(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Vivian
thks 4 inforiming on the Impressions disposable panties. will check it out. If not, will get the sorella one tt jenny has mentioned.

btw is the robinson disc still on?

chihiro
i saw the NB pampers on promo and think its quite a gd price, but i wonder how many packs 2 get? dunno whether to get it anot.

Jenny
cant rem if i asked u b4, but u rem wat TMC gives for mummy & baby upon discharge? coz i think they incl NB pampers alrdy rite? If so, then no need to stock up.

Dunno got anything at the taka fair, but by then if i can still manage to shop, i will go there 4 last min shopping.

<font color="ff6000">crystallized</font>
if not enuff, can always go n buy again. also excuse to go out for a wHile .. :p

upon discharge from TMC, the NB pampers u bringing back is an opened pack which bb is using. once pack is open, u bring back. also bb wipes too.

Vivian,
You not mountain tortise lah, I also dunno got cotton type. Will check it out.

crystallized,
If you wanna stock up Pampers Cotton Care NB, buy 2 packs first. Usually for "normal case", bb will use at least 5 packs. Just buy as and when you finish one pack. Aiya, I forgot to pass you the sample for the Fixies NB on Sat...

Basically for bb, dun need to bring anything, include clothings. TMC will dress bb with top and shorts, plus mittins and botties and covered with a hood blanket (aiya suddenly forgot the name of it). Then whatever left over (eg. Pampers, bb wipes) will be passed to us to bring home. For Mummy, will be given 2 packs of sterilised cotton wool balls and 1 bottle of XXX (forgot the name again, but is the medicine to wash the bottom). You still need to stock up pampers cos sure not enough one.

chihiro
thot we not supposed to go out during confinement? they say catch "wind" or sthg? hahaha...
anyway i can always send hb to buy lah. so the NB pampers got the best offer now rite? then i will get 2 packs and monitor usage. i wanna try out a cheaper range for daytime use leh.

Jenny,
u mean the disposable panties tt vivian is talkg abt not those typical material ah? oh, then muz go and take a look liao. i oso dunno much abt it.

Oh since u say not enuff, then i go and get the NB Pampers tdy. I still dilemma which cheaper daytime diaper brand to get yet leh...

i noe during antenatal class, the instructor say no need to bring anything 4 baby coz he will b decked fr head to toe in TMC wear.
but when i visited a fren, i saw the way the baby is dressed, i feel its not warm enuff leh! machiam the baby will catch a chill!
and i am thinking 4 the baby to stay in my rm since i am taking a 1-bedder.

Wei kuan
hospital will chrg us but we cant refuse it rite?

it was great meeting you gals on friday's evening =) paiseh I was so late as need to work OT that evening ...

Coral, very eager to see the photos of us ;)

Jenny
Was it u tt told me u bought Pureen's Madame maternity pads? Think there is another one oso under Pureen. Is tt 4 normal usage?

As 4 cotton buds, can we juz buy any brand or shld me get pigeon's as well?

Wtan, TQ, I rec'd your email.

Vivian, the impression disposable panties, is it for confinement or normal ladies wear? I have some left from my previous travel so wonder if they also hv for confinement.

Aspialle, wow, congrats, u are so lucky. Yup, staying alone..mum has to take care of my niece, will come every night to accompany till morn. Now, I am 'wheeling' myself on my study chair

Chihiro/Wei Kuan, TQ, I will, BB like know mummy not happy, the way he kick is different today

Jenny, TQ for the fixies contact, my hb was on his way so went to buy so I have 120pcs for NB, was given a sample, the size/thickness quite like Mamypoko with the lower waist for cord care, will use it for day time. I think I will use pampers premium for the night, it's on offer but 2 packs x36pcs like too much hor?

Crystallized, I bot the pigeon cotton buds, do take note they have 2 sizes, I almost bot the wrong type, buy the smaller tip suitable for Newborn.

Hi crystallized,
i bought the same disposable panties as mentioned by vivian at kiddy palace too. yes...the material is ddirent frm those normal dis. panties. i bought 4 packs but think not enuf lor. will buy few packet later.
4 cotton buds, i sos bought pigeon brand. i think someone told us in this forum tat (mayb jenny) pigeon brand better coz the cotton a bit smaller thank other brand which more suitable for bb use.

cotton wool
===========

tot we only use cotton wool to clean BB face and mouth, just saw some posts that we need to use it to wipe BB backside too. Can experienece mummy share, the ball type better or square type, any brands in particular?

crystallized,

The disposable panties that Vivian is talking is cotton one, but disposable. Sorelle one is paper one.

