(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Hi Esther,

My gynea also Dr CH Koh, clinic at Toa Payoh. I am expecting my boy on 16 october. I chose Mount A also. Our date very close ah!!!
Maybe we met before we also dont realize it. I usually went for wednesday visit cos shorter waiting time. We live near TPY so we dont mind weekday check-up.

:mad:

Morning ladies!!

Hi jasmine, me too leh, 28 Jul will also be my next appt...two wks from now... very fast hoh...
my gynae apt last fri was good too..BB is around 1.2kg at 28wks...

me also went shopping again as usual over the wkends...seems like my HB also gettin more enthusatic and more participating nowadays, think getting all excited for our BB arrival....kekekekeke

1st we went carrefour after my appt last fri to buy some more BB wipes and pigeon bottle cleanser, then went cheong choon store last sat and my HB seems very keen on the new combi stroller (reversible handle type)..their prices seems more cheaper compare to outside...and the lady quite helpful and nice too...we most likely settling on that set...heehee.. then went JB Giant yesterdae to purchase 3 packs of Mummypoko pampers for NB... heehee...cheaper also.. cos my relative is staying in JB and we went in to enjoy some "authentic" home grown durians, very nice..heehee....

looks like i got most of my stuffs, done most of my BB washing and drying over the weekends... lucky got dryer at home if not cannot dry bcos of the wet weather recently... then pack some of the things in drawers too.. now only left a few things to buy and packing of our delivery bag next mth bah...

oh yah coral, maternity pads... , is pureen maternity pads good? where to buy? tot maternity pads are very different from normal pads? are they pants like type??? sorry, i dun knw how it looks like... kekekeke... :p

hi jasmine, heard the lady in cheong choon talk abt cappella brand also... she says not bad... maybe u can see see look look first, cos stroller not so hurry bah...but of course, got good deal then must grab...
my HB likes the reversible handle type alot, so we settling on combi instead..

Hi Jenny,

What is the 2 incidents of ur friend encounter with Dr Koh CH?

Both Esther and I are going to the same gynea. Is it fine with you to share with us?

So far so good with him currently. He is soft spoken and make me feel comfortable with him. Is just that the clinic usually have long queue despite of appointed appointment which I dont think the management of appointment schedule is quite right.

:mad:

Hi ilovemybabyg,
my bb is ad 900g at 26wks ++. gynae said he is in mdium range.
yes, no hurry to get stroller now. jz go survey lor. oo...the lady at CC oso said cappella brabd not bad arr. i probably will compare combi & cappella brand stroller lor. told hb about CC sell stroller very cheap compare to other store. so, probably will compare the price 1st b4 buying.
thanks for the info lel. btw, this cappella oso hav the reversible handle.

Crystallized, I also heard NUK latex teats more resemble mummies nipples but hor it dont last, will 'melt' after few times of sterilizing. I have it free with my sterilizer but bot the silicon type to replace cos' worried not good for BB. My mum being looking for button type, cooler material that my niece used to wear but can't find any in KP and complaint the type I bot was too thick. She stayed in the North
, can share the Chong Pang shop addy, must be along the roast meat coffee shop right? Haha, the type I bot more for kai kai lah, hv to get other set in my mum's plc for hm use. I bot Pigeon nappy liner cos' KP staff told me it is softer than tollyjoy.

Jenny, My CL also mentioned I can get the herbs by myself, in fact, me happy to do so cos' want to chose the better grades of herbs. Ya, my mum looking for BB home wear, complaint those I bot too thick and nice to wear at home. Oh...no, drink more water and take good care ya!

Ilovemybabgyg, wow, u hv a fruitfull wkend
I also find combi designs better but the small wheels like not sturdy for longer use when BB gets heavier..

Emily, Esther,

My sis with Dr Koh, delivered her 2 kids safe and naturally w/o epidural. She also recovered very fast after birth
She finds him a patient and careful gynae.

