(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

So fast time flies.. this year our toddler is 3 and kathlyn is 1.. aiyo.. then in a blink of eye, they will be in pri sch already..

Jenny
what chi ji u will have? hahaha..
i think only the kids will make me go crazy now! i am immune to cries all this already hahaa...

Shirley
Thanks for the BP!!
i found what i want hehee..

hi jenny,

oh, smiling orchids only got 1 outlet. Ghim Moh a bit too far for me... thinking of using it for tristan 1 yr old b'day cake

err, cant use zamba? still thought of using it.. cos mummy is a regular user of it...

allow me to "disturb"

is regarding the annual zoo membership.
last yr, there are mummies here signed up the memebership, should u wish to renew pls PM (w/ur name, email n contact#) me.
** as my HDD crashed n all the contacts are gone for good.

** the mass sign up will go ahead once hit the mini. pax to enjoy the 10% discount.

** renewal n new sign up are entitled the 10% discount.

rdgs

Adeline,
dunno leh, hmmm preggie consider or not hahahaa???!!! no lah, choy choy choy...

Gemini,
You can think of a theme you want then call or email them to send you pics.
I'm not sure if can use zamba or not leh, Tristan still so young can meh?

Adeline,
Me prefer lycee martini... yummy!!

Gemini,
Denise also got a baluku the day before yesterday some more my maid didnt informed me until my mum saw and tell me.. BTH.

Delpine
i heard lychee martini is nice but kids can take one?

Jenny
Ohh u taken all before?
I thinking of getting something which kids can eat.

Adeline,
Actually there's this coconut flavour, quite nice when I first tried it. The last 2 times I tried, not very nice, maybe fresh coconuts play a part.

I find lychee martini very sweet, personally I dun like it, though the flavour is unique. Not strong lah, kids can take.

Thanks jenny for the feedback..
1st time ordering from PG.. i only knwo that comments abt their cakes are nice.
I wanted to order cake from cupcakesdivinity.. but their cake dont taste nice.

jenny

ya i agree with you on cupcake divinity but i gave up on getting a nice design and nice taste cake for home baker so i decided to go for look only. this year going to get cupcake divinity for lele's birthday cos easy to collect near my place.

adeline
ya sama sama since zac has the banner so going to make one for lele too. so asked you how to design for kim the other time. By the way do you still have the soft copy of that kim design? do you mind if you send me so that i dont have to search the webby for care bear icons? This year i started early for lele's birthday preparation as March is our quarter end, lots of things to do. So i settle the venue, caterer, goodie bags, cake, deco and invite. Left the banner. I like the rainbow in Kim's banner but i cant find. I wanted to add in for lele's invite

2135923.jpg

any other mummies know where to find that carebear rainbow?

Shirley,
what carebear rainbow you are looking? I just done with Jolene's carebear cake design few days ago. See if I have what you want?

jenny

you know the carebear always sit on cloud and usually there is rainbow over the cloud. i like that rainbow but i cant separate it out from the picture to put in my invite. not sure if you know what i meant. so jolene likes carebear? i chose carebear cos i tot lele's face look a bit like carebear haha

Delphine
ya ya their children room has carebear deco so save me money on posters but think the deco a bit old too but never lar.

Shirley,
You need to slowly erase off the pics and crop out the rainbow. Need patience and time if you are not familiar with photoshop or other software. But I'm sure Vivian should has no prob since she's into this haha..
Alternative, why dun you go google image to search for a nice rainbow? Just type in cartoon rainbow, and there's a few to choose from

pups
Think post preg brain lah. Dunno why it suddenly came into my mind. You perm on rebonded hair ma. Rebonded hair is also chemical treated hair to make it straight so perm on it will last longer. btw wat perm did you get?? I heard spa perm will last longer but 3 hrs. So I jus did jap perm which he recommanded. But I really dunno wats the diff. Looks all the same to me(except for auntie perm)......hehe

Coral
IF ur hair like mine hard to perm 1 then better not lah else waste money......hahaha
But actually when I tot to perm hor I was thinking when I dun do anything at least got abit of wave or curl got pattern better then my very boring straight long hair. But now endup still straight long hair......hahaha
N I purposly didn't cut during preg n confinement, now my hair think 2 more inches reach waist liao.

Adeline
You reminded me. Hw much Aranda aah?? I was gonna check that for Ember. Still dunno if wanna celebrate or save for trip next yr....hehe

Delphine
Your maid also chu pattern liao aah??
Cos when I 1st saw her she seem so good and automatic leh.

