(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Thanks for welcoming me.

Phoebe,
Yah, noticed you are the chief purchasing officer for this thread.

Brenda,
We call our girls Fang Ning (1st) and Fang Qi (2nd). I dun have their photos with me now. Shall upload the pics in the future. Arianne looks so delectable in the inflatable pool...too bad I dun have a son, else I also want to reserve her as future gf....

jRT,
I noticed many mothers ordering the leapfrog dvds in the bp threads. Dun know whether its gd though. I heard some comments tt the baby einstein vcds is a bit boring and slow ..... I also want to get some educational vcds for my gals, but dun know what is gd though. So far my elder gal is addicted to barney vcds everyday...piangz...

BRENDA
thats such a funny caption! i laffed at the one u said abt the ducks faking death!
love Arianne's personal pool oso... so cool! so many duck duck!!!!

Phoebe
i will transf to u when i go back home, which is tmrw nite. paiseh for the delay!!!

oh J din poo for 3 days ah? R used to b like tt so nowadays i will massage his tummy and he poos everyday liao. thot u r the one tt taught us how to make them poo everyday? were u the one? ops, i cant rem... i brought him to see PD and he kena insert oso... and PD gave me the suppositories. but since then nvr used it anymore.

emoments
its ok! i oso v 4getful nowadays! i cant believe it but its true. sigh.

thks 4 the info, i will look out 4 the brand. looks like i gotta make a list of the things i am supposed to check so i wun 4get it when i am there. most likely i end up "distracted" and buy other things which i dun need!

cookiepie
yah i heard abt leapfrogs oso. its damn exp man!
but guess i will eventually give in and spend my money on this too. wondering is leapfrog too early for babies of our age?

jrt
ya..i was the one.
apparently its also no use, as compared to him poo-ing 2-3 times a day previously

no choice but to go to PD.
so now back to normal. save $$

Brenda

ehhe Rachel has her duckie toys for company during bath and she loves sucking them ! hmmph !! I like to squeeze water out of the duck's "butt" and that makes Rachel v happy ! ehhe

Lilpony

aiyo wayne is so handsome now !! So MANLY in that fireman cap ! i used to love men in uniform kiak kiak kiak

Sha,
Thanks.. I've emailed Joon. Hopefully, will be able to meet up with all of you soon.

Brenda,
Arianne looks so adorable in the pond. Can tell me where to get it and how much is it? We dare not bring our gal to the swimming pool yet, so this might be another alternative for her.

cookiepie,
I'm one of those mummies ordering those leapfrog dvds without even knowing whether my baby will like it
. However, good to know that your elder gal likes the barney vcd as I have ordered one set from another BP for my gal!!

how long do u let ur baby play during "pom pom" time? B/f d water turn cold?

how much is those baby dvd cost? how long can we let our baby watch?

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">LilPony/June/Peachie/Felicia/Sha</font></font>, eh thanks for all the info on the Pne$%&$*%..

And <font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Sha</font></font>, eh can explain further 'regular basis' pls.. meaning what? must take again and again? or finish the dosages can liao?

Wah I also learning a lot from u girls about this jab thing mann.. I'm more convinced to take the jabs now.. I thought it wasn't popular at all initially! aiya gong me..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Peachie</font></font>, aiya guess by now you're used to him telling you all those things right? heehee maybe learn to 1 ear in, 1 ear out.. heh

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">LilPony</font></font>, oh dear.. poor thing, didn't know Wayne kena ill so jia lut before.. but do u see an improvement in his health now? Eh that time u were sick and was a one week SAHM, did Wayne kena anything from u??

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Phoebe</font></font>, eh you're home already ahh?
my kitchen not open concept enough so it has very tight space le also now I'm back to my mum's (for a few weeks, maybe months heehee cos PILs left for some Buddhism trip in China for months!! <font size="-2">yahooooo!</font>) and I've a number of kpos (mum, bro and dad) who will be around to stick their heads in!

