(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

hi michelle
javier also had that experience 2wks back. he used to poo abt 2 times a day. then got once he didnt poo for 3 days, but fart alot.
so on day 3 evening after work, i bought him to PD to settle.

PD said i can introduce those baby juices to him - prune juice or papaya to help him to poo. but dont take too many papaya, else become yellow baby.

have given him prune juice daily now. each day drink 1/2 bottle. so far so good. at least he poo almost daily now.

btw, javier started on cereal liao. tats y his poo pattern changed.

<font color="0077aa">Enzo:</font><font size="+2"><font color="ff0000">Hey Hey Hey!!!</font></font>How come got picnic and I wasnt invited!!! *sulk*

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Em Da B's charming Enzo</font></font>, aiyo with that smile of yours, how can I resist you?! <font size="-2">of cos with u, will be a one-to-one thing mahh.. u date me first la.. don so loud le, later yr Rainnie and my Cayden hear, then our infidelity kena pi cha lobang!</font> heehee..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Em</font></font>, no la.. 4 months and 1 month bb a lot of diff leh.. I show u my A's growth chart:

NewBorn - 04Sep06 - 2.815kg > started TBF
1mo2wks - 20Oct06 - 4.93kg (+2.13kg) >TBF
2mo3wks - 28Nov06 - 6.68kg (+1.75kg) >TBF
4mos - 04Jan07 - 7.8kg (+1.2kg) >TBF
5mos - 04Feb07 - 8.4kg (+0.4kg) >EBM/FM
6mos - 04Mar07 - 8.8kg (+0.4kg) >TFM

As u can see, her weight gain started to slow down when I started EBM and FM. So I'd say that FM doesn't really make a bb grow fatter than BM, but I also considered the fact that she's becoming more active at 4mos so weight gain also slows becos of that..

What's your friend's BB birth weight ah?

and now it's been 8.8kg since 3/4 weeks ago! Another 1.5 weeks she'll be 7 months liao..

Anyone knows what's the required average weight gain for our bb now? meaning for 5/6/7 mos old bbs? any PDs mentioned before? if not, I go ka cheow my PD for the answer liao..

phoebe
thks for the tip
shall go look for prune juice tmr . hopefully can find smthg suitable.

will oso intro papaya to him as advised by brenda too.

I LOVE THIS FORUM! always can find soln to my qns ;)

<font size="+1"><font color="0000ff">DaisyButton</font></font>

i cant find healthy time cereal, where did u get it? i bought frisocreme instead since many say popular w bb? just try lor till i find healthy time cereal.

i'll probably ask my mom to feed him frisocreme while i'll continue feed him heinz during the wkend.

if he likes frisocreme, then at least it's easier to feed him (not like having a battle) and my mom can hv an easier time.

i still hope he can take heinz as it has no sugar added, more healthy.

whoa!! since when i become the BIGGEST B????

BIGGER B
why ur picnic so late one??? how to see anything??

talking abt weight, hey!!! my jo has also slowed down weight gain since on TFM. in fact reaaallly reaaaly S-L-O-O-O-W!!! gosh im starting to be so paranoid that im weighing her several times a day! am i nuts or wat? n she is so temperamental. one moment she loves her solid another moment she detests it!! gosh im really scratching my head at times. n my gentle gu-niang has become such a worm now!!! she is always squealing in delight at everything n everywhere! n she will grab anything that is within her reach.

8.8kg is a good weight lah! my jo been hovering at 8.3-8.4kg since 4 weeks ago!! not to mention now she is becoming more active/mobile. i think as long as baby triples her/his birth wewight by 1 yr old, she is ok. in any case A has right? u wudnt wan her to be obese when she is a tot!!

just a rough guide, all my boys gain 1kg from birth to 6 mths thereafter 200-300g a mth. i think the more active they r the less weight they will gain cos burn more calories!!~

oh yes i hv a Q myself. for those babies on 2 solid meals, how much milk r they drinking now? jo is one 3 solids (1 cereal, 2 porridge n 1 cube of fruit puree) 3 milk feeds (abt 600ml). actually she eat quiet a lot wat where all the food gone to??

im so contradicting isnt it? telling u gals not to fret abt ur babies weight n here am i complaining abt mine!!

