(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

cheekz

gee thanks !! ya Rachel is drinking FM so I guess she is ok with the cheese sticks. So u feed Rae Ann the cheese cold ? as in do you leave the cheese in room temp for a while (cheese not melting) before u feed her ?

olsen

i think the 9 mth assessment is optional.

cheekz,
Hannah has learnt the art of SCREAMING too! Big problem when she's bound to her stroller while mommy and daddy chomp on their food. She will SCREAM to be put to the lap so that she can TOUCH everything on the table! Paiseh ley! Such a small baby can scream so loud!

I am going to book an appointment with polyclinic for Hannah's 9 months assessment. Very sian to leave her health booklet empty. Must fill up nicely!

cheekz,
i totally understand what you are saying about shutting her up.

I will definately avoid choosing flight times during Trinity waking hours in the future. On the flight back yesterday, she was fully awake and a non-stop chatterbox. She wasn't whining or crying, just keep talking and talking and talking and talking non stop. And her voice isn't all that soft. I had to keep apologising to stranger when we are alighting for her being such a nusience on during the flight.

Last nite totally reminds me of a Cathay Pacific commercial that was on TV about 2 years back with a noisy toddler on the flight that shut up only after ice cream was offered to her.

When that commercial was on air 2 years back, HB and I would think how cute to have a little gal like that and now we start to 'regret' for wishing that.

Don't know if that commercial was aired in SGP too. Will try to see if can upload to YouTube and share with you all.

ilb,
the cheese is kinda soft when taken out of the fridge for awhile. she likes to gum it and can finish the whole stick in one seating...

Brenda,
do u know if its ok to feed baby the jap white radish called DAIKON?

my friend gave me a recipe for it recently and it is very delicious...she use it to make veg stock to feed her kids noodles, etc.

cheekz

ok i'll try one on Rachel ! if not, I will finish it ! i luv cheese !!
818981.gif

yawn.. it's only 430pm
818982.gif

melissa, angeline,

My ear drums were almost @ breaking point some times....i cannot STAND the SCREAMING! I think i'm gonna buy ear plugs!

In the past, i never noticed babies, let alone their cries...now, when somebody else's baby cries, my SKIN would curl! I just can't stand crying and screaming eventho i never noticed it in the past...

sometimes when i see babies cry, i have this big HUGE urge to carry the babies for their parents just so that they will STOP the screaming...

oh and I try not to bring rae ann out for dinner...it defeats the whole purpose...coz dinner time is for me and hubby to relax and catch up with each other...

OK mummies,
managed to upload the CX commercial on YouTube. HB and I were so in love with the gal in this commercial that we actually made the effort to tape it. ENJOY .
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DDOJkc5fx8g

For those viewing in the office, please turn down the volume as the name of the commercial is actually called "I Scream" (aka ice cream)

Haha tat's a funni ad. Cannot imagine our bb growing up & talking non stop Mmmm....

Nowadays, I would always bring biscuit or some food to keep yun shut up when we r outside but when they r older how to stop them from yaking non stop???

eling/brenda
maybe that's why the rubber ring in the blender broke, coz it can't withstand the heat! I really need to get mine replaced.

SALT
talking about salt. can anyone advise? I've been wanting to get some cheese and yogurt for sophie to try BUT everything's got salt in them. Anyone found any that doesn't?

Emma/porridge alternatives
Ooooo i've been having difficulty feeding Sophie porridge coz she didn't really like it and i couldn't tell why. SO today i did a few different things. I made veggie stock n cooked the porridge w it, smells super good. I didn't blend the porridge like i norm do and i served the dishes separately (follow Brenda... heh heh). But....... i made this yummy dish - chicken with cooked pear. SHE ATE UP EVERYTHING! For the first time! I was so happy!! Try try... heh...

talking about salt.
I think for everything we eat, as long as its in moderation it should be ok.
Apparently in some parts of China, children suffer in physical development becos of the lack of salt in their diet. From what I recall, there's some kind of mineral (I think its iodine or something like that)that is essential for growth too.

But we do need to consider that our babies kidney and liver are still so small and young, so if we do need to give it to them, please do so only in tiny tiny amounts and definately not for every meal in adult portion.

