(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Jenny,
yeah...those lock n lock really useless.
we use one small L&L to keep A's snacks. who know the lid opened up & the food all mess up our bag.

& the locks also easy to spoil.

pups,
hehe..me too. I went to cut & colour my hair at saloon during the new year eve & leave A takes his nap with his grandpa.
It's totally a luxury to shop without the little one. yday brought A to Robinson, i cant shop at all cos he kept run here & there.
At the end, hb ring him to Mcd & then i can shop for a while alone.
btw, teacher also comment that he like to roam ard at school. he even chiong to pools during water play. piangz...

pups,
Ya, I find lock n lock more ex and not air tight as compared to tupperware after some time and it spoils easily.
Jasmine is looking at the one I sent to you, she wants to use for FM storage.

hi pups,

so last yr, u will have seen the fireworks too...
last yr, i was at punggol, my view was blocked by other buildings, so can "hear" the fireworks @ punggol (punggol also got fireworks). this yr, was @ sengkang, so managed to catch it... the feeling very gd, can see "no blockage" firework without jostling with the crowd!

Jasmine,
The one on the page before what Jenny showed you. Comes in 8 pieces. Too many leh.

Gemini,
Your mum's place also can see unblocked view? Then she must be really close to me! The fireworks is right in front of my house. And I literally mean right in front.

Jasmine, I think Char takes about 1 month to finish 1.8kg. My Mum usually transfer to smaller container from the big tin.

Esther, I see. I usually buy from NTUC. And at times when no staock I'll buy the 900g from petrol kiosk near my place.

Pups, the ikea one that we saw is not single bed sitll considered toddler bed huh?

Gemini, I also wondering how to get Char to sleep on her own. My current plan is to carry her to her own bed after she fell asleep.To let her get use to sleeping alone and then slowly move her to her own room with no. 2 in time to come.

Dor, forget to add, for Char I also let her go to playgroup with Daddy, but it's still diff lor, cos she still has one of her care-taker with her.

Maid
====
Made the bold decision to not employ one. Shall cater tingkat for my family once no. 2 comes along. Anyway I'll start work only when he's 4-6mths old, so should be easier to handle liao. The plan is to rotate the caterer monthly/bi-monthly so everyone at home wont get sick of the food. ;P Hope this works cos I'm still reluctant to have a stranger at home.

Coral,
Are you refering to the one with 2 dog-like designs at the headboard? If yes, then it is toddler bed.

Talking about maid issue, I am surviving with a part-time cleaner and ta-pau food for meals. When K was younger, I will cook his meals. I will do the same for #2. We only had the part-time cleaner when K was about 19 months and can feel the sudden relief from housework. haha.. just have to take care of laundry.

hi pups,

my parents place still got a bit blocked view,but can see those fireworks high in the sky one, my parents block is next to Kangkar LRT stn. think should be 1 LRT stn away from you. well, for me considered good already, cos at punggol, i cant see any fireworks at all...

hi coral,

who will be taking care of your #2? i can only suggest play by the ear after you have delivered #2. then you will really have a real feel whether a maid is required. but currently, there's a maid shortage.
sometimes, we just have to bear with it and close 1 eye (sometimes 2 eyes) if we really have to employ one.

Jenny,
Yes. I was referring to the bed you posted. Haha.

Gemini,
Oh, ok. Ya, one stop away from me. I am facing the field where they release the fire works from.

hi pups,

yours is those red brick bldg? it was one of ours initial flat selection too, but was left with those low level ones. actually my new place was supposed to be those new blks next to the temple one but as the contractor went bust, so i was given the chance to re-select again.

pups,
if you are getting that 600ml set, can I buy 1 pc from you. I dun need so small ones at home.
hey, I survive like you, but now i get my pt cleaner to come in once a fortnightly. Not much for her to do except cleaning the windows, wipe the furniture, wash toilets and mopping. The rest I do myself.

Jenny,
No problem. I only need about 4 at most actually. Lets wait for Jasmine to see if she needs. When are you ordering?

Once a fortnight enough ah? Don't need to vacuum and mop weekly?

