(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

edksd,

You must try to bring your bb out so that he will not be scared of strangers. This is old folks' myth.

I also bring Tricia out every weekend to my friends' house, shopping,etc.

It is also very enjoyable whenever someone commented that your baby looks cute, adorable,etc.

daisybuttons
my babe had cradle cap when she was abt 1 1/2 mths old. the dry scalp cracked until like the lines on a football at that time.

pd prescribed some "steroid" to apply on it coz it was v bad (dont think u'd need it). he also gave olive oil to soften the scalp and the pd asked me to get cradle cap shampoo from any pharmacy.
now, her condition has improved alot! waiting for the last few bits to come out.
i didnt really use a brush, i use my fingertips to massage after applying the oil. the loose dry bits of scalp will come out as a result. hehe... feel so good whenever i see that.

if u were to see the pd, most prob is to get the olive oil. i have no idea where to get the oil. dont think can use cooking kind.

diana
ur baby's hairstyle looks so punk-like! hehe, hair so long still can stand

daisybuttons
i did some research on cradle cap, trying to find reason why my babe has it.
dont think there is a cause leh?!

daisybuttons, try using baby oil (lite) I'm using that and its very gd..... (white color cap) not very oily loh and can get it anywhere....mi too....heng I bought my house that is one block away from my mom!!! If not I really will miss my darling. My MIL is staying at bedok and my mom at cck (yew tee) imagine if i stay at bedok.....thats why when we decide to buy I told my hb i want to stay near my mom. Thats why my mom ccan come to my house everyday!!!

blessedmommy,
what thread did u read abt me? my nick shd be the same lah.

angeline,
hey don't worry your bb won't be gong gong one lah. please don't say that. for me, i know for a fact that my mom tends to leave my baby alone while she does the cooking or laundry or other house chores but i'm ok with that b'cos i need to respect her duties as well. i can always stimulate my girl at nights when i'm back from work. always look on the bright side of things. at least it's my mom taking care of her, not some maid or other unrelated nannies. 'cos i have trust issues.

i think that as a baby i must've stared at the ceiling a lot too haha but i never thought of it as detrimental to mental development. we all turn out alright mah.

daisybuttons,
where did you find out that boys recognize faces slower than girls? aiyah don't believe in stuff like that lah. see lah, make you stress only right. my girl also smile at everyone. but i still believe that she recognize me for example, when she's distracted by the crowd and i call out to her, her face will light up and she smile at me. i don't even have to try like other strangers do. even my hubby can't make her smile automatically at him haha! don't worry, babies are built to know their mommies very well. have faith on nature.

joon,
wtf? 2 weeks? even confinement period is 1 month!!! i'm thinking that the people who complain that maternity leave is too long must've not been loved enough by their mothers haha. sour grapes!!!!!

michelle,
i kinda heard that BM is different at different times of the day but i have never found that fact on the internet but then again, i'm too lazy to check haha. but i believe so! it always tastes different. and night BMs seems to be able to let babies sleep longer too. amazing liao. my bb has steadily sleep through the night already. from 6-7 hours nightly. i believe it has something to do with the BM content at night.

edksd,
i have a baby play gym too but my girl only like to stare at the mobiles. she hasn't learn to reach out yet. has your Kai learnt to reach out to those stuff?

eh you still haven't bring your baby out ah? i think me champion in bringing baby out liao haha. even during my confinement my buttocks itchy already we brought her out but not for long lah. sometimes when she's outside for too long, she will get overstimulated and get cranky at nights. aiyoh headache but i have learn to calm her down lor.

Diana,
my baby has been sleeping through the night since she's almost 2 months. i thought it's too early for her to develop that kind of "blessing" but PD said it's normal and that means she has plenty of reserves to last her that long. but somehow sleeping through the night doesn't happen to everyone. my niece is 6 months old and she still wake up a few times at night for feeds. my bb's last feed is around 12 midnite and she will wake up at 6 or 7 am. and LOL wow your girl's hair is really hair-rising experience!! pun intended hahaa. my mom said if my girl's hair stand up like that can put on a scarf or a cap let her wear everyday. she's so chubby can i EAT HER??!! argghh!

