(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

zz,

my bb also farts alot. infact I'm veri happi tat she keep passing gas as my bb is colic and her stomach always got wind.... sometime half way thru sleep she wake up crying then when she let go d gas she go back to sleep.

mummies, my office no place to express milk. my choice r either the store rm or toilet. tink will use the store rm toilet will be more dirty rite? Anyone also face d same situation?

melody,
likely me too lor.. will use the handicap toilet to express BM.. sian leh.. haizz.. b'cos my office got many singles..some more they're old and unlikely to get married so no one is supportive of having a nursing room in the office.

Hi ilovebabies, zz and Michelle
I'm applying the cream to ease the pain, but doesn't help. I even put the ice pack on my breasts last nite (middle of the nite) as the pain was unbearable, but doesn't help much too...

Just now I asked my massage lady to help me check, there's no blocked ducts this time... its seems to be breasts infection. Will check with my gynea 2mlr and I have the urge to stop 2mlr...... hope I can control myself from doing so... but it's really very painful........

zz
last evening, my MIL used this teat from "Kidsper" and my babe willingly drank the milk. i thought she has finally succumbed.
boy am i wrong... today's feed was a struggle.

my MIL seems to be rather stubborn about using the teat that she bought. i think i will just let her try till end of the week. will definitely try the pigeon one if this fails.

emoments
maybe you want take some pain relief to reduce the pain meanwhile?

zz
my gal also farts a lot and has exactly the same expression as your gal when she farts. sometimes veri loud even. There was once when she was even startled (her hands went flying) by her own farting (while feeding).
It is very common for babies to fart, so dont worry.

Mummies, what thermometer do you use to measure your babies' temperature? I always thought the ear type of thermometer would be best until i read somewhere that it may not provide accurate readings for babies due to their narrow ear canal and it is difficult to use on babies. Now confused as to whhich type of thermometer to get in case we need to measure her temperature.

sunny03sunny
i am using the ear thermometer which may not accurate. what i do is, i take and record the range of her normal body temp. so if any temp higher than that, it would that she is having fever.
i feel that this is the easiest to use.

I'll try to tahan till tomorrow cos I happen to have my gynea's checkup 2mlr.

I pumped again just now and more blood come out... so painful....

So far no fever yet...

sunny03sunny, i thk the ear thermometer can't be used for small babies as their ear canal is too small. i only used those normal thermometer put under BB's armpit. also i will feel BB's tummy & behind the ears see if hot or not.

emoments, oh no, it sounds really painful. will hand express help ease the pain? Tk care! Put some cream on the nipples. Dun pump too hard. :-(

emoments, try to use ur own BM and massage ur nipple....think u have to stop expressing out ur BM with the pumps. like what zzprincess mention...manual express ya.

think emma face the same problem last month.....but she's on here today...think she today exaM!!

sunny03, i'm using ear thermometer. Since clinic also use that to measure bb temperature...i guess it ok lah....it will be accurate only when baby are 6 months and above but it will help u to know roughly ur bb temperature loh

ilovebabies, i hope ur bb is fine
ii dun really chap the kind of poo my ger had leh! As long as she is active and no fever or serious vomitting i will jus close one eye...hehe

little pony, okie....will mail it out tomolo ;)

emoments

oh oh oh u so poor thing ! ya try to express manually ok ? it will quite tiring but at least you can control your strength and frequency.
dont give up BF ! you spent a lot of time and effort to establish your milk supply and it doesnt comes easy !

yes, try to apply BM on it and let it air dry. It does helps a lot !

i am using the CADI thermometer which can take bb temp across the forehead or ear.

hi all , what's ur baby comsumption now ?
my boy :
EBM
10 weeks
150ml
interval 3-3.5 hrs
only wake up once middle of night for feed

Emoments,
hey, go check with your gynae. and if you can, stop expressing for a while. What happens to my sil the other time is the same too.. got blood and in the end, she has infection and the doctor advise her to stop bf immediately! coz if not, she has to go for minor operation on her breast.

Monitor your own condition and quickly go see doctor if still got blood.

Hi Emoments

Found this on internet ..