Shirley
I love the carebear......but dun think I will so goot lat for Ember's party. Me lazy mummy....hehe

I still remember Desiree's cake super nice lor.

dor dor,
ya loh... they ar very fast pick up bad habits esp once they have off day... haiz so long not very serious offence, i will just close one eye.
you have a good memory, still remember how desiree's carebear cake looks like...

Adeline,
Actually I find the triple chocolate cake from Pine Gardens quite good. Maybe we are chocolate lovers so don't feel sick of the cake. I had very good comments when I used it for K's first birthday.

Dor,
I did digital perm. According to a hair stylist I was chatting with, she said digital perm and spa perm are the same. First time perming, really no idea.

Ya, I permed my hair more cos I was so sick of the bian bian look after rebonding... and hair like so no character leh. So for a change tried perming. Now I am thinking should continue to perm or straighten or what. Hmmm...

shirley
i gotta search then let u know alright?
i need to check with my friend if she have the edited copy.
Where is the venue?

pups
oh? i am choco lover as well. hee
i am still deciding between design or taste leh.. hmmm....

dor
eh i paid like $700+ for 3 days 2night inclusive of $200 deposit.
The thing about aranda is parking need to pay and hor.. cannot have own caterer.. u can only order from their catering if u want to have ur own, gotta pay $300..
So what we do is we cook ourselves and hor.. our friend do catering one so we get from them and we da bao ourselves heheeee..
then we wont set up any catering stuff.. just like home cook one but our friend do for us..

Adeline
I different from you leh. I cut short hair they say I look very young like siao meimei. I dun like, I prefer to look my age cos very weird small girl with kids......hahaha

Kaozzzzzz. So ex aah Aranda. Cos I was eyeing the NSRCC cos I really love the pool. N wanna bring the kids there for fun. But also bout that price so hubby refuse lor.......sigh
Think small small celebration for Ember too lor.

Delphine
Cos the carebear cake looks so pretty. N I like carebears alot ma.....hehehe

pups
When I am bored with my hair I will go n cut it short. Then I will regret.
That's why I told my hubby die die must not let me cut short my hair. He got to remind me if I get tempted....hahaha

Dor
ya lor.. aranda chalet treat us as 'cai tao' and i willing to let them chop also ahahaa..
Cause i like location and environment .. so i chose there.
initially hubby was nagging at me also.. hahaha then i tell him i pay ma! :p
then i just go and book..
It's only 1st year celebration i do.. after that no more le.. like kim's 2nd year is family go out eat only. thats it lo..

adeline

wow didnt know aranda is so expensive. lele's venue is at grassroot club children playroom, next to yio chu kang mrt. the room charge about 200 for 4 hours come to think of it also very expensive. but during zac's first bd, book the nsrcc and find chalet very troublesome and i dont like to sleep on chalet's bed, feel very uncomfortable. somemore their baby cot no mattress and poor zac has to sleep on hard board wrapped with quilt the last time.

Thanks in advance for the rainbow, if you can help it will be the best. i am also using jenny methods to search for cartoon rainbow.

Jenny
thanks for the tip. trying to explore photoshop but really no time and patience so i gave up. using ur second method.

Dor
Didnt know you like carebear. chose the theme cos my hubby commented that lele looks like a bear when she smile. also the grassroot club also have carebear painting on the wall so just nice lor.

Shirley
i have the CD which the supplier burnt for me..
i try see can email because big file. if not then probably i pass it to u?

Jenny
ya it's ex. i paying ntuc union rate. much cheaper already..

Haha, looking at all you mummies planning b'day for #2 while I'm still counting down to the birth of #2...buay tahan leh. Tummy getting so big liao, very tiring man. Very tempting to start planning a birthday man. But siao to do it so soon. Cahr was Pooh, wondeirng if there's any cute cow cartoon character. Though I like care bears too.

Dor, your hair very long liao hor. I always keep until a few inches after bra line then cut super short. Now, my aim is same lenght bob so keeping my fringe long too. But think I'll look super ugly for my family shot in Apr since I've decided not to cut my hair for some time.

Carseats
========
Are we suppose to change the car seat for our kids once they hit 13-14kg?

coral,
not necessary unless Charlotte outgrown hers.
You can change the carseat to booster carseat only if the child is more than 100cm, and exceeded 14kg.

Jenny
Our toddler can sit booster seat? because i read only like 6 years then can sit.. kim refuse to sit car seat.. but she's over 14kg also..

Jenny
Ya.. considering union price still like that it's ex..
heee..
I wanted aloha but hor.. inconvenient so i changed and parking problematic also..

Adeline,
Age of 4. 100 cm and above. At least 14kg.
That's the minimal guideline.

