(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

michelle
ethan has eye infection? does he always use his hands to rub his eyes? his hands might be dirty. anyway with the eyedrop it shld clear in few days. just keep the area clean.

i love babies
wah me ur idol? haha... u r right. each time i look at my jo i wanna hv another. those bb times so precious. wish she never hv to grow up!!

hey when is the game gonna startr? me getting excited leh.

melissa
i read a lil abt u in another thread. u r really a brave mommy!!! i hope its the same melissa??

really on the verge of handing in my resignation letter implusively. I know if I think too much abt it I will not have the guts to do it.

Anyway, yesterday was first day at work and hubby had a freelance job too. So left Trinity at MIL's place. I rushed home after work to fetch her. Saw her lying in the stroller staring blankly at the ceiling while MIL was cooking dinner. In my opinion, BB should take 1st priority when she is awake. During my maternity leave in SGP at my mum's place, we would always 'entertain' Trinity when she is awake. We will give her plenty of stimulation. Talk to her, sing to her, play with her. For the last few weeks, she was very reactive to our stimulation and can even talk/coo back at us when we talk to her and she definately can focus at the person talking to her and look brightly as if trying to understand us. But last night, she continued to stare at the ceiling even when I carried her and called her. Took me a few hours before I can get her to 'communicate' with me again. So depressing....

During dinner, MIL commented that Trinity needs to being talked to all the time. But her other daugthers babies (who she took care of more than 10 years ago)could lie and play quietly by themselves. She continued saying that she tries to avoid carrying BB so BB can be independant and adults can get their own work done. I was thinking to myself, I don't want my Trinity to be a 'gong gong' BB who just stares at the ceiling. And BBs so young thrives on tender loving care. and cuddling them is part of giving this loving care.

Sorry for being so long winded. Just need to air out a little. Certainly took alot of emotional strength this morning to bring her to MIL's place again. Was holding back my tears when I had to leave for work. Already late (arrived in office only at 10). Can't imagine what it will be like in a few months time when she know how to reach for mummy. If she doesn't miss me as she is more attached to caregiver, I'll be heartbroken. If she crys and pulls at my clothes to stop me from leaving her for work I'll be heartbroken too.

What should I do??????

Angeline,
I can totally empathize with what u r goin thru.
When bbs do not respond to us as when they used to be. When things do not work out as the way we want it to be. Imagine when my boy cries when I tried to talk to him and carry him only on the 2nd day at my in laws pl. My heart was torn!! I was suppose to be his mummy, someone who's able to calm him, suppose to be able to pacify him, suppose to provide him with maximum TLC....There were tears in my eyes but I couldn't cry out cos I certainly dun wanna let Keane knows that mummy is sad and affects him. And this fear that they'll be more attached to the caregiver....tho they'll still know who's mummy but cant help feeling this way and lots of uncertainties, qn marks.....

Emma,
yes u r right but I ever come across some break it into syllabus and pronounced as "kei-en" and 1 nurse even read as "Kee-na"..haha she was calling for so long b4 I realised it's Keane's name.

I was in the queue buying breakfast this mornin and actually sorta doze off standing! haha..the auntie was callin out to me and I actually din hear it! The person behind me had to pop her face in front of me and give me a pat on the shoulder...gosh..so embarrassing...When I finally realise ppl ard was looking at me. I am tired but din know to this extend.

Angeline

cheer up !! I believe bb are smart. They are probably left alone for a while but you can catch up the times with her and at nite. I too was worried that my Rachel would be deprived of the play time I had with her during my ML but I guess I have no choice. I try to make up to her during the car ride in the morning so I'll sing and play with her if she is awake. Even if she is sleeping, I talk to her ! haha ! hope she is listening lor ... last weekend I was with her all the time and I think she is still the same responsive bb she was before I start work. I am so glad. I believe trinity is trying to get used to the new lifestyle. Give her some time and give urself some space too. Dont worry, your efforts will not gone to waste... you are her mummy afterall.

chocolat

my nephew is called Keane too but my SIL pronounced it as "KEE-EN" .. i also find it weird cos we are used to the Man Utd player Roy Keane (pronounced as "KEEN").

eh i was telling my hubby that I almost dozed off driving today too !! so tired ..and stupid CTE so jam ... car move so slow .. make me sleepy

ilovebabies,
reading ur msg does make me feel better and see some light and hope too esp the last sentence

"Give her some time and give urself some space too. Dont worry, your efforts will not gone to waste... you are her mummy afterall."

