Congrats Coral!
Good looking boy u have there

Coral,
Congratsss!!!

Coen so handsome..

mommies, no time to read all the posting. was on leave sthis whole week cos parents came to visit. catch up later!

coral,
ya gynae really... dunno what to say lor... star awards got repeat show mah. He should be more prof in his job mah. I think having a newborn to the world is much more enjoyable than watching star awards.
Once again, congratulations! Coen is so cute!

Adeline,
Actually we have been telling the gals abt death. For Jolene, she witnessed my grandparents' death. Though for my grandfather, she's still an infant and didn't know anything but for my grandma, she witnessed the whole process. She understands that she won't get to see great grandma cos great grandma has gone under the fire etc. I explained to her before, and I think she understands what is death.
Jaslyn doesn't really understand yet. So, I told her if she notti and never listen to adults, eg. if she does something dangerous like refuse to hold hands on road, or other dangerous act which may lead to death, she will no longer be able to see daddy, mummy, jie jie, po po and so on.

Exploring Body
=========
Since we were in this topic... Yday I was on train and came across 2 boys with a maid who brought them home after tuition (saw the bags they carried were berries one). The younger boy aged about 7 or 8, was kissing, hugging, touching all over the maid. The maid kept telling and pushing away the boy to stop, but the boy didn't listen. I was stunned! And to be frank, my eyes were never off the boy and the maid, in fact, the ppl in the train were staring at them. When I said kissing, he was kissing the maid's arms, chest. And to my surprise, cos it never came to my mind. The boy used his 2 hands to hold the maid's right breast and wanna kiss/suck on it! The maid pushed away his hands, but he still continue his kissings, hugging and touching. I'm speechless, so was hb. I asked if he saw, and he said yes. This boy, has totally no respect for women's bodies! And I wondered why the parents or the maid never teach. Some more at his age now, I'm worried... I wonder how he will be when he grows up.

Jenny
sorry it just occurred to me after reading your post. could it be the maid has been 'teaching' the child certain things that cannot be done in public in private?she knows there are people watching in public so must act cool, but then children normally dun behave like that unless they have been doing it. and if the maid has been brushing the child off at home, he wouldnt be doing it for long...
just a thought..

am more thinking of sexual abuse of the child...

Jenny
Aiyoh sounds so scary!

But i do share lilboymum's concern. We dunno wat the maid does wif the boys at home. She could b appearing to be pushing away the boys while on the MRT but perhaps "allow" the boys to do tt to her at home. We'll nvr know coz maids get lonely oso. Some form of cuddle/touch is better than none.

I cant rem which maid was it tt allowed R to touch her and my mum was so furious when she saw it. She put a stop to it and warned the maid. When my mum told me, i was thinking how come she so bian tai?! R still so toung then. Think i ever posted here b4 but i cant recall the incident liao.

The current maid likes to touch R's genitals when he pees. She will "pull" and hold it while he pees which my mum witnessed many times. To me, i dun see a need to "hold" his penis when he pees, perhaps u need to "pull" prior to him peeing coz it sticks to his balls but thats all. My mum did tell her off and since then, tried not to let the maid handle R when he needs to pee. This current maid said she was previously wkg in HK where the employer's son (~5 yr old) kept hitting her and being rude to her but the parents did not stop the behaviour. she said this was the reason why she quit. So when our 2 tods are seen to be hitting her (they are usually playing but R can b quite rough when he hits), my mum will stop them and demand them to apologise. Initially R refuse as he probably thinks there is nothing wrong but hv since relented. So we wan the maid to know that we are not those type of parents tt will put up wif any nonsense tt our kids put up. She will not b subjected to unfair treatment.

I just feel its not so simple abt the episode tt u saw on the MRT. Surely the parents will not allow their sons to behave in this manner when they see it! They r old enuff! Such atrocious behaviour!

Actually I did have the thoughts about child sexual abuse or maid's loneliness when I first saw. But after observing and from the boy's expression, I found it's the boy. The boy has those super 色的眼神, like those 色阿伯.
The older boy, looks like 1 year older than the younger boy, wasn't behaving like that.

Eeee, sounds so bian tai & hum sup! Someone muz hv taught tt boy or he saw someone doing it. Else at such tender age, he wldnt do things like tt.

