(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Hi Jenny,

Pls. scan it if you can, i read also that birds nest is cooling, so we should not take it now, maybe on our third trimester.

I'm careful with what i'm eating now, we have to eat a variety of fruits and vege everyday. Protein in meat too. Avoid anything cold esp ice cream. I got this book in Sg before on confinement food (before and after pregnancy), you might want to check it out at bookshop. Forgot the author's name, chinese lady. It should still be there as its's famous. If anyone is interested, i'll give the author's name later.

Take care ladies, have plenty of rest. drink a lot of water too.

What books are you reading now? I got this What to eat when you're expecting and Girlfriends guide to pregnancy, it's a good book to read.

Wow, so many postings. Welcome to the new comers.

Ryes, sorry to hear about your lost. Please bu your body for now and yes, take a break and try again when you're ready.

Reverie, frankly, MS is so awful that I'm considering of quitting my job now. I'm hoping my dtermination will pull me thru, I feel so sick 24/7. I have 4 other colleagues who expereince no ms at all, but all have healthy bbs, so no ms can be a blessing too.
Counting down to Sat when i visit gynae. Keeping my fingers crossed too.

hi jenny
American ginseng is Pao Sheng, Kao Li Sheng refers to korean ginsheng. Amercian ginseng is the cooling type, whereas the korean ginseng is the heaty type. Too much korean ginseng will nose bleed!!!!

There are different grade of pao sheng, the lower range is very cooling, whereas the upper range range is not that cooling and got a bit of 'ti sheng' purpose.

The actual kao li sheng is very expensive, so there are unethical shop who will use those normal ginsheng, roast them, and pass them as kao li sheng.

Bird nest too have different grade. Some people dun advise preggy to take bird nest because of the way the nests are being processed. They worried that the chemical involved may be harmful to the baby! Thus the expensive ones like 'xue yan' etc has less of these problems. But again there are so many unetical businessmen around, so just have to be careful where you buy all these.

Evvone, ur dr is frm which hos? maybe its still early to detect the heart beat.. dun worry too much.. nt gd for baby oso... rest more. if u reali dun feel gd abt ur gynae maybe u can see another gynae for a 2nd opinion

Lucky me.. maybe tis round is my 2nd pregnancy.. i tends to be a little more bo chap of wat i eat and drink aldy.. hahaha... nw reading 'How to discipline w/o spanking ur child' kind of book... ya.. and oso chking out the various breast pump..

Coral.. me oso thinking of quiting my job.. but bonus is coming.. have to luan...

According to the Chinese concept, the body has two opposing and complementary vital forces - yin (cold) and yang(hot) and our health is dependent on the proper balance of these forces. When a woman get pregnant and give birth, it affect the hot-cold balance of the body, in order to balance them, it is treated by adjusting the diet.

Cooling foods - most vege, certain furits (sugar cane, water melon, pineapple, papaya) , medicinal tea, some chinese herbs (american ginseng). Excessive consumption of cooling foods is believed to produce 'wind', numbness, muscle cramps, aching veins, dizziness, coughing. Cooling food are not totally forbidden during pregnancy, but are avoided because they are belived to cause cramps in the mother and weak unhealthy children or miscarriages.

Heating food - meat (beef, mutton), spices, some fruits (durian), some chinese herbs(korean ginseng), brandy, rice wine and chocolate. They are not advocated during pregnancy because they are said to produce stout babies and this makes labour difficult. Chinese take heating foods during pregnancy because they are good for the health.

Heating food strengthen the body but too much of it causes 'hot air', like dry throat, dry lips, fever, etc.

Rice, poutlry, pork and certain fish are neutral. Thus the method of cooking enhance or dimisnish the effect of the food. Steaming is cooling, frying the oil is heating. Flavouring agens like ginger, pepper, rice wine, sesame oil are added when cooking to reinforce the heating good.