No la, condo function rooms don have tap for washing right? cos if I really were to do a demo in preparing bb's foods ah, must be a full demo from handling of raw material to cooked food right? So will need running tap to wash things. Also logistically big mann, not just the steamer I'll have to bring, blender, all the bb utensils and the food itself le..

What do u suggest? Got solution? Cos I really don mind showing everyone how to prepare food for their bbs..

My lappy is the free one from SCV with their subcription! But I'm looking for a printer.. too bad IT show over liao right?

So is it <font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Q2Princess or Xena</font></font>? Or how should we address u? hihi! and WelcomeWelcome! Any pics of Victoria? I've always love this name, Victoria, sounds so English so proper.. nice

For the BBsNCream class, try PM JOON, she might miss your post here cos this thread runs too fast..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Yuna</font></font>, the freezer cubes can tahan the process of steam so reheat by steaming it..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Melody</font></font>, heh it was Phoebe's suggestion but I seriously don mind cos I am so free anyway.. but got to find the appropriate venue le..

ilovebb,
Haaa... oh gosh, u have a weakness of men in uniform huh! haaaa!!! Me too leh.. i like to watch HK serial showing doctors, pilots, policemen ...

Brenda,
Ya lor.. Wayne was chubby at first.. after being sick the other time, he lost all the baby fats..
The other time, I SAHM for a week and gotten sick, he didn't catch the virus becos i so worried that i send him back to my mil's plc the very next day....

the speed of this thread is really amazing... i can never catch up no matter how hard i try!!!

brenda
thk u soooo much for the wealth of info on homemade bb food (and thks to all other mommies who contributed to this topic too!). i've just ordered my freezer cubes and will attempt to prepare some of the simpler stuff for E this wkend
i think the fruits are easier to prep then vege leh. so mebbe i start with apple n pear ;) and if u r planning tat bb food demo thing, COUNT ME IN!!! i think it's gonna be real useful to pple like me who are a bit hard pressed for time to read up abt all these bb food stuff.

VACCINCATIONS
i'm another kiasu mommy. E has finished all his rotavirus and pneumoccocal jabs, plus his last 6-in-1. but tat's not all! i'm bringin him for his flu jab this wed. gotta take 2 shots for that cos he's still an infant. in case you're wondering why need flu jab, its cos we're going to australia next mth lah and its winter season so better safe than sorry :p

Brenda,

Thks for answering my question, one more question to ask (pls pardon me cos i know nuts abt cooking) can i steam using the rice cooker?

Oh yes, pls include me in your cooking demo class. i really need some crash lesson on cooking esp on baby food!

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">cookiepie</font></font>, your 2nd girl's 'QI' is which 'QI'? My 1st girl also has a QI in her name, meaning 'unique'..

Heh, I think my A is SPG le.. she's happier with her ang mo bfs than the chinese ones.. I also don know why.. I prove to u..

These pics were taken at last Sat's picnic, Arianne's threesome date with her ang mo and jappy bfs..

722249.jpg
722250.jpg

Cameron was trying to kiss Arianne, while her Jappy bf looks on with angst! heehee.. I know la, she's quite flirtatious I must admit.. see any boys only, anyhow smile smile..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">ilovebbs</font></font>, eh Rach also has the same duckies? The mama duckie was supposed to come with the bath tub I bought as a free gift then tupid Shawn forgot to collect so I had to buy it from www.kidzloft.com.sg as for the bb duckies, I bought from the old provision shop like S$2.90 or something for a dozen of them.

Does yours squeak? Mine does and damn loud and piercing to the ears mann..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">LilPony</font></font>, eh post that labbit pic of Wayna la! I'm sure <font color="0077aa">ilovebbs</font> will be delighted cos she's a rabbit ma..

