(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

just came back from gynae. Baby now weighs 1.5kg at Week 29. Got a 3D scan of baby as well. Think she looks more like daddy. Wanted to reconfirm gender. Gynae said 90% girl because if got "something", he'll definitely show me.

I asked Dr Ang about the StrepB test. He asked how i got to know this test. I said from the forum. So he said he do this test on selective patients only. Patients whom he suspect have infection or their 1st child kena. But since I asked, he did StrepB test for me just now. He said the risk is 1:50. If 10:500, about 2 out of the 10 mummies will have babies with the infection. Not standard or compulsory lor. He charges $45 for this test. CTG also optional.

Jo,
I love kopi too!

Janice,
Err I booked Mdm Naini very early cos she very "hot" mah. Wait no slot. Place for confinement ok one lah. Mdm Naini drives.

Wat is StrepB Test and for what? I dun recall he did that for me for my 1st pregnancy.

Coral,
Maybe becos I had very bad water retention. So I find the massage very painful lor. But I tried the normal relaxing massage, not painful. So I guess is the water retention lor. That time hor, my leg like pig's leg like that leh, after massage, I finally "found" my own leg hahaha...

Bunny,
I remembered Dr Ang did cervix test for me. It is only known as vagina test right? Damn damn painful, and know what? I gave birth the next day. I skipped the CTG scan cos I due on Week 36.

crystallized,
Strep B test is the same as Cervix test/Vagina Test or not? If it is, then I got do before.

Selina, Janice, Jo,
Forgot to add on. Mdm Naini also need drapolene cream or Desitin Cream to apply on your tummy before binding. Up to you to decide which cream. Drapolene is cheaper lah. For my session last time, I used about 4 tubes of drapolene.
Mdm Naini will ask for your pre-pregnancy weight and weight at due time and your current weight. She needs this info to prepare the herbs. Usually, she will recommend you to take the 6 session (5 massage + binding and 1 salt scrub) first, then usually at the 4th session, she will advises if you need to add on session. Up to you to decide if wanna add on.

Janice,
Dr Ang actually skips a lot of optional tests. I realised many MTBs did a lot of tests but Dr Ang doesn't perform on all patients. Like triple test etc, if he feels you are low risk, he will "hint" you to opt out for the test. Save quite a lot of $ lor.

Crystallized,
My friend called me just now and said she got the carters romper from Prettymama. She said very nice leh, and will pass to me next Mon/Tue

Crystallized, PM you liao... =)

Regarding the StrepB test, my gynae already mentioned that it is optional actually. But just to be safe, she do for me. Actually, even she din mention, I will still ask abt it coz my colleague's wife was tested positive and luckily treated before delivery.
Think I just want to have a peace of mind lor, esp. since I already know that there is such a thing... hee...
BTW, my colleague's wife's gynae did say that this StrepB test must do later during the preg, closer to due date to be accurate. FYI.

doreen, hehehe...maybe my niece don't hv younger slibings so she love babies, my mum told me she will hold hands and guide the younger kids at playgroup, just like a big sister
ya, hope our BB will love our #2
Wow, your FIL so good, make soup for you..gave up on my mil*sigh* but how come got to take after 12am?

Selina, Vivian, I learnt from natal class, BB face inwards is good, if BB face outside, spine matches our spine, the pressure will be on our back and will cause backache to mummies especially when in labour. Caleb and Rhys already dote on their mummy now

yoko, Jenny from our thread has posted the photograher contact some time ago, u might have to scholl thro our thread to find...

Jenny,

if im not wrong, the cervic test is to chk hw dilate is ur cervic. the strepB test is to chk for any infection in the vagina. tink last time i ask him abt vagina discharge, tat's y he did the test for me.

tink tis time i'll oso 1 him to do it, cos itink tis time i got more discharge n its itchy.

Jenny,
its not the same as cervix test. as mentioned, its a type of bacteria that cld b present in our vagina and will endanger the baby when they r delivered naturally, thus if the mummy is tested +ve, she will hv to b put on antibiotics drip during delivery. since janice mentioned ur gynae dun do for all patients, thats y u din get tested for ur 1st gal lor.

i din noe tt not all gynaes dun perform this test until u gals mentioned. i think 4 mine, its compulsory, unless u opt out. i will b doing during my nxt visit at 34 wks.

