(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

ive finished the game. by trial and error guesses!

now i know who im talking w
better this way.

vaccination
===========

i called up PD clinic, they say 5-in-1 1st jab 95% will hv no fever, rotarix doesnt cause fever. so no nd to do anything to prevent fever prior to the jab. bringing kai for these 2 vaccination next wk.

im now pumping as frequently as i can. sometimes i can only get 5ml (coz rite after DBFg). so demoralising.

hope to see my supply increase soon!

shirlyn, tts wat i worried too. tts why i let kai take the jab b4 i go bac to wrk so tt i can take care of him if he has fever.

i think kai is the lightest bb here.

i read somewhere tt bb is suppose to double their birth weight at 3 mths right?

kai hasnt leh. his birth weight is 2.8kg, shld be 5.6kg by 3rd mth. now almost 1 wk past 3rd mth already, he's still 5kg nia....

seeing dr ong next wk.... sigh... hope kai puts on weight soon....

vaccination

Ethan take 6 in 1 jab and has got slight fever
i missed the 2nd Hep B so no choice gotto take 6 in 1

very mild fever and go off after 2 days

i realised every mth ive to worry abt kai's weight before seeing dr ong. alamak.

last time during pregnancy, ive to worry he gets too big as ive gestational diabetes. now ve to worry he doesnt grow big.

me worry queen mummy.

edksd
i took out J's creams and noticed that the words "corticosteroid cream/lotion" are printed somewhere near the name of the medication.
i would think these arent avail off the shelves and have to be prescribed by docs.

bad thing abt steroid? hehe... not sure, but i found this from the internet.

if you apply a corticosteroid cream to the same area of skin for a long time, the skin and the walls of the blood vessels become fragile and break easily, which makes bruising common.

edksd

dont worry so much, can affect milk supply leh.
all babies are different, anyway wait for ur app with pd and see what he has to say abt kai's growth. in the meanwhile, RELAX coz bb can sense our anxieties.

i just bought this sudocrem from mothercare. antiseptic healing cream for napkin rash, eczema and bed sores.

wanted to buy california baby calendula but didnt see it anywhere. so settled for this for the time being.

applying to kai's face, think he has got eczema.

it doesnt contain corticosteroid, so tt means it's steroid free?

tk u shirlyn for ur encouragement, i'll try to be happy-go-lucky more

today i went out w kai alone on the bb carrier.

the carrier was lent to me by a friend. cheap version kind which bb cant face forward. i wanted to try it out before deciding whether to invest in a bb bjorn one.

what type of carrier are u all using?

daisybuttons, jovann looks so cute on his tummy time. love his hair and eyes..

why not browse thru the baby whisperer book at Kino first before buying. EASY routine applies thruout the day except at night bed time. So basically from 7am to 7pm if bedtime starts at 7pm.

CEREALS
I remember Friso cereals have milk added to it already so mummy can feed it on its own. For convenience I guess. But I prefer to add my BM or FM that my son is drinking to it to ensure he is not allergic to it and from nutritional viewpoint. Nestle, HT, Earth Best and Heinz all have non-milk based cereals. Think Dumex is like Friso, but it uses Dumex milk powder so Ok for those feeding bb Dumex FM.

Organic vs non-organic
I think this is very personal choice really. I started Marcus with non-organic simply because it never occurred to me to feed organic then. Also back then i think the price differential is simply shocking. But later on, I started giving some organic varieties when i realised just how little he eats everyday anyway, so how much more expensive can it get?

With Nicholas I am going to introduce organic food from day 1, as much as possible. If we can afford not to feed our bb's delicate tummy/digestive system any pesticides, then why not? Now my take is even if he takes 50% organic food, it is 50% less exposure to pesticides. But once he reaches 18 mths, i won't be so concerned anymore.

sorry, so longwinded.

edksd, i donno how much nicholas weighs at 2mth but i doubt he will double in 3 mths either as that means he has to be 7.4kg.

my pd mentioned before that it is more important that bb puts on approx 1kg per month in first 3 months, doubling weight by 3 mth is just a guideline and harder/easier for some bb as it depends on their birthweight too.

MASSAGING DURING BF
try massaging at 3,6,9 and 12 o'clock positions of each breast before and during expressing.

Hi edksd, my baby cayden just went for his 5in 1 jab and rotarix, so far so good.. no fever (touch wood). In fact, he didnt even cry throughout the process.. hahaha.. so proud of him leh!

dont worry about the weight gain lah. every baby is different lor. as long as baby Kai is happy and gaining weight, i supposed is fine

diana

yes, I think it is called "shi shen"

edksd

so u got all the mummies match to the babies already ? so smart !

hey cheer up ok ... and your breast milk will be more nutritous

wah..the matching game quite tough leh.. haha...
Sure thing for me to get correct answers to myself, DG and shirlyn.... haha coz i know them!
;)

some of them can match pretty ok with some close observation.. some.. really hard.. btw, my hubby was helping me match hahahaha

Shirlyn -
My hubby was asking how come u did not use that "japanese-looking" picture of your daughter that ur hubby put on msn...hehe...that one very cute leh

Angeline & little pony,
My bb really looks like me!!! hehe...I mean he's my bb la but cos since birth only a miserable few says he looks like me..can count with fingers..majority says he looks like my hub! Anyway, great to read that! Tonight can sleep real well somemore now with the rain pouring!! Btw, I had a hard time findin decent pic of myself, can u imagine cos I usually dun like to take foto but good to find one which now I can go show my friends of how Keane resembles me haha..

ilovebabies,
juz realise prob I forgot to post my bebe's name..he's Keane btw.hee

Was lookin at some of Keane's videoclips cos missing him alrdy tho juz send him to my mil's pl few hours back..gosh juz realised it's past midnight..gotta work tmrw..goodnight all mummies & bebies!!

cereal
she looks so sweet and pretty in that picture with NICE THICK HAIR. now is cute with short spiky hair. didnt put that coz it was taken so long ago.

for the rest of the mummies here, it is a 'makeover' picture taken by the professional in the hospital.

