(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Hi wtan,

Still not yet decide on one ideal one. We are looking for a biblical name.
now still deciding on either Ethan or Gabriel.

So you find this web site useful!

:mad:

Haiz... my mum down with flu and sore throat, hb too. I think me going to have it soon. Later go see doc. I'm taking leave today and tomor to look after my gal, so not much time to login here.

I saw some qns on the pads and disposable panties.
I heard ppl comment a maternity pad starting with a letter "M" very good. But seldom see this brand, I forgot where I saw it before, dunno is it kiddypalace, only remembered is blue packaging. Anyway, I bought Kotek (sticker type) and I dun like it cos very thick (many mums recommend this wor). TMC use Kotek with loops and use 2 pcs per time, to lengthen the length to avoid staining the bed. I switched to normal pad, Softy, the longest pad I think is 35cm?? It works well with me. One pack of Softy comes in 8 or 10 pcs only, I bought 20 packs ah.
I used disposable panties during the stay at TMC only. Once back home, I used back normal panties. I bought 2 packs of disposable panties.

Ameda Pump
=========
I received it already and took some pics on how to assemble it. Very easy to use and not as filmsy as what ppl said leh. Motor sound very soft. Shall upload pics when I have time.

coral,
i dun need to use the chinese version so actually i dun care how they translate cos ultimately they are using it n they need to translate it such that they can understand... so i find it wasting time for me to do it for them...

wendy,
u allergic to peanuts? dun drink milo, just take the mai4 pian4 lor.

wendy,
INTERESTING! u actually eat sour stuff to cure constipation?! nvr heard of leh!
does it help? coz now i turn to sweet potatoes to help in constipation. and i think its the only sure way tt helps 4 me.
wat sour stuff u took ah?

jackiejon,
will check out the sites later. thks 4 sharing!

ilovemybabyG,
my belly button ah, started to get shallow alrdy, but dun think it will pop out yet. i am ok wif it lah.

doreen,
mayb its time ur little one develops his taste of sweetness, so u crave 4 sweet stuff like me. hehe
aiyah, hubbies always like tt, they juz jump at any opportunity to eat watever we eat, or an excuse to buy wat they actually crave 4. sometimes, i oso wonder who is the one whom's pregnant! haha

coral,
so the sorella one is disposable panties ah? then how come jenny say dun hv? i am confused now leh.
anyway will pop by their counter to check when i can. does all disposable panties not fit us properly as in it will sure b v big and alot of extra mat'l ard us. thats my thinking leh. and was thinking, can the pad hold well wearing such panties?

doreen,
if ur cousin keep "splashing u wif cold water", then i oso dun wanna talk to such a person. affect my mood and oso make me feel uneasy talking to her in case she provides wrong info.

STRETCHMARKS
aiyah, i told u gals i alrdy kena at 16 wks, so if u gals only kena now, nothing to b sad abt, at least din develop as early as me. keke
its not nice but i tell myself this is all the "gift" fr pregnancy. nxt time show my son and tell him how great i am lor. hehehe

dun let it affect u lah. somemore more stretchmarks r developing 4 me. i dun care anymore lah. juz moisturise as usual. i cant stop it fr creeping up.

ilovemybabyg,
think i gained abt the same amount of weight as u.
more or less 5 or 6kg till date.

coral,
think moderate amt of ice cream is ok lah. i always heard dun deprive urself of cravings, else baby will drool alot in future. hahaha, but wat the heck, babies will drool ultimately rite? so dunno if this theory is correct.
as long as dun over consume a particular item, i dun deprive myself.
v lame excuse hor? hehe

jasmine,
ur tummy start to get itchy coz its expanding. try not to scratch as it will leave marks behind.

mummyjoy,
thks 4 sharing the diff brands and prices of disposable panties. v useful leh.

selina,
juz think of it as helping pple over there lah. if u ask them to translate, think they will do a much poorer job than u. hv seen some funny emails on direct translation of English to Mandarin. so hilarious! hahaha
dun stress, hope u will finish it soon.

jenny,
take care ah, now ur turn to fall sick liao. wkend coming, hope u can hv gd rest.
how come u ordered ur pump so early?