Rompers arrived alrdy ah? YIPPIE!
thats great! when u hv collected u let me noe, will come & pick up fr u.
pls thank ur fren on my behalf for the collection.

Vivian
i emailed u liao.

yah i will def be testing for this Strep B thing coz its like pretty common 4 us ladies to get this bacteria. and to b on the safe side, juz get tested. keeping fingers crossed that we will pass the test.

Bunny,
u sound like u got yeast infection coz u mentioned its itchy rite?

mummyjoy
My FIL is nice??...hahaha
He only make soup and birdnest for me after we know from detail scan that my bb is a boy. And he being so proud sure go and tell his friends mah. Than his friend got medical shop near our hse so of cos bo pian he got to buy for me to eat right.

But sometimes becos he proud we got something out of it lor that's the only good thing. Like his friend do window grills for us than he haolian so bo pian pay for us....hehe
But all not nice also I rather he dun cook at all for me. I always force hubby to eat half. I tell him die we die together....hahaha

Why I drink after 12am is becos he will cook for me personally after he finish work. He says my MIL doesn't know how to cook(And she is supposed to cook my confinement meals). Than when my hubby comes back from work at bout 12am just nice cook liao he will bring up for me lor. THAN i wait a bit cool than drink lor.

me been having dizzy spells. 1st time was on fri morning. yest afternoon another attack. much more intensive. can really feel my surrounding spinning. lucky hb was wif me. held on to him for about 5 - 10 mins. anyone experiencing this now in the last tri?

Hi Selina,

Do take care... I only have dizzy spells when I dun eat. Think low blood or high blood. After resting and take some light food and hot drinks, it will go away. Not sure yours is the same or not...
Take care okie?

selina, i also got fainting spells tis morning , on the way back home from market

i was breathless and weak and head spinning, lucky hb with me, sat down to rest for a long time ..my blood pressure shld be ok,duno y?

Can I check with you all if which brand of milk bottle will be good for babies? Cos I heard some ppl saying that NUK and Advent one is good except that it is costly.

At the same time, I am also looking into buying cotton washable diapers and will like to know if those make in china are good? If so, where can I get those "make in china" one from or should I go for those like pigeon, tolleyjoy etc.

Enjoy ur weekend.

anyone here know where to purchase glass milk container? heard from my lesson last thursday on breastfeeding, recommend glass bottles for storing of EBM.

480809.png

Bunny,
Not too sure, cos that time when I did my cervix test, I heard Dr Ang called out to Mdm Chan saying "V check". So I think vagina check = cervix test.
Oh, that means if we tell Dr Ang on the discharge thingy, then he will do the Strep B test bah. So far, I dun have any problem with the discharge.

crystallized,
My friend said she will pass to me tomorrow. But not sure if I'm able to get her tomorrow cos I have medicial appt with gynae. Anyway, she said she will leave the rompers on my desk if she can't get me tomorrow.

Selina,
In fact, I have been getting dizzy spells for quite some time, for no reason lor. Asked around, some friends said lack of oxygen, some said low blood, some said due to hunger, low in sugar etc. I also not sure leh. I dun encounter this last time.

GingerCat,
To me, all milk bottles are the same. Is the way we feed the bb. You got to make sure the teat is filled with milk, so that bb dun suck in air.

Wei Kuan,
You can collect the glass milk container from hospital.

Hi Selina,

I also experience dizzy spell very often as well as numbness at both arms.

I check with Gynea he say that this is normal because of relaxing horome.

Wei Kuan,
The FM that hospitals feed bb are put in glass bottles. You can request from the nursery during your stay there. But take note that the metal caps will rust after a while. So you got to buy those plastic caps for milk bottles to replace them.

Jenny,
Its ok lah, no hurry for the rompers. In fact, almost forgot all abt them!
but i guess when i collect fr u, i will hv new clothes for my baby! YEAH! plus the ones i am sharing wif u, wah... looking fwd to collecting fr u!

Btw i haven started doing any washing for baby's stuff leh. All the clothings (new & hands-me-down), cloth diapers plus the cot set etc... its a lot to wash! i worried do too early will only collect dust.

