(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

ilovebabies, u r welcome. Marcus used to love bb bites too. ate 1-2 pieces a day.

have u given Rachel carrot or sweet potato b4? if the can is mixture of 2 ingredients, then it is 2nd (stage) food. advisable to give only after you hv given Rachel each ingredient and she has no allergy.

ilovebb,
So when to start bb on bb bites? 6 months and above? Can get from supermarkets, right?

Emoments,
Ya, my PD also give me a weaning guide and we follow very closely on it. 4 months n above, cereal. 5 months n above, porridge...

Now, I feeding Wayne with porridge .. he loves it!!!

DG

the can stated 4-6 mths leh. hai I think I am such a lousy mummy, dunno abt so much things and her weight gain so slow. U know, i am thinking whether i shld stop BF and feed her FM instead. prob my milk is lacking of Iron ? what u think ?

littlepony

ya bought Baby Bites from NTUC yest. i was letting rachel try out half a piece but she finish it very fast. hehehe our PD the same so he keep asking u to start semi solid food right ?

DG,
So glad u r back here again to give us advice on giving solids to babies! Thanx to u and blessedmommuy and brenda!
really learnt a lot from all of u!

joon,
Some of them were "admiring" Gab's pearlies after the yoga class leh. Hmmmm... where did u disappear to so fast huh?

blessedmommy,
U are very brave to be planning for europe trip with all children in tow! *salute salute*

melissa,
Hope u feeling better today yah? *jia you* keep going for the next 2 weeks!

Wondering if any of u gals come across any info on introducing solids to baby in CHINESE? I would like to just print those info for my mum to read since she and I having differing views on what and when and how much and how often to give solid to Gab. Sigh... ... Know she meant well too. I dunno if I'm just being over protective and paranoid.

Mummy+BB Yoga
Package: 8 sessions = S$195.00/ Adhoc: 1 session = S$30.00 | Every Sunday @1.30pm | 1 hour duration | TBA > Mother&BB Ctr @Tanglin Mall

Those didn't make it on 25th Feb but are interested to attend future classes:
1. Daisybuttons
2. Crystallized
3. Yuna
4. Emoments
5. Little Pony
6. ilovebabies?
7. Sha?

dumpty

i have one copy in Chinese. I got it from my PD. hmm if i got time I scan it for u ok ? but i am quite busy recently .. pls bear with me.

ilovebb,
Ya.. We share the same PD and yes, haaa! he kept asking us to introduce semi solids to bb. So when u start Rachel on biscuits? i plan to do so when Wayne is 6 months old..

Hi Brenda

Same as ilovebabies thanks for the detailed explanation thou I also dun quite understand and I have also copied your post and send to my hubby heehee..

Hi Melissa

Hope you are feeling better now can imagine how painful it can be.. hope you can hang on there and take care!

good morning. wow so active yesterday huh. all excited over our new yahoo groups yah. i KO last night at 9pm+ after patting caleb to sleep i end up sleeping with him too. he went for his 5th mth jab yesterday and lucky nothing happen after that, same as he's previous 2 jabs so quite lucky. not too well now cos my itchy throat over the weekend now became worst. coughing too.

<font color="ff0000">joon</font>
i too wished i know what is wrong wif him. it was bad tis morning. he had his milk at 1+am, then back to slp & woke again at 5am n refused to slp even after i tried to feed him (he drank lil so i assume he is not hungry in fact). only managed to settle him back to slumberland at 6+am. then he slept till 9+am. really cannot take it cos my itchy throat which started over the wkend got worst n now i coughing. dunno how long this will last. i going crazy soon.

<font color="ff0000">lil precious</font>
tks. i having cough now but dun dare to cough in front of caleb or at times when i really cannot tahan n need to cough i will turn my head away from him. ti itchy throat so irritating, everytime caleb abt to slp then i will start to cough then he will wake up n i need to spend time to coax him back to slp. i tried to hold back but simply not possible lor.

MummyToBabyCaleb,
What's about the new yahoo groups you talking? Sorry.. i was missing from this forum for a while and didn't managed to catch up.

Hope u feeling better coz i am also down with cough and can understand how difficult it is to hold back and yet not cough.. can hold back until the tears drop one leh.

