(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

<font color="0077aa">Dry Mumtini (no olives)</font>
Sorry ah I too slow still at yesterday's theme. Now do I qualify?

<font color="ff6000">Champagne</font>
I SMS u ler! Thanx!

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Peachie Champagne</font></font>, awww love this drink mann! Are u drunk ahh? I think u meant for someone who got FDWs instead of NEVER GOT right.. heehee..

My thoughts about FDWs:
Firstly, we can't place one finger to all. I can only speak from my own experiences yah..

Nationality > Filipinos VS Indonesians
- Indons are more proper in grooming as that's their requirement from their training centers when they come here to work. They're not allowed to keep long hair, wear jewelleries, tight fitting clothes or short shorts. Filips agents back in Philippines are more relaxed in this area.
- Filips are better with their English so less communication problems.
- Indons tend to cook better as Filips food sucks!
- Filips are usually the ones with more requests such as off days, benefits, choice of food/lodging whereby the Indons are more qing-cai.

Age > Young one or Old one?
- Young ones are usually with no experience.
- Young ones are usually not as dedicated as the older ones.
- Young ones have roving eyes!
- Young ones are good company for kids that are at least 2 years and above. 2 years and below kids, what we need is experienced caretaker. Young ones know how to play with the kids as they're still kids themselves!
- Young ones learn things faster as the old saying 'Don teach an old dog new tricks!'
- Old ones are usually more experienced
- Old ones can fit into our environment better as they don feel 'strange' or like first time out of the country and be frightened
- Old ones dont stray as in they won't be looking for a boyfriend unless they're not married
- Old ones are more sly as they probably already knew the ropes of doing things

Marital Status > Single or Married
- I'd prefer the DIVORCED or WIDOWS if possible cos SINGLEs tend to rove their eyes and MARRIED ones will be thinking of their hubs all the time!

Motherhood > With KIDS or NO KIDs
- Better with kids, as they're more experienced in handling kids and also they'll be more dedicated to work in order to meet their objective which is usually to have $$ in providing education for their kids.
- Better if their kids are at least 8 years and above. Any younger, they'll tend to miss their bbs!
- If they have kids, check who's their kids caretaker. If their answer is wishy washy, no good! but if their answer is 'MY MOTHER' or 'HUSBAND's MOTHER' with no hesitation, means they're happy with that arrangement and that they won't be worrying with their kids situation back home

One LAST thing, request for FACE-to-FACE interview then u can 'feel' better the candiates!

These are from my 16 years of experience in employing FDWs! HAVE FUNN!!

Hi Diana,

Thanks for sharing! Actually I have quite a big headache, I prefer someone who doesn't want to go on off days (cos I heard horror stories of maids who changed for the worse after going on off days). But all the Fillipinos want off days. But for Indonesian maids, most cannot speak English, so it's difficult to communicate with her.

Agree with you that if can telephone interview, it's the best!
Should I get someone with experience working in Singapore, or without???

Hi Dumpty,

Noted your sms!
Will get the letters!

Hi Mumtini,

Wow, I am totally impressed! Thanks thanks thanks! <muack>! You are such a dear!

I have copied out Diana's and your posting and printed them out! Hehe.... Will be bringing the detailed list to Nation tomorrow!

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Pina Colada</font></font>, heehee.. JIAYOU! oooh are we thinking of Hawaii now? heehee.. FANCY drink!

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Bittergourd Milkshake</font></font>, eerrr.. no thank you! yucks! heehee.. post pics of Jadelle's room once you've done up the stickies ya!

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Diana</font></font>, can I check with u what's the distance like between GOmbak MRT station and the CC? Cos I like to pay a visit later in the afternoon. Do u think I could walk easily with stroller?

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Peachie Champagne</font></font>, I think I should give u MY preferred list of requirements so that u could compare notes and compile the best pointers..

- Indon (like Diana's Christian best but diff to find)
- Ex-SG or EX-HK (means can handle 'chinese')
- Don wan off days type (means wants more $$, this shows they're sincere in wanting to earn more $$ than just come here to play)
- Age between 23 to 32years old (usually this age range means already married with kids)
- FEMALE heehee.. (male but must have nice biceps la hee..)
- 1.60m tall (cos need to hang clothes out of your flat right?)
- weighs 52kg MAX (anything more means she eats a lot! then you'll have to spend lots of $$ on food for her!)
- Salary Request should not exceed S$310.00 per month
- Has children (8 yrs a bit diff to find so maybe 4yrs and above? aiya the older the better)
- Divorced, Widowed or Married (least preferred)
- Smiles easily (means patience)
- Has a nice set of WHITE teeth and short clean nails (good hygiene)
- Look at your eyes when she speaks (means sincere)

I heard Nation is quite bad with their maids' quality le.. I don know la.. but good if u can just have another agency to compare with ya..