Gingercat,
i think those cloth diapers fr pigeon & tollyjoys are fine. Are those fr China cheaper? i am not sure got any difference. To play safe, u might wanna stick to those common brands?

doreen, oic, tonic is for BB huh, hehehe...he haolian huh but at least he care for BB... hey, my fren just told me drinking birdnest on mid of night is best cos' can absorb better

BBgrace, any idea where to get the plastic cap for glass milk bottles?

vivian, aspialle, jenny, misterygal
tks. i also dunno y. my blood pressure so far ok leh. i wasnt hungry at all also. will check wif my gynae next monday when i see him again. hope this wont affect the chances for natural birth ba...

crystallized,
Got the rompers from my friend le. When you wanna collect? SMS me to arrange, ok? By the way, the romper states M size 6 mth (5.5 to 8.2kg). Definately bigger than the one we shared.
Oh, I washed the bb clothings (hands down ones) during my MC last week. Stayed at home, nothing to do, so brought them out to wash. But haven't wash bedding sets yet. New clothings also haven't wash. Anyway, I will be doing another round of washing in Mid/End Sep.

mmummyjoy,
Regarding the romper that you asked over email. The sets I bought got 1 white and 1 yellow which bb boy can wear also. You wanna try? If you want, I can share with you. I can take pic to show you the design if you are interested.

Selina,
Dun worry too much. I think is common for preggies to have dizzy spells. My BP is ok also and when I have this dizzy spells, I'm not hungry also. Will be seeing gynae this PM, will ask him about it.

Hi selina,

I also experience the fainting spells. I was thinking maybe it due to the sudden change of temperature, sometimes when I'm back from lunch and into my office. It maybe due to insufficient sleep also which I think happen to me last sat am. I was at NTUC when I felt my surroundings turning black and going to faint. I felt much better after sitting down.

Hi doreen,

at least your FIL still cook bird nest for you. My MIL dun even bother to cook tonic for me. The bird nest I'm drinking now is bought by my hb but cooked by my mum. Tonic soups are also brewed by my mum.

MTBs, fyi, the fu hua lady was telling me we can only eat bird nest till 8mths. I cant remember what the reason already.

Giddy spell
============

nvr had tis experience for my 1st 1... but hv been experiencing tis on & off since i preggie tis round. during the initial mths, i had it when im hungry. 2nd tri til now, can hv it anytime 1... BP normal... not hungry oso kana... i gas its the weather or my hormornes doing the trick ba...

Jenny, u oso seeing Dr Ang today ar?? me too leh... wat time is ur appt? mine at 5pm.

mummyjoy, last time the nurse told me i can get the plastic covers frm those normal brand bottles, those tat cums wif teats n seal inside can do liao.

Jenny
oh u got the rompers alrdy ah? mayb tmrw nite? will u b at home?
bigger is ok. still can wait for baby to grow bigger to wear.

how u wash the clothings? hand wash or throw all into washing machine? coz a fren of mine mentioned we shldnt use our machine to wash as there might b bacteria. i will hv to start in early sept for washing as my EDD is in early Oct.

though i have done precaution to prevent leg cramps, tis morning still awaken by 5 mins leg cramps....now i pai kah again.haiz

may i know anyone using cetaphil for bb? still considering which bathing essentials to use...personally im sensitive to J & J duno y

aspialle
think leg cramps r unavoidable. i get it almost every nite too. but can self-help so far though.

heard J&J is v drying for newborns, though ironically its ideal for babies. Will b considering to use Latacyd or Sebamed...

Jenny, Bunny,
Went to check my receipt. The strep B test is known as HVS culture. But Vivian mentioned that the test is done at late pregnancy? I did it last fri at Week 29 wor.. Gynae didn't say must wait leh..

Selina,
I had fainting spells at early pregnancy only. Arms numb also. Mayb u stand up too fast ba, so feel dizzy?? Eat some sweet things should help.

mmummyjoy,
i remembered someone mentioned that if u eat birdnest in the morning, it's for baby. If at night, it's for mummy. I eat in morning only. My colleague said her sis ate birdnest for 1st kid. But not the 2nd one. She said the 1st child really good complexion and rosy, even when grow up wor.

i do not think bird nest will cause baby to have good skin, my friend take a lot during first prenancy and did not take at all for second pregnancy, but turn out the second child is prettier and have a better complexion than the first

481338.png

Wei Kuan, Dr Tan hasn't mention the strepB test to me, I'll ask him on 19 Aug, my next appt.

