(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Hi Cy,

Maybe i can explain this . I frm SAP (sec) school .
We hv 4 tests everyweek ( 2 surprise tests and 2 compulsory tests).
Basically we are "force" to study study and study ...so ....you know ..simply no time to digest ..(well.. that's my generation )
But we are more "yi qi" kind of pple ( again chinese culture thingy) ..got gd and bad

SAP School
==========
Mango, what SAP school are u from? I am also from SAP school but i really enjoyed my secondary school days,no doubt we have quite a few tests but we usually hang out in school to play basketball/volleyball and always have inter-class tournment. It was the best time of my school life. My SAP school is flooded from students from Tao Nan, Maha budi and other good primary school students but i never feel out of place although i came from a neighbourhood school (which was acquired by another primary school liao haha).I guess it was tougher at first cos their foundation is faster and i need some catching up to do but i guess how one excel really dependent on a lot of factors.

Siblings
========
Like coral, i was very worried that my inlaws will dote on zac more cos he is the first grandson and my MIL LOVES boy. Dont understand why when she is woman herself. But this make me dotes on lele even more and my hubby also chided my inlaws for spending less time with lele. Actually i am not too concern who they showered their love to but I will make sure that lele get the same attention from us. If my inlaws are here to play with zac i will make sure lele will be playing with me.Vice versa.

Its very nice to see both of them growing up together, just this morning, zac ask me to carry him to meimei's cot and sleep next to her. He will imitate me and pat pat lele. I am not sure if they will grow up to be close but I will teach them to look out for each other.

1600422.jpg

Lele and zac zac in lele's cot

<font color="ff0000">Thanks ladies, for all the well wishes</font>

Me now at home coz MC for 2 days due to high fever and bad throat infection.
Sigh, bdae still stuck at home...

hmm... just keep the beautiful pictures coming and one more thing....
WELCOME BACK CORAL!! Missed you and little charlotte....

Shirley, it's so nice to hear that ZAc is so loving to meimei. From the osund of it, I think you are alumni to my hb and his siblings.
Actually in my Sec the old girls who were from SAP were more relaxed in their sch wk than many others from the neighbourhood sch. Haha, so I really didn't experience the culture thing that many of you mentioned. Hehe, I think it depends on batch, and class ba.

Mango, so scary, so many tests. I remember I hate to bei shu and will tell my Chinese language teacher this is not how to study, she told me it's the system and we have to follow. I was quite pissed off, but no choice too.

Vivian, drink lots of water and rest more bah. Tmrw then go out celebrate with hb and Rhys.Get well soon! Thank you for the welcome. And I miss all the cheeky pics of Rhys gor gor.

Jasmine,
haha Alvis so cute!
Ya, even CNY not all relatives will turn up, let alone wedding. But my uncles and aunties all very on one. Got family event, all will turn up depite how busy.
The aunt who toilet train Jolene is my mum's younger sis, my 4th aunt. My mum also from big family, 5 sisters and 4 bros. The one who has conflicts is my 5th aunt.

Shirley,
I feel my MIL also loves boy too, but refuses to admit. Sorry lor, no boys for her, so she can only dotes my 2nd SIL's boys lor. Very funny one lah, older generation die die want a boy to carry their surname. My hb said he doesnt' want and doesn't need one, in case his surname kena drain by "son".

School
=====
I'm not concerned with SAP or neighbourhood sch. I just want my gals to enjoy childhood and study at their comfortable way. As long as they complete the education, I'm fine. For sure, I won't go be volunteer or contribute $ or what. I just want my gals to learn the good morale rights.

Jasmine,
A is so cheeky! haha

Vivian,
Happy Birthday! Hmm.. my birthday this year also not so "fun"... the highlight was to send hubby off at the airport in the morning cos of a work trip :S Rest well, and you will be up and about in no time

Siblings
I guess ultimately I do agree with all of you that blood is thicker than water.
And like what Jasmine mentioned, the comaraderie part seems to be displayed more at funerals and wakes than anything else!