<font color="0000ff">Brenda</font>,
Regular basic = per Felicia explanation
> 6mths needs 4 jabs
7 to 12 months needs 3 jabs
12 to 23 months needs 2 jabs
> 24 months needs 1 jab only3

Yes you need to take the jab on a continue basis within a certain time frame from the first jab (depending how many months your baby is) so it is not one dosage and it ends there. It is till you feel or your baby immunity system is much stronger or when he or she turn one or two years old than you can stop. Plus you need to pay for every jab unlike 6 in 1 you pay for a package price.

Live demo on baby food??? Wow that would be great. . I got one suggestion why dont you rent a place in the CC and ask how many mummies who are interested to attend and the total numbers of mummies that are attending pay for the rent

<font color="0000ff">Brenda</font>,
No.. haaaa. Not that labbit pic of Wayne.. Oh gosh.. nope nope.. heeeee!!!

Oh, opening cookery class liao huh? Haaa!!! ya lor.. Sha's suggestion quite good leh.. You can start a program called <font size="+1"><font color="0000ff">'Bren can cook, so can u!'</font></font>

Brenda,
Thanks...can call me Xena, lah. Still very poor in uploading the pixs.. kept encountering the problem "file's too big". When you see Victoria, I doubt the term 'proper' can be used to describe her.

Pls include me in your cooking demo class. Only started to give Victoria Heinz mixed cereal with banana and I've never cooked anything using raw ingredients.

<font color="0000ff">Littlepony</font>,
just heard from my colge from KL that they can feel the "earthquark thingy" there so I prepare myself with my track shoe. . hahahaha

Brenda

ya lah i actually dun like the squeaking sound too ! I think I bgt it at NTUC for $2+ too !

Oh i bgt that striped polo tee at Song and Song too ! aiyo ur A so fat, can wear oredi !

Lilpony

I luvvvvvvvvvvvv HK serials too !! that's whY i subscribed to SCV CH 55 !!

Ilovebabies and Littlepony,
Me too love HK serials never miss watching the 8pm and 9pm show and also the repeat telecast over the weekend. . hehehehe

<font size="+1">lilPony!!</font> lil Wayne is so handsome!! I want!!!

<font size="+1">Brenda!!!</font> A is so happy in the water lehz!!! i also want!!!! Wonders if we can fit into that pool of hers!!! muahahahahaha..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">jRt/Phoebe/rainnie/XenaPrincess</font></font>, this personal pool of A is quite cheap (cant remember how much la but it was from www.kidzloft.com.sg) and very baby-bump-friendly if you're trying to make R sit up cos if he falls, he won't get hurt but we've to be watchful in case they slide down and kena drowning la.

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Yuna</font></font>, yes u can! It's still a method of steaming, oh forgot to mention u'll need to open the cube's lid a little..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">sha</font></font>, That's a brilliant idea, using a CC cos they do cooking classes there so should have things like fridge, blender and stove right? Ya maybe I can check it out..

I'd think 2 hours class on a weekend will do.. got to be without babies le.. otherwise mummies might've difficulties in concentrating ya..

So who's <font color="ff0000"><font size="+1">interested in <font color="0000ff">baby food preparation/cooking class again</font>?</font></font>
1. Sha

<font color="ff0000">BUT I must emphasize that I'm NO PROFESSIONAL in this, though I've been cooking since I was 8 but I've not gone through proper training in doing this le.. I'm simply using my minimal skills and knowledge in sharing with you mummies. SO cannot expect anything fancy or professionally delivered ahh..</font>

<font size="+1">phoebe..</font> u also want??? we combine so can save on shipping? keke... me jio <font size="+1">rainnie</font> to buy also.. anyone else staying at bt batok area interested??? but we need to get at least 8.. quite hard hor.. haha.. or we can get 4 then split the $6 bucks for delivery.. how??? keke...

Sha & ilovebb,
Haaaaaaa! So we are all HK serial addicts! Me too leh.. i watch and watch repeats again. My hubby cannot stand me too!! Sha, i tried my 1st time playing mahjong with my mil and sils last weekend. haaaa!!!! You should learn.. so we can start our mahjong session very soon.