If the older boy continues, the younger one will soon pick up as well.

Mango, cos my amionic fluid is getting low when I went for check-up on Sat. Since he's already full term, so the gynae say might as well get him out than to worry about his well-being inside...

When I have time I shall bitch to you ladies about my ordeal during the labour...now Char is such a handful, gotta give her lots of attention and also ensure she doesn't hurt Coen...she'll kiss and sayang him but at times hit or press him hard...

Coen's jaundice level still climbing, so been going KKH daily for check, damn tiring , it's not a confinement at all for me.

Coral
Rest well, now gotta keep watching the 2 of them. Poor thing got jaundice then gotta keep monitoring.
I was lucky E didn't have jaundice so more easy for me with the 2 of them that time. Take care k.

hi coral,

the reason of u being induced is the same as my #2... haha... even though i'm induced the 2nd time, still afraid when gynae inserted the pill...

the way u describe char, is the same as tricia, blow hot & cold towards didi...
do rest whenever it's possible, esp for 1st week confinement...

Want to let this out......feel very qi gek

Now adays when we go inlaw hse, my fil will give D a vitamin to eat. N its not a vitamin they specially buy for D to eat lor its 1 of those vits he bought for himself. 1st few times I keep quiet tot it will not be an everyday thing. Then I was wrong. Cos that day finis already then next time we went they got new bottle again.
This I already qigek but okie I will put 1 of D's vits there for them to give him.

The more blood boiling 1 was, fil will give to D when hubby bring him into their room. (I dun go into their room normally cos fil smokes in the room aircon or not so the smoke lingers in n I dun want Ember to catch it.)
So that day I went in stand at the door area. FIL like so proud ask D to tell me. So I stand there listen waiting to hear what he was asking D to say.
FIL: "Damien say, say WIT"
D: Stare at fil blur blur
FIL: continues to "Damien say, say WIT......TA....MIN"
D: WITAMIN

WAH I was so pissed leh. So I purposely say "OHhhh, vitamin lah"
My fil still tot he so good teach D to say "Vitamin" when D already know hw to say donkey yrs ago. N now he made D say that until D is very blur. Cos appearantly he makes D say it everytime he gives him. So D keeps saying "WITAMIN".
I keep correcting n correcting he will still say the wrong thing sometimes......
ARGHHHHHHHHHH I feel so fustrated, can't they jus NOT TEACH my son!!!!

Dor, sounds dangerous for D to consume adult's vit...Aiya same case lah, I tell Char clever, my mum will say cleber. And Cahr would go clever not cleber but at times she'll goes cleber with a cheeky smile. Think the old folks just confuse them and I'm jus worried about her language now.

Coen's jaundice finally start to decline by a bit...no need to go hosp today. Hopefully the check tomorrow will conclude the entire episode.

My Birth Story
==============

Please bear with the long post...

1:30pm
check-into labour suite – wait and watch dunno wat program on HBO

2:40pm
Gynae break water bag. As usual more painful than previous gynae. 
Start drip to accelerate contraction.
2-3cm dilated.
Contraction at 3mins interval

3:40pm
Contraction already at 2mins interval but still 3-4cm dilated only. Can feel quit intense pain but bearable.
Did not use mask and nurses kept urging me to use it cos they feel I can be more relaxed and help with dilation.
So start use of mask, ok, relieve pain better than my deep breathing.
Gynae came, was frustrated that I’m not dilated yet though contraction is good. He was thinking I’ll deliver 2hrs after water bag was broken.
He increased the drips.
Now contraction about every min.

4:15pm
Nurse want to further increase drip, but I complain of numbness on limbs and face, so she dare not increase further.
Baby’s heartbeat very irregular. Between 60+ to 180+, I got very worried.
I’m only 5-6cm dilated, asked nurse how much longer before I deliver, she say another 1-2hrs. I was like, then baby will have to be distressed for this much longer?
So she said maybe epi will speed up the entire process, I say ok. Hb was like, you endured for so long are you sure. I said baby is more important…
Nurse walked out to arrange for epi then I suddenly feel the baby coming, I told hb, not 1-2hr, t’s now!!! Call for the nurse!

Nurse came in and say yes, yes, it’s now I’ll go call the gynae he went home already. Please do not push.