DISPOSABLE PANTIES
crystallized,
i was the one who mentioned about the sorella disposable panties previously. The maternity ones are way too big for me. The normal one is just nice.
Those worrying about the wearing "tight" panties after c-section, not to worry. In the 1st week, there is a waterproof plaster over the wound so the elastic of the panty wont cut into it. Anyway, the c-section cut is very low down so even after u have removed the plaster, just wear normal panties where the elastic band will stay above the wound.

MATERNITY PAD
I used the kotex stick-on type when i was in hospital. The nurse also use 2 each time for me. The Kotex one is very thick which was good cos i was bedridden for 1.5days so had to rely on the nurses to change for me. But back home, i used normal pads but changed more frequently. Like Jenny mentioned, Sofy has a very long one which is good.

crystallized,
The sorella maternity panties I mentioned before is not disposable type lah.
I ordered the pump as a gift for my friend who just given birth not long.

The distributor did a demo to show me how the pump works. Very easy and friendly operated.

The motor and the air tube cannot be washed. Air tube will not touched any milk during pumping. The rest of the parts can be washed and sterilised. For the valve, distributor reminded me when remove, do not push out the valve using the valve tip, if not will crack easily. For the suction cap, after washing/sterilise, use kitchen towel to wipe it dry. This is to avoid water vapour touching the air tube. Air tube must be 100% dry, if not fungi will developed.

This is the parts of the Ameda Pump
446544.jpg

Put valve into funnel
446545.jpg

Put on the milk bottle
446546.jpg

Put the sunction cap on the top of the funnel
446547.jpg

Put on the air tube
446548.jpg

Connect air tube to motor. If you are using one pump only, see there's a stopper at the tube? Just insert the stopper to one air tube will do. (pic not very clear for the stopper)
446549.jpg

Lastly, connect AC adaptor. If using batteries, then this step is skipped.
446550.jpg

There you are, the completed set.
446551.jpg

Saw the 2 buttons on the motor? One is to increase speed of the pump, another is the control of suction.

hi bbgrace,

oh u were the one tt mentioned disposable sorella panties ah? sorry me blur ah. hehe

wat sort of pads were the kotex one? specially 4 maternity? used 2 pads at a time? how? 1 pad after the other to make it longer? i heard tt those maternity loop pads not nice to use and juz need to stick to normal thick ones?

does blood flow (issit called lochia?) immed aft delivery?

Jenny,
thks 4 putting up the pix to show us. wow! v impressive! how much does this whole set cost u? wow! as a gift... this muz b a v close fren to u!

r we supposed to juz sit down and stay affixed while the pump works on us? hehehehe, the last pix seemed to suggest tt!

Good morning.

hi jenny,
now is ur mum sick arr? i think of the weather lal. u take care of ur self arr n oso ur daughter. drink more water can prevent soat throat lol.
me n mummyjoy asking about the maternity pads n disposable panties. thanks for the info. but so far i didn't see kotex brand lel. i only saw the same brand (cant remember the name) at few shop. thanks for the info.
iif i m using d.panties for the whole mth, i think hav to stock more at home hor.
u bought this pump for ur fren, ur fren must very close to u hor...but this pump seem nice lel.

hi selina & crystallized,
thanks for the advice. lucky check with ur gals now. b4 tat i oredi scatch the itchy part. i think start now , hav to 'ren' lol, if not stretch mark will b a lot. thanks thanks....

crystallised, I mentioned too lah. They have two types. One can cover entire tummy, one lower. So you can choose. Jenny mentioned b4 their non-disposable panties are comfortable. But she never try their disposable. You go see, now they have discount.

Jenny, thnak you for the online demonstration. Is this for your fren or yourself? You bought it for 285?

I just realise I lost 1.5kg even after eating so much. Work stress???

Selina, why would scratching cause stretch markS?

jenny, eat more fruits and drink water. I have 4 sick colleague in my office too. Two sitting beside me, I feel quite scared so been eating lots of fruits and drink plenty of water.

crystallized,
yes the kotex one is specially for maternity and u can use 1 pad overlapping the other one to make it longer. cos when u lie down, the blood will flow backwards. the nurse also ever used 2 pads stacked together. wah piang super thick.
yes, the blood is called lochia.