Emma,
Give u wayne lor.. u pass me enzo! haaa!

<font color="0000ff">cookiepie and Q2</font>
kao_welcome2.gif
This thread is really truely useful (and funny)!

<font color="0000ff">Emma</font>, Enzo looks like he's enjoying himself thoroughly! So good. Gabby's daddy say he cannot swim before he is 3 yrs old leh

<font color="0000ff">Brenda</font>, A look so babelicious! Hahaha... no wonder even ang mo baby wants to kiss her lah. Her hair seems to be growing quite fast now right?

And the <font color="0000ff">baby food preparation/cooking class</font>? Please count me in!

<font color="0000ff">lilpony</font>, Wayne is really a handsome lil baby! Must be attracting lots of attention when you go out hor?

<font color="ff0000">emma</font>
buy wat item? i blur liao!!

<font color="ff0000">cooking demo</font>
ok..i've checked.
charges: $30 per hr
facility: home craft room (with stoves & fridge & utensils. u can bring ur own too)
date: got to book 3wks in advance (est)

brenda, want to set a date say 31 Mar (Sat) or 1 Apr (Sun) afternoon? I go to make booking.
or apr also can.

Name List:
1. Sha
2. Phoebe

<font color="ff0000">Cooking Demo</font>
brenda, want to set a date say 31 Mar (Sat) or 1 Apr (Sun) afternoon? I go to make booking.
or apr also can.

Name List:
1. Sha - prefer it to be in April one of the Sunday coz there are too many on going event in March for me liao.
2. Phoebe

<font color="0000ff">Sha</font>,
No fee needed coz i have been a good daughter in law! haaa! i no shy!!!

<font color="ff0000">Dumpty</font>,
Haa. U are half right about Wayne attracting lots of attention. Not because he handsome lah.. but becos he scream in the shopping mall. So paisey.. everyone looked at him! i have to quickly bring him walk somewhere else...

hey brenda!

i bought the safety first inflatable tub from taka fair last friday. its about $19.90 i think...i think that was a discounted price...

decided to use it to bathe rae ann now coz she's so hyper and likes to fling herself forwards and backwards...also she likes to kick everywhere so the tub really helps her feet from being bruised....

by the way, she's much better now!

hurray!

Dumpty,
Thank you. This thread is not only useful, it is also moving very fast.

Brenda, A is so sociable unlike Victoria who seems to be more sociable to adults who will carry her. As for the pond, it is listed as $22.90 from www.kidzloft..it's a good bargain judging from A's pixs.

Me... I want to join your Baby Food Preparation/Cooking class...

Baby food preparation/cooking class
1) Sha
2) Dumpty
3) Xena_princess

<font color="0000ff">lilpony</font> OOPPPSSSS!

<font color="0000ff">phoebe</font> really <font size="+1">FAST</font>! But 1st Apr some of us going BBnC class right?

huh? taka fair got sell? then we go there buy lah.. phoebe.. me was jioing u to buy the inflatable pool lohz... think now no need liaoz loh.. since taka fair selling even cheaper.. keke...

WOoowwW! AHEM looks like I better be serious about it and read up more before the class!

<font color="ff0000">Baby Food Prep/Cooking Demo</font>

That weekend not too good cos got BBsNCream going on le.. how abt the following one? Also maybe we should see a good show of interested hands first before confirming this demo thing? I think cannot be too late too cos most of the bbs are already on the weaning stage so better be quick in organizing this lo.. So if mummies going for the BBsNcream class is ok with the same weekend, maybe on 31st Mar Saturday, then I'm fine too..

Also, how abt a CC that's more in town for everyone's convenience? like the Cairnhill one? I'm ok with the Bt Batok one but how abt those who are staying in farfarawayland?

