(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Hi good morning mummies....

Me going for checkup today.... will update everyone of bb's growth.... hees... so excited...

Hi Vivian
I haf put on ard 2-3kg since 2wks... cos i stopped my diet pills after knowing im pregnant.... so inches increased too... might not need maternity dresses so soon cos still can make do with my clothes n moreover, i've got my last sem's exams in jun... dun wan frens to c my bulging tummy.... haa...

Will go spring n c... thou i've got quite a number of hand-me-downs alr... think buying your own's more comfy, yeah?

doggiemummy, I'm eating very little leh. usually one slice of bread or one piece of biscuit at a time...Now drinking water only will also puke.

wow been some time since i log in, u gals are super active.... mi wasn't feeling well for the past 2 weeks.

Wendy here's my update:

1) 1st Pregnancy
2) Dr Lawrence Ang (TMC)
3) EDD 10 Oct (based on latest update)
4) In 9 weeks now

thanks for the update.

Wei Kuan,

I know there is one branch at Causeway Point.

I bought some clothing fr there last weekend, their design are quite nice n not too $X...

Hi Wendy Tan,
Can I know how you did the table? Me trying to do it for other thread but cant do it...thanks for yr advise...

Hi carol,
I used to take diet pills last time too... haha... but think everything all comes back to me now... so I think I am going to be a HUGE mom...
anyway, so nice of you to be able to get hand-me-downs. I dun think I can get any. So I will need to buy everything new.... but as you say, sometimes, new also not bad lah... just pocket a bit lighter lor...

Hi coral,
I heard that gynae might have some meds for MS leh... my SIL also have MS and quite bad, but heard from my MIL that she got some meds from doc and better liao... why dun you ask your gynae? My gynae keep reminding me to at least eat a bit, coz if stomach is empty, MS will get worse, and you will feel vomitting. So by eating should make things better. But dun eat too much. Too much will become worse. Think if even drinking water also puke, you better go see your doc.... now your bb needs everything you give... so take care okie?

Do you get red dots (like pimples) on your body? I think I got quite a lot on my back leh... so scary... and itchy too... dun know normal or not?

Hello Vivian,

I also have some red dots below my neck and i think a few behind my back....Yah, its really itchy at times...But normally after bathing, i feel better...

Jasmine,
Wow today is your customary. Enjoy the day!

coral,
I think there is medicine that will decrease MTBs from throwing up, not stop. But not really advisable to take such medicine. You can check with your gynae. Vivian is right, empty stomach will make your MS bad. Have you try drinking other fluids? If other fluids also make you puke, make sure you see your gynae. I now having heartburn, which will starts everyday in mid afternoon and last till I sleep at night

Vivian, babybenmen,
Is hormones changes, thats why you got those red dots. I kena "feng mo" during my dunno 2nd or 3rd trimester for my 1st pregnancy. Then forgot dunno when, rashes started at my feet.

Update on yesterday checkup.

BB's length is 1.32cm. The computer reflected my EDD as 23 Oct 2006 but gynae calculated and said it should be around 15/16 Oct 2006 (I calculated 16 Oct 2006). Anyway gynae said should be 15/16 Oct cos if based on my LMP date, mid Oct should be correct. Computer may not be accurate.

I was told there is a new blood test (which was not available for my 1st pregnancy), think is called Oscar NT Scan. The test will be carried out between 12 to 14 week, accuracy is about 80% to 90% (much more accurate for triple test which is only 60%). Gynae said he will tell me more on this test during my next visit. Anyone knows about this to share? The test cost $200, and I'm considering whether to take or not.

Update on BBcare Festival @ Expo
Went to the fair yesterday at 12pm+. Basically I think there is nothing much. Maybe more suitable for mums who are going to give birth in 1-2 mths time or those who have given birth 1 to 2 mths ago. Quite a no. of insurance, slimming salons. for diapers, only Drypers, EQ Dry, Sealers and Pureen on sales. Saw the babywell milk expresso demo, it looks unhygenic to me. Nestle stuff is a good buy, cheaper. Practically, I think nothing much lah. I only went to sign up the subscription for Mother and Baby and bought a ear and forehead thermometer at $79 which comes with a free thermal flask.

I used it last round, but isn't useful. One day in my 8th mths, I saw some stretch marks. It depends on one skin, if you have good skin (moisture I think), you are likely not to get stretch marks. I heard if mum have, usually we will have also cos of genetic in skin.

