(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

oh wendy's back in action... GREAT!

Congrats to Chihiro! Wah your labour is so short!

Esther,
You must be somewhere around MAH now. too bad i dunno where u are, otherwise, i can drop by to say hi.

Coolmum,
Glad that your bb is home!

UPDATE ON EMMA
She's beginning to be more awake today and get less tired from drinking. I'm glad that she's latching on well. She suckled for almost an hour just now, with breaks in between. Right now, all i wanna do is to fatten her up. Hopefully we can be discharged tmrw.

Crystallized,
No lah, Rhys where got dress nice nice at home? if you are talking abt the romper he is wearing in the pic, is becoz I scared later he grow so much that those rompers I bought for him all cannot wear liao. So told my CL to let him wear it in the daytime since it is airy and not too hot.
Aiyo... now not only alert ah, got temper liao... haa... my CL say I must have bad temper when I had him in my tummy... haa...
When drinking milk he can "quarrel" with my CL one... haa... next time jialat liao...
Tomolo is this 1st mth celebration liao... and few more days I am OUT OF CONFINEMENT!!! Yeah!!! Hee....

Aspialle,
wah, looks like you are next to graduate liao... jia you!! Congrats in advance!!!
Good to know that you have solve your CL issue...

Weikuan,
Your bb is cute too... slowly she will change one... do post more of her recent photos leh... hee...

Chihiro,
Wah... short labour hor... envy...

CoolCoolMum,
Rhys look different meh? I everyday see him also cannot find where diff... haa... everyone say he looks like me. I same as you, wanted so much for my bb to look like my hb coz he got big eyes, tall nose, and small mouth (which is the only thing Rhys has). Now Rhys like inherit all the bad things from me, except the mouth, he got small eyes, big nose and big size... sigh... hopefully he will change change change.... hee...

Wendy,
You are welcome and great to have you back... I want to see Maverick too.... waiting...

im back home with baby Cheyenne yesterday! She's born on 10/10 at 1459H, weight 2.66kg.

Will post my birth story soon! A little depressed now coz no milk.. already 3th dsay but milk hasnt kick in. And bb doesnt really know how to suckle and she sleeps most of the time during feeding. LC Mrs Wong said she's alittle eraly (37wks) thats y her suckling reflex is not that gd. Sigh.. I insisted on TBF during my stay in TMC even tho she only drinks alittle. So the nurses supplemented with glucose water.
But i gave in to FM yesterday, since she's still not feeding well after 3days. My breasts are not coorperative at all leh.. till now only can pump out less than 10ml!! Very depressing..

Storm,

Dun give up and dun feel depress. I totally understand how you feel. My milk din kick in until 1 week later (rare case lah). I gave FM on the 3rd nite. And Rhys is still growing well...

FM is not bad, at least your bb is drinking milk. Keep pumping every 2-3 hrs interval to simulate supply. I believe your milk will soon kick in... I know, coz mine came.
JIA YOU!!!

wendy,
Welcome back! Mdm Naini was asking abt you today.

crystallized,
How come ah? wat software you using?
The starting is like tat, so you go gentle with the pump first. After the nipples get used to it, will be ok.

Vivian,
Wow full mth celebration tomorrow! So fast!! You got order full mth package?

Storm,
Welcome back!
Dun worry with the milk flow. Is only 3rd day. Mine came in on dunno 4th or 5th day. At first, the amt is like 10ml, 20ml. Later the amt will slowly increase, dun stress. You gotta keep pumping/latch on even though there is no milk, if not engorgement will hit you.

Jenny,
Yah lor. I got 2 session of buffet, one in afternoon for friends and colleagues and one in evening for relatives. Those colleagues who I din invite, I give bengawan solo vouchers. Siong ah...

hi storm
tink u will be happy to reach home
congrats

hi vivian
thanks, will update once im back
vivian, hws ur nanny? recover liao? got anyting need to take note of confinement nanny? u manage to decide which full mth package? i went to another website www.sweetestmoments.com.sg, realised the qty is more, may order from them for my full mth..

hi jenny
if the milk supply has not come in, then feed formula first is it? then still need to try pumping out the milk every 2-3hrs?

