(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Still confuse on how to use the Avent steriliser. Do you all sterilise all items in the sterilizer again when there is bottle or part need to wash and sterilise? Or do you all after sterilise, will assemble the bottle and leave it somewhere to be use for next feed, so dun have to keep sterilising them?

I remember someone asking when go back to work and baby is taking care by mil then how to sterilise the bottle right? Should i
1. sterilise all bottle at home and assemble them and bring to in law house to be use for feeding (which mean i got to buy extra bottle depend on the no of feed when baby is at in law house)- but will the bottle be contaiminated after sometime?
2. buy another sterilise or mircowave steriliser (which is expensive)
3.bring the steriliser to in law house during the day then bring back the steriliser if bring the baby back home at night which is very troublesome.
or any other solutions?

Anyone know where i can buy a fridge-to-go cooler bag outside huh?

E-ling, I think can assemble and they will stay sterilized for 24 hrs. Then only need to sterilze the parts you have just washed.

FTG bag can get from DIY store. Their flagship counter is at vivo city. I just got 2 to store my EBM

Angeline, thanks at vivo city which shop can get it huh?

I am using NUK bottle and i notice the cap there got hole so i dunno whether it will remain sterilise if leave outside or not leh

From Home Fix shop at Vivo city. The FTG counter there is suppose to be their flagship store.
Other Home Fix also hold a limited assortment. Maybe you can check out FTG website first and see if there's any shop near you and call to ask if the hold the model you are looking for.

Riushiki,
My baby has been sleeping through the night but sometimes she wake up once at 3 or 4am. But usually if her last feed is 11pm, she will wake up at 5am. Or last feed at 12am, she will wake up at 6am. Have you tried swaddling your baby? I kept my room dark with only the night light on and totally no sound. That seems to do the trick.

Hi Melissa
Normal his last feed will be at 9 plus or 10 plus. And he will be sleeping at 12am ... so should I wake him up to take milk at 12am ? :x I also not sure whether to disturb his sleep ?

I did not try swaddling coz he is very scared of heat ... and he will kick everything off in a while :x What did u use to swaddle your bb ?

Thanks !

Riushiki,
The book says to wake the baby up if he misses his feed but I follow my instinct and let baby decide on her own. B'cos if I force feed her sometimes she will vomit out everything. I trust my PD when he said baby has reserves. I swaddle my baby with the stretchy cloth used to make singlet one hehe. Or sometimes I use the First Few Years swaddle cloth. Of course, she will try to struggle and break free but before she does that, I find that she can sleep better. Sometimes, it's the baby's own movement that prevents them from sleeping soundly b'cos they haven't gained complete control of their muscles yet at this point of time. If you want to swaddle your baby, make sure he's not wearing long sleeve, long pants attire lor. Maybe a sleeveless shirt and shorts will do. Try lah and see if it works.

Oh now I remember, I start swaddling my bb again b'cos she used to confuse day and night. She slept all day and awake all night! Gives me and hubby big headache liao so one day we decided to swaddle her and I woke up in a panic at 4am b'cos I thought I didn't hear her cry for milk but to my surprise, she remained asleep. I even checked if she's breathing liao ha! But I wake her up and force her to feed. She did latch and feed but only for a very short time before she went back to deep sleep. The next day same pattern but I didn't wake her up. I just observe for any signs of waking up. Still no luck. Found out, she has developed a new pattern of sleeping. So it happens till now lor. So convenient!

Hi Melissa
Which book ? :p The baby's whisper ?

I think I will go and buy a swaddle cloth later. Will try to swaddle him up tonite hee hee :D

Haha Riushiki,
You caught me there. Sorry I can't quote which book but I do remember reading it from somewhere. It's not the Baby's Whisperer. I read everything from doctor's pamphlet to magazines. Later you try let us know lah if it works. May need practise.

Oh try to keep her awake in the day hehe.

