(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Emma

wah shopping queen ah !!

eh better dun come online lah .. quick catch up with your notes ! hehehe i hate nite papers too .. always make me so nervous for the whole day ! anyway have lite dinner so that you wont feel sleepy later ...

gooooood luck again !

blessedmommy, diff betw 5in1 and 6in1 is the hep b jab. and also that 6in1 is newer i think, and more popular among angmohs. thats why my pd told me. he said that for asians, we are more prone to liver disease compared to angmohs so its better for our babies to take hep b jab separately and not with the 6in1. he recc 5in1. my baby has two individual doses of hep b. he will have his 5in1 end of this mth, then another dose of 5in1 end dec. the last jab will be 6in1.

ilovebabies, i have the 3 main brands of milk bags hehehe. gerber, lansinoh and avent hehee. super kiasu. have not even used any of it! if u wish to pump directly into the avent liner (or any of the liners) u need to buy an avent nurser, whcih is not sold in singapore anymore the last i heard. i got my nurser from the baby center BP a few mths back. i tried it and it allows me to pump direcly into gerber and lansinoh too, so quite pleased. and yes for avent u need to either buy their clips or get clips from ikea which is a cheaper option.

rainnie, hey thanks for the info on fridge to go! hhhmmm....HDB hub ah, lagi far leh.....

ilovebabies, u sayd friegd to go need to put inside fridge first ah? thats means when i in the office i need to put inside the fridge before i can use it? eeeee...i dun want. the reason why i looking for my own fridge is coz my offcie fridge is super dirty. i dun trust it with my BM. ur friend gave u a mini fridge? can u pls help me ask where she got it?? i really wanna buy one but dunno where to start looking....

as for pumping hor......i guess if wanna sterilise manual pump have to find a heat resistant box loh. i dunno if tupperware it leh....if u find out can u let me know? i dun wanan use sterilising tablets cos i heard it leaves sticky residue. and if use that also need to rinse, so gotta use hot water also. i have my own cubi and with tall partitions but like melissa my offcie a lot of guys lah sigh...so cannot loh. somemore some of them walk right in to talk to me includg my boss so will be embarassing.

for those intending to pump at work hor, i am planning to do this leh, let me know what u think? in the morning say 6am feed baby his morning feed and express from the other breast. this EBM will be for his 9am feed (agar agar) to be fed by my mum. then i will pump from both breasts during lunch for his 12noon and 3pm feed. then i last till 6pm go home to latch him on. do u think my breast will be engorged and what u girls think of this approach? that means i only need to pump once mah.

daisybuttons

i have asked my colleague who is using the LOCK&LOCK box as storage of breast pump. She says it can hold boiling water so we can just soak our pumps in the box to sterilise it.

daisybuttons

i mean you leave the cooler bag in ur fridge overnite so that you can bring it to ofc and put your BM inside

anyway it is always in the fridge when I dont use it so it is always cooooool

ok, will try to ask my friend where she bought the mini fridge and I let you know.

i intend to pump at 12pm and 6pm. you shld start this schedule now so that your body will be used to it then you wont feel engorged.

when are u starting work ?

hi ilovebabies,

so the LOCK&LOCK box can 'tahan' the boiling water huh...thats good. so can opt to sterilise the pump this way.

was till thinking maybe got to bring a metal container to office to sterilise the pump.

for me, my office has no nursing room. got a colleague pumping milk either in the toilet or a spare office upstair. so likely will 'follow' her.

daisybutton, u can also visit fridge-to-go flapship store at vivo city (opp. giant hypermart)

blessedmommy , really? cannot store more than 180ml in avent liners? Oh no, i've a few packs wif abt 200ml leh!

ilovebabies, i did a check on other forum hor....some mommies recommend rubber bands....i've been using that and no leakage ya! More cheaper den ikea clips :p

so meaning put the pumps in lock&lock box and put hot water in will do the job ah? how long need to immuse in the box leh?

emma, serious? they taking away BP & spree? Why? Sighz...i thought the other time they say ok .. and now they doing it again! Sian!

