(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Dumpty,

thank goodness as DB has pointed out he fell on the parquet floor. He has no bruises and surprisingly, he didnt cried very long and he started clapping his hands after a while *thank goodness which i supposed he is fine?* My hubby said he could have landed on his fat bum so cushioned off the impact !! but still, i was ultra worried.

Daisybuttons
Welcome back !!!
sorry hor that i have not replied your sms !! haahaa..

Sayang Jovann .. Cayden also woke up these few nights and cried
I still thought was due to teething as his another tooth has just cut through his gum.

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">edksd</font></font>, ermm.. where did u see that gracecup spinach? anyhow when I next pop my head into cold storage, I'll check for u ya.. meanwhile use the purple ones that <font color="ff0000">Diana</font> has shown its pic earlier..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">jRt</font></font>, cannot be so selfish one la! U don't like it but Asparagus is very nutritious for him! Lots of Thiamin or Vit B1 which is good for energy metabolism building which is what our bbs need now since they're becoming to be super active..

As for the brown rice, like I mentioned earlier, after I ground it to powder I add together with my Jap rice and cook porridge together lor.. eh did u buy Jap rice that day ah?

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Peachie</font></font>, eh why u apologise le? heehee.. I meant not worth your eagerness to see it la.. not nice at all! urrgggh! It's the Mother & BB mag.
Thanks for correcting my PUAY LENG's spelling! aiya.. no wonder I was wondering how come it's more like some chinese dialect name! heehee..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Dumpty</font></font>, no la.. the newsstands' copies come out much later than those who subscribed to it..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Buttons</font></font>, aiyoo poor Jovann.. any bumps on his head still? must be damn painful..
Ya la, my HYPY sucks and I admitted to it! so u girls got to help correct me la
thanks ahh

How abt putting the chix breast into the porridge and 'stew' it in there but don feed him the meat yet?

Ya la, my A maybe not choosy with her food but she's still getting rashes after eating purees, ANY kind of purees. But I'm kinda immuned to seeing it already and since she's not bothered about it, I also leave that problem alone la..
Enjoy your Ayurvedic retreat!

<font color="ff6000">brenda,</font>
er... i want to see too! are u both centerfold girls? hee hee... damn, today went to pump gas, forgot to browse thru the mags. can scan for me and email me????? pretty please? *blink*blink*eyes* aiyah... poor A... still got rashes?? all purees?? that's really really strange hor!

<font color="119911">daisybuttons,</font>
ya... ur number is in my phone and i dunno where my phone is now, (think i left @ work) so cannot call/sms u. so so so so so sorry
go go go enjoy ur ayurvedic spa treat! i'll drop by ur place next week ;) btw, J's chicken treat sounds tasty man. Chicken, carrots, potato, spinach... like a stew!

<font color="ff0000">orange,</font>
cayden fell too?? oh no...
but if he started clapping after that, he must be fine!
aiyoh, cayden is so cute. at the swimming class he must clap for aunty june ok! i've been trying to help DN clap, but he still doesn't know how to clap!

<u><font color="aa00aa"><font size="+2">Sleeping Thru The Night (NOT!)</font></font></u>
er... can i join? (i'm the one with the biggest eyebags

DN usually wakes up ard the same time as the rest of the not-sleeping-thru bbs here so i guess they're all normal!

DN sleeps ard 9ish every day and his waking up pattern is : 10.30 - 11.30pm / 12.30 - 1.30am / 4 - 5am and then he wakes up for the day around 6.30am

I don't know how i function at work. Going cuckoo liao. Anyway, hb and i found out that DN wakes up to pee! We have a little pail thing in his room and when he wakes up, we help him pee into that. THEN he stops crying & fussing. Sometimes he falls back to sleep easily, sometimes no. when he doesn't i feed him so <font color="ff0000"><font size="+2">I</font></font> can go back to sleep!

we've tried a few methods of getting him to sleep longer, but so far none have worked for more than 2 days. we tried

1. "whacking" him with a big bottle of milk at 12am
2. not feeding him, hoping he'll get the point that there's not going to be milk so he'll stop waking up
3. skipping his last nap (the 6pm one) so he'll be tired out

do all ur bbs cry like the house is burning down when they wake up? DN starts off soft, then when no one attends to him, he gets louder and louder, and his tears will be streaming down his face and snot will be all over his face too.