Gemini,
This is the white colour bed.
The design at the headboard is another design.
2037608.jpg

Wooden single size bed
My experience is, if you want to get a solid wooden bed (the normal single size bed not toddler bed), best to buy from furniture shop. IKEA ones not very solid and can't use for long term. The price is about there, between $80 to $120.

hi pups,

haha... think i got you confused. what i mean by red bricks, is more for the color red. i always refer them as the red bricks block (blk 158 something)...
opposite temple? so your blk is 15XX or 14XX?

pups,
I use magic cleaner to mop every few days. Then Sat I mop myself. If the particular sat the pt cleaner is coming, I just leave the mopping to her lor. Basically, pt cleaner comes in to do the major cleaning eg those that need to clean like once a fortnight or once a mth lor.
She used to come every sat then I dun have much for her to. She cleans my windows every sat, keep repeating the same routine lor. I just need her to clean windows, furniture, wash toilets and mopping. The rest I do myself lor.

pups,
same as Jenny, can i get 1pcs from you cos i am getting the other set to store FM & do not need so many 600ml one.

pups,
I've submitted my order but I told the person who is doing the order, to hold first. She said she will order next week but i dunno when. So, try to let me know soon.

hi jenny,

i know. that why i seldom buy ikea furniture. they cant be used long term. that why if we buying the ikea bed, it's for short term as we cant squeeze it another single adult bed in our master bedroom.

Maid
====

Yap, like Gemini said maybe aft bb is out I'll think otherwise. But at the moment the plan is my Mum will take care of both bbs after I start work. I plan to take unpaid leave till bb is 6-8mths old, if company allow. By then Char should be 3+yr and in pre-N. And bb also easier to care for. And I'll cater food for the entire family. So my Mum not so tired and my dad come home from work at 3-4pm daily, so my Mum only need to juggle both kids from 11am-3+pm daily, 4hrs+, hopefully manageable.

As for my home, we have a part-time maid who comes by every weekend even b4 we had any kid. Like Jenny, I only get the maid to clean toilets, sliding doors, sweep and mop floor. I'll take care of laundry, ironing and cooking of the meals for Char and adult on wkends.

Bed
====
Jenny, I see. Maybe I should really check out the neighbourhood shop for single beds, cos I see no point in getting toddler bed as the bedsheet also different size, troublesome. Just now you mention you bought something you really like, can share the link? Thank you.

Gemini,
Oh... haha. Then yes, I am at the red bricks one :p

Jasmine,
No problem.

Jenny,
If that is the case then you order for me one set first lah. I will see if any other mummies need it. If not just keep for my own use. Thanks! Email me details of how to pay you.

For the Ikea bed, the first toddler one you put up also comes in white and blue frames. I think Gemini was referring to that one.

Haiz hectic day.
Kim has HFMD. no ulcer on hand and foot but alot ulcer in the back of her throat =( then fever on and off..
Gosh so cranky...!

pups,

Adeline,
oo...my! what's a start for new year.
Hope she is fine. maybe give her more cool drink to release her pain.
You take care too..

Gemini,
Actually all along, I never like to buy IKEA furniture, except the gals' beds and the toddler table and chair, you know the mammut range? Very nice to use and quite lasting. I wanna to get the toddler mammut bed but the price puts me off.
I dun expect the gals' beds can used for long, but then after I bought a wooden wood to place below for better support, my mum said the bed is very strong. My mum came over to my place to stayover and she slept in it. She commented very good.
My mum bought a queen size wooden bed from IKEA last year, used last than 6mths, the wood started to "peel" at the sides. Very dangerous lor and Jolene got a cut. So we dismantled and threw away.
Oh you are buying a toddler bed to place in yr room? I tot is for Tricia's room. In that case, forget abt it lah, use mattress lah.

coral,
I think yr plan works fine. Especially when #2 arrives, Charlotte is abt age 2.5. And you are planning for unpaid leave.
Oh I'm referring to tupperware set haha..
I've posted my gals' beds last week. Here is it.
2037793.jpg

After what you gals were "talking", phew, lucky I didn't get toddlers beds, I never think for the mattress, bedsheet etc.

pups,
ok, will order tat 600ml set for you.
I wait for the "person" to tell me how much cos still got delivery charge, but dunno share by how many ppl.