MIM sling,
today i went to Vivocity wearing the sling in a kangaroo position again. she is facing out. i am surprised that my girl likes it and even fall asleep in it! everyone that passed me all looked at me liao!! but i feel proud of wearing my bb leh! i think the sling is an excellent piece of invention ever!!! but hor, i wear for more than 1 hour, my shoulder start to ache already 'cos i think my girl put on more weight liao. i'm not surprised if she's suddenly 6kg or something. haven't checked yet. my PD appt is next Sat. oh my sling is plain blue color. i don't know if it's silk or satin haha. it was passed to me by my aunt. but it's comfy.

daisybuttons & ilovebabies,
orange is right, our bbs will prob enjoy it more, respond more if they're older. DN always gets sleepy and cranky towards the end of class. there was once he fell asleep with 10 more mins to go! so are u girls still going for it?

daisybuttons,
i don't think i have ur add... email me ok? i'll post it tom... hope it works!

orange,
yeah, rock on, cayden! u have great-looking hair!

diana,
her hair is so punk! haha! so cute!

edksd,
don't worry, kai will get stronger if he's more exposed.
it's like vaccines - they put the virus in us so our bodies learn to fight it. so if kai is exposed to more bacteria/germs/viruses etc, he can only get stronger snd stronger... so where u thinkg of bringing him this weekend?

oh yah!

ilovebabies, eling, blessedmommy, michelle, emma, shirlyn, cereal,
can i link DN's blog to all ur bb's blogs? i'm asking for permission just in case u want to keep it private... don't have to say "yes" ok?

have i left out any other bb's blogs???
sorry, the thread moves so fast sometimes that i might have missed some!

diana
my gal sleep 6 hrs at nite. i didnt purposely train her. the only training i gave her was to wake her up for feed ard midnight. initially she will wake up 5.5hrs later. nowadays its 6 n at times even 7 hrs. dun worry they will sleep thru the nite when they r ready. ur gal still wanna build up her fats mah. look at her folds!!!

daisybuttons
i swear by my pigeon nasal cleaner esp when bb having blocked nose. dun really like to use those nose drops so i suck it out to clear the nose. but u gotta be real gentle cos i scared will hurt the nasal tissues. it takes practise.

joon
if dn has no issue with the dirt on his nose, no need to get one la. but its v useful to me i wud say

hey i finish all the cupcakes what abt u? i like the strawberry one the most but pity its sooooo small!!

michelle
glad to hear ethan's eyes getting better. he still wearing mittens? why dun u take it off cos they harbour germs.

joon

no problem with me too ! wow wow ..our babies are so high tech .. have their own blogs and circle of friends already !!

diana

i want to pinch ur gals !! aiyo look at her michellin arms !! so cute .. eh she is so milky fair ! my rachel is a bit tan ahah ...

michelle

it's best to change the mittens regularly like what blessedmommy said. else, take it off and let ur bb explore his hands !

thanx girls! i've linked DN's blog to urs

blessedmommy,
i ate them ALLLLL! ok lah, not all, i shared A BIT with my dad and hb... hur hur hur...
thanx for the info abt the nose thingy... since it's not bothering him, i won't bother too! anyway, when i pick it out for him, it's quite shiok for me too! hur hur hur...

shirlyn,
i won't share DN's blog yet until we play the game
heh heh heh... the blog has got my big face plastered on it!

blessedmommy & ilovebabies,
i've pm-ed u DN's blog coz u 2 have already seen my face, so no point "hiding behind a tree", haha

mummies, anyone storing EBM in fridge for over 48 hrs?

michelle, don't know for sure if there is any difference between bm produced at different times of day, but i did read a report 2 yrs ago that bm produced between 1 am and 5 am is the richest in fats as it is meant to keep bb sleeping longer (thru the night i suppose), so it is most filling. Which prob means the first morning express is also the fattest.

thanx for the link phoebe! the more the merrier... hur hur...

hmmm... blessedmommy, ur acct doesn't accept PM, so i'll email the link over

haha... alrighty, cant wait for the game to start!
talker.gif

just wondering, is the game going to be posted here?
or sent privately to our emails?