My massage lady once told me stretch mark cream is no use. Use a few drops of olive oil instead.

Hmm.. thanks Jenny. I was looking at the ingredients in a few brands. Nothing special inside except sheer butter. Quite ex also. My mum also said no need to waste $. She has 3 kids, also no stretch marks.

Janice,
I guess if one really gets stretch mark, there's nothing to do but to accept. It is how elastic our skin is lor. Moisture and elastic of skin is not something that can be solved overnight (think got to start since young bah??).
The stretch marks will turn from red to silver as time passes. Not really noticable.
If your mum dun have stretch marks, that means her skin is very good. Who knows you may have the type of skin as her

Hi all new here like to join u gals too
When can u see baby moving arms and legs??
I jus went to my gynea today just see baby and the heart beating...heehee
But didn't get to hear it me bout 8 wks now.

1) EDD: 24 Oct
2) 26 yrs old
3) lovenest: Bishan

I went Spring yesterday, at Suntec. The sales was very patient, cos I do not know what do I want and ended up trying pants then dresses then pants again. Finally bought a dress, a light blue pants (hubby chose for me) and a top.

I must say maternity clothings are expensive :p and makes my tummy looks bigger too, or maybe it's my xin1 li3 zhou4 you4

Hi Ladies, sorry to interrupt.

In case any of you are contemplating a purchase of a manual pump, in anticipation for the relief of engorgement during the 1st few days, and are also unsure of your breast milk supply, before committing into a purchase of a good electric pump.

Please pop by my thread to view/consider. Thanks a lot!

<u>Want to Sell: AVENT ISIS Manual Breast Pump</u>
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/270192/383733.html?1142089548

Janice,
Thanks for your link. I think can be posted here as it is for info on the test only.

teddyhope,
hee, can't remember when can see bb moving arms and legs. Maybe 11 weeks?

doggiemummy,
yeap, indeed maternity wear are ex but shopping for them make your day?? Enjoy and excited?

Janice,
Hmm the link didn't say much about OSCAR. Anyway I think it is a blood test which is used to do the test for DS, more accurate on top of NT Scan which is only 75%. If combine OSCAR with NT Scan, the % will be around 90%. My gynae said this test cost $200.

Janice,
HB wants me to take cos he said the % is as high as 90% lor. But he said up to me cos is taking my blood, not his. I'll see what my gynae said. He was telling me last Fri I'm still young and the risk is not high.

Frankly speaking lah, I rather not take. Cos if touch wood, the result is no good, it is going to cause unnecessary worries for the next few mths.

<font color="ff6000">hi hi all mtbs..</font>
morn shine &amp; rise! sorry that i didnt come in to post, i wasnt able to log-in last fri aft my last post..i guess i itchy hand go &amp; make changes to my profile..luckily..i m able to now aft writing to the moderator..scare me for awhile..

<font color="aa00aa">me went to see baby on sat's morn..so excited..one of my SIL actually took a cab down from bishan to tamp specially to go with me &amp; hubby..it's so sweet of her..we saw baby &amp; is now at 3cm &amp; growing..it's so amazing..i m already at my 10th wk..when i saw baby grew so big from the last visit..heehee..at 1st baby was sleeping then gynae ask to wake baby up to show us the movement..i turned to my right side &amp; lean back, aft a while, baby started moving..lol..so amazing..me gg to see baby again in 10days...i m really looking forward to see baby again on 23rd..my EDD is also changed from 12th to 8th..so happy to be able to see baby...cheers~</font>

hi wendy,

It's so nice to read something like this in the morning.

Today is my appt, really looking forward to see how's my baby doing tonite.

Wendy
now I know if baby is sleeping tonight during my appointment, i will wake baby up too :p

Jenny
the trip was sian at 1st cos I do not know what I wan cos dresses make me look very "bulky"
pants are ok but the tops make my tummy look so big... sigh think i need time to get used to my "new" look

Went facial last Saturday, the people there keep playing with my tummy
... hehee

hello jenny,

my gyane also recommend me the NT scan...
My packages consisit of 3 packages:

Package A: Ultrasound scan at 11-14 weeks
Detection rate: 80-85%
Results: Day of scan
Price: S$157.50

Package B: Ultrasound scan at 11-14 weeks
Blood test at 11-14 weeks
Detection rate: 90%
Results: 2 working days after blood test
Price: S$315.00

Package C: Ultrasound scan at 11-14 weeks
Blood test at 15-20 weeks
Detection rate: 90%
Results: 2 working days after blood test
Price: S$245.40

Note: The blood test in Package B measures PAPP-A and free beta-hCG. The blood test in Package C measures alpha fetoprotein and beta-hCG.

