(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Jasmine, free to drop by sometimes since it's so near. During the June hols I might just let char stay at home some days while we go over to my mum's place some days.

babygrace,

Now I noe wat's IFAs... ur IFA seems good. I have a fren who's hubby is an IFA. He was always featured in The Sunday Times BUT he abit full of s*** leh. All the things he said abt himself and his planning all BS cos my fren who's also teaching will grumble to us about her life. That's why I never had a good impression of IFAs. Can u email me ur IFA's contact? Mayb I can talk to yours.

Jasmine,
Tell your BIL cannot use cane cos A will associate school wif cane and that will only make things worse and make him hate school. This age must use soft approach to get him to like school.
One of my student refused to come to school but nothing to do wif any of us. He manipulates and controls his parents, so nw we refer him to child guidance branch on the basis of beyond parental control. MIND YOU, he's only 9. I dunno what his parents have been doing for the past 9 years.

coral,

yup, agree... cash is king. BUT we dun hav a lot...haha so muz try to generate more.

Beginning of the year was a good time to look at dist09 and we managed to get something within our budget. Nw prices picking up a little at my area but I holding on and will sell only if I get the price I want. If not, I will rent it out when it's completed in 2013.

freshpoison, it's all about timing and close monitoring be it property or shares. But both hb and I dont have the time, so decide to get someone else to do the job for us. Thus I've let my FA handled all my investments but at times would also like to try my "skills" with some spare cash. But if I really go on no pay leave, will not have much spare cash in the next half yr since I'll be living off my savings.

im looking for a chinese only playgroup in the north area. preferrably montessori based..but heck beggars arent choosers..2 to 3 days per week, tow to three hours plagroup guided in only mandarin....areas like sembawang, yishun, seletar area is fine...

if you know any, pm me can.thanks hor...

investment and retirement...
hmmm..i dont do it though hb dabbles. but early retirement what amount are you guys comfrtable at?in terms of assets or cash...a million?more?stocks unless you plonk in big amounts to begin with (even in blue chips), im not sure if it will really give you the returns you look for...

at what age are you guys thinking of retiring?

Coral,
sure!

Freshpoison,
No lal..he din cane A, just use cane to 'ask' him to wear his pants nia. dunno why, A seem to hate all his uniform!

lilboymum,
When you move to your new place? very hard to find a chinese only playgroup in sg right?

Lilboymum, sorry, my feelers not in the north area, can't helphere. For retirement, I wasn't looking at my own age but more like the time when my kids are around 7-yo. But now, I think the plan is more for hb to retire and take care of them while I continue my worklife. As for retirement amount, in order to not compromise on lifestyle, I think we'll need a few million to retire comfortably and since I can't accumulate that much in the next 7-10yrs, i'll just have to continue to work -actually I do enjoy working,especially if i know my kids will be in good hands. I'm quite happy to compromise my lifestyle, but hb managed to persuade me not to look backwards;p shall work for as long as I can unless I strike toto? (but must remember to buy, haha.)

jasmine
am moving july.now at my present place, ah gong and ah ma lives nearby so still can have chinese immersion.by the time we move, we thought it's better to get a chinese only playgroup since the rest of the teaching can be done at home in English...

izzit hard..sianz...so far only ones i know are JG, berries, tiensia kind and the latter two are quite academic centred whcih i dun really wan...unless there isnt other choice...

crystallized,
Congratulations!
Though girl or boy doesn't matter, but I am sure you are still delighted to have a girl ;) Looks like even your niece predicted wrongly! haha.