Think I'll constantly need this reassurance...hee me so lousy..

joon, oh my god, my heart was in my throat when u said lulu dropped ur baby. when i read on i am so glad he is okie, and yes u are right, really lucky its padded and its 10cm! but still, if u had blown ur top she wld have deserved it!!! how u stayed cool, u must be a sweet girl indeed. i sure will retort something nasty, somemore u said she is so opinionated and seems arrogant to me leh! whats it to her that u use pacifier. even if she dun approve of using it, DN is not HER baby what. siao one, such ppl hor.....yah loh! dun buy anything else from her oredi! i am just glad DN is okie.....

wah u quite careful leh. u knows, once when i changed diapers for him on the mothercare thick diaper mat, i also slightly dropped his head a few cm. coz my wrist was aching for very long oredi. not 10cm lah, but a bit bit. i oredi heartache and kept sayanging him. then recently when i lowered him into his bathtub his head hit the tub slightly too, i felt so bad loh!!!!! so clumsy and careless. i told hubby i need a bigger tub coz when he is inside and he kicks, i have to make sure i prevent his head from knocking against the back of the tub.

no lah, i am not sling-spert hahah! what a phrase.
i have only tried the MIM sling in 3-4 positions - the 2 variations of cradle hold, snuggle hold, and just today the position with him sitting facing me with legs dangling out. forgot whats the name lah hehehe. i din wana use that til he is bigger but today he quite fussy and i got so many chores to do so i tried that. again, he got drowsy very soon.hehehee...

hey u go playgroup ah? can u share what is it like? how many times u go oredi and did DN like it? how do u sign up? what kinda places is it usually held, is it nursery or where? sorry i sua ku leh. wanna expose him to such fun things but dunno where to start.

hhmm...who was it who asked which sling better huh? is it DG? i cant comment coz i only tried MIM, but i really like it. in fact, so much that i bought one more, to match my mood and clothes.
but its true its quite warm though, but okie with me.

hey anyone has bad cradle cap on the head? my Jovann has leh. getting worse. mrs wong said use baby oil or olive oil to apply then comb off. i tried but cannot leh! so much how to remove? i rem someome mentioned got cream issit? must get from PD or can get from pharmacies huh?

angeline, when i read ur post i can imagine how torn u are. how sad u feel when u see baby being neglecte d while she cooks dinner loh. and many older generattions still thinks that babies are like last time's babies. "so easy" to take care. my dad keep saying my boy very naughty, want ppl to carry, talk to, play with. but i know its coz we talk to him loh. in the initial days after we are back from hospital, i notice he could play by himself when left alone. it was tempting in the beginning to leave him be coz i was so tired and stiches hurting. but we discussed and feel that we really dun wana to be one of those who leave their babies there without TLC, so we carried him when he is awake to walk around the house, talk to him, play with him etc. i know in the end, we are making him NEED the attention, but i dun regret doing so. coz he is indeed more responsive to us and babytalk so much since 7 weeks. its really rewarding and fun to talk to him. can imagine how u feel now loh. so how long u giving urself to decide whether to be a SAHM? have u talked to blessedmommy yet? maybe she can give u some advice. i am also a bit tempted loh. but working means we get double the income and we just have to really spend time with him before, after work and on weekends.

weekend mums =>
guess i am oredi lucky that my parents are taking care and i am seeing him every day. we planned for this when we bought our bukit panjang home 3 yrs back to be near my parents staying in BP too. the only concern i have is will they stimulate and talk to baby as much as us. i have left specific instructions not to baby talk to him, but speak in proper sentences. hope they will loh. and i worried if they can take it coz my mum health is weak and my dad is plagued by body aches most of the time.

my MIL seems to wanna take care of baby too so we planned to bring him to her on mon and tue. she stay in yio chu kang wor but bo bian have to make the trip loh. poor hubby will have to drive to and fro loh.

it is sure rewarding that baby can respond to us. i notice that those who have girls already have their babies recognise their faces? i read that girls are faster in recognising faces. my boy dunno if can recognise my face a not leh, coz he smiles at everyone of us..... but my hubby say i seem to be able to soothe him better than he can, which i am so happy to hear.

ilovebabies, daisybuttons, chocolat,

Thanks for your encouragement. I'll try to pull through the next 2 weeks and see how I feel then.