<font color="ff6000">Angeline</font>, wow! Trinity is all grown up now! How nice! she can sit at the dining table with you and have dinner together.. But I'm a bit torn, on one hand I'm hoping Arianne doesn't grow up that fast, on the other, I can't wait! aiya! *KOK*

<font color="ff6000">DG</font>, so the gluten free one is called BABY BITES? Great, thanx for the info, I'll go find it later..

ya! 8 months! 8 months is the official strong gastronomic marking to go for! heehee..

Aiya, I already bought the FRISOCREM ones.. so which brand of the regular rice cereal will u recommend? Healthy choice's? (Or what is it called ahh?)

I think all we need is ONE cookbook la.. anything more than that is PURELY for our reading pleasures! heehee..

<font color="ff6000">Yuna</font>, I think water a bit difficult to feed using spoon cos bb needs to tilt head a bit in order to get all the water in or else all will come out! So maybe can try those training cups? I use that for A and sometimes I just put water in her usual milk bottle, remove the teat and she takes it like normal cup. But she'll be showering herself with the water la.. quite fun doing that at home, don do outside unless you're prepared to change her clothes!

If the cereal you're mixing is still very watery consistency, maybe can use normal milk bottle feeding but cut the teat's hole bigger? But do be careful with choking ya.. usually bottle teats BIGGEST size can be used for that purpose, meaning feeding watery cereal. When I say watery cereal I mean, 120ml of milk add ONE tablespoon/milk scoop of cereal. However if your cereal is of runny consistency like thick coconut milk, then u can use the spoon and bowl style.. easier to scoop up and shove into bb's mouth without spilling.. hee..

These practices are what I think is practical.. so it's really up to you..

If I'm not wrong BARLEY is another type of GLUTEN.. let me check.. ok, here's what it says in Wilkepedia the ONline Encyclopedia:
<font color="0000ff">Gluten is an ergastic amorphous mixture of proteins found combined with starch in the endosperm of <font color="ff0000">some cereals, notably wheat, rye, and <font size="+1">barley.</font></font> It constitutes about 80% of the proteins contained in wheat, and is composed of the proteins gliadin and glutenin. Gluten is responsible for the elasticity of kneaded dough, which allows it to be leavened, as well as the "chewiness" of baked products like bagels. It is the glutenins (specifically, low molecular weight glutenins) that are especially critical to gluten quality.[1]</font>

Yes, some of the mummies here did a trial for GymB..

<font color="ff0000">Selena</font>, hope ur cough is getting better and recover soon.

<font color="ff0000">Brenda</font>,
kk keep my ZUTZUT, hope our next meet up wont be long, is so fun to gather. Perhap can arrange one for the fair at suntec.
I will get back to you on the freezer bb cube tray tonight. k

<font color="0000ff">Intro solid</font>
I already started Amabel with solid food when she turn 5 month+. I am giving her brown rice with Si Sen for lunch and homemade fruit puree in the evening. I also started to replace one night feed with Similac FM. She prefer Similac to Enfalac (which i previously given her once, when i cannot meet her demand and she likes it last time. Now she dont like it liao). Actually, which FM is better huh?

I also bought HT brown rice cereal for her recently. Given her once to try, she dun really like the taste i think, but she still eat it.
As for fruit puree, i still think homemade one is better than those jar one.

<font color="ff0000">Joon</font>,
yah dun have the chance to talk to you during the yoga and for our little one to make friend with each other. NVM, i am sure there is chance. But i enjoy looking at how DN behave and of cos other bbs. Really nice meeting all mummies too.
Yah i am asking about skin laser, anyway i checked with my dermatologist and a Aesthetic and also my gynea and they said is safe to do. Why you wanna do IPL, ur complexion like very good liao leh.

<font color="ff0000">Orange</font>,
you can send to [email protected] Many thanks.

<font color="ff0000">Pheobe</font>,
Just saw your email on the payment detail. I transfer to you tonight.
I also wanna order one more calendula cream leh, let me know if you are still going to organise again. Thanks!

<font color="ff0000">DG</font>,
what cook book is good, can recommend some here?
Since you are pro in intro solid food, wondering is it good that you can organise a cooking session for us to learn from you. wahaha!
I dont even know how to cook fish leh, like that how am i going to intro this to her when she turn 9 months.