Adeline,
oh dear, I think the ulcer will be appearing later bah? Hope is not serious case.

hi adeline,

oh dear, i thought normally the ulcer will appear on the hands and legs first? if possible, try to separate kath from her...

hi jenny,

haha... i also have the toddler table and chair, quite lasting as i have sat on the chair while pregnant with #2. can tahan my weight...

Coral
Wor Char so fierce will run to beat ppl ah. Chilli padi also hor.....hehe
D will push or beat any kid who he thinks step into his territory.

pups
Same here. Luckily I only put lip balm or lipgloss when I go out so when he ask for them I will put lipbalm for him. But he also asked for nail polish when he sees me apply....hehehe

I'm actually still a little concern about D's development. Speech wise I think still okie but he doesn't really seem to pickup so fast in the skills department. Oh yes n colors, I'm wondering if he's color blind cos he can't recognise colors till now. At 1 stage he knows Pink but now, everything is blue.

All your little ones know color n shapes already?

Jasmine
Speech wise D will copy n learn very fast. But sometimes will still not be able to understand 1. Keep asking him he will repeat but catch no ball. Either too cheem for me or wat.....hahaha

Jenny
Can email to me the tupperware 1 too??
Me fan also, trying not to buy but u all picked my interest......haha

Adeline,
Oh dear. I hope Kim recovers fast!

Dor,
K is very slow in his motor-skills development. There are things I see kids much younger than him can do but he can't. Anyway, he should catch up eventually.

K also went through a stage where his default colour is blue... but not sure if this is the case with Damien.

Jenny, I see. Will check out neighbourhood store first. Cos Ikea the cheap ones not good quality, the good quality ones definitely more ex than neighbourhood.

Dor, Char surprise me lor cos at times she so frighten of stranger, but at times she can run up to strangers and hit them. Or if she see pple in lift she'll say beat aunty and pple though she's greeting them will still say she guai and she'll keep repeating until pple understand her. Damn malu!!

Identity Crisis
===============
Char is at this stage whereby she keep wanting to be boy. But when reminded that boy can't put nailpolish and make-up or wear heels and take handbag she'll say she want to be gal. And at times she'll be mumbling to herself boy can't put mail polish or wear heels. Wondering if it's bocs I'm having a boy so she also want to be boy. Whenever we say she's good gal she'll correct us and say good boy. Identity crisis?

xbox 360
========
Decide to buy this for Hb's bday, hope I wont regret my decision. Cos I'll definitely need the extra help when no. 2 comes along.

hi dor,

tricia do know about shapes (the basic ones, square, circle, triangle & star) but not so much on color, so whenever there's a chance, will tell her like it's a blue car etc. but recently she knows red cos we been reading "Little Red Riding Hood" story to her!

Dor,
A do know abt shapes (the basic one), for colour, his favourite is YELLOW, red, blue..others he just HMMMM...which mean he dun know how to pronounce. haha...

Jenny/gemini,
I so much wanted to buy Ikea toddlers table & chair set, but i cant due to already bought a wooden set earlier.

Gemini,
Not necessary for ulcer to appear on hands and legs first.
Yes! Can tahan weight hor hiak hiak hiak hahahaha....

Doreen,
You seems so anxious with Damien's development. Dun worry.
Jolene only knows her colours after she attended PreN. Damien is only age 2 now. Dun stress him lah. He is definately not slow ok. Jaslyn knows nothing abt all these, she only knows how to PLAY AND SLEEP hahahaa... Erm talking abt shapes, I dunno if Jolene knows or not... See, lazy mummy she has hor?
Ok, I email you liao. We din sia you hor, is your eyes sia yourself hahaha..

Jasmine,
Oh, you wasted... I find the IKEA mammut range very useful and good especially tat stool.

this time is worse.. she cant sleep n keep wanting to scratch her throat so keep placing fingers inside.. then cry n tell me head pain.. throat pain n keep crying. seems so helpless.

