(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

<font color="0000ff">peachie</font>

btw, dun even have to take leave, they actually bring the profiles of the maids u prefer to ur door steps.

They really deliver very good customer service.

My aunt also got her maid fr there, also very pleased so far

<font color="0000ff">orange</font>

Cayden's room is very well done up, the lucky boy

Cheekz,

Hey, thanks for the information !!! I never know that i can check my maid's history. so i kpo went in to check my ex-maid history (I sacked her as she stole my stuffs).. and instead of being her 2nd employer, i am actually the 4th and she has not completed her contract before which is not what my agent had told me !!! arrggghhhh...

worst of all, i forgo my $499 dollar !!

<font color="aa00aa"><font size="+2">Tequila and Orange</font></font>,
<font size="+1">I saw and read something rather interesting at the OCTOBER THREAD, go take a peek and see. . hehe</font>

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Vodka Orange</font></font>, I SAW TOO!!
<font color="ff0000"><font size="+1">LIAR LIAR! PANTS on FIRE!!</font></font> hee..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Jo</font></font>, yuor Elgnsih scSku!

4 hours of rest, wow shiok! hope you've rested well! aye?! ahhh that means Oct thread got your GHOST in there posting for you just now ahh!!! heehee.. aiyo...

Oct thread WU GUI* le! hooohoooo..

<font size="-2">Wu Gui* - Not Tortise ahh!</font>

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Cheekz</font></font>, eh thanks for the link to the MOM site! I've been wanting to go in and check but damn damn lazy to do so!

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Diana</font></font>, just for laughter! but on a serious note, it's true leh.. heehee

Hi Orange,

No probs
Wish I knew about all this before I got the maid. My first experience in getting FDW was really bad.

Since we have babies in the home, need to be vigilant.

Mumtini mentioned about maids coming here to play. I really believe that is so TRUE for some of them. So a face-to-face interview is really important to find out what is their motivation to come here to work....

Also some transfer maids, have handphones, like my previous one. From my own experience, its is a very BAD idea to let a maid have a handphone.

My previous maid was married, but she was also having a BF here (i checked her SMSes when she's not at home
when i noticed that she's spending too much time on her h/p. She even has those cordless earpieces that she wears around the house while doing house work!)

And she has soooooooooo many people in her contact list.

Oh and be careful about the OTHER foreign workers in your neighbourhood including the bangladeishi cleaners/gardeners.

One day, I was carrying Rae Ann around my estate for fresh air. One Bangla gardener kept following me around and then he asked if Rae Ann is my baby. ie, he's asking if I'm a maid.

Walau!

Ok, its probably my fault for looking like a maid in the first placelah...but it also shows that the bangla workers can be VERY bold.

And then a few months later, I saw the same Bangla chatting very long with my neighbour's Filipino maid...and then before she left, she said to him, "Bye, see you tomorrow."

<font color="119911"><font size="+1">BB Puree Making Class</font></font>

Oh WOKing mamas, I forgot to say your helpers, caretakers like MILs, Mums, PILs or whoever are also welcome to join in! Especially the FDWs, saya boleh talk melayu ok! ok la.. siket la..

Class can fit about 20 pax. So do let me know SOON if you're bringing anyone then I can do proper headcounts ya..

<font color="0000ff">Cheekz</font>
Oh gosh.. those horrible stories about maids! Now i think to get a good maid is so DIFFICULT... my mil's maid also about the same kind. She can even raise her voice at my mil. And to think that she doesn't need to take care of my bb, niece and nephew (all handled by my mil).. she only need to do hsehold chores.. she still don't do a good job!

Couple of weeks ago, her long distant cousin came knocking on the door to look for her. Want to ask $ from her. Reason, the maid's mum borrow $ from her.. and he is asking it back!!! THIS IS SO RIDICULOUS!

Yes, Mumtini! Very scary....and there are so many of them working in my area!

But I don't think they dare to do anything funny (ie criminal). I have a feeling they are just targetting lonely females who are willing to date them.

brenda
quick qn about freezing puree:
how long can they last in teh freezer b4 we gotta discard them?

i bot some fruits for my boy today n gonna puree them tmr then freeze but dunno how long they can last leh?

thks for your help!

hihi Mumtini, vodka,
so naughty leh.. u 2..

Eh,
June kanna scared off liaoz hah? dun dare come in liaoz issit??

