(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

thanks crystallized

Coral
wow ur hb also travels a lot hor, my hubby leaving sg on 2 sept and only coming back late sep, lucky only one mth

mummyjoy
let me go to archive and copy for u hor :p

Hi mummyjoy,

do you feel pain when you turn your left leg to your right? Me got such a pain in my left butt but cant exactly pinpoint where the pain is, thus my hb is not able to help me massage.

crystallized,
i suspect so too. somemore i am anaemic to start wif. but i nv had dizzy spells b4. so far only during tis pregnancy (3 times so far) n last sat one was considered the worst for me.

coral,
me too breathless now. was training my colg on the stuff at work i'll b handing over to her last wk n after 10 mins of talking, i told her i have to rest cos no more breath. only talk also can get breathless. i was amazed. for your case, u may have to be extra careful cos bronchitits can become quite serious. avoid dusty places cos u dun want the dust to make it worst. dun walk n talk too much at the same time cos that will make u require more oxygen. not sure for u if avoiding chicken n oranges helps but it worked for me the last time i was sick. i managed to recover pretty quickly. it may not aid your recovery but may prevent it from worsening.

coral, i know zoe tay bring her son to very cold climate oversea as hubby station there after one mth confinement. wonder how she do it. but her mum or mil and maid also follow here there

Hi MTBs,

Anyone of you got friends interested to temp for 3-4 mths? Need to have finance background. We are looking for one to cover for me during my maternity leave and till now, there is not much response.
The agency was saying that the jop market was good, so no one wants to work for such a short period of time.

Thks in advance for your help!

gemini,
i had the same prob as you. couldnt find temp for me. so i put forth my alternative to mgt - my mum. hopefully mgt agrees then i wld b so so much easier n less worries for me. i can enjoy my confinement.

hi ladies... it's definitely a super blue monday for me...
lost my cool yesterdae bcos of some family matters...sigh..luckily my HB was still very supportive, if not i really dun knw how to control, especially at this time when i'm in my 3rd trim...immediately when i blew my top, i felt a stretch pain at my left vaginal area..then it comes and go...even when i lie down and rest, it still comes and go uncomfortably...then this morning, when i wake up, i was much better...think i have exerted too much pressure whn i lost my cool..felt so remorseful...

hi mummyjoy finally found the archive, here u go:

the soup i cook by "agaration" one , meaning estimate hehehe

but i can share the ingredients
1.potato soup
- use potatoes cut into cubes, onions, carrots, chicken / pork ribs, chicken cube

2.sweetcorn soup
-sweetcorn ,carrots, chicken/prok ribs, chicken cube. can add red dates if u like or white fungus

3.black bean pigtail soup
-black beans, pigtail and pork ribs, chicken cube

4.lotus roots peanuts soup
-lotus roots cut into pieces, peanuts,chicken/pork ribs, chicken cube

5.Si chuan pork rib soup
- Si chuan chai, pork ribs, no salt pls, for si chuan chai have to put into bowl of water first, if not too salty

6.beancurd soup
-soft beancurd for soup type, chicken/pork ribs, tomatoes, a bit of "sian chai", chicken cube, "yan sui" and chicken cube

7.yong tau fu soup
add all yong tau fu ingredients into water and chicken cube, then "yan sui" and "dong chai"

8.chicken fungus soup
-chicken drumstick, white fungus has to soak in water first, mushrooms, red dates, pepper

9."Xing yang chai" soup
water cress, pork ribs/chicken, red dates, chicken cube

the above ingredients depends on ur likings too

hi coral
duno if this chart helps
481423.jpg

delphine,
i dun really know. haven had painful ones. so far only feel sudden tightness at lower abs. not painful at all. not sure if it is BH or my boy moving his head or wat.

ilovemybabyg,
sayang, sayang. do hope everything's fine or will be fine soon. try to relax when u feel the pain next time cos think even if u lie down but very tense, the pain will still b there so try to take deep and slow breath n relax ok

selina,
ya me too dun know how BH feel like cos sometime i feel it at my lower tummy... not pain but constant..

ilovemybabyg,
dun get so worked up k??? think of your bb... not worth it... esp if you can feel the pain...

