(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Shirlyn

oh I mean we trimmed Rachel's hair .. sorry not cut. Just trim at the sides and back cos it's really long.

edksd

hehe I am not very good at sling like what Littlepony says ehehe ... but Sha is good. Littlepony, sherilyn is Sha's daughter leh ahaha

Sha taught me how to use it. Anyway I dont follow the CD ...cant really follow. So just "slot" bb inside and make sure she is comfy.

hey edksd, are u participating in the game ? want to send me ur fotos ??

Angeline

do u need to bring the lappy home everyday ? cant leave it in ofc ?
i only have a lock&lock box, 3 Avent bottle and my FTG.

but ur "cow" skin bag is cute !! how do u carry that ?

how to participate in the game? send separate photo of myself n bb is it?

im just not into sling leh...
n now carrier oso not gd... sigh... duno how to bring bb out... n stroller out of stock... sigh...

ilovebabies,
oh ya hoh! Sherilyn is Sha's! haaa! what i am thinking.. if need to ask sherilyn, can only ask her how comfortable she is with the cot! haaa!

helo helo! hehehe.

ilovebabies, okie lah, think go ahead with the photos and game. i dun mind. anyway all of u showing ur faces liaoz i cannot be shy oso right? hehehe.

littlepony and pheobe, the sling very easy to use once u get the hang of it. experiment at home a few times. at least if baby fuss nobody can see mah hehe. most important, sit down when u do it initially. no lah! where got look auntie. u look pretty and wear pretty, the sling also pretty colours, sure wun look auntie!
just buy a sling with nice colours yar. i used to have a maroon one, now i bought another turqoise one, which is actually the colour one i returned last time hehehe. i have 2 now! its really useful loh. my hubby's birthday yesterday, we were out in the evening to taka. we shop shop shop until 9pm realised we hadn't had dinner hahaha. went pass the korean crystal jade restaurant and i felt like eating that but plc quite cramp for a stroller. so we requested for a booth seat at the end, brought Jovann in and sling him and nurse him while i ate with one hand. if not for the sling, we wldn't have a peaceful dinner liaoz hehehe. initially he fuss when i put him on my right side coz that position he dun like. he screamed so loud, and hubby told me he has never seen my behave so calm before, coz i just soothe him and took him out and change sides hehehe.

joon, wow heard u sweet mummy yar??!! looking fwd to seeing u next weekend! so how how how? which day huh? yeah yeah, how's the carrier nice? u tried it? hubby's asking abt it coz he finding Jovann heavier and heavier liaoz hehehe. yah loh, next weekend busy busy. and 12 and 16 dec got friend and colleague wedding also bringing him. somehow hor, when u have a baby u just wanna bring him out wherever u go hor? so proud of him right?!

angeline, i know what u mean loh. now i am going to start work i starting to treasure EVEN more the time i spend at home with Jovann. can't bear to leave him at work leh.......i keep thinking of being SAHM but i know for us its not too possible lah. i am kinda supporting my parents half of their daily income, so dun think can loh.

littlepony!!! u so lucky! i envy u leh, that u can see baby's first turn! i also want leh! i really pray and pray that i will be there to witness the first time he flip. where did he flip? on the bed? while u playing with him issit?

edksd
i know some mommies arent comfortable using a sling. it is really up to indiv. but have u tried before?

haha... i shall be a HIP maid then. hm,i have seen some passersby with their amazed looks when i carry my babe in the sling. some even tried to peep in my sling to see what goodies i have. they must hv thought it is a shopping bag?

lol... shirlyn.. we hip maids!! lol... i carried enzo using the kangaroo/joey method on sat.. pple were asking me where his legs were.. lol... then they were pretty worried that his legs would hurt... i was too.. but if they hurt, he will cry right???

hi shirlyn, i tried it once w my fren's. maybe becos im short, i find it such a burden. tend to lean forward. i guess it's the same for bjorn carrier. just dun feel comfortable w both.