Then there are other groups call 'itchy food'(crabs, cockles, cuttlefish, prawns), 'windy food' (young cocunut, mango, jackfruits), 'poisonous food' (cockerel, crab, cockles, cuttlefish, catfish and some fish). These are avoided during pregnancy and confinement period because they may cause bleeding, produce an itch or hamper wound healing.

Hi hi everie..
U must be very happy..like what u saidits indeed a miracle..so happy for u..do hope that we quickly feel the morning sickness asap..heehee..

Hi hi jany..
Have u done the test? Go & do it soon if ur AF isnt here yet..hope to hear gd news from ucheers~

Hi hi jenny..
Can u advise whc week is the U magazine..i m not sure if I have it..thks for sharing with us abt the info..actually till date, I didnt know what to eat & what can be avoided..tell u one thing, b4 I got to learn that I m preggy last week, I went to japan & ate lotsa of sashimi & even drank wine when I m back to spore for the CNY company dinner..i didnt know that I m late..was thinking that I was too stressed at work & usually when I m stress, my AF will be delayed..esp when I thot the weather in japan & spore is diff..so most likely when I m back, then the AF will come..i so ks, even brought like 20 over pads in the luggage bags..

Hi hi luckyme..
OMG..i jst drank a big soup bowl of bird nest, ate milo ice cream, drank ribena & cold milk over the weekends..is it ok? I m not sure what to avoid except for cooling stuff such as glass jelly, pineapples..alamak..can u pls share with us more..ops..i m getting worried..btw, where did u get ur book from? I m trying to read up on what to eat & what to take note during preggy..

Hi hi coral..
Do keep us posted..i m also looking forward to hear from u..cheers~

Hi hi pig2..
Thks for sharing abt the info..thks..i m sure it is very very useful to all..really appreciate ur kindness..hugs..cheers~

Wendy, certainly hope I have good news to share after this Sat.

Pig2, after reading your advise, realy feel there's so little to eat. Anyway, got no appetite for food. Get hungry all the time but tastebud just not working. My digestive system is also bad, nto sure if gynae can give me something to aid my digestion.

May, will you really quit? I'm so confused, don't wish to give hb extra burden by quitting, but I'm so miserable daily. Now, boss is waiting for my gynae visit this Sat to confirm if I can fly to Atlanta for a wk or 2. Feels all the pressure man!

Wendy, certainly hope I have good news to share after this Sat.

Pig2, after reading your advise, realy feel there's so little to eat. Anyway, got no appetite for food. Get hungry all the time but tastebud just not working. My digestive system is also bad, nto sure if gynae can give me something to aid my digestion.

May, will you really quit? I'm so confused, don't wish to give hb extra burden by quitting, but I'm so miserable daily. Now, boss is waiting for my gynae visit this Sat to confirm if I can fly to Atlanta for a wk or 2. Feels all the pressure man!

My gynea happen to be on leave last Fri so I saw Mr Adrian from Thomson Women Clinic.

I made an appt with Dr Heng this evening, let see how it goes, hopefully everything is alright ...

hi hi coral..
ok, awaiting to hear ur gd news..dun overstress urself..most impt is to relax lor...must take gd care, ok? actully me also got contispation prob..very hard to go toilet everyday i find..hopefully things will be better coz i heard that preggy woman will have more contispation prob..

hi hi Evonne..
do keep us posted..cheers~

coral.. still considering.. like u i dun wish to give dh extra burden although he's the one who ask me to quit.. and oso i am use to paying my own bills.. feel weird and insecure to relied on him ..

Evvone keep us update.take care

Hi Pig,

Your're an expert, this is the information i am looking for. How and where did you find out about this? are there any websites on foods to eat while preggy? Been surfing but no luck yet.

Hi Coral,

Hahaha.....that's also my impression at first that no more food left to eat, but there's still a lot out there, vege vege and more green vege.