Try bargain for a longer period coverage for exchanging maids cos if u don like, u can change and they wont charge u. And usually they only allow 2 changes, I argued for 3 exchanges so u can try too!

peachie

I think now government compulsory 1 day off ? Mine is first 6 months no off, after 6 months once a month. If no off, then give extra $20. You can ask her whether she'd like to work on off days. If she answer yes with no hesitation, then should be alright.

Philippine government recently raised the maid salary to US$400, so guess all the maid agency are waiting to see how. That's also one of the reason I didn't hire Fillipino. And one of my colleague's
Fillipino maid resigned after the news come out! Of course we don't know whether that's the reason.

Not all Indonesian speak bad English. Mine is quite ok. Though her pronunciations is not good. But when I interviewed her, I could already sense her understanding of English is quite good. Unlike the other one, pronunciation good, but very blur when answering my question. My maid can also follow recipe book. You are able to find out all these during interview.

Whether experienced one or no experience one, this is hard to answer. My hubby prefer an experienced one, but I know many ppl who don't like experienced. But if without experience, you'll need to spend more effort to train her. The best is find one who is experienced and also has a kind heart! Good luck to you!

<font color="119911"><font size="+1">BB Puree Making Class</font></font>

WOKingmamas! Just like to update the latest attendance list and also to remind u it's tomorrow and PLEASE please be punctual at 2.45pm ok? Thanks!

ATTENDANCE
The following are the mummies who have confirmed your attendance for the class.
1. Phoebe
2. Diana
3. Xena_princess
4. E-Ling
5. June
6. Angeline
7. Jerene
8. jRt
9. Cheekz
10. Ling
11. Daisybuttons
<strike>12. Jo</strike>
12. Alicia
13. Cheryl
TBA > 14. Sweetiepie88

30 Bukit Batok Street 31 Level 2 Homecraft Room

COST
Total is S$104.00 (S$84 for the rental of CC's room + S$20 for raw materials) to be split amongst all WOKingmamas

<font color="ff0000">Can each of u jot down your bb feeding schedule and the quantity/amount of each feeding then pass to me on the day so that we can all discuss?</font>

orange,
like to find out normally when will our child outgrow the cot? my girl is 6.5mth liao and seem like she do not have enough space foe me to roll. would like to know before I buy the deco. so nice and cozy to see ur beautiful deco

Dear <font color="0000ff">Mumtini</font>,

Thanks!!!

I paid Nation $388 the last time but did not take a maid... Yes, Nation sucks BIG time, but since I have paid the $$$, bo bian. So keeping fingers crossed that I will find someone good this time!

The last time, I din know and I just chose a Filippino within 5 mins! Anyway, she turned out to be HIV positive and Nation actually shopped around for a clinic that can give her a clean report! So in the end I paid the deposit but did not hire any maid. Hopefully my luck will turn out better this time round!

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Diana</font></font>, thanks! I'll see if I can manage heehee.. Also is there any cold storage in that area? I'll be doing the supermarketing for tmr's class.

Errr.. I don't think the off day is compulsory, rather it's either they choose to have OFF DAY or BE PAID to replace their off days. It's flexible I think.. Meaning they're entitled to 1 day off per month and we can PAY them to work this off day if they agree la.

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Peachie Champagne</font></font>, sorry if I sound nagging ahh..

Your Nation experience sounds horrible! I can't imagine that fella passes on her HIV to your bb!!

My thoughts are, agency is a ONE off thing. U deal with them ONCE or TWICE in the 2 years of your FDW employment. It's important to get a GOOD maid and if your agency doesn't have any, lose that $$ and take it as a lesson learnt then go for an agency who's more reliable and has a better supply of QUALITY FDWs.

champagne
OH NO! That's really terrible! No sense of ethics and advertise so much on TV some more...

brenda
maybe can ask mums to shoot questions now so can be better prepare for questions tomorrow?
e.g i'm wondering when i shd start introducing meat/fish to sophie? Is it anytime after 6 mths or better to wait?

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Mumgarita</font></font>, I'm going out soon le.. so won't be able to follow the thread closely. No worries la.. in my email I've already asked all mummies to jot down whatever qns they have and be answered tmr, but if I cant finish them all, I'll reply through email lor.. I may not necessary have all the answers as well le bt will be happy to do research for all!

Also, aren't u going to be my potato peeler tmr?? then <font color="ff0000">DB</font> can be my dish washer.. so I'll have more hands! heehee..

I've already planned to dedicate jobs! Hands on for u girls I think more fun too!

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Mumgarita</font></font>, okok go! don let me catch u at Lucky Plaza or the hill behind Orchard MRT station or worst still! Orchard Tower's crazy horse! ahh..