Vivian,
Which catering service you engage?
I'm ordering Choz for relatives and colleagues. And ordering fresh cream cake from Prima Deli and Homemade Jelly for my lab colleagues.

aspialle,
NBs have reserve for at least 3 days. So they drink very little for the 1st 3 days. You just latch on bb for the colostrum. Milk flow usually kicks on 3rd or 4th day, depends on individual. See if you want to give FM lor, I got give lah. Then pump every 2 to 3 hrs, once milk flow is in, slowly stretch to 3 to 4 hrs pumping.

3-Oct 2006
Woke up early to have my refreshing bath & shampoo myself clean..then we went to Suntec for my late breakfast-cum-lunch just before my fasting at 11.30am..wanted to have Yoshinoya but no Yoshinoya available so went to eat McDonalds Cheeseburger instead..

11.30am-1.30pm
Both hubby and myself starting to feel excited..Went to take some shots of myself near the fountain..shop around and ate Yummy Yogurt..at this very moment, i also realized that I have some brownish discharge when I went to the toilet so called up my gynae to double check on the signs, anyway, we have already decided to be at RH by 2.30pm for C-Sect with Epidural..so I guess nothing much can we do now even if I show signs..keke..

2.20pm
Check-into Raffles Hospital..went to the bed and change into the hospital gown and hubby took some shots of me with the big tummy..nurse helped me to shave alittle..we waited at the bed for the time to come..meanwhile hubby drove back to get my specs..getting nervous..butterflies in the stomach..kept checking the time on the clock..waiting for the moment to arrive..

4.00pm-6.30pm
The nurses are ready to wheel me into the OT to admit Epidural..hubby went with me..he waited outside while I'm really wheeled in..drew 6 tubes of blood..then curled myself up and took the Epidural jab..telling myself to relax my mind..kept looking at the clock for time to pass..Told gynae to start "knifing" down as I'm starting to feel the shivering..then at the same time told him it's ok that he start while hubby walk in..hubby kinda got a shock when he stepped in and gynae was abt to "cut"..haha..i asked him to sit beside me and he held my hands..shortly after, I heard Maverick's crying...I felt very touched..the tears just flowed down like tap water..the feeling of hearing his cries is indeed the happiest moment of my life aft getting married..finally aft carrying him for 39w2d..I heard him crying..immediately while he's being carried out..he "wee-wee' at the gynae and some nurses while he's being carried out..hubby stood up and told me he look very much like me..PD checked on him and asked hubby to follow along to bring Maverick to the nursery while gynae helped me on the wound..I was wheeled back to the bed..shivering non-stop and cldnt be able to even take a look at my boy..he looked so much like me..hidden double eyelids with not that tall nose, round face..haha..so cute...also donated his cord blood to SCBB..

6.30pm onwards..(Back to ward)
Hubby cant stop taking shots of him and consolidating our votes of the names for our boy to announce his arrival..hubby also took his 1st shot..

1st photo shows Maverick opening his eyes
2nd photo shows Maverick checking out his daddy
3rd photo shows Maverick going home soon on 8-Oct-2006..yeah!