Hi Wendy,

Oh, sorry to scare you, don't mind me, it depends also on individual, i am a cooling person, so i have to avoid all cooling foods, if you're a heaty person, then, that's fine. No problem. How many weeks are you? And it says we should avoid, but not totally remove it from our diet if it can't be avoided.

I got the confinement bood from the bookshop at Paragon, is it times? It's more of chinese recipes. I recommend more the "What to eat when you are expecting" though it doesn't have the cool/heat chinese belief.

Evonne,
If are are uncomfortable, seek for 2nd opinion. Usually by 9 weeks, gynae will die die want to hear the heartbeat.

luckyme,
From my understanding, birdnest should only consume on the last trimester rather than now. I can scan the article only when I get the Magazine. Its not mine.

coral,
Bear it! MS should be over by 1st trimester. I'm feeling very sick today!! And still lots of work waiting me to clear.

pig2,
From the way you describe, basically nothing is left to eat le. I ate lots of watermelon for my 1st pregnancy.

May,
I agreed 2nd time more bo chap. Actually for me, my 1st one, I also bo chap. I just eat anything I like to eat.

Wendy,
it is the cover with Guo Mei Mei, Pg 67. You have? Can scan and post here? What you have eaten, forget about it. Just watch from now onwards. Basically, my gynae told me can eat all food and drinks except for alcohol, raw food. My 1st pregnancy I love to eat cold stuff like ice cream etc.

May, ya, I'm used tom paying for my own bills and giving my own parents pocket money. I can't imagine asking hb for money.
Jenny, I'm trying to tahan, but everytime I open my mouth I want to puke. And I have to talk alot, like giving presentations, contribute during meetings, damn jia lat. Afraid I'll soon do a merlion infront of people as I can't supress the urge to throw up anymore. My stomach is constantly churning, it makes me feel so sick ad frown all the time. I only feel better when I lie down. Thinking of quitting and wait till1st tri is over then look for another job. Let see how, this afternoon discussing my job scope for this year with boss, see how I can cope.

Hi Coral, true, I feel the same. U better get ready a plastic bag with you. I think the merlion on the spot thing can really happen, and we have not much control. Can't really eat, feel nauseous and there is throwing up. The throwing up becomes better, if resting in bed. I am given some medication for vomiting and took them if nec, especially during the work week...when I usually need.. Even with medication, I did also puke once/twice.. I think that is because of the travelling to work etc..

Hi hi luckyme..
Its ok lah..u didnt scare me much, its always gd to have some info to share with all..at least we can all work towards the same goal..hee..i think I m a more heaty person..i heard if more heaty person then very easily get irritated or short-tempered..hopefully its ok for me, one thing bad abt me is I find it hard to drink plenty of water even b4 the pregrancy..so now even preggy liao, also kinda not very used to drink a lot of water..i m trying to see if I m get any substitute for me to drink instead of just plain water..so thot of ribena..seems like quite healthy, except I think its also quite cooling..duno honey can anot..at least mix in the water then easier for me also..heehee..seems like the book is pretty useful..me got to go & check it out at tamp malls branch..thks..me into the beginning of my 7th week this week..i went to see a gyane last thur only to make sure everything is ok..now still looking for a male gyane..saw the bbs heartbeat & also hear it live..i cant help but tears just flow out..its really very amazing..my bb is 4.3mm now..what abt urself?

Hi hi Jenny..
i duno if the one I have at home is with the Guo Mei Meis cover..coz I know I have 2 copies..one is the Chen Wei Lians copy..the other one I havent read yet..will go back & check it out..r u taking any tonics currently? Or shd we not take it now? maybe when things are more stable?

Hi hi coral..
Maybe u can try to eat some sweets or some sour plums? At least it makes u feel better? or try to eat smaller portion food & not too much? Can I say that u r having morning sickness? Pie-say hor coz I really not very sure..thks..

Hi hi ladies..
Any idea how does it feel to have heartburn? Pie-say hor, me very blur..keep thinking if u have the burning sensation at the heart? HeeheeCan someone pls advise me? Thks!

