(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Mango,
I dunno, but those newly going to implement incentives seems useless to me. Ok, except the 6 days childcare leave. But remember, this only entitles up to age of 7. So if my gals when they are in Pri Sch, they sick, I have no childcare leave.
When kids are sick, we need a lot of leave, cos they take days to get well. I wonder if 6 days is for 1 child, then how abt 2 children, how many leave? 7 days? Cos now is 2 childcare leave for 1 child and 3 days for 2 children. I always got to pray hard, and usually from my experience, my 3 days childcare leave hor, used up within the 1st quarter of the year. Touchwood, the children dun get HFMD or chickenpox which needs 10 days and 14 days MC.

Jasmine,
Yes, the govt needs more babies. But when there are more babies, we need realiable care takers. I believe many mummies like me don't like the idea of childcare but for certain reason, no choice have to send the kids to childcare. My mum is a good care taker for me. But I have only 1 mother aka 1 care taker to take care of my 2 kids. If have #3, definately she can't, even she can, it's like stressing her. I dun trust infant care, child care nor student care, but do I have a choice? For now, yes I do cos my mum can handle. What if, say my bro and sis got married, also got babies, their ILs can't take care, then how? My mum?

As for job, let me share this with mummies here. I was chatting with my youngest uncle during my grandma's wake. He was telling me, when he employs new employee. His 1st qns is whether the lady employee is single or married. If is single, she's out for sure. If she's married, his 2nd qns is whether she has kids already? If no, she's out. Reason being very simple, he can't afford to get someone in to work for 3 mths if the lady employee is away for maternity leave. Cos is hard to get someone to stand in for that few mths. If he is to employ someone else to cover the job, when the lady employee is back from maternity leave, how is he going to settle the replaced staff?

Jenny,
that's mean single lady employee are more 'ke lian' than us. but thrue also, nowsday very hard to find someone willing to work for 3 mths. during my ML, my manager cant get someone to do temp work, so she ask my collegues to take part of my job & give her some allowance.
cant imagine those big co. e.g like your company if more than 1 employee go on ML??

maybe i'm lucky, my mil just told me this morning i can give birth as many as i can. they will look after the babies. BUT i cant trust their word cos i know them well.
Plus for me, care giving din equal to upbringing. How abt when they start school? and how abt they are teenager? a lot of thing to concern one.

bbgrace
its a personal thing lah. many mums will allow their kids to play in fountains. There is a diff set of guidelines of tests for fountains & swimming pools. so a big diff. swimming pools r def cleaner n hence more safe. but not so for fountains. 4 me, i will avoid if i can help it. i rather bring R to the swimming pool forwater play than at fountains. no offence to the mummies tt let their kids to play at such fountains though.

Jenny
yah i was waiting for more paternity leave though. din expect them to increase ML. this am was discussing wif my colls oso. more ML means more preggies gonna lose their jobs n get discriminated. alrdy there is much discrimination wif the current 3 mths ML. its tough for FTWMs in pte sectors. they will suffer more.

But i rem the last time ML was increased fr 8 wks to 12 wks, they also announced in the rally but i thot new mums get to enjoy the immediate benefits? no need to wait till following yr. but watever it is, some mums will lugi. someone will make noise. but they din give concrete details yet.

DOr
yah for the exposure it is ok.
i like their style oso.
so u gg to bring A & D there alone?

crystallized,
forgot..
A will b super high when he sees water, Swimming pool, fountains, ponds! anything with water!!! he loves them!

even tried to drink the water. ~faint~

My cousin just resigned without a job even with the announcement of baby bonus. she says it's useless her boss not understanding at all even he has 3 kids.
she work till 8 or 9pm, her boss still can see watch and ask her. 'u going home so early huh'.. now she trying for #2 so she quit. She finds no pt in staying and cannot conceive.. her 1st boy is 15 mths.
My company hor.. very very pro-family.. so no issues for me lor..
Anyway although govt give more incentives but eventually, depends on company also lor.

Jasmine
Same thing 4 R lah. see water machiam like see gold... so happy & excited. R oso tried to drink the water. i oso wanted to faint when i saw tt.

Adeline
i think its v tough 4 FTWMs esp those in pte companies. Mayb MNCs might b different, i dunno. But if ur boss is a caucasian, it makes a lot of difference. they r much more pro-family! u r lucky tt ur company is pro-family too.

Jasmine,
I think depends lah, some bosses may prefer singles.
At least yr boss got give some allowance. We do covering no extra $, plus is hard to cover cos different job scope even if is same post. Whoever covers me, damn suay one, cos my workload is double from theirs, anyway usually the one covers me never do the job one, always I come back then do. And worse my company doesn't employ part timers or temp staff.
Ya lor, I'm worried abt the upbringing part, thats why I said I rather keep to 2, then to have 社会的败类. Stress ah...