Mumtini

There is no cold storage.. Where got such high end store here... But there is an Prime supermarket at Blk 373 and Shop N Save at Blk 376. And there are a few fruits stalls nearby.

<font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">Brenda n Diana</font></font>, Sorry, but is it too late to let u guys know that I am thinking of bringing my maid n gal down tom. Some last min changes in my planning. If I remember correctly in the earlier postings, some mummies would be bringing their babies for a swim at Diana's condo. Would u mind if I join in too for the swim?

Peachie Champagne,
Ya. i heard about Nation as well and bad experience people had. But oh well, hope everything goes well for you!!! Hey, can you sue Nation for giving false information about the health of the maid?

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Alicia</font></font>, no problem la, just try to keep bb away from the classroom to avoid interrputions then.. but if no choice also ok la.. we'll see what we can do yah

<font color="ff0000">Straw</font>,

Cayden's room used to be ironing room! We moved out all the furnitures so that he can has his room. Wayne is going to sleep on a KING size bed next time,wow.. how fortunate?! haha..
And oh yes, my little Cayden is a brave boy now, He is sleeping alone in his room since 2 mths ago.. And in fact,he has been sleeping better ever since he moved to his own room! phew..

<font color="ff6000">Mumtini</font>
Eh.. the wall is actually painted in <font color="ff6000">ORANGE</font>!! hahhaa..

<font color="ff0000">ilovebabies & Vodka</font>,
Mummy can do up the room for you, no problem. But hor, you will also give mummy monthly allowance right? lol

Need some advice mummies

If feeding avocado, jst scrape fresh & feed rite. What abt the left over can store in freezer & keep for next 2 days feed?

<font color="ff6000">Orange</font>
Now that I am Straw turned to Tequila Sunrise.. Hey, I think Cayden is very brave leh! Wayne is still sleeping with us n i don't want to move him out yet. So, his that 'so-called Wayne's room' is more like toys storage room.

peachie champagne,

just wanted to share my maid hunting experience. it's oso my first time and it happened only 1 wk+ ago.

ever since my mom fell ill, we've to quickly decide to get a nanny or a maid. both i dun trust and dun want. but no choice really, so i chose a maid.

my intention is to get the maid to help my mom w the hsework (even though she's staying in just a 3 rm flat) so she's more relaxed and can focus just on my bb.

hb called up a few agencies from papers to ask abt pricing etc (as we've practically no idea). only 1 agency asked to meet us to show us some biodata they've on hand. the agency is in bt timah plaza.

i oso asked my friend for recommendation. happen tt her agency oso in bt timah plaza.

so tt day we went down. besides visiting these 2, we oso randomly dropped by a few others.

we're more impressed w the one my friend recommended. she does phone interview and she double check the bio data. but unfortunately she doesnt has anyone who meets our criteria (at least she doesnt anyhow shove anyone to us). so we left the place empty handed.

the next day she called us up w regards to a transfer case. hurriedly we went down to take a look at her and interviewed her in person. she really meets 99% of our criteria. the 1% not met is she's married. but it's ok la.

initially oso quite worried abt transfer case. but the agency told us she verified w both owner n maid the reason for transfer. the owner's 3 children are v mischievous, making things difficult for her, so the maid requested to transfer.

i think now w us, she has a better life. so i truly hope tt she'll be good to us too. ive heard many horror stories abt maid before too. i just wish mine will be different :p

if u want the agency contact, let me know.

<font color="aa00aa">Brenda n Diana</font>, Thanks! I will keep my gal away from the class. But if she refuse, I will have to leave the class to attend to her coz sometimes she refuses to be left alone with my maid. Hope that you won mind if I leave the lesson half way should such situation arises.

Diana, lets keep our fingers cross! So far, I do not have any major issue with my maid. I do not restrict her from speaking with other maids. But if you are worried that my maid might teach any new tricks to your maid, I will tell my maid not to talk to your maid. Hope that this will keep you at ease.

edksd

dun worry, not all transfer maid is bad egg. my helper is also a transfer maid and she has been with us for 2 years and recently just renewed her permit and contract.

yuna, i choose to believe she's not a bad egg too. she seems ok to me. so far feedback from my mom is she's quite a fast worker. and she gets along well w my mom.

this wkend, she'll be staying in my place for the v first time. how i wish i can leave her at home to do all the work while we go out coz u know it's difficult to move ard so tt she can complete her work (eg. if she's vaccumming the living room sofa, then ive to retreat to the bedroom, then when she comes mop the bedroom floor, i've to go out again) kind of troublesome.

<font color="ff6000">Orange</font>,
so this weekend our babies will come in orange as plan okie. . hehe. .