I am also going to buy the BABY BITES liao.
Yah what other cereal is good huh? Actually i still prefer to cook myself if possible really than giving those off the rack one but I dunno how to cook leh

When can we start to train bb use training cup huh?

Sorry mummies crash into ur thread, am from June '06 thread

DG, how have u been?
M in sch or? (oh just scrolled up and read ur reply to another mummy). How's Nicholas doing? U handling solo or? How was ur CNY?
A's in drama (wed), music (fri), eng pg (sat), both kids swim (sun)... procrastinating looking for something gym-ish for Irv on wkdays.

joon,
hi!
the denim bib looks really fancy for boys!

brenda, yes barley contains gluten, though the level of gluten protein in barley is not as high as in wheat and oats.

RICE CEREAL
if you want non-organic, get Heinz as they are non-sweetened. If you don't mind sweetened types since FM is already sweetened, then give Nestle as their varieties are very good.

See my post yesterday to Michelle on organic types.

hi hi medusa!!! Wowow... did you come here to look for me. LOL! sorry, i buay paiseh.

will reply your qns later, okie. Marcus is now "pestering" me to help him draw fire engines. :D How have you been?? Tell me all about you, Irvin and Athena. We gotta meet up!!

ling, can recommend but depends what kind you want. maybe cook some from AK first to see what you like/dislike and then we discuss again? I love Superbaby Food but it has no colourful pictures. I also use Jamie Oliver books a lot, though his are not really children cookbooks.

Women's Weekly has a great selection, so you oughta check out in Kino.

705365.jpg

**Front facing is for bigger babies. Meaning their head level is higher than the BB car seat's back..

Mummies, these are only my thoughts, happy if you girls have better analysis in this matter..

I take into MAJOR consideration of seat belt failures cos I've heard many cases..

For Front Facing is definitely more logical to put the BB car seat at the back pax seats than front.

And the BB car seat SHOULD NOT be in the middle! that's the worst place! cos center no shield from seat backs!

I strongly suggest that BB car seat should be postioned behind the driver's seat because it's the safest side. As driver's has a natural tenacy to swerve THEIR side away if there's a collision.

Wa lao eh.. these 2 drawings took me almost 2 hours to complete and to analyse! Hope these pictures can make u girls understand better ya.. if not, last resort CALL ME la..

OMG. . I need to go thru sooooo many archived . . you mummies move so fast. . I am LOST!!!!

so now we are in topic of car seat. . and before was the yoga class thou it is still ongoing and food for baby. . so did I miss out any main topic???

<font color="0000ff">Brenda</font>, we did not change the bola but the Sherilyn's papa brought her a new one and my sister give her one bigger one as well.

Sha,
Haaa! What happen? Can't log in??? Welcome back. I also back today... and can't follow up with the forum... find i missing alot!!

Brenda,
WOW! So 'deep' ... muz take time to analysis your drawings.

DG,
yah saw ur nick very active here, hehe. Mountain don't go to Md, so Md go to mountain lor :p . Am gd, bunking in with my mum so I can run ard to bring A for classes. Irv's pretty neglected in comparison though. Weds I'm pretty near ur area, maybe next Wed afternn can meet in Borders or something? I think Berry hangs out there ard that timing too, LOL.

June,
if ur son seems ok after, shldn't be a problem? I've given barley to my boy even when 6mths old, minute amts. Depends really on ur comfort level. One GP really discouraged me fr doing so though, something abt dried barley possibly having mould contamination.

june, you are NOT poisoning him lah! LOL! If he was fine then, that means he is probably OK with that grain. So don't worries.

E-ling, my first cookbook was Annabel Karmel's "FEeding your baby & Toddler". I must have cooked over 100 recipes from that book. Then i bought another few over the next 15 months to meet my other needs/satisfy my curiosity. AK's recipes range from simple to complex, so you just have to browse through to choose the ones you like. But it is very ang-mo style, uses lots of cheese and milk in many recipes. But you can always improvise.