Cheaper brand diaper ah, I just bought a pack of Prokids. But they dun have NB size. So far, I only saw S and above. You may want to try this. Q good.

Aiyo is warm lah, dun worry. In fact, you should let bb rest in nursury rather than in the room cos hor, nursury more warm. Our room can be very cold. I once shivered in the room during midnite.

Yes, is me who mentioned about Pureen's Madame maternity pads. Not sure if there's another one under Pureen. Frankly speaking, I dun like Pureen stuff.

For cotton buds, are you referring to those stick type or ball type? Ball type, any brand can lah. But some ppl wants to use sterilised one, which can be bought from Guardian Pharamcy. For the stick type, buy Pigeon one. Pigeon has one that is for bb use, very small and thin unless the normal one. About $2+ per pack, can be bought from dept stores. CC and OCEAN got sell also.

<font color="ff6000">jenny</font>
tts call recieveing blanket

TMC got giv shorts meh?
tt time i rem my gal was dressed in TMC's top, mittens, booties n wrapped in the receiving blanket..no shorts wor

tt bottle of XXX is to wash our wound one.. i oso dunno wats the name. . keke

er, depends on how strict u wanna follow lor. still hv to bring bb back to PD for review 1wk after bb is born. then mummy still hv to go bak to gynae for review after delivery. somehow still hv to go out lor..
i even went out at night wif hubby to fetch my sis n cousin bak from Jay Chou's concert. :p
since my mum has no concern than i go lah.. keke...

mmummyjoy,
I bought a ctn for NB and S size each. My colleagues all buying. Ya, quite silimar to Mamypoko. I dun think 2 packs of Pampers is too much.
Up to your preference to use which type of cotton wool to clean bb butt. Beside butt, face and mouth, you need to use for ears and belly button. Some use to clean neck also

wah, jenny u stock up so many diapesr liao ah.
am tinking to ask whoever giving me diapers to give me 'S' sz instead.. likely to get NB sz myself.

wat brand u bot? can share or not? price?

Chihiro,
Yes yes, is called receiving blanket hahaha... I suddenly forgot the name.
Got leh, got shorts leh.
Ya, that bottle of XXX to wash out wound... I also forgot the name. But Guardian Pharamcy got sell kekeke.

Jasmine,
Ok thks, will get fr Impressions then.

Jenny,
Then 4 disposable panties, better get from Impressions since its better material. Lucky haven stock up the Sorella one yet.

Prokids ah? Nvr heard of the brand leh. But since u mentioned only got S, will try out when bb is bigger then.

Yah dunno why i dun really fancy Pureen stuff oso. like dunno come out fr where. No offence to those mummies whom support this brand hor. Or mayb i shld get those normal pads tt is for night/heavy usage since i more familiar. hmmmm, can decide later.

Cotton buds i referring to stick type. 4 cotton pads, i am using the ones fr Guardian since i use it daily 4 removing dirt on my face. That one no need special brand hor?

Our rm aircon can b adjusted rite? i afraid of cold oso, dun think will turn the aircon up. I wan the baby to b in the same rm so i will recognise his signals when he wants milk. Dun wan to wait till he cries v loudly and demands feed, by then he too angry to latch on. i hope to secure a correct latch while i am still in hospital. anyway will see how lah. plan so nicely doesnt mean will proceed accordingly mah.

