(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Coral/dor,
hehe..me also planning to kick Alvis out of our bed when we got our new place next year.

but i think must slowly do it. maybe place a mattress beside our bed for him to sleep 1st before move him to his own room.
dor, you mean 4 of you sleep on a bed. can huh?

my little boy grow up liao,

coral,
That is not a crazy idea. In fact, is good! But provided ILs and parents can get along well, and most impt, they don't get involve when we, as parents are doing the discipline. It certainly saves us a lot of time doing traveling, and having a good relationship with them. But then, it's kinda hard.

For me, I never wanna think of this idea. My parents will faint if they ever stay with my IL. Different mindset, different background etc...

Anyway, for mummies who are thinking to move your kids to their own rooms, if have #2, you can wait till #2 is older, before moving both. It will be much easier cos they have each other for company. At least, it worked for me.
For those w/o #2, you have to do it slowly. Night security sense is very sensitive to these little ones. They feel insecure w/o us.

coral
i think the best scenario is to stay next door but not in the same house. In this case, its near yet not too near. My wish is to buy terrence house side by side. haha i am still dreaming!

Jasmine
wow A such big boy! is that his school uniform?

Sleeping arrangement
Both kiddos have been sleeping alone since young but recently zac just managed to climb out of his cot at my parents place and ever since he will wake up crying in the morning. i am going to migrate him to the mattress soon next week when i am on leave so that i can train him to sleep on the mattress. Wow i am going to start a training camp for zac, need to train him to sleep mattress plus potty train haha

Year end pary
=============
If you ladies dont mind, i can always open up my house for an year end party. 27 or 28 December both i am ok. If not we can go botanical garden where the kiddos can run and exhaust themselves.

Shirley,
You know, my mum said never stays beside each other haha... She said stay a blk away (for flats) or a street (for your case - terrace house). If not wait quarrel, all faces black black haha.. OK lah, for me I think as long as within the neighborhood, it saves a lot of traveling time and each family has its own privacy keke..
I thought Issac is sleeping in bed? Actually I'm quite surprised to know that some of our toddlers are still sleeping in cot. Jaslyn has been sleeping in bed since 17-18mths old. The cot is too short and too small for her. Can hear her knocking against the cot dunno how many times a night. Jolene even worse, dunno how many mths old haha.. she simply refused to go into cot since infant time.

Coral,
Actually I have a colleague who is doing that. His ils and parents stay with them and their two kids. It is a perfect arrangement for him apparently and he says everyone can get along (other than his mil complains about the maid quite a bit :p)

Jasmine,
Wah, really big boy liao! He looks like in primary school. Haha. Kaelen is finally starting to cry in school these few days. This morning it started the moment we dropped him off. The teacher had to tear him away from hubby and we had to just harden our hearts and leave. Called the school later and the principal said he did settle down within 10 mins. sigh... lets hope this will not go on for too long. With the long holiday next week, I really cannot imagine how when go back to school on the 29th.

Jenny,
Depends on what type of cot. You got the small one is it? The one we have is a convertible to toddler bed type, which means the length is still long enough and definitely not so small until can hear knocks and so on lah. We converted the cot into a bed at around 18 months I think. We prefer toddler bed cos the height is still low enough for the child to climb up and down on his own safely.

hi pups,

that's gd for your colleague. Same as <font color="0000ff">jenny</font>, if ask my mum to stay with my MIL, i think she faint, she rather stay at her own house.
oh, K has finally realised that he's in school, tricia also about 3-4 days after starting school, started crying... *sigh*, come jan, hopefully, do not have another round of crying again.

hi coral,

actually i was also telling my hb, why not shift in with my parents, then our own place rent out, then pay my parents a small token of rental fee. hehee...
cos every nite, we go over my parents place for dinner and then pick up my kids, though distance not v far (sengkang to punggol) but i'm v lazy liao. furthermore, my dad will have a talking companion which is my hb. stay few days still can lah, but i think if long term, my dad may not like the idea...