Schools
Hmm.. am I the only slack one who is still not thinking about primary school for my boy? Due to finances and the liking of where I am staying now, we will most likely stay put. So, guess we have to make do with schools around my area. Definitely no "branded school" here.

lilboymum,
You thinking of that school that is part of the "village"?

pups,
you are not alone. To think I've a 3 years old at home, and I never, haven't even think of Pri Sch.
In fact, I'm a bit shock to hear the rest of mummies getting anxious when our little ones have yet to hit 2.
If you mentioned abt slack, I think I'm the one haha.

Jenny,
I see... hmm, too bad I also do not need a maid yet. Else will try to transfer over from your uncle! :p Good maids are hard to find, moreover you all already know the character of this one.

Doting grandsons
Hmmm... though my ils are traditional in their thinking, and perhaps do want to have grandsons to carry on the family name, but I don't see them doting on my boy (who is the first grandson) more than my niece (who is the first grandchild). I guess it is partly cos my niece was under their care in her infant days whereas my boy is not. Well, I have no problems with that ;)

pups,
My relatives all want her, now is my uncle to do the final decision. My uncle did ask me, I told him I need to think. Cos it's like with maid to help my mum, my mum no need to keep yelling at them while cooking. Usually the cooking time and to jar-ga them at the same timing is hard, suay that timing is also Jolene's time back from sch, so everything crash together at that few hours.

Coral,
haa... here's 2 pix of Cheeky Rhys in action...

1. Act cute before a swim...
1600590.jpg

2. Act beng in botanic garden...
1600591.jpg

SCHOOL
======
Hee... think me same with jenny. Me and hb does not believe in volunteering or contributing $ to get into "good" schools.
In fact we never thot abt pri school etc at all.
Just want Rhys to enjoy his childhood and enjoy learning... the rest will come later...

pups, you're not the only lazy one. I'm not actively thinking too. Only will talk abt it when ppl discuss. I actually missed out on the registration date for pre-nursery for Char.

Vivian, he still retains his bengness over these yrs.

Happy Birthday Vivian!!! get well soon and rest a lot ya..
Rhys looks very grown up in the pic.. how's he?

Jasmine,
hahha.. that is very polite of A to say xie xie..

That day desiree say she wants milk milk, then i show her my breast and say want or not. she replied yes in cantonese and when i shoved my breast to her, she actually opened her mouth but i back out..haha cos scare later she bite..

Jenny,
Nowadays society has changed, guys can be gay and gals can be lesbian!!

we just could do our best in raising our children, as for their future guess not up to us to decide.

pups..
haha..yes the school that is part of a village. for now, i stay 2.2km away from that school...

coral, pups, vivian...
eih, not even sending cy to pre nursery yet...so only can think about pri school loh...

mango, shirley
heee...i know which school shirley is from liaoz. white and blue uni with metal buttons one izzit?

some SAP schools have students who are really nice. im just concerned many of the primary schools are not much different from what we are used to in primary school days...memorising pages of stuff, tests every other day, practising same thing over and over till rot...guess we just have to talk to the Ps to know next time :p

Actually sending Char to school is to ease my MUm load. Hb is even thinkingo f sending Char to childcare since my Mum's keens has been giving her problems. But I still hope Char can grow up at home than in a school environment.

Lilboymum, I also made the same guess as you.

I a bit confused abt SAP, neighbourhood and what else school lel?
any website for me to understand better?

coral,
yeah..when we give him $$ to pass to the seller at market, he will love to do it &amp; send flying kiss (as goodbye sign) to tat ppl. heee..

Jenny,
oo..that grandma with 2 daughter is frm ur father side. tot you mention you all close with your aunt then saw your posting tat one of ur aunt leave home many yrs ago. now understand.
how abt your mom? do she feel comfortable with the maid at home? ask her opinion since she is the one need to face to maid most of the time.
since the maid is good, can think of it.

pups,
cheeky + naughty!
where you stay, sengkang?