Chihiro,
oh we hv to go back to gynae so soon 4 follow up? i wasnt aware. anyway if need to go out, i will lah. dun think i will go out shopping though. i will spend the 1st mth resting &amp; recuperating. Shopping can wait lah. anyway figure haven resume back to normal, oso cant shop wat. keke

ok.. will msn u later. ;)

keke..i go for review, then 'shun bian' go buy stuff that i need than go home liao..gynae's clinic is nearby .. so quite fast one for me..
in any case, anytHing not enuff, giv the wrapper to hubby and ask them to buy.. ezier..:p

Jenny, I worried BB outgrown the NB size, hv 120pcs liao and wonder if to get PP @2pkts x 36pcs lor...oic..like that got to stock up more cotton wool too.

crystallized, I also heard our ward will be cold so best to let BB return to nursary cos' got warmer there.

chihiro,
yah true lah, anything juz ask hb to buy. And nowadays when i shop, i ask him to follow so he noes roughly wat i am buying and where to find them.

mummyjoy,
i will see how and decide then lah. most imptly i wan to bond wif baby as soon as possible so BFG can b easier.

babyzucchui, we can refuse if we bring our own just like what my friend did. but very troublesome, i rather hospital chg me

mummyjoy,
b happy for your bb's sake. i also have alot of probs but just take it easy lor... cos alot not within our control. smile

janice,
glad to hear your bb growing so well.

Caleb's pic
============
showed my ILs over the weekend the scan pics n my SILs said his forehead looks like mine... ha ha ha... finally something of him resemble me...

BB stuff
========
wat i'm doing right now is bring hb along to select all the things we need to buy for bb. anything that he needs to get while i'm in confinement, he will use his mobile phone to take a pic of it so he wont forget. like diaper etc. even disposable panties in case run out of stock so he can go grab them for me... hee hee hee... guess with mobile phone camera quite convenient now lor. even things we need but dun intend to buy now, he will pick them out while we shopping a snap a pic so both of us wont forget later...

attachment_icon.gif

524063.bmp (31.7 k)</td></tr></table></center>

crystallized,
hee I bought the sorella disposable one, 10 pcs for $8.90. And also I have some leftover from my previous pregnancy, dunno what brand. Maybe I go check out JL or Kiddy Palace for Impressions since is cotton.
Prokids is known as Xiao Tao Qi in chinese. Not every place is selling. So far, I know Sheng Siong (selected outlets), Giant (selected outlets) and CK got sell.
If you dun intend to use maternity pads, just use normal pads will do. They are the same anyway. But maternity pads are very thick. I dun like lor, so I will switch to normal pads (Sofy) once I discharge from hospital.
Cotton pad, no need special brand lah. Cotton stick, then buy pigeon one. I see if I can find the pic to show here later.
Although aircon in the room can switch but is still colder than the nursury lor. I wanna keep bb with me that time too. But hb told me to let bb goes back to nursury cos bb was shivering.
You will need to go back for gynae checkup one week after delivery and once after your first menses is cleared.

Hi Coral,
Take care leh... I also cannot sleep recently, so I always pick up Sudoku book and do until tired... no choice lah...
The disposable panties I bought is from John Little sale. Not sure Robinson have or not leh.
I have compared the quality of sorella with that coz I rem some of the mtbs here say sorella good.
After comparision, think i prefer the cotton one. Sorella is better quality paper type.
I wore paper one before lor... very scared it will tear so think I prefer cotton... hee...

Hi mmummyjoy,
Take care leh... try not to walk ard... lie down and rest more lah...
The disposable panties I bought is for pregnant woman one... They stated there on the package. One size only. I also saw they have also for normal lady use one... I have those travel paper type ones too (SIL gave one..) but was concern whether after putting pad, can the paper withstand or not... So decided to use the cotton ones instead of the paper type.

Hi crystallized,
Think the John Little sales ends yesterday. Actually the sales is only for Robinson card members who can enjoys 20% storewide.
I also dun know one, just happen to see crowds of ppl there at causeway pt yesterday. Hee...

crystallized,
a lot of day use diapers don't come in NB size except for Fitti. That was why i used fitti the last time.
Good that u wanna bond with bb but i think mommy needs the rest also. so best to send bb back to nursery. They will bring bb back to you for feeding.
sometimes things are not within control also. as much as we want bb to be with us, my boy had to go "suntanning" with uv rays on the 3rd day in the nursery. So the nurse kept coming to my room to bring him back to the nursery.
cotton buds - get the smaller tip one from pigeon. you'll need it to clean bb's snoot from nose.

mmummyjoy,
i use the square cotton pad to clean bb's face and bum. i find that one better than cotton balls cos the fluff don't come out easily. Usually get mine from Guardian.

