(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

in the whole redhill area, i only liked blk 81
the rest r too far in, away fr main rd.

same for clarence lane, only liked the 2 blks nearer to main rd.

cheekz wanna ask u which r the nice beaches in perth worth visiting? we intend to self drive out of the city. any must-go places?

ILB
u r right, its those near the markets and yet not directly opp the MRT stn. v dark at nite. scary. aft i kena robbed in the lift b4, i am v terrified alrdy.

edksd
its not those directly opp the redhill mrt. u hv to walk furthur in. ILB noes which blocks i am talkg abt.
OIC, u stayg in 3 rm now, then yah need to upgrade liao. so wat r ur plans? flats so exp u still considering the area? why do u wanna stay near the area? coz of ur ILs or its near ur mum?

jrt

oh no ... what a bad experience you had ! so sorry to hear that.

ok start saving gal .. we have to stop going for sales else how to get our dream hse ?
812561.gif

ive been staying here for my entire life. its near orchard n cbd n near my wrkg plc.
my mom is staying in zion rd. en bloc soon. new flats will be ard havelock near beo crescent.

want to stay near her. i can visit kai during lunch time, can go pick him up early aft wrk.

my in laws r staying in bishan but i dun like it coz of the stupid cte jam. 20min ride can become 40min or worse. waste time.

jrt, i oso dun like dark plc. last time my flat below is a row of shops. so its v safe. now only a mama shop near the lift lobby. but better than nothing. someone to watch over us

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Ling</font></font>
Sophie looks very sweet! Yeah I think I'll get to see the sweet girl this Sunday hor?

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Shasha</font></font>
Wow ur saraah kenna bullied ah? Haha... But both babies looks like having a great time together leh.

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Brenda</font></font>
I funny? No leh... I really searched and searched. Finally I concluded that only Kinokuniya have so this month I won't hunt around liao. Just go Kinokuniya when I pass by to buy. heh...

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Mrs Sim</font></font>
When need to transfer? Sorry ah but I not sure how much I gotta transfer over. Can advice me? TQ!

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Redhill\Bt Merah\Tiong Bahru flats</font></font>
So many of you in same shoes as me ah? Actually I almost submitted my application last month when the Tiong Bahru flats are up for ballot. Then calculate calculate... dunno how to cough up the cash to pay if really "luckily" got it. So gave up that idea ler

Hi Hi,

I am baack!!!

Wah wah, so much property talk this afternoon! Yep yep... I practically spent 18 years of my life staying at the Bt Merah area... I know that place very very well!

Anyway, it is totally unbelievable that my mom's leaky and problematic 30 year 5-room flat at Bt Merah Central (with cracked walls, moulding ceilings and peeling paint) can now sell for $50K above valuation (yep! that is what her neighbours are asking for...), and the avg selling price is approx $430K per unit!

Guess we'd better stay put.
Cheekz, you are absolutely right about Clarence Lane!!! That was one of the places which we were totally interested in before discovering that the 5-room units there are selling at more than half a million each!!!! Haha, but I can imagine Little Clarence growing up at Clarence Lane....
People will not believe him when he tells them his address!

JRT,

We commute everyday to and from my mom's place!!! Very very tiring. We get up at 7am, go through the infamous CTE traffic jam(s), reach mom's place at 8.30am. In the evening, we knock off at 7.30pm, reach mom's place and have dinner. Then we leave for home. By the time we reach home, it is almost 10pm already. Best of all, we pay more than $7 bucks everyday for the 2 CTE gantries and to enter the CBD, just to endure that terrible jam. Haiz....

But as I discussed with my husband, this should be a short term issue (if you can count 3 years as being short term... anyway, 9 months have already passed!!!) After 3 years, most probably I will enrol Clarence in a FULL day program at Pat's Schoolhouse (my good friend's mom is Patricia Koh - it's really a great playschool for a child to grow up in but prices are steep at $1800 per month). Pat's Schoolhouse has a branch at Mt Emily, which is right behind my husband's office. Then we will not have to go mom's place anymore. At least that can cut some of the commuting time.

peachie

i saw a shop called Organic Living Hub when i took 145 to redhill mrt just now. it's located at the ground flr of hdb flat facing the main rd, and is diagonally across redhill mrt. Thought i shld let u knw since you r into organic stuff.