Crystallized,
I remember in Year 2004, it took effect immediately in Aug 2008 cos my colleague gave birth in Aug and she enjoyed it (plus baby bonus).
I think got to wait for further announcement. I think the infant care UNPAID leave and 6 days childcare leave is next year, cos TODAY indicated in today's paper. The rest got to wait for further announcement till they work out bah. This kind of stuff sure got ppl lugi one, especially those preggies who are due these few mths.

Adeline,
Yes, I agreed with you. Whatever incentives announced, depends on whether companies are carrying out or not lor. My company bo pian, has to be pro-family company cos...
Take me for example, mother with 2 kids. Who will dare to employ me if I quit my current job??? I think I can go home to be SAHM if I tender.

So, is it bad news or good news?
kao_confused.gif

crystallized,
i even drop his sandal at T3 fountain when he strunggle to go down. haha..
the worst is he love dry swim at anywhere. when he 'buay song' in bathroom, he just 'dry swim' on the floor. imagine..without any clothes lel.
luckily tat's our bathroom..but still dirty, right?

Jenny,
but hor my collegues told me when i'm back, boss just give her $100 allowance per mth nia. she said she worst than bangla..
yeah..now ppl rather enforce on quality rather than quantity. just like know, some old folks who have few kids, but none of them care abt them, what the use of having so many kids?

Oops,
I was actually one of those quite happy wif 4mths leh... But it's nt a factor for me, I will decide on #2 only when I'm ready.

ERP
===
I understand his rationale, it's true that without all these additional revenues, car prices will never be so low. I remembered my hubby's civic, bought in dec01, 3 yr old car cost him 78K, now 70k can get brand new civic liao. Mayb i dun feel the ERP pinch cos I dun travel under any gantries. At least now most household hav at least 1 car.

BUT like many others, i was hoping for a maid levy reduction and perhaps a longer paternity in exchange for the 4th mth maternity. Nt too much to result in higher taxes yet just enough to ease the burden of new mumies a little.

Jenny,
luckily i din ask my bil buy shoe for alvis. yday he back frm his trip & bought some GAP shirt for him. guess what size? size 130!
can keep till A 5 yrs old i guess..haha

Jasmine,
I share your thoughts. Many kids may not be able to handle well.
$100 better than nothing lah.

Delphine,
ya lor, die... like that maybe next year I have 3 mths leave to clear!!!

Freshpoison,
I think 4 mths maternity leave may be overwhelming by preggies or those who are planning. But in the stand of companies, they may not be welcomed at all, especially you are in teaching line... Imagine yr child is in that class, teacher on maternity leave for 4mths...
At least most household have 1 car. For my case, we are forced to have one cos more convenient to fetch kids. And having a car adds on to our expenses. I see we have more to spend without a car.
I hope to see more subsidy for education, better direct subsidy, dun give us cash as subsidy, if not wait kena tax. Direct minus off from education fee better!

Jasmine,
ha, men are men, that's why I told you I won't get men to buy such stuff hahaha... Ok lah, console yourself, bigger better. Can wear at home lor, big big more airy, if not weather so hot.
Recently my colleague wife tagged along for his overseas trip, so I tompang him to buy some stuff back for me. I printed out everything, wrote with details then I told him, passed to your wife, she would know how/where/what to get kekeke.. My colleagues in other depts get to know and "scolded" me saying I never shared the lobang with them. I told them I dun dare, cos it may turn out sala stuff then I die, plus tompang ppl buy things, I dun dare to go jio ppl to join, wait the travellers not happy mah. I'm now crossing my fingers for another male colleague, hope he dun get the wrong item for me haha..

jenny,
my hubby and I are 1 of those who cant live w/o a car, too damn used to it already... haha
teacher on maternity is nt a prob, most schs are responsible enough in screening relief teachers esp those who are going to do long-term.
civil service prob wont have a problem wif 4mths, only those in the private sector must think twice abt going on such a long leave, no guarantee that ur job will be waiting for you when u return.

Jenny,
then after i recall, his previous trip tat was last few mth already bought size 110. i just keep & forget to let him know.
and those shirt hor, very plain one. but cant too fussy cos his present to A ma..
wow..u even print out with details to your collegue. bu sometimes i also dun like to ask ppl buy things, sekali buy wrong things but cant blame ppl too..

then after i recall, his previous trip tat was last few mth already bought size 110. i just keep & forget to let him know.
and those shirt hor, very plain one. but cant too fussy cos his present to A ma..
wow..u even print out with details to your collegue. bu sometimes i also dun like to ask ppl buy things, sekali buy wrong things but cant blame ppl too..

