(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

jrt, same as you, hb always the one to hold up my bookings. I was waiting for him, in the end my choice resort booked, now got to settle for something I don't like as much. Hopefully it'll still be an enjoyable trip.

been a hectic hectic week for me cos got principals here... finally they've left!!! now gotto clear backlog work, another round of hectic-ness liaoz...

<font color="ff6000">dor</font>
pampered not good leh.... like i planning for my HK trip for zillion years liaoz.. still havent materialise cos everyone thinks we cannot manage the kids when we r there... its 4 adults to 2 kids leh!!! why cannot?!?!?!?
hehehe... ur D &amp; E reli look alike... but stil can tell them apart lah... yup, E features stil look very "girl"... so no worries lah.... me share e same "worry" as u... cos ayden eyes so big mah, then belle eyes sooooo "mong mong" 1... how i wish belle eyes same as ayden.. then i happy liaoz.... but dont think so lor...
eh, D will at least run to u when u say "bye bye" hor... i tried a few times hor tell ayden "bye bye" n i went to hide... he's not scared or even bothered lor! he will walk around looking for me for AWHILE.. if cannot find, he juz go back to playing with e toys in e store... until i go back to find him... *aiyo*.. tis boy not scared of being lost 1 leh....

<font color="ff6000">jasmine</font>
oh dear, tat was a scary incident... luckily A is ok... thanks for sharing ur experience with us.. at least it will make us all more aware now...

<font color="ff6000">adeline</font>
hope u've cooled down by now... ya lor, grandparents r like tat 1 lah.. like to spoil e kids so e kids will be close to them... my dad is like tat lor, even tho' he gets to see e kids EVERYNITE, he still spoil ayden all e time, giving him privileges that i dont give... so ayden's fav person is him all e while.
hehehe.. but hor, after reading abt ur complains, i think i muz be a real terror DIL... cos my In-Laws like "terrified" of me.. my MIL n SILs have never ever tried to give A anything tat they r not sure if i'll approve 1 leh... really NEVER... i think they muz be scared i'll blow my top if they do...

Kim &amp; Kat does look very much alike leh!!!! so cute!!!

<font color="ff6000">jRt</font>
i stopped A's GUG class too liaoz... same as u, felt tat every sat morn got to rush him to class.. then its like e rest of e day "burn" liaoz.. after 2 terms i stopped cos we havent gone out as a family in a long time cos dont like to go out on sunday...
not juz u lor... my trip i think i started talking abt it even earlier.. till now stil havent materialise! hahaha...

<font color="ff6000">babe ong, mango</font>
wah... see... ur HK trips all materialise sooner than me... i was planning to bring family along for e nex biz trip, which is end-Sept.. but tis meeting instead of 1 day become 2 days.. so tot bring everyone there "nua" for 2 days like abit waste of $$$ lor... so now re-thinking.. *haiz*...
can ask u all hor, how much u paying for e kids' air-tix huh?? any difference in air-tix price for below 2yrs old n above 2yrs old???
<font color="ff6000">mango</font>, how many pple going for u??? wat kind of accomodation u take??? as for sterilising ur PIS hor.. mayb u can try wat i do at office: i got a "lock &amp; lock" box tat can fit e funnel &amp; bottles.. after pumping, will wash with e pigeon detergent.. then pour hot boiling water (can boil with e kettle provided by hotels) into e box to sterilise everything lor...
<font color="ff6000">babe ong</font>, u can only handcarry liquids of max 100ml onto e plane, and all ur bottles muz be in ziplock bag (or any transparent pouch will do). but for checking-in luggage can bring watever u want.... as for stroller, depending on ur airline.. i usually fly SQ, all e parents will push their stroller all e way till boarding time.. then u hv to keep e aircrew will find somewhere to keep for u, until u disembark.. it will be waiting for u juz outside e ramp...
<font color="ff6000">mango</font> zann reli looks like u!!! i dont think she looks "boy" leh...

hi jasmine,
USD$43+ for 3 dvds. A bit ex but no choice cos dunno where else to get. I bought the 'letter factory' 'story factory' &amp; "math circus'

hi babe,
tell me abt travelling getting expensive... juz booked tickets to christchurch last nite. Qantas 2 adults + 1 child close to 6K. only tickets, taxes plus surcharges. accom + car rental + food + shopping all nt added yet. think my bonus all gone already with the NZ trip.

<font color="ff6000">selina</font>
hey, can ask u again e Ashley apartment u stayed in e last time, which type of room did u get??? i was wondering if all of us (hubby, me, mum, maid, A &amp; B) can squeeze into 1 apartment... from e webby it looks "big" enough leh... n can confirm with u e location??? cos e web did not have any map... where exactly is it in relation to Tsim Tsa Hsui MTR station? or to Marco Polo Hotel?? thank u very much!