The urge to push was extremely strong but have to fight back and the nurse came in again and say can see baby’s head and press down my legs to keep baby in. I was like cursing the gynae in my mind, my pain could have been shorter if he’s around.

I was in a semi-unconscious state and I think I’m just a die-hard romantic, at that time I could not think of anything else but how much I love my hb. Haha, in the end I took away the mask and told him that cos I’m sure he cant tell it from my look, he can probably see pain only. ;P So I dunno why there’re women who yell vulgarity at their hb during such moments.

Then gynae came, he did not wait for contraction but just ask me to push the moment he’s in. I was puzzled, but just did as instructed. Then gynae say bb’s head is out, but hold, don’t push anymore. Ask hb to take video. I was thinking what?! So held on in pain for that. But hb to anxious, took video without pressing the record button, so I endure the pain for nothing.
Then one more push, bb came out. Nurse commented that this delivery is very fast, gynae said he’s in a rush to go hm bath and watch star awards! How unprofessional.
Hb told me he did the stitches in a rush and when he first came in e looked as if he’s tearing me apart. Hb said he just used his hand to try to widen the opening for bb to come out and he even used his elbow to push the bb down my tummy. No wonder I felt bruised kind of pain on tummy for a few days after delivery…

Milk Supply
===========
Hi experienced mummies, is it true that malt will lower MS? So no Holicks if BF-ing?

Coral
Ur gynea hor.......horror. But why u changed gynea aah?

At least Char knows is wrong n she purposely say it with cheeky face. Poor D is jus taught the word (fil prob thinks he's so proud that he taught his grandson a word) so he jus takes it as it is. Now I jus keep going "Wei ta Ming, Vitamin" but on n off he will still mixup sometimes. That's what I hate most....arghhh

freshpoison, coral
That's why I was unhappy n nag at hubby when it seems its not a one off thing re the vits.
Cos dun even know the dosage n adult dosage n kids dosage is not the same.
Then he told me he took it out of D's mouth the min they left the room.
Does it make me feel better?? Very slightly cos it doesn't mean they will stop giving right.
So I told hubby I'll put 1 of D's gummy vits there so they can give.

hi mummies....

coral,
OMG... ur gynae reli unprofessional leh... if it happened to me, i'm sure my hubby would have made his displeasure felt and heard! hope u r recovering well now.....
tell me abt it, both A&B got month-long jaundice... both confinement were not confinements for me... but dont worry too much, e jaundice will eventually go off....
i dont know abt malt reducing milk ss though.. i only know pig liver n stress reduces milk ss... Oats help to boost, so i usually take oats for breakfast...

dor,
aiyooo.... can understand ur "qi gek" lor...
i hate it when other pple feed my children rubbish... again, i guess i'm the "fierce" daughter/sister-in-law / wife bah... even when my hubby brought belle to my SIL's house.. he will call me n check if its ok for them to feed her things like ice-cream, packet drinks, etc.... hahaha... i muz have a very terrible image to them.....

speaking of gummy vitamins, anyone ordering again??? i need to "tom pang" someone's order cos i'm an idiot when it comes to such things.... the last time i ordered that gummy bear vitamin from bbgrace finish liaoz... n i want to order more..... TIA!!!

Starz
Ur hubby so good still call n ask u. Hw I wish mine would. If I dun ask he won't tell. Worse ppl feed his son right infront of him he can tell me he DUNNO!!!!!
Nw guess why I have to be a sahm.......sigh
I also wanna order a small bottle to put inlaw hse cos mine at home is big bottle. I scared my bils see gummies n eat it cos they like gummy stuff.
bbgrace ordering right?? Cos I think drugstore dun have hor.

hello ladies

this long weekend for me is a nightmare. Lele came down with stomach flu and was admitted to hospital yesterday night. discharged this afternoon and was put on drip. really heartpain to see her with the drip but she is really very very good, seldom fuss except when they are hooking up the drip and taking blood for testing.

the worse is i also kena stomach flu from her and was having LS 13 times on sat night and vomitted 4 times. luckily i recovered fast if nt will not be able to look after lele. then zac zac also kena cough and flu. haiz this can be my worst mother's day present!!

crossing my fingers that all the kiddos can recover fast and be happy again.

Dor, changed hb cos my previous one went to Raffles while I prefer to stay on at KKH. But Char still gets her sentence structure confused cos my Mum usually use the Chinese sentence structure when speaking to Char in English.