I considering taking package A cause i'm still young...

Hi Misterygal,

I already inform my boss before 3 mths cause on and off i will take mc...
So i thought its better to let him know earlier...

misterygal
depends on your boss type .. hehee... mine is understanding a father of 3 so i let him know earlier, cos he understands when i go on mc or dazing around

Jenny, guess it really depends on u lor. Me also scared.

My friend told me this story. Her colleague's gynae said her baby's kidneys were at the same side! She and her hubby decided to go ahead with the pregancy and the baby was born normal.

Hi teddyhope,
Welcome! I din get to hear my bb's heartbeat during 8weeks too... but manage to see the heartbeat instead. Think that is good enuff... for now...
As for seeing arms and legs, think more or less around week 10 or 11, depends on the bb's growth. Think Jasmine can see it when she is 9 wks.

Hi wtan,
Wow... 10 wks and 3cm??? makes me so wanted to see my bb now... I am in my 11wks liao... next visit this sat... feels like years... esp. last week heard of a sad news abt my colleague losing her bb. She din even get to go thru what we had... she just found out that she is pregnant and the foetus already had no heartbeat. So she went for ops and take it out. After hearing that, makes me so worried abt my bb... having nightmares recently and feels like going to my gynae immediately just to see if my bb is ok... I keep telling myself that bb should be ok... but just cannot convince myself... feeling very depressed... how mummies ???

Hi Janice,
Regarding the stretch marks cream, my gynae recommends me to just use a moisturiser and apply to your tummy area, thighs and any other place you like. Becoz if your skin is moisturised and not dry, stretch marks will most likely to be lesser or none at all. No need special creams actually.

Besides that, gaining weight too fast will also introduce stretch marks. So try to gain weight at a steady speed.

Oh, last thing, I rem someone here asked about itchness 'down there', and it is not infection, I had the same problem and my gynae says it is just dryness so by applying moisturising cream will solve the problem... but do make sure the cream is safe for that lah... I think my cream is something like TOPICREAM or something like that. I like it quite a lot... FYI

Hi MTBs,

How was ur weekend? Was quite busy @ work, so did not log in.

Hi Jenny, babybenmen, janice,

My gynae did mentioned to me about the OSCAR. It is the latest test as compared to the triple test. 90% accurate and it's done much earlier, 11 - 12 wks than the triple test. I hope I can still remember correctly. It's to measure the fluid level at the baby's neck. I do have the brochure @ home. Will update you when I go back.

Most probably, I will do the test.

Hi Vivian,

I'm the one who mentioned about the itchness. The cream, you got it from your gynae?

Hi gals, I'm very sleepy today!!!

Wendy,
The EDD will keep changing as it depends on bb growth.

doggiemummy,
New image waiting for you
I think from 2nd trimester, won't look so odd le, cos tummy show by then.

misterygal,
I told boss le, so he will be more understanding on absence from office.

babybenmen,
your gynae charge for package A? I remembered I wasn't charged for it leh. My gynae will do the scan and check on the spot and let me know the length for bb neck.
My gynae just told me OSCAR is a new test. He said he will explain in details during my next visit, then see if I want to take the test or not.

Janice,
Actually hor, I skipped quite a no. of tests for my 1st pregnancy. Cos gynae "hinted" to me that I still young for the test. I will see how for this OSCAR test. During my detailed scan for my gal, it showed that my gal's kidneys, one side is bigger than the other side. It is also a sympton of DS. But gynae said 80% turn out to be fine.

Vivian,
Dun scare yourself ok? Think positive!

I found this looks interesting.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Well, exercise is a good, but you MUST be cautious!

Here's my list of 5 Basic Exercises to Avoid

1. Avoid lying on your back after the first trimester - it puts too much pressure on your major blood vessel causing a decrease in blood flow to your womb and an increase in your own blood pressure.

2. Avoid deep knee bends (I wouldn't recommend any bending past 90-degrees while holding heavy weights!) because the body loosens up SO much during pregnancy, you could really hurt yourself squatting that low.

3. Avoid lifting over your head (i.e. standard military press) - because a lot of women hold their breath when they lift overhead (possibly causing them to feel dizzy and pass out), I'm always cautious of this exercise.