Hi Diana, u ask for any place selling that thing or not ... and I happen to know they are selling so I let u know. I dont know they are selling more expensive and I don't know there's a BP going on.

Shirlyn,
so cute!!! she's so cute!! i love the pic!

For mummies who are preparing to intro solids to your bb, you can probably ask your PD for a list of food that will be good for your bb. PDs should give you that list. I will be asking my PD for the list as well.

Ilovebb, u can ask dr. ngiam for one. He has the english and chinese version of the list.

Littlepony.. when r u starting solids with Wayne?
good.. I am seeing Dr Ngiam this Sat, can get the list from him...

Shirlyn...ya this is the PIC!! haha... very amazing how she managed to pose like this in her first few weeks...

Cereal,
Think on the 4th month, probably will start Wayne with cereal. I need to re-confirm with Dr Ngiam. I m seeing him this Friday and ask him for the list. If I do get it, I will msg u.

WE ARE COMING!
-----------
DG, Nicholas (and maybe Marcus n hb) - propose 30/12
Phoebe?
Joon?
Cereal (trying to convince my hubby to go so that I can bring Keira along....)

Littlepony

I am seeing Dr Ngiam this Sat for rachel's 2nd jab. ok will ask him for the food list .. scared I forgot ahah

Cereal

what time are u seeing dr ngiam ? maybe we can meet at the clinic !! I think my appt is 11+am. Let me know ok .. anyway I know how u look like and of cos I will look out for Keira

ilovebabies

Your method to get letdown sounds very interesting. You have a rocking chair at home ?

<B>Gathering</B>

I'm not able to make it on 30 Dec. Jacqueline will be having her 2nd 6-in-1 jab in the morning.

ilovebabies,
My appt this Sat with Dr Ngiam is at 10:10am.
Oh..urs at 11am..maybe we can meet leh... haha.. can see u leh

and I hope i can recognise u leh.. if not, pls feel free to acknowledge me if u really do recognise me.. haha.. dun forget.. that pic i provided is pre-preg pic hor..haha

Ilovebb n cereal,
I should have changed my appt to sat leh. so can chit chat to both of you!! haaa!!
My Wayne is finally getting his vaccination after he was sick! sigh!!!!
Are you both giving bb rotavirus???

cereal

my pic was taken 2 yrs ago too ! now I have short black hair.
and I look fatter hehe

littlepony

eh want to change or not ?? u try lah !
yes I will be taking the rota virus for my Rachel .. dont want to take the risk.

btw have u taken up hospitalisation policy for wayne ? cos medical bills v ex hor ...

ilovebb,
Haa. i am still keeping appt on friday coz i taken leave already! haaa! Next round lah!
ya.. i also plan to take rota virus for wayne.
Hospitalisation policy - no leh. I really hope i don't have to use it anymore!!! But yes, medical bills damn xxxxxx!!! Just a couple of days and cost me 3k.

littlepony

ic ic... i took up the policy for Rachel oredi. MEdical bills in SG is darn ex.... i play safe lah ahaha

of cos, I also hope I dont need to claim for Rachel ok !!!

so is wayne recovering well ?

my Rachel has recovered from her cough already so happy hehe...

yea, i also took up a hosp policy for J.
want to play safe too, heard of the bills that can chalk up when bb/kid fell sick.

ilovebabies
yay, rachel can celebrate the xmas happily - no more "uhuhuh"

ilovebb,
wayne is better but still got phlegm. Dr. ngiam says two weeks of recovery so now, just continue to monitor. He is not under medication anymore... and drinking milk increases.. so very happy but still, after the incident.. i really scared liao!!!

Jacqueline's tummy time
619502.jpg

Jacqueline like tummy time a lot. She can hold it there for 15-20mins and just look look see see

But she doesn't know how to flip yet.
Though she has the urge to flip, but I haven't witnessed a successful flip.

haven't been logging on coz kenah stomach flu <font color="ff0000">&amp;$*#&amp;!!</font> and it's not funny! the worst was the doc telling me i can't touch the bb so much coz i'm highly contagious

ilovebabies,
glad to hear tt rachel's cough is gone! yay! must thank ur hb for the game... i just played with it again, hahahhahahahaaaaaaa...

DG,
saw ur post abt EASY and DN has fallen into that routine too
i think it's something tt all bbs will get to eventually eh? Gina Ford's method was also the same. Any idea when our bbs will start dropping naps? DN still naps before every feed, so that's abt 4-5 times a day before he sleeps for the night.

Gathering
WE ARE COMING!
--------------

DG, Nicholas (and maybe Marcus n hb) - propose 30/12
Phoebe?
Joon, DN &amp; hb
Cereal (trying to convince my hubby to go so that I can bring Keira along....)