Freshpoison,
For me, I won't like. I remember I used to have relief teachers when I was in Sec Sch. Not very responsible.
Car is luxury to me. Without it won't die, though it is convenient to own one.
Frankly speaking, to me, I feel Govt, civil service, even if they not unhappy, they also dun dare to voice out cos this is announced in rally. So must carry out. I know some of the bosses in my company are not happy with their PA/Secretaries going on maternity leave. It all depends on bosses. For me, I'm lucky I have a very understanding and profamily boss.

Jasmine,
Yap, tompang ppl to buy thing, if he buys wrong I will also take. I dun accept no mistake lor. Anyway I only ask certain staff to buy one. Dun say them ok, even my hb also, when he went US, I asked him to buy things, he kept calling me... till I told him dun buy.

Hi Mango

me going to HK too in Sept
from 5th to 9th Sept
how abt u?

Have not travelled for 3 years liao so super outdated on the new airlines regulations.
Remember reading papers that cant bring liquid exceeding a certain amt up the flight and must be in ziplock bag???

Can bring stroller to the aircraft or must check in with the luggage?

hehe ...

Took this photo today n everybody cannot believe it when we show them to photo.....hehehe
Ember is wearing Damien's bb clothes n see how alike they are.
Can u guess who is who???

1650990.jpg

Damien is on the left taken when he was abt 5mths n Ember is on the right 1mth old.

Jrt
Hehehe know where ur coming from re these water. Cos of ur job so u know abit right can understand cos if know cannot jus ignore.
I more ks I only allow D to play with these fountain water with his hand. Won't allow him to get fully wet cos I am worried he will catch a cold n also the trouble of having to dry n change him. N maybe I really too strict on D's decipline cos I won't allow even once cos I feel if allow once they will feel its okie to play so even if next time I dun allow he might still insist or go on his own cos he will feel its okie as he had done it before.

I not superwoman lah how to bring D n E there alone. Think won't even be allowed into class with E.....hahha
Purposly gotta take sunday so hubby can be with D for some bonding n we can take turns.

Jenny
True the upbringing part is very impt. If they growup then kanna problems who will they blame?? Always say parents too busy making money for the kids but govt keep asking ppl to go to work then who will care for the kids??

Babe
long time no see.
The last time I travel (which was in Sept when they turning 1) liquid if u check in is okie. Those u handcarry then the container cannot be more then dunno wat size...hehe
Forgot liao think u check out airport website should have.
I checked in 2 big bottle of SG water that time to HK hehe.

Stroller think can keep only when u reach the plane but heard complains of the stroller kanna damaged cos they never keep properly. But not very sure lah cos I didn't bring...hehe

dor dor
think E and D has different eyes leh, evne though they look the same first glance. their mouths look pretty similar though.

bb incentives
thought some mummies will go 'yay' now. heeee...

since the focus is on more incentives and rebates for working mothers.

Dor,
me too..can see the diff.

both of them so fair skin. Ember can wear this rompers while D wear during 5 mths, that's mean E more chubby huh? good job!

thks for the concern... cant post so often cos whenever i on PC, tricia will come and disturb...
furthermore, my hb has went back to work, so left me, my mum and maid.
tristan is still manageable, it's tricia... nid to keep a close eye on her... sometimes she will climb up the baby cot and look at didi. she learn our pattern, pat didi which can be quite funny to see.. she will also point at didi eyes, ears or nose... faint
she got a slight cold now, which i'm v worried that it will worsen, got give her medication, hopefully it will go off...

hi dor,

both of them look v alike leh..

bb incentives
==============
think have to wait for further news... but i doubt i will get the 4 mths ML. anyway, my company is quite flexible... sometimes if i go to office late, it also ok, moreover, my boss is stationed in Sydney, only got a team leader here...
ya, same as some mummies here, i'm more interested in the child care subsides. the additional child care leave is also good. 2 days child care leave is not enough, esp now got 2 kids. the govt did not mention much on the paternity leave though.

Dor, at first I tot I was looking at D's pics, but on closer look can tell them apart. E's a big bb.
Your BM getting more powerful now.
Just like you, for things that I do not want Char to do, I'll not even allow her to do once, setting a precedence means opening th gate for more. I'm very KS, will only allow Char to play woth fountain water with her feet cos this gal likes to put her fingers in her mouth.

Babe_Ong, depending on destination and airlines, sometimes they allow you to bring a few bottles of water on board with a child, sometimes they insist only one bottle in a 1 liter ziplock bag. I've saw pple bring stroller on board on a few occassions.