Starz, my hb like yours, usually will ask me for permission if inlaws want to feed the kids anything cos if not I'll kick up a big fuss later, so to avoid arguement he rather ask...and yes, think we prob have some unfavourable image infront of these relatives, but well, the kids' well-being are more impt than my image infront of them. Hb and I hv no rapport with this gynae all along, but I was too lazy to switch...and well, we had wanted to comment on his unprofessionalism but decided that we wont see him again so just forget it (quit a typical behaviour of Sporean ;P)Had wanted to tease if he was rooting for Jeannet Aw...Oh, I heard about the malt thing form the Apr'09 MTB thread but I drank holicks all the time while I was BF-ing Char so just trying to ask here. So oat helps? Good cos I eat oat for bfast too.

dor,
its becos he's seen me reli mad.... n i always tell him, if anything happens to e kids, it's his fault since he's there n i'm not... n our kids got some "reaction" to certain kind of foods... so he's scared lor....
i think last time bbgrace ordered from vitacost, or something like that.... u ordered through her as well???

shirley,
oh dear, how come lele got to be put on drip?? not feeding well??? poor thing.... can imagine how heartpain u muz hv felt... but she's reli "dong shi" lor, know mummy heartache liaoz so hardly fuss....
recently my colleague forwarded me this article abt boiling rice water, to drink when having diarrhoea.... i think it says something like the rice water helps the "lining" of the stomach or something like that... but i remember when i was young n had diarrhoea, i also drank that, cos the elderly used to think that at least there's some "nourishment" going in lor... other foods that may help ur stomach get better, toast bread, plain crackers.... do take care!

Vitacost
Ok, i need to top up my supplements anyway. Please let me have your orders by thurs. May close early if i hit the target of USD200.

Shirley,
Oh dear. I hope your entire family will be well soon. I can empathise cos the same thing happened to us last year. The unfortunate thing was the gastric flu episode resulted in provoked fits in K
And my vomitting was on top of my already bad morning sickness. Hubby had diarrhoea until he can hardly walk. Really shudder when I recall that period of time.

Coral,
That gynae is so horrible! I would have kicked up a big fuss :p

bbgrace,
Vitacost doesn't carry the one which I get from GNC for K. It is a Vit C, Zinc and Echinaecia one. I think they only have the vit C and echinaecia variety.

Coral
Oh dear u change hubby also aah??......kekeke
Structure wise think gotta keep correcting her if you hear lor else no choice. Cos now they jus keep taking in whatever they hear.

Shirley
Lele so good girl, maybe also cos she's sick n not well so she willing to let them do it which is good cos she recover faster. So brave girl.

Cos Ember also hates taking medi n will keep spitting out. But last week she had high fever n she willingly take the meds. I was so grateful lor else hard to give her meds in the middle of the night when there's fever. But she starts wailing n spitting out the medi once her fever subsides. So I jus have to be grateful that it means she's well....hahaha

Starz
Oh they have allergies aah. D dun really have allergies lor so....sigh
But E have lah n I'm not letting her out of my sight cos still dunno wat else she might be allergic to.
I used to order on my own from I also forgot where....hehe
But I'm ordering stuff from drugstore n I think they dun have. So think gotta tag lor.

Dor
Ur FIL pronounced WITAMIN coz its how they do it in hokkien rite?
My mum always pronounce words wrongly too but i know she dun mean it. juz correct her when i hear it. do u bring the kids to ur ILs plc often? if not, then take heart tt its not everyday tt D is exposed to rubbish pronounciation.

Coral
I think as long as u take hot drinks, milk ss shld b ok? i rem drinking alot of milo and pregnant mums' milk during confinement tt my hb hv to stock up frequently. i was making up for all tt i lost during pregnancy.

Was ur hb touched at wat u said to him in the labour ward or was he stunned? heee...

Ur gynae is atrocious!!!