What does it mean when there are drops of blood in my breast milk?

If the mother is expressing firmly behind the nipple or using a breast pump on high suction, sometimes a small blood vessel may burst into the duct. More gentle expressing and the bleeding should stop. If it occurs while breastfeeding, it may be due to similar, temporary occurrence and usually spontaneously resolves. Persisting blood in the milk requires follow up by your Health Care provider.

emoments
sorr to hear about all the pain you're goin thro. i can only imagine how bad u must be feeling, anyway hang in there n tok to you dr tmr. if really cannot BF, then just go wif fomula cos no pt giving yourself so much pain n unhappiness just trying to BF right? we're supposed to be happy, new mothers, not mothers who r so depressed over breastfeeding issues! so take gd care ok?

zz
ethan same as your bb! will cry then fart then go back to sleep, sometimes the fart will hv a bit of shit coming out too sometimes dun hv. i think it's quite normal lah. at least it comes out rather than stay insdie n cause them even more discomfort :p

my son is 8 wks old but his feeding time not regular one. sometimes 3 hrs, sometimes 4 sometimes 5, at nite will be 8 hrs?! on a daily basis tho he takes about 600-650 ml. he can take up to 150ml per session, n as little at 90ml too

very difficult to monitor his intake, so whenever he cry out of hunger then we give him milk n cos he doesnt take the same amt all the time, end up wasting a lot of BM too. sigh... sim tia man. so hard to express out then he go n waste

phew.. one paper down, one to go!!! but unfortunately, spotted the wrong questions.. so praying hard that i'll scrape through...

<font color="0000ff">emoments</font>..sayang sayang... take care k.. actualli <font color="0000ff">rainnie</font>.. till now my nipple still bleeding... cos i have been expressing still.. but not that dripping kinda bleeding.. juz cracked nipple... but i'm numb to it alr.. lol.. juz itchy... cant feel the pain alr..

rainnie.. ur baby is the oldest here ah? 14 weeks alr? lol

enzo is 10 weeks old and drinking 140ml every 2.5-3 hrs(hoping it could stretch longer.. hehe).. my ms is not even near catching up with that.. sigh.. so tough!!!!

started work yesterday, its so tough when need to work and pumping milk. Morning 5am have to wake up more earlier to pump milk and sterilise all the pump and bring to work. During work i pump at ard 10am then 2.30pm and got to rush back home to pump again. Like no life. Before sleep ard 10pm got to pump again and only able to get back to sleep at ard 11pm. Not enough sleep leh yet still need to work. So stressful.Anyone goes back work already and what is ur daily pumping schedule?
And yah i need to take ard 45mins (do you all really pump and squeeze until left only very little milk coming out only then stop?) to pump the milk leh, luckily my boss nv said anything yet but worry if continue like that she will be unhappy but she is quite supportive in breastfeeding. i planned to stop expressing once is 30mins already cos working no good to take so long to pump milk. But will this way reduce my milk supply? Hai..dunno what to do now

My girl

EBM &amp; FM
8wk plus
60ml - 80ml
Interval 2-3hours

Looks like mine drink the least... somehow she dun seem to like to drink milk

Hello Sept Mummies,
Can i join in this thread ? My little son, Ethan, borned on 28 Sept...

EBM (sorry, what does E stand for ?)
7wks
110-120ml
interval 2hrs (every 1.5hr, he cry for milk liao,aiyo...)

Hi Emoments
read abt ur breastfeed story...hope u can pull through the period soon..my experience oso not the "pleasant" on, me had 5 times fever due to breastfeed problem, doctor commented me have sensitive breast , once miss to pump out, fever come liao..
me so depressed during tat time .. and my mom see me so miserable ask me to stop breastfeed but me insist on carry on, until the 5th time fever, hubby also advise me to stop but me managed to pull through..
now my boy is 7th wks and milk flow become more stable though supply slow...

