(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

hi hi Jenny..
wow..dun tell me u r starting a bet for this leh..illegal leh..heehee..will surely let u all know..haha..**the winners will be notified via msn posting**..LOL...aiyo, u r making me nervous..haha..i feel like rushing down to my gynae to confirm the check rightaway..haha..

Jenny,
actually abit scare lol. but then think of baby, i think is worth. i never heard all this from my both elder sis. i think they dun wan to scare us and mom always remind them dun tell us so much coz we still small. hahaha... i even went to visit my sis jz after she gave birth. and i heard doc told her that 'i cut a bit lol'. tat time i still blur blur.
but from u and other mtb like kypf describe, at least me and other 1st mtb learn more from u all. really appreciate...tkz...

Thanks wendy, I'll keep a positive mind. Actually my MIL won't be helping me with confinement, she say it'll be too tiring for her, she'll only cook for me. The rest, she feels I'm up to it myself. That's why I'm so upset as it's my first tiem, i'm sure I'll be blur. MIL also want to take care of bb, I jiat lat liao. Feel like "eloping" with bb.

Jenny, I don't have friends without CL leh. Hb usually very supportive, but when his mum is involve, i always lose lah.

hi hi coral..
dun think so much now..i m sure things will turn out well for u..ok? smile..maybe by then u can manage to convince ur hubby & MIL to get u a CL since she will only be helping to cook for u..i m sure there will be lotsa of things to be done later on..is ur parents close with ur in-laws? if not, maybe can ask ur mum to come over to accompany u lor..she will also be anxious for u..so she can visit u more often & maybe can also help out lor..as for taking care of the baby, wait till baby is out then see how ba, i also got joke with hubby b4, to get baby to decide who baby want to be taken care by lor..LOL..just joking lah..stay happy hor..i know u can be happy, ok? cheers~

for my case, at the moment we (me, hb and MIL) decide MIL will cook for me, then we hire a maid to do all the housework. about taking care of baby, still haven't decide yet. what's ur think? my MIL cook is good and i used to eat wha her cook since i stay with them. btw, my parents stay at M'sia lol..

Hi hi coral..
Dun think so much... now still early lah... my friend's had the same problem as you too last time... MIL against of getting a CL... but after 1 mth or 2, change her mind and decided to get one for her so that she can rest well... So stay positive... Sometimes HB can be in real difficult position esp. when one side is wife, one side is mum... so go easy on him a little bit lah... anyway, you have the "hostage" now... he cannot do anyting else lah... haha...
BTW... congrats on having a princess!!!

Wtan... aiyo... 15th is sat leh.. my MSN not on one... must declare here har... I having checkup on the same day too... hopefully I can see my bb's gender too... going to do all the test on that day too... hee... equally excited as you...

Thank you thank you. Luckily I have very good colleagues, so been making smile today.

No choice lah, now also no energy to argue with hb. See how things turn out. Now most important is to find a job, must be financially indept, else can't make much noise too. Worse come to worse gotta make my mum travel from Serangoon to Simei to help me lor. But good thing my stay with inlaws will be at most 1-2yrs so I tell myself must ren ren ren!

jenny,
it's just me lor, i don't wish to supplement with formula milk cos it'll make my bfg efforts go downhill knowing that i've got a fallback position. Plus bb may show a preference for FM also. It's just my view lah, i really wanted to bf my bb. Having said that, not bfg does not make one less of a mother. it's just something that i set my mind on and want to do it.

coral,
*hugs*
Don't worry too much now. Slowly talk your hubby over. Does MIL know how to cook confinement food? i know friends whose mum or MIL do confinement for them, they end up eating either the same food everyday or those food that the rest of the family eats. Let hubby knows that it's important to build up your health. CL definitely has knowledge to cook bu3 food. Last time, other than the 3 meals, i get black chicken soup for supper every night. Can your MIL do that?

Aiyo gui ah... how come my posting appears twice and some more with a difference in timing!

Jasmine,
I think is good to know a bit at least on the actual day, won't panick. But also dun listen too much lah, wait you scare keke..

