(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">edksd</font></font>, eh.. well this you'll probably have to decide on your own. For me, I won't. Imagine I've to sterlise my Moulinex blender! cannot la.. just keep everything wash with warm soapy water before and after used, I think that's good enough already. Of cos the more you do for your bb, the better it is! Oh, I also rinse my blender with boiled water just before I blend and all the things I used - cutting board, knife, bb's bowl, cup etc..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">E-Ling</font></font>, just realised I missed one of your qnss.. better to have a separate chopping board for bb foods, especially no good if the chopping board you're using now is meant for cutting meat. In my kitchen, I have:
- 1 for fruits (the plastic type ones)
- 1 for Raw Meat (fish, pork and chicken)
- 1 for cooked food (like cutting for char sew)
- 1 for bb

In fact once I start introducing meat to Arianne, I'll be getting another one!

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Peachie</font></font>, actually I think some of the bbs here are also like that now, like recognizing faces. And my A doesn't! she is the anyone, anyhow also can carry type.. sometimes I feel a bit sad cos I'd want her to want me.. aiya we're in a complete opposite situation ya?

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">rainnie</font></font>, ooh the rice cooker u mention, is it our own rice cooker? so meaning we put the pigeon thing in the middle of our rice cooker? and wouldn't the rice all get sticked onto the Pigeon? hmmm.. sounds very energy-saving..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Chng's Wife</font></font>, eh! Shermaine and my Arianne are about the same except A is 2 cm longer la.. She was 2.79kg at birth and 8.8kg now at 6 months.. But I'm a bit torn, half of me wants her to stay tiny for as long as possible! cos now it's not easy to carry them right?

<font size="+1"><font color="aa00aa">Brenda</font></font>
Thank you! Seeing his chou chou in my bag.. i realli feel like taking a cab down to the nanny's place.. poor little guy.. down with flu and mummy still tear him and his chou chou apart... haha....

Brenda, totally agree!! Haha...couldn't carry more than 10mins alone...arm break..Tried carrying her to 'ta-bao' breakfast once...i was perspiring like siao...

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">June</font></font>, this chou-chou thing sounds like something full of his saliva and smelly-smelly one is it?! eeeeeeeee.. don la.. he already sick, still want to give him more germs?! urrggghhh

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Chng's Wife</font></font>, did u read my post about my MRT ride with Arianne? Though I did use a stroller, I also carried her a bit when she wanted to whine.. my whole body was drenched in sweat when I came home and my bra was soaked! heehee

Chng's wife & Brenda,
Wow.. 8.8kg!! My Wayne is in the small frame leh. 69cm, 7.4kg only!!.

anyone else smaller than him?

Brenda, I told u i can easily toss wayne up and down and around? haaaaa!!!

Wah..littlepony, it sounds like wayne is a toy. Haha..'toss up down and ard!'

Brenda, u r gd man! U can actually bring her on MRT ride...Sounds so tiring!

brenda, ya...put in our own rice cooker...hmm regarding ur question ah .. dont know whether will stick onto the pigeon thingy or not leh .. cuz the thing is stainless steel

i've to try first and let u noe ... keke

as for cooking porridge, can either cook in slow cooker or stew it. Buy those small porcelain pot (like those to make herbal soups but mini size ones) and stew it in a bigger pot with boiling water). This is easier since we cooking in small amt.

DB, i am born in the year of rabbit so the nick labbit ehhe ... oh no I have revealed my age !!!

Hi Jerene,

No probs!

Hi Brenda,

Here's the bola bola pic at last! Sorry for the late submission!
Can include Clarence plse? Thanks a million!

Clarence with his bola:

721575.jpg

Where is my food? I am drooling already!
721576.jpg

The Papa shopaholic strategising on the next good buy with Baby shopaholic:
721577.jpg

Hi Brenda,

Maybe it's bcos you bring Arianne out pretty much? Most of the old folks say that babies should be exposed to strangers as much as possible so that they will not cry when carried by strangers. This is supposed to be good, you know! Arianne is such a cheerful baby!

Littlepony,

Clarence is lighter! 69.5cm and 7.1kg! He can be easily tossed around. Haiz, feed like mad and yet still so skinny.

<font size="+1"><font color="0000ff">Brenda</font></font>
Aiyo.. he ar.. without chou chou, dunno can slp well anot... will have to call nanny and ask later...

<font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">Lil'pony</font></font>
Dun toss wayne up,down and ard.. Auntie Brenda will scold.... =x

peachie

did Clarence cut his fringe ?? he look so cute in the first pic !!

u know I went Mac @compass pt last Sat evening and I tot i saw a boy who look v much like Clarence and I was so excited ... tot I can called u from far "YO PEACHIEEEEEEEEEEEEE !" eheh but I was wrong lah , obviously

The booster seat looks good. It works even better if you have non cushion dining chairs.