Anyone to suggest something useful for teachers' day gifts? I dun want to buy flowers or ornament, such things are useless and take up space. Any suggestion?

Mango
Me staying at Prudential hotel
just below is the Jordan MTR
stayed there on my previous trip quite a few yr back
How much did u pay for ur trip?
I book my airtickets and hotel accom sperately and already came to $2.3K without transfer and Disney entrance fees

Infant ticket already $400.

Dont think mcuh diff b/w infant price and adult price nowadays as i paid $530 for adult. Infant dun even get a seat at the airplane..

Leapfrog DVD
Babygrace
is it direct shipping from tower.com??
how much did u pay after the shipping factor in?
i am keen to get the DVD but at a loss now after seeing the various sites and diff prices

Jasmine
Ummmm gain ALOT of weight during preggy??....hehehe
U know hor last time for D I gain 20kg. This time I gain more then that admited was 80kg. Wanna faint man now lost 10+kg but I still have 10+kg more to lose....sobsob

Yah D still wanna carry meimei so I gotta keep reminding him CANNOT carry meimei. Now he tell me he wanna drink my BM *faint*

JRT
Yah lor but good in a way lah so I dun even have to argue with him.
But guess wat this naughty boy now know how to open some sweets liao n he will auto eat it himself. If he cannot open he jus bite it to try. He even eats minty sweets. When we went to register Ember's birth at TMC the counters have HACK sweets n this boy happily eating so when realised bopian dig out from his mouth n bite a bit off for him. The nurse still say poor thing we give him hot sweet so she gave him those chewy sweets but she dunno how happy he was eating the hacks. Not a single sound from him n never disturb us that's why we checked his mouth.....hahaha

Starz
Hahaha Ayden so clever. He know he stay there can play n wait for u to find lah....hehe
Actually I think our parents always worry extra lah. Ur 4 adults to 2 kids maybe they worry cannot enjoy much cos gotta look after the 2 kids ma.
My mum also lor today I went bb fair since she not working I met her there lor. Then I was saying gonna have the mooncake fair soon can go there n test test. She ask me to ask my sis to go help me with D. I keep quiet lor cos today even she not going I also will go alone 1 ma I dun wanna wait for my sis then go on Sat so crowded.....hehehe

D very kia si 1 dunno is it too long never go out now strangers jus look at him nia he will say NO NO n grab my leg until cannot even walk then tell me he scared.....sigh

babe
They will allow if the water is for kids.
Cos I took SQ the last trip n on the return trip I forgot about 1 bottle of water that was in my bag. The counter staff jus ask me if I have any liquid to declare other then that bottle of water which is for kids. She say for kids 1 is okie not counted.

babe,
tower is direct shipping. so is US$40.99 +
US$7.99 (shipping charges), that's all.

I teach you hor, you let your gal carries a bag,
then put her water bottle inside the bag.
When you go thr custom, declare it. See if they
let you pass. Usually for kid, they close one
eye. That's what I did when I went bali last dec.
Jolene carries a water bottle in her haversack.
I, myself have a hot water in thermal flask and
another water bottle. I declared and they let me
passed.
But, my friend had a water bottle for her boy but
she carried it plus a bottle of EBM. Hers didn't
pass thr.

Jenny
thanks for the tip

think it very much depend on the individual airline
hopefully cathy not so strict

Does Tower ship direct to Spore or i have to use Vpost to do the shipping?

Jasmine

yesterday watching the news and heard that the benefit starting from 17 Aug
told my hubby that very easy to remember cos that date is my birthday

Didn't really read the rest of the post cos my eyes are still recovering from Lasik.

babe_ong
tower.com ships directly to S'pore. i chose the US7.99 expedited shipping option cos it's faster. if you want cheaper option, there's a US4.99 option.

During my last trip to HK, the s'pore airport authorities did not stop me from bringing more than the required on board. They probably saw that i had kids. But on the way back from HK, the HK authorities made me empty the excess.
Don't worry about troubling the air stewardess, it's their job anyway. The other way would be for you to ask them right at the start of the flight to fill up your vacuum flask with hot water so that you don't need to bother them after that. A crew will usually come to you after you've seated to check if you are ok and to check what other things you need. Don't worry, i've travelled on SQ and Cathay, both are very attentive when it comes to passengers with young children.
You can bring the stroller all the way to the aerobridge and they will stow it away for you.

babe,
not sure with cathay will allows, but I travelled via SQ.
Travelled once with cathay, but is 5-6 years ago, they
are ok.
Tower ships directly to SG. I chose the cheapest.
Took less than 2 weeks. But my colleague one
lost in shipment. Appeared mths later after
several email complaints. No one to call.

hello mummies...
TGIF!!!!!