guess what, even the stroller we're getting, i oso find it huge and tall for my size - quinny buzz. but no choice, hubby says tts the best.

hi emma, Jovann loves the snuggle hold. i guess the position of the legs same as kangaroo hold coz they are folded up inside the sling right? he falls asleep with seconds at home when i use that hahaha.yah dun think it hurts them or else they will cry!

shirlyn, i get curious looks too. yesterday in taka one daddy carrying his toddler boy stopped and asked his boy to see baby in the sling hehehe.

edksd
if u are going to use the stroller on ur own, i suggest u get one that u are comfy with. u mentioned it's huge and tall for ur size, how r u going to manage alone?

emma
u are in advanced stage! i cant use kangaroo hold till babe's neck is strong. so far, i only use cradle and snuggle hold.

daisybuttons
snuggle hold is similar to kangaroo, diff is where they face.
i am sure the lil' ones will cry if they are not comfortable.

hi michelle, u can get neurogain at health care phamacies...ntuc health care or guardian too i think. of course if u go gynae can get from their clinic easier.

just did my first pump at office. Managed to get access to CEO's executive toilet so quite clean in there. (Haven't heard of nursing room in HK offices). Luckily got my let downs as usual and the SS is same as at home. Hope I can maintain SS.

ilovebabies,
I brought the notebook home for maternity leave so have to bring back office lor. Somedays will also have to bring notebook and work home to do. Especially on the weekend. But now I hope I can be more efficient and don't bring work home so I can spend more time with Trinity.

Maybe I'll bring just one set of pump head and try to sterilze with hot water. Today I brought 2 sets so don't have to sterilize. I brought 6 Medela bottles so I don't have to pour milk in toilet and can just cap them immediately after pumping. How come you only need 3 avent bottles? I thought you were using double pump?
The cow skin bag for the milking cow here. Ha Ha.. It's a shoulder bag, you can probably see the handle at the sides
DG,
to become SAHM, we probably have to move from Condo to 3Rm HDB, really change liftstyle and make many sacrifices. Its really a torned decision. I wish so much I can spend time with her now to nuture her. However, on the long term, even if we are willing/ready to make the immediate sacrifices, have to consider that the extra money I make will come in handy in the future when she needs enrichment classes, go to university etc...

So really don't know which is more correct? To quit my successful career now and stay home with her so can build up her foundation and character? Or continue to work and make money so we can give her more support when she is older? Even if I were to re-join workforce in a few years, I'm not confident can get one of a similar level.

What are your opinions mummies?

Shrilyn,
Trinity is in HK with me now.

Slings
I am using MIM sling. Trinity sometimes accepts and sometimes rejects it. Have even managed to sling her while she is sleeping one evening (she was cranky and wakes up whenever I put her on the bed) and cook a simple 2 dish dinner.

However, I do have a concern about neck and spinal support if using the Sling too often. Any mummies got research on this? I'm afriad that it is not good for her back. Sling is not common in HK, I always get objection looks when I use it on the streets. There was one day I sling her and went marketing, one stranger even came up to me and told me that she thinks my BB is not comfortable in the sling and that I should remove her from it.

hi mummies! hope everyone had a gd weekend with their bbs

blessedmommy,
no prob abt the delivery
so how did u like the cakes? hmmm... when i first opened the box, i was kinda surprised coz they were so small! tastes nice, but kinda exp for 3 bucks hor? hee hee, i'm sweet? well, u are drop dead gorgeous! really, i don't bluff, i think u are very pretty!
little jo takes after u
aiyah... DN crying... will post again later!

i love babies
ya i hv 4 bosses to serve at hm :p will post their pics when i hv upload in this new latop ok.

just went for jo's 3 mth check up. she is 6.6kg n 62cm tall. pd so funny ask me to nurse her when she took the jab to lessen her pain n make her cry less!! aft took rota vaccine oso ask me nurse again cos she say the vaccine v bitter!

edksd

yes separate pics of u and ur bb.

send to [email protected]

hmm i carry my rachel when I go out .. sling sometiems only. and I hate strollers ... soo heavy and not convenient.