<font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">Brenda</font></font>

now i think think, i think giving frisocreme is as gd as giving kai fm which i dun want to. sigh... bot it on impulse as im worried he's not taking much cereal.

i do add ebm in the heinz cereal. initially more runny type, now try a bit drier, both he oso dun like. this king tough to serve.

he ate a few mouthful, start to realise it's not tasty n fuss a bit, if i continue feeding, he'll wail.

i cant attend leh coz wkend im w kai.

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">edksd</font></font>, how long have you been trying? I've been trying (yes, cos weaning only ends when they reach 1 yr old) for almost 20 days and I'm going through lots of problems too, maybe more. Like the episode with the rashes.. and now it's finally over, I've got to start ALL over again..

Just to share with you.. my Jap gf today taught me how to make Japanese porridge. And Jap rice is very nutritious. Just add 1.5 table spoon of the Jap rice and about 7/8 cups of water boil for 2 hours. If needed, add more water so that it's not so starchy. She freezes the extra too. She said this is a very common practice amongst Jap housewives and if u notice, most Jap bbs are so chubchub and healthy looking! And they rarely give rice or wheat cereal.. So I'm going to give it a try.

I'll add some FM into the porridge and at later stage some other purees like turnip, carrot, broccoli etc..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">BM da Biggest B</font></font>, heehee.. since day one? hee..

No la.. as what I also mentioned before somewhere in one of my nagging posts, we're all human afterall and probably animals too will be gun cheong for our kids.. but as long as we're not OVERdoing it, it's fine right..

I'm not fretting over A's weight but just wondering how come it just remains the same after 3/4 weeks, doesn't she grow at all?? heh..

But your post really reassure me with the info that your Jo is also fickle with her solids likings.. hmmm.. cos I've been trying so hard to get A used to solids and each time she's serve, she takes it well.. guess we need more time huh? ok la, lets not rush them.

My A also takes a total of 600ml FM per 24 hours and 2 x 4TBS cereal servings + 2-3 cubes of purees..

So <font color="ff0000">edksd</font>, u see, even experienced mummies like BM and me also face problems u know.. cos it's only normal..

<font color="0000ff">BlessedMommy</font> yes. Caleb now has a guarding angel looking after him. i was so devastated back then that i went into slight depression n it took me almost 2 yrs to recover n come to terms with it.

<font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">Brenda</font></font>

ive been trying for 1 wk. i know it's considered a short period. maybe im just too panicky. if he cant take cereal then probably he cant take porridge, then what's he going to eat?? i think i just worried too much. alright will go slow then....

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Selina</font></font>, I'm sure everything is fine now ya, look at Caleb, such a darling..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Phoebe</font></font>, aiya cook porridge no need demo one la! heehee.. but yes I'll try for A in any case, my Shawn also prefers Jap rice for porridge.. so kill 2 hungry tumtums with one pot of Jap rice porridge la!

Little pony
The polo romper is from GAP. Think alot of bb here have the same piece....hehe
Caleb also have the same 1 same color also...hahaha

ilovebabies
I dun have backpain leh maybe becos I use the ergo everytime I bring him shopping. Urrr guess I'm too used to slinging/ergoing him so I'm used to the weight gradually....hehehe
Ask me to carry by hand think can only last 2hrs. But think I will get muscles....Muahahahaha

Was telling eling on msn yest also D probably taking in all my FATS through my BM(how I wish)...hehehe

DB
Wah picnic counting starz very lomantic aah. Jovann is so lucky 2 girls to picnic with him...hehehe

edksd
Jus KPO. Are u a food person?? Or is food the last thought in ur mind?? Maybe Kai take after u or hubby in food area so he rather play than eat??
D got a greedy mummy so naturally he also greedy lor....hehehe
<font color="ff0000">Not saying anyone who say their bbs r greedy huh.....</font>
See now need disclaimer.