Coral,
Since your MIL is not going to look after BB for you, then you better hire a CL. MIL cooks only, wah liew, you can also get confinement food from catering nowsday. I mean you see ah, for market rate for hiring CL is $1.8K for 28 days. She will cook, look after you and bb. Your MIL basically dun need to do anything. CL will takes care of bb stuff, from feeding to bathing etc. Hope your MIL won't complain she is tired for cooking for you.

oh gosh gals! juz only a few hrs so many postings liao!

babygrace,
i think i am getting confused wif u and jenny whom hv delivered. hahaha

whoa! u bf for 13 mths!!!! cool!
i am happy to get any info fr u rdgd bfg... esp the intial stages like how u coped etc. it will b v beneficial 4 us all MTBs whom is eager to BF.

Jenny!
tt was such a close shave!!! *phew* thank god u are ok now. of coz under the circumstances, its totally understandable tt u cant continue bfg. u needed more rest. urs was natural delivery rite? gynae din check u properly? how many wounds did u hv? coz u said "one of the wounds"?

i guess can wait till later stage of pregnancy to see if u still suitable 4 natural delivery. if gynae feels not safe, u better go along wif her. health more impt. by then u need to care for 2 children.

wtan,
how come u specially went camden to do ur checks? bet it is always a joy to see ur baby moving and no matter wat he does, he will make u both laff.

eeeee, i oso dread soups now. when my MIL asked me to drink, i juz drink 2 mouthful to show her. but i am not interested at all. hahaha
last time i used to love those chix or mushroom soup fr campbell. now i dread it soooo much!

NT scan ah? er, i think din managed to do a proper measurement coz my baby was in a awkward position and he refused to budge no matter how i moved and disturb him leh. oso din noe can do a blood test then. anyway tt day we were running late, was in a rush to finish off actually.

coral,
my inlaws r oso wif us. but i make sure i make my views clear. i dun wan any misunderstdg to arise later coz i did not say clearly. i made it v clear tt i am all in for bfg and i clearly need more time wif my baby then. coz i noe some MILs r v defensive when their DILs BF.

my hb oso got angry when i said i wanna go back parents plc 4 confinement. but i told him my reasons and said he cant b so selfish not to consider my needs during confinement. in the end, still haven decide where i will b during confinement. but he is ok wif the idea alrdy. its juz up to me to decide. my hb oso v filial one. i can understd wat a headache it is 4 u when it comes to such things.

and fr wat ur MIL says, u alrdy noe if u dun engage a CL< u will b in 4 a hard time lor.

babygrace,
I will do whichever way which is more comfortable for me. I'm not so particular with giving BM or FM lah. I feel good rest and happy are more impt for mums.
I feel those ads keep on promoting BF but they never informs the MTBs what to expect if ss is low or how tired it is. They just keep promoting and promoting and making those mums who are unable to BF to feel guilty. I feel they are giving the wrong info to these poor MTBs. Perhaps they should list out the pro and con, so that MTBs will be prepared. I never know BFing is so tired until I tried it myself. What BM makes a bb smart and strong etc. Bullshit I will say. My sis and god bro have never had a taste of a drip of BM and they are smarter than those who took BM. In terms of health, from what I seen with my own eyes, most bbs on BM seems to fall sick more often. I think the mums need to play an impt part in these, especially the intake of food before they decide to give BM. Some mums really dun watch what they are eating and hence, passed the unhealthy BM to the poor bbs.
I dun mean BF is no good, but what I feel is the mum has to be responsible for wat she is giving the bb. The ads should give a good explanation to MTBs so that they will expect what things will turn out to be.

babygrace, actually I don't like the confinement food my MIL cooks. The last round my mum cooked Mon-Fri for me and MIL on Sat &amp; Sun. MIL's normal cooking is fine, but not for confinement food, it'll be the same thing for all meals on the same day - 1 confinement dish and 1 vege that's shared with the rest and not very tasty lor. Worse still, she's working, so she plan to cook before she goes to work, then i just eat the food throughout the day myself, I think not good for people in confinement. The last time when she suggested this my Mum no choice volunteer to come over to help me. But at least that time I was staying in my own place, more convenient for my mum to come and location wise also easier for my Mum, but now going to stay wil inlaws, not very good for my Mum to say she'll come over daily and also the distance very far, I feel bad for my mum. I pay her money for cab she also refuse. Dunno why I so troublesome, so old already still need to make my Mum worry.

crystallized.
I got 3 tears. Yes, natural delivery. Gynae spent more than 2 hrs plus to stitch me up. I think I too rough when getting up and down the bed and moving too fast, hence caused the stitch to give way.
I think since I had my first delivery via vagina birth, it shouldn't be a problem for 2nd time. Heard that vagina will be stretch after the 1st birth.