mummies who are using medela PIS
qn: i went to get the breastshields from "the first few yrs". i was expecting something like mine, the breastshields and the connector (the whole piece, know what i mean?).
couldnt find such parts, only the breastshields alone. the staff told me that the part i have at home can be detached. i wasnt quite sure then but still bought it. i got home and tried to dismantle, but CANNOT leh.
now i am confused. anyone can enlighten me?
i understand that the newer model has detachable ones but my PIS is the older kind.

ilovebabies,

Was browsing thru my foto gallery and realise it's so difficult to find a foto of myself not to mention a decent one...haha Apart fm the many many fotos that I've lost when my pc crashed sometime back *heartache* I'm not one who likes to take pics. Anyway, found this one had email u...Hope I'm still in time for the game.
Sorry for the lousy crop job done cos can't keep my eyes open alrdy..haha..Thanks gal!!!

melissa, kai likes to punch his fists and kicks his legs even when lying down, so the gym mat is good for him as all the toys dangling there are for him to punch esp the chimes which makes signicant sound even when punched lightly.

there's this portion which has a handle for him to grab and if he pulls it it'll make those "plastic bag" noise which bb supposingly likes. so i just pass him the handle and he'll grab and pull.

and there's mozart music to entertain him

diana, mine is oso the tinylove playground. maybe for the first few times ur bb doesnt like it, u try to put her in it when she's in a gd mood and fully awake mode.

Joon

got ur PM ! sorry no time to read ur blog yet but I saw the pics you took for DN. He's so cute now !! I really like the hip hop pic you took ! and his eyes are huge !!!

chocolat

got ur mail ! *whistle whistle*

btw what's the name of ur bb ?

edksd

I heard that Mozart music is v good for bb. Some say dun let bb listen to beethoven music .. cant rem the reason.

thks all for the encouragement of bringing bb out. appreciate tt.

i think i'll start off first w going out to shopping centres during wkday (less crowded) and oso i need to start shopping for my working clothes, bag, shoes (going back to work next mth).

ive a no. of religion meetings to attend. so usually my mom will come over to help me tend as it's easier than i bring over to her place. but i feel quite bad tt she has to do tt. my mom is v active and has many friends and many activities, so i dun really want to disturb her or tire her out.

therefore i want to try to bring bb along for my religion meetings. but im just afraid he'll fuss and make noise or ive to breastfeed him during meetings which may be a nuisance to others??

i think i think too much :p

ilovebabies, im not sure abt the music. my hubby and i were not musically inclined :p during pregnancy, i didnt really listen to classical music as many suggested. i just listened to the beach music i loved best. i think it's more impt to do the things u like rather than the thing tt deem best.

im still having this problem. everytime i want to pump, i'll keep thinking what if bb wakes up and wants milk? so i'll wait a while to see if bb wakes up. wait and wait and in the end didnt pump. sigh... like tt how to accumulate ebm to store.

and if i pump after feeding, damn sianz.. coz small amt only and becos of this small amt hv to wash and sterilise sigh...

edksd

ahah i am not musically inclined too ! just monkey see monkey do. anyway I think it's not essential for bb's development. I still believe communication with bb is the MOST IMPT.

i think you worry too much. After you pumped, if u latch bb on, I believe u will still get a letdown.

daisybuttons,
My boy also have bad cradle cap abt a mth ago. It was thick and yellow green in colour and smells! U can see it fm afar actually. From a friend's adv, I applied olive oil (Guardian Pharmacy brand) and leave it for abt 30 mins then gently scrap off with fingers. It comes off easily cos alrdy soft and the prob was solved! However, yest I found it comin back again, not so serious tho it's like peeling. Does cradle cap comes back?

Diana,
Ur gal has nicely shaped eyebrow!!
And I agree, we are always attracted to nice toys outside and so tempted to buy for our precious but who knows really simple and cheap stuffs is enuff.

edksd,
I have the same experience as u. Brought my Keane out on his stroller for a walk when he was abt a mth plus too around the neighbourhood. He was crying before we could even walk out of the void deck. I guess it's juz a matter of bb getting use to the stroller cos now it has improved a lot. However, I'm using sling more often but did notice that cant sling him for as long...also have backache..