Ahh.. Ms Brenda solve the mystery of how to cook aspharagus...

I snapped it into half, but i cannot remove the fibre very well leh.. so i steam it... then after puree.. i run it thru the metal mesh again to get rid of more fibre..

Brenda,
I have been giving Jadelle aside from spinach, zuccini and avocado too.. zucchini is very very nice!! Jadelle love that..so since she is now 8 months, i thought i will try her out on other types of vegetables.. i follow super baby food mah.. so asparagus was ~7-8 months..

Yey so many of our babies are 7 mths old already(I'm lazy to name 1 by 1).....hehehehe

Btw D had a near fall few days ago. He was sitting in the middle of my bed playing with my hp while I did a quick dash to the bathroom. 1 sec D was playing with my hp next sec he was hanging upside down the side of my bed. Wah literaly scared me to death man I dunno to scream or what. QUickly dash out n carry him up. Lucky he didn't seem to have a scare from the incident.
I think he held on tight to my bedsheet but I thank whatever made him hold on tight. If not it would have been a headdown fall.
Culprit was my dog cos he must have appeared suddenly from under the bed n caught D's attention that's why D went on his right side.

Joon
DN's night schedule seems so much like Damien's. D also sleeps from 8-9pm to 10am in the morning n wakes like 3-4 times. 1 thing though he drags the wrong feed.
He can sometimes drag the feed for 4hrs after he wakes at 10am or right after he sleeps at 9pm.
He really drinks during the night feed(I gave ebm he finished n still latch) so I will jus leave it <font size="-2">since I am not working so I dun have to wake early in the morn...hehehe</font>
N he doesn't pee at night!!!
I can wake at 6am to a dry diapers n it can overflow at 9am.

doreen,
oh no! damien too? aiyoh, so scary!!!!! how did he "hang upside down"? was his leg stuck in something? thank gdness he didn't fall down man.

wow! he doesn't pee at night??? so funny huh! at least u'll never have the problem of leaky diapers. DN is the opposite. dunno why he pees so much at night. in the morning, his diaper weighs like a brick.

j@@n!
what are you doing on the forum at 3.55??? DN woke up to pee is it? It's so funny to imagine you helping DN to pee into a little pail thru the nite... how come he doesn't just pee into the diaper? Your methods seem workable leh... you try longer n see how? Sometimes it can take a week for baby to get used to it leh...sth months. But if you keep doing the same thing for long time, eventually i realised w Sophie is that they'll get it.

Actually DN is not bad, at least you have a stretch from 1.30 - 4. Maybe you can try to stretch that a bit. So if he wakes up at 4, leave him to cry for 5-15 mins, as long as you can tahan? Ya.... EVEN SWEET SOPHIE will yell if we don't attend to her after a while. LOUD. Heh... but after going thru colic phase w her, this is minor. Heh heh...

ling,
hahaha! u noticed! :D ya la.
DN woke up as usual, ard 1.45am and refused to be patted back to sleep, so i gave him a bottle of EBM. even then, took him abt 25 mins to sleep after that. and becoz i gave him a bottle instead of latching him on (coz milk supply really low @ night), i had to stay up to pump. *FAINT* (coz my milk bank is going bankrupt) so in the end, sleep at 4am! geeeez, i don't really get a stretch to sleep coz he was up at 630am just now!
that's what i long for the most - a nice uninterrupted sleep. "SANTA CLAUS?! WHERE ARE YOU!? I don't give a hoot that it's only April!"

u know what? i will try ur method again! never give up right! but DN is like a chilli padi on drugs la... we've let him cry for abt an hour before. in the end, he won, we lost - i latched on the bugger. *FAINT!*

Hihi...
wow haven't logged in for a while (my grandpa passed away last week) and trying to catch up with all the posts on spinach, asparagaus, M&B centrefold babe and baby and sleeping thru the night.
phew... i consider myself quite lucky... cos Megan sleeps from 8pm - 7 am without waking up. Im the one who wakes her up at 10:30pm for her dreamfeed. Advisable? But if i dun give her that feed, her last feed will be 6:30pm and that won't last her through till next morning right?

and oh yes.. cheekz thanks for organising the aquaducks free trial.. I'd like to join too!

