(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Botulism Poisoning
This food recall is only for Earths Best Organic 2 Apple Peach Barley Wholesome Breakfast baby food. Pls refer to http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/259810/1/.html

Peachie, Sha
There is a website http://www.rent-a-toy.com/shop/ that allows you to rent toys for 2 weeks to a month. All toys are specially cleaned with a 100% bio-degradable and safe cleaner followed by steam sterilization.

Phoebe
Sorry to hear your maid ran away, that sucks. Fortunately you bought insurance. Know where her fav hangouts are? Betcha you can find her there.

Alicia
Thanks for the website. The headband I want is Periwinkle Rose Bouquet Headband (http://www.pinkbowtique.com/product_info.php?cPath=49_48&products_id=292) at $20. I changed my mind from Blooming Ivory Flower Headband and am very tempted to get more than one! Are you getting just one? Thanks in advance for ordering for me!

Brenda
To order headband, pls go to http://www.pinkbowtique.com/

Yuna
Congrats on your babys crawling, I cant wait for Alexis to crawl too!

Ling
I caught Titoudao on the preview night and love it. In fact I love a lot of local plays and the next one I am going to is Broadway Beng Returns. Do you often go for plays as well?

Angeline
I am also using the same brand of teething gel (Dentinox) as Peachie and Yuna, easily avail in any major pharmacies. It helps soothes Alexis a lot.

Chngs wife
Shermaine sure look good in her special headband!

Cheryl
Welcome back

Baby Puree Making Class
Date TBC : 31 March 2007
Time TBC : 3-5pm
Venue : Hong Kah CC

PARTICIPANTS: - Pls remark if you can make it or not..
1 Phoebe - OK
2 Xena_princess
3 Michelle - sorry cannot make it
4 Yuna - sorry, pls count me OUT. thks
5 E-Ling - OK
6 June - OK
7 Angeline - OK
8 Jerene - OK, provided timing do not fluctuates too much
9 crystallized
10 Cheekz
11 Ling
12 Daisybuttons
13 Jo
14 Alicia - OK
15 Diana - OK
16 Cheryl - OK

Can't make it 31 Mar but interested:
1. Sha
2. Dumpty
3. Emma

Recently caught the movie Music & Lyrics (starring Drew Barrymore and Hugh Grant) and it is very enjoyable. Go catch it if you can find the time. Have a great day, people!

<font color="aa00aa"><font size="+1">Daisybuttons</font></font>, now it's my turn to crack my head what to do with our anniversary - 11th Apr (our First date), officially married on 29th Apr though.. heh.. That's why was asking about the SA thing la. Haiz..

but you're really the SPA QUEEN! Eh another SQ! heehee.. <font color="ff0000">Sha</font> is the other <font color="ff0000">SQ</font>, Shopping Queen..

<font color="ff0000">Mummies, any nice resorts to recommend? for about 4days/3nights kind..</font>

<font color="aa00aa"><font size="+1">Yuna</font></font>, way to go! now u have to secure all your wires and cover all the corners, oh invests in gates! totally diff ball game!

<font color="aa00aa"><font size="+1">Phoebe</font></font>, as long as it's not hot la.. I don't think they can supply fan cos it's fire harzardous. Fan blow the fire on the stove then the kitchen catch fire! hee..

OH DEAR! I just read about your maid! SH*T that's jia lut mann.. how? managed to sort it out already??

BTW ah, I don't think FDWs are allowed to wash cars le.. cos that's not consider as part of domestic work. Not sure la, it was Shawn who told me cos I've always asked him why his maids all don need to wash their cars.. Got to check out MOM site for this info I guess..

But lucky u on leave mann, what if she runs away with Javier!! ahhhh cannot imagine.. now I better watch my FDW.. scary!

<font color="aa00aa"><font size="+1">Alicia</font></font>, you mean you didn't inform our <font color="ff0000">SQ_SHA</font> about the headbands ahhh? Shopping must tell her ya! heehee..

<font color="aa00aa"><font size="+1">Jerene</font></font>, oh! so just go to the website and order on my own????? that's easy.. *puzzle* then why do u need to order through <font color="ff0000">Alicia</font>??