COOKING FISH
AK has several excellent (IMO lah) recipes on cooking fish and I tried and love them all. My boy Marcus used to eat so much fish whenever I cooked them that his whole head, pee, nappy etc... smelled of fish! LOL! (sorry, I know it's gross) But if you want chinese style, then you can steam ngor hee (threadfin) or cod or simply add pieces of them into the porridge when it is almost cooked (if you feed porridge)

regarding cereals, i just replied Brenda. Same info. if you need more details, let me know or we chat on MSN if you see me online.

<font color="ff6000">June</font>, hey don be worried as long as Jayden shows no negative signs towards it. What we've been talking about are ways WE, as in individuals' style in bringing up our kids la.. u may have your style and just like feeding Jayden coffee or barley as long as as a mother, you're comfy with it. We have different schools of thoughts in bringing up children but most important thing is, they grow up!

<font color="aa00aa">Littlepony</font>,
Yes I was lock out . . so sad. . hahahaha. . you also went MIA so how is your CNY??? I got a FOC car seat liao and Sherilyn is very happy in it and I went to brought new cushion for her at kiddy palace.

<font color="ff6000">Joon</font>,
How was the order??

<font color="0000ff">Phoebe</font>,
Sorry if I miss out in any of the posting with regards to the bumbo tray, how is it going??? Is the order still on or off???? BTW thanks for the cream - ilovebabies has collected it for me.

<font color="0000ff">Brenda</font>,
so which is the position to place the car seat??? Currently I have place Sherilyn's car seat behind the driver's sit facing the front - should be safe enough right??? . . hehehehe. . and she is happy with that as well coz she can see me as well.

Hey Brenda,

Thks for the detailed explanation. You are really GREAT!

I haven't tried feeding C rice cereal yet, going to start these few days when she "officially" turn 6 months old.

I know we can feed cereal via bottle but i read from some website that don't add solid food to baby's bottle or he may not make the connection that food is to be eaten sitting up and from a spoon. why there is always 2 school of thoughts for stuff leh!!! hahah....

As for the training cup, are u using the avent magic cup? any idea if i can sterilized the magic cup cos it look so plastic and i worry it will melt in the steriliser. LOL....

dumpty *blush*. :p I "tam jia" mah.. so cannot shy away from food-related topics. LOL!

ilovebabies, please don't think that you are lousy mummy. I have more time since SAHM and also I have done this whole weaning process before and just 2 yrs ago mah.. so can remember all this. Last time with Marcus, I also knew nothing, so I would read up everyday as i'm also info junkie.
Anyway, weaning is actually VERY interesting and simple once you get the hang of it. there is plenty info in this thread already. start here.

Phoebe,

I try transfering jst now, but stupid atm machine dun work, will try again this evening okie.

Selina,

Do Caleb sleep at the same time everyday? I have the same problem wit yun when her schedule go hay wire. Like sometime she took long hrs nap, she can wake up in the middle of the nite like 3am and only go back to sleep at 5am.

Thks mummies for the information on intro solids. Will be very useful when I start introducing solids to yun. Always thinking shd start already but till now haven't go & buy anything yet>>lazy mummy.

Again thanks girls for your sympathy. Really love this forum board!

blessedmommy,
I intend to wean my girl after 6 months. My other boob is still fully functional but I'm afraid it might not be enough to provide her in my absence. I will bring my Avent Isis to work tomorrow. No more Ameda since I'm close to weaning already. If you're going to Europe think you better delay weaning lah. Currently no problem right? I still swear by breastfeeding, it's very convenient. No need to prepare formula just suck and go haha.

angeline,
Your Trinity is the tiniest baby in Sept? But she seems to be the fastest! Impressive hor. I just bought Hannah a baby walker but all she does is sit down quietly and lick lick all the toys in front of her haha. She can move the walker slightly though but she's not moving far.

joon,
think it's pumping + stress lah. i just started a new job and disappearing every 3-4 hours is already a lot of stress to me. I had to work late but not late enough for my baby to miss her night feeding. my supply increased the week before then decreased steadily the week after hence the engorgement happen and I wasn't even aware of it b'cos I had other important things to think about. guess i neglected my own health lor.

smiley,
hey if you're comfortable with breastfeeding by all means continue ok! don't be dampen by my story heehee.