Re pumping, yup, you're supposed to stay put with that 2 funnels stuck on you. Like milking a cow hor. But after a while, you'll learn to multi-task when pumping. i used to tandem pump ie bb suckle one side while i pump the other. When i pump at work, i bring my laptop in (wireless network) and pump and work at the same time. haha!

Good afternoon to everyone. Finally I'm done with my translation....

Coral,
Acutally I also dunno y. Read some where on it so I try not to scratch. Just use my palms to soothing the itch gently.

So now no need to worry abt putting on weight liao la... can lose weight some more. not bad huh.... :p

Wei Kuan,
I like the name very much.

Bad day yesterday. My exam paper have 1 big problem. The error case is brought up all the way to the school's HQ liao...
Looks like all my hard work all burst into the air. Promotion gone too... Nearly cried yesterday. But nothing I can do now...
On top of that, I am the only chief invigilator yesterday so have to rush from 3rd level to 4th level so many times due to questions and
problems, now my hipache went worse. Got to limp liao... Sigh....
Today, filed up official report regarding the error to my boss and can only hoped for the best.
Luckily today's invigilation went well... sigh... think yesterday's stress must have scared Rhys... I scared myself too...

These 2 days all rushing to do marking and finalising marks... damn stress....
===========================================================================================================

Hi Jenny,
Thanks for the photos of the pump. Very nice leh... how much you bought har? How come this brand was not popular in the market?
So far only saw mostly Medela and Avent.

Disposable Panties
===============
My SIL told me during her delivery at Mt.E, the nurse recommended non-disposable panties (with holes, think for vendilation??) which are very
good and comfortable. She highly recommend that too and thats why she never use the disposable panties she bought that time.
Let me go find out more and let you gals know soon...

Weikuan,
Nice name. Isit the same as the Rui-en from TCS? The one who sang during National day with Taufiq?

Selina,
Gap is buying online rite? You got the web site?

Vivian,
Take care of yourself. Guess cant help it since it already happened. **HUGZ**

Yes. Gap can buy online. Think got free shipping to US states for purchases above US$100. The web address is www.gap.com. Go check it out. We can organise a spree here ourselves. I have VpostUSA, think Doreen has an account also.

Selina
Summer sale now right??
But alot of things already out of stock when I went in last week.

Crystallized
Its my sister that is pouring cold water. My cousin at least offer me a lot of advice and stuff we are of the same age. So yah lor I decided not to talk to my sis on my baby things liao dun want to spoil my mood.
Me also same as u got stretch marks since 3rd mth. Now still deciding if the ones on my breast are spider vines or stretch marks too. But according to my cousin my marks are very little compare to her but now only 5+ mth still got another 4 mths to go....

Wendy
My sis dun joke with me one lah she is always like that think she is always right. Normally she keep talking about ppl's bad things I just 1 ear in 1 ear out but feel this is too much lor. Saying about other bbs names as if only the names she give her kids are so very nice and good....sigh
Becos of her charactor keep having fights with my parents but in the end only her kids will suffer.

Hi Mummyjoy,

U have to wear pants for the first 3 classes, cos they will teach u some mild exercises, and also we have to sit on the mat on the floor. First lesson on breastfeeding, second one on delivery and how to manage pain and contractions, and when to know u are going into labour. the classes are very fun! Hubbies also had their fun getting down to doing exercises, haha

I have gained 10kg so far... gynae said abit too much ah.... =( controlling my sugar and carbo intake now....

Coral
So nice haagen das and free??? U make me drool...
Me restrict icecream becos of my weight gain lor. Normally I go out with hubby or my mum sure will eat ice cream once...hehe
Cannot tahan lah cold drinks also keep drinking just cut down on carbonated drinks cos of the sugar.

Wei Kuan
I went to check out the Mini washing machine yesterday. Decided not to buy liao cos I feel its really too small. Dun think can wash clothes and napkins together. If have to wash more than once a day I might as well use my normal machine can spin dry somemore. And I saw normal washing machine selling for $300+ only.
My main concern is actually dun want to mix with hubby's work clothes cos very dirty and dusty. If space is not a concern think I might just buy another normal washing machine for bb clothes.

Deedee
I also gain 10kg liao maybe abit more. My gynea until now never say anything leh. The other time I ask her if it is too much cos I gain 3 kg in 1 mth than she say a bit much lor ask me to cut down sugary stuff.