rainnie, actually can la but try not to. last time i didnt know n store up to 240ml n the liner tore.

rubber bands? is it hygienic? i also know of frds who do that but i scared not hygienic so never tried.

blessedmommy, ic ic ... i dont think can store till 240ml leh...cuz will expand have to give some allowance loh. y not hygen leh? its used to tie outside mah not inside so its ok .. as long as the milk doesnt touch the rubber band its ok

rainnie

gd idea hor... ya it's outside so shld be quite safe. the ikea clip is also outside mah ...

pheobe

i think can leave the pump submerged in hot water for at least 10mins ? cos by then the water would have cool down in our ofc ?? what do u think ?

blessedmommy, ya loh got to tie very tight. What I did is ... after express then i pour over into the avent liner leh! not like what u discribe :p

ilovebabies, this is more cost saving loh compared to others....now my freezer got more den 50packs of FBM ... imagine if i'm using ikea clip....when i stop bfing i cant imagine the number of clips i have hahahahah can sell already loh LOL

Hi mommies.. exams are over!!! thanx for ur well wishes... I assessed it myself and should be able to pass lahz.. hehe..
yay!! can play with enzo the whole day alr!!!

BUT enzo is sick!!! sigh... running nose and slight cough.. should babies fall sick this early? he's like the first one to fall sick hor.. sigh.. aniwayz.. weigh and measured him at pd.. he's 6.83kg and 58cm short at 2 months 10 days..

sigh.. see him sick i realli v hard pain lehz.. wanna cry alr.. sigh...

helo emma, congrats on finishing ur exams!!!
oh ur baby sick ah? he must miss u loh. now u back with him he will recover soon, they need mummy's love. dun worry kae? heard breastfed babies recover quite fast one. he is a good weight yar!

blessedmommy, just saw ur prev mesg. yes i think ur baby must have given u that dream to let you know he is happy...... he wants mummy to be happy too....

ilovebabies, thanks for the lock lock info. let me know about the mini fridge yar? i dun intend to pump at 6pm coz if i do then i will not be optimising my latch on once i reach home. i by right shld be returning work on 7 dec (thur, so work 2 days). i applied for 2 days childcare the following week so i will work alternate days. planned this so the phasing in is easier for my baby and me. but i still have 10days of ML left. tot of either clearing it at end of dec so i REALLY start work in jan, or take 5 days in dec and clear the remaining during CNY. what u girls think?

Emma

aiyo dunno want to be happy or sad for you ? happy that u clear your exams but sad to hear that our cute Enzo is not feeling well...

but hor .. he is real heavy leh .. is he a michellin baby ? eh take a pic of naked enzo leh ehehhe

is he on BF ? try to BF him so that he gets the antibodies.

daisybuttons

sure .. i'll let u know.
i have not decide whether to pump at 6pm.. depends on my work then. but I will only latch on when I return home and bathed. so that will be prob be the midnite feed onwards ?

i tot why not u clear ML in one shot ? less disruption to your work and baby too ??

PrincessEmma,
Wow your Enzo is really big ah! I think my girl is only 5kg at 2 months. Yes babies fall sick easily. My PD says, if your baby is sick, breastfeed frequently and they will get better faster.

Has anybody tried Pureen diapers before? Good or not?! Saw them on offer in Kiddy Palace before but don't if it's still in offer or not.

<font color="aa00aa">melody</font>,
I use a few drops of lactacyd, doesn't seem to clean well leh. Can feel the diff once i increase the amt!

<font color="aa00aa">ilovebabies</font>,
I'm using Avent pre-sterilised liners too. I pump into bottle then pour into the liners. Using rubber bands to secure.

btw, does anyone double-bag the liners? heard that these Avent liners are not as good quality as before and may break. So I double-bag esp. for large qty, just in case! It's still cheaper than other freezer bags loh... <font color="aa00aa">michelle</font>, the Gerber bags quite expensive hor? how fast do u use up a box?

How do u label ur liners? I use address labels, those very small ones so quite cheap. Hv tried other methods inc writing directly on the liner, but scared i contaminate the BM!