ling,
jialat lah you your post almost make me cry haha. yesterday my hubby also scold Hannah for causing so much trouble for me. poor thing, just a baby also kanna scolding from many people.

emoments,
your PD don't sound like he's pro TBF leh. i think 6 months is an ideal age to start. think Hannah who's 5.5 months also can start b'cos she's showing signs of food-readiness. once i ate milk + rice pudding she drooled and stared at me, i gave her some small portion, she actually eat them up with full interest. didn't reject at all. think she's ready lah.

by the way do you know that indians breastfeed their child up to 4 years old and malays breastfeed their child up to 2 years old? my malay friend say some of them even started solid earlier than 6 months. seems that the babies are doing fine. the allergy concern is mainly hereditary issues lah. some babies grow faster than their biological age.

ilovebabies, littlepony,
hey who's your PD? my PD Dr Gong always insist on Hannah starting solid at 6 months and insist that it must be mixed with breast milk. he's pro breastfeeding so now put me in dilemma, should i continue to bf and risk another mastitis/breast abscess or wean. haiz. actually i don't even know how to wean haha. so sayang lah.

brenda,
i'm like you too! i hope Hannah doesn't grow so fast but at the same time i'm always excited over the new things that she learned! hey excellent diagram on safety!! i also agree never put baby car seat in the middle seat. that's the WORST place!! baby can be flung out of the car window!! can be fatal!

<font color="ff6000">SHA!!!</font> you're back! was wondering where were u.. almost going to sms u abt the bola too. Thought u went to beach to play bola and Sherilyn and don want to come back here liao.. hee..

Eh, sorry about yor bola le.. really didnt know yours got hole.. I buy u coffee next time when we meet can? Pai seh..

I was thinking hor, the only way I'll know is to blow the bola up but I also think I don have so much breath to blow ALL the bolas there! Maybe <font color="ff6000">LING</font> will have to come collect the fainted me.. heehee

Eh, under my drawings got explain why FRONT and REAR.. it really depends on your bb's size, also another thing the SPACE between front pax seat and back pax seat. Some cars are tiny like BMW 3 series example, then cannot position rear facing liao..

hi mommies.. this is hilarious.. juz had to show u...

705395.jpg

Ellen DeGeneres displays her "Oscar Bjorn" -- what every Oscar winner needs to handle their award, acceptance speech, etc. -- while hosting the 79th Academy Awards.

<font color="ff6000">Yuna</font>, heh.. ya lor.. BUT THEY ALL GROW UP, dont they?!

yes we are using the Avent magic cup! I don sterilise the cup, only the spout part and it's rubber instead of plastic so far so good la..

little pony
sorry. cut n paste n forgot to delete that part. the oct thread started a yahoo groups to share photos.

melody
yes he does. i try to make him settle for the nite by 8+9pm. very tiring now.

e-ling
tks. hope i recover soon too cos next wk going for cruise.

<font color="0000ff">Brenda</font>,
BMW!!!! I OWN one when I am really young . .. but it is only a toy car!! hahahaha. . .

I almost wanted to go to the beach with the bola but I realize that I can't fit into my 2 pieces bikini anymore, plus now I have acquired additional skin and FAT on my body which bounce when I run. Therefore I have decided not to cause a commotion at EAST COAST Beach therefore I STOP IMAGEING . . .. . . . .hahahaha. . Just for laugh. . .

dont worry about the hole in the bola.

medusa, me is GOOD, so glad we have #2 though it can be tiring and sometimes i still feel guilty about not spending enough time with Marcus. He is not going school yet for few reasons:
1. want wait till N is past 6 mths in case M falls sick easily after starting sch.
2. think M not ready to go unaccompanied types yet
3. don't want M to think I send him away now there is N and I also can't bear him go sch daily.
4. really want M to atend Montessori For Children (MFC) which is opp my condo, but must wait till he is 2.5yo (which is next month)
5. we may also be moving house, now scouting, so a bit "sian" as it means moving away from MFC..

N is very good most times but can be very demanding. Wants to be carried ALL the time. Can handle solo, but I have a maid, so MY quality of life is better.

Where is A's drama? JG? Music at Kindermusik? where is Eng PG? informal type?