Delphine, D looks like she's having a very good time.

Mummies, do you think Bali or Bangkok is a better destination if going with a toddler?

coral,
How are you? planning for a holiday?
hmm... personally like bali cos more relaxed bah, the toddlers can play with sand and water at those resort.
BAngkok more for shopping and heard not very child friendly.
If go chiong for shopping with gfs then maybe a better destination.

Gemini,
Glad that tristan is managable.
yes, have to keep a close eye on Tricia cos they dun know mah and there is a real live doll for them to care for.
Denise is really a real chilli padi!! she can scream the whole house down. have not had this issue with desiree before.
Really drained me out tat now i am also sick after desiree. Haiz...

babe,
it depends on airlines. Some allow you to bring liquid if you have infant or small kid. Some dun. As for stroller, also depends on airlines. I can't rememberr which budget airline must die die check in for stroller.

Doreen,
can see the difference. Ember got gal gal look.
Ya lor, I more concern with the care taker issue.

Gemini,
Jolene also with slight cold ynite. Seems ok today after her long rest but got a bit of running nose. Another colleague's kids also down. Seems got virus in air bah.

Coral,
I thin Bali is better, more relax and easier to manage with an active toddler.

gemini
i like the name tristan. it's a very archaic name but reminds me a a knight in shining armour..kekekek...

coral
think bali is better. at least air quality is better ...and you can bring the kiddoes to hte beach whenever they get to be a handful

how i wish i could go for holiday now...haiz...

jenny.
eh, careful. think it's the stomach flu thingy coming again.

but your mother is taking care of the kiddoes right? so you are one of hte lucky ones leh. dun have to dump them with nanny or outsider...at least they are with fmaily.

frankly, dun think the govt is concerned about quality of care when it comes to bringing up your child. they are more number crunchers here. it's the stats that matters.if they really concerned, they should have done their research and know that children are best with their mothers, or family members. so incentives should be given to grandparents or mothers, not childcare. but that would mean tying the elderly at home when they could contribute more to the macdonalds industry...

face it. our govt believes in genes. they believe if the child's parents have good genes, nyou can throw the child anywhere and they will thrive.

<font color="ff0000">dOR</font>,

Can't see the diff
(they look alike to me woh :0 )

<font color="ff0000">babeong</font>,

So coincidence ..you gg to HK alssssssso
We gg on the 1st, coming back on the 5th Sept !!!

Hey Mummies, thank you for your comments. I personally like Bali too, just that hb hasn't been to Bkk before.

Delphine, I'm ok lah. Hee, not too gd nor too bad.
Can't complain too much. Hope to plan for a 1 wk get-away in Nov, i.e. if both me and hb can get our leave approved. I have a new manager coming in Oct, hopefully I can train him to handle things and I can go away by nov.

Mango, I think your girl looks like you. Pretty, happy babe!

Jenny, I remember you went Bali with your girls rite? Other than the fun in pool in your villa what else did you do ?

Dor
I cant tell them apart! but i recognise the bedsheets behind coz u taken them a few times so i know the one on the right is E. ahahahhahaa
like super twins leh!
Yah i cant ignore coz i alrdy know the results r not gd. I din wanna set a precedence! But my hb!!!!! he sometimes make me vomit blood. everything n anything oso let R play. even camera n laptop! R alrdy pulled out 1 of the laptop's key... but my hb not angry, i'm the one fuming coz he lacks discipline! kept chiding me say i so restrictive, dun let R explore. i scolded him saying R has to learn wat r the things tt he can play, wat r the things tt r out of bounds. i'm darn pissed coz it makes R confused! how come mommy dun allow but papa allow?! so angry!
now its hard to say No to R coz he expects everything oso can. He has turned into a complain king when i dun allow. and coz of tt, he prefers papa more than me. sigh.

Babe &amp; mango
U girls take F&amp;E pkg? where u all book from?

Coral
agreed tt Bali seems better place.

lilboymum,
Ya, mum is taking care now, cos my siblings not yet married mah. So, I heng lor. But I'm thinking for the future next few years, when my siblings get married, got bbs... Plus I really have to think hard when Jolene goes Pri Sch.
You are right, they won't care lah. They just want the numbers. I remember that person once said, good genes produce good genes... so sarcastic remarks.

Mango,
I think the siblings got alike with.. eyes... is it huh?

coral,
I think men dun like BKK hahaha... too much walking, too much shopping.
Ya, we had BBQ, swimming, playing ard, cooking etc... basically is nua holiday.. Can't go out too long cos have a 3 mths old infant then.

jrt
i book my air tick from travel agency and hotels from website
its so damn ex to go HK nowdays!
thought better go now or else next time lagi more ex

Mango
U come back, i go!
which hotel u staying?
u r bringing both kids?

think i have to chk with the airline Cathy liao on their regulations

Doreen
They really look so alike!