Talking abt salt,

Yoghurt no salt lah... I had found two type of yoghurt for baby at Market place. But hor, i cannot find plain type leh. They sell in pack of 6 wit different flavours. Anyone manage to find plain type?

<font color="aa00aa">Ling, wat a coincidence! I was also looking for cheese n yoghurt without salt but couldn't find any at cold storage just now.</font>

<font color="0000ff">Brenda</font>, Thanks! Arianne looks so cute n funny in the photo!

<font color="119911">Adele also wanna join the ogre club! Will get hubby to have Mcdonalds tom!</font>

melody
Is Marketplace the one at Raffles City?

Angeline
Yah my FIL said the same thing. That a bit of salt is ok.

Alicia
YAH! so difficult to find right?

Feeding Yogurt

Yogurt helps in your babies digestive system. So, do note that it may not be suitable for some tummies. So better get "baby yogurt" as its gentler on the tum tum.

I fed rae ann both horizona nd Petit miam...so far ok...she has softer stools after that but its NOT diarhea lah...

ling,

did u get ur chicken pear recipe from Annabel Carmel?

I find the ingredients she use rather "adventurous"...ideal for babies who have no allergy issues...

nonetheless, they look so yummy and easy to make...

cheekz
heh yah those are two of the yogurts i've narrowed down to too...
think i might go w yoplait coz they have those for babies.
chicken pear recipe - nope my friend mentioned it so i decided to just try and it was good! Yah Annabel Carmel has quite innovative stuff, prob better when the child is older. But a bit on the sweet side i think. i need some adventure staying home too so i tend to play around w sophie's food... oops..

<font color="aa00aa">Dear Mummies</font>

According to this site, babies need only 1gm of salt a day.

So, if u feed the entire pack of the Baby Yoplait which contains 62mg of sodium, roughly this is how much sodium the baby is eating:

1000mg = 1g
62mg = 0.062g

So, the sodium content in that 1 serving of yogurt is rather negligible.

To be more certain, u can use this site to calculate whether the amt of sodium content in the food is within the acceptable range.

<font color="0077aa">ilb</font>

According the site I posted above, even FM and BM contains sodium.

the sodium content per serving for the kraft cheese stick is 320 mg or 0.32mg. I usually feed half a stick for snacks in between her feeds.

Should still be within the acceptable range for babies.

<font color="0000ff">Cheekz</font>

Wow! Your scientific measurements very impressive. Thanks for sharing it!

<font color="0000ff">Ngor Hee bone soup</font>

Has anyone used Ngor Hee bone soup to cook porridge? The soup is very tasty after 4 hours of cooking in the slow cooker. However it taste somewhat salty. Is it okay to give it to baby? Chloe loves her porridge cooked this way.

<font color="0000ff">Emma</font>
Any luck with your photo resizing? When I save to jpeg, I put about 7 for for picture quality.

If you still have problem with it, I can try it out on my pc for you. Just send me the original via email.

<font color="0000ff">Jamie, Melissa, Eling</font>
Thanks for the compliments. We got that photo by chance. Chloe was just moving her hands here and there and this one so happen to make her look vain. Hee hee.

<font color="0000ff">Rexbabie</font>,
Ogre Megan look so cute! Looks like she's fully recovered from her flu. She looks happy! I love her thick hair!!!

<font color="0000ff">Yuna</font>,
OgreC is so sweet! Complete with matching outfit some more. C has a lovely smile.

<font color="0000ff">Brenda</font>,
Did you bully A to get that apologetic photo har? So cute!

PG, I tried this method to make porridge before. stock = fish bones + 1 carrot + 2 garlic clove. Chavez loves it. Unfortunately he got rashes/eczema on his face the next day after slurping down the porridge. tried twice with the same results. I think it could be the salt content due to the bones so I have since stopped it. But will def. try the fish bone stock again when he is older. Chavez got super-sensitive skin.

I found this recipe: Homemade Vegetable Stock from A.K. cookbook. Will try this sometime soon. I think will not be as salty.