Stocks and shares
The moment I hear that, my brain becomes hazy. I just am so not financial. Which is why I cannot retire early type... gotta slog until 62 at least. haha.

coral...
oic..your hb doesnt mind?Staying at home with the kids?Thought most guys would balk at that...hb also told me he wants to retire by 35...but his definition of retirement is working from 8 to 5 and nothing beyond...

crystallised..
o you are having a girl, sorry scanned thru the post only! but dun worry...it will turn out fine!! boy or girl, it will be a nice story to recount to her when she is older...

hi lilboymum,
I also need chinese enrichment for the fake 'ang mo' in my house... I was seriously considering Berries, so will prob put him there once he turns 3.

freshpoison
yah but i kept thinking berries nad the likes operate like tuition centres and wonder if it will take the fun of learning outta the kids...so am scouting round for somethign more homey..montessori based playgroup in mandarin would be fantastic...

Jrt,
Congrats!! teach you 1 method to see, quite true apparently. go see R's nipples, are they inverted or sticking out? Inverted= girl, sticking out=boy.
let me know if it true.

lilboymum,

I need intensive training for him lah... nw he speaks like an 'ang mo' lah, damn funny sia... I tried using Mandarin but my hubby & I returned everything to the schools long ago liao. Long time no use, everything rusty leh.

My mum speaks to him in English too. Her Chinese even worse than ours.

freshpoison
actually hb and i are both pretty decent in mandarin, but we planned it long ago that i shall speak english and he mandarin to the kids so they will acquire both language concurrently.but i guess we didnt expect my hb being not home most of the time. so by the time he returns cy is asleep liaoz. the entire day he hardly gets the chance to converse in mandarin...at least for now there are still granparents to speak to him on and off...but when we move north...arghhhh...

lilboymum, hb wants to stay at home cos he tot the life of SAHM is damn easy can play xbox everyday...so i shall trick him into it then he'll know what he's in for. Well, if he can't find any decent job after his force retirement, no choice but to stay at home lor, cos he and I are not cut out to do biz.

Jenny
i am not only into chix, i am into MEAT. i am hvg a meat eater baby! usually i am more to veggies and fish person. this time i even hate my fav durians! poor R & my hb sooooo deprived! i heard if u scan early ard 10 wks or 12 wks, it'll not b accurate coz the baby's genitals r still developing and wat looks like a boy might turn out turn out to b a girl when the genitals are better developed later. but some frens say since my scan is at 17 wks, shld b quite cfm. but still i keep thinking my BBT chart is the most zhun one, so i dun believe it when gynae & nurse kept saying its a girl. i keep telling them, "no way, no way! i dun believe u all until the detailed scanning!"

My mum & hb oso wants me to stay at home but whole day leh... boring rite???? coz usually during sat, we will eat bf tog and then i go home to rest while my hb will bring R to take the MRT to the nearby area and come back abt 2 hrs later. this is esp since i am preg and gardly hv energy & hvg bad MS. so aft tt when they come back wif lunch, i wld hv cooked R's lunch. then will nap and we'll either go my ILs plc in the evening or go out. so i am anticipating tt R will bug me to bring him to take the MRT tmrw....

Jasmine
congratulate me only when i cfm via detailed scanning lah. now i still dun believe it. feels too surreal and i am still in denial! hahahaa
Looks like if i dun feel gd thrmw then i'll mostly prob stay at home wif R. he'll b bored! but of coz there is his fav DVDs lah. and he's quite entertained by viewing photos/videos of him on the laptop. mayb will bring him for a swim at the nearby swimming pool in the aftn.
ohhh tt reminds me... he's into playdoh recently, tt can keep him entertained for some time too.
both our hubbies are capable of handling our sons alone, which i feel is great!