<font color="aa00aa"><font size="+1">j@@n oh j@@n</font></font>,
I've juz manage to reply to ur email this mornin cos havent gotta chance to access my mails. So sorry, sorry.... hope I havent caused u too much of a inconvenience!!
Thank you so much for organising!

<font color="aa00aa"><font size="+1">ilovebbs</font></font>, try to come la! I'm sure we'd have lots of fun!
You know it's funny.. I used to give engineering workshops in my last last job and in my last job, coached service staffs behind the bar. AND NOW I'M GOING TO TEACH MUMMIES HOW TO MAKE BB FOOD!! ahahaha!

This was me then!

732844.jpg

Yuna,

Yup yup, we have a digital scale! Not only measure weight but also bone density, fats content, body mass index and blah blah blah... but never use the rest lah.... Just the scale only.

We use a very crude method. Me carry Clarence and measure. Then I will pass Clarence to my husband and weigh myself only. The difference will be Clarence's weight. Hehe... Quite accurate so far. Bring Clarice over lah!
This weekend???

Hey, I think Clarice is the fastest baby here leh. First to flip at 3 months, first to sit at 4 months, first to teethe (now with 3 teeth already!) and first to crawl!!! Way to go, Clarice!!!
Aunty Peachie is so proud of you!!!
kao_kiss.gif

When my husband saw the little tikes table which I bought at Taka fair 2 weeks ago, he said - wow, next time Clarence can play here with Clarice! They can do puzzles and play with Lego here! I was like - That is such a great idea!!! Hehe, good that we are neighbours yah?

Here's how the table looks like - The space is just right for 2 toddlers!

732865.jpg

Ling,

I cannot imagine going through the whole process of pregnancy plus confinement plus all the colicy nights leh.... 1 really seems quite enough.

Jerene,

Thanks for the info on the botox poisoning and the toys rental! Have you tried the toy rental service? Is it good?

I need help. Baby Alexis thinks her Bumbo is her potty! 3 days in a row, she poohed when we put her on her Bumbo. And nothing happen when we put her on potty (except that struggles to get out). How??

Brenda
Great resort to recommend you, I went there when I was a 8 months preggie. It is called Evason in Hua Hin, with Six Senses Spa at its helm. You can find Evason resorts/hideaways in various parts of Vietnam, Oman, Thailand. Its sister company, Soneva Resort, is also kick ass, and you can find in Maldives, Greece and Thailand. Of course, another hot fav would be Banyan Tree...

Below is the link to see baby Alexis's full month cake. http://www.cherylshuen.com/special%20treats/t65.html

Nope havent tried the toys rental thingy as Alexis gets a lot of toys for her birth, for Christmas and somehow for CNY and V-Day too! But I may rent the Leapfrog Exesaucer you guys are raving abt...let's see.

Brenda
Re headbands: No lah, not order online. Alicia will order and we will all split the postage!
Hey your photo hor, got any that can see face one?

Peachie,

Great! Sure, I bring Clarice over this weekend, at the same time let the 2 babies interact with each other. I want to see Clarence blowing kisses to me

Wow...when i read the part on both babies sitting on the tikes table playing puzzles and lego, my mind was creating the scene.....so sweeeeeeet!!! so glad we have each other as neighbour.

Oh...did i mentioned here before, my best fren since school days gave birth to a baby boy on the same day as me. So our babies share the same birthday, it is so amazing... so in fact C has 2 frens now, Clarence and my best fren's baby!

Hi Yuna,

Haha! Agree it's so sweet!!! Wah, your best friend also gave birth on the same day! That is such a great coincidence!!!

See you and little Clarice this weekend! When is it convenient to you??? Sat or Sun?
Every Sunday morning my 2 cleaning aunties will be here from 10am to 12pm. My father in law will be here at 5pm on Sundays. Any other time slot is fine!
We can have kopi and talk too!