E-ling, the nuk cap got hole meh ... ops i never realise leh. Every time after sterilised i will assemble the milk bottles and put it one side. So that if my baby cries for milk the time for me to heat up the milk will be shorter loh. And it has been going on for the last 1 month plus leh!

I'm the one who ask how to sterislised the bottles when we are back to work....when we put our bb @ either nanny or mother place. Anyway...my hb and i had decided to buy another steriliser put @ my mom place. Easier & save her time loh! And we bought one during e metro sales

Now is headache how to express when i'm back work if use manual pump hehe

hi Riushiki, i agree that swaddling baby calms them down. i swaddle my bb girl when she gets super cranky at nite & refuse to go to sleep, and it always works. make sure the swaddle is snug & tight, else BB would kick & struggle too much. After swaddle, sayang & pat them to sleep. My bb has not yet learn to sleep thru the nite, i guess its individual, gradually they will sleep longer & longer. My BB girl used to wake up every 3 hrs for nite feed, nowadays the longest stretch she sleep thru was 5 hrs, gradually hopefully she can sleep thru the nite. her last feed is at 10-11pm, she will wake up at 4+am and then 7+am. However, as BB are all unpredictable, the sleep pattern can change. even after they start to sleep thru the night, there could be periods whereby their sleep pattern change. so dun worry too much :)

i hv a qn to all BF mummies, when u gals are out, hv u encountered whereby your baby starts to get hungry, but the only available nursing rm is occupied, & u hv to wait, but bb is starting to cry already what would u do? i was thinking whether to cover up with a shawl & just BF sitting on a bench (away from the crowds). Otherwise how? Usually a feeding session takes at least 20-30 mins.

Riushiki, when u swaddle your baby to sleep, u can turn on the air-con, that way it wouldn't be too hot. the swaddle cloth from TMC Parentcraft is quite gd, its very soft & cottony, i'm using that for swaddle, & also as a blanket when not swaddling. Otherwise my mum says can use those large nappy cloth, the material is very thin, but the cloth must be big size enough.

:x I just went to Robinson and John Little to buy the swaddle cloth but cannot find :x .. can't find the first few years one :x

Actually wanted to buy the swaddle cloth from TMC but didn't buy that time ... aiya I think I will go Compass Point later to see whether they have anything :x If not, tonite I will use diaper cloth to wrap ?

So after swaddle, must let him sleep on his back or on his side ?

melissa, rainnie

my gal poo with mucus-streaked bowels once today leh..

scare me ... chk babycentre.com again. it says as long as there is no fever or vomit, it shld be ok.

but she poo a few times today .. all small amount.

will cont to monitor .. wonder is it due to the food I take ? any ideas ?

Smiley

finally !! welcome back !!

did you wipe ur gal face after each feed and see if it helps ?
i tot rashes on face is quite common among babies ?

melissa

my room is dark and quiet too but my gal still wake up for feeds leh. i think it depends on baby le .....

my ger can have her last feed at 12 am and wake up at 4am then 7am ... same as zz's ger.

zz

if the nursing room is occupied, prob find an isolated corner and BF ur baby. of cos, cover it with a towel or the sarong sling ?

ilovebabies,
never had that kind of bowel before so sorry can't help. i will agree with your instinct though. fever and vomit are bad symptoms. don't know if it's related to food but if you ate anything different, then maybe that's it. as for the room environment, i'm only quoting from experience lah. how about trying to keep her awake during daytime?

zz,
if that happens to me i will cover with a shawl. anyway i always wear loose cloth with front opening. i have been going out with my mom so far and if need be, i will ask her to cover me if i need to flip out my bra.

zz
tt happened to me many times liao. the only or all nursing rooms r occupied & my baby is wailing away. so i dun care, juz find a plc to sit, cover up (luckily so far my hb usually ard to help me cover up) and BF my baby liao.

juz tdy i was BFG at the platform of the MRT stn coz there was still a distance to my destination & my baby cant wait. as long as we cover up & BF, i dun see any problem lor.