Angeline

i am using avent manual pump at work. I brought 2 125ML and 1 260ML bottles. My ss is not that great, betw 150ML to 200Ml each time so the bottles are enough for me.

oh yes, on my first day to work i brought my laptop back to ofc too. soooo heavy.

as for the sling, I have the same sentiments as u. when i sling rachel, i tend to chk on her left hand as I put her left hand behind me. since she is sleeping soundly, i presume she is comfy. but I still support her head with my left hand, not confident that the sling can support her head.

Daisybuttons,
Ya.. early on Sunday morning, he was doing his usual stretching and then, he turned his head to the side. I tot that's fine. he normally do that.. then i observed him further, his legs turned sideways. I quickly call my hubby who was still sleeping and ask him to watch.

in no than 10 seconds, he used his left hand to push himself over.. and he flipped over.. but obviously, he dunno how to flip back again.

It's a joy seeing that! I was very very happy!

blessedmommy

wow jo is growing very well !!! i doubt my rachel is that fat hehee

eh ur PD is quite comical, but she's a lady right ? I dont think I can do this in front of my male PD. anyway he did not suggest that I nurse Rachel eheh phew ! how much you paid for rota virus vaccine ? I intend to opt for it too.

wah so im one of those maids look alike who sling my gal too?? haahaa... i love the sling leh v convenient but m not an expert at it. i only know 2 positions with the sling. if we do meet up, must ask the experts to teach me.

emma how u put enzo on kangaroo hold? u cross his legs?

i love babies
ya my pd is female n she is super pro bf. today i paid 250 for 6 in 1 n rota. rota is 98 n 6 in 1 is 150.

little pony
ur baby can do full turn?? v gd leh. mine only half turn.

are u all going to let ur bb take the jabs (eg. 5 in 1) immediately when they turn 3 mths or wait till the latest (meaning almost 4 mths)?

i am excited about going for the next visit to the pd - curious about her growth.

blessedmommy
the last time, my pd had also asked me to nurse baby J before she had her first jab. luckily i already had before i took her into the pd's room. totally not comfortable nursing her in front of a male.
thanks for the anecdote u gave, must remind myself to nurse her before going in for her jabs this sat.

Angeline
Is hb with you in HK? I understand yr concerns as I had the same ones 2.5 yrs ago before deciding to quit my job which I loved. Though we didn't have to downgrade our home, the substantial income I forgo could have been used to pay for a second mortgage (we were thinking of another condo for investment then) or invested/saved for their education. Looking back, I never regret a day of my decision to be SAHM as I can always return to work, earn as much (or more)in future, but Marcus will never be an infant or toddler ever again!! And what are the material luxuries compared to the opportunity to nurture our children and be there at all their milestones.

And trust me on this, if you as a parent is committed, you don't need to pay for expensive pre-school and enrichment lessons. You are their best nurturer and teacher, especially if you can afford as much time as a SAHM! PM me anytime u like, we can chat more on this if you need someone to talk to.

Joon, your 2 week work in Dec will give you an insight and help you decide whether to return to work or be SAHM.
Unless u have already decided to be a SAHM?

SLings
I am also considering whether to buy a sling or a twin stroller. But with a sling, it means I have to carry Nicholas ALL The time. With a stroller, I can still rest while he stays in it and let my maid push stroller around. But twin stroller is so bulky and heavy, and my maid is so petite. . Hmm...

blessedmommy, how old are your twins?

blessedmommy

it's gd that you have the encouragement from PD. I heard it's "illegal" for PD to give away milk powder samples now. They shld be pro BF. wonder if it's true ?

oh my PD quote me $100 for rota. seems ok lah.

so did Jo cried ?

shirlyn
i think its weird for a male pd to ask u nurse in front of him right?? anyway jo was busy sucking away when pd jabbed her thigh so by the time she realised the pain it was all over haaha.. then nurse her aft took rota oral vaccine cos v bitter so to wash it down with bm.