But I think I will be buying Ikea High Chair so that I dont have to sit on the floor when feeding rachel ... old bones cracking ! hehe

Orange !!

haha now I remember what I want to tell u ...

You mentioned ur medele pump broke down ? U can actually bring it to Toh Guan Rd, Secom building to have it serviced. My coll brought her old pump there which is no longer under warranty, he paid $20 to just service it. Apparently, the old pump is still working so just maintenance work done.

My pump is spoilt too and I am going to bring it there next week.

emoments
i like the seat u bot! Juz saw tt peachie's clarence oso hv the same seat. u all bot at taka fair? how much ah? think its a great idea coz my boy simply dun like to lie down... put him in walker too long he get frustrated... so this magic chair looks great!

Peachie,
Alamak. Clarence the lightweight champion? haaa!! I tot Wayne is the one. Haa. Ya lor, I also feed him like mad, he eat like mad but still so skinny. Dunno where the food went leh?

June,
haaa. Ya hoh.. Later Professor Brenda going to say Can't toss, not good for bb's brain! haaaa!!! ......

Ilovebb,
me too leh. the other day, i sit on the floor and feed wayne. alamak, i heard my bones go crack crack when i stand up!!! LAO LIAO!!!! Btw, i check PageOne for the Gymboree book. Don't have leh!! Out of stock!!!

Morning all

Little pony,

I bought the Gymboree book from Popular book store, if u have the member card, additional 10% discount so u paid $17.90 for it.

Peachie

I got the booster seat! but hor i havent open up and fix it! hahah.... all still intact in the box.

i always want to tell u, Clarence look so much like the daddy, like photocopy out one :p

Cheekz, Welcome!
kao_welcome.gif
Hope that Rae Ann is feeling much better now. I am new to this thread too. Just joined last week. I am sure you will enjoy this thread as much as I do.

Brenda, the class is relatively small. There are only 4 babies including Adele. 3 of our babies are Sep babies while the other is a June baby. The trainer is a local chinese. They have another trainer who is even more experienced than her but was not available for the class last Friday. Heard that they will try to arrange for that trainer for future classes. They need a minimum of 3 babies to start a class and I think the maximum they can go is 7 babies. The only setback is it is difficult to get your preferred time slot as every parents have their own preference. If u can only be available at a certain time slot, u will need to gather up to 5 babies in order to start the class.

Daisybuttons, your blog is really great! Looks like I gotta get Adele a bumbo seat too to 'follow the trend'.

<font size="+1">brenda</font>, yes i know about making custards and that we need runny yolks but it is funny that you said custard can't be cooked. actually double boiling method is still cooking.

Anyway the high heat used in jarring process would take away any possibility of the ingredients remaining raw (to answer your initial qn about feeding bb raw food). Write to Heinz and let us know their reply.

Avocados
Why do you even need to blanch it? And why feed raw ones? I just leave it in room temperature for a few days and it will ripen by itself. Once ripen, no more "siap siap"ness. <font size="+1">blessedmom</font> you do that too??

Bananas
Actually i know many old folks prefer giving the local "pang jio", but i also give bb Del Monte. Again, I don't cook it (there is really no need to if bb is above 6 months), just wait till it is ripe, mash and feed. Aiyo, cannot feed raw bananas (even if local variety) or bb will get tummy ache!!

I wasn't referring to AK leh.. just sharing some basic weaning principles found in most other weaning books and the INTERNET. I think Gina Ford and Super Baby food (the leading gurus) also mentioned same principles. FYI, even the weaning booklet written by some nutritionists in KK hospital also mentioned same. They must be referring to produce available in Singapore lah.

by the way, what produce mentioned in AK can't be found in Singapore?

Hi ilovebabies,

Yes yes! Clarence cut his fringe.... thanks to the superb hairstylist called mommy at Peachie's Hair Salon.

Haha, I can imagine you going up to the mommy at Mac's and then realising that it's not me!
Okie okie, we seriously should meet up for kopi one day yah? I go and get Yuna too! 3 of us stay so near but meet up together! We dun have to go far... the neighbourhood kopitiam also can!

I am glad to find this forum:eek:) Can I join? I am now very headache with my boy's sensitive skin...can mummies share with me the type of shampoo and BB bath you use?

Yuna,

So you've got the book! Yay! We can do the same games and share tips!

Yep, everyone says that Clarence is a chip off the old block! Both father and son really look the same!

Hi Amlamum,
Welcome to the thread. Fill us in with information like your bb's name, dob etc.. heee!! we kaypoh mah.