This forum and Sep'06 mums are really great. Help me pull through all the difficult times
-bad oscar results during pregnancy
-tough time when trying to breastfeed
-support throughout my trying to establish SS when total EBMing
-and now when I am so torned between becoming a SAHM or FTWM.

angeline
i can imagine ur ache when u came to fetch trinity n saw her staring blankly at the ceiling alone while mil is cooking. it makes u feel she is being abandoned right. i wud be so sad too. but then again only mothers can provide 100% for our babies. we cant expect other caregivers to be like us, not even moms or mil. as one of the mommy mentioned here, the older generation somehow thinks that bb shld learn to be left alone to play. but babies nowadays love to be stimulated. for myself when my gal is up n i hv to attend to other things i also make sure she is nearby n i just cont talking to her. at least she hears my voice she knows im nearby. i dun like to abandon her all by herself though i know she is contented all alone.

do not feel guilty abt having to be a working mom ok. we all know whatever we do we r doing what we think is the best for our babies. think of it positively ok. we sahm face our children whole day at times we get frustrated and scream at them unknowingly n regret later. whereas working moms like u after being away from bb whole day, u tend to miss them so much n love them even more end of the day when u see them. not that sahm dun love our children lesser but the feeling og longing make ur love for ur bb even more intense end of the day when u see them aft a hard day work n the smile they giv u make u feel its all worth it. im sure u know what i mean right.

whatever ur decision is, always remember, a happy mom makes a better mom. be happy ok cos trinity can feel it too.

wow so many posts since i last logged in... it's so nice to see that this thread is so active! i must be more pro-active and catch up!!

orange03,
hello cayden's mommy!
of course i remember cayden! he's always so stylishly-dressed! heh heh heh... he's not cranky lah! DN isn't exactly Mr Friendly towards the end, remember? Yeah! See u sat... so nice to know that u come to this thread too
ps: i love cayden's hair btw, so nice and thick! DN is balding

daisybuttons,
yeah, i can be a pushover at times...
must stop that! Oh, the playgroup is called "Positive Infants" and it's conducted at Babies N Cream at GWC. It's a 45-min class and we do some bb massage, some bb yoga (i.e. stretching only!) and sing songs and play with bb. I think it's a tad pricey (abt $25 per class), but it gives DN and me something to look forward to every week and I get some ideas on how to play with him at home. Yes, I am quite "duh" on a simple thing like that!!!!! U can read more here...

http://www.babiesncream.com/sClassDetails.asp?CID=28

Abt cradle cap, I use the aromababy brand moisturiser. Worked alright for DN's cradle cap. It dissolved the dry skin and I could wipe it away the next morning. (left it on overnight) I have a sample sachet that u can try. U want? I can post it to u today so u can get it tom.

angeline,
don't be sad ok? the way we bring up chdn today is so diff from in the past. i mean, women used to have 10 children last time! inevitable that they will be left alone some time. so ur MIL is just doing what seems "normal" to her. *sigh* and it's doubly hard for u to say anything coz she is helping u with trinity after all. *sighhh* i think i'll have this problem too when my MIL takes over... and coz she's not my mother, i cannot tell her what to do or how i feel! i'm also thinkg of quitting!

melissa,
ya man, shocked me like hell when he fell! of coz she did apologise, but she was like "HE slipped out." I'm like "hello?! HE slipped out? U think HE did it on purpose? YOU are supposed to hold him carefully!!!" I agree with u man, the govt could do more... 3 mths is bleah... but then again, ML used to be 2 weeks a long long time ago! *faint*

michelle,
how's ethan's eye? better i hope!

angeline,
i think what ilovebabies said above is right, we gotta be extra lovg and give extra attention to our bbs when they leave our MIL's or mum's place. that way they will also look fwd to our return every day

hey... something funny to cheer us all up

<font color="119911">
Grandparents: The people who think your children are wonderful even though they're sure you're not raising them right.
Independent: How we want our children to be as long as they do everything we say.

Ow: The first word spoken by children with older siblings.

Puddle: A small body of water that draws other small bodies wearing dry shoes and socks into it.