Vvian,
i like the 2nd pics. soooo ah beng.

saw you buy the 1st alphabelt book. me also keen.
hope still have stock.

Delphine,
she won't bite but think she will addict to it, later hor mei mei not enuf milk.
do you have spare ebm to give to Desiree?

Jasmine,
Haiz.. my ss this time round not as good as desiree.. not even enough for denise, have to supplement with FM. Maybe cos stressed plus too much distraction ba, that's y...

Delphine,
Thanks for your bdae sms... =)
Rhys ah... super naughty lor. Sigh...recently got to keep discipining him...
Funnie thing is we find him getting more and more naughty... the teachers in school keep telling us that he is becoming more "guai" leh...
Think the teachers must be mistaking him with other kids... haa....

Adeline,
thanks...

hi vivian,

<font color="ff0000">HAPPY BIRTHDAY!</font> rest well! weekend is coming...

hi pups/jenny,

u are not alone. me have not even think of pri sch yet. now already got having problems in sending tricia to childcare, cos most of them only got vacancy for next yr.
pups, actually SK got 2 famous sch, Nan Chiau and the other one, Rivervale Primary.

hi vivian,

Rhys is clever, know when to put on his best behaviour... tricia also the same, when she's outside, she will be v guai but at home, is a terror!

Schools
=======
Haha... so many elite ppl fr this forum. Pai sei man, me kampong sch, hubby also kampong sch.

I'm actually nt very concerned abt the rep of the sch, I'm more interested in the way the sch brings up the kids. I wan one that places emphasis on both academic and a good upbringing, sort of like a 'balanced' education. I also wan a sch that is strong in both the languages.

hi freshpoison,

u not alone. my and hb are frm kampong sch also, furthermore our sch are not around anymore...
oh ya, i also did not know that u are a teacher, i rembr in 1 of your postings, u were mentioning something about office politics, thought you are in the corporate line rather than academic line

Schools
I'm one who has been thinking of schools. Yes, call me kiasu or whatever, I do believe in planning ahead
Once the kids start schooling, you'll be stuck in that area for at least the next 6 years.
I don't want my kids to travel a long way to school and that includes secondary school. So I would want to stay somewhere near a good selection of schools.
The schooling situation at where i'm staying now is no better. Being a young estate, there are lots of young kids and you see balloting at a few neighbourhood schools. I want to be spared of that kind of stress when my time comes. I've got friends who are going thru' pri 1 registration now. One of them shared her nerve wrecking experience in registering her girl in phase 2C. She never volunteered, no church / clan / alumni affiliation. At phase 2C, the places were over-subscribed many times. She managed to get in because she was within 1 KM. Those within 1-2KM, don't even stand a chance. And this is not a branded school, just a fairly new neighbourhood school.

So, whether you like it or not, you could be put into this type of nerve wrecking situation when the time comes. I just want to have more options. At least i know there are 2 nearby schools that i can get my kids in through affiliation and be spared from this type of stress.

As for choice of schools, it does not have to be "branded". Taonan is a good school but i'm not sure if i want my kids to be in there. I've got a few years to see the school environment is suited for them. Most importantly, i want a school that allows them to grow and sustain their interest in learning.
For Joshua, at 3 yrs old, I'm beginning to see how the school environment can sustain his interest in learning. Right now, i can see that he's losing interest in school. When I asked him what he learns in school, he'll usually say he learns nothing but he'll sometimes tell me of stories that his teacher told or any new songs that he learns. I spoke to his teacher and she told me that while he is attentive during story-time, the rest of the lesson time, he's very quiet (which is unlike him). I think it's because his class is still learning phonics sounds of single alphabets whereas now at home, he can spell a lot of 3-letter words and are moving to 4 letter words. So it's nothing new to him and can't sustain his interest. The only saving grace right now is that he is in a montesorri environment so there is some time each day where he decides on the activities that he's interested in. Moreover, i don't want to shift him out of the school since he's well settled in.