<font color="0000ff">leapfrog DVD</font>
i already have the letter factory, so didnt buy e set of 5 either cos tat wld mean i hv duplicates... but i bought e remainder 4 titles + 1 WordWorld at S$68 (thru amazon.com spree here).. shipping + registered post cost me another S$10... i think quite worth it lor...

<font color="ff6000">babe ong</font>
huh... how come ur infant tix so ex???? i juz called SQ yesterday n they quoted me S$106 (incl tax) for an infant tix without seat... with seat then cost S$576... i was doing some "budgetting" for my HK trip... wah piang eh.. i reli need S$5k leh....
thanks for e link.... but they only show 1 type of room... i wana see how e bigger room look like.. nvm, free then i slowly search...

<font color="ff6000">dor</font>
clever ar.... i think he bo-chup ar.... hehehehe....
ya lor, i think my mum's concern is tat she cannot enjoy herself with e 2 kids around.. then scared they cannot sleep lah... wont follow us sightseeing, etc etc lah....
anywayz, finally got some kind of "confirmation" on my trip liaoz... going Feb'09... i going to redeem my tixs soon le, so no more backing out... finally!!!!! hehehe...

babe_ong,
I did it at Eagle Eye Centre at Mt Alvernia.
Price will depend on the type of lasik. All in all including post-op visits, mine would be around $3300 cos doc charged me a discounted corporate rate.

Jasmine,
If they are starting the 6 days child care leave
wef 17 Aug 2008. It should be pro-rated and I
think it might be up to company HR to disclose how
much they wanna give.

A rough calculation: Say 6 days for 12 mths =
1mth is 0.5days. So maybe mid Aug to end Dec is
abt 3.5mths x 0.5 days = 1.5 days?

I'm still waiting for my company HR to disclose
details. My guess is they need to draft out
everything, submit to board for approval before
releasing, so may takes up to a week??

I saw a thread on petition for Jan-Aug 08.
So sad to see it. It's like never ending.
I wonder if we give birth becos there's
money to receive from govt?
I tot child bearing is couples decision.
Somehow, Singaporeans now take it as I give
birth, govt has to give me money. In that
case, why not ask govt to pay everything
and dun tax us.
I think the 4mths maternity leave is making
those especially first time parents overwhelming.
They don't realise, whatever govt gives you,
you gotta pay back double or even more.

For me, i think all these are reward/encouragement from government and We should happy because we are so lucky to have this support.
But now the situation become 金钱化。
From the ST forum, saw some said gvt shld reward those SAHM, then some claims that gvt shld give CDA to ist baby cos they only intend to have one baby (aiyo..tat's agains goverment intention waa..)
those people thought they 应该得到的。

4 mth ML - too much. guess i will only use 3 mths &amp; 1 mt be flexi. think many moms will do tat.

I agree that there's no end to all these back-dating. The govt has already acceded to the request once, now they are pushing their luck a bit too far. Face it, there's no equality in this world. So who are they bull-sh*tting about the kids being in the same cohort of 2008 but not receiving the same benefit. Are they saying that just because they are "short-changed" by $7K, their kids will be disadvantaged in some way?

For me, child-bearing is a personal decision. I appreciated the govt's show of support with the baby perks. Personally to me, 4 months of ML is not enough because i didn't hv reliable childcare arrangements then. That's why for 1st child, i took 6 mths off and for 2nd child i took the entire year off.
The 2nd child tax rebate was useful but we exhausted all of it in the first year. Do I think the govt should hv given me more? Certainly not.

I was telling hubby before the ND rally that even if the govt gives me ML of 1 year, it still wont entice me to voluntarily have a 3rd one. The monetary incentives are good to have but it certainly takes more than that to raise a child.

Agreed, babygrace!

I think some are quite harsh like die die must have
the benefits/welfare. Some even said bbs born in
Jan-16 Aug are not singaporeans. If that's the
case, how about those before Aug 2004, they got NOTHING.

Jasmine,
I won't deny SAHM is the most difficult job in this world.
Facing children all day long is not easy. I saluate to SAHMs.
My hb is one who feels that to increase childbirth in SG,
women need to be at home to be SAHM, so that the caretaker
issue can be covered. Just like in the 80s.
However, I remind him that govt wants women to join
workforce cos wanna boost economy. So, it is very unlikely
they will give subsidy or anything to SAHM cos they want
women to work.
Plus now govt is talking abt men and women on the same level.
Somehow, the low birthrate is caused by them, isn't it?
And now they want us, women to handle both work
and family well, which is unlikely for most cases.