- 1 onion, peeled
- 1 garlic clove, peeled and chopped
- 2 large carrots
- 1 large leek
- 1 stalk celery
- 1 tbsp olve oil (i will omit this)
- 4 cups water
- 1 sprig parsley (i will also omit this)
- 1 sprig thyme (optional)
- 1 bay leaf
- 4 peppercorns (i will also omit this)

The recipe requires to sweat (?) the vegetables first. But I think I will just throw everything into a pot and simmer over small fire.

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Cheekz</font></font>, that Daikon is Japanese Radish which I use for making either spare ribs soup, stew soya pork or the Japanese curry, it's tastier than the locally grown radish.. and as far as I'm concerned, that's a safe veg but again according to some aunties it's known as a cooling veg, so in moderation is certainly acceptable.. I've also done winter melon, marrow and old cucumber. All is known as 'cooling' veg, but what the heck.. :p

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Melissa</font></font>, my A used to hate cereal of any brands, u name it, I've tried it.. anyhow this morning I decided to try oatmeal cereal and she loved it! I also added banana which also happens to be in her list of hate foods! but she ate them all.. don't give up on the porridge, keep trying.. use alternatives.. jap rice? maybe it's the temperature? or the consistency? or not wet enough? etc... many many possible reasons why bbs don like something.. we just need to be determined to explore.. otherwise u can start wheat which is like pasta as alternative staple, that is if you're comfy with the gluten intolerance matter..
Do u mean cereal as in rice cereal? If it is, then it's fine to miss porridge! cos it's also rice yah..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Angie</font></font>, errr your hub only learned the %&#%(#%) hokkien words?! heehee..
And err, no no video montage of bb photos during wedding for me, I get mushy mushy and my hair stands each time I watch them during my friends' weddings!

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Yuna & Peachie</font></font>, just like to thank you girls for making me buy TIGER food jar! Tonight was the first time I fed Arianne outside with that jar, and it was so convenient! My heart felt so shiok using it cos I only paid $39 for a $139 stuff, and the made does feels like a $139 product! Simply LOVE it!!

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Melody</font></font>, nowadays whenever Arianne and Jovann meet, they yak non stop! And you got to see it cos it's damn funny.. I think <font color="ff0000">Buttons</font> is trying to upload the video she managed to capture them talking..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Ling-ah</font></font>, yahh hor now that u mentioned, I think the reason why my ring broke was becos whenever I use hot water to rinse the compartment, the rubber ring will expand, and after it's been expanded and I blend, the 'extra' rubber will run out and that's how the break happens! make sense or not?! aiyooo I've been wondering why and how mann..

Wah.. I think your HYPY is better than mine already

<font color="ff0000">Salt!!</font> - A lot of foods edible contains SODIUM, but that's natural salt and it doesn't cause as much harm, however if we deliberately add salt to our baby, to me that's an unhealthy practice. So if we can eliminate that ill practice at their tender age, we're giving them a healthy start of their life cos in the near future they're going to load lots and lots of salt into their body. My bro was hospitalised for kidney stones when he was only 3/4 years old!So mummies, please, if u can, do not add salt, not even tiny amount.. But salt is found in most of the commercially processed foods like cheese sticks or yoghurt so for this we've no choice, but we do have a choice when we're doing the cooking ourselves.. Sorry if I'm nagging again!!

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Pigeon</font></font>, no I didn't! somehow she's just irritated with the ears whenever she sees it.. so it's difficult to get a pic of her smiling while wearing it.

Fish Bone porridge - when u said 'salty', does it mean 'sweet' as in the soup is 'sweet' when we use bones to boil a long long time? If it's bone's salty/sweet, I guess it's ok then..

PG.. i've not had time to try resizing it yet.. hehe.. i'll let u know after i've tried..
thanx babe!!!

ling.. me lazy to cook separate.. lol.. i juz dump everything in the slowcooker and let it cook... keke..

Cheekz
so we can start giving babies yoghurt now? My boy juz turned 8 mths so he is considered one of the youngest in the thread, so not sure if can give him yoghurt now? And its chilled rite? does it upset their tummy since they r not used to chilled items? sorry if these qns sounded v silly!
u girls got me so keen to introduce yoghurt to him.

Ling
wow! ur pear wif chix dish sounds so yummy! can shhare the recipe? R absolutely hates pureed fruits so he hasnt ate much fruits all these while. luckily he is a veggie lover so no problem wif bowel movements.