I upgraded Jolene to booster seat when she turned 27 mths old (which is the same age as our toddlers now). Jolene has since been using the booster seat till now.
I upgraded cos Jolene didn't look comfortable in her carseat (her then carseat takes up to age 4; 18kg). And Jolene was tall then but not yet hit 100cm, about 98cm then, her leg hit the back of the seat. Plus I prefer her to sit on the 2nd row rather the 3rd row cos is more dangerous. When we used to have 2 carseats, we put 1 carseat at row 2 for Jaslyn and the other one at row 3, because we wanted to save hassle to remove the carseats when we need to drive other passengers. So I tried out the booster seat, and she looks comfortable, so use until now lor. But I'm not going to upgrade Jaslyn any sooner cos she's not like Jolene who will guai guai sits alone. Jaslyn needs to be buckle up!
It's NOT the weight or the height that decides if you want to upgrade. If the child can sit still in booster seat, definitely it saves a lot of space but think for the safety.

hi jenny,

thks for the info. also thought of buying booster seat for tricia liao, she's 15kg now but think she should be around 90cm++. so that tristan can use the car seat, save the hassle of putting another carseat.

Coral,
If you were to ask me, I will advise kids to stay in carseat until they outgrown.
Booster carseat is not as secure as carseat. Booster carseat is used to increase the height of the child, so that the belt will not "cut" into their necks. Hence is not as secure as carseat. If Charlotte is not fussy, try to let her be in carseat for as long as possible.
Jaslyn's carseat can used up to age 8. I will upgrade her to booster carseat when I think the right day comes, but definitely not any sooner. One point is, she is not as obedient as Jolene. I doubt Jaslyn will sit still in booster carseat. And since she is not complaining now, I won't do anything to upgrade her at least for these few mths. If possible, I will buckle her up to at least 3+ or even 4.

Oh yes, another reason why I upgraded Jolene. Her head already over the height of the carseat, hence she was very uncomfortable in it. Although she never complained, but I saw already, I buay ta han.

Gemini,
So you are using 2 carseats now?
I think wait for another 6 mths later, then you consider bah. I remember Tricia is on the tall side. At least wait till she is closed to 100cm or better still after 100cm.

A guideline on carseats can refer to this URL: http://www.sgcarmart.com/news/writeup.php?AID=44

Jenny
i wanted to get 2 car seat but hubby refuse.
so i tot get a booster seat. because 1 car seat already pack.. 2 car seat means cannot drive people and then hor.. kim keep screaming inside car seat.. cry until like want to murder people.. cause she nv sit car seat before. unlike kath now sit car seat better. so i tot i could upgrade kim to booster seat.

car seat
=======

i agree with jenny on upgrading the car seat to booster seat. with booster seat, the kid can easily remove the seat belt and it is not as secure. currently i have 2 car seats, a bit squeezy but when we need to ferry people then remove one and put in the boot. also once you change to booster seat, a bit hard to change back to car seat. so if you are ferrying the kid alone, be prepared that the kid may wriggle out of the booster seat, thats what happen to my grand niece.

Adeline,
It's like that for the beginning stage. You have to insist Kim to sit in the carseat no matter how hard she cries. After few times, she will accepts it. It's all abt safety. That's why I always encourage to start during infant time. When they grow up, the concept already into their minds, and they won't fuss.
Sometimes Jaslyn will plays small tricks, example taking her sweet time to go up to her carseat, or saying she wants to sit in jiejie's booster seat, or even worse when my mum is with us, she will wants to sit with my mum. But then we are clear with our stand, she knows it's useless, she has to go into her carseat.
I know it is really very packed with 2 carseats, but what to do? Better be careful than be sorry. I used to be sandwiched between 2 carseats in the old vios... imagine my size and imagine how squeezy that was, and I tahan for 4mths plus before our new (current) car arrived. I objected to have Jolene's carseat to be placed on the front passenger seat due to the airbag, plus front row always more dangerous. After Jaslyn turned 6mths old, I trained her to sit alone with Jolene and at times alone before we shifted Jolene's carseat to the 3rd row. She did fine. Anyway, sometimes when Jaslyn isn't with us, Jolene will sometimes request to sit in the carseat instead of booster seat. She wants to act "baby" hahaha...

BTW, my friend's 4 years old boy is still using his carseat hor. The carseat he is using is the same as the one that Jaslyn is using now. So for those who is thinking to upgrade, give it a thought first. Like what Shirley mentioned, the kid may wriggle out of the booster seat.

hi jenny,

got 1 carseat only. i got a baby carseat which is removable. but very seldom use. do not want to buy another carseat now cos as tricia quite tall, so she should outgrown car seat quite soon. cos now not much leg space for her legs when she's in carseat. but seeing shirley post on wriggling out of the booster seat, hesitating now, tricia will definitely do that.
that's 1 of the reason why we changed car also, got tell my hb i dun wan to squeeze in between 2 carseats in the old car also...