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">edksd</font></font>, honestly, no offense ok but if you go on performing your motherhood in such state, you'll suffer, so will Kai and other people around you. Yes, go slow and take it easy! 1 week is really nothing and especially if he's not sick or losing weight severly.

We need to be happy mummies in order to have happy healthy growing bbs! And our bbs can feel our stress. I'm sure you'd want Kai to grow up in a happy world right?

So, build that confidence and the beauty of your motherhood will glow on your face and everything else will just straighten out on its own..

doreen, u're right. im not a food person. i eat to live, not live to eat. but im not a fussy eater, give me anything i'll gobble it up irregardless whether it tastes nice or not. anyway...

brenda, thanks for ur advice. i know what i shld be doing... will keep trying... hope to hv my victory report to share w u all....

<font color="ff0000">brenda</font> hey! *choy choy choy* why u suggest the scary thing is actually jovann! *choi choi*. da ji da li! but i must say, both A's expression really fits the dialogue leh hehehe.

And hey! swing door hor! u still at it huh? u better stop else i tell everyone about my favourite joke about your definition of "gnia" (kid) hor? that one got me laughing even back in the car hahahah! brenda classic!

<font color="0000ff">edksd</font> yah u better dun feed frisocreme lah. sell it off to someone else. just heard from my SIl today that frisocreme is OOS in NTUC. hahahaa. u must have bot the last tin!

but all of us are with our babies on weekends mah. just get someone to take care and join us for pureee class?

<font color="aa00aa">puree</font> after having tried pear, apple, papaya, sweet potato, avocadoes, as well as butternut squash and pumpkin, today is my first try at using the blender to puree carrots!!!! and boy did i have fun! when the carrots are done steaming, the scent coming from the pot smells heavenly to me. makes me feel so good that this nutritious food is for my BABY! yum yum! and though i only filled 4 food cubes of carrots (dare only try one stick coz first time), feel very accomplished. *PROUD BEAM* so fun! masak masak!

<font color="ff0000">michelle</font>, oh Jovann today also din poo for the 2nd day liaoz, tmlw will be 3rd day. he didn't poo for 4 days before, at the end of which he gave a HUGE HUMOUNGOUS SUPER VOLUMNOUS poo. hahahaa...... the time i asked my PD, the nurse say if around 5 days need to see doc. but meanwhile try to feed apple, pear or papaya. some say banana but my PD say banana the poo will be quite hard.

<font color="0000ff">growth, weight</font>. brenda and BM, i think ur babies slow weight gain has nothing to do with FM or EBM leh. my PD said babies after 4,5 mths will slow down in weight gain. 1-4mths 1kg per mth. after that only a few hundred grams loh. he said ideal weight for babies of 1 yr old is 9-10kg! so you girls are very close oredi! on the way liaoz, so dun worry. for me leh, lagi slower! past mth only put on 70g!!! gosh right? now he 7.6kg.

<font color="0000ff">brenda</font>, your shawn can say no loh. Jovann was touching his hairy legs for the past 1/2 hour in the photo, but he still didn't take the hint, keeping the McSpicy to himself!

edksd,
just thot i'd share what i've learned from reading up on weaning.

1. when we first start feeding solids to our bbs, the main purpose is to <font color="0077aa">get them used to the process of eating</font>... so this means opening their mouths, tasting, swallowing etc etc

2. the initial stages of feeding solids is also to get our bbs used to a variety of flavours

3. our bbs still get most of their caloric intake from <font color="0077aa">MILK</font> not solids. at this point, solids SHOULD NOT replace their milk, it only complements it.

so, don't worry if kai is not enjoying eating. his milk is the main bulk of his food anyway, not solids. in fact, from what i've read, if kai is not eating a certain type of food well, stop for a few days. don't force him to eat it all up coz the whole process will not be enjoyable for him (or u!) and he might get the wrong associations. he might learn to associate eating with something unpleasant and that might put him off it totally. take a break from cereal and keep with the apple that he likes.

since he likes apple, u know that he knows how to "eat" (the process, i mean!)... so it must be that he doesn't like the taste of the cereal!! btw, i got my healthy times cereal from a BP in Jan, but i also saw it at ntuc balestier.

i got all this info from reading bks, websites etc... can't find the link now, but i'll surf ard and look for the links if u're interested.

don't worry ok?