Hi selina,

will be good for you if mgt accept your mum to cover for you. did not know that the job market so good, so few people want to work as temp now.

Braxton Hicks
=============

I do suffer some pain on/off now.

selina,
if u had a history of being anaemic, then muz b more careful. when is ur next appt? b sure to check out wif ur gynae. see if he can prescribe u anything safe for consumption? its v scary to wan to faint and yet u cant control. u oso rem to refrain fr sudden movements like jotting out fr ur chair/bed. will cause dizzy spells oso.

mummyjoy,
i guess its all part & parcel of pregnancy lah.
it will b over soon!

its true tt we need to rest adequately during confinement. best not to travel, i feel, esp in the middle of ur confinement. coz my mum always say if we dun nurse our body back during confinement, no amount of tonics will make up for it after tt. so perhaps u shld discuss wif ur hb over it. no doubt the trip is paid for, but if u r not in the best condition to travel, it makes no sense to go there rite? juz my thots. hope i am not being too kpo.

thanks selina and delphine.. i try not to think so much abt it liao.. din have a good sleep last nite..todae abit giddy also..i really must keep tellin myself i cannot be upset anymore..must think of BB...

btw, since u gals talkin abt BH..how does it felt? anyone knws?

wei kuan
dun worry over the things u hv no control abt. it will juz stress u more. is there a special reason why u might deliver at 32 wks?

ladies, on BH contractions, i dunno exactly wat is tt, though i think i experienced it a few times. its the tensing of a part of my tummy and yet i cant differentiate if thats the baby's body movements against my tummy or BH. anyway gynae said its common, as long as not accompanied by pain and frequency, then nothing to worry abt.

crystallized,
tks. did checked wif gynae on my low blood count n he says no need to worry. he didnt even think i need more iron pills. will check wif him on my dizzy spell next monday. but i think i oredi know his answers - "it is common. part and parcel of pregnancy"... i just have to be really careful especially when m on my own. i try to walk near walls so if it happens again, i have something to hold on to cos now a bit difficult to squad down wif tummy so big...

tks also for the info on BH. me blur blur dunno how to differentiate. constantly will feel lower ab suddenly very tight then loosen after a while but no pain for me. everytime it happens, i will try to relax n take deep n slow breath than it will go away.

wei kuan,
dun worry lah. prob your body doing rehearsal now.

Crystallized, my breathlessness and dizzy spell prob due to my cough. Hopefully once cough over I'll be fine.

Selina, the problem is I'm moving home end of this month, so has been packing, guess the dust made it worse for me.

Aspialle, thanks for the chart.

Thanks for the advise. I'm in such a fix now. Can't imagine moving in with inlaws without hb being around. Think I'll go crazy. But yet won't want to take the risk of bringing bb to a foreign place. Headache!

crystallized, i never want to deliver at 32weeks. I am scared cos i got v.pain and thought it is labour and in actual fact it is the BH.
i plan to deliver at 39weeks, that is end of next month

gemini, ya, like aching when turn left to right, my natal class consultant taught me, if affected on left side, lay on your right with pillow inbtw legs, hb face u and move his finger ard butt till can feel butt bone to msg, it's works well, u can try it
I m gg to ask her how to msg for the other area too.

ilovemybabyg, oh dear...please take care..dun be angry and relax ya...

aspialle, *muak**muak* Thank you so much

crystallized, ya, part & parcel but some can hv remedy. me trying to find out so can ask my natal class consultant to teach me, so far, all her teaching works well
my hb also say better don't travel tho I very adaptable on overseas trip, not so much on the sponsor trip but very sad to miss the award event especially all the high flyers are there, head hunters too, will be great for career advancement...i thinking to encourage him to go w/o me but he say me and BB more impt. Sometime dilemma lor, can't have best of both world.

weikuan, don't be scared, I also very stressed and worried earlier, now after learning from natal class, me & hb really feel more confidence on child birth

hi hi ladies..
sorry for not being able to come in to post lately..as i was very busy at work due to mth-end closing & also guiding the new acct exec on board to understand the finance closure for reports submission on the 1st few days of the beginning of the mth..i hvnt had much chance to read up much on the topics discussed..do hope i dun get to miss out alot..take gd care everyone..i miss u all so much..cheers~

anyway, here's to share what i got on Braxton Hicks: -

http://www.reference.com/browse/wiki/Braxton_Hicks

http://www.babycenter.com/refcap/pregnancy/childbirth/156.html

Hi crystalized,

thks for highlighting. Now u talk about it, i do get the tightening of the tummy area, which after a while, the tension will go away.