As for getting A to like sch... give him some time. R only got used to gg to sch aft the Mar sch holidays, which surprised me coz there was a 1 wk break. we were worried tt he'll start crying spells when sch reopens but who knows he was better than b4. happily bade me gdbye and walked in w/o evening looking back at us.
initially when R cries when we leave the classroom, the teacher did tell us he's ok aft a while. usually takes only a few mins and he's ok. so it cld b separation anxiety. but to me, it helps tt i talk to R and reassure him tt grandma is there to fetch him when sch is over. there r many frens in class for him to play wif. juz keep repeating tt to him. enforce +ve feelings.
they'll eventually get used to it. lately my niece is on a major crying spell each time she nears the sch entrance. i was so worried tt R wld b affected but he's so steady, so nonchantly and walking twds the teachers happily. i was pretty surprised tt he seemed to hv grown to like the sch. but of coz when we pass by his sch during wkends and ask if he wanna go sch, he says no. hahahaha..

i agree tt cannot instil fear in him when it comes to sch, dun use cane to threaten him else juz make him more repulsive to the idea. ask ur BIL to stop doing tt. in fact, most of the family members prefer not to use the cane unless they r really mischievous.

dun worry abt A, am sure they r pretty adaptable. give them time and they'll get use to it. juz give lots of encouragement & reassurance.

Gemini
Thing is din managed to scan any 3 lines but gynae scanned fr the x-section view of baby and exclaimed its a girl. said sthg like the pelvic region abt gg down means its a girl, gg up means its a boy. she scanned b/w the legs and nothing protrude out but i still dun believe her. ahhaa... wait till detailed scanning lah. if its really a girl, its indeed a miracle liao! i kept saying tt inside the consultation room and she kept asking me why? hahaha

Dor
yah i prefer to wait till detailed scanning then b happy... else really happy for nothing.... but my hb keep telling R to sayang "mei mei"... *faintz* i am still using the term "baby" instead until i am sure of the gender.
tts y if i plan to bring R out, it cant b too far away.... haven decide lah, might b staying home afterall.

bbgrace
lets wait till the detailed scan then i will happily receive all the blessings fr u all.

Coral
wow u r really daring... i dun dare to try wif my bad MS and if i had to puke suddenly or feel uncomfy, there is no one else to take care of R. dared not b adventurous at this stage. my sis suggested to go bird park but i said no coz hb not ard to carry him ah. hahaha..

lilboymum
mayb can ask esther if she has any idea abt the chinese only montessori classes. think she was in the thread discussing abt CC stuff in YS area some time ago.
u r right... i alrdy hv a scrapbk detailing the journey of TTC-ing this baby and its dedicated to him/her. and since this preg has more stories than when i had R, there r quite alot to write. if its a girl, i'll tell her tt she is indeed our true miracle. but even if it turns out to b a boy, its still a miracle to hv him.

pups
yah! gynae oso commented tt my niece predicted wrongly coz my sis told her abt it. but now, since i am alrdy happy even if we r hvg a boy, guess boy or girl oso doesnt matter coz i'm still happy. hvg a son means R will prob b closer to didi and if its a girl means both me & hb's wishes are fulfilled. no regrets liao.

Delphine
i heard of this theory b4... R's nipples sometimes 1 in, 1 out but most times its out lah. so considered girl? my niece oso the same thing and my sis hvg a boy, so how to judge huh? heehee...

Jrt,
from what I heard, have to be both in or both out to be true.
1 in and 1 out, hard to tell. Waiting for your detailed scan.

coral and freshpoison,
will email you the website of my IFA later. You can go check them out. Right now i don't know the minimum fund size that they manage, the last i heard was $250K.

coral,
I thought the retirement age for SAF has recently been revised?

lilboymum,
we've always worked on the assumption that i will be the one to give up my job if the family needs me. So retirement age for me would be anytime. haha!
hubby enjoys his work and plans to work till 62. If i keep working, maybe we can retire a bit earlier lah.
As for amount of money needed for retirement, so long as we have a fully paid up freehold property which we can downgrade anytime and a modest $4K per month in today's dollars, that should be enough. We figured that at 62, $4k of spending money should be enough cos a comprehensive insurance would cover us in the event of illness, our kids' education would have been paid for by then and the kids would be working. Maybe the kids will be giving us pocket money instead. hehe...

bbgrace, thanks. Yes, but my hb is not young. So you can roughly calculate his age...