For me, I feel like vomit, but never vomit. Is it normal.
I thought that ribena is heaty, thats why I drink a lot.
Heard that xue ga is good, cheaper that bird nest

Jenny.. how old is ur no. 1?

Wei Kuan, i will feel hungry.. but dun feel like eating.. dan eat aldy feel like puking out..

Coral maybe u can get mc and leave to rest at home??

Hi Wendy,

yes, you might be heaty, for me, i feel cold easily esp my hands and feet. I'm just 5 weeks + so haven't seen any yet.

Hi Wendy, ya, i'm having morning sickness. I'm already eating very small portion, cos I can't bring myself to swallow, just want to puke when I see food. I tried sweets, sour plums, but useless leh.
My previous preg was bad I was away fom office for 4mths due to ms and spotting. This time, my boss wants me to avoid that, so I might just have to quiot if I need such long rest again. Well, I think it's just a small sacrifice so long as I can't have a smooth 9 mths. But of course, still very worried aboutt he financial side. never been dependent on anyone before...

I finally cleared my work!!! Wah liew, I on MC, come back see my work, I wanna faint. As I was clearing my work, I was feeling so sick, like vomitting while working.

Wendy,
Take ribena if plain water sucks. My 1st pregnancy 1st trimester, I only took ribena mixed with water. I think I need to get a bottle of ribena tonite cos I puke like nobody business now. Even car ride from home to office also make me puke! My 1st pregnancy wasn't like this so bad!! I'm not taking any tonics. In fact, I din take any for my 1st pregnancy too. If you want to take, take during 2nd trimester when pregnancy is in its stable stage. Heartburn, how to describe??? Somewhere near the chest area, very xin ku lor, want to vomit can't vomit something like tat.
I think Guo Mei Mei is the latest copy is it? I can only get it on Fri cos is my aunt's copy.

May, my No. 1 is a gal, she just turned 1 year old last Wed. Yours??

I'm new to this forum. Now 8 weeks pregnant with my 2nd kid.

Feeling lousy as compared to the 1st one.

Wendy, how old is yr first 1? Mine just turn 18mths. Starting to show her terrible 2!

Hi gals!!

Mind if I join the thread? Tested positive last Monday and going to see the gynae at NUH tomorrow. My gynae is Dr Mary Rauff, anyone seeing her as well??
Anyway, I THINK my EDD should be in Oct coz my last period was 16Jan. Anyway, gona confirm tomorrow!

hi jenny
Not really nothing to eat, comparing heating and cooling food, preggy should eat more heating food than cooling food.

There are so many school of thoughts on the food we eat. My MIL dun believe in taking any bu during pregnancy, she feels I should eat as per normal. But my mum have been preparing chicken soup, birdnest and other bu for me since the day I know I preggy. Likewise, my 2 SIL also have been taking the same thing during the time when they are preggy, and their babies are all healthy, the skins are smooth. And they feel good during their final trimester and even right after birth, they are strong.

So my mum's theory is first trimester bu is to bu the mother's body, and 2nd trimester and 3rd trimester is to bu the baby. My MIl's theory is too bu will give birth to big baby, very painful and difficult to deliver.

Luckyme,
Some of the things I mentioned is from my TCM and mum, some are what I read from this book, The Asian Mother's Guide - Pregnancy by Dr Tecoh Eng Soon, Dana Lam

Hi Ryes,

Don't give up. Dont be sad too! I suffered the same situation the last time before I had my girl. I got a miscarriage and got pregnant again immediately after 3 months.

According to people, after a miscarriage / delivery, you are at the most fertile stage. So if you are ready, try immediately after you rest well 3 months later. But remember, you must now bu alot to recover and strength your health. You should eat all the confinement food too.

jenny, mine is a 20mth super active boi.