Feel so good after all this grumbing. Think I should be fine until the day to fight for my rights again.
Thank you for listening.

coral dun think u r troublesome. ur mum will nvr find u a nuisance.

so u r a 2nd time mum as well?

this time juz stick to ur decision and engage CL. sure wun go wrong.

jenny,

thks 4 sharing. i myself v rough oso. so i muz tell myself to b gentle. in fact initial pregnancy, i alwys plonked onto sofa as my usual behaviour. until my mum told me off soooo many times it got ingrained tt i learnt to sit gently. haha

3 tears? how u classify as 3 tears? thot its juz the wound at perineum area?
pls enlighten me.

Octma, I just realise we got the same EDD. me also don't feel like eating fish. I used to love fish but not touch them since I got preg. I just started on clacium and multi-vits. After 12 wks can ask gynae for them.

Hi MTBs,

Just back from my gynae check up this morning. The baby is 7.37cm and I'm 13wks3days. The baby is growing normally...

I was so worried last nite as I've got very bad muscle pulling in my anus area. Cant walk properly.

I have got the OSCAR results from my gynae. The reading is 1.4. My gynae mentioned that it's within the normal range. Me do not need to go for any further tests like the amino test. Now left with the blood test (for AIDs, rubella, hep B etc) and the detailed scan at 20 wks.

Hi coral &amp; wendy,

Can see the gender of your bb already! Cool! Up till now, my gynae have not mentioned anything to me, I think still cant see yet...

As for CL, I think older folks do not want to waste the $$ if they can take care.

crystallized,
Gynae told me is 3 tears. Well, I can't see myself one right hahaha...
I think cos I din listen to the midwife lor. When I was 9cm diluted, midwife told me cannot push, but I pushed. I think that caused the tears

Hi hi Jasmine..
Since u r ok with ur MIL doing for u the confinement then it shd be ok..esp since ur parents stay so far away..but I believe they will want to come down to see the baby..but I guess its nice to be able to get a domestic helper to help out as well during ur confinement..

Hi hi Vivian..
Very nice to hear from u..heehee..haha..u very funny, say coral got the hostage now..LOL..okok, i will surely broadcast at the moment I get to know the news..heehee..so u doing all tests in one day..also gd lah..at least easier for u also..me got to wait till 15/04, my neck is getting longer..haha..

Hi hi coral..
Ya, dun think so much now..i m sure things will work out well for u at the nearer stage..ok? smile..i m sure hubby will understand if u try to talk to him again..hopefully by then, ur mum will be able to come over to see u everyday &amp; at least can help out ur MIL in the cooking for u..

Hi hi crystallized
Oh, went to Camden bcoz Raffles is fully booked for appts &amp; also I dun want to go to TMC, so the next available place is Camdenbut I guess we are very satisfied with the scan &amp; also for Dr Lai to share with us on the growth of my baby..but now is looking forward to 15/04 to see my gynae..heehee..u mean some MIL really get defensive when some DIL BF? This is interesting..gmm..i know that my MIL didnt BF all her 4 children, I think during her times, she dun believe in it..but my mum did BF us for a few days..i also stayed with my in-laws, but bcoz confinement will be back to my mums place, I dun think MIL will comment much on the BF ba..

Gemini,
I think hor, maybe becos last time, our parents/PILs dun have CL, so they think last time they can survive w/o CL, so can we. They forgot last time policemen wore shorts, now they wear pants kekeke

hi hi Gemini..
yap..i was also very surprise when Dr Lai told me that if we want to know the gender of the baby, he can tell us also at the sacn, then i was like, "wow..this doc like very expert leh, can even tell the gender of the baby now &amp; just tell him will do if we want to find out"..so when he tried to take the readings of the baby..bcoz the baby keeps moving ard + my bladder is quite full..so Dr Lai check on other parts as well..like the baby's major organs..let us hear the heartbeat again..see the spinal cord, see &amp; count the baby's fingers &amp; toes..so cute lor..also showed us the eyes, the ears..very amazing..i m so impressed by the overall session this morning..but glad that we went to see him as well...