Hi Eling
Me started work last week.. regarding the pumping of the milk in off, me pumped 2 times in office, one at 12.30 (during lunch hour) and another time at 5pm, morning can reach 180ml but afternoon only manage to pump 125ml, rest of the time me latch him on lor..
me each time take abt 30-40mins, ya.. me veri kiasu one, every pump squeeze here and there and until left very little milk then i stop..
me oni take ard half hour during office hour, so boss didnt say anything lor, anyway, think he dont even know me pump milk during off hour cos he always not in office one hehe

Ethan having block nose, but his nose is quite clear and very little mulcus only .. but can see he having difficulties in breathing when sleeping and feeding time lor..
not sure whether to bring him see doctor or wait till he recover by himself, cos not so good let him take medicine or put anything into his nose lor, for such little boy.

any advice ? mummies

welcome yasmine! our sons have the same name! ethan
very nice name hor? hee hee anyway my boy was born 14 sep so only 2 wks older than yours.

your son taking so much milk oredi ah? mine is only taking 120ml-150ml every 3-4rs.

re your son's block nose, i oso expreience the same thing wif my boy. but i think its cos both me n hubby hv sinus tat's y i think most likely my boy oso kena and tat cause him to hv difficulty breathing wen sleeping n eating too. always can hear snorting/snoring sound one. but i check his nose dun hv any mucus oso. we didnt do anything about it. just observe further for now...

anyway E stands for expresed

emma, yesterday i super blurz! keeping thinking today is 14 Nov my ger will be 2 months old mah...hahaha so my ger is only 8 weeks old!!! :D lol.....typo error :p

Hi Yasmine,

My babe doesnt have blocked nose but recently she sounds as if there is some wet mucus in her nose yet observed that it is the usual snot. I suspect she is having a cold. I asked my doc and this is what he said,

If she has no fever, it is usually not too serious. This discharge may last up to 2 weeks. Saline drops may
be useful. Just make sure she is <font color="ff0000">not wheezing or breathless</font>.

Now I am monitoring her condition. She is still having a good appetite, smiling often. So I guess she is alright. I am praying hard that the "cold" would go away soon.

Btw... my niece 5 yrs old is also staying with me in the day and she has been coughing. I wonder if she is spreading the germs to my gal...
Or am I getting paranoid?

Any comments?

So coincidence Michelle, ya...nice name, but my sibling say ppl will pronounce as " eaten", hehhe
anyway, my hubby choose his Christian name, i choose his chinese name, so i respect his decision lor, lol

not sure his intake at 7 wks consider alot, but 2 hour interval veri tiring lehz, normally after feeding, burp him, change nappy or pump milk , then have to feed him again... siong eh

Shirlyn,
Me suspect Ethan is having cold too, my 3 years old ger is having flu , so as my nephew, so think they spread the germs to him, sigh..
BTW, Saline is the drop prescribed by PD izzit ? if as wat ur doctor said, the discharge may last up to 2 weeks, think me have to bring him see PD liao lor, cos some drop at least can ease him....

BTW, do u mummies change nappy for baby during midnite ? i did not change him cos i latch him on during midnite feed and me dozed off togather with him and forgot to change his nappy, next day, found his pat pat become red color.. but me sometimes really cant wake myself up during midnite lehz..lazy mom.. sigh

also, very scare will accidently "cover" him when i latch him on during midnite, but just cant have sitting position cos just very tired....how u mummies do during midnite feed?

hi yasmine,

nighttime feed i oso breastfeed in the lying down position. so ive no idea what time and how many times he wake up for milk at night. when he cries, i just latch him on till the both of us fall asleep.

usually before bedtime, i'll change him into pampers diaper, never change his diaper in the middle of the night, but the first thing when wake up, i'll change his diaper. use nepia for daytime.

edksd
Kai seems so happy! The one with the tongue stuck out, makes him look cheeky, like playing with the photographer.

I can't tell how much I am feeding my gal coz DBF. But I express once in a day for bottle-feeding and it is only 80ml. This seems so little after I read how much the mummies here are feeding their babies.
My babe is now 10 weeks old, havent weigh her yet. Interval between feed during day is 2-3hrs and night is 3-4 hrs.

Yasmine
I have not taken her to the PD since she is not wheezing/breathless. I guess the saline drop has to be prescribed, better to see a PD if he doesnt seem comfy.
I am thinking if I should take her for vaccination (cant remem which one). It was recommended by the doc if the baby is going to an infant care centre. I forgot to check if it will apply in my situation with a 5 yr old in the house.