Coen's jaunsice level been yo-yo up and down. Now just got back from PD they're doing more tests on him and drawing much more blood. Today alone draw twice and he's prob quite traumatise due to the blood tests and the examination. My heart really aches. Tue and Thurs still gotta go back to hosp. With all these expenses how to retire?

coral,

I noe wat u mean abt heartache, but this period will pass soon when he gets bigger & stronger. I can only keep my fingers crossed that the hospitalization plan we have will be sufficient when we get older...

coral
well, to save can go poly for blood test instead of hosp...kekekek....there are always ways to save money...

bbgrace,coral, freshpoision
there is another way. other than the property you live in, buy another. rent it out.doesnt have to be high end property, but one with more conistent rental..still possible in singapore...then....for now, let the rental pay for the unit until you retire...two properties...how's that?

lilboymum,
yes, a 2nd property is on the cards if we clear substantially our loan for the 1st one. Don't want to stretch too much. I need other sources of passive income for treats like holidays

Coral
1st I 2 hand up I wanna see ur beautiful place.....hehe
I most prob will just catch a cab down with the 2 kids n get hubby to fetch us home after......hehe

2nd thing, OMG!!! Hw can the teacher helper do that!!
I absolutly hate ppl scaring kids with things. My dad does that now when D is naughty. Started with policemen n his gun scaring him with it saying got fire. But cos I am around n I heard n know. So I gotta explain to D abt guns n policemen n he's much better on it now. But the gun part still got alot of facination leh. Then the other time I heard my dad using ants n crokroach to scare him.....sigh
D has always been timid with ants n I'm still trying to make them not seem a big deal.....somemore he's a boy lor next time still scared hw to protect his gf??

lilboymum, we were at polyclinic but were told to go kkh as they were unsure hoe to handle Coen's case. Then kkh discharge us after several rounds, so we went back to polyclinic for continuous monitoring as per kkh's instruction, then after several visits, poly again feel the need for Coen to see PD, so they made us go to KKH PCC urgently. So not that I don't want to save money leh.
We actually had 2 properties and almost finish paying for one of them liao. And the 1st one can rent out at quite a handsome sum cos very popular place with pilot and air stewardess, but since I lost my first bb there, I was too upset to see that place anymore so sold it at more than 100k loss when I was preg with Char cos I was afraid the house might cause me to lose my 2nd bb. Pardon me for being paranoid but the emotional trauma of losing my 1st bb just got me into a very weird mood...Hence now gotta work extra hard. Always feel guilty towards hb for making him incurr such a loss due to my emotional needs. That's why I'm willing to let him retire while I work, cos we could have had the rental to fund our retirement, but now I make that impossible.

Freshpoison, can only hope that inflation is not too high, else the plans we have now might not be sufficient.

Dor, sure, we can arrange for the gathering, but you might be disappointed when you see my place cos you only saw the individual nice corners, but the entire place not that great. ;P Not being modest but having kids, not easy to maintain house that's why till now no housewarming.
Yes, I hate it when adults use things to frighten children, cos this will have great impact on them in future. Imagine D screaming at the sight of an ant? So girly.

hi dor/crystallised,

i tell u, the 3 lines and the penis, was my gynae tell me one... even they point out to me, i still cant "see", so just believe what they say...

hi coral,

i'm on for the idea for a gathering...esp, seeing your place so nicely done up.
but i agree, with kids around, not easy to keep the house spick and span.

lilboymum,
yah, we cashed out on our place last yr in order to diversify once the prices are right again. That's why we managed to get a dist09 apt at a steal 2 mths ago b4 ppl started buying again and pushing the prices up a little. We intend to either sell/rent upon TOP depending on whether we wanna further diversify again.

In the meantime, we also got 2 more apartments, both with loan tenures that will end way b4 we retire. Currently, both are rented out with rentals that are more than enough to cover the mthly while giving us some shopping money every month. We intend to keep these 2 as their rental will probably be 1 of our source of income when we retire.