wtan,
hey ur name is wendy huh? heard some ladies referring u as this name.

oic, will the charges b slightly more exp or the same? yah i think such more detailed tests and scanning will usually make us more happy &amp; reassured.

yes! i hv heard stories fr frens tt their MILs kept disturbing them when they r bfg causing distress and end up they gave up bfg. they will keep harping its not nutritious enuff or the supply not enuff to last the baby. these MILs belong to old era lah. luckily my MIL v supportive but she did tell me not to force myself. rest is more impt.

Jenny!
i share ur sentiments exactly. they dun update wif the times. keep thinkg last time they do this, now can still follow.

hi hi Jenny..
ya, i also agree with u..cant stand it when MIL &amp; FIL thinks that last time women pregnant &amp; now women pregnant is the same..i always feel like telling them last time police wear shorts but wear long pants..buey tahan lor..then sometimes i complained to hubby, hubby just say i m a naughty mummy..haha..but i guess since this is in-laws &amp; my parents' 1st grandchild, so they will "try to bear with me ba"..LOL..anwyay, for my case, MIL dun really know how to cook the confinement dishes &amp; also i think i will prefer my mum to do confinement for me ba..

Hi wtan...
Me also next appt is 15/04... same day as you... so we neck long long together lah... haha... me one whole month never see bb liao... dun know everything ok or not... so tempted to go see gynae to check on bb... *biting nails liao*

I believe we mtbs must fight for our rights... esp. when we have the "hostage" now... wait har.. Oct, HB pay doctor come rescue "hostage" out liao... we no value liao lah... haha... LOL...
***Ok... All mtbs.. SMILE PROUDLY....***

hi hi crystallized..
ya, wtan is my nick, my name is wendy..it's ok lah..the charges in Camden is slightly higher as compared to Raffles &amp; TMC..i think Jenny shared b4, in SGH is the cheapest ba, if i didnt remember wrongly..oic..hmm...i think nowadays most of the mums will BF their babies so i guess MIL wont be able to comment much as well..i also shared with her &amp; all my 3 SILs the benefits in BF, 1) will be closer to the baby, 2) the baby will get more nutrients from the mum, 3) mums will reduce the chances of breast cancer, even pple in the past also BF, so i doubt she will be able to influence my thinking much here..haha..but thks for sharing with me that some old era MILs will be defensive on BF to babies..thks..

crystallized,
I think most MILs are like that cos BF is not promoted during the 70s. Hence, the older generation do not believe in BF. Also, since BM is made up of dunno how many % of water, they always think BM can't make bb feels full.

hi hi Vivian..
haha..u so funny..ya, u r right, we have to fight for our rights..if it's right, we have to do the right ways, if it's wrong, then shdnt continue to make the mistake..this is very impt..okok, we can look forward to see baby together on 15/04..heehee..hopefully we get to confirm the gender of our baby..heehee..so excited now..LOL..

Wendy, last evening I was also shocked when gynae asked if I want to know bb gender. I was like, "Huh? 12 wks already can tell?!" But he say yes, he'll let me know once he see it. Last time I only found out at 21wks. You an see your bb soon, I gotta wait so long, neck really getting longer man!

actually in order for bb to get the full benefits of breastmilk , mummies got to make sure at least bb is fed for 6 mths minimum....else bb will not get full benefits....but even few days are better then none....for bb who bf, tends to feed more often and they dun follow a fixed timing....nytime latch...also, mum diets good, milk powerful....mum diet no good, milk will be normal...wun be bad though...cos if mum anyhow eat...any lacking nutrient in the milk, body will somehow extract fr mummy body...so overall wun affect bb, but mummy suffer....

coral
usu pple say gals harder to see...so maybe that y some pple can oni see at 20 weeks or more....but this time round is fast .... u can start to shop for her clothes n stuffs...

hi hi coral..
wah..ur gynae even "li-hai" man! 12 wks can tell already..cool! u must be very happy when u hear the news..actually be it which ever the gender, as long as we can tell the gender of the baby, we will be more than happy..i only know that the earliest we get to know abt it is at our 16th wks or if not, confirm it during the detailed scan..haha..so that's why i say, it's always amazing to be able to find out some miraculous each time we go for our gynae's visit..cool, right! time pass very fast..it's a gd thing that we get to see the baby very often, at least everytime when the date gets nearer, u will have butterflies running all ard..heehee..so sweet hor..

hi hi Angeline..
thks for sharing abt this to us..this is interesting..thks..i guess as long as we are determine enough, i m sure it will be gd for the baby &amp; the mother as well..probably, we will have to start watching our diets to make sure that we get the best for both the baby &amp; mum..heehee..