Shirley
wat u experienced was exactly wat a close fren of mine experienced too sometime last mth. her son (ard our sons' age) came down wif stomach flu, and was hospitalised. by the time the son can b discharged, her herself was admitted on tt same day. At the same time, her hb was oso down but need not be admitted. after she was discharged, both her parents were down and her mum was hospitalised. she had a 5 mth old girl and they were v diligent in personal hygiene, chg clothes b4 they handled her and they had no choice but to minimized contact wif her baby and let the maid take care during tt period. they oso wore N95 masks in the hse to prevent the infection fr spreading. aft abt 2 wks, the whole thing finally died down.

so pls b careful when u and family handle zac zac now. its v contagious and dun 4get personal hygiene. hope u all get well soon!

<font color="aa00aa">Coral</font>,

Poor thing . How's your bruises ?
My milk supple was extemely low for #2 , maybe its due to stress so you must rest well , eat well ;)

<font color="aa00aa">bbgrace</font>,

Great !!!!!
So i just go to vitacost website to order izzit ?
By the way , how's your recent trip ??
Did Joshua and Emma enjoy the activites there ?

<font color="aa00aa">Shirley</font>,

How's Lele now ?

i'm on leave till thurs, my parents went travelling so i have to take care of the kids...

hi coral,

sorry to say this, i dont have a good impression of KKH nowadays, not only after your story, still got hear other stories too...

hi coral/starz/dor,

now i can really understand my SILs feeling about giving their kids food prevously (when i have no kids then). nowadays, i really hate it if someone were to give tricia food and dont tell me about it! well, the other party may felt that it's ok to give, it's only a bit but they did not realise that if they were sick, who's the one to take care of them eventually?

hi coral/starz,

that's very good of your hbs to check with u on what's food can be eaten. for mine, if my hb bring tricia out w/o me, after come back, i still have to ask him what she has eaten. but hor, i really afraid after tricia come back from MIL place, cos sometimes she feed tricia w/o my hb knowledge too... to her, everything can also eat one, just a little bit only...

Dor, haha, see busy mum can type very quickly and end up typo. Luckily my hb dont visit this site else he'll jump.

lilboymum, thanks for the assurance.

jRt, me too, drink lots of hot drinks, but this time less, Char's time I'll drink a cup b4 feeding and one after. Now only drink after. Not sure if hb was touched or stunned. He asked huh? I repeated myself and he just stroke my head and echo the same thing. Haha, the nurse must think I'm mad, so painful liao still remove mask to say this. ;p

Mango, actually my supply this time is fine. Maybe #2 not such a milk monster like Char. The stomach bruise not so painful liao. Thank you.

Pups, I guess i was too weak to kick up any fuss and also all our attention was on Coen, so teh gynae escape some nasty comment from me.

Shirley, hope all get well soon. Yes, really heartache to see the kids suffer. Now Coen has to hv two tubes of blood drawn from him daily, now his blood flowing much slower than when we first started, the nurse have to keep squeezing his feet to get the blood out. 2 yrs ago b4 Char's b'day my entire family also down with stomach flu like domino effect, so better take care and keep really clean to prevent further spread. Speedy recovery!

Gemini, it's bcos I kicked up a big fuss with hb a few times so he decided to save himself from trouble by asking in advance.

Jaundice
========
Too bad, the level rise again today. Tmrw need to go back for urine test, and several other tests on the liver, etc.

Coral,
Don't worry too much about Coen's jaundice. Just keep feeding him on demand to give him the required fluid. He will be fine
If milk flow still slow, can consider supplementing with some glucose water for the additional fluid.

Oh, you should have told the nurses that is the way you manage your pain. Haha! Cos I was going "OUCH!" very loudly when the anaesthetist did the epi injection and he say why you scream so loud? I told him I have to manage the pain somehow right? So I scream "OUCH!!" to manage it lor. The nurses all had a good laugh. Imagine me entertaining them during labour.

I think Holick should be fine, but if you are worried, why not just stick to Milo? I have been drinking a cup of milo everyday (sometimes more than a cup) since the day I delivered until now.

Pups, actually Coen has been drinking lots of milk. Yday he had more than 10 wet nappies and poo more than 6 times. But not sure why the jaundice level went up. Worried that it might be something else. Hopefully he'll get a clear bill after the tests tmrw. Actually I did not look at the nurse's reaction, cos too absorbed in my own pain and the gynae's absence that made me endure the extra 15mins of pain.