Hi hi jasmine..
Ya, I guess the Aussino babycot mattress is very popular..maybe the designs is very sweet lor..keke..so did u manage to get the breastpads at $3.90 each & buy 2 get 1 box free?Based on what I understand, Carpella is also known as Lucky Baby, is Korean brand, however both Combi & Carpella are made in China..i think I know which one u r referring to at the $199 Carpella one..its light blue & greyish color, right?That one isnt really quite new, probably under promotion ma..kekeke..but that one, we noticed that one the legs area isnt as long so which means baby cannot rest the legs as they grow longer..uhmm..i duno if u noe wat I m talking abt here..hope I didnt confuse u ahh..both Combi & Carpella does have reversible handle-bar..so u can take ur time to choose betwn both..can also go Tamp Mall Isetan & Century Square Metro to check it out as well..

Hi hi ilovemybabyg..
Seems like u had a gd time over the wkend ahhalso gd for u lah..ya, diapers in JB will surely be cheaper lor..wowu even drove in to JB to have a big feast ahh..

hi jasmine and mmummyjoy, i dun knw for cappella, cos seldom see this product.. but lady in CC told me that the new combi set is very much lighter and the design are better... 4.4kg if i'm not wrong... the old model of combi which is out of stock now is abt 6.5kg and the new shipment will be in late Aug .. so HB wanted the new model as lighter for me to move arnd also.. i prefer their range of colors..more brighter colors compare to the rest..heehee...anyway, will go check out cappella also...heehee...
464861.png

crystallized,
i intro bottle feeding of EBM to my boy during the end of 2nd week. Intro too early i scared nipple confusion, intro too late scared bottle rejection. sigh! Cos i wanted to do my massage so needed CL to feed him EBM.
i used the NUK silicon teat at first cos latex is softer and i didn't want him to have a too easy time sucking and then reject my breast. i subsequently switched to latex teats when he was 6 months old cos he was almost fully on bottle feed for EBM and latex ones are easier to feed and by then i wanted to wean him off my breast.
It's a delicate balance lor, lots of trial and error cos my boy went thru a stage of bottle rejection when he past 1 mth old. V stress lor cos that would mean that i can't go anywhere without him!

wendy,
Thanks for asking about me.
I've finally shifted y'day. Packing was so tiring. I've been sleeping at 2am for the past few nights packing. There just so many things esp after you have a kid. Trying to settle in the new place now and unpack the last bit of the stuff.

mummyjoy,
yah latex teats r not as lasting, but to me how the baby reacts to the teats r much more impt than how lasting they are. Since i wanna BF, def i wun bother how lasting the teats will be. Juz need to chg more frequently.
i wish to minimize the risk of the confusing the baby as much as possible.

Oh paiseh i din note down the addy of the shop leh. its directly opp the cooked food ctr and the shop sells children's clothings as well as ladies wear and some toiletries. only a handful selling baby's stuff. ur mum shld b able to find. they got the buttons and wrap-tie ones.

i haven bought much outdoor clothes for the baby. somehow boys' ones not so attractive leh!
all i can think of r rompers fr MotherCare.

bbgrace
yah i oso dun wanna introduce teats to my bb too early. but i heard we can start introducing when bb is abt 6 wks old, to prevent them fr btl rejection later when we go back to work.

i guess for teats there is really alot of trial and error until we hit jackpot. wat works for this baby might not work at all for the other one. so i think juz play ard wif the teats.
i got a handful of assorted brands at hand now.

yah me oso planning on the massage session, so i think will need to feed on EBM as well.

i got some qns on BFG to ask. i go and jot down and email u at 1 go. been thinking hard abt the possible BFG scenerios these few wks, and need to speak to experienced mummies.

GOodness! move hse! u still got energy! feeling my tummy getting heavier as the days go by. sometimes i feel so strenuous getting up fr the floor. 2 more mths to go man!

hi hi ilovemybabyg..
i think i know whc one u r refering to for the 4.4kg Combi one..at 1st i also quite like that one..coz it seems quite light-weighted for me esp if got to bring baby out alone..but aft much consideration, hubby is worried that it might not be that steady to get a light-weighted one..in case, when i carry baby in & out, then the backwheels might cause the stroller to fall behind if it's too light..so we decided to get something abv 6kg..

hi hi babygrace...
no wonder didnt see u online lately..so u shift in liao ahh..wow..i guess it's not easy for u to pack & unpack lor..lucky u got a maid to help u with the cleaning..be careful & dun over-stretch ur back lor..do take short nap is possible ba..cheers~

Ilovemybaby, I'm not sure how the pads look like. i bought 2 packs from Carrefour but have yet to open. It's the adhesive type but should be quite thick...