Also, any idea how long u can keep freezer bags? Someone gave me a couple of boxes of Gerber bags... haven't opened yet, still wrapped in shrinkwrap. But these were bought a few years ago... maybe 3 to 4 years ago? U think it's still safe to use??

<font color="aa00aa">shirlyn</font>,
I think lactacyd is quite mild.. tatz why wondering if it'll be suitable once bb is older loh
yup, will try washing a pc of clothing using normal detergent. If ok, will switch once the bb detergent runs out. But I kinda like the fragrance of the bb detergent &amp; softener... i associate it w my girl already! heheh...

<font color="aa00aa">PrincessEmma</font>,
sorry to hear Enzo is sick... wah he is heavy! I heard breastfed bbs usually double their weight only at 3mths! But I've a colleague whose boy is 9kg at 4mths! <font color="aa00aa">melissa</font>, my girl is also abt 5kg at 2mths!

i got one box of Avent liner but have not use it, am now using the VIA cup.
Yah if i freezer the BM in the VIA cup but after it freezed, i accidentally drop in to the floor, will the VIA cracked and BM get contaminated huh? I worried it have cracked which i cannot see.

Anyone using Avent ISIS single electric pump huh? How long you need to take to express ur milk? It took me at least 45mins to empty both my breast leh, which i find it long compare to others. I couldnt take so long to express milk right since i am pumping at work. What can i do huh?

emma, wow... ur enzo is big size leh. Yah i also wanna see his nake pics. haha

hi daisybuttons

i think my ML will end 3rd wk dec. my boss has been hinting if i feel bored at home and wants to return back to work or not. haha..

recalled that while i was pregnant during 3rd trimester, i started to clear my annual leave, taking 1 day off per week. also very busy during my day off. got phone calls asking on issues &amp; matters, then got to login to check email and reply. Next day go back work, got outstanding piling up to clear. so sian.

so i decided to clear off my ML in 3mths before i go back to work. and since i got balance annual leave, also clearing some and then go back to JAN 07

Melissa,

I had tried the Pureen Diapers. Dun like it cause the side break easily. does not absorb as well as mamy poko.

My bb used to not sleeping in the day 8am - 8pm. Then she can sleep from 8pm to 7am inbetween wake up for feed.

However, since we got her a yaolan she nap inbetween feed for e.g. 8.00am feed, play till 9.00am want to sleep then wake up 1hr later play till 11.00am feed. but now when she wake up for nite feed also want to play. Does tat mean she sleep too much?

wat is ur bb routine like?

Eling

i just started to use VIA cup. Eh it says can only max 3 times. do u follow this instruction ? why only 3 times ... the quality is so good .. can even make durian ice cream in it ehhehe

i am using MEdela electric dual pump. even if I use it as a single pump, i dont take 45mins leh. at most 20mins only.

phoebe

u have your rights to clear ML and annual leave !
haiz read in ST Forum got another preggie got terminated w/o any reason. Hope MOM will do something and not let the employers exploit preggies !

melody

my Rachel dont sleep well in the day. but come 6+ to 7pm.. she can sleep like a log. and can sleep continuously for 5 hrs ... haiz wrong timing leh ... then she will wake up every 3 hrs for feed but sleep shortly after feed.

Dont talk or play with them in the wee hrs. Feed and sleep. that's it.

hi melody

ilovebabies is rite. dont play or talk with them in the wee hrs.

my 1st son, sleep alot in the day, and awake in the nite. took me abt 1 mth to convert his sleeping pattern back to normal. coz during confinement, he was awake in the night, and the CL just let him be awake and talk / carry him. never pat him to sleep. so when i took over after 1 mth, peng liao!! i 'suffered' for the 1st week, then slowly change his sleeping pattern.

for my newborn now, alot better. play and talk to him alot in the day, and let him nap abit after feeding when he is tired. so that he can sleep well at night. he will sleep from 9pm to 7am, wake up every 3 hrs for his feed and then sleep again.

melody,
Thanks for your feedback about Pureen diapers! Guess I won't get them then.