Aquaducks Free Trial Session @ Suntec City

The sessions will be held on Sundays @ 4pm and each group will have a max of 6 babies.

6th May
1) Cheekz (Rae Ann)
2) Yuna (Clarice)
3) Emoments (Dylan)
4) dumpty (Gabriel) - tentatively first. will confirm once I get my hubby's approval :p
5) Rexbabie (Megan)
6)

13th May
1) Jerene (Alexis)
5)
6)

20th May
1)
5)
6)

27th May
1) Ling + Sophie
2) Emma + Enzo *
3) Orange + Cayden
4) Sha + Sherilyn *
5) Joon + DN
6)

<font color="aa00aa">all shopping queens pls help</font>

hv u ever come across an accessories holder which comes in the form of a female body shape? it's for hanging earrings, etc.

it's my fren's bday wishlist, hope to get it for her but duno where!

Hi edksd

I think i saw it in Kalms before.
I received one as my bday presie before, i think its from the lifestyle store. Hope this helps.

The sessions will be held on Sundays @ 4pm and each group will have a max of 6 babies.

6th May
1) Cheekz (Rae Ann)
2) Yuna (Clarice)
3) Emoments (Dylan)
4) dumpty (Gabriel) - tentatively first. will confirm once I get my hubby's approval :p
5) Rexbabie (Megan)
6)

13th May
1) Jerene (Alexis)
5)
6)

20th May
1)
5)
6)

27th May
1) Ling + Sophie
2) Emma + Enzo *
3) Orange + Cayden
4) Sha + Sherilyn *
5) Joon + DN
6) Diana + Jacqueline

<font color="aa00aa">busiest bb</font>

hi gals, i think ive a v bz bb.

whenever i bring kai to the room (after wash up n changing), put him on the bed, turn on the soft lighting, he'll start crawling all over the bed, crawling all over me (if im lying besides him), and go from sleep position flip to crawl and position then to sit position then repeat the whole procedure again.

i wonder is he hyperactive? i wanted to read him a bedtime story but he just gets so excited of holding the book, eating the book, etc.

i always tell him u're the busiest bb in the whole world.

6th May
1) Cheekz (Rae Ann)
2) Yuna (Clarice)
3) Emoments (Dylan)
5) Rexbabie (Megan)
6)

13th May
1) Jerene (Alexis)
5)
6)

20th May
1)
5)
6)

27th May
1) Ling + Sophie
2) Emma + Enzo *
3) Orange + Cayden
4) Sha + Sherilyn *
5) Joon + DN
6) E-Ling + Amabel

hahaha... i posted too late, Diana taken the slot liao.

6th May
1) Cheekz (Rae Ann)
2) Yuna (Clarice)
3) Emoments (Dylan)
5) Rexbabie (Megan)
6)

13th May
1) Jerene (Alexis)
5)
6)

20th May
1)
5)
6)

27th May
1) Ling + Sophie
2) Emma + Enzo *
3) Orange + Cayden
4) Sha + Sherilyn *
5) Joon + DN
6) Diana + Jacqueline

<font color="aa00aa">mommies</font>, Jovann thank you for your sayang. I am just soooooo glad he is okie.

<font color="119911">doreen</font> oh my!! hanging upside down?? so scary! yes i can imagine you lounging over to grab him!!! if only that night i was fast enough.

<font color="0000ff">brenda</font>, i know many ppl will stew the meat in the soup and feed only the soup. but hor, my PD says if do this way actually the soup not much nutrition one leh, contrary to what is believed. i also dunno who to belive. and since he say can feed meat and poultry at 7mths (fish 9mths), so i started. but anyone else started feeding meat itself???

<font color="119911">jasmine</font> zuchinni sounds yummy! but what is it???? i rem jrt said she likes it before hehehe but i have NO IDEA what that is !!

