(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

<font color="ff6000">Congratulations to Wendy. </font>

haha...as her wish, both her kids born in Oct.

Jenny
so funnie: "Fresh from the oven"??? machiam like baking cakes!

u kena bai ri ke? cant help coz i seldom kena cough.
But a few mths back my hb coughed so much tt he was referred to the A&amp;E coz his chest hurt each time he breathed. Luckily everything was cleared. Doc had to give him a stronger cough med to prevent him fr coughing so tt his chest wldnt hurt.

Jasmine
oh yah hor, Wendy wanted both kids to b borned in Oct. 3 Oct &amp; 31st Oct. juz an addn "1" at the back.

Oh a silly qn... i noe AF means menses but what does it stand for huh?

<font color="aa00aa">Congrats to Wendy and the arrival of Baby Broderick!</font> both brothers have the names ending with "rick"

delphine,
thanks. will give it a try if this medicine stops its effect. got a cough mixture and so far these few days react quite well to it **crossing my fingers**

crystallized,
haiz, rushing home, din see what I typed kekeke..
Choy choy choy, what bai ri ke, I will die from it.
Cough until chest pain, I kena also, then back of my head also pain! But this round not as siong as the pregnancy times. **choy choy**

esther/jrt/shirley,
AF = Aunt Flo. It is actually a slang for menses. Just like chinese call it da yi ma, the ang mohs have their own version too ;)

Wendy,
Congrats! You really managed to keep the gender a secret all the way huh? ;)

hi mummies..
i m back yest evening..asked my gynae for green light for early discharge so that can stand-by for CL to come in this am..if not no one at home to co-ordinate to wait for CL then hubbby need to fetch me from hospital also abit ma-fan..hee..

i was supposed to be scheduled for epi c-sect tomorrow, 4 nov but on 31 oct Fri morn, suddenly got "show"..so called my hospital &amp; was told to "chk-in"..upon chk-in, they realised i hv contractions but since #1 was c-sect so i hv to go for emerg c-sect on Fri..hence my 2nd prince is out liao..hee..

<font color="0000ff">here's my 2nd dearest - Broderick Tan: - </font>
1846309.jpg

1846310.jpg

Ohhhh so AF means aunty flow... hahahaha

Wendy
Broderick looks really chubby! And i thot u were expecting a girl until Jenny announced the name. the 2nd pix, he looked a bit like Mav liao.

I just brought A back from his cc. He attend half day cc today. dunno because of his 好奇心,he didn't bother abt me. I stay with him (actually stay a distance) till he finished hies breakfast and go back to wit for him. At 11am, teacher called and told me he quite ok with them (told they cant manage him).

When i picked him up, he was playing with teacher. when he saw me, called me &amp; followed me back. then his teacher told me he eat half bowl of chicken claypot rice with vege.

I'm so glad and hope then he continuosly happy.

Jasmine,
Good to hear it is good experience for A's first day at school. I am cringing at the thought of a clingy K when he starts school next month...

hee, so nice to see newborn!

Jasmine,
that's a nice start. Monitor for the next few days. Usually 1st day will be ok, especially you start now instead of Jan with lots of crying toddlers.

crystallized,
so how's your search for R?

pups,
dun scare yourself first lah, it may turn out to be opposite. Like I was worried for Jolene that time, my boss told me dun be surprised it may be the parents are the one who are more anxious than the kids. Hee hee.. I was imagining Jolene crying and clinging to me like koala bear then...

hi wendy,

once again, congrats! the 2nd pic, broderick does look like Mav. He also got a bit that looks like u leh.. do take care of yourself too. ya, he look chubby!

hi crystallized,

hehee.. actually i do know of wendy #2 gender already, remember u did post this question to her. but at that time wendy did not "offically" announce it on forum, that why i did not say also..

hi jasmine/pups,

good to know that A is ok on his 1st day of school. but based on tricia experience, i tik 1st day at school is ok, cos got new toys to play with &amp; to a new place to explore and even though we are not directly next to them, they still know that we are there watching them, from a distance. tricia only start to cry on her 4th day, i think she knows by then, i'm not there anymore and the toys are not fun to play with anymore.
these few days, i drop her, she's ok even i tell her "mummy off to work". i think she understand cos she see me in my office attire.

oh ya, pups, tricia will be classmates with K next jan. but i have not submitted the forms yet.

pups,

dun be under estimate K. He will be surprised you when he enter cc hor.
I'm surprised A can listen to teacher's instruction. normally he don't.