Brenda
Did D really do that??
I can't remenber.. So he definately prefers girls....hehehehe

Ling
The truck is actually very big. Can lift the red part up for them to sit n ride or stand n push the red part to walk. The steering wheel can use to pull it too. Cool huh. Hehehehe

hi hi all!
am also a sept mommy and haven't been here since my first few months of pregnancy! but have been reading this link faithfully! i am a stay home mom and it does get really lonely so reading the going-ons help me feel like there is some adult life besides my baby.
i need a little help here: my bub is still screaming herself to sleep every night and wakes up several times (5-6) and the only way to send her back to sleep is to feed. any suggestions how to resolve this? am beyond echausted!

<font size="+1"><font color="0077aa">Brenda jie jie</font></font>
wanna see ur face in tat pix... so wasted that it is blurred..... and, during the food preparation session, Brenda jie jie mind if i take video with ur face in it??

kao_welcome2.gif
<font size="+1"><font color="ff6000">Welcome maeve</font></font>
do post pix of ur baby here.... and oso... If we do not answer your qns, doesn't mean we ignore you, it's juz tat we do not have any answers to the qns you ask.. (guess you know it le ba, since you are a faithful reader of this forum)

<font color="0000ff">peachie</font>, sorry after typing it i suddenly rem the brand that has the posionous ingredients is Earth Best! not natures own (i dun even know if there's this brand natures own hahahaha) me last night 2am concussed oredi, dunno why say sala name. have u heard of Earth Best? oh ready to eat ones huh? actually i din know until i told my PD that i am feeding organic, then he asked me why feed organic, didnt i hear about the botulism posioning lately? he forgot the brand, so i went home to surf and found this.... check it out.

http://www.fda.gov/bbs/topics/NEWS/2007/NEW01566.html

<font color="ff0000">ling</font>, oh isit steam oredi wilbe sour? but it dun taste sour to me! heehe. my mum just bought me 3 very ripe and juicy small pears, will try with that few days later!
today fed Jovann sweet potato, he took it okie. first time but reaction not as bad as apple and pear heehe.

<font color="ff6000">mommies</font>how many tbs of cereal your babies eating now? Jovann only on 3tbs (not fully heaped). is it enough? shld i add more? i hesitated coz his poo is not regular nowadays. just last night, he gave 5 GIGANTIC semi solid poos after 4 days of no poo.

<font color="119911">phoebe</font>, ran away??!!! can they do this! aiyoh! lucky u on leave!

<font color="aa00aa">sleeping on his own => peachie</font>, DON'T have a direct cut over. its going to be tough for poor clarence. u intending for him to sleep in his cot right? does he sleep in the cot in ur room now? if he don't, bring the cot to ur room, let him sleep in ur room in his own cot for a few nights, waking up to assure him when he whimpers or cries or wakes up. then bring the cot to his room eventually, making it gradual. be responsive to his cries and assure him u are there and can hear him even though he's in diff room. yah, u can start with letting him have his nap there. even massaging for him there, singing soothing songs to him there. playing soothing music in his room. letting him spend more time in his room beofre the day u move the cot into it.

<font color="ff0000">angeline</font>, below 37.5 degrees is not fever wor. Jovann temp usually around 37.1/2 one. what thermometer u using? if the baby auxiliary one under armpit, its above 37,5 then fever. if the ear thermometer, my PD say above 38 then fever...

use dentinox sparingly, dun use too much. it is a milk anesthetic and may not be good for baby if prolonged usage. and it may also numb the back of her throat and make it hard for her to swallow her food or milk. try cool teething rings instead? or teething biscuit? or wet a clean hanky, put in his fridge (ziplock bag) and let her bite.

<font color="0000ff">Brenda</font>, hahaha YES I AM A SPA ADDICT. i cannot do with it! ooooh 4 days 3 nights...let me see, which country u going??? PHuket? try JW Marriot!!! Hua Hin (totally couplehood, no distractions), try Aleenta resort and spa. Langkawi I will try Four Seasons resort hahaha. Bali how about The Bale or Ritz??

peachie,

u also tinkin of stopping at 1. Me too. Use to tink of at least 2 but my gal is a really difficult baby.

maeve,

hi, welcome to tis addictive thread. U mean u had been waking up 5-6 times every nite since ur baby is born? Are you breast feeding or bottle feed him/ her during the nite?