Coral,maybe u tok over wif ur dh.. for me.. i tink i may wait til after the birth of my baby.. dan stay at home for a few yrs..

Jasmine... i tink my boi is oso nw at the terrible 2 stage..

pig2,
I believe in eating whatever I'm comfortable lah. Not many ppl can take bu. My colleague ate bu for her 1st pregnancy and she lost her bb before 1st trimester ended. I've not been taking any tonics and my gal is super healthy than those I know, who have been lots of tonics. Anyway up to individual one lah.

jenny
I also think so not many ppl can take bu, and some of the girls anyhow eat, also like that. My French girlfriend had pineapple juice every morning during pregnancy also no problem.

Anyway you were pregnant before and given birth, you definately more expert than some of us here, should seek your advise even.

pig2,
actually pineapple juice is ok to drink. Just that some ppl can't take it. My gynae said is perfectly ok to drink pineapple juice.

hi jenny
Do you swim during your first pregnancy? Since pregnant till now, I have been been napping in the afternoon, now that I am not as tired as before, I was thinking of swimming everyday instead of napping! My gynae was saying swimming is good. What you think?

pig2,
swimming is good! even if dunno how to swim, I still go and soak myself in water, especially the last trimester! You know how heavy the tummy was... At least in water, won't feel weight.

You don't need to work ah? Napping at home, so good life!!

jenny,
thanks, no problem! I will try to swim every 2-3 days first, then see how!

Do you drive too? Any idea whether we need to get special safety belt for driving. My GF said she dun put on safety belt during her last trimester!

hi hi weikuan..
i didnt know that ribena is heaty..so if i already heaty & add on heaty, is it ok?..hmm..

hi hi luckyme..
i think i shd be heaty..so far..very easily get angry lor..then sometimes it's really thkful that hubby is not that easily short-tempered, can tolerate me..aiyo..u got bring jacket to work anot..lately i also got noticed that i very easily will feel cold..now in office i also got to wear jacket..take care..

Hi hi coral..
Icic..okok..slowly ba..look at it in another way..its a gd sign that the babys stable..maybe u can try to take some hot soup? Hopefully it can help to ease down ur morning sicknessor maybe try ribena since the ladies commented that it seems to help on the easing of the vomtting....most impt is not to overstress urself..relaxif needed, try to take mc or leave to rest for a while..dun think so much abt the financial sidemost impt is to ensure that the bb is gd & healthly..recalculate ur finance to see if theres any way u can try to save alittle or keep it aside..do hope to hear from u..cheers~

Hi hi jenny..
Oh, u mean taking ribena is fine..i m very happy to hear that..coz I m someone u really got to force me to drink water..esp plain water..so confirm that if u encounter heartburn is surely will have vomiting one lah, coz I wasnt very sure what is it all abt..haahaa..thks for the clarification..appreciate it a lotlet me go back & check on my copy later this evening..cheers~

Hi hi Jasmine Goh..
Sorry but this is my 1st time being a mummy..heehee..wow..u so fortunate got 1st one already..i guess it shd be easier for u..since u have experiences of being a mummy..do hope to hear some tips from u..cheers~

Hi hi cherrios..
Congrats to u & very happy to see u at this thread..welcome to the thread! Do update us on ur gynaes visit tomrw..cheers~

hi girls,
think i eat like a pig now. im eating 4-5 meals a day inclusive of wholemeal bread with peanut butter for supper at 12am, everyday at this time sure very hungry. But everytime i eat a lot, feel like puking...hahaha...

Hi Girls,

I agree with Jenny. Don't be so worry about what you eat. As long as you healthy. Drink more water. Always listen to your body.

Hi Cherrios,

Congrats! I heard of Dr Rauff. She used to share the same clinic as my gynae. But I heard got to wait very long to see her.

I'm seeing back my old gynae, Dr Roy Ng. Very experienced doctor who explained very detailed information to us. Which was what we are looking for as at that time, it's our first child.