Selina
Jap stuff not ex aah?? if not we can do spree there lor. Me now haven really bought bb clothes yet was thinking bb grow very fast so see how much handme downs I can get first and how many clothes my in laws buy before I know how much to buy. But finally bout a pair of booties from mothercare that I have been aiming...hehe
So cute it looks like a bear's feet. Sale from $19 to $13. Last pair so hubby quickly buy cos I tell him I want bb to wear that for his 1st mth.....haha

Vivian
Try not to think so much liao since cannot do anything liao. Rhys is with u all the way he support his mummy he help u destress by kick boxing....hehehe

Stretch mark cream
-------------------
During the motherhood fair I bout a traveling pack of palmer's creams. $10 comes with stretch mark cream, nipple cream, oil and nappy rash cream. Smell quite nice cos got a bit cocoa smell. Seems to help my strechmarks abit cos they were bright red and popup but after applying the color change to darker red and it doesn't popup anymore. So I think quite good cos the sales girl did say it will treat stretchmarks as well as prevent. So think I will buy to use when I finish the small size one.

doreen,
no leh. quite ok. i bought 2 sets (1 is a pack of 2 rompers and the other is a pack of 4 pieces - 3 tops n 1 romper). total + shipping think not more than S$50. Here's pictures of what i bought.

Dragon Rompers (2-piece pack)
Bought bigger size prob can only wear at 6mths or so.
446940.jpg

Sorry. Cant find the picture of the other set on the web anymore. Think sold out. Will take pictures and post later.

thanks, I also like the name with an "en" and I like Rui.

doreen, discuss with hb and also decided not to buy mini washing machine liao.

I have spend abt $300 on maternity cloths already.

I feel so gulity now, is it a bit too much to spend $300. I told myself to stop already since only 3 more mths.
I have not spent money on baby items(mostly habd me down and some MIL bought) but my own cloths spent abt $300.
My friend said carry a girl will be more vain and prettier, duno true or not, maybe true becos i can wake up at 1am to paint my toenails, hehehe.

The more i think, the more heartpain,
but most cloths still can wear after giving birth.

446947.png

Wei Kuan
I didn't buy alot cos I'm not working and dun go out everyday so didn't spend so much on maternity. Mostly I buy the tops can wear even after birth. I like the singlet from Dorothy Perkins only $13. So I not heartpain when I buy more and dun really look like maternity....hehehe
Imagine I was wearing top and bottom maternity my auntie ask me still can wear like that aah??....Hahaha

crystallized, Jasmine,

Maternity Pads
=============
Kotex got maternity pads. Is pinkish is color. One pack 10 pcs. Very thick, so I dun like it. Like what babygrace explained, the nurse will overlap one pc over another to "lengthen" the length of the pad.

Nurses prefer those maternity loop pads cos easier to wear for us.

Kotex Maternity Pads can be found at NTUC, $5+ per pack.

Ameda Pump
=========
This whole set cost $290 ($285 for bulk purchase and $5 delivery charge). Original price is $300 include delivery and demo.

Depends on your preference and position, my friend can use the 2 pumps and do other things at the same time. Err... dun need to put the pump on the motor while pumping lah.

No lah, not very close friend, but she is using one from her friend, so tot of buying her one, so she no need to loan from friend lor. Shared by another 2 friends.

Vivian,
According to the distributor, if he is going to place this pump at dept stores, the price will increase. He won't be able to sell at $300 nett. Cos the dept store will charge "rental fees" for the shelf where the stocks are placed. You see, Medela and Avent are willing to pay for the fees, so that explains why their products are so ex. So far, this pump is to be purchased either via distributor or Moms In Mind or Singapore Breastfeeding Organisation.

Wei Kuan,
I spent more than $500 on maternity clothings for my 1st pregnancy. For this pregnancy, I spent another $300 cos can't resist buying new clothings!

Jasmine,
If you are using disposable panties at home, yes you need a lot.

coral,
This set is for a friend. I will buy mine nearer to EDD since delivery is included.