My bb also play and nap in the day and sleep through the night. If she naps too much in the day, she will sleep in block of 4 hours at night and only wake up for feeds. Then she go back to deep sleep. Pheobe is right, don't talk or play with the baby at night. Make him learn that night is for sleeping. Keep the place dark and quiet. They can be trained to recognize day and night.

michelle,
Envy Ethan's hair! My girl's hair look like NSman leh hehehe.

ilovebabies,
eh teach us how to make durian ice cream in VIA cup leh hehehe.

anybody went to Vivocity already? any nice baby shops there? are there enough elevators in there? i'm still struggling to walk around in strollers and i hate to bring the stroller to the escalator. scared i lose my balance leh.

ilovebabies, funny leh is it becos Avent electric pump suction is not strong? Or is it depend on how much pumped out (the more the longer time??) or the let-down? How much you pump out each time? So when u pump, do you use compress to make sure no more milk?

Avent VIA reuse 3 times? i thought is 4 times? The Avent staff told me 4 times.

melissa
i just went to vivocity on thur. it is big but i didnt really have the luxury of taking my own sweet time to shop (left my babe at home with MIL).

anyway, regarding shops - i suppose u meant those selling bb's clothes? i have only been to gap, zara, osh kosh. think there are a couple of others but didnt go in. hee, bought too many for her liao.

elevators? sorry, dont know how to answer that coz didnt use that day. but noticed a few nursing rms on the 1st level are still under renovation. u will have to use those on the 2nd level.
i dont like to use strollers when i am alone with babe. prefer to use the sling :b

emma
woooooow!! enzo is huge!! u total bf? his thighs must be lotus roots!! ya quick quick take naked enzo photo i cant wait to see!! i rem my twins were 7 kg at 3 mths n they already look huge i cant imagine enzo!!u must be v hapy with his weight! my gal now at 2.5 mth old abt 6.2kg.

melissa
just came back feom vivocity. so challenging going shopping with 4 kids!! just a point to take note: the escalator at B2 n B1 (carpark areas) move v v fast so do be careful if u r pushing a pram. the rest of the floors r ok.

many shops selling kids clothes ---> fox, gap, osh kosh, motherland, patch pumpkin etc.. i personally like patch pumpkin. used to buy lots when i was staying in aus with hubby n twins. gap is nice too but slightly exp.

ilovebabies, phoebe, melissa,

thanks, will try to adjust her schedule... i dun play wit her at nite but she cry and wan to be carry so carry her to sleep. yesterdae i try BF her for 1 hr as she lazy to suck, so she fall asleep quite fast a/f feed. Is it normal to BF 1 hr?

saw this from kellymom website, WHO standard:

<font color="0000ff">The average breastfed baby doubles birth weight by 3-4 months. By one year, the typical breastfed baby will weigh about 2 1/2 - 3 times birth weight.</font>

bb Kai is only 4.4kg 55.5cm at 2 mths 4 days.

blessedmommy and shirlyn,
thanks for the info about vivocity! will check out patch pumpkin! ha!

melody,
that reminds me when my bb is just born, she latches for what seems like hours but after a while, i began to recognize serious sucking and sucking for comfort. i learnt that my gerl only take in milk for 10 mins after that she will pacify herself with my nipples. when she's sucking for milk, she will make some noise and her breathing is more rapid and she will be quite alert even though her eyes are closed. i move around a bit to wake her up. but so far she's very kwai lah, once she's done feeding, she will push out my nipple with her tongue. so i know she's done and it takes 10 mins lor. but not to say 1 hour is not normal, i think there are other girls here whose babies also feed that long.

hi melissa, melody,

my bb oso suckle hard for 5min or so and then drift to slower suckling. i know with this slower suckling, he's actually just pacifying himself.

but my concept is let him suckle on, even if it's just to pacify himself, at least there's still some milk getting thru to him, better than nothing.

coz i find tt my bb dun get "drunk" and fall asleep after suckling hard for tt 5min. im wondering is it becos he's not full, tts why didnt fall asleep?