Gemini,
Yah, this boy has delayed reaction. The principal was telling me that most kids will start crying on day 4. This boy took more than a week... which also means the crying spell may last longer! May not be so bad for Tricia cos it is not the first time she will be away from people she is familiar with.

jenny

zac's cot is quite big, similar to pup, those which can convert to toddler bed. but we lost the screws so cant convert so he still sleep in his cot. actually zac only sleep in one corner of his cot so doesnt need a big one. he will curl up in one corner and sometime in the dark i cant find him amongst all his stuff toys.

pups,
My cot not small. It can also convert into toddler bed. Told my ex-colleagues to buy that particular model cos we want one that can be converted to toddler bed. But then after we decided to go for #2, decided not to convert and we used it for Jaslyn. And since we have 2 kids, I want the beds to be the same (cos the gals share a room). It will looks odd with 2 bed designs. Anyway, the beds that the gals are sleeping on now, are adults' single bed (from IKEA), are very low. I just used a bed rail on one of the sides, since the other 3 sides got frames. I find the pic to show you. I always tell crystallized that my gals have "super big cot".
Not necessary kids will start crying on day 4th. My colleague's son started to cry after a month in sch!

Gemini,
I told my hb the same thing! The house like hotel, go back sleep only. So, now we cut down staying over at my mum place haha..

Shirley,
hahaha... you describe till very funny leh.

Sleeping
Kim and kath sleep with each other on my bed.
MY room have 1 queen and 1 super single bed. and we place near wall + 1 sofa.. so they wont fall off bed.
Kim cant sleep without me by her side. if i nv go home early at night, she stay up late also.

I am very impress by kim lor.
She can differentiate note and coins as money, she put in power supply for laptop, open the laptop and power on it.
She know what is watch..
And today when i dressing up, i wore a dress shimmering one. she came over and tell me 'wah mommy niceeeeee. kimberly wear..' then she take off her own clothes! i got a shock ahhh..
And everyday at home, she wear platform shoe, necklace, watch with a shawl.. from day to night .. oh my god.. she is indeed a vain pot!

Jenny,
Oh... you got the day bed. We wanted to get the kids bed from Ikea but we were not happy with the quality of the mattress they have in their selection. For growing up kids, we prefer better mattress... so in that sense, cannot get their beds cos their sizes are one of a kind.

pups,
yup, we got the day bed instead of the toddler beds, if not got to change again. Some more toddler beds not cheap lor.
Erm, I didn't get the mattress from IKEA. I only bought the bed frame from IKEA. For mattress, I bought from seahorse, much firmer and better quality. And also went to those neighborhood furniture shop to buy a wooden support to place below the mattress. What's the thingy called? Slipped off my mind. My mum taught me to have a lasting mattress, must put this support below.

Jenny,
both J 's bed really looks like cot &amp; it's low enough for them to get up &amp; down. how much you bought this?

pups,
Kealen also finally cry huh?

On monday i did check with the teacher, she told me A did cry when he rememebr something when he just join. now no more crying. and he has good appetite &amp; din picky abt food.

But he only cry when we want to change him into his uniform. headache.

the school even has christmas arty on the coming week. first time has to prepare food for little kids. hehe..

Long holiday? Kealen not going to school on 26th?

Shirley,
yeah..it's his uniform. but i already ask moderator to remove the pic cos dun think it's nice to post the pic.

Jasmine,
I got it at a cheaper price. IKEA is now selling at $168 per bed.
It happened I wanted to get this bed and I actually took leave to go on weekday with hb cos we didn't want to bring the gals along.
2 days before we went, I received IKEA brochure about their member sales, which happened to be the day we took leave (hahaha... what's there to wait?!). I got 2 beds at $198 only (1 for $99). Only the bed frame hor and exclude assembly and delivery. Anyway, the delivery and assembly were fulled for the entire week, so we actually carried back ourselves and did the assembly lor. I wanted to be done within the day cos I already got movers to move the gals' queen size bed to my mum's place. Didn't want them to sleep on mattress for the weekend mah. After that, I bought the mattress and the support for the 2 beds, which worked out to be less than $500.

oh ya, I wanna ask who is going Isetan Private Sale. Crystallized or Esther going? Isetan got sell crayola markers? Cos I need to get some.