Hi, Shirlyn &amp; Yasmine, i read from the booklet 'A Parent's Guide to Newborn Babies' by PD Dr Ong Eng Keow, in it mentioned that if there are phelgm &amp; nasal congestion noises, its considered harmless. Guess if there is no other symptoms like baby falling sick (ie. fever or no appetite), it should be ok. However for saline drops i guess its also better to be prescribed.

Yasmine, if your BB has nappy rash, u can use nappy cream Desitin. it's quite gd, my BB gal got a bit of nappy rash initially, after i used this cream &amp; also must remember to keep her bottom dry &amp; changing nappies frequently, the rash cleared up in 1-2days time.

My BB girl is 7 weeks old, born on 26 Sep. I'm DBF my BB gal so i dun know she's consuming. Like Shirlyn, i only express out once a day for next day's feeding.

edksd, Ethan is so handome! :) Love his cheery smile!

welcome yasmine,

my PD gave my girl saline drops before. i used it for 3 days and she got well immediately. it helps with the blocked nose. me oso got 2yrs old nephew and 6yrs old niece living with me and they get sick real easily too! my PD told me, if my bb is sick, breastfeed her more often. it helps to strengthen her immunity from time to time. so when my bb is not well, i BF her 1.5hrs interval leh!

last nappy change is midnite. if in the middle of the night my girl wake up and don't smell like she poo, i don't change her else i will change her and i make it a point to sit up to BF her b'cos if i lie down, my hubby will surely roll over me one ha!

edksd,
hey envy u leh how you manage to catch pictures of your boy smiling! my girl don't smile that easily but whenever she smile i always forgot to capture in camera. very heart pain leh!

rainnie,
i'm confused, 8 weeks is not equal to 2 months meh? aiyoh blur liao. my girl is born on 14 Sep, same as michelle.

ilovebabies
does the CADI thermometer produce the sane temp when measure at ear and forehead? me also quite tempted to get that since very easy and convenient to measure at forehead.
Else i will stick to the ear thermometer.

My gal
EBM + FM
6 weeks
100ml
3hrs interval

edksd
baby Kai looks so alert
Ethan love to smile too but me everytime forgot to capture photo of his smiling face
hehe, baby Kai is wearing Thomson baby shirt rite ? Ethan now cant fit in to this shirt , very short liao

tks all mummies for the advice, go back see his condition and then decide whether to bring him see PD not..

now rushing for work.. need to go home soon..

talk tomorrow

edksd,
Your baby Kai hor very clever ah. Can smile so wide and even stick out his tongue on you! I've been trying to take a smiling picture but very hard leh. Does this look like my girl is smiling?

577871.jpg

577872.png

emoments, are u having engorgement or clogged ducts? if clogged ducts, dun ever apply cold pack leh, it will make it worse. i not sure whats the reason for ur pain, check with gynae and let us know yar? drink lots of water to prevent fever in case its infection.

thermometer => i have a ear thermometer but not using it yet coz he is still young. PD advised to use baby's auxiliary thermometer those digital ones that put into mouth. must be baby's one, adult ones cannot. we bought a pigeon one quite good.

passing gas => my baby also always pass gas hahaha sometimes so cute. and yes he looks so uncomfy when he passes and just before. he keeps passing gas even when he is just born, in the hospital.
nowadays it may wake him up and be especially cranky. bo bian, just have to apply ru yi oil twice a day...

yasmine, i usually change my boy's diaper during night feeds coz he never fails to poo during that time hahaa. sometimes i change twice in a feed coz first time i scared too full with urine and if he poos it will spill out. sometimes that sorta wakes me up so much i am more awake than him. but bo bian, i dun wanna repeat what happen last time, when his poo spill out and stain the bed or clothes. hoping for the day to come soon when he dun poo in middle of night leh hehehe...

melissa,
yes, ur babe does seem like smiling...
i noticed something - my gal looks like a boy and urs also *no offence*
are all baby gals boyish looking?