Jenny
Cos I whole day with him ma so everything I teach 1. Then some things he pickup very fast some things not.
Esp colors leh at 1st seem like he know abit abit. Then now like still dunno leh.

Numbers taught at the same time but now he can count very well n even can recognise some numbers already. But colors still nothing lor.
Dun want to stress but sometimes think think liao still abit worried lor.

Cos if he really needs a bit of help I hope I can do it faster ma dun want to shortchange him. Plus nw have Ember liao I can see that E is very fast her development. Now at 5+mths she already on her fours shaking shaking liao, so should be crawling soon. Damien didn't even crawl n his turning n development not as advance as E last time. I dun want D to feel inferior to meimei next time.
I know I abit KS lah but wat to do.....haha
I have too much time to 'think' ma...hehehe

Dor
so qiao. today i just ask dr about kim's development in color.
Dr say dun need worry because color comes at age of 3!.. initially my hubby is worried that kim doesnt know color too.

Adeline
Oh good thanx!!
hehehe. Cos yest we were teaching D colors again until want to vomit blood still everything we ask turns BLUE again.....sigh
Until I ask hubby if D might be color blind, that's why he cannot tell colors...wahahaha

pups, Jasmine,
I submitted the order for tupperware liao.

doreen,
usually #2 development is faster than #1 and hor, you can't compare boy with gal. Gal's development during infant time is really much much faster.
Just like Jaslyn, her development no matter in speech or motor skills are much faster than Jolene. When Jolene was at this age of Jaslyn, she's only starting to bubble some words. But Jaslyn already speaking in sentences.

Jenny,
hahaha...you so cute. ask Jaslyn to demonstrate how to go up & down the bed.
thanks for submitting the order.
ya lol..tat time bought salah I M toys highchair which can convert to toddler table set one., then wanted to sell away, but nobody want. so, decided just use it lol.

Dor,
dun worry lal.
A till now still cant speak in sentences ye & he is those quiet type.
everytime i brought him to see PD when he sick, all doc also ask me 'Can he talk?' Then i ask my PD why she ask me tat, she told me cos A abit hyperactive & din see him talk much. so she concern.

dor dor (teddyhope),
boys and girls development are diff, cannot compare like that. My girl start to flip at 4mths old and start to sit by herself at 6mths old.
wheras my son very slow, almost 6mths old liao still do not know how to flip leh. ur #2 very fast leh already on fours. think i have to wait till 7mths then he will flip.

Jenny,
Thanks for getting your little model to demonstrate! Haha... But hor, K is not as steady as Jaslyn leh. Like I mentioned, his motor skills is really lacking. He will crawl on all fours up the bed and then to get down, he will legs and backside down first. Still very baby way of moving :p But thanks for showing the height of the bed!

Dor,
K can tell quite a lot of colours and shapes. I guess we also talk to him a lot and my dad got this book from Popular for him. It is a very cheap board book, I think not more than $5, and it shows all the colours on different pages. The colour part is in a cut-out and there is a piece of shiny paper in place of that part. This series of book has many titles like Colours, Shapes, On Safari, In the Jungle, etc. He has been exposed to this book since quite young, I think it helped somewhat. Sorry... the book not in my house now so cannot take a photo for you to see.

pups,
I'm letting Em start with music class at Seimpi Music School, the same one that J has been attending since 2 yrs old.

I really find that in terms development and character, K is very much like J. The things that K does and says and his behaviour is just like J when he was the same age. J's fine motor skills are also not as good but in terms of speech development, he is considered advance for boys, just like K.

Em loves to watch me put on makeup in the morning also. And she insists on applying it and i always pretend using my other clean finger or brushes. Now she knows the steps and tells me what to put, foundation, powder, blusher. LOL!
There was once she asked me to draw her brows, so i pretended to draw on one side just to humour her but this girl told me must draw on the other side also. sigh... any makeup junkie in the making :p

DEVELOPMENT
I cannot stress enough that each child is different. But I find that in terms of speech development, it helps for the 2nd child cos he/she picks up a lot from the elder sibling.