Jenny,
wow...you got the bed so cheap!
okie..since talking abt bed, check with you. i m thinking when we move, i wanted to place a single mattress next to our bed for A to sleep. If i choose a good quality &amp; thick mattress will do right? what i concern is abt the 湿气。

I might going Isetan Private Sale with my SILs. no too sure Isetan got sell crayola markers or not.

btw, i'm going to bring A to see chinese sinseh for his coughing. he kept coughing on and off recently.
quite sad to see him cry during middle of night.

Jasmine,
From the sinseh's point of view, I think they dun encourage kids to sleep on mattress placed on floor. The 2 Sinsehs that I seen, both have the same views. They mentioned no matter how thick the mattress is, the 湿气 is still there, cos the mattress touches the floor etc.. From Feng Shui's point of view, they also dun encourage, one of the reasons is health also.
But then, I think this is up to individual to decide which works the best. My hb's colleague bought another queen size bed to place in the master bedroom. He told me his master bedroom has no walk space, cos for safety reason, they scare their boy falls off bed, so they put 2 queen size beds side by side. They plan for 2nd child. That means now, 3 of them sleep in the same room, when #2 arrives, will be 4 of them sharing 2 queen size beds.
Erm.. talk so much hor, my own "bed", I placed my king size bed on floor, but I made a false platform about 2inch up the floor, to create a fake platform bed. That time I design this way cos I think this is lessen the chances of dust getting into the bed.

Jasmine
I'm def gg to their sales! i nvr MISS! hahaha alrdy took leave last mth when Starz confirmed the sales date wif me. This sale will def b crazy coz its Dec, many ppl on leave n ppl get bonus. bbgrace was there last yr... the snaking Q to get in is horrible... BUT i will still go ahead... gg to reserve clothings on Tues then juz collect on Fri. hehehee

Jenny,
ic..so, no matter how thick the mattress, the 湿气 is still there, cos the mattress touches the floor.
2 queen size bed? impossible for those new flat cos even the master bedroom also very small liao.

Crystallized,
yeah..i know you definitely will go since you also went the previous one after you came back frm HKG hor?

actually what you bought during private sales huh? clothes? household stuffs?
can reserve arr? I never go b4, tot follow SILs since we can send A to his cc 1st. haha...

crystallized,
Can check if got crayola markers? Can tompang you to buy if got?

Jasmine,
My hb's colleague stays queenstown. The new flats there, the room area are super small and the layout weird weird de. Can put, but then after putting hor, no walk space lor, like what he told me lor.

Jasmine,
realised I typed "bed" in my earlier post =P Sorry is mattress. I dun have a bed for master bedroom. I just leave my mattress on the floor, but created a fake 2" platform to prevent dust.

Jasmine
i buy all sorts of nonsense! hahaha usually its clothings 4 R, household stuff, pots/kettles/cutleries etc... items i buy not fixed. last time its usually my own clothings/bras/shoes. but every since R came, its usually more on him lor.
this time round i am buying new yr clothings 4 myself &amp; R. i try to avoid household section coz if i go in, i'll lose ctrl of myself!
so u'll b gg this time?

Jenny
I'm not sure got crayola markers anot leh. i am prob gg there next tues to reserve my things. pls remind me on tues am to check 4 u hor.

hi jasmine,

tricia is sleeping on the mattress on the floor. before tristan came along, she sleeping with us in the master bedroom which only got space for a mattress and not bed. we buy those middle range adult mattress, on the below, we put another mattress (those thin type) to minimise the "si qi". but lucky thing, my floor is parquet, so still not that bad. we also thought of letting tricia sleeping on the super single bed in another bedroom but really afraid that she will roll off, cos she can sleep 360 degress one. furthermore, she want daddy to sleep with her, if she wake up middle of the nite, find no daddy, she cry.

mummies check with u...

tricia has been saying stomach pain pain since yesterday and she poo thrice yesterday. we look at the poo, got alot of veggies (already in small small pics). today she has poo twice already. but her poo is not watery.
my mum feel her stomach and say that she can feel got wind in her stomach.
how? should i bring her to doc? she has just recovered from stomach flu 2 wks ago and only gone back CC on wed. i really afraid she kena another round of stomach flu.

Jenny,
when i told hb abt the idea of putting single mattress in the master bedroom, he already told me where got space. can image your hb collegue who place 2 queen bed.
Can let me know once you recall the wooden support the place below the mattress?

crystallized,
hahaha...all sorts of nonsense huh? this always happen to all during sales lal.
i thot of going but bo leave lel.
btw, have you buy Clark shoe for R before? want to check it out during sales.