Angeline, the funny thing is last round was boy and only saw at 21 wks. this round gal can see so early. I heard it's because the fallopian tube has developed already so teh gynae look for that and for boy, the balls in the body also developed, so that's why gynae can see so soon. So for gals they can see the Y lines and boys the 2 dots. But I can't see much lah, everything all look fuzzy. Only can see the hands and legs and the 2 eyes so cute. Soon we may see bb sticking out tongue.

Hb say pantang, this time won't allow me to do any shopping until after bb born. I think I'll just listen, anyway no hurry, there's lots of cousins to hand me clothes. So far there's 5 grandchildren by both our cousins, but all boys. Ours will be the 1st gal and also the first grandchild for hb and my parents. So excited.

hi hi coral..
whatever is past, is past, just concentrate on ur future &amp; i m sure it will be good..at least now baby is growing well..so u must take gd care of urself..esp when u have very bad MS..so do hope that now at least things are getting better, u can eat more, ok? wow..i m sure, ur in-laws &amp; parents will be very happy as long as the baby is healthy..shopping can wait one..who knows u get better offer later also..hee..cheers~

wtan
u rite...for both mum n bb is to be on good diet..also like what jenny say, try our best to bf....if really cant, most impt is to be happy n rested....all these cant be helped...anyway more formula milk has try to acomodate for all nutrients in mummys milk....so fm can be good in another way too....bb wun blame us for not giving bm too...cos we knw we try our best mar....

coral
tt is interesting hor...
then is like more on whether bb wan to cooperate hor....1st gal..sure be princess....sure been doted...gals always has their way to our hearts somehw....did u experience similar cravings n uncomfyness for both preg?...

wendy,
yah we modern mums noes all the benefits of BM. but i not sure MIL is aware. anyway i hv talked to her and noes she is ok wif it. so tt rests my mind.

Jenny,
yah like wat i said, they r misinformed. in fact i read in the mag tt when babies drink BM, they hv sufficient water in their body w/o needing extra water.
provided muz b total BF.

jenny,
i'm not going to be a holier than thou pro-bfg mother that thinks bb must only take BM and nothing else. Yes, anyone who wants to bf should not be naive to believe that it's a breeze. They should do their homework first. But i believe there are sufficient benefits in bfg that makes me want to do it. As for whether breastfed bb really turns out to be healthier, i really dunno cos some babies are inherently weaker due to hereditery conditions.
My Joshua has allergic rhinitis (which is hereditery) and it's a good thing that i breastfed him cos PD says that cow's milk could be a trigger factor too. Other benefits that i enjoyed was that i need not worry about water contamination when i brought him overseas for a mth when he was 3 mths old. And also the other time when he had a bad case of gastric flu, he could still take BM instead of those having to switch to soy milk. And of course i got back to my pre-pregnancy weight by 3rd mth, no need slimming course. haha!
i was telling crystallized to prepare herself with bfg knowledge if she is serious about it cos it's not an easy journey. It's up to the mommy to do her homework on it. i was lucky to have several friends who have breastfed to turn to for advice.