Hehe yah 1st glance n seperately is very alike cos when I put the 2 photos together then can see the difference. Ember till now haven seen the double eyelids but hopefully(still crossing fingers) she will also have D's big eyes n long lashes.

Jasmine
Yah E is growing bigger n I think I spot the makings of thunder thighs but I hope not lah cos she's a girl ma....hahaha
Think my BM quite fattening cos D also quite chubby n cos 2nd time BF liao the fats come earlier this time....hehe

delphine
U sick aah must take care aah. My #2 also cannot tahan her screams cos D last time dun cry loud 1.
Ember now only 4kg not that big lah but compare to her birth weight 2.74kg n wat D used to weigh is quite alot... haha

Gemini
Good tat Tristan is easy else hard to cope with 2 hor plus active tod. D also 'you yang xue yang' today caught him kissing meimei on the forehead but he gotta lean whole body over her lor so scared he fall n flatten E....hahaha

Mango
Aiyoh so cute when Zann smile. But hor no offence aah she looks abit boyish leh cos of the hair style I think. She look like daddy??
Then ur no 3 will be boy??....hahaha

JRT
Same here my hubby allows everything. But I learnt that when hubby allow I will not say anything or even encourage lor like I jus agree nia at most jus smile to D when he smiles at me. Seems to work cos he will still know I won't allow n when I say NO I mean it. Like sweets he will go to anyone but me. N if they ask him to ask me he will jus put it back cos he knows I won't allow.....hehehe

Adeline
I like the last pic so cute....hahaha
D also always want to take pic with E but then he super chorlor most of the time he try to lie near E end up knocking on her head so no photos taken got to pacify crying E instead. Wonder if E will endup with uneven head with a bro like that....hahaha

Actually the both have the same features leh jus that the hair different nia...keke

<font color="ff0000">Coral</font>,

Yes Ah zan looks like me esp the DOUBLE CHIN

<font color="ff0000">jRt</font>,

I booked F&amp;E package from tour agency
Initially wanted to book online as i wanted to stay at the disneyland hotel instead of hollywood hotel cos almost all the HK tour package stay is at hollywood hotel but then we need to settle our own transport (with all the luggages and stroller).
In end decided to add in extra cost of $350 for a night stay at disneyland hotel so that everything can settle by the tour agency..

<font color="ff0000">babeong</font>,
We will be staying our first few nights at Kimbery Hotel ...how about you ??

<font color="ff6000">now got a problem , need help from you gals ya ..
I will be bringing my PIS there and how should i sterilize the pump and bottles huh ??
I read from the instruction at i cannot use the sterilizing pill leh..
does the hotels provide any service or any steriliser (fat hope ) ?
How huh ???</font>

<font color="ff0000">Dor</font>,

Oh yes , all of my relatives labelled my zann zann as boy boy haha...you not the first one !!

mango,
I know some SG hotels do provide sterilising service. But I more KS lah, I won't dare to use cos I dunno how they do it.
How abt bringing a tupperware or any container with cover, that can tahan high temp. Then you boil hot water and pour into container to soak?

I got my leapfrog yest. Very impressed wif amazon's shipping. I ordered last week, took them slightly more than a week.
BUT my DVD player couldn't play at first, needed to search the net for hacking code to hack the player b4 i managed to play the dvds. *phew* otherwise $$$ all wasted.

freshpoison,
how much the total cost you paid for leapfrog dvd?

Dor,
next time must 请教you how to hav fattening BM? keke..
D still love to carry mei mei huh? he will become a pro to carry baby. hehe...

babe &amp; Mango
thks 4 the reply... i waiting 4 hb to reply me on his available dates then i can book liao. i cant imagine i've been talking abt this HK trip so long n yet i'm still here &amp; haven booked the trip. all my hb's fault.

Dor
D so cute! will auto put back w/o even asking u? hehehe, R will not. everything he goes to papa, knowing he will get approval for almost everything. now each time aft we drive n park the car, he will insist to play the sterring wheel else he will cry! BTH!

mango

wat i did the last time when i was pumping and travelling is similar to wat jenny suggested. but i didnt bring any bowl. just use hot boiling water to run the funnels and bottles then put the funnels and bottles into ziplock bag after that.
Zann not going? if she is going can latch on dont need to pump. after pumping u can request the hotel to store in their deep freezer cos the bar fridge not very cold.