Hi mummyjoy,

thks for the info. Will ask my hb to try it tonite. The pain comes on/off. So envy of u, after massaging can sleep well, though my hb massage me every nite, even b4 preggie, cant get a gd nite sleep.

Actually, mummyjoy & coral, my hb just told me that he might go 2 wks oversea training in Dec which bb will be ard 3mths old. I was jokingly telling him that I go with him and leave the bb in SIN. But he know that I wont do that. I do get a bit scared, as not sure whether can cope w/o my hb.

mmummyjoy,
ya hor. what u said does make sense.

MTBs,
my tummy felt very very painful few nights ago. Pain as if my whole tummy is twisted and someone trying to break my bones by twisting. I asked gynae. He said it's irregular contractions. Oh no.. very painful and dunno if the regular contractions at labour can tahan or not.

Selina
yah most gynaes will reassure us in this way. So u juz try to b more careful when u r alone and no sudden movements. Hopefully u will get better.

aiyah me oso blur blur on BH contractions lah. usually i juz imagine it as baby brushing against my tummy and i juz pat pat, soothe him an bit and it usually goes away. so i dun think much abt it.

Coral,
u sick ah? then perhaps why u got these symptoms. u oso try to b more careful when u r alone. dun hv sudden jerky movements.

wei kuan
if ur body feels any discomfort u shld quickly go back to ur gynae. dun think too much.

mummuyjoy,
agree tt this is a prestigious award and its a shame to miss it. ur hubby so sweet!
guess u both discuss and work out the best solution. hv to compromise somewhere. or ask one of the close family member to accompany ur hb there?

gemini,
dun mention it. i oso not sure wat symptoms exactly is BH, juz doing wat i can to soothe the discomfort.

wendy,
long time no see.
thks 4 sharing articles on BH. alot of us here blur blur...

janice,
huh? whole tummy twisted and as if someone trying to break our bones>? sounds scary!

crystallized,
i really felt that way! luckily only about 10 secs but it was really really painful. Wonder how mummies go thru hours of labour pain.. no wonder Wong lil lin said she'll kiss the feet of those mummies who dun use epidural..

crystallized,
i willtake it tt my boy decide to change head position so relax n the pressure will go off after a while. didnt even think it was BH until vivian pointed out to me that it might be...

crystallized, janice,
guess we were constantly told tt contractions feel like menstrual cramps. i really wonder how pple without cramps know that they are having contractions...
kao_confused.gif

i'm those that have very bad menstrual cramps but after almost a year without it, i wonder if i can still tell when contraction comes...

coral,
how abt wearing a mask while u do your packing? for the sake of your health.

selina,
yah i was told real contractions feels like menses cramps, albeit 10 or 100 times more painful.
anyway gynae said when real contractions come, we wun mistake it for BH contractions. so i guess those pple tt hv nvr experienced menses cramps no need to worry.

i still rem how menses cramps feels coz i still get them on & off (mild ones though) during pregnancy. i hv asked gynae b4 and she said its normal, esp tt time when my boy was still in breech position. but now tt he has turned, i am not sure wats the real reason. guess it cld b uterine stretching or wat lah. anyway since it goes away usually after a while, i dun think its anything serious.

sometimes, i will feel sudden tightness on either side of my tummy too..sometimes left, sometimes rite..specially now, very difficult to find a position to sleep also..

hi janice, i have such pains too when i was in my 22wks+/-, the whole tummy was so pain tat i can't even move my body, got worried and see my gynae at that time too.. now not so much of tummy pain but it's tightness.. comes and go type... last wk, experienced it on Wed at arnd late morning...also dun knw if BH or jus normal tightness..