So my point is that i would like a school that can sustain my child's interest. It may not be an academically advanced school. I have my concerns about sending him to Taonan also because his grounding in chinese is not strong now and i don't want a too stressful time for him.

Just my 2 cents worth... for me, i just like to have more options when my time comes so that's why i start my planning now.

Hi gemini,
office politics can be found everywhere... Nt only in the corporate world. You'll b surprised with what you can find in a school these days.

Coral,
I don't even know when are the dates for pre-nursery registration! :p Really jiat lat.

Vivian,
Rhys really has this big brother airs about him. Dai gor dai!

Hmmm, don't think it is teacher mistakening him for someone else. Perhaps more like he control so much in school that he totally let his hair down at home and you are there to face the brunt of it all! Hee

lilboymum,
Oh dear... that's so close yet so far! Can pull strings using your professional ties?

Jasmine,
Yes, in Sengkang.

Gemini,
Nan Chiau is outside the radius for me, I think. Is Rivervale primary really that good? This one is within walking distance for me.

Babygrace,
It is definitely good to plan ahead, and especially know that you have the option to do such planning
I do identify about proximity to schools cos I have travelled all around the place right from primary school days, partly cos in search of better schools. But well, it moving house is really not on our cards for the next couple of years and you know very well the choices of schools in my vicinity.

coral/lilyboymum

Haha Bingo! Not too hard to guess ya if you are familiar with the schools in the east. Not many schools have 4 big basketball courts, 1 indoor court and 2 vollyeball courts. I look like a malay girl during those days cos everyday under the sun.

Coral

Haha me first time ordering too but i order the japan saharara series which the organiser said material not bad. aiyo u reminded me, i have not transferred the fund over. Me very poor thing, weekend hard to go shopping so resort to online shopping. I understand the part when u said losing mobility after second one comes along, haha i do agree, before lele is borned i still can lug zac zac to go shopping with me. now hmm a bit difficult but I will ren for a few more months. There are always pros and cons to every decision we made but whatever decision u made just be happy about it and think positive. No point get yourself worried abt it.

babygrace
wow second property, i was telling my hubby we shld get one to invest during the downturn. Now asking him to keep a lookout for good deals especially now many projects are going to TOP soon and some may not have funds to complete the deals....u may want to keep a lookout for such deals too

Freshpoision
Didnt know u are teacher, hmm u dont look like one lei.

SAP School
==========
Honestly during my time, i didnt know much abt what is a SAP school, enter the school cos my sister is in that school. I think during our time, my parents also dont emphasize so much abt going to good schools. I know my mum just want me to go to the same school as my sister so that i will not go wild haha!

Gemini/pup
So how to know if the school is within the radius? where to check? Dont think i wanna do parent volunteer or give donation, think i can put my money into better use. Haiz but sometimes cannot say too early maybe out of despration, also need to donate to get a place cos i want a school near home. Judging from the babies you see in compasspoint nowadays, hmm tough competition lei....

hello mummies...

juz back from HK lastnite, away for biz trip...
alot of posts to catch up on leh... juz skimmed thru only...

<font size="+2"><font color="ff0000">Happy Birthday</font> <font color="aa00aa">Vivian!!!</font></font>
take care, n hope you get well soon!