543654.jpg

543655.jpg

543656.jpg

hi hi ladies...
sorry for not being able to update the chart..will try to do so quickly..me trying to get used to the routine so far b4 i can login..piesay ahh..

hi wendy,

Dont mention. Glad that u are taking it easy now. Maverick is very cute leh!

hi storm,

Congrats! Dun get too depressed over the lack of BM.

hi wtan
congrats and welcum back, ur bb v adorable

btw for mums who have given birth , when u all boil the herbs for bathing , how do u all do it?
use big pot ? or mix with warm water from heater?? my in law says cannot mix so have to get a really big pot to boil enough for bathing...she even thought of using charcoal put outside the hse to boil??

jenny , she says she uses extra big pot to boil , thats y she tinking of using the charcoal.....the pot may be too big for the hood and hob....i also duno wats the logic leh....hw cum cannot mix...i also headache if she cum over and see that im not following her instructions...will get nagging from her

Vivian
haha, my boy is opp fr Rhys. tt time gynae kept saying my boy will b big, so i bot rompers size 3-6 mths mostly. obviously he cant wear them now. luckily got some rompers 0-3 mths and he can fit in, still a bit big 4 him though.
and he looked so "lao hong" in most clothes we dressed him. hoping he can fatten by full mth.

yah lor, my boy now got temper oso. so irritated easily when he latches on. juz like me. who ask me bad example lah, cant blame anyone else except myself.

bbgrace
heeee, i oso need to fatten up my boy!

Storm,
milk supply wun kick in so fast one lah. i oso dunno whether i got colostrum until 2nd nite when the nurse came and helped me squeezed my nipples then i noe at least got colostrum. slwoly milk will kick in. Jenny is rite, NBs got abt 3 days reserves, so not to worry too much.
rem, dun stress over milk supply. it will dwindle instead.

Jenny
dunno leh, its the software tt comes wif my camera, i keep on saving as low res photo, but i reached a pt where the resolution cant go down anymore but yet is not small enuff to b posted here, so no choice.

wendy
ur Maverick is SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO cute!!!!
such a cheerful bb at birth!!! so u coping well wif BFG now?

aspialle
the herbs 4 bathing has to mixed wif hot boiled water. huh? cant mix then hv to cook a real big pot leh. my CL mixes lah. dun let her see lor, u do it when she is not ard. i think its ok to mix wif hot boiled water.

aspialle,
then you need how much water to bath? You know those pail for mopping floor? That kind of size? My Cl only boils about 1/4 of that size, then I add hot water to it to bath leh.
Wow, if you dun mix, then you need a lot of water wor.

jenny,
dunoo leh... he said no exercise so i asked wat abt massage then he gave me a very stern NO...

crystallized,
can we combine the milk pump out at different day when feeding? same here. if i pump same breast after feeding, can only have like 30ml. can collect many 30mls to make 90 or 100ml? sorry for asking this very stupid question cos i really dunno if it can be done.

wendy,
welcome back and hope you are coping better now.
dun mention. i didnt help much actually. i myself was very stressed out too. i broke a bottle of my EMB in the middle of the night just 2 nights ago. i cried like crazy cos my boy kept asking for milk and it seems like i got not enf for him to eat... but now am much better since i can start feeding him on my left breast which is less sore now.

Selina,
For c-section case, I know exercise is not allowed. Post natal massage should be ok. YOu wanna give Mdm Naini a call to check out?
You can combine the milk pump out at different day for feeding. But ensure they are same temp when you combine. Said you pump at 12pm and keep in fridge, your next pumping session is at 3pm, you shouldn't mix them first. Keep the 3pm EBM in the fridge. 6pm you pump again, then now you can combine the 12pm and 3pm EBM together. But 6pm one should not mix.

jenny,
tks. so if all is already in the fridge, say i pump 3 times today then have all in the fridge, i can combine them tomorrow when i need them yah.

when u ladies says, 90ml or 100ml, is it from 1 breast or both combine? sometimes 1 breast i can pump 90 to 100 but this is rare, so far only happen once.

wendy,
Maverick looks like you leh. how come all your bbs looks like mummy but mine only nose like me

crystallized,
my boy also gets iritated easily when latching then cannot find breast will start to wail. Caleb has this whizzing sound earlier + phlegm so we went to chinese medical hall to buy some powder type medicine, mix into EBM and feed him. he is better now. u may wanna try zhen1 zhu1 fen3.

jenny, why cannot mix the milk?