Rainnie,
sorry that i went missing for a couple of days. No internet access for a while. Yes, i am on the 29th floor. reply your email. Thank you so much!

Smiley,
I am the one who went on total FM alreadi. I have couple of reasons why i went on FM so quickly. Anyway, go on partial is fine. Don't get too upset with it. I actually do feel bad when i stop but then, most importantly, i feel that i have given him the good milk in the first 1 and a half month.. haaa! self encouragement leh.

hey helo smiley, welcome back! miss u leh, wondering how are u doing? can understand first mth quite tought yar? i didn't log on for the full 1st mth hehehe. dun feel bag abt the fm feeding lah, u did try ur best liaoz.

Do you all experience blood when you are pumping? Recently I have been experiencing at least 5-10ml of blood when I started to express... wonder what cause it?

Also, I always get engorgement and my breasts will be very painful the whole day... I pumped to empty my breasts, but the pain is still there... very pain.

Feel like giving up soon... sigh.

emoments

dun give up .. rest your breasts a while.

did u apply any cream to ease the pain ? why not you call a lactation consultant for advise ?

melissa

thanks .. ya still monitoring my gal's poo poo frequency. *cross my fingers*

my son has been sleeping thro the nite! his last feed is ard 9pm, sleeps around 10pm+ all the way till next morning at 5am. today, even better... now oredi almost 6am and he is still asleep! really wonder if he actuall got so much reserves or he's jus plain lazy until dun even bother to wake up for milk?!? some more last nite his 9pm feed i gave him only half his usual cos i tot he might wake up at 12midnite so i can give him a full feed to last longer, who knows he slept even longer wif less milk. now i feel like a really bad mommy

oh and i notice he seems to sleep better n longer when i place a pillow across his tummy

Hi Melissa/zz
I tried swaddling last nite. He had his last feed at 11pm and woke up at 3.30am for his feed. At least can last 4.5 hours and not his usual 3 hours hee :D

Me up now to do pumping job and he is still sleeping
Can see that he can zz much better and with less noise in his swaddle blanket :p

But can swaddle for how long ? Babycentre said should stop after 1 month old leh :x so as not to interfere with his arms/legs development

hi! qn on BM storage... i've stored BM in the fridge thinking i would use it the same day but in the end didn't. Now I want to transfer up to the freezer. I should do so within how many hours ah? I know if store too long in fridge, cannot freeze already right? Tx!

Hi, Riushiki
For me, i only swaddle nowadays when my BB girl is cranky & refuses to zzz at nite. U can start to swaddle for now till bb can sleep peacefully, then u dun hv to swaddle anymore. Monitor and try.

In the daytime, i dun swaddle her. I realised in the day, my BB girl hv different types of naps: light sleep vs deep sleep. For light sleep, she is not deeply asleep, she gets startled herself when she moves her arms around, and then i hv to keep patting/cuddling her back to sleep, but not for long. For deep sleep, she will sleep very soundly, even if u try to tickle her, she will continue to sleep peacefully.

ilovebabies, i realised at times, my BB's poo also the watery kind. Looks like the half-boiled egg (yellowish). I also worry if BB got diahorrea, but BB is fine no fever, so i just let it be. I think BB poo will change throughout the day, sometimes watery sometimes more sticky, semi-solid kind, i think should b fine. :p As long as poo is not green i thk shld b ok.

Emoments, i remembered Mrs Wong (TMC) mentioned before that if there is blood when pumping, it means the pumping suction is too strong such that the skin on the nipple is torn. Best to go for a lighter suction, dun keep pumping on one side for too long, alternate between different sides. Pumping is unlike bb sucking, alternate betw different sides, dun hv to finish one side before pumping the other side.

my MIL now trying to bottle feed my girl again, its gg to be another battle. Today we are trying with Pigeon Perilistic nipple. i can hear her struggling & crying already, i'm in the living room, my MIL feeding her in the room. SIGH. Anyone can advise how i can get her to accept bottlefeed??

hi zz, could it be she has wind in her stomach?

last time when i cup feed my son, he can finish it up w no problem.