ILB
i am tryg to b v guai by not cheong-ing too much sales. so far i only managed to go istean one and damages less than $130... hehehe... considered well controlled this time round. the damages for the previous 2 rounds amounted to >$400. :p
at the rate i am saving, by the time i managed to get enuff 4 my dream hse hor, i think even my no.2 hv grown up!!! kekeke... but well, its still my dream to stay near my mum's.

edksd
yeah, i had been stayg in the area for over 20 yrs till i got married. i am oso v familiar wif the plc. best thing is its so cheap to take cab back fr town... whereas i dun even dare to think of taking cab back to my home all the way up to the north fr town. and yes, u got it, the infamous CTE jam. its really dreadful.

dumpty
oh u wanted to ballot for the tiong bahru flats? u my neighbour leh, so nearby! kekeke... issit near ur parents/PILs?

peachie
oh gosh! u r 'trapped' in the CTE jam every day? thats terrible. not tt i am hvg it any easier but i travel on the public transport to get to my mum's plc aft work. at times when the family car is available for use aft work, my hb will pick me up and i get to my mum's plc faster.
i can imagine how tiring tt is coz i travel the same way as u do. juz tt we both hv different modes of transport only. so u haven answered me... do u bring clarence home every nite? thats my dream u noe? to bring R home everynite and i will b the one to tuck him to sleep. wif the current arrangement, well, its not too bad, there r only 2 nites in a wk tt my mum tucks him to sleep instead. at least now i can see tt my efforts r payg off coz he can recognise me and wants me. thats my best payoff and reward.

hehehehe, so funny! yah its short term in a sense lah... 3 yrs... but how abt no. 2? u not planning for one? my concern now is when we hv no. 2 and if i were to travel to and fro like tt, think i might juz collapse! :p

wow! is tt a famous schoolhouse? $1.8K a mth?! @_@ *gulp* goodness...

So busy last 2 days, no time to check on the postings.

Swim Fest on Sat at Four Seasons :

Swimming 11 - 12pm
1. Angeline & Trinity
2. Nedlands & Clare
3. Buttons family? Come leh come leh

Drinks / lunch 12:30 onwards
4. Brenda, Shawn & Arianne

I forgot what's the SG number to my SIM card, but pls call me at hotel (Rm 1215) to leave message to confirm if you are coming ok.

Can I tempt anyone else to come? The pool does look very very clean, we had our first dip in it on Wed evening already.

Shopping on Friday? Are you all meeting up to shop together? If so, where and what time? If time permits, can I pop by to join too?

I'll try to check in her again tomorrow afternoon to get updates ok.

Jerene , Nedlands,

Thank a million for offering to prepare food for Trinity. But mummy lazy lar so just got daddy to taxi her back and forth from grandma's place for lunch and dinner.

Phoebe,
How to collect the food cubes from you huh?

jRt

yeah it's my dream to move back to Redhill area too. I was there for 20+ yrs too !! Last time when I go clubbing with frens, sometimes i would be paying < $5 even with midnite charge when I took the cab home ! ha !

and I am like peachie, brave the CTE jam everyday. But things are better now that school holidays have started. Anyway just be on CTE at abt 805am and the journey shld be quite smooth. anyway, this CTE siao siao one .. sometimes jam for nothing.

Doreen

eheh ur Damien soooooooooooo cute ! but dont worry he still look boy boy to me. Btw where did u get this headband ?? so cute !!

anyone bgt the SHREK headband from Mcdonalds ? I LOVE THE MOVIE !!

ilb, not only jam at cte, the queue going up or down cte oso jam most of the time esp at braddell. duno why.

sometimes only 3pm+ oso jam. i was wondering why everyone knock off so early meh... 3pm alrdy jam.

until 10pm the traffic is still slow. sometimes i really want to interview those stuck in the jam and ask them how they can stand doing this almost everyday.

edksd

interview me lor .. but like i say if u r early enough, there is no jam at CTE. like today i went out at 815am, reach mum hse at 840am. Fast right ? :0

dumpty
Ya ya! We'll see you on Sunday... I'll get to meet Gab too!

peachie
Talking about Clarence Lane, I have a friend who lives at Clementi whose name is Clement. Not funny lor... heh...

ilb
Heh... that's why i lovveeee living at Holland V. It's like 5 cab fare anywhere. almost lah.

Market
Today was my first time to the market w Sophie. I was inspired by Emma... hiak hiak. I bought a piece of ngor hee for like $3.50! So ex! For such a small piece. I open my mouth bite, finish already. Must be HV market man. Time to walk further to Ghim Moh. But I almost fainted from carrying sophie in the hot sun. How to walk to Ghim Moh?!?!

Ling ah ling ..

eh i once stayed in HV for almost 10 yrs before I moved to Redhill ! hehe i love the open air movies when they aired it near the current HV shopping centre.

ilb
REALLY??????? My hubby always says that all HV lacks now is a theatre!! Ooooo i would love watching an open air movie. I norm go to fort canning for those but can be really warm lor. But so fun!!!! Which block you stayed huh?

Ling

heeh those were the days. my mum and my younger bro and me would stroll to the theatre and watch some movies which me and my brother cant appreciate ! haha usually we accompany our mum lah. But it's really lovely cos weather is not hot during that time and the movies are usually screen in the evening.

i stayed in Chin Bee gardens ...