Gemini,
my floor also parquet.

A also can sleep 360 degreess. sometimes in the middle of the night, found his leg on top of my face!!
I think hor, super single bed not enough for them.

Gemini, my boys kena stomach flu one after another. I did ask Dr Tan and she said after recovery will be immune to it, not sure if it's for how long though. Did you put ru yi oil for her?

Jasmine &amp; Jenny, are u both talking abt plywood?

hi jlyn,

u appear again. jus now was still thinking of sms u, asking u how the 2 boys at the new CC (u got before post that they are changing to new CC).
oh, is it? will be immune to stomach flu one? yah, from birth till today, we still got put ru yi oil for her. if forgotten, she will still tell us one...

hi jasmine,

yalor, my mum was saying how come both my kids so "pai ku" (read in hokkien)

Jenny
Sigh......my dad kanna retrenched lor. N at his age now how to find job at this time somemore. Worse thing is he jus joined this com so he doesn't get any payment.

The dicipline is the 1 I headache lor. Cos when D is with them I close 2 eyes 1 lor cos they allow him everything n keep opening sweets for him to eat 1. Plus they say I am too strict with D kind so I really praying hard will have miracle...

Jasmine
hehe I also think its not possible before Ember was born. But...we did lor.....hahaha
I jus have to push the bbcot to stick to my side of the bed everynight. As a safety precaution as well as easy for me to carry Ember out for feed. But when I'm lazy normally Ember will sleep in my arms lah....hehe

Coral
U very wei da leh still wanna get SOOOO big hse for all to live in.

Shirley
My ex lecturer's hse has a basement that is like a 3 rm flat except for a kitchen. Which I think is VERY good. His parents n brother stay there n his own family stay above. Nice hor.

Year end party count me in!!

Adeline
Wah KIm at home modeling aah??...hehe
She wear ur shoe n stuff around at home aah so cute. D only ask for watch when he see my hubby wear. N he want to put perfume......hahaha
When go out he will tell u he want 'psst psst'....hehehe

Jasmine,
26th is a school holiday for the centre. The school has 5.5 days of stipulated holiday in a year, meant for teachers to do planning etc.

Jlyn,
Immune to stomach flu? I thought it depends on if it is the same virus strain or not? Different strain how to be immune?

Jenny,
Depend on layout of the flat leh... mine is a 110sqm flat but my master bedroom very spacious. Before building out wardrobe to codorn off a "sleep area", we could have put 2 king-sized mattress side by side and still have space for wardrobes to be placed along the wall leh. But of course, my kitchen and toilets are very small. Still, we like the big bedroom :p

crystallized,
if i remember on tues, will sms you. Thanks in advance.

Gemini,
try applying ru yi you, if not get the malay oil (forgot the name, <font color="0000ff">Jlyn</font>, you remember the name?), try to massage her tummy area more often, give warm water rather than normal temp water.

Jasmine, Jlyn,
I dunno wat wood, dun think is plywood??

Jasmine,
It's a big pc of wood. If you go to neigborhood furniture shop to ask, they will know. It gives extra support to bed frame, and bed frame will be in good condition for many years. It costs about $80 to $100 per pc.

Doreen,
I see. Ya, I think for you, you will have headache with your dad.

pups,
Queenstown new flats, the layout very weird one. Suddenly got a weird corner/shape. So, same 110sqm area, it tends to be smaller compare with yr area. Imagine ppl there need to walk past the master bedroom to get to the common toilet, weird isn't it? Some 110sqm flat looks big, some small, all depends on the layout lor.

Jasmine
yes, i bot clarks shoes for R before. i like the design v much. In fact i got a pair for him during this yr's CNY. U saw the isetan mailer? The brown one tt will b on sale this time is the pair tt i bot 4 him. UP $58, tt time i got it at 20% off. so this time its selling at $39. Its a bargain! I might get another pair for him coz he has outgrown the current pair. Some of the relatives tt saw him wearing the shoes during CNY told my hb the pair seems v comfy... then when my hb told them the price, they were shocked!