Oh, my dear Wayne is using Kodomo baby bath.. one baby bath for all.. meaning shampoo and bath use the same lor...

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">LilPony & June</font></font>, ya! KOK both of your heads! CHILD ABUSE ahhh!

Ya ahh talking about canes, where to buy them these days? <font size="-2">don tell me at those kinky shops hor..</font>

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">rainnie</font></font>, whole thing is stainless steel? wah.. sounds more and more interesting.. hee.. this mini cooker thing is the same thing some of the mummies here have bought at the fair right? they called it Pigeon Porridge cooker or something.. anyone got pic to share?

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Peachie</font></font>, I think the shopchoholic thing runs in the whole family la.. just that the mummy was holding the cam, otherwise she'll be one of them in there! heehee

Don know le.. but soometimes she can be quite anti-social.. I think she has identity crisis la..

Ya, I also realised u cut Clarence's fringe right? He looks so cute with the straight line across his forehead!

Talking about chairs, right after I bought the IKEA HIGH CHAIR, Mr Bumbo a bit left out now.. So this is a pure example of choices.. once u have more than one, especially a newer one, u tend to use the new one, isn't it?

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Chng's Wife</font></font>, aiya my MRT ride is nothing compares to Doreen and her daily bus rides!! ahh I really kow tow to her..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">ilovebabies</font></font>, that stewing method is called DOUBLEBOIL in cooking terms. Yes, smart way to handle small portion of porridge but if the Pigeon thing saves energy and time and can cook the porridge as fast as rice (usually about 15-20mins), sounds like a good buy le..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Alicia</font></font>, eh thanks for sharing the info.. so the rest of the babies are all locals too la? so per class max is 7 and min is 5 yah? sounds very reasonable.. any website or info I can read up? also can both parents go into the class or only 1 accompanying adult at any one time?

Hi Amlamum,

Welcome! I have been using GAIA Organic body wash for Clarence, only to realise that GAIA contains Lactic Acid (which is a form of Alpha-Hydroxy Acid) which is an exfolient. Lactic Acid has been listed as one of the ingredients "not recommended" for children under three in the book "Cosmetics Unmasked". Basically, the annex of the book noted that Lactic Acid may cause baby's skin to peel and lead to contact dermatis. So I am now on the prowl for another organic bodywash that contains no sulphates, no parabens, no lactic acid, no PEG (which is carcinogenic), no petrochemicals..... But Clarence is fine with GAIA all this while though. So I am not in that much a hurry to change....

Anyone with any good suggestion for a baby wash that suits the above criteria? Thanks!

On your baby's skin, maybe you can consult the PD?

Brenda, u r most welcome! All the babies r local. 3 Chinese and 1 Malay. Min is 5 if u would like to start a class with your own preferred time slot. But for them to start a class, they need a min of 3. Oh, they would encourage both parents to be around. U can take a look at their website www.bjg.com.sg but it is not really updated.

<font color="0000ff">emoments</font>

which stroller fan did u buy? the 2 for $12+ one or there's one $9.9? buy 1 more ex. buy 2 white elephant.

Brenda,

Haha! I totally agree! mommy is the greatest shopaholic!
That's what my hubby and I have in common. Both of us love shopping and fishing for good deals! very bad on the wallet... haiz.

Arianne where got anti-social? Aiya, all babies are like this... I bet you that Clarence is much worse. Now with the separation anxiety, it is 10 times worse still.....

Peachie,

Did u try out any new tricks for Clarence? I tried a few over the weekend for C, she loves the water kicking. So cute, I change her in her mini swimsuit and put her in her bath tub, throw in a toy for her and she had so much fun time in the water. Then this playful mummy kept splashing water at her and pouring water over her head. hahah....

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">DG</font></font>, oh yesss you're right, indeed doubleboiling is considered cooking but for custards, we do not cook the yolks till it's hardened.
Hardened Egg Yolks = Cooked
Runny Egg Yolks = Raw
Bottom line is custards are made of RAW egg yolks. That's why I was skeptical about Heinz Vanilla Custard and thought since you cook, you might know something about this. So, write to Heinz har? oh if I intend to feed my A with that, yes I will! heehee..

As for the Avocadoes, yes I do what u do! and with other fruits too, like mangoes etc.. but only when it's raw, well sometimes u just happen to cut open it and realise it's raw, blanching can help 'un-raw' it. I didn't mean to say that we MUST cook avocadoes, I was referring to them raw. OOps! sorry if I've misled u.. England not powderful enough la..

AK's book produce - oh sorry again another misperception. I meant to say that their produce might not be the same SPECIES as ours here... Ok, take an example nearer to our homeland, in Taiwan or Thailand, their lemons are GREEN and 'LIMEy' so to achieve Ice Lemon Tea is a bit difficult..