DN is taking his nap... so i'm here, heh heh...

littlepony,
wow! wayne is strong! and it's so wonderful that u saw him do it! i told DN the other day, "When mummy goes back to work, u can only do cute things on Sat and Sun ok? Mon to Fri, no need to do!" I hope he understood

daisybuttons,
wah, sounds like u are also a "sling-spert" eh? heh heh heh...
i collected the ergo from lulu yesterday... hmm... find her quite opinionated... she seemed so shocked and disapproving when she saw that DN had a pacifier... and u know what? she dropped DN! <font color="ff0000">#&amp;@^*!!</font> to cut a long story short, she was showing me how to carry him and wash his bum with one hand, and when she was putting him down on the changing mat, she dropped his head and it hit the floor! bloody hell!
<font color="ff0000">@*#@&amp;!**!!</font> thank goodness his head fell only abt 10cm and it hit the changing mat. in my mind, i was like "WHAT THE F***! U BLOODY WOMAN! DROP MY BABY????!!" but of course cannot say that. i only said "Oh my god!"

sorry everyone, pardon my french!!

ilovebabies, ive sent u my photos. is it ok tt they're different sizes? coz taken w different handphone and pardon the resolution :p

joon.. how did she do that????? how can she juz drop the head??? y is she so STooPID?? oops.. did i spell that out loud.. but wtf!!! so DN is ok? did he cry?

i find MIM slings v warm. im using baby supplies.

DG
my twins r turning 6 in feb. twin strollers r v bulky n heavy. also if u go to malls or shops which r cramp u cant push it in. u oso gotta make sure ur car boot can accomodate.

i love babies
my pd suggest nursing while she jab so thAT her sucking motion will soothe her esp bf babies find comfort on their mothers' breasts. its not to feed her. jo only cried a while aft jab then cont to suck again.

angeline
i totally agree with DG. although i never had a glorious career when i quit cos i just started working for a yr when i got preg but i think the returns of sahm is unmeasurable. if u do have the desire i support u!!

edksd

got ur email !! ahha not diff to guess which one is Kai's mummy ! hehehe clue clue ...

blessedmommy

oh i c ... ok i'll try to nurse my rachel on her next jab. tks for the useful tips !

i am oso a MIM sling user... but i only noe the most basic position and hv not explored the rest. i cant go out w/o my sling coz i find my boy heavy to carry now!!!

Joon
sorry to hear tt someone dropped ur DN! i was so shocked to read it oso... hope he is fine... ouch, tt muz hv made u so heartpain!!!
i dun think i wld hv kept my cool if i were u...

mummies whom pump milk
does one of ur breast hv more milk jets than the other? i realised its v easy to express fr my left breast as at the "active" pumping stage, got abt 10 milk jets wif milk flying out, while my right has like max 4 milk jets. and it takes longer for my right breast to express, and the amt is lesser than the left. quite frustrating!

and oso, issit safe to express milk when baby latches on the other using electric pump? will cause any harm to baby? i thot this is a gd way to maximise on the expressing, as when bb latches on, will hv gd let-down...