<font color="aa00aa"><font size="+1">Jerene</font></font>,

"My photo is only meant for handsome men so women will hate me after they see my pic, so better not" - A Quote by an infamous B

heehee..

hello mommies!

as usual, i have missed out so much already...i really must buck up!

been reading posts on separation anxiety...rae ann has a REALLY bad case of it! and i'm not even out of the country! she refuse to let me out of her sight. on bad days, she just wants me to carry her around the house all day long! thats why i struggle so much to do other things...

i don't even have time to prepare her solids...been letting her try Farley rusks which she hates...and the avocado i made yesterday tasted yuckky so i threw it away...made some apple puree too, which she hates too....

okie enough whining

-------------------------------------------------
Food preparation class
i think i suck at making baby food, so i better attend

thanks phoebe and brenda for organising...
mambo jumbo bumbo baby
thanks brenda for including rae ann in, its so sweet of you

J@@N - yes, alot of people think that i tied her hair too tight, mother said i was so bad to do that...actually no lah...at that time, her hair actually stick out at the back like that....so quite easy to tie up too

angeline - must post trinity's pic with hair like that...she's so pretty...
JO
No Rae Ann did not appear in motherhood mag. think its another baby....
And i can empathise with you about getting your da yi ma...it really sucks to get it again after so long...hopefully it won't be regular....
Phoebe

so sorry to hear your maid ran away! its such a pain to go through such things! in the beginning, before selecting them, they will say they can do everything....then, after that, say cannot...sighs....

...my previous help gave me so much hell! i really hope you'll manage to work out your domestic help problems soon
its really so tough to get good help...
Ling and Peachie
hey, rae ann has the evenflo too...but diff... she loves it too...we let her use it since she's 4 months and i find that she has very strong legs now...and she's able to grasp small objects pretty well...

also her back is stronger somehow...she can sit well without support

Lil Pony
yeah u're right bout the posting pics bit
actually used to take lotsa funny pics...now a bit difficult coz she's so clingy...

hey post more pics of wayne...he's so handsome!
Jerene,
are u attending the shichida talk this sat @ anson building?

any mommies attending?

is alexis enrolled already? how long is the class? i've been meaning to ask u, but i wasn't sure if i can cope going to classes with rae ann since she's direct feeding, etc...thought maybe she's too young...
princess xena,

we went for the 6mth check up last night...we're doing the pneumococcal @ her 8th mth, 10thmth and 12th mth...thats the schedule the DR gave...so dunno how it'd affect her yet...

will let u know....
Rae Ann's stats @ 6 mth
weight = 7.6kg
height = 68cm
she actually put on weight when she was sick...funny girl!

oh and she finally doubled her birth weight!

hi maeve,

rae ann also like ur baby...somehow, she's been having night mares and wakes up screaming...
she's becoming more and more fussy....

yeah, very exhausting...

<font size="+1">Jerene..</font> yes its true.. <font color="ff0000">Brenda</font> is right... I started to hate the the moment i met her.. muahahahahhaa... where got mommy so chio and so sexy one... :p

<font size="+1">Jerene</font>
Ya... I hate to say, i hate Brenda the 1st time i see her too. I wish i could turn away and don't meet her at all. But she wave to me so happily (she muz be thinking 'heng, this one not as pretty as me)..so i no choice have to go and face the beauty lor.

<font color="000000"><font size="+2">Jerene</font></font>,
Me too i hate her, how can a mummy be so pretty and sexy with two kids. I faster go hide at one corner, dun dare to come out. So she cannot post her photo here...later this thread is down, ganna ban.

FOOD MILL
hey mommies did u all miss my earlier posting? can anyone give me advice on where i can find food mill to grind the brown rice so tat it becomes powdery? will a food chopper or blender do?

June,
Probably you the odd one out leh.. most of us really hate Brenda... but oh well, since she doing the cookery class for us, finding out the status of friscocrem, and the montages... we juz have to let it go lor...

U have to go out with Brenda more often to really hate her....