babgrace, go check out The Bale. The location quite good, layout not bad too, and much cheaper than Nclave. So tempted, it's full condo facilities too.

hi wendy, u r right also.. but for me, bcos i quite small size, try 6.5kg before.. think it will be heavy for me with BB in it liao... 4.4kg with BB in it seems a much better choice for me...

hi crystallized, me too..my office is on the 4th flr, no lift, so have to climb up 4 stories high everyday, go work 8 fleet of stairs, go makan for lunch another 8 fleet of stairs... sigh... and we are shifting soon to new building but oni in sept...by the time, no use for me also... sigh..
464895.png

hi hi wendy,
i didnt get d breastpads coz bot the tollyjoy breastpad earlier. but then i head tat brand not so gd. oh bian...bot liao.
thanks for telling meCombi & Carpella are made in China. tot it's made frm korea. sigh...yes, tat one i refer to at the $199 Carpella one..its light blue & greyish color, right? & i prefer red & greyish one. i understand wat u mean. if bb leg is long or grw up, they cant rest their leg, rite? i saw a lot of bb like to put their leg on top of bumper. is it coz of tat? hehehe... i saw kiddy palace oso selling it & the gal told me is a new model. hmmm??? if buy at kiddy palace got 10% disc coz i hav member card. but then will check on more model 1st..no hurry lor. probably will bring bb along. let him choose the stroller. hahaha

BB kicking
==========

My bb has been very active for on last Fri and ytd, he woke up 3-4 hours interval and kick like for long time(maybe 30mins) at night till I wake up. Noti boy hor but luckily he is still gentle. Btw, did any MTBs also feel this? The kick is like continuously, got rhythm, something like heart beat but stronger and followed by some wriggling movement. I worried he is under distress, too cold, hungry or smtg. I eat, play CD, sing songs also can't calm him down. Even I put my hand on tummy, he response more excitely like I am playing with him so I stop touching tummy ytd night. Only thing that works is I get off bed then walk ard or I rock slight on bed till he quiet or maybe went to sleep. This morn, he started kicking at 8a.m then like a few mins once till 9plus lei, it's like the kick got rhythm like that. MTBs, is your BB also so active? I am so worried, thinking to go to visit gynae tonight.

ilovemybabyG
Juz take it as a form of exercise by climbing stairs. i try to do that whenever possible too. and taking slow walk. Cant imagine brisk walking.
Hoping these little exercises will help in delivery later.

mummyjoy
my bb started to b v active recently oso. haha
i am not worried as i juz take tt he is adjusting his position and everyday i am nagging at him to quickly move up b4 he has no more space. Last nite, the boy actually tickled me wif his kicks when i was lying on the side, trying to sleep. i was jottled up by his ticklish kicks and staring laffing to myself. keke
in the end, hb had to pacify the baby by asking him to b good and go to sleep.

this morning he is v active oso, wriggling and moving abt pretty rapidly. Until i had no peace and had to go 4 a walk to distract myself.

there is nothing to worry when bb is active, i guess. U really worry when he is not moving, so relax.

mummyjoy, guess it's our bb growing bigger, so their kicks are stronger so we can feel most of their movements now, thus to us, they like moving alot. My bb's movements can be felt more often now and for a longer time. but I think these are just assurance for us that bb is fine ba.

hi hi ilovemybabyg..
okok..i think if u get from CC will be cheaper lor..gd leh..can exercise..now ahh..if u ask me to climb up the stairs ahh..i very lazy wor..not gd leh..keke..

hi hi jasmine..
oic..ok..at 1st, i also duno that Combi & Carpella is from China till I met one of the salesman then tell us lor..but as long as stroller can function well...i think is impt lor..coz to think again..not all children will want to sit on stroller lor..keke..u also saw alot of children put their legs on top of the bumper ahh..haha..ya..very cute hor..like very comfy like that..haha..i m not very sure abt the tollyjoy breastpad..coz i bought pigeon ones from CC..then i thot since got promo at carrefour for disposable ones..then chin-cai lah..just buy to stand by lor..anyway, use & throw..keke..

hi hi mummyjoy..
wow..ur baby very active leh..can kick & move ard non-stop for 30 mins ahh...since u mentioned it's pretty rhythmic then cld it be baby is having hip-cups?like wat the rest said..it's common to feel more obivious kicks from baby as well..coz baby's growing bigger lor..ok one la..