Oooh, anything I missed out?

<font color="0000ff">77</font>

im using GAIA bb moisturiser, but it doesnt contact latic acid. sigh.. why organic oso so many things to look out for. sometimes ignorant is bliss :p

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Alicia</font></font>, hey thanks for the link! I'll go explore it!

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Peachie</font></font>, well now that you've decided to go against your PD's advice, then from now on Clarence will have more chances to meet more friends and have lots of jumpy fun with them!

Eh, btw were u the one talking about Pnuemoccocal (errr how to spell?) Jab? Are u going to let Clarence take this? I'm seriously considering for A since we bring her out so much and also she's been swimming a lot too..

Any other mummies already given this jab to bbs?

Sorry for intruding. I'm also a sep06 mummy with a baby gal born on 7 sep. I've an elder gal who is now in K1. Seeing that this forum is so active, I would like to share the fun and woes of raising a baby with all the fellow mummies here.

I think my gal is one of the most feather-weighted bb here. Imagine she is only 6.9kg at 6mth 1wk. Really dun know how to fatten here.

Seems that several mummies here bought the booster seat fm taka fair. Is it good? I'm currently contemplating whether to buy a walker or booster seat.....

<font color="0000ff">anlamum</font>

im still using lactacyd for hair n body. shld be ok since recommended for new born. i duno when to transit to something else?

<font color="0000ff"><font size="+1">Brenda</font></font>
Haha!!! Cane? for wad? Cane A or Chloe?? OMG!!! u wanna buy ar? i help you buy lor... Hehe....

Hi Yuna,

Of course I did! I tried the water kicking one too! Wah biang, Clarence not only kicked but also splashed! In the end poor mommy is totally drenched (no joke... my pants and t-shirt were dripping) but Clarence was clearly enjoying himself. I tried the roll a towel and push from behind to encourage him to crawl activity too! haiz.... din work. Clarence can get up on all fours but he stayed at the same spot. No crawl..... Is Clarice crawling already?

Hi JRT
Yes I bought the booster seat at Taka fair for $29.90. However, when I tried to feed Dylan on the seat, he dun like, he prefers the semi-lying down anyway, tts the 2nd time I feeding him so Ill try again with him on the booster seat next week.

Hi edksd
I brought the 2 for $12.90 one. Actually I have one already, but its black color. This time I bought the colouful one. I realized Dylan like to watch colourful things and I do observe my maid always use the black fan (with a bit of colourful lights) to distract him and it works. So I thot the colourful fans will do more wonders.

Brenda,
Wayne has finished the 3 doses of jab on Pneumococcal.. I suggest A takes. It has to be taken before they turn 1 yr old, i think!

Sha,

Both Wed and Fri are fine with me!
Send me a SMS to let me know which you prefer yah? Look forward to seeing you!!!

Brenda,

Yes yes! I am the one who is keen on the pneumococcal jab as well. My PD prefers to jab only after Clrence turns 1. But I cannot wait so long... so I told him to jab Clarence this Saturday, together with all the 6 in one jabs. Basically below 6 months, baby needs 4 doses, between 6months to 1 year, baby needs 3 doses.... Between 1-2 years, baby needs 2 doses... If baby is only jabbed after 2 years, baby needs only 1 dose. MY PD never fails to remind me about this as one good example that the baby's immune system is really much better after 2 years, hence 1 dose will do the job. So any classes it's best to wait till baby turns 2 at least...

Well well, that's his opinion! Mommy is bringing baby out after all! Guess will hear more of it this weekend when I see the PD. Hehe....

Peachie,

Yes, C is crawling and turning in circles. haha....If i din use the towel to support her feets, she will crawl backward, but with the towel and a toy in front to lure her, she will crawl forward. but at times, she is using the stomach to push forward.

ilovebabies,

u also stay in SK? very near to peachie and me huh?

Hi Little Pony & Brenda,

the numbers of Pneumococcal jabs depends on the child's age.

For ur information
< 6mths needs 4 jabs
7 to 12 mths needs 3 jabs
12 to 23 mths needs 2 jabs
> 24 mths needs 1 jab only

<font color="0000ff">Littlepony and Brenda</font>,
Have check with the PD regarding the Pneumococcal jab, it can be taken later or now it all depends on you (parents).

The earlier your babies take the jab the more jab they need the older they take the jab the less jab the babies need.

Basically this is to help strengthen their immune system. As the babies grow older their immune system gets stronger therefore they need less of the jab - do not need to depend on it.

BTW if I remember correctly this need to be done on a regular basis as well.