Jenny,
yeah..although i am happy for his performance at 1st day but still worry the following day.
as i say, 1st day he was curios abt new environment. still have to monitor him. 2molo will accompany him for breakfast.
yeah..he is the only one new in this mth. But think for cc hor, some mommies din wait till Jan to send their children. I saw 1 or 2 new birds too.

Gemini,
yea...at 1st i also happy as he manage to stay there without crying, but on other hand still worry the following day. Hopefully he will love his school all the way.

You will change her to other cc?

Jasmine
Glad tt A's 1st day went well.
But be prepared tt the next few days could be bad. Coz heard tt some kids will kick a fuss the following few days/weeks once they realised tt sch is not so fun afterall, esp when there is a routine etc. so they might enjoy it initially n end up crying later. Not to splash cold water on u but juz to warn u lah. i am gg to b prepared 4 such things when it comes to R.

Jenny
i 4got wat i told u the other day liao. and got no time to call u back aft tt.
We're gg down to the church to register the 2 kids tmrw.
there r still vacancies left *phew* and i'm starting him in Jan. Crying spells will b inevitable but hopefully seeing my niece in the same class wif him will help him to settle faster.

Pups
i oso cringe at the thot but its an inevitable stage and i am looking fwd to the day when R sings the songs he learnt in sch. all kids hv to go thru this stage, so lets juz look at the bright side. its gd tt there is sthg constructive 4 them to do in sch n my mum gets some peace time when they r away.

Gemini
its ok.
if i were u, i'll oso not announce 4 wendy since she has not told us yet. anyway its a matter of time b4 we know it.

crystallized,
hahaha...no problem.

I also prepared liao. but still hopes that he will like to go to school all the way. today he even dun want to go home when we enter to IL's car.

so, R will go to Re-N with your niece. It's nice that he have someone to accompany him.

hi jenny,

perhaps you can try chuan bei, see whether can help to cure your cough. ask those medical hall to "mo" those chuan bei into powder. then double boil the chuan bei powder with nan xing and a ya li (yellow skin pear).
i tell u, this really works for my hb, he see western doc, take the cough medicine wont work one. but just about 1 wk of this chuan bei drink, he fully recovered.

Jasmine,
So you are back to work in the PM?
I think for CC, the pro is one can start anytime, to avoid Jan intake where all the crying spells start.
Just reassure Alvis that mama will be back at xxx time to fetch him, tell him you are going to work. The message will goes into his brain sooner or later.

Crystallized,
yep you are right. My colleague's son was ok when he firstly go sch, no crying etc, and still could comfort other kids not to cry. 1 mth later when all the kids had settle themselves, my colleague's son started to cry non stop for 1 mth, till my colleague bo bian, went to class with him with a cane. 2 days then stop the nonsense.
Oh that's good. Haha, so eventually you follow my step for church sch hahaha...
Never mind lah, I company you next Jan hor, at least R got cousin's company. I think Jaslyn will cry when she sees other kids cry. She likes that one hor, timid, but so fierce at home.
Jaslyn is unlike Jolene lor, when I go to work, Jolene would say bye bye to me when she's at age 1+ and won't cry one lor. But Jaslyn would cry like mad. So I think she is going to have crying spells...

gemini,
chuan bei is not that chuan bei pi pa gao ah... thanks thanks, i give it a try if this cough mixture still dun work for me.
I went medical hall last sat, they gave me that, I told them to keep it haha..
I went thr the medicine and got the sea coconut cough mixture, so far so good. At least only mild cough now. At least now no need to cough till chest pain and head pain. The past week was terrible, coughed until no voice.
Aiyo I tell you I gave up on western doc for phlegm and cough, never work for me and my family de.

JEnny,
yeah...working now.
nor more leave..using the extra one day chidcare leave &amp; split to 2 days.

But hor i cant understand tat principal lol. till to date she still din give me timetable, menu &amp; bla bla bla.
when i ask her this morning, she told me will put all into Alvis bag. Then when i pick him up, nothing except one communication book nia.

But Jaslyn looks independent lel. even my hb also say she very guai.

hi jenny,

yup, is not that chuan bei pi pa gao. i tell u, this pi pa gao not really that effective one.. also got chuan bei inside but i believe due to the other ingredients added in, not that effective. furthermore quite sweet. but i tell u, this chuan bei when taken alone, quite bitter one hor.

hi jasmine,

tricia has been in cc for 1 mth and till now, i do not have any book (where they record whether tricia got take lunch, poo etc) from them. the teacher was telling me during the 1st wk, they will give it to me as a form of correspondance between me and the cc. also, the pigeon hole for tricia shoe only got tricia name stick to it 3 wks after she in cc.

