(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

pups,
For me, at first, I put Jolene's carseat behind hb's seat eg. right side of the car. Then Jaslyn's infant carseat in the middle aka beside Jolene, while I sat on the left side. Super squeezy but getting in and out the car was easier. But the infant carrier wasn't very secured. So most of the time, my right hand was on the carrier.
Then I changed Jaslyn's infant carseat to the right side of car while I sat in the middle. More secured cos the infant carseat had the left side front seat to "secure" it (push the front passenger seat back to "secure" the infant carseat. For this case, infant carseat will not move easily. But for me, getting in and out of the car will be more troublesome (you know how squeezy Vios is). Meaning hb has to help to carry the kids first before I alight. Then all the barang barang put in the front seat. Will be easy to take things cos I sat in the middle seat. (The time where I sat on the left side of the car, I couldn't reach the stuff in the front, needed hb's help). I find the 2nd way was easier to manage then. Even when we upgraded to picnic, I was still using the 2nd method cos the space was too big then. The infant carrier wasn't secured at all when placed in the middle seat. But then it's only for a few mths. I decided to remove the infant carseat, bought a new carseat for Jolene (which I got one for age 1-4), then let Jaslyn used the carseat that Jolene used. I converted Jolene's 1st carseat back to infant position for Jaslyn and placed it on the 2nd row, right side (until now but now in front facing position). Jolene 's new carseat, I placed in on the 2nd row, right side. Then I sat with them in the middle until after Jaslyn turned 6mths. I moved up to front seat. 1 mth later, I decided it's time to train Jaslyn to sit alone, so moved Jolene's carseat to the 3rd row. Jolene was moved back to 2nd row after she upgraded to booster seat.

For my friend who was driving the same car model (Vios), she used my 1st method for a few mths before she moved her son to the front passenger seat (with carseat). Note she didn't deactivate the airbag cos Vios airbag couldn't deactivate ourselves. Then her baby gal with her at the back seat.

Wow, glad to see such vibrant discussion on carseat. Answer my doubts. I'll definitely not upgrade CHar to booster cos she'll escape fm it. And since I've bought two car seats suitable for 1-4yrs old, shall use them for as long as possible. Now the question is to have both at the back and me squees into the middle or put Char infront...Hb prefers the latter, I prefer to sit with both, can't bear to let Char move away form me even in the car. Haha.

Jenny
thanks much for the posting.. i didnt know that both type are booster seats and the 1st pic of booster seat i tot it's car seat until u say must use adult seat belt.
I showed hubby ur post.. and he nod his head..
Then when i ask him today.. so we getting a car seat and let kim try? He say no.. Goodness..
I am a safety driver but my hubby is not!
i think at their age, they should be able to understand what we telling them already right?
CAuse kim is like unable to understand. i dunno real or fake..

Jenny,
I understand the part about using the front passenger seat to stabilise the infant carrier. We did it during K's time. But I still don't understand how you can squeeze to sit in the middle of the back seat when you have an infant carrier on your left and the carseat on your right?!

Actually for Sunny, there is no airbag on the passenger side so can put carseat. It is just the part about having to take the carseat in and out when I am alone with hubby that is very troublesome.

Bed guards
Mummies, anyone know if there are any offer now for bed guards/bed rails? We finally got a single bed for K and it is all set up in his room. Thanks!

hi pups,

that what we do with our old Sunny. Tricia carseat was shifted to the front seat, cos no airbag, so me and tristan sit behind. tristan infant carseat was placed in the middle. if alone with hb, he's my ahmad too! but now we upgrade to Stream, tricia is shfted back to 2nd row, behind the driver seat. but hor, we did not put tristan always in the carseat as it's a bit too small for him liao but if he's in it, i will be in the middle, squeeze in between tricia carseat and infant carseat. cos we being lazy, i do not want to move with tristan to the 3rd row.

hi jenny,

thks for the picture on the booster seats.

pups,
What about putting both kids on their own at the back seat?
That's what i've been doing since they were young. I train them to be on their own cos there will be times where me or hubby will drive them on our own.
In fact I find that they are more demanding when there's someone seated at the back with them.

