. Like I still visit pple when they give birth. I think I'm only strict on myself when I'm on the bed, no cutting or writing etc. We're Mummies who'll do everything to ensure the well-being of our bbs. I'm sure they can feel it.

Coral
u wif TPS ah, no wonder the charges r as gd as pte ones. Yah i noe the waiting time there will def b shorter, else wat 4 u cough up the extra money rite?

In a sense, yes i am quite anxious abt BFG and making it work. but i oso do noe tt stress is tantamount to no milk. so i am trying to stay +ve.
i noe certain things cant b rushed and i juz hv to hope 4 the best. yah precisely coz i am scared of fish this time, so i am quite worried abt milkflow. but since bbgrace said as long as we drink lotsa fluids and soup during confinement, we will still hv plentiful supply. i oso can only take mostly fried fish. hope its as gd lor.

Crystallized, my father saw in a documentary last week that bean sprout and "gu cai"-hokkien, "jiu cai"-mandarin, can also help to increase MS. so you can eat more of those now since fish is an issue. And ya, lots of fluid and soup during confinement. But I'm kiasu, think I'll start drinking those soup when i'm 34-36wks. Hope we can BF successfully. Must encourage each other when the time comes!

Jackijon, thank you. Just replied to your email. So sad...Will discuss further with him when I see him this Sat. So funny, not too long ago hb and I were discussing what if gynae need to resign b4 I deliver...Like got 6th sense.

Hi Coral

Yup, I got your reply.

I think its good for him.

He sound very happy and excited about his new job. When I signed up for my package on Sat morning, the nurse asked me whether will I follow him to the new place to deliver. I told her I am not affected and most probably I will be early.

It seems that he has patients that follow him to the new place.

Hallo all,

Already into my 31wks and 5days, and already gained 16 kg =( Doc giving me the warning signal le... But baby's doing well, 1.87kg le.

Anyone got advice on how to eat less? and not gain so much weight? Getting depress... =(

Jenny,
ya lor, i oso know of some ppl are pantang wif tis kind of things. my mum say sometimes dunno will chong the other person or urself... so juz to play safe lor.

bbgrace,
ya, i agree there's alot of reason why bfg din work. but i cant find 1 for myself... hehe... for me, i do rest but i din nap cos i don hv the habit to nap. i juz lie down on the bed when bb is sleeping. at the hospital, the nurse say my bb is sucking v well, but when i pull her away frm my breast aft 1 hr or so, she'll start to cry. sometimes she suck until she fall asleep, so i tot she had enuf... i tried giving her pacifier but she reject. fyi, my gal nvr hooked on pacifier even thou i tried to give it to her when she cry non-stop.

Dee Dee, although my gynae thinks I'm going to be on the heavier side, he say not to owrry, in preg our body tells us what to eat. So he actually toldme to follow my heart and eat whatever I like even if it's unhea;thy food. As for you, maybe try to eat soupy stuff to lower the amount of unhealthy stuff and if you not too hungry, don eat too much carbo lor.

Jackiejon, I hope he'll get to do what he's good at ba. And I guess they'll also pay better at private hospital ba.

selina,
I just came back from Chinatown during lunch and bought Lim Chhe Guan "ba guan"
I bought 0.5kg, taste so nice.
Maybe tomorrow I will be buying mooncake.
Oct MTB is so good, gor mooncake, durian, golden kiwi, dumpling festival to enjoy.
then after confinement, got CNY goodies to enjoy.

my friend said I eat almost anything also good, so that baby easy to take care, not fussy, duno true or not.
I gain 11kg liao, now weight 53kg.
baby at 30wks is 1.2kg, now I 32wks plus, duno what her weight now.maybe around 1.5kg

487408.png

Most of the good and famous gynae, like Dr Tony Tan will leave KKH one day.
At kkh, there are 3 gyanes I am looking for during my pregnancy left to set up their own clinic already.
All my aunt and sis's gyane also left.
I was with Dr adelina for only 3mths (first trimester) and she left to set up her own private clinic at TMC, so my case was transfer to this gynae at kkh as I am unable to follow my gynae to TMC because I only have benefit at kkh. Now thinking back, everything is also too late if I want to transfer.
So see how it goes, but I will not choose KKH during my 2nd pregnancy.

Anyone going to Hong Kong? My colleague bought some vouchers from Lo Hang Ka at HK for their birdnest. Very cheap sales, $113 for the 500g bottle. The voucher can last for 2 yrs so you can just collect the bird nest when you go Hk. i bought 2 from her. In Spore, i they sell $138 for 350g. Anyone interested can let me know.

I found I have taken too many heat item, like ba guan and durian.
May I know when can I start drinking coconut?
is 32weeks too early???

Wei Kuan, actually I had a coconut on Sat. I'm 31wk. I think so long as we eat/drink everything in moderation should be fine. Of course, you have to know if your body is the liang or re kind...

Coral
My mum dun let me eat too much gu cai. i cant rem wats bad abt it, even my MIL oso not sure.

Oh dun worry lah, u r certainly not KS. last wk i alrdy asking for magic soup to drink so can increase supply. thats when bbgrace said we can start drinking aft delivery. there shldnt b any difference. a fren of mine oso told me as long as we rest well and eat well during confinement, we still will hv milk.

Yah man muz encoruage each other! I hope we will still hv time to log in here then.

Dee dee,
Some women kan de kai when they gain weight during pregnancy coz they will shed off most weight aft delivery. so try not to get too upset. U can do wat Coral suggested, to take more soupy stuff and watch out for oily & fried stuff.

Wei Kuan
i used to see Dr Adelina for my normal check ups oso. But i find her so-so only lah. When she checked me, i found it hurts v much. Dun think she is gentle lor. So i din follow up wif her when i got pregnant. She shifted her practice to TMC a few mths back wat. Her nurse even called me up to check if i wanna continue seeing her. I told her i was seeing another gynae alrdy.

32 wks can start coconut drink liao. i asked tt last wk. But like wat Coral say, u hv to gauge ur own body. some pple cant take coconut drink coz its too cooling.

tonite must drink coconut already, the way i take heating food also very scary.

regarding weight gain, so far I am quite happy abt it cos baby also gain mah.
I guess I will gain 15kg in total during 40wks.