SAHM

has been reading the postings so far on the 'debate' to work or to be a SAHM. i had that urge to be one when my elder boy was 2-3 yrs old then. was thinking to quit and stay at home to 'watch' him grow as well as to teach him. i was a weekend mum. heehee.

however, i'm also 'bu gan yuan' to give up my career. as i see some of my frens (singles) whose career are climbing high, I also wanted to move up the corporate ladder. wanted to further study for a MBA.

now, i have to re-work my plan again with my newborn. havent tot of being a SAHM yet. but not sure if i can still 'afford' to get a MBA, and if i still want to further my career? or to stay happy at my current status?

to think that i have to go back to work soon (2-3wks time), mixed feelings. on 1 hand, its fun to go back to miggle with colleagues. on the other hand, will missed my boy. but then to stay at home everyday to look after baby, i do get bored &amp; frustrated sometimes. heehee. if only can work from home &amp; office, how nice

chocolat,
no.. i didn't train him. he just do it!

ilovebb,
don't worry. i am sure you will flood us with your stories on how u c rach do her 1st turn, 1st crawl, 1st walk and 1st call of 'Mummy'

ilovebabies, emma, blessedmommy, babyzucchini,
DN is fine
thanx for asking. I think when it happened, he was more shocked than in pain. I don't think he felt much pain coz the mat was the padded sort. He started crying but stopped after I cuddled and soothed him.
Needless to say, I'm not buying anything else from her!!! grrrrr... even I, the biggest klutz in the world who always falls down stairs and into drains, never drop the baby!

babyzucchini,
yup, my one boob always starts spraying real fast and empties b4 the other one. but what to do? it's been like this since day 1!

blessedmm,
wayne does full turn. so now, we quite scared to put him alone on the bed. we have to surround the bed so that he won't fall... and won't leave him alone in the room.

I am also a weekend mummy. This is the 2nd week that bb is with my in laws. When I went back to see my bb last Tues, he didnt seem to recog me. He cried when he sees me and when I tried to cuddle him it doesnt seems to pacify him. Instead when hub play with him, he smiles. I was heartbroken. I was sad. I din know wat to say but havent got a choice. I wish I could be a sahm too. If I could, I hope to bring him back everyday but distance is a prob. I stay Punggol and my in laws in Bt Panjang. And whenever comes Sun always have to leave my in laws pl with a heavy heart. I hate this feeling.......

joon,
oh gosh.. that's the last thing should ever happen or i mean, should never happen .. that's to drop bb! hope DN is fine! Monitor a few days and see how he is...

My wayne got a shock over loud thunder that he poo green poo for a few days!

Chocolat,
u weekend mum meaning u don't see your bb during weekdays? I am a weekend mum myself.. and i also have no choice. I began work today and i leave my bb with in law in jurong. I myself say in tiong bahru and workplc at tanjong pagar.. so i can't afford to bring bb back everyday. So i try to go down to jurong after work everyday or every two days...

I worry he won't recognise me too! But ya, no choice .. what to do.

But remember, i am sure they will want us when they grow up!!!

chocolat

your distance is far, punggol &amp; bt panjang. previously i stayed at woodlands &amp; my mum at bt gombak, so only bring back my boy on friday nite and send back to my mum's place on sunday afternoon.

although i stayed nearer now (bt batok &amp; bt gombak), but to travel on public transport also takes 10-20 mins (depending its taxi or MRT). to fetch back home aint a issue, its to send to my mum's place every morning one. too early coz i start work at 8am.

can understand what you went thru...ur baby 'not recognising' you. had tat during the initial period. but after awhile, i got used to it. the heartache part was the first few days, not only do i missed my son, he also missed me. the first few nites, he cannot sleep coz he knows some1 is missing. the 'smell' is not there. the cuddle is not the same. he knows i'm not at home to sleep, feed, bathe and play with him. to hear that from my mum really breaks my heart then

i remembered i went to visit him on the 3rd day after work, he was so happy to 'see' me. of coz as time goes by, he is ok with my mum looking after and me not around during the weekdays.

i suppose this is wat weekend mummies have to sacrifice

with my newborn now, hoping to get a car next year, then can opt to bring home everyday. no need to miss him like xiao liao

agreed with what little pony said, as they grow older, they still know that i'm mummy. so they still want to stick to mummy, and not grandparents or maid. after all, we carried them for 9mths in our tummy

my older boy is a live example