Gemini
A few wks ago, R started to tell us his stomach pain pain. I was v puzzled n din know wat to do except rubbing ru yi oil n give warm water. Then lately my mum realised tt if R has too full a meal, he'll complain of tummyache later. but if he only eats 80%, he'll b alright. not sure if Tricia is like tt. The thing is R dun poo though he complains of tummyache. Or perhaps relook at her diet? Too much veggies will cause mild diarrhoea.

Jenny
No trouble lah. Juz remind me.
i shld b there ard lunch hr. on leave tt day.

ISETAN SALE
Sadly, I can't chiong there first thing in the morning cos Joshua has got orientation at his new school. Will go in the afternoon. By the time i get there, it would be a war zone already

VITACOST
For those who have not collected your stuff, pls sms me for collection.

bbgrace
nothing much for coupon buys this time round for myself so no rush for me actually. i'm on a few days leave this wk so can go isetan early to reserve my items 1st. so tt day hopefully no need to spend too much time there.

<font color="0000ff">SG Flyer Tix</font>
I've got 3 tix to SG Flyer @ $16/tix. My hb bought extras and we din realised it until yesterday. Expires 31 Dec 08, valid for all flights from 8.30am-6pm INCLUDING WEEKENDS &amp; PH. Child under 3 is free. If anyone is keen, pls sms me if u hv my contact number as i cant check PM from work. Thks.

HI jRt

I also have the same tics... went to the Flyer last Sat..nothing interesting but its an experience hee.

babygrace
I havent collected my stuff.. I have PM you my Hp number.. if not you can email me at [email protected] so that I can arrange to collect and make payment of the stuff. Thanks so much for coordinating.

Jenny
I saw the pic of beds you for the kids.. quite nice.. how much u paid?

Shirley
Year end party.. count me in too!

Jenny, I think my parents would not like to stay wiht my ILs too. They do get along, but my dad ultra gui1 mao2 so he would not want to stay with others, so it'll prob be ILs and us if it ever materialise.

Dor, I'm not wei da, it's actually selfish, cos I'm tryign to do this for my kids of course at the same time it prob would make my ILs happy...

Think I'll try to "wean" Char off my bed after no. 2 can sleep with her.

Isetan Sale
============
Very very sad, hb exchanged for $300 worth of Isetan vouchers for me from his credit card and I just can't remember where I left/keep it. Hb and I on leave this Fri, actually can cheong Isetan Sale but now I totally no modd after loosing the vouchers. But I'll still be in Orc for spa and facial so may still pop by if the crowd is not too crazy. I'll continue to search these few days. Wish me luck.

Kareen,
I bought the bed frame at discounted price during IKEA member sales. $99 per bed frame exclude mattress. Original price as stated in IKEA website, $169.

Coral,
I think on and off meet is ok, but staying together under one roof is hard.
Hope you find your voucher, then can go shopping. I think this Fri many ppl on leave, shopping malls will be crowded. Me going on a week leave but going to siam the shopping malls.

Jenny, I think so. Need to close our eyes when staying together which is more difficult for older folks who already have their own hard to kick habits. I'm clearing Fridays off this month and the 31. Will prob siam shopping malls unless I find the vouchers then go buy some bb stuff, if not it'll be movie and quality time with Cahr at the pool or parks.
Enjoy your holidays!

Kareen
Agreed that its nothing fantastic but a gd experience. R enjoyed the ride v much and kept asking for it when we left. He and my niece had a great time running/jumping inside the cabin. I was so busy looking aft them/taking photos tt i did not really enjoy the ride.

hi jenny/jRt,

thks. after every bath or body wipe, will put ru yi oil for her...
*haiz*, tricia is down with a cold and cough now, brought her to the PD and she mentioned that maybe she has phlegm and as she still dont know how to spit it down, it was swallowed into the stomach, so may cause more pooing.

Merry Christmas to all of your and your little ones too.

Enjoy your christmas party!

I will stuck in office for whole day.

Jenny,
no more leave.

talking abt liang teh. Alvis hates it..barley, ju hua or ling liang. all he refuse to take.
that day bring him to see chinese sinseh, he refuse to take the medicine, we have to force him to drink. It's always remind me ow easy Jaslyn take the chinese medicine.