1 mth old later, he starts to cry half way when we're cup feeding him. my mom says now he doesnt like to be cup fed. but i dun think so.

whenever he cries, i'll stop cup feeding and burp him, after he burped, then i'll continue cup feeding him. and when he cries again, i'll repeat the process again. so now the feeding takes even longer time.

lately we started to use bottle to feed him too. same thing, half way thru will cry and hv to be burped.

i stopped swaddling after 1 mth old. during bb 1s mth celebration, a fren frm vietnam told me not to swaddle as it restricts his development n i agree n decided to stop.

zz
my son has the same sleeping habits as ur girl - day time very light sleep then at nite very deep sleep

puppylove
EBM can be stored in the fridge for up to 48 hrs - so long as u move it to the freezer b4 this time is up, it shd be ok!

emoments
i can totally sympathise wif u.. i am 100% EBM and there are many many times that i felt like giving up too - and this happens when i get blocked ducts that are soooo painful. i oso kena once pump until got blood. i realised its cos the areola there got broken skin n the pump kept rubbing against it till made it bleed. i think u need to put some lanolin on your nipple first to let it heal n in the meantime, to keep up supply, use the lowest suction possible. once ur nipple heals then u can start to pump normally again. how often do u pump now? to prevent engorgemt, u need to pump at regular intervals...

i've been swaddling my son at nite too cos it definitely helps him sleep better. dunno when can stop swaddling oso leh.. i;m using the cloth napkin to swaddle him cos its cooling enuf (he very scared hot one hee hee)

anyone here bb still wearing mittens ah? my boy coming 2 mths liao n i heard it's time to stop wearing mittens for them. scared he scratch his face leh

michelle,
I still let my boy wear mitten cause he like to scratch his face. I think will let him wear till after 3 months.

May i know if any one try the silicon NUK teat? can fit in avent bottle?

hi ming liew,
dun thk nuk teats can fit into avent..avent v smart one..only their own brand stuff can fit..

if yr boy use silicon teat for avent shd b ok to use nuk silicon teat too..

For those TBF, may i know how long you latch on yr baby? And is it each time on both breast?

During weekend, i try to latch on my baby. He only suck for very short some times 5 min or shorter but then can fall sleep for 1 hour. I wonder is it enough for him? Usually if bottle fed, it took ard 30 min for him to finish 90ml of EBM.

im using those small medicine plastic cup. u can buy frm tmc parentcraft (6 for $1) or any pharmacy i guess. the nurses use it to cup feed newborn in the nursery too.

hi ming liew, me too, bb usually suckle for 5min n will be in dozing off mode. i duno to stop him or let him continue suckling lightly.

im not sure suckling lightly is he still drinking milk. if he's, i dun mind to let him suckle.

but if he's not taking in milk anymore, i'd rather stop him.

since urs will go to sleep after suckling for 5min, i guess he is full. mine sometimes still v awake. so it makes me think tt he must be tired of my slow/low flow
headache....

hi, ming liew, my BB girl usually takes abt 10mins on each breast. Last time when she is younger, she takes abt 20mins on each breast, nowadays she's faster. I can see that she will suck very fast in the first 5mins, then towards the end, she would slow down. i usually at least let my BB girl suck abit longer then when i see her gg to fall asleep, i remove her fr my breast. if she is finished, she would let me remove her fr the breast, otherwise she would cry for more, then i put her back. (at times i put her back, i start to see her sleepy again, then i know she just want to suck further maybe for comfort, i would remove her, let her struggle abit, but then when i pat her, she would calm down slowly).