Coral
dun b too worried abt the jaundice. R's one went away only aft 7 wks! his milk intake was gd oso and had enuff wet and soiled nappies. PD wasn't concerned and so i oso dun bother. not sure if R did any liver test... i think so... since its prolonged jaundice.
watch out for ur sesame oil &amp; ginger intake. when R's jaundice still did not dip aft 3 wks, my CL stopped using these 2 things and R's jaundice went down pretty fast... but i know these 2 items r essential during confinement... juz too bad coz we r bfg our babies, so hv to forego.

coral
i think u cut down 1st on these 2 items. mayb juz use them for 1 or 2 meals... monitor. if Coen's jaundice still climb, then eliminate all together. ginger bath? nvr heard of it but shld b fine coz u dun consume it.

Jrt
I dun think its a hokkien thing more of a chinese thingy cos "Wei Ta Ming" they jus convert to english slang "Wit Ta Min".
I go over abt 3 times a week but like 10mins kind. But the 10mins hor jialat. Cos I realise its easy to correct them when they jus learnt something. But if they r corrected of something they already learnt like in this case it changes their mentality n it sticks leh. Like this vitamin jialat aah hard to change.

N even though my visit is very short they have done a few things that gets on my nerve. Like giving D money. Now he will ask for money when he goes n they didn't give him. Then infront of me they will act like "Oh cannot cannot. I dun have money"...Grrrrrr

Gemini
hahaha its the other way around for me!!
I simply dun understand why those with young kids would keep trying to feed my kids rubbish, like sweets, twisties those kind of things. For eg my own sister lor keeps trying to feed D sweets.

Coral
If you dun mind trying go n get the "Ng Kee"(Hokkien) my mum say jus go Medical hall tell them for bb jaundice 1.
U use it to bath bb n then put some into a red bag(jus use red cloth to wrap also can) n keep it close to bb at all times or pin it to bb. Will make the yellow go off faster.
We did use it for D that time.

Coral,
Now that crystallized mention, ya, cut down on ginger. My PD was saying it is ok to cook ginger with the food but don't eat the ginger. However, after baby K's jaundice escalated, I cut down on ginger totally. Even for sesame oil, I only use it for marinating purpose but not cooking so as to cut down the amount.

No problem for those use for bathing.

hi dor,

the Ng Kee, did use it for tricia time too.

hi pups,

if u are reading this, check with u, can Sambuccol and Zyrtec be taken in the same day? not at the same time though... sambuccol is a daily vit for tricia.

hi bbgrace,

hehee... sorry, my 2 bottles of sambuccol are still with u... if i'm @ CP, will let u know. thks.

Gemini,
Can. Even same time also no problem cos they are different ingredients without any risks of over dosing.

Tricia is sick? We have kept K at home since last tuesday... runny nose which lead to his airway hypersensitivity coming on again. Sigh. Sometimes I wonder what is the use of total breastfeeding him last time....

pup

i share the same sentiments with regard to breastfeeding as you when this year zac kept falling sick.

Updates on lele
===============
Still LS this morning, think her tummy still cant contain milk even diluted one and this is the only thing she wants to consume. haiz now very headache. any advice? tried porridge water, bread.

Boss still want me to go china next week and finally persuaded him that i can only go the week after. hope they have travel ban soon so that i dont have to go.

Shirley,
Did PD say anything about soy milk or goat's milk during this period of time? Or diluted milk in very small quantity each time?

Shirley
Aiyah poor lele. Hope she's better by the time u read this.

Power of TV
Today I discovered the power of TV commercials.
We were at NTUC n turned into the cereals lane.
"I want KO KO CRUNCH!" D said.
Me n hubby looked at each other blur cos we've only bought honey stars for him to eat before. So I pushed him in the trolley near n let him choose(see if he knows which 1 it is). N he took the correct 1.
Jialat see lah commercial is BAD for kids.....hehe

Oh yes n the M1 commercial u all know right. D loves it n I assume most kids would cos its catchy but see Ember also 'catches' it.....hahaha

http://doreeneric.blogspot.com/2009/05/m1-commercial.html

pup
i tried soy milk yesterday. the smell is too strong for her liking. fought with her and ended all the milk on me rather into her mouth. now trying glucose water. think the problem is trying to get her to drink since her apetite is poor.

dor
she is the same but pd said she is on the road to recovery so crossing my fingers. she lost 600g already really heart pain. lost her usual cheerful self too. haiz praying hard she can recover soon