Gemini,
We did contemplate upgrading to a MPV, but somehow felt that it is not the best solution.

bbgrace,
Can try, depending on the nature of this baby. K could not be left alone in the backseat last time cos when he cries, he will hold his breath and turn blue type. When he did that, I had to blow on his face hard to make him release his breath... quite scary.

Then how did you manage when the baby needs to nurse or things like that? You plan your trip timing very carefully is it?

Adeline,
Both type of booster seats are the same, just that one has cushion.
The one with cushion will not save you any much space cos it is as big as a car seat, take it as it doesn't come with harness point.
BTW, kidzloft is going to have 50% off from 12 to 21 Feb. You may wanna check out the carseat if you want to buy a new one. The original price shown on the website less 50%, quite worth.

pups,
For bed guards, check out kidzloft 50% off promo. I got mine during last promo, very worth!

pups,
I put Jaslyn into her infant carseat, then I got into the car from the other door where the carseat was. After that, Jolene then got in.
You are small in size, can de lah.
If there's no airbag for your front seat, then can consider to move K's carseat to the front. But I still think kids should sit behind.
That means when you are alone with your hb, one will be in front, the other at the back. It's troublesome for your case cos if you are going to put the carseat in the front, then got to remove every day just to sit side by side with hb. But then I feel even more weird when one sits in front and one at the back. I only did tat when I needed to pump in car to save time.
Upgrade to MPV is not the best solution. If there's no need, dun upgrade unless you need to drive more passengers ard. Cos it's only for a few years then can change back normal car liao.

Gemini,
In that case, you can consider moving Tricia to the 3rd row, and have Tristan on 2nd row. Move Tricia back when Tristan is older and doesn't need you to be ard with him. And yes I do agree with babygrace, kids tend to be more demanding when we sit with them.
How old is Tristan now huh?
Dun get it a habit that he's not in carseat.

Jenny
wow.. really thks much. i gotta know more things about carseat and thanks for the promo.
For safety i will want to get.. i gotta drill it in hubby's mind.
It's only weekends (not all weekends) then we gotta ferry 2 kids if we going out. if not then weekdays kim only.

Thanks jenny
i hope kim will be like kath.
Kath sit car seat much easier. when i remove car seat and carry her cause alot passenger, she wiggle and wiggle non-stop!

Jenny,
Ya, we do not need to drive more people around (both set of parents have their own car) which is why we are reluctant to get MPV. I get what you mean leh.... I think it is because my hubby's leg super long and he has to push his driver's seat quite far back, which is why I see the space like machiam not enough for me to squeeze in :p Will try and see how. Even if asking hubby to shift his seat back forth everyday it is still more convenient than having to take carseat in and out. I may even try bbgrace's suggestion to see if things work out ;)

Thanks for the heads up about Kidzloft 50% promo

Jenny,
Thanks for the links! These bedguards look like for mattresses that are placed on top of something. If part of the mattress is inside the bed frame, still can use or not?

pups,
aiya then get yr hb to shift his seat daily to save $, tell him his exercise for the day lah.
I dun understand yr qns on part of the mattress is inside the bedframe.