<font color="0000ff">edksd</font>, to add on to the excellent advice j@@n just gave, i must say that its not easy to feed jovann. it may appear to u that everyone had it easy, but the truth is that we didn't happen to tell you the pumpkin stains on our high chair fabric, that 1/3 of our feed ends up on Jovann's face, that my clothes get smeared with it whenever he "Brrrrrrrr..." everything out for fun, when he turns away and refuse to open his golden mouth. all this is part and parcel of initial feeding i guess. i was very very patient til it surprises even myself. but i kinda blew upa bit today, when he simply refuse to open his mouth and the feed is all over his bumbo and i have changed my washcloth water twice and its still full of orange pumpkin. he looks at me kinda surprised. then he continue in his dilly dallying. i cooled down after that, when hubby came home and offered to feed him, for the first time! i lie down on the sofa and listen with amusement at the struggle at the dining table. hehehe. so, my point is, feeding a baby this young may not be easy, so hang in there, take things easy, and dun be so stressed on urself.

for me, i belong to the category of I LIVE TO EAT!. eating is fun to me.
so is preparing his food. so i take joy in that, and not so much how much mouthfuls i can shovel into his mouth and not get PUI-ed out.

healthy times....BP ntuc have leh. always have one...u can always try dumex?? nestle? at least u can choose those without FM.

edksd, j@@n (joon)
I got the same info as joon re weaning, also from books, mags and what nots. So it's okay, not to worry...

michelle
Alexis did not pooh for 6 days before! PD gave suppository and asked that we gave her banana, papaya and/or diluted prune juice (1 to 5). Her bowel movements improved significantly after we:

a) started her on rice cereal and other fruits/vegetables puree.
b) bought her a Bumbo!

arianne, jovann n annabel
You guys looked as you had a great time at the picnic! What a great way to spend a weekend

Shared this pix of me with Oct thread so thought I will do so here as well :p (Taken 1 week before delivery)
mime_pdf.gif

PregShadow.pdf (19.7 k)</td></tr></table></center>

<font color="119911"><font size="+1">It was SO NICE meeting all the mommies & babies at the class today!</font></font>
DN and i had so much fun. (although i was sweating towards the end of the class... tiring sia! he WON'T stop wriggling like a worm.
) were u all tired? or was i the only <font color="ff0000">UNFIT</font> one??

anyway, here are some shots my hb took today. thot i'd better upload today coz from tom onwards, no time to log on. <font color="ff6000">daisybuttons,</font> i fast with u!!!

mommies, i'll email u the other pics my hb took, and upload them onto a photo album too, for all ur viewing pleasure! just give me a few days to get my act together, haha.

737539.jpg

<font size="+1">[jadelle, dn, clarice]</font>

737540.jpg

<font size="+1">[enzo, dn, dylan, clarice]</font>

enzo (to DN): "brudder, take a tip from me... cover ur bald head la!"

737541.jpg

<font size="+1">[clarice, queen of the world and her loyal subjects, all bowing obediently to her]

[jadelle, enzo, dn, dylan, queen clarice]</font>

amabel was playing the role of <font color="ff0000">sleeping beauty</font> during those shots, so she's not in here... hmmm... SHE is the REAL QUEEN! hur hur hur

pssst! how do u guys put in the captions / speech bubbles ah? what programme do u use? i always use "windows picture and fax viewer" but can't do it without inserting an ugly text box.

Hello! I'm back from Malaysia. Just a quick trip to the in-laws for them to see their granddaughter.