<font color="0000ff">Littlepony</font>,
hehehe. . .how long you last?? Got the main pointers can share note??? Sound like we are in school.

hey the inflatable pool is really useful u know...especially if you're travelling with baby...

we had so much difficulty bathing rae ann during our vacation in perth...

yeah, its $19.90...mothercare has one too, but their's is $35, so the safety first one is a quite good...

rae ann loves it!

Sha,
I not bad leh. My fil gave me some tips..and i was waiting for one tile only..

But it's funny coz others very stylo.. pong pong.. i also make noise ... like ' wait wait '.. i still counting how many bamboo sticks on the tiles! damn not stylo!

Brenda,
Give you a suggestion. You did such a good job with the Bola demo video, can do another one for puree making.

I am thinking of getting another stroller for my gal.
Criteriors
1 hand operation
light weight
preferably fully recline
budget around S$200 - S$300

what do you all suggest. Must be light weight and easy to carry around cos I intend to let T sleep in it when we wait in the airport when we are flying back end of the month

Brenda,
that's right.. angie gave quite a good suggestion leh... another video .. anyway, u cooking for A.. don't need to carry all your barang barang down to the CC.. do it at your own home!! And everyone benefits... juz be careful of copyright issue!! haaa!

hi lil pony,

sorry to hear about wayne's bronchitis,rae ann has bronchiolitis :

"Bronchitis is inflammation of the large airways in the chest and pneumonia is inflammation of the lung. Bronchiolitis is inflammation of the smaller airways connecting the two."

http://www.drgreene.org/body.cfm?xyzpdqabc=0&id=21&action=detail&ref=1040

yeah the PD did mention to bring her to hospital for nebulizer if her condition did not improve...

i read from :
http://www.kidshealth.org/parent/infections/bacterial_viral/bronchiolitis.html

"Children who have had bronchiolitis may be more likely to develop asthma later in life, but it's unclear whether bronchiolitis causes or triggers asthma, or whether children who eventually go on to develop asthma were simply more prone to developing bronchiolitis as infants. Studies are being done to clarify the relationship between bronchiolitis and the later development of asthma"

my family has a history of asthma. Maternal grandma died from an attack, my father still has it and I had childhood asthma (it completely stopped when I was 12)

i remember going to the hospital every other month during my attacks....it drove my parents NUTS! i started to have it when i was rae ann's age too, sighs...

i'm praying hard that the breastfeeding would help rae ann somehow...she's much better now...i'm so happy!

<font color="0000ff">Gabriel eating his baby biscuit</font>
722368.jpg

<font color="0000ff">Gabriel sitting in his rocking chair</font>
722369.jpg

haha...just now in office going home soon.
so also better quickly call up some CC and ask their pricing.

different CC charge differently.
not all CC rent out the homecraft room.

i just called up 3 to enquire 1st.
$30 based on member rate. Other got $50 per hr too.

not sure they will rent out carnhill homecraft room or not.

however, like wat angeline suggest, if brenda dont mind, she can also do a video on it also.
but viewing live will definitely be better.

since 31Mar/1Apr not possible. if we confirm a live demo session, how abt 14/15 Apr? coz 7/8 Apr i not in Singapore. heehee.

<font color="0000ff"><font size="+1">Baby food preparation/cooking class</font></font>
Eh... I gave some thoughts to the video thing and concluded that it's tough to produce one. These are my thoughts:
1. I can't be directing, video-ing and starring in the video all at one time lo. Then I won't know if I've missed out anything. Bola video was short and sweet. This one is probably going to be an hour or more cos I've to explain quite a few aspects of food prep itself..
2. Oh, the cam can only shoot one angle at any one time but my house kitchen is wider than the 'lens' like my fridge is in my service balcony le.. so it's difficult to achieve one angle everything in.
3. Oooh! and what if u girls have qns during my demo? has to be interactive la cos better not to leave u girls with doubts.