We are currently looking at another property that will generate the same type of yield so that hopefully can get 3/4 of our mthly that we nd for retirement.

We felt that buying properties are actually the safest provided you get them when their valuations are at the lowest so that you will not be affected if the economy is bad and the banks adjust the valuations.

But to invest in properties, one needs quite a bit of cash which is why we started exploring stock/shares cos hoping to get more cash in order to combine with savings/bonuses to hopefully get at least 2 more small apartments then dun nd to worry when we retire. But we must start early otherwise the loan tenure will 'eat' into our retirement age.

Coral
Dun worry I'm not picky. With my own hse so messy urs definately better then mine......hahaha
Yah lor I hate it man when I hear but I jus try to explain clearly to D so he knows there is actually nothing to be afraid of. Cos imagine my bro is afraid of crokroaches leh all the way till he was in sec sch. So useless lor. Now I dunno lah cos I dun stay with them anymore.

Gemini
Hahaha Yah lor come back I jus chuck the pic to my hubby n tell him. "Ehh they say 3 lines there is girl. U go n see for urself lah cos I cannot see even 1 line at all"..
Hehehhee

coral
sorry to hear about your first child.dun feel guilty about the sale. most mummies wouldnt be able to think straight after the trauma...money can always earn back, most importantly is ourchildren are safe!!!

freshpoison
how much did you pay for your district 09 unit?pardon for asking...which development is that?we thought about cbd unit before but haha, guess we missed the boat as the prices are climbing liaoz. yes i agree rental market is still ok despite the downturn.

think most importantly like you said is to pay low and rent it out. we have two units which are rented out..pretty much for each of our kids when they are old enough...then the present unit we are moving into...so we are scouting round for one more..but the market refuse to crash :p (mean hor...)in fact the current rental is pretty good so it's a bit of pity we are moving in..but like hb says we can never be assured of tmr...so just cash out a bit first and hope there are better opportunity...

Dor, Gemini, sure, we can fix a day when you ladies come I can show off my recent photobook project. Quite proud of my creativity. Hehe, aprdon me, cos really proud of it for i rush it out in btween nursing Coen. Wkday will be good but if really want to do wkend I can try. We can either do pot luck or order some food, cos I believe most mums will be too busy to prepare food.

Lilboymum, ya, money can still earn back. Just glad to hv my two kids with me now. And really hope all is well for Coen. Will know on Tue.

lilboymum,

I got a unit at Parc Sophia. Got it at 1100psf so abt 900k+. Compared to the ridiculous psf prices paid by those 2nd half last year til feb this year, I think mine was a bargain. Of coz, I'm hoping for the prices to climb up again to those ridiculous levels so that I can cash out so that I can diversify again. On the hindsight, perhaps it was not very wise of us to sink quite a bit of cash into just 1 dist09 property.
Currently rental there for my unit size is still quite healthy even though its at its lowest.
We were also looking at CBD but mostly 99yrs. We wanted a freehold project.

Kaoz... nw I know everybody playing wif properties. There we were holding on to our cluster b4 finally making up our mind to sell and pump the cash into various properties. But better late than never...

I think I hav lots to learn from all the veterans here...

lilboymum,

Our only grumble is that we are unable to get a unit for own stay as that would result in us having to pay for it cos no rental. I'm currently staying wif my mum so no housing payment yet as the other 2 are paying for themselves.

My hubby always say, when we die, our boy gets everything. He's the most fortunate cos his parents slogged and planned for him unlike our own parents.
Children these days are so lucky.

freshpoison...
is your transaction featured in The Edge this month?the latest transaction in various properties mentioned in it and the one at Parc Sophia sounds like yours :p...and hb been pouring thru it regretting he didnt get The Sail when it was first launched...did you see the most recent transaction?below 1000psf, imagine those people who paid like 2000psf during the boom!!!pengz ah!

it is good you can stay with your mom!coz the property you live in is always liability,only asset if you rent it out :p

freehold in CBD???got meh?

freshpoison, sure. So you size the opportunity. Hb's quite upset that he didn't. And since u hv 2 properties earning rental for u why worry abt retirement? You're rite I was calculating the other day, at the rate we save for the kids by the time they turn 20, they hv a few hundred k liao. Our time, not a penny to my name and already in debt with bank b4 i start work. But cant let the kids know there's a sum saved for them else they'll not work for themselves.