Gemini,
If you intend to upgrade Tricia, then pls ensure someone is sitting beside her and also do enforce the child lock is on all the time.
My case, I wanna ren till Jolene upgraded to booster seat, but my hb saw me very ke lian hahaha... so we changed. We were saying when the kids grow up to both using booster seat, maybe we can downgrade to small small car haha...

hi jenny,

already got child lock on the door where the carseat is. tricia know how to open the door liao.
what i'm afraid is when my husband is alone with her , she definitely "chu pattern".

Jenny
But kim is more stubborn type.. dunno she can accept of not..
but now buy another car seat dunno advisable or not leh.. hmm.. booster seat how come easier to take off?
the thing is not like car seat type?
i never seen before booster seat button.
Ya i agree start at infant stage betetr but we only gotten a car last oct.

hihi..saw you guys discussing about boosters and car seats. just my two cents worth...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y2LFo8vVi04&feature=related

of course this video could be a promo gimmick as many of youtubes videos are...but better safe than sorry.

if our tots are bigger size, can get the US imports carseats coz they are bigger. CY's carseat can sit up to more than 40kg and suitable for infant all the way to booster seat, just remove cushion part by part...

we are also driving a small car with two kids at the back. im just soo soo glad CH isnt like her brother who used to scream and wail all the way in his first car seat...

Gemini,
when there's child in car, it's good to have child lock on all the way. Safer mah, especially you dunno what kind of pattern they will suddenly give.

Adeline,
Try to sweet talk, coax, show Kim how Kathlyn guai guai sit in her carseat.
Bring some toys, biscuits whatever to keep Kim entertain during the journey.
Or play her favourite CD and get her to sing along while clapping her hands.
You have to link her mind once in car, she has to be in carseat. At home, link carseat to car bla bla. What my colleague did last time was (his daughter like Kim very stubborn, refused to be in carseat), he brought the carseat home. Play and pretend. Like pretend to drive, ask his daughter to "get into" the car, buckle up then he drive. "Reach" destination, then his daughter "get off" the car. Then he kept telling his gal. No carseat no gai gai etc.
Carseat is always advisable to have. I rather pay for the carseat than to be sorry. Even if you or yr hb may be a safe driver, it doesn't mean others are safe driver.
Try to get a carseat during sales to save some $, or any colleagues/friends have pass down ones (make sure no accidents before).
Booster seat is only a "seat" that helps to increase the height of a child. It is using the car seat belt for buckle, just like us adult. Not sure for kids cos unlike adults, they won't know how to react (adults dun even know how to react, let alone a child!).

lilboymum,
I saw one blog before, it's a boy who got killed w/o a proper 5 point harness carseat. It was really sad!
I think the current carseat that Jaslyn is using can use up to 45kg, if I remember correctly. Yes, like CY's one, can convert from infant to child then to booster seat. But hor, the booster seat super big. So when it comes to the day when Jaslyn is going to upgrade to booster seat, I will not convert this current carseat since I bought 2 booster seat earlier.

Jenny,
How did you squeeze between two carseats in your old car? Need to learn from you how to get in without having to remove either seat first. Cos Vios the back is more squeezy than a Sunny and I already cannot imagine how to do that with our Sunny. Very soon I am going to have a carseat and an infant carrier in the car. HELP!

It is either I squeeze with them, or put K in front and then when I am alone with hubby, he be my ahmad while I sit behind so that don't have to take K's carseat in and out! :p

Adeline,
Check out these 2 booster seats.
The one on the left is booster seat with cushion. Younger kids eg. age 4-6 use this cos more comfortable with cushion.
The one on the right is booster seat without cushion. For older kids eg. age 6-8 will use the one on the right. (Jolene is using this).
2143155.jpg

These booster seats are used for kids who no longer can fit into the child carseat. Check out the pic with the kids using them. Take note they are using the belt from the car for buckle. Booster seats unlike carseat which comes with 3 points or 5 points harness which can used to buckle the child. Booster seat can be removed easily cos they are used to put on the seat for kids to sit. Unlike carseat which you need to use the car seat belt to lock it.
2143156.jpg

Adeline,
Difference between carseat and booster seat.
Can you spot the difference?
I won't advise you to upgrade Kim to booster seat at this stage.
The last time (many mths ago), Jolene was measured more than 112cm with weight 17kg+. Not sure what's hers now, but this pic was taken last Dec.
2143161.jpg