Brenda
the only way i made R eat his apple is by scrapping the flesh direct off the fruit using a metal teaspoon and feeding him. and on the other hand, i cut a piece of the apple and let him lick, suck at the same time. i find tt he eats his apple this way. it saves the hassle of me puree-ing since he dun like it. i din dare let him try bananas as he still has phlegm and banana will worsen it.

PG
yest my mum used ngor hee, ikan bilis and pork bone to cook porridge. i swear it smelt so yummy & heavenly tt i wished she had cooked more so tt i cld oso eat! she oso added jap pumpkin and i managed to eat 2 mouthful aft my boy din wan it. HEAVENLY taste!!!
so i think this porridge stock combination is more 'potent' than urs and its def more flavourful. but since no addn flavourings r added, i feel its safe.

Angeline
u r right, everyone needs some sodium. and i think its iodine deficiency tt causes muscle cramps....

Hi Cheekz,

Yup, you are on!!!!
I have no probs on meeting you at Vivo... When you free? Sms me can? But hor, we stay pretty near each other leh. We can also meet up at Tampines Mall or somewhere near too, or pop by each other's place!

Hurray, cannot wait to meet up with our little ones! Since it's the last week before you start work, we MUST definitely go out and have a good time yah?

Hi Brenda,

Aiya, no probs lah... Good sia! very convenient hor? I have not started using my thermal food jar yet, cos it's darned tough to feed Clarence solids (hene cannot imagine battling it out with him outside!)

Oatmeal cereal??? Sounds good! Where you got your oatmeal? How you cook it? Thanks in advance!

Okie okie, here's my update...

1) Brenda's Arianne - 8mths4wks (DOB 04Sep06) - 9.3kg/71cm
2) E-Ling's Amabel - 9mths6days (DOB 21Aug06) - 6.6kg/70cm
3) Melissa's Hannah - 8mths2wks (DOB 14Sep06) - 7.6kg/66cm
4) Angeline's Trinity - 8mth1wk (DOB 19Sep06) - 7.8kg/68cm
5) Emma's Enzo - 8 mths 4 wks (D.O.B 060906) - 8.6kg/72cm
6) Edksd's Kai - 8mths2wks (DOB 12Sep06) - 7.6kg/duno height
7) Jasmine's Jadelle - 8 months 4 weeks (DOB03092006) - 8.2kg/ dunno height!
8) Peachie's Clarence - 9 months (D.O.B 31 Aug 2006) - 7.7kg/ 72.5cm (based on PD's visit last month)

hmm.....thks all the mummies for the tips using fish bones and pork bones to cook porridge. sound so yummy!!! i will cook it tis weekend, i will definately cook more so tat i can have a serving too! hee....

<font color="ff0000">Ling</font>, totally agree with u that its so difficult to find. But now I guess its much easier after getting so much info from the mommies. I love this thread man!
kao_love.gif

<font size="+1"><font color="aa00aa">Cheekz</font></font>, Thanks for the detailed info on yoghurt! I will let Adele try baby yoplait then.

how u mummies measure their height? its been ages since i did (the last time was when he was 3 or 4 mths old)... tried using measuring tape but this boy wldn't stay still.
anyway wld like to provide an update.

1) Brenda's Arianne - 8mths4wks (DOB 04Sep06) - 9.3kg/71cm
2) E-Ling's Amabel - 9mths6days (DOB 21Aug06) - 6.6kg/70cm
3) Melissa's Hannah - 8mths2wks (DOB 14Sep06) - 7.6kg/66cm
4) Angeline's Trinity - 8mth1wk (DOB 19Sep06) - 7.8kg/68cm
5) Emma's Enzo - 8 mths 4 wks (D.O.B 060906) - 8.6kg/72cm
6) Edksd's Kai - 8mths2wks (DOB 12Sep06) - 7.6kg/duno height
7) Jasmine's Jadelle - 8 months 4 weeks (DOB03092006) - 8.2kg/ dunno height!
8) Peachie's Clarence - 9 months (D.O.B 31 Aug 2006) - 7.7kg/ 72.5cm (based on PD's visit last month)
9) Crystallized's Reubern - 8 mths (DOB 29 Sep 06) - 8.5kg/ ?? cm

Yuna
yah their porridge r v v yummy! When i cook, i always cook extra so i can help myself too!
greedy me!