<font color="ff0000">Who can/cannot make it on 31st Mar?</font> cos I think 14/15 Apr a bit too far le then all the bbs will hit 7 months by then!
1) Sha
2) Phoebe
3) Xena_princess
4) Dumpty
5) Michelle
6) Yuna

Got to trouble <font color="0077aa">Phoebe</font> to find out the availability of a homecraft room in other CCs.. Thanx ahh

Sha,
in the end, didnt buy the stroller. After some thought, no point lah since we already got one at home that Amabel already seldom sit and no discount at all leh.

Brenda,
Is good that you can demo on making bb food. Then we will all shoot questions on you.

Who can/cannot make it on 31st Mar? cos I think 14/15 Apr a bit too far le then all the bbs will hit 7 months by then!
1) Sha
2) Phoebe
3) Xena_princess
4) Dumpty
5) Michelle
6) Yuna
7) E-Ling

Do you all prefer Tiong Bahru Area, if then i go check the one near my place.

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">ilovebbs</font></font>, wah hust now didn't realise that your post mentioned that u bought the same polo for Rachel. THAT is the polo I bought TWO!! cos the first one I bought couldn't fit A anymore, so I told E-Ling and Doreen who went with me that I've to buy a bigger size one cos I like seeing A in that. AND GUESS WHAT?! I chose the biggest one - 24months, came home then realised the previous one I bought is ALSO 24 months!!! uuurrgrghhh I was so pi*sed!! Last Sat when she wore it to the park, I had to slit the sleeves in order to fit her biceps/triceps.. huh

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">dumpty</font></font>, her hair is indeed growing out but very slow le.. u mean u could tell from the pics? Maybe bcos it's wet so they stick together and look darker.. heh..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Emma da B</font></font>, ehh don go to Taka just to buy the inflatable tub la cos it's only a couple dollars cheaper le.. then your petrol and car park how right?!

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">LilPony</font></font>, MJ ala stylo? How about gumming one cigarette at the side of your mouth and one leg up the chair? heehee.. cant imagine u becoming an Ah Lain hahaha!

dear mommies,
been scanning the previous posts and i realised that we've gotten about the same things for our lil bubs...

here are some of my thoughts on the stuff we got for her:

bumbo - so many mommies have this!...rae ann loved it so much so she actually fell asleep in it! here's a funny pic of her @ 4 months
722570.jpg

other things which i notice other mommies have also gotten:

ergo carrier - rae ann's dada got it to carry her around because he thinks the MIM sling is not macho enough...we got the ergo organic blue denim...i've never used it, i prefer the MIM sling... recently, i bought the MIM pouch @ the suntect baby fair which is even easier to use...I love the MIM baby pouch (its so easy to use!)

exersaucer - we got the Evenflo ExerSaucer SmartSteps because we tried putting her in it and she loved it...she still does! i'm so glad we have that because we can leave there to play by herself safely...so at least i get a chance to shower or have quick meal when i'm alone with her...

tiny love mobile and playgym - she loves these also...she was absolutely head over heels in love with the tiny love mobile....but now @ 5 months plus, she lost interest already...

annable karmel cookbks - got it from Amazon two months ago....haven't used it yet coz she's not yet 6 months ( i have Superfoods: For Babies and Children and Top 100 Baby Purees: 100 Quick and Easy Meals for a Healthy and Happy Baby) Actually they're both kinda similar...wasted $$$ on the second one!

Who can/cannot make it on 31st Mar? cos I think 14/15 Apr a bit too far le then all the bbs will hit 7 months by then!
1) Sha
2) Phoebe
3) Xena_princess
4) Dumpty
5) Michelle
6) Yuna
7) E-Ling
8) June

Include me!!

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">cheekz</font></font>
Haha... Rae ann so cute... can actually fall aslp in the Bumbo...

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+1">Baby cook books</font></font>
Anyone wanna sell me 2nd hand ones?? If onli you got spare ones lar....