<font color="0000ff">BlessedMommy</font>, Thanks for the link to the blog on the Taiwanese baby. The baby's so pitiful. Good thing my chinese 'don't have so much ink' otherwise I'll cry. I could only bare to see a few pictures and no further.

<font color="119911">On weaning</font>, Just want to say I can't wait. Chloe turns 6 months tomorrow. I'm starting her on the HT Brown Cereals. Husband and I took leave to witness it. DB, thanks for sharing your headaches on weaning. I'll remember to wear an old t-shirt.

<font color="aa00aa">Hey J@@n</font>,

Still up at this hour? The pics of the class looks fun. I'm looking forward to the class on April 8.

<font color="ff6000">Peachie, Brenda, Melody, Xena, Doreen,</font>

Looking forward to meeting you and your cute little ones.

<font color="ff6000">pigeon,</font>
welcome back! yah, still up coz DN woke up just now and wouldn't settle.
so thot i'd post the pics tonight coz tomorrow no time to "keng" at work! hahaha... hope u'll like the class... btw, dumpty & cheekz (and gabriel & rae ann) will be joining the 8 april class too.
u all must take lotsa pics and share with us ok!

<font color="0077aa">jerene,</font>
wow! that is a very nice pic, very tastefully done! and you got GUTS man!!!!! just curious, who was ur photographer/studio?

<font color="ff0000">emma,</font>
ra-hahahah! enzo has so many duckies! he really looks like dennis in the 1st pic. how did u fuzz out enzo's ahem-ahem?? what programme ah?

<font color="119911">rainnie's mom,</font>
LOL! does rainnie always fall asleep so easily???

<font color="aa00aa">brenda, dasiybuttons,</font>
thanx for sharing the photos!! LOL!

<font color="119911">Hi J@@n,</font>

Hope you got enough rest before heading into work.

<font color="0000ff">Hi dumpty, cheekz,</font> Sorry ah! I'm quite blur. Looking foward to meet you and you babies too on April 8!

Wah <font color="aa00aa">Jerene!</font>

You very daring leh! My husband was bugging to do a naked shot during my pregnancy but I absolutely refused to. Nice artistic shot!

<font color="0000ff">Jerene</font>
Nice shot!!! I will never dare to do it leh... Call me timid! haaaaaaaa!!

<font color="ff0000">ilovebb</font>
Rachel so cute!! what makes the elle dress even better is the Doramon sticker! haaaaaaa!! Wa... u bought the high chair already.. haaa. i am so tempted to get it too.. i need to get a few chairs of which i need to get 4 chairs for mahjong table! haaa!

j@@n... i had fun at the class.. and like u, i was quite tired after that.. lol... think only jasmine was still up and abt cos she looked all ready for yoga... keke... and oya.. i did the blur thing using photoshop..

Hey moms,

I am back!!! Woohoo! 2nd part of the course kenna postponed, cos the trainers could not get any airtix to fly in from US! Anyway, I am back in the office and catching up with this forum (really need to fast from this forum given the tonnes of work on my desk).

Phoebe,

Wait for me!!! Pant pant pant!!! Dun close the spree yet! I am now looking at the babycentre website for the nice nice shirts...
Emma, thanks for the info!

Brenda,

Congrats!!! Little Arianne is so cute! My hubby saw the pic on Friday and told me that she is vey photogenic! Well, she is more than photogenic. She is gorgeous in the mag!

Hey, next time you and Shawn will have a lot of supper leh.... There will be a looong queue of suitors outside your door trying to be your prospective son in law!!! Haha!!!

Emma,

Sorry to hear about your student. I understand how heartbreaking it must be to experience a loss. One of my best friends in Uni passed away 2 years before too. But sometimes you see someone sufferring, you really are not sure if keeping the person alive is really the best choice. Well well.... You take care yah?

Jerene,

Haha, I am not in Quality Management!!! I am in the finance sector, but well... these days there are tonnes of new initiatives.

To all babies passing the 6 months mark, Happy 6 months to you all!