BRENDA
WAHAHAHAH Brenda you deserve a topic sentence all by yourself, (Btw this is NOT addressed to you, it is ABT you!!!) hahahaha..... For me i didn't hate Brenda (tempting tho... heh), i was like WAH THIS GAL's LEGS THINNER THAN MINE! Amazing! Hahahaha

Cheekz
Attended the Shichida preview before so won't be attending, and already completed the application form, all I need to do now is submit, pay and wait for Jul to roll round! The classes are 75 mins once a week and a parent or relative (can be grandparents, aunties and uncles, etc) must attend with the baby (no maids).

Michelle
Didnt miss your posting but sorry I have no idea. I just use the Pigeon Baby Food Maker set.

Maeve
Welcome!

daisybuttons
Which spa(s) do you usually patronise and why do you like these spas?

Brenda
Now I am really looking forward to meet you!!

Littlepony
i dun hate her.. but i am jealous of her.. how can a woman like her have such good figure with such skinny legs... i am realli realli jealous tat she have such good qualities which mani mani ladies(including me) wanted! therefore, <font size="+1"><font color="0077aa">Brenda jiejie</font></font> can we donate our fats to u????

June,
haaaa. Oh well.. i guess jealousy is the word! Haaa! But not sure if Brenda will agree to take all our fats or not leh!!

Blessmom,
Guess today.. suddenly topic targetting at Brenda. I guess we need to give Brenda a break.. or else, the forum will ask her to start a thread on herself...

littlepony
bingo! imagine.. mummy of 2... tall, lean and sexy... Hello! which woman wun jealous or hate leh? We onli 1 baby and we are like balloons... so unfair...

hi hi.
just took my bubba out for a caffeine break...i think caffeine was invented for mommies of new babies! thanks for the welcome. cheekz, at least i have you to commiserate with! and melody, i'm breast feeding. thank goodness, i've got my boob as a last ditch measure to get her to sleep. always works. i know i should let her self-soothe, but desperate times calls for desperate measures.she was pretty good at night till she started teething at 4 months and it was downhill from there. how do you mommies cope? and all the talk of spas..i also want! i'll give an arm for some time out and go spa-ing.

June,
Balloons ??? Can burst one you know and then turn in pieces!!! We sure would not want to be like that.

Sure we expand really fast during and after pregnancy but we do get back into shape as well but not as slim as Brenda to start off with this sound better right???

Just in different shape and size but not balloons for sure!

Sha
i dun mean tat kinda balloon lar... hmm.... well... at least it's alot better than being called *** rite?? ok... put it this way.. we have a lot of fat left in us...

Brenda jie jie
hehe... no use de... well.. maybe in this way, we will work our way to ur type of figure.. hehe...

maeve,

i had d same problem too. yup using the boob to get my yun to sleep esp in d middle of the nite. Nowdays I try to bottle feed her for the last feed b/f she sleep. She still wakes up in the middle of nite but frequence reduce to 1 or 2. Though still tired from the waking up but better than before lor.

Brenda,

D sexy & pretty mama. U make all of us so envious of u mmmm...

<font color="aa00aa"><font size="+1">June-mui</font></font>, <font color="ff0000"><font size="+2">KOKKOK</font></font> your head doubly hard this time! how can u no big no small again say mummies here are balloons!!! aiya!!

naughty girl you!

June,
Please delete the word "ZHU" can?? Fat I agreed but Zhu is too ultimate! I in no on way would want to be associated with ZHU.

June,

Who will call other people zhu?? Haa! I think even if we have lots of fats , we do have a good reason to say why.. But be it what names, i think we are all pretty mummies to our kids, right?

That is all it matters!

Brenda jie jie
ouch! ouch! k lor... *zip mouth* haiz... ok ok... no more balloon.. i am balloon... haiz... me mother piggy to jayden.. *double zip mouth*

Sha
pix illustration.. or should i delete the pix oso??? maybe i should... *** word deleted.. well, as i oso state again... BETTER Than being called a *** rite? ppl out there will insult other ppl as ***.. i'm sorri if i've offended you...

June,
What done cannot be undone so next times dont associate all the mummies here with animal Okie. I am not offended in anyway. So dont need to worry and no apology is needed as well.