Also, because of the increased lower back curve associated with pregnancy, overhead exercises can place even more stress to the lower lumbar area, causing even more lower back pain.

4. Avoid any weight-bearing exercises that require you to bend from your waist and compress your abdominals, for example deadlifts - they can cause dizziness (mainly from the excessive head movement), heartburn and put too much pressure on your lumbar spine.

5. Avoid extreme stretching or bouncy movements - your flexibility has increased greatly, which CAN and does lead to overstretching if you're not careful.

Also, although I highly recommend Pregnancy Yoga - overstretching is something I'd really watch out for. To be safe, always be sure to listen to YOUR body, not what the teacher says or someone else in the class is doing!

And of course, always remember to get your doctor's okay before starting any type of exercise routine during pregnancy - it's better to be safe than sorry, right!?

Hi wendy,

Sound so great... you must be so excited.. wow... so your EDD so near to mine. mine is 9 oct06.. will be seeing my gynac on 25 Mar. so excited it will be 11wk 5 days by then, dun koe can see bb's body move or not??? my data as follows:
Age-24
baby-#1

Hi MTBs,

Can anyone enlighten me regarding the OSCAR test? what is the test for? maybe i missed out some of the posting.

And for stretch mark cream, i'm currently using palmer which is cost efficient &amp; my friend had used it before &amp; found it is quite effective

Hi wendy,

Sound so great... you must be so excited.. wow... so your EDD so near to mine. mine is 9 oct06.. will be seeing my gynac on 25 Mar. so excited it will be 11wk 5 days by then, dun koe can see bb's body move or not??? my data as follows:
Age-24
baby-#1

Hi MTBs,

Can anyone enlighten me regarding the OSCAR test? what is the test for? maybe i missed out some of the posting.

And for stretch mark cream, i'm currently using palmer which is cost efficient &amp; my friend had used it before &amp; found it is quite effective

hi jenny

thanks for your info. hmm.. is it compulsory to take the test?

Btw, ya.. the system a biit weird .. keeping saying i didnt post th msg but in actual fact it did.

hi jenny

thanks for your info. hmm.. is it compulsory to take the test?

Btw, ya.. the system a biit weird .. keeping saying i didnt post th msg but in actual fact it did.

delphine,
ya lor... I also encountered the same error msg. Weird weird one. Then can't refresh and the latest 12 hrs function is not working too...

Not compulsory to take the test. But I think for high risk mums, gynae will encourage. I think 35 years and above, it is a must. If you are young, usually gynae will just tell you the tests as a procedure, and let you decide if you want to take the test or not.

Gemini,
Thanks! We'll wait for your updates!

Vivian,
Mayb the itchiness is due to yeast infection. GP will be able to tell at a glance.

Misterygal,
I haven't tell my boss leh. Gynae said don't tell until 3months. But guess I'll tell him very soon. He was asking me if I'm planning to take leave at the end of the year. Oops..

Jenny,
what is DS? Your gal? U mean your 1st child right?? When can we know the sex of our baby??

Janice,
DS = Down Syndrome
Ya, my 1st child is a gal. Turning 13 mths in 2 days time.
Gender of BB, some can detect as early as 4th mths. Depends on how co-operative your bb is. There will be a detailed scan at 5th mths at hospital. Usually gender will be able to see during the detailed scan at 5th mths. But my gal wasn't co-operative during the scans, it is only at 8th mths, then more or less confirm the gender.

doggiemummy,
pai seh???!!! Wah lau, wait till you see her lu shan zhen mei mu! hahahaha....
Anyway hor, I told my bb (which is my gal lah), you better guai guai be co-operative hor, if wait you turn out to be boy boy, your problem hor, cos the clothings are all gal gal one kekeke...

jenny..
u so hiong ah... later really boy boy wear pink how?? hahaa
Hubby already treating baby like girl girl, chosen girl name too
told him to stand by boy's name, but till now have not get back to me yet.

Anyway, we agree to not wanting to know boy or girl. all the things buy unisex colour, like yellow , purple

Err doggiemummy,
I think at home can wear lah, no body sees hahaha... Anyway I find newborn bb all look the same, can't see if boy or gal also kekeke...

Talking abt names hor, cos tat time gynae couldn't confirm sex, so hb and I actually standby a boy name and a gal name.

You dun want to know is boy or gal ah? Then you got to buy yellow or white. I think quite hard to find purple leh. But hor, I dun like yellow color for bb clothings. Wash a few times hor, like very dirty color.