Sterilize: What you do to your first baby's pacifier by boiling it and to your last baby's pacifier by blowing on it.</font>

... and my favourites...

<font color="aa00aa">Amnesia: The condition that enables a woman who has gone through labor to make love again.

Impregnable: A woman whose memory of labor is still vivid.</font>

hey mommies
do u know if there's a difference in the quality of milk we produce depending on the time of the daY? eg the milk produced during the nite is more nutritious/rich than wat we produce in the day time?

joon

i love the "Amnesia" quote best ! ahah ...

daisybuttons

my rachel did have cradle cap on her scalp and her eyebrows. Her scalp was quite mild but the dry flakes were quite alot on her eyebrows. Anyway I didnt do anything abt it though I know olive oil does the trick. probably I'm too lazy eheh .. anyway my sis told me it will go away on its own.

daisybuttons

My girl never had cradle cap. Maybe because I'm using mustela foam shampoo ? It says can help to prevent cradle cap.

edksd,
Kai knows how to play in the gym already ah. Maybe I should buy that for my gal at MIL's place so at least she will have something to do other than staring at ceiling.

blessedmommy, joon,
Thanks for encouragement. I'll try to be strong for the next few days and see if things gradually get better.

edksd

kai loves the playgrd ?

joon

is the playgroup good ? how much has DN benefited from it ? hubby is interested .. may sign up for Jan class on Sundays. anyone interested ? can go together leh !

joon, OMG! stoopid woman who dropped DN deserves a SMACK! Luckily DN is fine.

I love those lines .. LOL!! keep them coming!

Slings
blessedmommy, daisybutton, melissa, thanks for your advice/info on the slings.

Anyone has the MIM silk slings? Good??

I was recommended this collection, though I haven't go checked it out. Nicholas gets hot and perspire very easily, so I was told not to get the cotton ones.

joon, you sling too?

emma, what type you use?

ilovebabies, thank u too. Why choose satin instead of silk? Is it better in any way orjust different fabric?

Anyone know if satin or silk is more "breatheable" for baby ??

ilovebabies, i love the way you say "my rachel... " so endearing.
And aww.. it melts my heart to read about rachel turning over to smile at you. so incredibly sweet.

I am using the MIM cotton sateen sling. I find the material really thin and smooth. In fact my only worry now is will this material withstand the weight when my gal grows bigger.

DG

i didnt know there are silk slings, so bought the satin ones which more cooling than the cotton ones. however i find the sling tends to slip after using it for sometime. probably i am still not good at it.

ehhe ooops do i sound possesive ?? my rachel mah ... !

Any mother good at using nasal aspirator ? I find it different to use. Can teach me how to use ? My girl always have blocked nose. I think it affect her sleep, but I still couldn't find the best way to remove the mucus.

diana
me an expert!!! hv been sucking all my kids mucous!!! but i like the one which u suck urself not the squeeze one. know wat i mean??

blessedmommy
When can your babies sleep throughout the night hah? I heard some baby can make it since 2nd month. But my girl is almost 100 days old, she'll wake up at least 2 to 3 times every night. She'll fall asleep again after making some little noise or after I feed her. I'm really exhausted. Can give some advise?

diana
i suppose every baby is different. coz both my sons will wake up 2-3 times every night for feed. want to feed them more also cannot. they simply cannot drink more.
even during day time also the same. they have frequent small meals instead of few big meals

DG,
ya, i shld have followed my natural maternal instinct and kicked her right???
erm, i tried "sling-ing", but i dunno why, DN didn't fancy being inside. (altho i fancied it alot! my hands are free!) so i gave up that idea. got him the ergo carrier instead.

blessedmommy,
hmm... i didn't buy a nasal thing for DN... i just wait for his "stuff" to reach the edge and then i can pick it out... do u think i shld get one?

ilovebabies,
hmmm... i think i'm the one that benefits more than him! coz i learned how to massage him, how to do simple bb yoga stretches... some activities are quite useless la, like how we rock our bbs ard a circle and say how we wish them to grow up (??? sounds like a cult!)... i thot that was quite alibaba! i still don't think it's cheap, but what the hell! if u're keen, why don't u just go for a trial lesson? it's the same price per class. if u like it then sign on the package!
(that's what i did)

diana,
my bb boy just turned 3 mths on sat and he still wakes up at 2.30 to 3am to feed. his night schedule is like this...
10pm feed, 2.30am feed, 6.45am feed...
there was a time he stopped waking up at 2.30am and just woke up at 5am, but he stopped that!!!! damn! @#@$**!
phoebe's right, all bbs are diff. i think some mums here have bbs that already sleep thru the nite... so lucky!