Pups,
I think I get wat you mean liao... Most mattresses have a bit "hidden" under bed frame.

bedguards has 2 "sticks" (I dunno wat tat one is called lah, called it sticks hor) that will be under the mattress. So that the bed guard can be held in a L shape for support.
The 2 sticks below can be extended and locked, depends on which type you are getting. So can adjust the height.
But firstly, before you go and buy, pls measure the thickness of your mattress first. Different bedguards have different sizes and height for the mattress. If your mattress is normal mattress, then the 1st one can be used. No need to get the 2nd one.

hi jenny,

tristan just turned 6 mths 2 days ago. i know, have to let him get used to sitting in car seat. i think when tricia about this age also, have put her in this same infant car seat liao.
thks for the info on the Kidzloft. cos considerin getting a bed rail as my SIL has taken back hers. maybe will buy a booster seat also since got sale.

hi pups,

my both sets of parents also have their own car but nowadays my dad try not to drive, cos of age and nite vision not that good liao, so we pick them up and furthermore, they stay SK, so I'm considered the nearest to them. plus i got a maid, so better changed to a MPV. but we have been thinking/looking around when i was preggie with tristan and only 2 mths ago then finally changed.

jenny is like our consultant here hahaa..
i wanted to get sun shade but tot of doing those curtain type at car workshop. advisable? because sometimes sun verl glaring but hor.. ex..

Jenny,
Very clear explanation. Thanks! His is a 6inch mattress. I believe the first one will be sufficient.

Gemini,
In your case, MPV will be useful cos you still have a maid.

pups,
J used to cry his lungs out in the car seat also but hubby is quite firm about leaving him in there. He can drive J on his own, oblivious to all the crying.

As for nursing in the car, Em feeds on schedule, so I will try to time her feed. But there were times that I had to feed her while in the car, then i will either sit between the 2 car seats or nurse her in the front seat (i know it's wrong lah). I would say that at least 80% of the time, I'm in the front seat while the kids are at the back.

For all you know, #2 will not cry like K in the car seat, so it may be worth trying this method

pups,
See, no prob for the bedguards to go in between the mattress and bed frame. I used on the queen size bed before I changed the bed to single bed for the gals.
Usually the 1st one will be ok unless you have a super thick mattress.
2144109.jpg

2144110.jpg

Adeline,
consultant charge hahaha.
Oh I tot of the curtains too, but need to wash haha... I lazy...

babygrace,
cool... think yr hb same as me, can tahan the crying haha...

ok, going off liao bye!

bbgrace,
hubby can also tahan K's crying.... it is the breath-holding part which we were told to watch out for (lips turn blue then black type. no joke), and now, scared prolonged hard crying may provoke fits cos that was how he got his second episode in KK. Problematic sia...

Jenny,
Thanks for the photos

hi pups,

bumped into your parents just now when i was picking tricia up. Wow, your mum look young! well, must have given them a shock cos out of the blue, someone self-introduce herself as your friend...

Hi jenny

Thanks so much for sharing. I planning to get one of these bedguards to be used at my parent's place. U bout from Kidzloft? what is the measurments?

jenny, pups
im quite fat leh, sometimes i will have to squeeze in btw the two car seats, and it's quite pathetic. or my maid will be the one squeezing in btw, and she's even bigger htan me...

we drive a corolla, small small car too.

adeline,
yes kidzloft quite good when they have 50% off, very worth it. should get your carseat then!

Can I check crocs shoe size with you gals.
What size is your child wearing for crocs?

Should I measure using Jaslyn's foot against the crocs chart or use her shoe to measure? Cos 2 different sizes leh.

Jaslyn is wearing Size 25 (tight) for her hello kitty shoe and Size 16 (is it 16cm??) for another pair of shoe bought in kiddy palace.

I'm always confused with the shoe size **argh**

babygrace,
what size is Joshua wearing for crocs? Jolene's shoes got 2 sizes, Size 29 and Size 18... Need some help..

Gemini,
Haha.. will tell my mum your comments. Her head will swell :p Yes, she did mention to me last night that you introduced yourself. She is not shocked lah. Cos I mentioned to her before that I know the mother of the little girl with very curly hair. Haha

Jenny,
K is wearing size 8/9 for crocs. Still very spacious for him to grow into, so it may fit Jaslyn just nicely. I think he wears 15.5 for kiddy palace shoes. Crocs sizing increases quite drastically with each jump in size and 10/11 may be too big for Jaslyn. Then again, it depends on the design you are getting for her cos Caymen and Mary Jane can afford to wear oversize but Alice and some others must wear more snug then nice. You know there is a croc shop at the outer side of Holland V food centre? Can go there an check out sizes first if you have time during lunch ;)

Jenny, lilboymum,
Yes. I will start off by squeezing in. Not likely to change car now.