For once I cant seem to understand when it come to monthly allowance. . hahaha. .

anyone still using medela pump ?

my pump was spoilt and I brought it for repair twice. and apparently it wasnt working as in the suction is not there to express my milk. So went there again today and that service staff insisted my parts are faulty, my method of expressing is wrong and the reason that the pump is not suitable for me !!! was so angry with her ! I told her I have been BF for 7+ mths and she is not even a mother yet ! She has this meter that actually reads the suction power frm my pump and shows that it is in good condition. I told her this is only technical test, how sure are you that it can suck out milk from me ?????? vomit blood man ... so after abt 20 mins of argument with her, I ask her technicians to check again and LUCKILY (or not?) my pump motor stopped moving !! So she has no choice but to replace a new pump for me ! I tested it and it seems ok.

oh and because I am using the Medele Dual Electric pump and I told her I used to pump 8 times per day (3 hrly within 24hrs), she claimed that I have overused the pump ! Crap ! I told her if I dont do that how do I establish my supply and continue to BF my bb till now ? Rubbish right ?

Hai just felt that their service sucks !

ilovebabies, im using ameda pump.

so far so gd except tt time when during pumping, milk will get stucked and will not drip into the bottle.

after checking up w infantree, they said my silicone cup may be having problem. so went down to buy a pair and indeed tt's the problem.

one thing is infantree is v far from town. quite sian to go there.

there's oso one time the motor will stop on its own. turn it off and on again, and it'll start to work fine again. checked w infantree they say let the motor rest a while.

<font color="0000ff">ladies</font>

apologies for the double posting, I have emailed the administrator to remove one of them just now because I could not remove it alto I tried my very best to delete it at 10.06am beore the 20 minutes is up

edksk

good for you.
at least they can pinpoint the problem over the phone. that gal i talked to is hopeless. so give me the analogy of sitting in a LEXUS (Medela PIS) vs Toyota (Medele Mini Electric). Crazy !

Hi Peachie,

One way to check if your agent is really truthful about a transfer maids employment history is by going to the MOM website to check:

http://www.mom.gov.sg/publish/momportal/en/communities/work_pass/foreign_domestic_workers/e-services_and_forms/WP_Online_for_Employers_of_Foreign_Domestic_Workers.html

You need your Singpass to log in. Once you log in, go to ENQUIRE and click on Foreign Worker Employment History.

You can ask for the Work Permit no. of the transfer maid you're interested in from the agent.

Once you key in the WP no. it will show u all the previous records.

I did this for my previous maid who lied to me about the employment records. Her agent also lied to me. I was told she had completed her contract with previous employer who had 2 kids (1 baby). So I thought that she is experienced with babies. But in fact, she had 7 other employers before me and all were for brief periods only.ie, she never completed her contract before. I was her employer no. 8!

She's really horrible! I changed agents. Now using Homekeeper.

http://www.homekeeper.com.sg/homepage.aspx

They are quite pro. I'm happy with my current maid. Though she's abit short. Like Mumtini said, 1.6m is a good height. My maid is only 1.47, but she's very hardworking.

Also, I'm not very sure, but some agents might also give you "reject" maids and say that they're fresh. So the WP Online is one way to check if they have been "rejected". Each time they sign a contract, MOM will keep a record.

Each maid can have different employers but the WP no. is always the same.

<font color="0000ff">Dumpty</font>

I just woke up after a 4 hrs sleep

<font color="0000ff">rainne & orange</font>

I am feeling as good as new already
thanks for asking

<font color="0000ff">peachie

Just my personal experience on getting a maid

I went looking for an Indonesia maid who is single.

Age wise, din look for those too old ones cos think those of that age can be quite old birds

My maid is 23, single and is so far so good

I will sms u the contac of my agent

For fresh maids, they need to sit for a test @ MOM before they can work here. They need to pass the test within 3 days (I think they can take as many times as possible within 1 day).

If they fail, they can't stay in SG, so some agents will send them to Batam and then apply for them to come in to SG again.

The test in MOM is actually quite easy, according to my agent. Most Filipinos will pass the first time because their English is better.

So if you're hiring an Indon, and they failed so many times, then it kinda shows that their English is quite bad.

So do ask the agent how many times the maid took the test. My maid passed the test the first time round and indeed her English is much better than my previous maid who doesn't even know what "open" means despite having 7 previous employers. At least my current maid can sing the ABC song to Rae Ann.

Actually, each time they fail, MOM will issue a "FAILED" document. So if you see alot of these "FAILED" documents attached to the maid's file then check how many times she failed.

Ask the maid why she failed so many times.If its the language problem then maybe you need to reconsider.

Ilovebabies,
If Rachel can come in orange GOOD. . You are most welcome to join our Orange babies group.

Maybe we can inform DB as well hor. . hehe