crystallized,
it's good to hear that you are even preparing your MIL of your intention. That's the 1st step in the correct direction. My mum wasn't pro-bfg cos she was worried about me getting tired, so i talked to her before i gave birth. Told her that i really wanted to give it a try, unless bb refuse to cooperate or milk ss is really low then bo pian lor. Told her that i would really appreciate it that she wont give me any pressure about bb not fed enough lah etc after bb is born. As for MIL, i left it to my hubby to talk to his mother. Husbands play a very important role. he was my protector in the hospital, when i had to bf or rest after frequent feeding, he would tell the visitors that i needed rest. He even told his mum to go home instead of sitting there the whole afternoon looking at me. haha!
Here's a good breastfeeding site that you can refer to, esp in the future. i'm sure you'll hv lots of doubts when u start and i find that this site answers a lot of the questions.
http://www.kellymom.com/index.html

breastfeeding

before i delivered ppl also told me to read up on bfing and all but i was quite lazy mtb, the only thing i did was attend the parentcraft talk at the hospital after i delivered which was a mistake, because the "parentcraft advisor" wasn't any good at all. my takeaway from the talk was when feeding the baby, must feed both breasts, 15 minutes each side, and start with alternate breast at next feed. dunno i stupid or what, after feeding my baby 15 minutes each side, baby still cry, i still dunno why. it was middle of the night at the hospital, parentcraft advisor gone home, and the nurse there told us baby hungry, of course must give milk. so despite my reservations fed baby formula milk. next morning, parentcraft advisor change her story, told me, oh, if 15 minutes each side not enough, can extend to 30, even 45 minutes. "$%^%! why never say so earlier?

anyway in the first week while i still establishing milk supply gave baby some formula feeds, and baby was hospitalised for jaundice so he also rec'd formula in the hospital. but after discharged, i bf him most of the time, except when i fall sick once.

then when baby 5 weeks old, brought him to PD, PD said his jaundice still very high, probably due to breastmilk jaundice - i was ordered to stop breastfeed for 1 week. it was a terrible week. besides having to pump my breasts every 4 hours, also have to prepare formula milk AND wash bottles every 2-4 hours. from that week, i realise breastfeeding is so much easier.

when baby about 2 months old, i started going out with baby, still very shy about breastfeeding in public, so baby also got more formula milk. only from about 2.5 months onwards baby on breastmilk only.

until.. baby 9 months old, i fell sick twice, didn't eat for few days, needless to say supply dropped and i started to give baby formula again, from then on supply dip until 11.5 months i stopped bothering to breastfeed baby.

anyway, just sharing my experience. for me, breastfeeding so much easier than bottle feeding. just have to be prepared so you know how to handle.

babygrace,

thks 4 the precious advice &amp; experience sharing!

indeed i am tryg to get prepared n i tell myself its not a bed of roses and neither am i gg to hv it easy. esp when i visit this forum and read abt mummies hvg prob wif sore nipples, bad engorgement etc. i believe initial stages will nvr b easy. but once we get over the hurdle, the rest will b easy.

its nice u hv a v supportive hb! my hb is supportive too, but he feared tt i might b tired so i worried when he see my tired face during bfg, he is the 1st one tt will keep asking me to stop. as 4 MIL, she is open enuff. she quite "zi-dong" most of the times. when i say sthg, she usually gets my meaning and she nvr forces me. quite lucky to hv such a MIL actually. juz tt certain things i still prefer my own way lah. worried she might not like it.

i nvr worry abt my mum one. hehehe.
i believe own mums r usually more supportive of our actions.

some frens say i KS leh, so fast start reading on bfg books liao. i told them i got sick of reading the bks tt tells us wat happen wach trimester since most of them says the same thing, so i better switch topics.

kypf,

wats the cause b BM jaundice? issit coz of the food u ate? i heard tt even when the mummy fall sick, still can BF the baby coz the milk will contain antibodies?

ur initial bfg seemed quite a breeze.
this is the 1st time i heard a mummy say bfg easier than btl feeding.

Angeline, actually both preg just as bad in terms of ms, so both time also no craving. And similarly both times I stopped eating my favorite food, fish and chocolate.

I also hope to bf, but my last expereince of very bad engorgement really scare me. it was worse than labour pain as it lasted longer and I got high fever due to that. Even teh med didn't help, I thought my breast was going to burst and I'll die. I went to hospital they say they can't help me as they can only let me eat the med once, and the cabbage did not help ease my pain. In the end, the nurse suggest I take some extra strong pain killer. it was only then that I manage to feel better. I hope if we strat to feed bb, our breast won't engorge. The last time was bad, my milk just flow out on its own and I have no bb to feed so my breast just swell and swell.