Sigh,
<font color="ff0000">Bulk purchases & SPREES</font>
I AM VERY FRUSTRATED. I joined the BP, but never got the same quality as the other mummies..
End up i have to do refund. The organiser claims i trying to stir up trouble when i was pointing out that i got different from other people.. She even claims that i took one Non original one from BKK (cos i mention to her over MSN that i buy sama sama in BKK dun cost me 35 bucks!) to exchange...

Lil Pony,

Oh no! She must have given her cousin the address??? But if she owed her cousin $$ why would she give him the address???

My previous maid also the same. Alot of cock and bull stories. Don't know true or not, we can never know.

My mum's maid is the BEST! She asked her husband to SMS my mother to give her a day off!

Brenda, oh great! Coz my maid would most probably be the one cooking the bb puree in future. In the event where my gal wants me instead of her, she could take over me in class while I attend to my gal outside. Do u need to count her in in this case?

oh i read in papers that Robinsons having 15% off storewide....also opened till midnight....

anyone going? but i think will be very crowded....

edksd,
thanks for the frisocrem...fed rae ann this AM. she likes it better than heinz+ebm

hi bittergourd Mshake,

so sorry to hear bout ur spree experience... the only spree i joined in the one organised by phoebe....don't know much about sprees...

hi cheekz, dun mention. oh this's ur first try at frisocrem? is rae ann still on tbf? i was hesitating to let kai try coz it contains fm.

btw, u're another pretty mama!

brenda
quick qn about freezing puree:
how long can they last in teh freezer b4 we gotta discard them?

i bot some fruits for my boy today n gonna puree them tmr then freeze but dunno how long they can last leh?

thks for your help!

michelle,

4 weeks max if u keep opening & closing ur freezer.. otherwise, 6 weeks max before nutrients are drained off!

joon,

what u mean heads up ah? in the WINK BP?

<font color="0000ff">Cheekz</font>
It's the maid's mum who owe the cousin money.. so the cousin came to my mil's house to find the maid! WOW.. we threatened to call the police but they pretended saying they are here to see the maid (out of concern)...

<font color="ff0000">Jasmine</font>
I read about how she said about u trying to cause trouble. I think she is taking quite personal becos u are jus asking her a question (which i will too if i am you) . So how now? Can exchange???

edksd,

rae ann's number one enemy is the milk bottle. so i have no choice but to direct feed her.

but since she's direct feeding, i have stopped expressing long ago. too tedious for me to express 20ml just to feed cereal every AM.

i heard that many babies like the taste of frisocrem so thats why i got it from u. turns out she likes it very much. finished 2 tbspoons this AM.

also i think its easier to feed her when we go out or if we're at grandparents place. just need to pack a bit of the frisocrem and warm water.

Just to share my story too. My maid is an Indonesian. According to the agent, this is her first time working as a maid but she has worked as a shopkeeper assistant back in her own country for a couple of years I think. On the whole, we are pleased with her working attitude. She is tidy n hardworking. She doesn't need me to tell her wat to do. She will keep herself busy. For eg, if she has finished her daily chores, she will bring out all the stuff in the store room, clean the racks and organize my whole store room again. She is young. 23 only, married with a 2 year old son. So far can see that she likes kids and very patient with my gal who can be very naughty. (hopefully she is not pretending). But she is very smart not like those countryside Indonesians. In fact too smart that sometimes I can be a little wary. She can speak a little english but although she cannot speak chinese but she understands the language. I found out when I was talking to my MIL about asking my maid to make milk for my gal. I just finished my sentence and my maid who is seating down on the floor immediately stand up to make the milk. Subsequently in happens in quite a no of similar incidents. I pretend to joke with her n ask her if she understands chinese and she told me a little and she can speak a tiny bit of chinese nos. To think that in her biodata, she do not know chinese at all.
Not only this, I helped her to call home once a month every since she started working for me. Initially, I dial for her using the ICC card. Subsequently after the card ran out of $, I decided to dial using Singtel 019. She never gets to dial herself but I was shocked when I found out from my phone bill one day that she called home one morning when I was at work. I questioned her immediately. She admitted that she did dial back without my permission but that was the only time. She told me she had to call back coz her mum told her that her hubby is marrying another woman back in Indonesia. I believe her with a little bit of doubt. The next day she told me she wanted to go back to Indonesia to settle her problem and come back. I told her I would leave her to settle it with her agent as I will not pay for her airfare. Brought her down to the agent immediately. She got a scolding over there and the agent told me that sometimes they will find all sorts of excuse to go back. But she is not allowed to go back coz she still have not finished paying her loan to me. Either she continue to work for me or she gets transferred out. In the end, I gave her another chance by taking her back. So far so good after that, keeping my fingers crossed that it will stay the same till her contract ends.