Selina,
My baby girl name is Rui-en. She look more like daddy, mouth big big, not like mummy mouth small small. She is a big eater too.
I on the aircon every night, the weather is very hot this few days. Rui-en will sleep longer if aircon is on and the heat rash also decrease with aircon.
I intend to put Rui-en in infant care, but see her so small, very heart pain to put her there, so very very fan.
The blinder also can help mummy to keep in shape.

Wendy,
Maverick is sooo cute.

i am going to bring my baby for 2nd HepB injection. did u gals buy paoshen for baby to drink first? mix with milk to prevent fever. please advise.

Selina,
bingo! Yes, if all already in fridge, you can combine them for feeding. Just remember dun add newly EBM into those in the fridge, if not the EBM will turn sour, and you got to discard.
Is combined.
Aiyo, dun say you lah, ppl now also comment Jaslyn like daddy, no more like me.

Wei Kuan,
cos the milk will turn sour.
Better to turn on aircon now to sleep. 1stly becos of the haze. 2ndly can decrease heat rash.
Actually hor, I find that giving bb some liang stuff to drink before jab somehow is not true leh. I used to give my elder one before the jab. Then since 6 mths old, I stop giving. Just ask for doctor for the fever medicine and give after the jab. So far no fever.

crystallized
did i rem wrongly?? err...pai-say... i rem i saw the pic when i first join in this threat.

vivian, jenny, selina
how long does it take for u to achieve more than 50ml of EBM? today is my 7th day liao, but i'm still getting 15-50ml per session from both breasts, but avg is abt 30ml even after i latch him on for a while. i can only get 50ml in the 1st morning session. so far i pump on avg 3hr but i dont do it at night and i dont latch him on at night also. is this the reason why?? soya milk can help ah?? ok, tomor ask hb to get for me.

wendy
ur bb v cute, eyes big big. r u getting better with ur BFG?

coolcoolmum,
Err.. can't remember when leh, I din keep track, I just pump and pump only. Slowly, dun stress yourself. Once you are stress, milk flow will be affected. Same lor, I pump 3 to 4 hrs during daytime. Last pump will be 10pm+ (at first is 11pm+, I slowly shift the timing so can sleep early). Then till the next morning either 6.30am or 7am. I dun pump at nite. Need to rest, if not milkflow will be affected.

wendy,
welcome back! Maverick looks so cheerful

crystallized,
at least Reubern has 3 kg to begin with. My Emma is so tiny that no clothes can fit her and when she moves, her hand can come out of the sleeves. haha! Nevermind, mommy's goodness can fatten them up.

selina,
some gynaes don't believe in massage. i know mine will not approve but i still went ahead but din tell him lor.
This time round, i'll do the massage minus the binding cos my skin is very sensitive. These few days i'm already itching from using the abdominal binder.
As for mixing milk, what i used to do last time is to do "stock take" at the end of the day and "pack" the milk accordingly. Any excess will be frozen as backup.

Just went for my 39wks checkup. Cervix still closed. Gynae says water still good so can still wait till 40wks. if no signs, have to go for induction...*I am not so keen on being induced since I got the impression from forum here that induction can be quite painful*

Hope to bring on natural induction soon....I talk to bb to come out naturally and hope he cooperates with mummy

Wah lao, think my body cannot take confinement food anymore...
just got fever. almost 39 degrees. Quickly took 2 panadol plus my "haven recovered" flu medicine... hopefully tomolo will be better. Long day tomolo somemore.
Whole body like on fire. The moment I drink the black dates drink, the more hot I felt. Plus diarrhea twice today. Sigh... think I really cannot take those heaty confinement food liao. Never been sick for so long.. 2 weeks liao...