Hi hi you westerners, good morning! I stay in Ghim Moh for 10 years and Clementi for 10 years! From Ghim Moh, often walked to HV for a swim followed by pizza :p

ilb
WAH! that's so fun!!! My bro and i used to draw on our home walls for entertainment, which my mum can't appreciate too. WAH HAHAH...

I really like Chip Bee, got a few friends staying there... it's Chip Bee or is there another place called Chin Bee?

Jerene
Wow... heh fellow westerner.

Ling,
Why are you carrying Sophie to the market huh?? Can use the stroller right??

Sherilyn goes to the market with me every weekend but she is on a stroller can't image carrying her now. I used to put her on the sling but now is not possible anymore plus it is too warm for both of us.

<font color="ff0000">Brenda</font>, Both u n Arianne look great in the mag cover!

<font color="aa00aa">Cheekz</font>, u r most welcome! Glad to know that your maid is now much better. Guess sometimes we need to hint them that how fortunate they are to work in our household.

<font color="0000ff">Ling</font>, Sophie looks so happy in the photos! Really love to bring Adele for a trip too. But hubby not very keen leh. He worry that she cannot adapt to the flight and finds it troublesome to bring her along since she is not able to walk yet. *sigh*

hi Phoebe,
can change my jack n lily shoe order - friendly giraffe to size 18-24 months instead?

will meet you at vivo city today to collect my ON stuff plus pay you the o/s amt. thanks.

Hi Phoebe, just realise that my ON order will only arrive this Sat... ***blur***

maybe i can arrange to meet up with you next week at vivo city to collect my ON stuff if ok with you.

sha
heh coz sophie still quite light and she loves being in the carrier but mainly coz stroller too troublesome. The road down to the market has one big flight of stairs n up the market too so carrier more convenient. Anyways it's a short walk lah. But i think i seriously OUT OF SHAPE!

alicia
ya! Sophie really enjoyed the trip, esp in the daytime. Nite time was a bit challenging, gotta bear w her whining and crying coz she gets cranky n wants to sleep but wants to play at the same time. !!! But can choose a short flight. Actually now that she can't walk a bit easier leh, coz i don't have to chase her around. But both got pros and cons lah.

Brenda, BM, Daisybutton,

VS Spree ordered. Split as follow:

<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD>Order</TD><TD>Shipping</TD><TD>Total </TD></TR><TR><TD>teni</TD><TD>83.68</TD><TD>14.42</TD><TD>98.10 </TD></TR><TR><TD>brenda</TD><TD>61.94</TD><TD>10.67</TD><TD>72.61 </TD></TR><TR><TD>daisybutton</TD><TD>75.92</TD><TD>13.08</TD><TD>89.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD>phoebe</TD><TD>137.90</TD><TD>23.76</TD><TD>161.66 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Ling,

I like Mary Yang too!! I think she's very good and skillful cos I'm one whose pain tolerance is very very low but she's very swift!! My sis had some complications after her delivery and she handle the whole situation real well.
If I ever have another one, I'll sure go back to her!!

Hi JRT,

Oh yes, forgot to answer your question!
Pai seh.... Yup, we are bringing Clarence home every night! Very very siong. But as you said, the hard work pays off (but in what ways is very subjective.... my husband and I have absolutely NO couple time!!!).

Clarence has claimed his permanent place in the middle of our bed and refuses to sleep in his crib. He snuggles right up to me every night and shares my bolster (yup, he doesn't want his own bolster as well!). So it's a real headache. And every morning he will whine and stretch out his little arms to reach out to me as I left him with my mom, and it is truly heartbreaking to hear him crying every morning as I stepped into the elevator. I think it makes a difference to be there for the child as much as possible. I think you are truly wonderful and doing the best you can too, by tucking little Ruebern in bed for most nights!

Good playschools dun come cheap too... haiz.... the better and more established ones like Eton House, Learning Vision and Montessori are charging the same or a couple of hundreds less only. Currently I give my mom $800 each month, plus spend $200 in catering for tingkat lunch for her. There is also the $600 spent on getting a maid. When Clarence turns 3, we intend to put him into a full day program and relieve my mom of looking after him. Then we can give $400 to my mom, do away with the tingkat lunch as well as the maid. That will save us $1200. Plus the government subsidy of $250, we just need to top up another $350 for Pat's Schoolhouse... So should still be manageable.
What I like about Pat's Schoolhouse is that they have a HUGE outdoor play area and a baby pool. I believe that little children should spend their childhood outdoors rather than to be cooped up indoors... Plus their teachers are pretty well-qualified and they have a comprehensive devt program. There are many good childcare around, so you can look around when that time comes lah.

Very expensive hor??? I am definitely stopping at 1!!!

Ling,

Haha, I like the Clement from Clementi!!! Not funny for him indeed....