Lil Pony,

So how did the maid's cousin get the address? Don't tell me your maid's mum gave them the address?

Anyways, i hope they will back off and not give you anymore trouble after you threatened to call the police.

Dear Mumtini, Dina, Yuna, Littlepony, Cheekz, Jo and all mums who shared about maids,

Really my heartfelt thanks for all the sharing! It is truly very very helpful!

I have printed out the sharing, then go home and discuss with hubby. Actually I have also heard of a lot of horror stories, but my mom has been having a tough looking after Clarence single-handedly all these months and she requested that we hire a maid. So despite all our reservations, and our bad experience previously, currently also bo bian... Just hope and pray that I can find someone suitable.

Sha,

I sent all the moms a SMS that the letters will only be here at 7 plus today, so I am not able to post them out at 3pm. Will get the letters later and then post them off at around 7.30pm though. So all the moms who chose the post option will get the letters on Monday. Thanks!

jasmine
think melody is the one who asked abt avocado lah. not me. but thks cos i needed to know tat too!

pumpkin can freeze? same guideline is it? ie 4 weeks max if u keep opening & closing ur freezer.. otherwise, 6 weeks max before nutrients are drained off?

alicia,

your maid's story is almost the same as my previous maid's story!

previous maid's performance was so shoddy but it wasn't me who fired her! she chose to quit within a year because I became more strict with her.

i mean, its MY house amd my family,right? i can't let her take advantage of us and i also need to remove any possibilities of her harming us in anyway.

So i told her to stop using her h/p. she wanted to quit after that. told me her hubby will divorce her if i don't allow her to go back to her kampong for a short "holiday".

then she told me, " i have so many marital problems, i don't think you'll feel safe about me looking after your baby."

well she got her way. but i didn't grant her her "holiday".

i bought her one way air ticket and sent her back to Indon.

All the best Peachie!

Also, maybe bring clarence along when u interview the maid? See if the maid got any "chemistry" with clarence.

If she totally ignore him, then i think she got no "instinct".

<font color="aa00aa"><font size="+1">Peachie</font></font>
No problem I will go and collect it later.

Any other mummies want me to collect for you as I will be going for the 1st April Babies and Cream class so if you are meeting me on that day I can pass it to you.

Peachie I think you can also pass me DB's order as well. . I will be meeting her this weekend.

ive been thinking of this issue for quite a while ever since my mom fell sick tt time.

just wanted to vent our my dilema and hopefully someone can talk some sense into me.

when my mom fell sick and couldnt take care of bb, i almost wanted to quit my job to take care of bb myself as i didnt like the idea of nanny or maid.

after talking to hb, he feels tt it's not feasible. somehow just not feasible and he doesnt want me to quit on impulse like this.

after cooled down i decided we shall get a maid then. but this tot has been clouding on my mind ever since then...: if i cannot be w my child, take care of my child, bring up my child on my own, then what's the purpose of having so many children?

i mean yeah, i need to work, need to hv someone to take care during daytime, i still hv quality time w my child at night and during wkend. but it's just not the same lor i feel...

then u all were talking abt ttc rat bb pig bb, my mind suddenly tells me tt why shld i give birth and let others take care instead of i doing the job myself? i think i shld just stop at 1. my mom has her time taking care of us, why does she still needs to take care of my child?

i know she probably enjoy taking care of grandchild, but still i feel unfair for her. i think im just thinking too much.

my hb wanted 4 kids. i think it's quite impossible leh. esp now when this doubt is still clouding on...

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Michelle</font></font>, Jasmine's right.. to add on, try keeping purees away from the door area where temp fluctates the worst..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Melody</font></font>, oops missed your post as too clouded with some clowns today la.. sorry!

Avocado is like banana best NOT to freeze but u can still do so if you want to..