Aspialle,
My CL still a bit sick but better. She also say weather no good and eat too heaty liao... luckily only left 5 more days. as for any thing to note, not much actually, just make sure you tell her what you want (BFG, EBM... etc) and what you dun want (I told her i dun like herbs and wine so try to cut down when cooking etc). As long she is clear on what you need, usually should be ok one... Firm with them lor... with respect of coz...

As for full mth package, I not going to get anything else other than the vouchers liao. Initially wanted to get Gobi for friends and colleagues but too siong liao coz I got abt 100 guests for the buffets so decided to just throw buffet and vouchers for those who cannot come. I not very rich leh... must save for money for FM and diapers... haa...

Jenny,
I taking AXA Catering. Food not bad. Was tired with Neogarden coz my mum always order from them. Wanted to try something diff this time. Hopefully it is as good.
Btw, you pump every 3-4hrs, can meet your gals intake ah? I always cannot catch up one leh... everyday only 70% BM, 30% FM the most.

Wendy!! Maverick really looks like YOU!!! so CUTE....

Weikuan,
Rui-en is a nice name... very girl...

I intending to give Rhys the 6-in-1 jab, just to minimize the number of jabs he takes... so heartpain just by thinking abt it... less one jab, less one chance of fever. Thats what my friend told me...

CoolCoolmum,
I take abt 2 weeks to achieve more than 50ml. Be patient. Milk will kick in soon. If you really want to up your supply, i suggest you pump/latch 2-3hrs regularly. The more you latch/pump, the higher/faster your supply.
Now, my last pump is 2.30am and first pump is ard 8plus. Between them, I pump almost every 2-3hrs. Soon you will see it slowly increase day by day. I also start from 20ml until now can up to 70ml-140ml per session. Dun be too stress over your supply too. Will affect one.

aspialle, I am using DALE.

Vivian,
towards the end of confinement, cannot eat too heaty liao. only beginning can tahan very heaty. last week of confinement can slowly take those not too heaty liao like bird nest and ginseng.

moonbaby,
Dun scare of induction. Though is more painful but faster lor.

coolcoolmum,
Yes, thats the name. Guardian Pharmacy is selling at $2.20 per tube.

Vivian,
Throw buffet + giving full mth very siong hor. Me so not rich. But decided to go with it cos I'm stoppign at 2 and this is the last time. My pocket will burn a BIG hole.
Now ah, I can't meet my gal intake lor. She drinking 100ml liao. Nite time she on FM liao, cos my supply only enough for her 1st nite feeding.
My GP dun encourage 6 in 1. I gave my elder one 6 in 1 then later changed to 5 in 1. Cos GP told me there's cases of infant death after bb tookt he 6 in 1 jab.

the steraliser for milk bottle, say if u steralise in the morning and keep it covered , when u need to use the bottle need to steralise again? or steralise once then the bottle can use anytime of the day?

aspialle,
after you sterilise, assemble the bottles and keep till the next use. No need to sterilise again when you need to use.
But if said you leave it in steriliser, you got to re-sterilise after 3 hrs.

wtan, congrats, your bb so adorable

BBgrace, Jenny, vivian, hv u started using breast pump already? can advise how often we need to sterilize the parts? Do we just wash after every use and sterilize once per day or have to sterilize every time after use?

vivian, jenny, crystallized
thanks for the encouragement! today is the 5th day and ms is slowly increasing. from miserable 5ml to now abt 50ml, both breasts.

it really takes alot of perserverance and determination to breastfeed. she still doesnt wanna suckle from breast so hv to more hardworking and pump out every 3hrs.. even in the nite. pump until nipples are sore still continue pumping.. haiz. at least got results lor.. dunno is it the papaya soup or the goat's rue supplement that im taking or the frequent pumping?? hope supply can increase somemore if not i cant keep up with her demands.

aspialle
im using the herbs to bathe, sachet kind. i'll boil in a pot 1st and then transfer to a pail and add warm water from shower tap into it lor. cant find such a big pot to boil the herbs in leh.

btw, how do u keep yrself clean after the massage for breastfeeding? my massage with mdm sadiah is starting on mon early noon..

hi moonbaby,

i went thro' induction and it's not that pain leh. my gynae inserted a pill (i think so) in the morning and my contractions only kicked in later during the wee morning. I know that if u are on drip, contractions will kick in within 4 hrs.