I agreed the incentives is for encouraging.
But ppl are asking more and more. Like what
you mentioned 应该得到的.
Feel sick with some ppl remarks in other threads.
知足常乐会开心点.

jenny,
precisely!
These baby perks are meant to incentivise s'poreans into having more children. These mothers were already pregnant / have given birth at the time the announcement was made, so strictly speaking, they are not the target group but they will benefit in other ways eg childcare leave, childcare subsidies. The govt has already back-dated it to 17 Aug as a gesture of goodwill, what more can they ask for.
And i pity those govt agencies who now have to scramble around to implement all these with immediate effect.

Jenny,
yeah..i agree that SAHM is the most difficult job in this world. i doubt i can fit into the job..will 'ki xiao'. hahaha..
but our gvt wanna us become superwomen ma..so no choice!
actually realized those high birth rate in 70s or 80s are due to most mommies are SAHM. right?

知足常乐会开心点
人不知足蛇吞象!

Jasmine,
thats why my hb said if wanna more bbs,
shd encourage women to be SAHMs.
The most effective way to get high rates
of babies. So shd give incentives to
encourage more SAHMs.
Early 70s too many bbs until have to
implement fine (my hb). 80s also kena
fine for 3rd child (my sis). My hb and
sis are "all gong kia" (fined).

This is what i posted initially lor.. but now at the petition thread lah..

If everyone were to petition on everything, govt will be busy.. and might as well dun give naything at all.
Govt give u one amt and take back DOUBLE THE AMOUNT.. now increase ML leave, cc leave everything and increase baby bonus BUT take back all in double. Would you want it?
Seriously i rather dun get the money then i have to give back govt..
So i am not supportive for the petition as well.

I understand ur stand on both go same sch. does that means that when they implement to 1st time mom after petition, we 2nd time mom petition again to request our 1st kid to have the same priviledge?
Cannot compare apple to orange.
If this goes on, it's never ending.. just a chain reaction.

To talk about fairness, govt give $1.. take back $2.. fair?
Haiz..

hi jenny,
You mean nw they are petitioning for b4 aug17? I think these ppl are a wee bit too much, already got their wish to hav it backdated to aug17. Like I was discussing with my colleagues, it's a pandora's box, hw to draw a line on the date? No matter wat date, there will always be ppl who will be unhappy. I mean, it's really very sad if one's decision to hav bbs is based solely on monetary incentives. Have incentives good, dun hav so be it lor... If any announcement during the rally is really so important, then perhaps they shld hav waited till aft the rally b4 deciding whether to hav any bbs.
I dunno if i'm gonna be shot for making such comments. When the news announced the changes in the dates, I was like "it's a miracle man... these parents are REALLY very lucky... the govt actually compromised."

hi jenny/bbgrace,
then we can start petitioning also lah... haha ask them to date back to the start of mankind, then my parents also can claim... haha

bbgrace,
read above you just did ur lasik... best investment for me man! no more glasses, contacts, eye infection etc etc. Welcome to the world of 6/6 vision.

freshpoison,
yes <font color="0000ff">hw to draw a line on the date? No matter wat date, there will always be ppl who will be unhappy.</font>

now they are talking abt all 1st kid should entitled to have CDA account. hahahaha...

Jenny,
70s too many babies till implement fine, tat one i knew cos hb was the one (delivered at home)
but din know tat 3 kids at 80s also kena fine.????
NOW..more &amp; more BABIES are WELCOME!!

Adeline,
agree with you, nothing can b compare one.
glad tat u din join in. keke..

freshpoison,
hahaha...
Yes, I was telling hb the other day, maybe
next time wanna plan for bb hor, better wait
after rally.

Adeline,
Me also dun support petition. Not becos
I'm not a Year 2008 Mother. But everything
also got a cut-off date. If got it, be happy and
say heng lor. If not, just timing not right.
At least now still got small little perks, unlike
before Aug 2004. Kids born before Aug 2004
has nothing, not to say CDA acct or what.

I wonder how many CCs going to increase
CC fees. Govt increased subsidy to $300
(increase by $150), but CCs fees increase
even more. So, what's the use?

Jasmine,
My sis is born in Year 1984.
My mum kena fine for having 3rd child.
I dunno how much she got fine, think
few hundred dollars.
But she then do the tie operation,
minus off $100 from the fine amt.