I am considering sending M to JG for drama or GUG for unaccompanied kids class or try out a term at Newton Kindy as they have very strong Mandarin prog, but can't decide yet. Must go trial first.

Lilpony

heheh tot can meet u just now leh !
i started Rachel on biscuits last nite ! she seems to like it, finished 1 piece.

DG

tks. ya really need time to do research which is always lacking in a working mother, as least how I feel lah. Then comes weekend, still need time to do hsework. faint ...

melissa

my PD is Dr Ngiam from Singapore baby and child clinic at GlenE. He's a very experienced PD.

<font color="ff6000">Smiley</font>, yes you're a little paranoid! heehee.. no la.. u are just a concerning mother! whatever we do, just don OVER do it la.. most important, we must have fun doing mothering! hee..

<font color="ff6000">E-Ling</font>, training cups, your Amabel can liao! cos she already know how to hold her own milk bottle right?

<font color="ff6000">Melissa</font>, aiyo my art is urrrgggghhh.. but thanx! heh.. and I'm glad we sing the same tune when it comes to child safety!

<font color="ff6000">Emma</font>, hey! I saw that! it was a Bjorn? but that one looks damn cool and fashionable! The ONLY thing that stops me from buying these bb carriers becos they make me look like a frumpy old maid! But Ellen D's is cool!

<font color="ff6000">SHA</font>, I'm about to step out of my house to go for a MULTI-CULTURAL playdate and then I saw your post! hahahahahha! maybe we should organise a beach gathering then all the saggy tummy mummies do the baywatch run on the costal area! hahahahah!

<font color="ff0000">I'm so excited! Today I'm going to meet babies from almost all over the world! Korean, Jap, German, American, French and ME the SINGIE!

brenda.. that bjorn looks sleek ya.. i think they prob tailored one for her when they found out that she wanted to use it on the show... din see that on the market...
i carry enzo in it at times... good for short trips and he loves facing out and staring at the crowds.. haha...

DG,
yes I think gd idea to wait til N past 6mths, I waited til Irv past 6ths too. All A's classes are accompanied, I am really worried abt the big leap to UNaccompanied. Her (unaccompanied) nursery starts when 30mths too, she's younger than M, so it'd be in April. After that will probly drop some of these current classes, see how (she's very fond of current classes). I'd PM/ MSN u her class details ;) . Athena's sorely lacking in Mandarin exposure but I can't afford anymore classes for her! Heard JG mandarin edudrama shld b gd?

ling/DG/joon
yes thinking of gg europe but will be leaving jo behind. anyway she is too young to appreciate anything! mainly to spend time with boys n why europ? cos hubby has to see his suppliers there so he tot of bringing us as well. that is why im hestitaing whether to go not cos if i go i gotta wean jo off. i dun wanna be pumping milk during holi!! yes its gonna cost me a bomb but used to it lah. we been spending quite a lot on family trips, the last to perth.

babycook? its sold in europe? where? if i can find i bring 1 back ok haha we can take turns to enjoy it! how to bring so many back with all the kids stuffs.

ilovebabies
i read bm doesnt have enuf iron contents for a 6 mth old baby n older, hence the need to start solids or iron fortified cereals. i tot u intend to bf till 1 yr old? actually there r a lot of factors as to why rachel is ganing lil weight n ur milk may not be the cause of it. its easy to pinpoint slow weight gain to our milk isnt it for those of us who bf. but some fm fed babies also have slow weight gain. the absorption rate differ from babies to babies. n while it is nice to see chubchubs most impt is healthy i guess. i say u'd hv done v well already. so if u feel giving her fm will give u peace of mind then go ahead. no need to feel guilty really. a happy mom makes a better mom

brenda, that was how i always feel when my boys go to playdate here... we also have multi-cultural gathering... hee hee... Are they from your condo?

emma, hee hee... u r right.. medusa knows the abbreviations very well lah. me lazy to type.

blessedmommy

thank you thank you ! it's so nice to hear from you.
yes I was assured by the BMSG counsellor that bb's growth rate is determined by themselves. I may not stop BF totally cos it's a bit wasted to stop BF when I still have the supply and company is ok with BF working mothers. I may just reduced EBM and supplement with FM. I'll start slow. thanks again
kao_embarrassed.gif