Jenny
i think got. i try to reduce the pixel then post. me PC idiot, cant help it.

Jaslyn got no prob sleeping in aircon rm? Reubern got alot of noises when he sleeps in aircon rm wif us, nasal noises and phlgem like sounds oso. he slept wif CL yest and she said no such nasal & phlegm noise, so 4 time being, he will sleep wif CL, until my confinement finishes and i can sleep wif fan on.

Selina
Dun say u ask stupid qn lah. we all here to learn fr 1 another. i noe we can combine BM tt we expressed on the same day. explanation and storage as explained by Jenny. but cannot combine for diff days.

yest i expressed 3 times aft latching on, so i got 3 btls of milk in the fridge. feel like combining coz each btl is less than 70ml. sometimes can yield 60ml, sometimes 30ml. its always both breasts combine. i dun express a lot fr the breast tt my boy hv not latch on, in case he wanna latch on an hr later. usually i stop when the total combined is abt 100ml (fr diff timing), coz tts how much Reubern drinks. i dun wanna express too much and waste it. at the same time, its not easy to express so much aft latching on. i always got a mentality i wanna reserve some 4 his next latch on, though i noe our breasts will nvr b empty when our bb suckles.

oh i heard abt the zhen zhu powder. now coz my boy is being sunned almost daily, he is heaty, according to my CL, which explains why he makes so much noise when he sleeps. she said he will b ok when he is not being sunned. sigh, i wonder when. poor baby, when i hear him so uncomfortable in his sleep, i oso dun feel gd.

CoolMum
u sure rem wrongly lah coz so far i hv nvr posted any pix here at all.

hey dun worry abt how much EBM u hv aft latching on. its normal. u see me & Selina oso not alot. dun stress the amt we yield each time. we r not robots so not programmed to yield a specific amt each time, ok?

bbgrace
heee, reubern's short sleeve tops become his 3/4 sleeve, and 3/4 sleeve becomes long sleeved! haha
i certainly hope can fatten him up by full mth. i am eating alot now. each time i eat, i think abt the food tt will benefit him, and i drink pretty much too. hopefully all the goodness will oso go to him, juz like when he was in my womb.

storm,
wat breast pump u using? by right shldnt hurt aft expressing rite?
by right our BM will keep up wif baby's demands, provided we latch them on. u keep trying, good luck.

i towel wipe aft massage lor. then use alot of powder so i feel "dry" hahaha

mmummyjoy,
Sterilise the breast pump after each use.

storm,
glad to hear your MS is increasing. Take things easy, dun worry supply not enough. Just continue to pump.
My massage lady dun massage breasts. So before I pump, I just wash hands with soap, then use cotton wool to clean the nipples.

moonbaby,
I was inserted with the pill and on drip for induction. The pain is bearable.

crystallized,
Just reduce the pixel will do.
Jaslyn ok with aircon room leh. Oh yes, these 2 days got sun, so happy

crystallized
im using medela dual pump.. dunno leh, my nipples felts sore after pumping, but still bearable lah. cheyenne still doesnt wanna latch on. she suck for 5sec then pushes away my breast and cry. so frustrating. so no choice got to pump.

jenny
myabe i'll ask my massgae lady not to massage breast also. also thinking of getting the pumpin pal.. my back is aching from leaning forward during pumping.

storm,
I heard medela dual pump (not PIS) always make the nipples feel sore. So go easy on it. Decrease the vacuum first. Think there's not much milk and Cheryenne needs to suck (very hard) to get the milk. Thats why she's frustrated.