Shirlyn,
Is there a cradle cap shampoo? Oh I didnt know? What brand is it? So cradle cap does comes back even after removed? I remembering reading somewhere cradle cap is caused by change of hormones.

Melissa,
actually I sorta agree with wat daisybuttons say abt recog faces. I've been hearing that boys generally develops slower than gals. And I hear this fm the mummies ard me too....but I wonder y...
kao_confused.gif
talking abt recog faces, I realise Keane reacts the same to everyone too...no special delight or reaction when he looks at me but I do realise that I can do better in calmin and pacify him. That's y I envy when I read how ur babies can react back...so sweet!!! but I dunno if this is consider part of their development tho..

Donating BM
I just read a few threads from forum about mummies pleading other mummies to donate excess BM.. quite heartbreaking. Most of these threads are old threads, but there seem to be always someone asking for BM donation.

Just a thought.. mummies with excess EBM in freezer, before you discard them, perhaps can donate them to BMSG or do a quick check on forum and donate to mummies/bb in need.

medela pumps
I am using the mini-electric and my breastshield and connector are separate pieces. When i bought the bigger breastshield at TMC, I didn't have to buy new connector. Just connect the bigger breastshield to my old connector.

BTW, michelle is using PIS.

blessedmommy, when u give your excess bm to your 3 y.o. do you give it warm or cold?

joon, pm me your blog link pls.. i also want to read.

It looks like my baby has dandruff. Is it cradle cap?

Probably. Cradle cap is very common. If your baby's scalp has flaky, dry skin that looks like dandruff, or even thick, oily, yellowish or brown scaling or crusting patches, it's most likely cradle cap.

Cradle cap isn't cute, but it's harmless. Most often it shows up in the first few months of life, and it usually clears up on its own in about six to 12 months although some babies have it for several years.

You might notice the same condition around your baby's ears or eyebrows, or even in his armpits and other creases. When it's not on his scalp, it's called seborrheic dermatitis.

What causes cradle cap?

We don't know. Some experts believe that the hormones a baby receives from his mother at the end of pregnancy overstimulate the baby's seborrheic (oil-producing) glands, resulting in cradle cap. But there's no consensus on the cause.

What we do know is that cradle cap isn't caused by poor hygiene or allergies. It's not contagious, and it probably doesn't bother your baby at all, although if it gets severe it might itch.

How should I treat my baby's flaky scalp?

You don't really need to do anything, but if it bothers you, try shampooing more frequently and gently brushing your baby's scalp with a soft brush or a terrycloth towel.

For stubborn cases, some parents find an oil remedy helpful. (The oil helps to loosen dry flakes.) If you want to give it a try, rub just a small amount of a pure, natural oil such as almond or olive oil on your baby's scalp and leave it on for about 15 minutes. Then gently comb out the flakes with a fine-toothed comb or brush them out with a soft brush.

Be sure to follow up by washing your baby's scalp with a gentle baby shampoo the last thing you want to do is leave oil on his head, which could clog the pores and cause the flakes to stick. You might try leaving the shampoo on for a few minutes before rinsing, to help cut the oil.

For cradle cap, can try Mustela Foam Shampoo for Newborns. It at least works on my baby.

It says
Respects the delicate balance of the scalp in newborns, and prevents skin drying.

Helps favor cradle cap elimination and prevent its development through the kerato-regulating action of salicylic acid.

Acts on the major causes at the origin of cradle cap development and helps limit fungi proliferation

hi mommies! So many posts but I've no time to read. Will catch up soon!

I'm concerned abt my milk ss. Currently I'm just meeting my gal's dd. Thru' expressing, I'm only able to keep ahead by 2 feeds. Will be starting work in Jan and by that time, I'll need to give the bbsitter approx 4 feeds in advance, plus I'll need to store FBM as backup.

Any advice in increasing milk ss? Am pumping 4 to 6 times a day already. But guess my biggest problem is lack of rest...