My bb stopped wearing mitten after 1st month coz read that must let them play with their fingers for motoring skill purpose :p

Same here. He also will have light sleep and deep sleep during daytime .. even nitetime also :x In his light sleep, he will peek his eyes open to see whether I am around :p

Ops .. another thing ... you gals are talking about watery poo but my problem is my bb dun poo often
The last time he pooed was 4 days ago :x And before that was 6 days :x

I read that it's normal that some total breastfed bb only poo once a week :x coz breastmilk is 95% digestable so they have nothing left to make poo poo :x

ming liew
i have checked- NUK teat is too small to fit into avent bottle.

edksd
just wondering how to feed bb using those cups?
do they know how to drink? my MIL resorted to spoon feeding when bb refuses to drink from bottle.

Mittens
I tried let my babe go without one when she was 7 weeks. She scratched her face... heart pain when there was a "scar". Now I still let her wear mittens. When playtime, then remove the mittens to let her grasp things.
Their fingernails grow sooo fast! It seems that I am trimming them every few days. Or maybe coz I dare not trim them too short?!

btw any babies here are putting their hands into their mouths?

Shirlyn,
My bb is putting his hands into his mouth.. i juz remove his hands when i see it and tell him it's not good. Hopefully, he understands! haaaa!!!

mingliew and pjen, nuk teats cannot fit into avent bottles, but pigeon peristaltic teats can.
nuk normal teats can only fit into those normal size bottles like medela, ameda, or other baby brands bottle.

mingliew, sometimes my baby also like that, drink 5mins then stop. there was a period of time he like that loh, so fustratting. then he will want more soon after. but as long as the poo is not green (too much foremilk) then i let him be loh.

Riushiki, oh ur baby din poo again? mine opp problem from urs leh. at the age where their poo sometimes drops to once a day, mine still poos many times a day!! esp in the middle of the night, sometimes dunno wanna laugh or get fustrated when i just helped him change then he poo again. sigh..... did u try mrs wong method again? see if it works?

shirlyn, by right when u put the cup to baby's lips, he will stick our his tongue and taste whatever in the cup. and u tilt it up a bit into his tongue. i tried both cup and spoon feeding before, hahaa so messy. he just made a face and sometimes refuse to swallow. have to be very patient wor...

HI all,
thanks for the nuk teat info. My baby like his pacifier so much now that he only want to suck the pacifier than drinking milk. sigh!

zz

tks .. am still monitoring the freq of my ger's poo poo. she is still the happy and active baby ..so I am not that worried yet.

my gal can suckle from a min of 10 mins to 45 mins. sometimes she fall asleep, i wont bother to wake her up but she will def wake up 1 hr later .... if she can feed for 45 mins, it can last her 2-3 hrs.

daisybuttons
thanks for the info abt the cup. My babe is still having a battle with the bottle. I am trying out the third teat liao. *faintz*
Paience? Yes, she is 'testing' mine now. LOL.

i took off the mittens for my boy just now n now he kena 1 scratch on his face liao.. think we hv to put it back on again n only remove during play time lor

michelle

that's wat i do also. when my ger is sleepg, i let her wear the mittens and take out when i play wif her or when she reads her storybook...

Shirlyn, today i tried the Pigeon Perislistic (did i get the correct spelling??) teat, seems to hv greater success than previous days. Other teat the minute it goes into her mouth, my BB will push it out & wail. The Pigeon teat is softer, i think it resembles the nipple sucking. I'm trying out this teat again tomorrow for bottle feed... U may want to give it a try.

hi daisybuttons, same here, my BB girl also keeping poo-pooing. Sometimes little bit by little bit. at times i jus changed the diaper, then poot (fang-pi) with a bit of poo. Aiyo. So i put nappy liner so as not to waste the diaper. :p

Mummies, do ur BB always pass gas (fang-pi)? My BB girl can in her sleep suddenly whine & cringe her legs up in discomfort, face distorted in sulk, then pass gas (sometimes with abit of shit)for quite a number of times. After that, she will go back to sleep. I hv put ru-yi oil & try to massage her tummy, but still got alot of gas to pass leh. I was wondering if she's alright, but hubby says as long as BB is not passing greenish poo and not having fever, should be fine, ask me not to over-worry.