Jasmine,
why dun you call to check? but sometimes may take a few days for them to prepare.
hohoho, never judge from appearance hor. guai is a wrong word to use on Jaslyn. If you use it on Jolene, I still accept.
Last Fri I saw a cane mark on her left hand, asked her why and who beated her, she said jiu jiu beated. But refused to say why. Jolene told me Jaslyn fa pi qi on jiu jiu, and threw the table at him, hence kena caned by jiu jiu. I asked my mum and my mum said the same thing as Jolene.

Gemini,
I agreed. Chuan bei pi pa gao useless... unless one is taking everyday as a precaution. Err... bitter ah... die ah hahaha...

Gemini,
oo..then at least me still got a commucation book which stated today he had milk &amp; cornflake as breakfast and chicken claypot rice with vege as lunch.

Jenny,
the teacher told her tomorrow. maybe should give them time to prepare hor.

Jaslyn so 'hiong' huh? can threw table at your bro. luckily you have your bro help you to displine her.

then no worry, she wun be bully by others when go to school.

many thks for the well-wishes..hee..i think Broderick looks more like his daddy while Maverick looks more like me..maybe bcoz of the forehead..hehe..nonetheless, both kids are fair..Mav like me &amp; Bro like daddy..hee..but Broderick do not hv the same blood grp as Mav..Mav is a AB+ &amp; Bro is a O+..me is A+ &amp; HB is B+..so Bro carry the same blood group as both of his grannies..hee..

crystallized..
before i hv any chance to log in here to confirm the gender..i popped..was thinking of logging in sometime in the wkend coz Mav was with me since Deepavali..so a little hard to manage the boy with my big tummy..hee..

Jasmine..
i m happy that A is coping well at the CC..at least he's independant..cool!

Wendy! Congrats! Your sms abt your prince arrival really brightens up my dark dark day...

Me back... was so busy these few weeks...
Rhys was admitted to KKH last weekend for gastric flu. Vomitted non-stop, even after a mouth of water and diarrhoae non-stop.
Had a horrible night at KKH (I stayed there with him for the night... ) and so we decided to get him discharged the next day since they only can monitor him, and he is drinking well... although he still got diarrhoae... we think the longer he stay there, the worse he will get coz no good sleep plus nothing to do=bad mood...
Now he still got diarrhoae on and off and now worse... it got spread to my sis's son... then I got fever next 2 days... then my mum... then my dad... then my sis... then my maid... all vomit and diarrhoae... sigh.... now whole house like havoc like that... aiyo... pray also no use leh... this later part of the year damn suay...

Just to share my poor boy in KKH... see how sad he look....
1848069.jpg

Vivian,
so hearpain to see his sad face on tat pic. Poor Rhys!
I'm wonder how come so long din see your posting, thot you bz with your teaching.

really hope that he get well soon &amp; all your family too. You also have to take care of yourself.

Wendy,
thanks..how abt Mav? did you settle his cc ore pre-N? and how he react with his lil bro?
yeah..i think Broderick looks like your hb.

Jasmine,
haha now then you know this so called guai gal so hiong hor.
but then she is timid outside home hahaha...

wendy,
how's yr CL?
You gotta rest more and guai guai do a good confinement this time hor.

Vivian,
Rhys looked so moody and sad! Poor thing! Hope all are well back home.

Jenny,
True, I should not be imagining the worse but knowing how K is, very hard not to think about that. Anyway, will keep my fingers crossed. You don't worry so much about Jaslyn also lah. She may surprise you

Gemini,
So, they will be classmates. I just hope K will not play rough with Tricia! Although he is a pretty mild boy, but we notice he imitates other kids and we are afraid he is going to learn all the good as well as the bad things from the other kids. But well, that is part of growing up.

Vivian,
I know how sim tia it is to see our baby in hospital garb and "caged up" in the cot. K even had an IV line hooked up to his leg and now he still examines the punctual mark formed on his skin by the needle and say "injection here". Just hope everyone in your family will recover in no time!

hi vivian,

same as jasmine, thought that u are busy teaching.
hope that Rhys recover soon and everyone in your family too. u have to rest well too..
indeed Rhys look so sad in the pic...poor boy!

hi pups,

this is something we have to accept when we sent our kids to cc. they learn both the good and BAD things. hopefully not so much on the bag things though. hehee... dun worry, tricia is a very rough girl too.. only when outside, she behave v guai...

Viv
Heart Pain to see sad lil rhys pls *hug hug and kiss him* on my behalf ok.. i can understand how you feel cos last time J also admitted in KKH for UTI
hope everyone is fine and wishing everyone speedy recovery..