<font color="0000ff">hi hi mummies..
me went to watson to get some kodomo baby wipes &amp; also the small bottle baby powder..thot it might be useful to use the wipes for the high-chair when we bring him out lor since the kodomo wipes isnt as thick..even the small bottles of powder..coz at least not need to pack into smaller bottles..easier to bring ard also..u all might want to consider getting some to stand-by as well..</font>

hi crystallized, tat's wat i take it too as well...
nowadays, i also took slow walk to market over the wkends mornings to buy breakfast..must do a bit of exercise no matter wat...

hi mmummyjoy, my girl girl also very active... her kicks and wrigglings can sometimes make me stop wat i'm doing...kekekeke... but like her kicks anyway..kekekeke... so no worries if BB is active ya...

465043.png

nowadays, i also took slow walk to market over the wkends mornings to buy breakfast..must do a bit of exercise no matter wat...

hi mmummyjoy, my girl girl also very active... her kicks and wrigglings can sometimes make me stop wat i'm doing...kekekeke... but like her kicks anyway..kekekeke... so no worries if BB is active ya...

crystallized,
Where got too bu? I din take any bu one.
I din open up the Madame Pureen Maternity pads leh.

mmummyjoy,
My company dun give hamper. They give cash.
In that case, ask your mum to go Chong Pang City for a walk. There's a few shops around selling bb clothings.
In fact, my hb will company CL to the medical hall and she will know what to do. As for the grade, my hb will choose and pay. Do you know the tea we drink during confinement, different CL have different methods of boiling? I mean the ingredients. Simple one use use red dates, gou ji zi, longan. Some CLs use more ingredients.

ilovemybabyg,
I got feedback that Mamy Poko from M'sia, the quality is different from SG one. Read in other forum that will leak.

Emily,
If you feel comfortable with the gynae, then stick to him. I just find him not professional enough due to the incidents, but my friends think ok.

hi jenny, oh, is tat so...in fact two of aunts always go in JB and bulk buy and my m'sian colleagues who also use Mammypoko pants from m'sia dun seems to have such problem... they gave good feedbks abt MP anyway...

hi coral, how much are the maternity pads tat u buy? anywhere else can get other than carrefour?

great to know all of you, I'm oct mum to be too! mine is a babyboy, planning to take a pregnancy photo during 8th month, anyone go for maternity photoshoot! any recomend?
looking for a good photographer now!

ilovemybaby, I paid $7 for 20pads. That was the first time I saw it so just buy, did npt really search for it at other places...If I remember correctly, someone said she saw at Kidsmall or kiddypalace...

hi wendy,
totally agree wif u, as long as the stroller is good &amp; comfortable for bb, tat's more impt.
btw, do u eyeing any brand of stroller? can share wif me?

hi hi ilovemybabyg,
yes..i'm looking at this D-228. but still need to do more reseach 1st.
btw, u can get the maternity pads at kiddy palace, or shopNsave too. probably those maternity shop oso did selling it.

jenny, why ur first CL like that one, sleep only?
I will not touch anyhting and let my CL do everything during the 27 days.
but I am okay aby buying the herbs first before giving birth.

465250.png

hi hi jasmine..
we have more or less decided on carpella (the model seems to be 707-736 for red color one)..not sure if u can find this model somewhere..i cant find a pic of this..now is to buy when bb is out lor..so no hurry on this..just that i cant decide on the baby cot..duno if i shd take the taka (babycraft) or the one from bb's kingdom lor..headache leh..

hi hi janice..
okok..will do..

hi wendy,
oic.... i oso didnt see this 2 model in the website ler. where u saw this stroller?
i tot u oredi bought the bb cot liao? tat time u went wif ur MIL to bb kingdom. what's ur worry actually? any diff for both bb cot?

hi hi jasmine..
oh..this one is available at carrefour as well..also metro century square..but the color isnt the one on display..got reversible handle bar as well..then extended "foot-rest"..keke..that time went with MIL is to check out only..cant remember if that one in bb's kingdom is high enough to pick up the baby lor..coz i know the one in taka is not bad..quite a lot of mtbs chose that one..at least we dun have to bend that low also..think i got to make the decision by next wk..coz gg to order liao..