Jenny, when I told hubby about him moving his seat forwards and backwards to create more space you know what he says? Put the infant carrier behind him so that it is at a fixed position. Change K's seat to behind me so that I can permanently fix my seat to a more forward position. Makes sense lah, since my legs shorter... but see how lazy he is?!

pups,
Jaslyn's feet are big. HEr size 16 already just nice. I'm now thinking if should get C8/9 or C10/11. Measured her foot against the size chart is C8/9 but when I used her shoe to measure, is C10/11.
I'm looking at Girls Alice lor. SG here dun sell, can't try size leh. What do you advise?
Oh yr hb's suggestion also can lah. Anyway will be "fixed" for like 8 to 9 mths before you change to front facing position.

I put the infant carrier on the left side cos if sometimes need to remove, can be easily removed, plus most of the time, the door used to open is the left door for boarding/unboarding.

Jenny,
I thought singapore has girls alice. Try the bigger croc shops like Vivocity or Marina Sq. I think C8/9 will fit her snugly now. But if you want the shoe to have more mileage, take the bigger one. If really cannot wear now, at least still can keep. Buy too small, cannot wear means wasted. Oh, for Alice, there is a strap across the foot, so if too small, that may be too tight also.

But having said that, C8/9 is really quite big for K now leh.... he has another pair, kids santa cruz also in C8/9. Still very loose leh.

pups,
have or not? I went marina sq outlet last weekend. They said they dun sell, so I tot not sold locally?
But hor somehow I think I saw at one of the shops at causeway point before, but I went back, no more liao.
I hiao mah, cos I bought myself a pair, so want to wear the same pairs with my 2 gals hahahaa...

we succeeded!!!
Surprisingly yday after kim's KTV session, she sat in car seat all the way back home!
i am only trying.. i only tell her.. come kim sit inside good girl..
Then she really went in!
yes! and i hope she will be willing to sit lor..

Jenny
Kim's feet is also about 16 to 17 wor.. haha.

Adeline,
Good for Kim! Keep it up!
Then Kim got crocs? If yes, wat size?
I very fan nao what sizes to buy for the 2 gals leh... hahaha...

BTW mummies, girls alice is now going for £6.99. So works out to be abt $16++. There's a thread in overseas spree ongoing now.

Jenny
no crocs.. the other time crocs have sales at expo.. i didnt manage to get any shoes for kim.
cause all too small and if without sales buy like quite ex..

Jenny,
I have really seen it before leh... unless my eyes playing tricks?! Call up the vivo branch and check before you head down?

jenny, the spree sounds cheap I'm interested too, but very worried about show size. Now Char wearing 26 and 17, Haiz, this gal got big feet like me. So if buy too small cannot wear, too big must keep for a long time since pups mention the jump is huge.

coral,
I check the size on crocs website as well as other website. For size 26 and 17, is C8/9. I'm checking with other mummies for the size. Waiting for them to measure and revert. Think I'm likely to get C8/9 for Jaslyn. Crocs website state girls alice is like mary jane, so will bring the gals to try the size this weekend.

Adeline,
Yes, is shoe. Got adult one also.
So I bought myself a pair, and the gals one each, then we all wear together hahaha

jenny,
Joshua is wearing C10/11 now, still can wear, although i just ordered another pair of C12/13 which i think may be a bit big for the moment. Emma is wearing 6/7 now which is just fitting, so no problem for Jazlyn to wear 8/9.
Actually i find that the size chart a bit buay zun. When I measured J, he's supposed to wear C12/13.