Aiyo, you also be careful. A lot of ppl sick, down with flu.

jasmine,
i think its hard to control when the itching gets bad. juz try ur best to curb.

coral,
i nvr wear panties tt covers tummy. hehe
i find it v funny and i cant get used to it. so i wear low waist ones, which were my panties b4 pregnancy. so far heng heng still can wear quite comfortably. hope i dun expand until i cant even wear those panties.

u lost weight? aiyoh, mayb really due to stress. try to relax lah. u juz go back as contract staff rite? dun overstress lah. better monitor urself closely.

bbgrace,
do u noe wats the loop for then? i had always wondered. but so far haven seen the actual maternity pad b4. yah i can imagine its like 2 thick maxi pads on 1 another. i used to use ultra thin pads only.

hehehe, so funny! milking cows!
yah i heard u get better wif practice, can bf on 1 side and pump on the other. heee, dunno i so powerful can multitask like tt anot. will only noe aft i tried it.

Wei Kuan,
u only spent $300? i nvr really count but my discreet estimation is at least $500. and i stopped buying liao. Yes, actually almost 90% of my maternity clothes can b worn after delivery.
wanna make sure my money spent it worth it.

Selina,
Finally finished ur tough translation work ah? now can do online shopping liao.

the dragon rompers v cute leh!

Doreen
oh paiseh! i mized up! thot its ur cousin. yah, juz avoid talking to ur sis abt baby stuff since her response not tt gd. much better tt u talk to pple whom enjoys sharing this topic wif u.

jenny,
yah i noe maternity pads r those pink in pkg. hv seen them so often until it registers in my brain long ago liao.
but did heard not necc to use maternity pads. we can wear an extra long pad (am assuming its thinner than maternity ones) & add a "heavier duty" one on top of this to ensure wun leak lor. can do?

heard abt ameda pumps, but its juz not commonly sold in stores. looks v pro and less exp than medela PIS.

crystallized,
You know last time women use loops to "carry" their pads? My mum's generation used this. It is used by "tie" a string round your waist and "connect" the string to the loop of the pad to make it in place.

No need to use maternity pads. I used Sofy that longest one, dunno is 35cm or 38cm and change often. Won't leak.

Ya, there are feedbacks that Ameda Pumps work as well as Medela PIS. Personally I have not used PIS, so no comments.

Hi MTBs,

Finally clear up my work, can take a breather already.

Hi wendy,

The reasson why i guessed u are working in BCA, cos my friend in BCA also tell me that there is a similar posting in her company. What a concidence!

Hi jenny,

U better take care too. The weather very erratic, that's why a lot of pple is sick.

Hi doreen,

Oh, the washing machine cant wash a lot of clothes? I was also thinking of getting it.

Hi wei kuan,

I have also spend abt $300 on maternity clothes, though I have hand-me-downs from SILs. I have told myself initially cant spend too much also, but some of my SIL clothes are too big for me as my tummy is still quite small. But Perfect Mum salegirl was telling me that the maternity pants can still be worn after delivery.

Weight gain
===========

Once again, envy those MTBs who will feel hungry after meals. Me no cravings or hunger pangs after my normal meals.

Jenny & BBgrace, TQ for the info. on pads & panties

Jenny, big *hugz*, TQ for the demo & pix on the Ameda pump

Dee dee, TQ for the natal class info.

Wei Kuan, Rui-en is a sweet name
I spend S$500+ on maternity wear liao...the ones that fit me has no discount lei so bo bian still got to buy but hv bot those that can wear till birth, hopefully I won't expand too much in 3rd tri lor..hey, I heard dresses will be more comfy on 3rd tri, maybe u consider to get more dresses than pants lor.

Hi coral,

thks for the info. I'm keeping a positive mind on my bb condition.

Hi selina,

the rompers are very nice. Till now, I have not bought any clothes for the bb. I wanted to let her wear when she's discharged from the hospital and 1st mth. Me not able to get anything during sales period.

Haha, I've spend close to $2k on maternity wear liao. ;P Trust me to say I don't want to buy maternity clothes, but in the end...Retail theraphy, I guess...

crystallized,
the stick-on pads don't have loops. loops are only for those where tie the string around the waist. Don't ask me how to do it cos i've never used it. looks tedious to me. haha!

you'll become a pro in pumping after a while. No choice, have to learn to multi-task cos it's at least 20-30 mins each pump session. i used to pump 4x in a day, so that's almost 2 hours gone if you don't do something else.