Selina, I will, keep telling myself not to cry cos' BB will be disturbed..but mood swing plus the hipbone pain*sigh*...me too, hv started showing hb all the stuff and told him the difference, bot a booklet, will write everything including brands we be using in case he needs to replenish stock during my confinement. Taking pix is a good idea

Vivian, TQ, so impression has DP for pregg ladies, I actually bot a few liao but worry not enough, can't shop liao, I will ask my sis to buy for me.

Bbgrace, TQ, saw a few brands of cotton wool at kiddyP but don't know will 'fluff' or not so better ask the experience mum here. Is guardian type the facial cotton wool?

Wei Kuan
i think 4get it lah. juz use those provided by hospital. esp when u r in pain, the last thing u wanna rem is to bring such things so the hospital wun chrg u.

oh alot of bad comments on Pureen diapers ah? hmmm, ok noted.

Jenny
u said u juz wanna wear disposable panties in hospital rite? then dun need buy so many lah. i almost bought the sorella one aft u mentioned it the other time but i like to dilly dally and in the end din buy. now then kan cheong spider liao, wan to get as much as i can, esp if got sale.

Oh Prokids=Xiao Tao Qi huh? then i noe.

Yah think i wun get maternity pads since TMC will provide a pack liao rite? SO aft finishing tt one, i use the normal pads will do lor. anyway u all mentioned its so thick, sure v uncomfortable.

Oh thks 4 posting the pix, i noe which one liao. v slim type. how many packs to get roughly? its used to clean their nose and wat else ah?

I din noe muz go back to gynae aft 1 wk. why so fast?

Vivian
aiyah i was like chasing for the sale over the wkend. initially i oso dunno JL got sale. juz happened to go CWP and saw the avent pdts on sale. had intended to get some items. but as their variety quite little, i thot to check out Robinsons in CP mah. who noes when i go there, avent got no sale there leh. so funny! Its all under 1 company but only JL got sale for avent. so fed up. in the end, din buy anything.

i hope the nxt sale at Taka will hv better rates lah. tt will b my last min shopping liao.

BBgrace,
Oh only Fitti got NB ah? Thks, i din noe tt.
tt means my choices now left quite little lor.

I noe mummies need to rest during the stay there. but i wan to make use of the chance to do bonding wif my bb if possible. anyway though i prefer to keep baby wif me, i will see how aft i delivered lah. juz my preference lor. coz many bfg books say tt its easier to identify the baby's initial hunger signals eg lips licking etc, so we can BF him b4 he starts to cry. so its easier to BF him. i really wanna BF my bb and i hope to start it on a right track as soon as possible, esp wif the help while i am still in hospital.

yah lah, i agree tt if no choice bb hv to b taken away, i am oso ok. i not so stubborn lah. kekeke

Jenny,
then wat brand did u let ur gal use when she juz born? or she can fit into the usual S size?

BB activity
============
hi ladies, my boy has been extremely active today. dunno y. his kicks can be continuous and non-stop. he will stop when i stroke my tummy and asked him to relax but after a while this wont work anymore. is this normal? havent been doing anything too exciting this morning or anything out of the extraordinary leh. other than waking up much earlier cos i need to do training for some sales staff that's all. he is not usually so active in the day... when distressed, will bb become more active? hb says got kick better than dun have so asked me not to be too worried.

crystallized, i will only pack my baby cloths and my own clothings.
whereas the rest of the items, hospital have it.
do we need to buy the float?
all my friends never use the float beofre, they said not necessary

Selina!!!!
I juz wanted to say oso! my boy is extremely active tdy, dunno why leh.
its quite disturbing and i had to soothe and pat my tummy and ask him wats wrong.
i oso din do anything special tdy and oso i wonder why he so active tdy. v strange.

i was thinking, perhaps bb changing position so he struggling to get into the position he wants?

Wei Kuan,
In TMC no need to pack a sgl thing 4 baby coz when we discharge, the hospital will dress the baby up nicely. juz need to pack 4 urself and hb (if he staying over wif u).