<font color="ff0000">joon</font>, if your milk supply is dipping in the night hor, and IF DN wakes up middle fo the night wanna drink, u shld try latching him on instead of pumping leh. coz latching on is better at stimulating milk supply than pumping.... but i guess you are worried what if u latch on but not enough milk and he dun go back to sleep how issit? hhhmmm....quite tough. but latching is def better. unless of course he dun wake up middle of night then its better u pump lah...aiyoh u poor thing lah, wake up so many times.
sure next week no prob!

<font color="119911">orange</font>, aiyoh Cayden also fell??!!! sorry i only knew after ur sms and ur post this morning,coz i didnt check the past week of archives at all!!!
yes so lucky he fell fwds isn't it? and the fact that he is clapping hands show he is okie!! so CUTE!!! he can clap hands??? who else babies can clap hands huh??

<font color="ff0000">red spinach</font>, anyone can advise my question in my previous post pls??????

edksd,
kai is not the only busiest baby. My Amabel too, the only time that she is very quiet is when she just wake up (think she still not totally wake up from dreamland) and when she saw someone not familiar and will keep looking at them w/o making any sound and move too much. When she sleepy, even worst, will shout and the high pit sound make my ears pain and got those eeeeehhhhhhh sound and she can twist her whole body, cannot settle her down at all until i offer her pacifier and a cloth then she will go sleep.
I think Kai is not sleepy at that time, that is y he seem to be still actively playing. My girl not sleepy also like that, wont settle down. So i cannot tahan her. All my relative said she is hyperactive and naughty.
And yah she is damn talkative, she can mumble and talk none stop leh, keep talking and talking which nobody know what she is talking about. She like to said jiejiejiejie and mama..mama.. So is it mean she is like calling me mama? Yesterday morning when i go work, after i left the maid said Amabel call mama. Haha!

hihi everyone, long time no chat. been a very busy 2 weeks.

Seems like our boys here are very active, hope they all heal soon. Babies are usually very resilient.

Swimming trial !!!
Can i join too? I am thinking about going back for a long weekend end of may. 24th Thursday is a holiday here. If the class can take more than 6, can I tentatively sign up for the 27th May trial?

6th May
1) Cheekz (Rae Ann)
2) Yuna (Clarice)
3) Emoments (Dylan)
5) Rexbabie (Megan)
6)

13th May
1) Jerene (Alexis)
5)
6)

20th May
1)
5)
6)

27th May
1) Ling + Sophie
2) Emma + Enzo *
3) Orange + Cayden
4) Sha + Sherilyn *
5) Joon + DN
6) Diana + Jacqueline
7) E-Ling + Amabel ( on wait list?)
8) Angeline + Trinity (on wait list?) Hee Hee.... J@@n, if this works out Trinity can finally see DN.

HB told me last night that Trinity managed to push herself to standing position and stood for 3 seconds unsupported before plonking down again. Too bad I had to work late and missed seeing that.

Sleeping through the nite is history for us now. T started sleeping through the nite since she was 3.5 mths. She used to sleep from 10pm - 8/9 am. For the past month, she keeps waking up and wailing. Usually at 2, 4, 6....am. I have no idea what's causing her to do that. She seems thirsty and will usually go back to sleep after a sip of water, but sometimes she will continue to cry for a few minutes. She also seems to be too dependant on her pacifier for her nitetime sleep. She may wake slightly, suck and find the pacifier is not in her mouth and starts to wail.

Anyone got advise how to get her to sleep through the nite again.

Brenda, i want to see your magazine leh. can scan and send me a copy, pleassssssssssssse.

<font color="ff0000">Happy 7th Months Javier, Damien n Alexis!!!</font>

Doreen, Orange and button, hope your boys is fine. I discovered that why recently fell down and get hurt one is allllllll BOY huh? Haha!

angeline
apparently when babies learn a new skill they'll go thru that phase of wanting to try it OR maybe teething? I've been preparing myself that the sleeping thru the nite is not gonna last!!!
Sophie also now seems more dependant on her pacifier... i try not to give her n let her find it herself, not sure if that makes a diff tho.