If I read your qns correctly, u meant to ask the other half (presuming u only fed half this a.m.) can be kept in the fridge for later pm's feed or not, am I right? Yes you can.. but this is not the most preferred way of handling bb's food.

BEST - Cut a new fruit each time and Serve fresh!
OK - Freeze and warm up then serve
NO GOOD - Fruits cut opened already and being left outside for more than 1 hour or so.. or Cut opened Fruits being left in the FRIDGE(not freezer ah..) for more than a day or so..
<font color="ff0000">**Disclaimer: These are my own aga-rations from my cooking experience ahh..</font>

So you got to decide, which is the lesser evil.. So for me if I can help it, I eat the other half! which is the same advice I gave to other mummies.. I'm sure we can afford to use a NEW fruit for our bb at each feeding right..

And if you do decide to leave cut opened fruits in the fridge for later use, do put in an air tight container ok?

Hope these help..

Edksd,

1)Analyse your current home situation. Can your hubby support the family if you quit your job and be a SAHM?
a) If yes, GO AHEAD! Nothing is best than bringing up your baby on your own so u can guide him.

b} If no, seek help! Be it with mum, maid or childcare. Both parents working to support the family. You can provide the best for Kai. You can still have quality time. Quantity vs Quality. I rather have good quality time than plenty of not so good quality time with my own bb. Of coz nothing beats being SAHM but then, alot of mummies have to continue working. Majority are Working mums.

2) MUM being caretaker
Maybe becos your mum is sick, you feel that you wanted her to rest well and therefore, the job of looking after Kai should be your responsibility. However, YES! Mum of ours love to take care of grandchildren! They find it a joy rather than a pain! You let your mum continue to take care of Kai and get a maid to help out.

3) Having more kids
Want and the ability to cope is two different cases. We always want more kids since we all love kids. But we have to question ' Are we able to cope?' ... If yes, go ahead. If no, hold that tot of having more kids.

4) Don't worry, be happy
Don't think so much! Work out what's best for you and Kai at this moment in time. And stay happy. Only u be a Happy mum, Kai will be a happy bb.

Dry Mumtini,

Thks for the advice. Mmm if i keep eating d other half of the avocado wouldn't tat increase my tum tum more... hahaha maybe shd pass to my hubby LOL *wit evil smile*

<font color="0000ff">Brenda</font>

u refering to the posting at 1.32pm ..wat's wrong with that ..

even if my maths is not fantastic..dun have to be say until like that, it hurts

<font color="0000ff">E Ling</font>

wat is wrong with the posting ? i went back n see also

Hey <font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">edksd</font></font>, if I read you correctly the problem lies between you and your hub.. Probably in the department of financial adjustments. I've heard of people who downgraded their private condo to a HDB flat becos the mum rather lives in somewhere 'simpler' than to forsake her motherhood..

But if your hub's decision of you should be a FTWM instead is not due to $$, then perhaps you both should discuss further on this and straighten out each other's expectations..

In my case, as I've told many mums too, I probably can make more $$ than my hub if I go out to work, but I chose not to. Do I feel lesser now being a SAHM? No, I don't lor..

In fact just recently, I've been offered a few jobs and I was tempted many times to take them. In fact, I just told Lil Pony and Sha last night that I envy them that they are working!

Well, I guess somewhere there's a stronger part in me, telling me I should stay at home and watch Arianne grows up. Probably till 1 year old then I'm 'FREE' to decide what I want to do for myself. Oh, it may even stretch.. hee..

With these understandings, I must say I am a very happy SAHM! My hub always remind me that if I'm happy, he'll be happy too.. So perhaps you want to discuss your happiness with your hub and see if there's any ways to compromise.. 2nd bb can always be 'added' in later when things are smoothened.

So <font color="0077aa">edksd</font>, go where your heart goes..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Melody</font></font>, heehee that's what I do! I hide in his salad! hahaa! try that too.. let me know if it works for u ya..

jo (shjo79)
Username: shjo79

Post Number: 1779
Posted on Friday, March 30, 2007 - 1:40 pm:

Huijun & Vivian

left a throbbing headache & giddiness..

The strange thing is i feel feverish since y'day, but no temperatue captured by doc in the late morning or myself y'day

but i still popped the panadol lor

reminds me of kelicia, feels warm after those jabs, but no temperature captured too, cos she sp young, we dun dare to pop the panadol syrup