Dor, for a while, I was also telling Vivian that I wonder if Em is colour blind cos everything is red to her. haha! Now she knows colours, shapes (she put 2 triangles together and told me diamond), and recognises letters. She can't recognise numbers yet except maybe 1-3. Counting 1-10 she can cos she plays hide and seek with J all the time. All these she learns from tv, gor gor or books. She parrots her brother all the time and the bad thing is that she picks up all the bad stuff from him too.

But as parents, we are always concerned about our kids development. While I'm not worried about Em's learning and speech development, I'm worried about her social development cos she's quite timid when she is outside (while she's a chilli padi at home). So my point is that, we are bound to have something to worry about. haha!

Jasmine,
erm I dunno how to show in pics leh, video is the best haha...
Oh, though I've this canetour high chair which can convert to toddler table set hor, I find it too small. So I went to buy the IKEA mammut range lor, the round table and the stools. I gave the chair to my aunt cos I find the back support a bit shaky, more suitable for older kids to use.

pups,
For a start, I actually placed a mattress below, in case Jaslyn fell. Practise makes perfect, she has been using the bed since 18mths old mah.

Huijun,
Is Ruifang attending any PG or sch or childcare? Or by any chance she will attend the same sch as Jaslyn??? **wink wink**

Jenny,
at first i want to register the same school as Jaslyn, but 3hrs too short liao cos very tax on my mum so she is attending childcare now. Already been two mths. she loves her school but I am not sure if i want to continue cos she carry germs home lor. My #2 just recovered from chicken pox, very poor thing.

Jenny,
She is attending the childcare at west coast. I do not like the one u mention, my sister told me that school not very good.

HJ
I know cannot compare but.....think I think alot of things. I even worry Ember next time taller then Damien....hahaha
Plus my girl like quite fast lor everytime we will be like. "Wah she can do this liao she can do that liao". N her back is quite strong she can sit on her own for abit liao can move her body up n bend down jus that will slant to sides after awhile. That's why I abit ganchiong cos I know she next time will learn even faster from her korkor.
My inlaw side abit ummmm ...."boliao" you never know what insensitive remark they will make infront of damien so I dun want him to feel bad lor. Cos he still abit sensitive.

Hope your boy recover fast fast.

pups
Oh is it....thanx
I go popular to see. Actually D has the Eric carle small library so got colors n shape. But he dun seem interested. He always seem to learn 1 then forget all about it. (dun seem to so easily forget to say "stupid" though)
D goes up n down the bed same way as K...haha

bbgrace
So cute play hide n seek.
Damien recognised number on his own cos I only taught him to count 1-10. Then we realise he recognise some numbers esp 7.......hehehe
Cos he likes to go 7 eleven to buy ice cream!!.....hahahhaa
I'm hoping his playgroup can help with the socialising part cos he like to imitate n follow those korkor n jiejie he sees outside.
Yah agree always have something to worry. Doesn't help that I always think too much...hehe

bbgrace,
Ya, the more you mention Josh, the more I think K is quite like him. Talking about numbers, K loves numbers and can recite all the way to 100 IF you help him. Otherwise, he will go 28, 29, twenty-ten! Haha. The same goes for the rest, like 38, 39, thirty-ten! I think he recognises the pattern.

Jenny,
We were at Ikea earlier and when I stand K next to the bed you have, I realise that K is a lot shorter than Jaslyn. His butt is still too low and there is no way for him to push himself up the way Jaslyn did! Haha. Sigh, I really hope he gets his daddy's tall genes and not my shortie ones.

Dor,
Just try other books to see if it helps. Different kids prefer different books. It may also be he is just not ready yet, but he will definitely be one day
Don't use that word on children lah! Maybe D just mi mi lian gong and will surprise you one day by telling you all the colours in a rainbow!

Huijun,
That is one thing I am afraid of when I send K to childcare and we have a baby coming. I am quite scared he will bring back all sorts of bugs.