Thinking of trying Fenugreek. Are there any side effects? Can it be taken together with Neurogain, calcium and iron pills, which I'm also taking? Is it available in most pharmacies? Thanks!

puppylove

my ss is also slightly more than my ger's demand. I think you shld not freeze now. That means in ur fridge, you always a bit of access for the day. I dun freeze now. So my ger drink fresh EBM everyday.

oh btw.... i think my rachel and your ger look very alike.

what u gals think ?

RACHEL :
604633.jpg

TRINITY:
604634.jpg

blessedmommy
we tried taking the mittens off but he keeps scratching his face! how ah? is there a way to prevent them fr scratching their own face? i oso think its high time we took the mittens off lah...

ilovebabies
yeah the 2 girls really do look like! the big eyes and the mouth looks identical!

joon
pls go ahead and link ethan's blog to DN's
i oso very curious to read your blog leh. can i hv the link? i think u hv a Great idea to link all our bb's blogs to one another's!

all the other mommies wif blogs, can u pls give me the links again cos i forgot to store them previously... pls just add on to the list below can? thks very much!

phobe
http://simnchan.blogspot.com

ilovebabies

eling

blessedmommy

emma

shirlyn

cereal

TINYLOVE ACTIVITY GYM
i just went to buy this for ethan on mon cos they are having a sale on it at mothers work (GWC). UP is $149 i think but they're now selling it for $99. so any mommies wanna get a play gym, i think this is a gd buy! hv yet to let ethan play in it tho cos wanna wait for his eye to recover 1st

ilovebabies,
hee hee, ur hb is in the IT line yes? i thot maybe word doc, but an online game? i'm impressed!

blessedmommy,
glad u liked the blog! hur hur hur...

DG,
i'll post the blog link here after the game coz i'm quite shameless, the blog has my pics!!!

puppylove,
oh gosh! rachel and trinity really do look alike!! big eyes... cute lips...!

michelle,
thanks! i'll link it later, ho ho ho... DN scratches his face too
i think except for making sure our bbs' nails are short, there's nothing much else we can do...

heh heh... i bookmarked most of the blogs so here there are!

phobe
http://simnchan.blogspot.com

ilovebabies
http://rachelgiggles.blogspot.com

eling
http://www.mypreciousangel.blogspot.com/

blessedmommy
http://blog.shoutz.com/blessedmom/

emma
http://imdeshedevil.blogspot.com/

shirlyn
http://eijuy.blogspot.com/

cereal
http://lonebabe.multiply.com/

i think there are more out there... bloggers! own up!

Joon

ya my initial intention is to put in a word. hubby volunteer to do up the game online

hmm rachel and trinity lookalike .. so u gals think me and puppylove will resemble each other ? eheh

ilovebabies,
is that a clue?? heh heh heh...
... so have u decided to go for the babies n cream class? orange is right actually... rachel might enjoy it more if she's older

joon

haah clue or not up to you to decipher ! and I tell you.. the game is difficult ! when I see all the fotos, I cant even remember which baby match to which mummy.

yup, i think I'll bring rachel there when she is abt 5 mths old. thanks for the info !

im now having a big lump on my right boob.

yday i went out at 8pm. last breastfeed before went out was 7.30pm. my mom fed kai w ebm ard 9pm. he slept at 9.30pm. i was home at 10pm.

i then proceed to pump as i could feel a bit engorged. pumped abt 110ml. then went to sleep. in the night did nurse kai on the bed on the left boob.

this morning woke up w this big lump on the right. sigh... been trying to get rid of it by latching kai on and massaging. it did subsides a while, and then come back again fierce and hard. alamak.

but i think it'll be gone by the end of today. as usual. tts the problem. cant even go out for a short while w/o having engorgement afterwards.

ilovebabies,
are u still around? me also sleepy real real sleepy. I look into the mirror can only see 1 pair of heavy drooping eyelids, my neck feels stiff, shoulders tight and back very 'suan'....
exhausted......Maybe I shd go make myself some caffeine..

i duno what's going to happen when i go back to work. im not sure if i can pump punctually as my work sometimes is rather urgent and needs to be resolved asap (technical line), so i cant put pumping as my priority.