<font color="0000ff">on having #2</font>
<font color="ff6000">coral</font>, i see e other mummies all trying to convince you to reconsider ur decision to stop at 1 hor... actually,they've pretty much said everything liaoz.... n im flattered <font color="ff6000">wendy</font> stil remember wat i said.. hehehehe...
well, personally i have a brother who's 6yrs younger, n whom i reli reli hated when young cos he's e favourite, n he got everything he wants, n im always neglected... but having gone thru tat juz makes me more aware as a parent, not to "inflict" that kinda of hurt to my own children... i cannot control how my family/relatives treats e kids, but i can control how i love my own kids... n i also will try to continually remind myself,no matter how much i try to be FAIR, each of them will ultimately feel that i favour the other one more... i think all siblings will be like tat to a certain extent.. only mayb when they r all grown up liaoz, then they'll understand...
right now, im also unsure if A&amp;B will grow up to love each other n get along well or not... cos looking at e situation now, its a "love-hate" relationship... Belle LOVES her gor-gor, while Ayden HATES his mei-mei... hahahaha... am juz waiting for e day to come when Ayden knows to come to tell me to get Belle off his back nia..
altho i didnt have a "choice" to have belle, cos she came as a surprise.. there wasnt a single second tat i regretted or thought twice.... having both of them are such joys! i've not watched a movie for 2yrs... n had less than 3 "personal" nights out (when im in SG) for e entire 2 yrs as well... my colleagues still once in awhile try to jio me out for shopping/dinner/drinks/ktv... which i've never gone... but all these doesnt matter at all, when i feel e kids enjoying my company be it feeding or playing with them....
n im going to attempt the "impossible" task of bringing e 2 of them on a holiday soon... hahaha.. hopefully i live to tell e experience bah...
ultimately, it is reli your own choice n decision to make lor... im juz sharing my joy n experience with you...

<font color="ff6000">dor, shirley n delpine</font>
wow.... all i can do is envy lor... you all e 2 kids can get along so wel... since belle arrived till now, i've not managed to get e both of them to take a decent photo together, much less ayden hugging belle... e day i see that, i'll prob strike 4D...

ok lah, gotto go... catch up again!

shirley, freshpoison
heard that many people got finger burnt in the sail liaoz. can take a look hor...a man apparently need to cough up 1m in cash coz bank change regualtion now cannot pay..need to catch chances like this...

schools
maybe coz i saw many end products teaching in a jc, so im pretty concerned about the schools they will go to. it's like what bbgrace says, dun need to be branded schools, but i want a strong culture in the school. values they teach and the direction they are heading, strong leadership etc are all important factors to me..........

hi pups,

heard that rivervale pri is gd cos it emphasis on the results a lot, it got segregate the "top" and "weak" students. but got hear my neighbour kid complain, the teachers there only focus on those "bright" students, those that are weaker are often left out or in those last few classes.
hear my ex-colleague say before, her friend within 1 km also have to ballot, so scary..
i actually have in mind is Mee Toh, which is in punggol.

hi shirley,

i think can check out the MOE website to see whether you are in the 1 km radius mah, i'm also not v sure. same as u, dun think i will give donation/volunteer to the sch also, unless due to unforseen circumstances.

vivian,
wanted to wish you happy birthday on msn but could not catch you. So here send my birthday greetings here instead

Some kids have a different persona at home and in school. My chilli padi is one such example.
She is so meek and gentle in school (think Selina witnessed that at MyGym) but back home, she is one tyrant. So Rhys could also be a jekyll and hyde like Em

shirley,
Yes, i'm planning to get another property at the downturn to make up for my missed opportunity at the last downturn. In 2003, we were looking at a 2 bedroom apartment near town which was just about $600K but we could not buy cos our exec condo was not 5 yrs yet. So got money to buy oso no use. These days $600K can't even get anything decent, not to mention a prime location. My friends who married around that period end up buying around River Valley area at good prices, imagine how much their place is worth now.
So must plan now so that we have the financial means to support a 2nd property at the next downturn. It's either a small apartment in a prime location for rental or if finances permit, maybe a landed property in the east, looking at how land scarce S'pore is, lots of landed property have gone enbloc to build apartments, so landed property would also be a good investment.
Say only lah... must work hard first. hee...
Got good deal, pls let me know hor.

lilboymum,
yes, strong culture and good values is also what i'm looking for. But very often, schools with strong culture are also those that are more well-known? But of course not well-known for its academic excellence also lah. Take my alma mater, strong culture and supposedly impart good christian values but definitely not academically strong. Last time when i tell people which school i came from, they tell that yah can tell that i was from there. That's strong culture but cant say much about the results though. haha!