selina
u got a lot of frens tt went thru labour w/o epidural ah? no wonder u r oso encouraged to go w/o. i dunno why but as i approach delivery, the thot of me caving in to epidural seems greater leh. hahahaha
thats bad, isnt it? hahaha

hi selina, i belong to those that i dun really feel much menses cramp...my menses very regular and the most abit of backache and tightness at V area oni... dun knw if real BH comes, can differ or not... :p

ilovemybabyG
i think not only we find it difficult to get into a comfortable position to sleep, our babies oso adjusting inside our womb.
coz when i am trying to find a nice position, i can feel him wriggling and turning at the same oso. they r running our of space and who noes when we get adjusted in our comfy position, its their most uncomfortable one, so they move abt, keeping us fr dozing off. at least, i think this happens to me and my boy!

ilovemybabyg/babyaucchini

Me too very diffculf to sleep at night too.. will automatically wake up 2-3 times every night since last week... also dun why like that, just feel uncomfortable

mmummyjoy,
Bunny has rightly said that normal bottle covers with the teat plus the stopper can be used. NUK sells extra covers.

coral,
How long do u intend to bring bb away for?
I brought my boy to France when he was 3 mths old for a month. The coldest temp was about 10 degrees. As we were there for only 1 mth, just need to defer his vaccination by 1 mth, no issue.
But i spoke to the PD, if you're gg there longer, can always arrange for vaccinations to be taken there.
I think it'll be a good experience for the family and at least daddy will not be deprived of bonding with the little one. Just have to do lots of preparation before leaving and lots of stuff to bring. It will seem daunting but do-able.

Selina,
Ermm.. i'm one of those who hardly gets menstrual cramps cos my period is like 2-3 months once type. Cham liao.........

i tot BH IS painless and feel tightness of the tummy?

gynae told me epidural has alot of side effects. he said needle can break if not poke properly. My friend said we'll have to sign something if want to use epidural.

yah crsytallized & delphine..tat's exactly wat happen... when we are comfortable, u will feel them wriggling abt..sometimes, i'm so tired, i jus let my BB wriggle and turn until she finds her comfortable position... :p

crystallized,
yah. tt's y i always tell myself if they can do it y cant i. if my mum can deliver 3 without any pain relief, then i shld b able to do it too...
so far me still ok. told hb if when in hopsital n me caving in for epidural, he has to be the one to keep reminding me not to... told him if words cant help, asked him to use the 'gas' on me so i will konk out n not ask for epidural (worst case scenario)...

Ya, will prob wear a mask when packing.

BBgrace, if we go, we'll be away for 6-9mths...ya, lots of logistic to plan and temp will be low and by then bb only 1+mth...

ilovebabyg,
i guess it's rare case ba... but gynae did told me that wor. Mayb he's trying to discourage the use of epidural ba..

Selina,
ya lor! My grandma has 10 children also "steady pom pi pi"

Heard the laughing gas is abit "smelly"..

Menstrual cramps, hmmm... dun get them much cos my menses very irregular & even if hv, they are bearable.

Hi janice,

Needle broke?? I cant bear to think.....

Hi selina,

I'm very, very, afraid of injections, so whenever nurses have to draw blood, i will turn my head away till the nurse has finished. Furthermore, epidural is to be injected in the spine, me dare not think. And also, 2 of my friends suffer from ocassional back pain which maybe due to the side effect of epidural

Sleeping
========

I cant sleep well these few nites. My gal will start kicking if I sleep on my left side. Even sometimes if I sleep on the right side. Will tell her that it's bedtime before I go sleep. Sometimes , if this does not work, will get my hb to talk to her cos whenever my hb place his hand on my tummy, my gal will stop kicking. Dun "give face" to daddy.

hehehehe...my grandma also 10 children...somemore tat day, my grandma told me she can still cycle to go deliver...

i guess i will also try endure wif laughing gas first before considering to take epidural..we all must steady steady ya!! :p

i have menses every 3 to 4 mths before pregnant, so already forget what is menses pain.
the worse is 6mths once when i am younger.
was surprise when i preggy within 1mth of wedding

Gemini,
me too. my menses also very irregualr and cramps are bearable.
My friends get backpain too. side effects of epidural lor. if dun inject correctly into the spine, can get paralyse. That's y need to sign declaration doc.
Huh? U mean dun give mummy face, not daddy's face lah.

ilovemybabyg,
WAH! Your Ah ma is very the steady leh! Can cycle some more! Peifu peifu!