chk w u gals,

5-in-1 1st jab is to be taken in the 3rd mth, so will u go during early 3rd mth or late 3rd mth?

i tot of going late 3rd mth. wonder if it's ok?

edksd,
no lah sometimes bb don't always fall asleep after feeding. this happens to me a lot. she's wide alert after feeding. i have similar thoughts at first but when i tried giving my nipple to her, she rejected it and frowned! so no matter what weeks, 10 mins is always max for her and minimum is 5 mins. if ur bb is hungry i'm sure he will cry for more.

as for jabs, better late then early.

melissa, when i give him the nipple again, he'll suck again. urs will frown, so it's straightforward to tell she has enough.

im just worried he's not getting enough.

and now there's this situation which is happening almost daily. im feeding on demand. so sometimes im not sure he's hungry or what as almost everytime he wakes up, i'll let him suckle. he'll suckle hard for 5min, then slow suckling and then followed by spitting out and taking in the nipple again and repeat spitting and taking in. i tried to "close shop" but he'll cry, seems to want some more suckling. but if i give him again, he'll spit and take in again.

sometimes i really duno what he wants.

for those using fridge-to-go, can let me know how much they roughly cost?

they can last 8 or 16 hrs?

meaning before use, hv to put in fridge, once take out of fridge can last 8/16 hrs?

do they hv all the range at selfix store?

emma
forgot to mention i think my gal is the first to be sick. she was down with blocked nose in her 5th wk thanks to my 3rd boy who keep kissing her even when he had flu. recovered in few days. within that few days i use the nasal cleanser n suck her mucous few times a day. that helps to relieve her a bit. thk god she was never cranky that few days, still feed n sleep well. n guess wat, now she is on her 2nd round of blocked nose again!!! thanks to her bros again (this time my 1st n 2nd boy) sigh!!! thats how it is when u got plenty of kids at hm. u spread to me i spread to u n now even mommy got it!!

oh no.. blessedmommy.. ur girl's case sounds like my fren whose baby is in infant care... the bug fly here fly there.. enzo is rejecting his med lehz.. how did u feed ur kids??? he will spit everything out..
dunno how...

mommies.. enzo is not v big visually lehz.. no layers one lehz.. juz chubby cheeks.. lol..... and big tummy.... lol.... arm and legs quite normal... hehe... think he got beer.. er... no.. milk belly.. lol...

Hi Edksd, I just bought my fridge-to-go on thur at vivo city. The model FTG1200, which looked like a fridge cost $45. The saleman told me that the cooler bag is "safe" to last for about 8 hours although the label claimed 12 hours. Fyi, Fridge-to-go is having a two days roadshow promotion next week at HDB Hub Mall area on 21st and 22nd Nov.

Hi Daisybuttons, what nurser are you using? You mean you can expressed directly into the gerber bags using the nurser? I try to look for it in the baby center but cannot find. Any idea where else can I get and how much is it?

Anyone interested to bring their baby to join the Baby Massage Class at Babies &amp; Cream (Great World City)?

No of Session: 4
Duration: 45 mins per session
Fee: $100 (baby &amp; both parents / caregiver)
Time: Every Wed, 11am - 1145am

They just started the new class from 15 Nov - 6 Dec. So the next class will be from 13 Dec - 3 Jan.

Min 3 babies to start a class.

Anyone interested to go together?

emma
i didnt give my gal any med when she having blocked nose. didnt even bring her to see pd. i just monitor her only. since she still sleeping n feeding well and not running any fever, i let her be. anyway my pd is not pro medication. she believe not to medicate babies unless necessary esp babies under 3 mths old. i guess let their antibodies fight the illness? enzo on bm right? dun worry, he will revcover v soon. if his nose is disturbing his sleep, u can try saline spray or illiadin. will help to clear his airway.

yah my house can be considered a mini infant care? with 3 big infants (my boys) n a small infant (my gal). thats why my pd advise to give my gal all those jabs like rota n prevnar cos worry my boys bring virus from school n spread to her.