babygrace
haiz i was just like you, miss the downturn in 2004 cos we just bought our sengkang flat, wanted to buy vision crest one bedroom then now the price has gone up so much that my heart really ache. u r right 600k really cant get anything mayb 5room hdb flat? went to see dakota cresent the other day but so expensive 1m for a two bedroom somemore its location is among all the hdb which i dont like. U r luckier than me, at least u still have one private property. me nothing

Shirley, hah, so you like me first timer. I also dunno why I buy online, prob just bored cos now I have time to shop during lunch time. I've already spent quite a lot on clothes these few wks. Just like you, I didn;t even know about the existence of SAP school until after PSLE was told to choose from the list. And made the choice cos my sis friend was in that school. Hey, must jio if got good property on sale.

Starz, thank you for sharing. Hmm, A is still not receptive of B? He'll be touch one day and realise mei mei is such a joy for him. Looks like we had similar childhood experience. You prob handle it positively while the shadow of it still makes me worry for Char.

School
======
I was from a kampong school, one of the mummy here came from the same pri. In our school we used to hv Ah bengs and Lians, but I feel that I have the best teachers then. I am grateful to them. They not only thought me things from the text, I still live by some of the philosophy that they thought us. Thus I was very against it when my inlaws say that Char must go to branded schools. Cos my inlaws sent all their kids to branded school. Well, I think to me convenience is still top priority and I like schools with lots of greenery (a weird criteria, but I believe the environment is very important too.) I dont want Char to wake up early just to go to school and I think there's alot that we as parents can do if the school is not as good. Just my 2 cents worth.

Gemini,
Mee Toh did cross my mind as well. I somehow prefer cultures of govt-aided schools rather than just govt school. Perhaps it is cos I am from an aided school myself and when we reach JC, can tell the difference between students from the different type of schools. Anyway, I have not checked out the distance between Mee Toh and my house, and on top of that, I don't belong to any clans or what nots which may have affiliation to Mee Toh. So...

hi pups,

me also, do not belong to any clans or so ever, but got 1 mummy tell me, how she managed to enrol her kid in with a higher chance. so next time will give it a try also..
if u interested, let me know. but on the distance, i know that i'm definitely out of the radius from my punggol place.
pardon my ignorance, what's the difference between govt-aided and govt school?

Gemini,
Based on a very simplistic definition I can give, govt-aided school usually have their own school advisory board and have some form of funding coming from another source (eg. clans/church affiliation/fund raising by students) other than just from the government. Perhaps such school usually have strong alumni and culture, which makes them different? Teachers in these schools tend to be a little different cos of the school culture perhaps? I may be wrong but these are from my own experience.

hi pups,

thks for your explaination. now i have a better idea. agree, perhaps it's the outer source influence that cause the school to have a slightly different culture

Jasmine
hehehe yah lah not all teochews r haolian lah but jus that the teochews I happen to know r all same pattern lor....hahaha
My sis also married teochew n their pattern same 1 lor I tell u....kekeke
A so cute lor tell u xie xie when u let him latch....haha
That time I wean D hor cos I always wear buttonfront nightgown for easy feeding ma so I will wear no button pj to sleep. So if he want to latch too bad cannot open....hahhaa

Shirley
D also always want to sleep next to E. But he not as siwen as zac cos D will purposly stick his head right next to E n keep rubbing her head.....sigh
Lele hair always standing hor so cute....hehe

Vivian
Alamak I like the 2nd pic his face so cute....hahaha

dor,
haha...both you &amp; your sis also married teochew man. we 5 sibling all married to diff dialect but none of us married to teochew.

A hor, now i know his pattern liao after 2 days observe. once i take off my bra, he can smell it &amp; wake up frm his sleep. so, think to wean him off, must wear bra to sleep all the night. haha..

vivian,
replied u.

thanks..