Doc say me down with mild bronchitits, but th med to treat is harmful for preg, so he wont give me med now. He say my air-pipe very narrow now. I've been feeling breathless and faint, probably due to my narrow air-pipe and lack of sleep.

Anyone can advise if it's ok to bring bb overseas after confinement? My hb needs to go States in Sep and stay there for 9mths. So now he's asking to postpone trip, else he wont be with me during delivery and wont see bb untill she 8mth old...So sad, I may have to stay put in Spore while he's there. cos I'm not sure if we can get adequate post-natal care for bb and me. Like the vaccinations bb will need...Timing is so bad!

Hi delphine,

Ya hor, I forgotten that I'm be reaching 8th mth very soon. time passes so fast. Tonite must remember to check with the lady.

Hi coral,

personal opinion: not advisable to bring bb overseas esp she still a few mths old. Afraid that the bb may not be able to adapt to the environment/weather.

Indeed very bad timing... can understand your feeling if hb is not around and esp after delivery, need his support even more. Can your hb postpone his trip to a later date, maybe next yr, Jan? If really no choice, can consider install a webcam so that at least ur hb can see the bb?

Need your advise, my left butt bone ache whenever I sit too long, is that part of hipbone? what about the middle piece of bone in between the butt, I feel it aching if I sit on tough surface for too long...wonder if all connected to my hipbone pain.

selina, paisay hv to ask u, are u the one who suffer from infection of the hipbone? can tell me where does it hurts and what type of medicine the doctor give? got to be on mc?

mummyjoy
u r not alone. my butt aches at times oso. and now tt u mentioned it, i think perhaps our weight might hv contributed to that esp when we sit too long. but its not the same as hipbone pain rite?

coral,
i think its really a dilemma for you. not sure if NBs are ok to travel aft confinement coz they r still so young, even aft confinement. perhaps shld check wif gynae or even the paediatrician. yah, its a different environment there, u might not know where to get help when u need it. hopefully ur hubby can postpone his trip till later.

mummyjoy,
i dun have infection of hipbone. mayb vivian can help better with hipbone issues. i have pain at my tail bone instead n that's the tail end of your spine in between the butts. it's alot to do with posture (sitting n standing) too. i have the pain cos i hurt that part b4 pre-preg. nv seen doc on this issue. i just learn to deal wif it n change position every now and then. cannot sit or stand too long.

coral,
me feeling breathless at times oso. even not doing anything and juz sitting down. gynae said its normal. but i got no fainting spells, so perhaps its different fr ur case. is there anything he said tt can make u feel better? when it happens, perhaps u shld try to lean back abit (so tt our body is stretched and more area for breathing), it might help. i do tt when i feel breathless.

Ladies, I been sleeping well lately
either my hb msg works or u can try to eat yoghurt before sleep and see if you can sleep well too. I took the meiji yoghurt, smaller tub, not too sinful..hehehe.

Jenny, thks, I bot 1 pack too and find the neck area very small so worry hard to dress BB, hv bot a few other button all the way up instead

Bunny, thks...but don't think got enough cover for the glass bottles cos' still need to use for bottles after sterlising, wonder where can buy extras?

Janice, hm...whatever we eat, the nutrients will 'filter' to BB right? Doesn't make sense that it's only good for mummy at night unless BB don't 'eat' at night?

Crystallized, ya, I still trying to figure out where the pain comes from my left butt whenever I sit too long...

Selina, oh, Thanks! So thats the tailbone, I find it tough to sit too long when exercise on yoga mat, got to keep shifting position too.

Coral, I also very sad, hb going to US to receive top award from CEO in Nov, can bring spouse, everything sponsor....I am due end of Oct, wonder if good to travel in mid of confinement or straight after confinement and will BB be ok if we leave him here. HB say I must rest during confinement and he will forgo the trip even tho he has been aiming for this world wide prestige award since last year, only 1 and he is the first Asian who got it this year.