Jasmine
glad that Alvis is coping well..

Jenny
U know there is this cough medicine call 'Bai Xian Cao' quite effective on cough, my dad had those 100days cough, so my relative recommend he drink less than 2weeks into his bad cough ok liao wow... let me go check it out the details

<font color="0000ff">Bai Cao Xian Cough Syrup is developed and refined with modernized scientific methods. It uses precious natural medicinal herbs like Rhizoma Pinelliae, Herba Ephedrae, Radix Asteris, Radix Platycodi, Folium Eriobotryae, Radix Polygalae, Pericarpium Citri Reticulatae, Radix Glycyrrhizae, Oleum Menthae. This product soothes the throat, tastes good and is fragrant. Its effects are rapid, refined purely from natural medicinal herbs and plants. Its properties are mild with no side effects and no known contraindications.

Functions &amp; Indications

Stops cough and reduces phlegm. Suitable for coughs, excessive phlegm and bronchitis. </font>

1848972.jpg

pups,
I'm not worried with Jaslyn. I'm expecting it, and I will not be going to company her, the most just bring her to sch and see that she settles in and I will go off. Or I will just get hb to send instead cos Jaslyn scares him. One word from him is better than my thousand words. Call me hard hearted, I never feel soft for the gals, unless they hurt themselves seriously. I want them to train to be independent, fall and get up themselves. The only time that worried me and I almost cried out, was when Jolene fell and hurted her eye against the chair in a restuarant, where her eye was bleeding and needed stitching. In fact, I didn't realised she was bleeding, and I still told her she deserved it for being notti, not sitting well on the chair. I can still recall how pityful she cried for me.

pups, gemini,
In childcare, the children mingle together, so they will learn both good and bad thing. Not only apply to childcare, but to preschool, playgroups etc. What we have to do is to observe and correct them. "I don't like you", "I don't friend you", "I don't want you"... all these are very commonly used in sch. They will come back and say all these to us, which hurt us of cos, but without themselves realising.

Esther,
thanks, but for the time being, I will continue with my current medicine since it's working, dun want to switch here and there.

Hihi mommies

its been awhile since I log in haaa.. busy with work, etc. Boss on holiday.. so can sneak in to say "Hello" to all mommies and tods

Pups/Jenny

My B will also be gg to playgroup next Jan. Actually everything got its pros and cons..tho am expecting he will def. learn the good things and bad things.. we must decipline them and you are rite.. I have seen parents who dote on their kids so much that they dont "dare" to scold them.. afraid the kids will be upset!! but this is doing more harm to them.

Wendy

Congrats!! you baby boy is so cute.. Broderick is a unique name..

Vivian
Glad that R is better now.. he looked sad in the pic.. poor boy Whenever these kids fell sick.. we as parents are definitely more worried than anyone else.

Btw, its been a long time since we have the "mommies and babies/toddlers gathering haa! Loooking forward to one soon..

Kareen,
I tell you I can't stand those parents who dote/pamper their kids too much, to the extent of being a "slave" to the kids!
No offence to anyone.

Jenny

Agree! Actually when comes to descipline.. it is really no easy task. Am always the bad person haaa! and my mom or hubby will play the good person. I usually used cane to descipline B cos those time -out, just dunt work for B. Anyway, there is really no one method that works best.

Take for example, B likes to take those 20cents or 50cents kiddy rides..we will try to limit to 2 rides each time.. sometimes, my parents will let him take the rides for as many..but for me, i want to set a limit. And if he throws tantrum.. i will just let him cry and express his frustration, but mom will usually give in to him. so you see.. am always the bad person haaa!

hi kareen,

same here, i'm the bad person which is why i suspect tricia does not stick to me. hb is the one who will give it to her, so that why daddy is the most dearest person to her!
i do believe there must be some discipline instilled in kids when young or else they will grow up having no respect for others

anyone organising spree from Lucky Vitamins or drugstore? i can then tag along... need to top up supplements

Kareen,
True. I thank god that so far I have support from my mum and bro. It's only my dad who is the "good" person. And after much talking sense into my hb, he finally sees the light. We praise when they are good, and punish when they are wrong.
So far, I only let the gals play on the kiddy rides w/o paying when no one is playing. I think in terms of counting, 1 hand to count still got leftover. I think Jaslyn only shared the paid ride once with Jolene. I think Jolene had 2-3 times before. They won't ask me to pay for ride cos they know I never like this idea. The most is to play for a while.

gemini,
Drugstore cos I wanna get calendula cream. What you want? But I'm getting my friend to do the order cos wanna go thr the hsbc ideals for cheap shipping charges.