J@@n, E-Ling, Emma, Emoments, Jasmine

Nice meeting all of you and the little ones! C and I had so much fun during the lesson.

btw, I have no time to download the pics last nite, will try to do it asap and put the pics in a album and email all of you the url.

littlepony, i've a part time helper. she's fr china. her son is studying in spore. she has been helping me since kai was born. now kai is 6mths already! how time flies. we're getting a maid, so no choice cannot engage her already.

she stays in marsiling. but she doesnt mind come all the way to town to work for me. $10 per hr. she works 3hrs per wk for me.

and yeah, she doesnt mind alternate wk as i ever recommended her to a friend before and my friend is oso requesting alternate wk. if interested, just call her 8121 5440 (Su Qin)

if u want can just tell her recommended by me staying in bt merah view.

Hi J@@n
Thanks for arranging the class. It was very fun. I think my dear Dylan got excited and nervous, thus fall asleep 5 mins b4 the class starts! Luckily he managed to wake up and join in the class eventually.

Hi Yuna

Clarice really attracts my Dylan (and me of course) He woke up looking blur, then realized hes in a class (seeing so many babies) then I noticed he smiled when he saw Clarice next to him. Hmm. He even grab the opportunity to hold her hand after the class when we put all the babies down for photo taking. :p

J@@n, Yuna, E-Ling, Jasmine and Emma

Nice meeting all of you and your little ones too!

I also dun have time to download the photos I have taken... will do so soon and upload them here.

<font color="ff0000">emma,</font>
thanks for the info... *sigh* i guess i have no choice but to teach myself how to use photoshop!
<font size="-2">but so hard to teach an old dog new tricks!!!</font>

<font color="0077aa">yuna, emoments,</font>
thanx! but no rush ah? i also have no time to resize the pics before sending or uploading... i hope all ur pics are nicer than mine! i have a lot of pics of the backs of all the babies' heads.

glad u guys liked the class. give some thot to whether u want to sign on a package la. i'll email everyone the details. :D

BABYCENTER SEPT MUMMIES SHOPPING SPREE

Exchange Rate fixed at US$1 : S$1.60
Spree closed on 22Mar (THUR) 2359hr or upon hitting USD240

Shipping via VpostUSA.
US Shipping (if any) will be split by no of spree-ists.

Upon confirmation of your order, please proceed to transfer payment to DBS SAVING PLUS 020-1-027024
NOTE: No Payment, NO order. Thank you.

Hi Phoebe,

Here are my order. Thanks!

ORDER FORMAT
NICK: peachie
EMAIL: [email protected]
ITEM #: 10125
Description: Not Too Little To Giggle Bodysuit
Size #1: 12M
Color #1: NA
URL: http://store.babycenter.com/product/on+sale/baby+clothing+on+sale/carter%27s+clothing+/not+too+little+to+giggle+bodysuit.do?asc=false
Cost: US$5.60
Conversion: US$5.60 x 1.6 = S$8.96

ITEM #: 10126
Description: Everything is Better at Grandma's Bodysuit
Size #1: 12M
Color #1: NA
URL: http://store.babycenter.com/product/on+sale/baby+clothing+on+sale/carter%27s+clothing+/everything+is+better+at+grandma%27s+bodysuit.do?asc=false
Cost: US$6.40
Conversion: US$6.40 x 1.6 = S$10.24

ITEM #: 9633
Description: Alphabet Soup Wallpaper Border
QUANTITY: 2 ROLLS
URL: http://store.babycenter.com/product/on+sale/nursery+on+sale/nursery+accessories/alphabet+soup+wallpaper+border.do?sortby=price&asc=true
Cost: US$14.40 per roll
Conversion: US$14.40 x 2 x 1.6 = S$46.08

ITEM #: 9722
Description: Sleep Sheep On The Go
URL: http://store.babycenter.com/product/nursery/nursery+accessories/crib+accessories/sleep+sheep+on+the+go.do?asc=false
Cost: US$19.99
Conversion: US$19.99 x 1.6 = S$31.95

Total = $97.23

I transfer the funds to you during lunch time today. I will self collect the items. Thanks!