DB
i'm going to add a bit of chicken into sweet potatoes today to let sophie try... will let you know later if she takes it... hee hee i always more excited than her to try new food..

<font color="ff0000">diana</font> thanks! feel beta after reading that heheheee.....

<font color="0000ff">HAPPY 7MTHS TO JAVIER, DAMIEN and ALEXIS!!!</font>

Mrs buttons,
I started T on pork too. Been giving her pork chop on and off for the past 2 weeks. Not everyday. I agree with you and boiling for too long may destroy all the nutrition. So what we do is use the slow cooker to cook the porridge ( I will add some chor bee powder and ikan bilis powder into the porridge to cook at the same time) and when it is time for lunch or dinner, we will steam the portion of veggie and meat and then blend the veggie and meat (hokkien 'kiam'). At times I will mix the 'kiam' into to the porridge and feed from 1 big bowl for convenience. And when I am not too pressed for time, I will feed from separate bowls, a spoon of porridge, followed by a spoon of veggie, followed by a spoon of meat, like an adult meal. This way, hopefully she can develop a taste for the individual food and take both bland and tasty food too.

<font color="0000ff">Happy 7th Months to Javier, Damien and Alexis!!!</font>

My boy Dylan also had a fall yesterday while crawling... so heartpain.. then at nite, while he was fliping in bed, his head knocked into my tooth and it was very painful, I mean I can feel my tooth very very pain..... he was crying so badly.... sigh.. yesterday is not the day for him... poor boy!

<font color="ff0000">angeline</font> thats exactly how i am going to feed porridge and meat to Jovann when i start porridge. my PD also say to do that, steam the meat seperately. so u put ikan bilis? my mum wanna put, but to me thats SALTED right? not good for baby kidneys??

<font color="0000ff">Ling</font> hehehe this morning i cut off a slice of jap pumpkin and ask my dad to steam it with the chicken and puree. see if jovann likes it more! sweet potato is a good idea! coz the annabel karmel's book recc chicken with sweet potato.
let me know if she likes it!!!

Hi mummies, i need help... sorry i am cooking gung do (idiot). haha~
How do you all prepare meat and fish for baby? How do you all actually wash it? What method of cooking it? Thanks so much

ling,
i thought it was maybe a teething phase too, but seems like the babies here, if teething the teeth will show in a week or 2, but its been a month and still no sight of teeth.

HB was suggesting maybe its b'cos I've been cradleing her to sleep again nowadays. (Hee hee... I miss her at work (been working late recently), so at nite I will feed her her last bottle and sayang sayang her in my arms, sing and pat her until she falls asleep, continue to carry her for a while more and enjoy her smell (15 - 30 mins) before putting her down to bed.

So he thinks that when she wakes slightly and find no one carrying her, she got scared and starts crying again. But the funny thing is she doesn't wail when she wakes from her day time naps and when she finally wakes for good in the morning. She only wails in the middle of the nite. Do you think she may be afraid of the dark?

Mrs Buttons,
actually it was my mum who prepare the ikan bilis powder for me when I was back. She told me that there's unsalted version. She bought it, home fry and home grind it and gave me a big bottle to bring back to HK.

1__0, I finally realise how to translate this 1___0. So far I've been using steaming most of the time for the veggies and meat. Haven't tried fish yet. I prefer steaming as it seems to retain most moisture.

I've tried baking sweet potato before, but found it too dry, so I will stick to steaming for now.

Aiyoh seems like i am mass posting with a vengence after dissappearing for a week! i better get back to work!!!

<font color="0000ff">e-ling</font> dun feed fish yet! wait till 9mths kae? as for meat or poultry, u can either steam, boil or bake it. i prefer steaming coz it loses less nutrients than boiling (where the nutrients will just go into the water). actually baking loses the LEAST nutrients but more angmoh practise. asians usually steam. then i will BLEND and puree with a blender till fine fine.

as for ikan bilis, u can buy ikan bilis and grind it using blenders suitable for dry hard food stuff. e.g the double blade attachment of the Ulike, or the Miller attachment of usual blenders if you have. if not, can buy powder form, but i dunno where to buy! hahahhaa....