Gathering
=========
I'm free any wkday.
Sundays are out.
Saturday only free on 19 June.

hi lilboymum,
Eh i suaku... wat's The Edge? IF the psf was $1100 & fr Parc Sophia then most probably mine cos I checked URA private properties caveat, So far there's only 2 transaction @ that psf, the rest were higher.

Yah lah, CBD no freehold, all 99yrs. I think my post not clear. That's why we din buy there.

coral,
Yah, but wif inflation, dunno if the rental will b enough when we retire so thinking of getting at least another small apartment just to be sure.

You are right about not letting the kids know, might result in them being unmotivated. Like some of my super-rich frens. Only know how to spend their parents $$$, no contribution whatsoever.

freshpoison
pardon me, but by the time you retire the two apartments would be fully paid for...so the rental should be all yours by then...or else can sell...

the Edge?some mag that hb browse thru.,think there is a page with all the latest private property transactions on it...not sure if it was yours, coz it mentions that the owners are HDB owners.

thought of buying an hdb, small one just for rental?it isnt too bad, always find hdb cheap and ok for rental...of course location is important too lah.

btw you are teacher too? :p...hows the sexuality ed storm coming along?

Sexuality saga more for the sec sch cos pri sch usually will be done by the teachers themselves

Property rules change all the time, if nothing happens then my 2 apartments will fund part of our retirement so we dun intend to sell, hoping to leave something for our boy. Think $$$ sure dun hav but at least got some properties...haha

HDB has 1 of the best rental yield in the mkt due to its low purchase price.

Yah, those who bought The Sail at its peak sure going to hang themselves liao... can you imagine their paper lossess... We din buy The Sail cos wanted freehold.

properties
==========
wow all the talk abt properties i should have introduce my hubby to all of you then he will have more income liao haha.

buying in singapore you really need a lot of cash. but my hubby retirement strategy is the same as freshpoison and some of the mummies here. we cant afford singapore houses so got 1 in australia which is also generating good rental income for us. now saving up to buy one in singapore but we are not willing to sell our hdb cos i think our area is very good and if we hold sure can fetch good price in time to come.

freshpoison
i agree that our next generation is really fortunate. sometime i wish my parents can go and 'chop' all teh good properties in town during their time, now we can relaz liao

coral
count me in for the gathering

Travel
======
Haiz i have to cancel our upcoming trip to australia as lele immunity is really low. think she is starting her LS cycle again, this morning my mum just called to say her stool very loose. really worrying. so decided to call off our family trip next week. very sad but rather them healthy than taking the risk.

Gathering (Tentative attendacne)
==========
1. Dor
2. Coral
3. Jasmine
4. Gemini
5. Freshpoison
6. Shirley

Let's arrange for date and time. Sorry for the many unavailabe Sat due to my post delivery checks, Coen's vaccination and jaundice checks.

There's two small pool, so we can let vthe kids swim if you ladies want. I have floats for 3-4 kids.

Coral,
Thanks for include me in the gathering list. Love to join in if the time allowed.
btw, 19 June is friday lel.

Shirley,
Sorry to hear that your cancel your oversea trip. Now with the H1N1 and you are travel with both kids, better postpone it rather than take the risks.
Lele still not recover yet?

Me too.. Now cough badly, & the sad part was i pass the virus to A when he back during weekend. This morning heard frm ILs he got feverish, now they give him medicine, if still not well, i had to bring him to see doc after work. sigh...