Hi hi Angeline
So looking forward to be able to BF baby..yeah..heehee..ok, in order to give the baby the best nutrients..we have to do out best! I heard from one of my ex-colleague that she managed to get her baby to sleep thruout the night &amp; only feed her in the morn..i wonder how did she manage to do it..cool, right! Hmm..must start to do homework on BF..guess its not gg to easy esp for us 1st time mums-to-be..hopefully I get to find out some antenatal courses on this..

Hi hi crystallized
For my case, I guess for my 3 mth of maternity leave, I shd be staying at my mums place for the confinement &amp; also the 2nd &amp; 3rd mth..hmm..as for BF, I guess shd be ok..MIL cant have any say in this even thou she might not agree to me BF, she knows I will only listen to myself..heehee..i guess its gd to be able to BF..very happy to hear that u got a very supportive &amp; open MIL..i guess its very impt..at least she wont try to influence ur thinking or be negative over it..but at least if u r determine enough, I m sure it will be gd alsoheehee..

Hi hi babygrace..
Thks for sharing with us on the url link for BF..really nice of u..i guess u r right, we got to do a lot of research &amp; homework on BF, esp when I dun have friends ard me that I have heard that they BF so far..thks for all..

Hi hi kypf..
Thks for sharing ur experiences with us..i didnt know got to switch supplies betwn the 2 breast..but got one question, will both breast at the same time got milk supply out? Or usually is one at a time? This is really interesting..did u ate lotsa of yellowish/orangeish food during ur BF or confinement thus babys jaundice is rather bad? Heard one of the mtbs, I cant remember which 2nd time mums mentioned abt a jab for jaundice for babies when during the confinement if intaking lotsa of ginger..do u have such jab there?

hi hi coral..
can u tell me more abt "engorge"? i dun quite get it? is it very painful &amp; u have the milk flow out automatically? i also heard abt the cabbage from my SIL who heard it from her friends who gave birth &amp; are BF..i was like.."wow..u also know abt this"..this is also one of the reason why i dun listen to my MIL, bcoz she cant share the knowledge with me on such info..

sorry I MIAed for awhile, was given hospitalisation leave till 13th April, Gynea told me to have complete bed rest. Was bleeding last week scared me half dead, but babies are ok, still swimming around happily, after scaring me and hubby. Don't know the root cause of the bleeding yet but everything is normal, cervix did not dilate too. So now it's rest rest and rest.

Oh yes, a piece of good news to share, i am expecting twins, non identicate. Baby 2 was hiding behind Baby 1 all the while. just caught him on scan recently, when I was admitted to Mt A for bleeding. So the bleeding may be due to my body cant work so hard now, now that I have twins.

Office people, bu4 wen2 bu4 wen4 (didnot call to check up on my condition) hopefully when i return my desk is still around. There was a case of a clerk being fired for taking too many MC during her pregnancy.

Hello doggiemummy,

Twins! Congrats!!!!
I think u r the first mum here to conceive twins...
Take a good rest and dun think too much about work first...U got two bbs to think of, u know...

Congrats again!

kypf,
i agree with you that bfg is easier than bottle feed. i hate bringing bottles, hot flask and milk powder out. Good that Ethan had no problem with switching between FM and BM.
As for bfg outside, i also had the initial fear of doing it in public, so i'll either feed in the car or nursing room. It was only until in France when i bo pian, dunno where nursing rooms are and the French don't gawk like some s'poreans do that i gained confidence to bf in public.

crystallized,
There are different thoughts about breastmilk jaundice. Some say it's not linked to the food we eat. Sometimes it could be a case of "not enough breastmilk" jaundice because the BM supply is not established yet, so bb is not having enough bowel movements to expel the bilirubin ( the thing that caused jaundice) out of their body. So PDs tend to be more conservative and advise mothers to stop bfg for a while. My PD was very pro-bfg, he encouraged me to continue bfg as much as i could. My boy also had jaundice and needed photo-therapy but was ok to be discharged with me.
i still breastfeed when i'm sick, just need to tell doc that i'm bfg so that they can prescribed the right medication. The only time that i stopped was in the 2nd week where i had a case of infected blocked milk ducts (mastisis). Was damn painful cos the breast was engorged yet milk cant come out. That could have marked the end of my "breastfeeding career" but my friends and gynae encouraged me to press on, i pumped and throw cos i was on anti-biotics.