hi hi wendy,
ooo...i think i know which one. the price is about $249, rite? hmmm... will bring along bb &amp; ask him to choose. haha....
i bought the bb cot frm bb kingdom, i think the height can adjust one, rite? i oso cant remember lor. yes, now is mid jul, probably u can decide by this mth &amp; ask them deliver on late sept ba.... me oso do tat.

can we claim those medicine charges, scan charges and pre-natal classes to medisave or only the prenatal pkg? Any idea of the max. cap?

hi hi jasmine..
oh, the one i saw at bb's kingdom aft the discount is $288 leh..it's the one very near to the door..i guess probably we will have to go down one last time to bb's kingdom to decide whc one we are buying liao..hehe..also to get the rest of the items i hvnt yet to buy like lotions, cotton balls, handkerchief, bottle cleanser, decide on whc breastpump etc..as for sterilizer..probably get it from metro..coz me just exchange a metro voucher so i guess shd be ok to get it when i have deliver ba..haha..

crystallized,
i got my stamina training managing an active toddler. Bo pian lah, i find that for 2nd pregnancy, got no choice sometimes. Some things just need to be done. Sometimes i even forget that i'm pregnant.
Feel free to email me. hopefully i'll be able to help.

wendy,
ya, luckily got maid to help out but there's limited things she can do. i need to pack and unpack the stuff myself cos she wont know where to put them.

coral
Thanks for the headsup. But where's The Bale? Who's the developer? I googled but can't find anything leh.

crystallized, me too, thinking to use the latex teats first cos' many say it resemble mummy nipple but worried it 'melt' lor...hopefully it dun spoilt my sterilizer. No worries, I will ask my mum to go find. I bot some rompers from Mothercare but my mum dun like, say it is thick and difficult to undress BB w/o the buttons so I will ask her to go buy those she is comfortable with.

Jenny, wah, Cash so good but u know lei ang mo MNC dun practice angpow lei..they like to give gifts and the most is reward points for us to redeem cash to credit to payroll. ya, My mum wants to find button type cooler BB clothing for home use, will ask her to go to the shop.

Emily, dun worry, Dr Koh has been in practice for many years, must hv confident in your gynae

BB active
=========

Thanks MTBs
on sharing your experience. I was so worried cos' my boy like no need to sleep, daddy felt me tossing on bed and woke up to pacify him, he stop kicking when daddy talk to him but continue after. Now he is quieter with few kicks...oh, no, he is sleeping at noon and active at night! hv called my gynae, he say I should be fine but can go to the clinic if not comfortable.

Madame Pureen Maternity
=======================

Went with my sis to Bt. Panjang big sheng shiong and saw this pad selling at $6.45 after I bot my at KP at $7+.

BB clothes drying rack
======================
Was discussing this with selina and who else huh? I finally chanced by the rack used by my neighbour! Bot it at home fix S$89, it's 4 tiers with thin poles on each tier square rack, it don't come with clips so got to buy separately to clip laundry on the thin poles(hope you know what i talking). can hang many pairs of mitten/bottees, good for nappy too

Weikuan, me gg for shots too, which studio u gg, can reco the photographer?

hello oct mummies!
l'm a 1st time mum expecting a bb boy early oct! Right now in my 28wks!

edd: 05/10/06
gynae: dr chan kh (gleneagles)

bbgrace, they'll only start marketing this wkend. It's at Telok Kurau Lor H. Very near to Still road and bus stop just putside and 1 stop away from Eunos MRT. The brochur in my hb's car. will check the developer for you this evening.

ilovemybabyg,
I dunno lah, personally I din try the package from M'sia. Saw Sheng Siong selling at $13+, but cos I read from forum mummies on the feedback on leakage, I dun dare to buy and try lor. You try le then feedback us lah.
The maternity pad that coral bought can get from Kiddy Palace.

Wei Kuan,
Simple lazy lah. Most CLs will show their "real face" when hb returns to work, usually in the 3rd or 4th week. Maybe hb and I are too helpful to help her.

PHOTO SHOOT
I know of this photographer who does maternity shooting. He's good and friendly. He did my gal photoshoot 2 mths ago. Let me find his contact.

hi wendy

at first my hubby n i also aiming this model from carpella but i always felt the area where bb put the legs , that ting is quite shaky. we plan to buy haenim HN11 instead