Any mummies flight travel with baby? Is it we have to carry baby all the time? Can we open the stroller and have baby sit there?

Mrs Cao.. the planes have special "cots" for babies... u dun have to carry the baby all the time. infact, its not advisable to carry the baby on board a flight..
hth..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">jRt</font></font>, that's what I told u over my sms right? cut him a slice then let him chew on it. But if your R is on the more advance stage of teething like Button's Jovann, then u might want to be watchful when he chews on..

When u said u pureed the apples, I supposed u blanch/steam the apple first right? and R didn't like it? and when u scrap direct using a metal spoon, does he eat it though? Could be his taste buds prefer fresh fruits..

For yoghurt, I served A about 15 mins after I took it out of the fridge and I added some sliced fruits in. I used the organic yoghurt, it came with vanilla and peach flavour. Bought it together with Buttons at Tanglin Mall's market in fact. I can't remember the brand, if u want to know, maybe can check with Buttons..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Peachie</font></font>, I bought the Healthy Times' oatmeal cereal le.. very easy to make.. I just use about 3 TBS of it, add about 60ml of FM and mashed bananas. For this morning, I used mashed papaya. I think the other fruits we could add to this cereal combi will be avocadoes, apples, pears, melon!

I also want to meet lil CLARENCE! let me know when u are free.. I've met most bbs in this thread and Clarence is one of the few I haven't
Sorry ahh don think I can make it to Tampines la! heehee.. I'll be lost on PIE itself.. heh

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">E-Ling</font></font>, no la.. I don think the U-like cannot be used, I've been using it since I bought it. Though the seal broke (which u could get a replacement for $2 at Isetan), it still does the job lor..

Hi Brenda,

Aiya, you want to meet the little crank-KING Clarene??? Can can!!! We can got Vivocity and you join us there! But hor, it is good if we can find somewhere that allows the babies to play while we talk! Otherwise, I fear that Clarence cannot sit still/stay quiet and there goes our happy hour!

Thank thanks!!! I will go and find the healthy times cereal later. keke...

Peachie

I have just opened a box of Healthy Times Multi-grain cereal, if you want to try some for Clarence, let me know. i can pass some to you, dun tik C can finish the whole box in 4 weeks cos she hardly eat cereals, maybe abt 1-2 times a week only.

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Peachie</font></font>, the only 2 places I know which is possibly bb crawlers friendly are, 1.Globetrotters at United Square or 2.GoGo Bambini's cafe
I'm going to globetrotters this Fri for my multi cultural playdate so I will check it out how friendly it is for our bbs to be surviving there.. When u free?

OkOk.. let's do a Crank-King & Crank-Queen meeting! :p sounds like some pots and pans hor? heh OH! bring your ogle-ears out yah
I've got mine too, so all of us can embrace it together

Hi Yuna,

Sure sure!!!
Thanks a million! I pop over to get it from you when you are free can? It's fantastic that we are neighbours!

Hi Brenda,

Great!!! I am on leave from 7 June (thurs) to 8 June (fri). Anyday and anytime is fine!!!
Haha, I like the crank-KING/QUEEN thingy!

Harlow Cheekz,

You can or not? Bring lil Rae Ann along!!! Sounds fun!!!

Hi Yuna,

No probs! When is it convenient? Tomorrow around 9.50pm can??? Tonight got CSI!!! My favorite! Pai seh...
No need too much... 1 serving to try enough liao. Thanks dear!

Brenda, ok thanks yah i also dun wanna waste money to buy another one, cos i got U-Like and Mouline brand liao. Maybe just need to waste the $2 for the rubber . Hehe!

Me too will let Amabel try on the yogurt. Hee!

peachie & Brenda,
hey, i was saying i wanna apply leave on 9th june friday to destress after a long and hard week this week..

mAybe we can meet lah.. but with bbs? stressful boh!

Jasmine,

Aiya, I cannot leave baby alone with the maid at home leh... If I am to go out, baby and maid have to come along too!

Treat it as baby's day out lah..... Bring little Jadelle along leh!