joon

great ! i may sign up for the trial class.... see if I will meet u there .... remember that I can recognise u but not the other way ! ha ! ok ok I know u are going to hurry me to start the game soon... heh hubby promised to finish it by tonite !

hey joon, ooh babies and cream ah. actually i had tot of signing him up for massage classes there but din find time to. just now went to read abt positive infants and got interested. i signed up oredi!!! hhahhaa. though only 3 lessons left but what the heck.....i go see this saturday if i like it loh. so will be meeting u i guess.

ooh thanks for offering the sample sachet. yes yes *nod head* i wld like it very much pls if u are okie to give me.
u have my addy? thanks so much!

blessedmommy wow how did u manage to suck out the mucus? mine is also suck kind but both hubby and i tried it without effect leh. are we just too squeamish about it?

diana, mustela ah? ooh i dunno isit coz i using lactacyd leh. my friend said that causes cradle cap, but yet the books say that prevents cradle cap. so who's right? jia lat hehehe.

joon, ha ha.. cant help laughing when saw you mentioned the cult thingy!! Me thought so too.. Cayden hair is in a mess now leh... he is also dropping hair and i have no idea how to comb his hair... so end up, he looks like a rock baby...hee hee

ilovebabies, personally i think you might want to enrol rachel when she is slightly older say 5 months. as i noticed those bigger babies seems to enjoy more. My Cayden still blur blur leh.. he must be wondering what on earth is happening !!! Ha ha.. think he rather sleep zzz...

angeline, ilovebabies,

i did brought the playground out for kai to play when he was 1 mth + guess he didnt really appreciate tt much. now he's 2 mths + can see tt he knows how to appreciate but still limited of course and the concentration span is still short. when he has enough, he'll cry then i'll feed him or carry him or let him sleep, etc. after tt i'll let him play it again.

this toy is supposingly for 0-10mth.

ilovebabies, yalor. also, they advised mummies not to feed the babies 2 hours before the class.. to prevent babies from spitting milk. end up, our babies will feel hungry and sleepy in the class and gets cranky. i noticed is always the few younger babies the spit milk, gets cranky... my cayden is the champion in crankiness!!! ha ha .....

daisybuttons

See my girl's hair. I think mustela washed away all the oil from scalp so her hair can standup. She is like a rock girl, isn;t it ?
603644.jpg

im quite skeptical abt bringing bb out even though he's going to be 3 mths soon. can someone talk some sense into me?

so far ive only brought him out for those PD and gynae visits. once to my sis in law place and once to hubby's cousin's place and once for a quick shopping only.

edksd (edksdid)
For the playground, I bought a tinylove one. But my girl refuse to lie on leh. Also bought an activity centre, not sure whether she'll like it. My mum said I bought all the toys for myself, might as well buy a few big balloon hang on the ceiling, she may like it more.

edksd

ohh i brought Rachel to many shopping trips after she turn 1 mth old. I STRONGLY believe that my breastmilk has build up her immunity. ehhehe hope I am not too confident ! anyway she luvvvv shopping.. she wont sleep until she is v v v v tired. you shld expose ur child as much as you can ... well, that's what I believe... it's really up to u ! Oh and she has been to many hse visiting trips too !

ilovebabies,

duno leh. maybe im just a kiasee mummy :p just worried he'll catch virus or things like tt.

i rem once brought him out on stroller at 1mth+ but he kept crying. so no choice hv to carry him. in the end the stroller like no use like tt.

my actual stroller will arrive next wk. i hope to bring him out more often. pls give me some encouragements!

chocolat, blessedmommy, joon
tks for your concern
ethan's eye seems slightly better today but still hving those yellow discharge but not as swollen as y'day lah.

blessedmommy,
u r so smart. i guess it comes wif being a mother of 5! ethan likes to rub his eyes wif his hands and he loves to put his hands in his mouth too so i gues that's where the infection might hv come in. btw he's still wearing mittens :p