<font color="119911">angeline</font>, chinese believe that babies may be afraid if the room is too dark at night, so some advise leaving a night light on, or some form of light so the room is not completely dark...maybe u can try?

button,
thanks thanks ok will feed her fish when she turn 9 months then.
But for example chicken, when you all bought it, how you all clean it before steam and blend it? Can freeze the chicken meat after blend?
If i wanna add the steamed chicken into the porridge, after steam then add into the cooked porridge and serve? or add together into the porridge and cooked together at the same time?

buttons,
my mummy said she went to buy the 'pre-processed' version from the wholesalers, brought the dried fish home, wash again, dry again, fry again and then grind into powder. I didn't know so much work was involved. I am happy to get just a bottle of powder that I can just scoop to use each time. Mummies are so precious aren't they.

1-O, for the pork chop i bought, I will wash it when it is still raw, cut it, then steam it. Then blend the chunks of meat and add to porridge. I think should be no problem to freeze the meat alone. When you need to use, just steam again to defrost and add to porridge.

We avoid cooking the meat with the porridge cos cooking porridge takes long time (at least 30 mins on fire, and few hours on slow cooker) and the nutrients in the meat may be destroyed after long cooking.

Angeline, thanks so much. So just normal wash one time will do hor. For chicken or pork, is there any specific part to buy and feed baby?

Woow cooking ikan bilis is like the same as brown rice, need to wash, fry, dry and grind. very troubleome leh. Wondering whether there is mommies who is doing this and sell to us. haha

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Jasmine</font></font>, yes! zuccini is especially nice if u just bake it a little in the oven, dash with white wine and olive oil - that's for adults la heh.. Or also can BBQ it, shiok! And I do think it's much more nutritious compare to our local TEE-BOON(is it spell like that? cucumber..)

Yup! for asparagus, I think going through the sieve after pureeing might just work. So did Jadelle takes it better after you do that?

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">j@@n</font></font>, heh DN aka chilli-padi-druggie(!!!) peeing into a pail in the middle of the night! that's hilarious!!

Brenda,
Asparagus (See my question in blue)
-Buy the nice nice green green ones, preferably the clone head shaped there feels firm and not too brown in color.
-Snap them into two by using your thumb and finger. <font color="0000ff">erm...how cannot use cut one? You mean snap into clone head part and stem part?</font>
-Use the TOP part for bb puree that means the clone shaped part. For adults, we can eat the main stem la..
-Use a paring knife to pare the fiber. Try to remove as much fiber as possible.
778145.jpg
<font color="0000ff">you mean pare away all this too?</font>
-Wash the veg by rubbing motion. (In your mind tell yourself, u want to rub away all that nasty pesticides!)
-Steam it
-Puree it
-Can add into porridge too but if first time eating this, don mix together just in case bb doesnt like asparagus, the porridge is not wasted.

1-0, I just wash until not too slimy feeling lor. Not too sure about which part is best. For chicken, I think maybe the meat from the drumstick is good? Since the drumstick is usually more expensive?
For pork, I think many use 'buay bak' but I really don't know what's the name of this part in english. I think its popular cos its most tender and tasty. But warn you first there's only 1 strip of it per pig, so if you go late to the market, usually its sold out already.

Peachie,

choy choy.. No ghost lah!! i think is possible to topple if Clarence attempts to stretch his body to the side and look down. (Cayden always does that) It all depends how the weight is distributed. They can do anything out of our expectation !!

Re: drying the Ikan Bilis
--------------------------
Eh.. I use oven to dry them leh.. can or not? very difficult to sun the ikan bilis at my house leh..

J@@n,
ok ok... will ask Cayden to clap for aunty Joon !! hahaa.. but hor, depends on his mood one lah. He will clap when he is happy lol..

How did you find out that DN woke up because of peeing ? hehehe.. i agree with Ling leh. is so funnie to imagine you and PF carry DN out of the cot and pee into the little pail. Same question as Ling, why DN not peeing on the diaper ?!? R You toilet training him ?

Ling
I cannot imagine sweet Sophie yelling leh!! she is so mild and well mannered !!!!