Float ah? i dunno. i guess it depends on how serious ur wound is. i think no need lah. hospital shld hv wat u need. if u r talkg abt hvg it at home, i think when u need it, get hb to buy? so far i seldom hear got mummies wound so bad till need to use float.

hi selina and crystallized, guess it's like tat one... my BB gal also very active lately..her kicks are not jus continous, but can also be very hard too... sometimes, can even see small continous bumps from one side to the other side at my stomach...kekekeke... but i will jus tell her (darling, u kick mummy ya..) then smile it off...
anyway, like her kicks also...kekekeke... :p
459828.png

I'm on mc today. bb hasnt been moving since Sat, called gynea yest, he want me to go n let him chk today. went to see him tis morn, bb heartbeat is normal, not moving much during the scan as well. gynea told me to monitor the movements for the following 1 wk, and if still not much movements, beta go n let him chk again. too worried abt bb not moving, 4got to ask gynea if the cord is twisting ard bb's neck. tink he oso very worried till he 4got to print the pic of the scan for me. anyway, he tried to do a 3D scan but bb's 2 hands are covering the face... she so shy... he oso din tell me im in wic wk now, but i gas shld be ard 26 wks+ ba... bb weighing at 848g 2day, grown abt 300g since 3 wks ago, wic he mention is w/in normal range.

I tried my eclairs and swiss rolls liao, they are very nice. the swiss roll thou frozen, but very soft aft taking out frm freezer for 5 mins only. the eclairs are great, the filling is like ice-cream. my gal who is not a sweet tooth can finish 1 eclair by herself.

hi selina &amp; crystallized,
dun worry, i did check wif my gynae on my last fri appt. he said a active bb will b a healthy bb lor. my boy like to squeeze the whole body on my left side tummy now. i keep on ask him to kick me.

Selina, I oso asked my gynae abt the active kicks, gynae say no worries if BB kick, have to worry if don't feel the kicks. How is yours like? My BB can kick for more than 30 mins continuously, the other type is one kick periodically.

Crystallized, can share how your BB kick also? The hospital will provide T-shirt/long pants for BB when discharge or the normal button/string shirt? I know they will provide receiving blanket. Me still thinking whether to get 1 news of new clothing/mitt/bott for BB to wear when discharge.

wei kuan, I bot a water cushion seat to relieve my hipbone pain...not sure if this is sufficient to replace the float..where to buy the float?

Just to share
=============

My fren told me she also suffer from hipbone pain from her pregnancy, bot a water cushion and it helps. I bot a Dove water cushion seat from Homefix code 65023 - S$4.90(saw in guardian and it's selling $15.90different mat'l). Bot 2 cos' can use 1 for BB in case of fever but some say got to be careful when use on BB cos' might be too 'cooling'...just fyi. Btw, if u interested, better call homefix to order cos' they say quite popular and might not hv the stock.

crystallised, jasmine, wei kuan,
tks tks. at least i feel more assured now. i'm not alone. i sang the songs i played every night to him just now and seems like it's working for now. having my lunch now too...

bunny,
glad to hear everythings well so far. keep monitoring ba... every visit, gynae will tell me the position of the cord. mayb write it down so next time you wont forget to ask.

bunny, take good care y ya. Is it true that they say as weeks goes by, BB action will be slower, maybe cos' hv grow bigger and not much space to move? hey, do you think BB will be more active if we eat sweet stuff?

ilovemybabyG
think i am one of those weird mummies. i like my bb to move, but not too much. when he is less active, i will stir and ask him why he so quiet. when he so active, i will ask him to not move so much! i v hard to please lah! think he fed up wif me oso.

bunny
hope everything is fine wif ur baby. u monitor and talk to him more. dun overstress urself. baby can feel it too.

mummyjoy,
tdy my boy's kicks at diff area fr the usual plc oso. i dunno wat he doing, and dunno issit he kicking or his hands waving. i think it dun feel so much like kicks but he is continously making movements inside, i cant describe how it feels. dun think its hiccups oso.

its up to u if u wan ur bb to b decked in new clothings when u r discharged. no harm.
i might get a nice set 4 bb to wear home if i happen to see any nice set.

mummyjoy,

my gynea told me shld at least feel 10 kicks per day and as bb grow bigger, the kicks shld be harder... mayb bcos they r bigger n stronger. i never experience no kicks at all for me #1, even on the less active days, i will oso feel slight wriggles like worms...

2 wks ago when i had durains, my bb was kicking so actively till hb can see the movements w/o putting his hand on my tummy. last Sat, i oso had durains, but bb did not move at all, tat's y i got worried.

i oso tink sweet stuff will make bb excited and active... as i oso experienced it for my #1.