(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

hi ilovebabies,
thanks for your effort, very sweet of you to search through the posts. i have tried most of the tips offered by the counsellor.

seems that nuk teat is popular, i shall try that.
hopefully it yields good results!

ilovebabies, avent bag can be found at most of the shopping centre. But i guess u jus need a normal haversack ... it can do the job as well

i love babies
wah, my recipes r those v simple ones leh. sure or not u want to paste it up here? if u all dun mind, im ok lah. but gimme some time to write them down then i email u ok.

puppylove
u bought ur bedsheet from kiddy palace? yah i saw melissa also have. so popular ah haha...

whatzup
u can take comfort from me. my husb never changed diapers for his kids, never bath them etc.. when they were babies. but now that they r older, he help me by taking them out so that i can have some breathing space at home!!

ilovebabies :

ya , me found babysitter , dunno good or bad , just based on instinct and a short 20 minutes conversation , have to give it a try , so , will bring my son over around mid nov , a trial day care for two weeks , if she is ok , then she will take over and i will bring my son home during weekends , week days will pop by . MIL and hubby heart pain with my decision , unless one of them take over the night feeds when i am working , else , this will be final , both of them kept quiet , so , i go ahead lor .... only know how to talk but no action .

hubby ah ... after me complain , he starts to help a bit here and there rather then leave his son on the bed with wet nappy , or just voice out ' mummy , baby needs to change nappy ' and he is reading the papers .

blessedmommy :
, you have the patient and never complain ... u earn my respect . me not very patient kind and actually leave my son crying for three hours on his own b4 .... after that me feel bad lor ... :p

"Infants who sleep next to mother and who enjoy the luxury of unrestricted night nursing tend to grow faster.

Infants who are the product of "baby training" (parenting programs in which babies are fed on a schedule and forced to sleep through the night) often show delayed growth.

Babies who are breastfed according to a parent-imposed and restrictive feeding schedule are not only likely to get less milk, the breastmilk they get will have a lower level of fat and calories because of the longer intervals between feedings."

------------------------------------------

"Offer the breast more often. The "law of supply and demand" that governs milk production implies that babies will demand the milk they need.

One of the most powerful ways to stimulate increased milk production is to "take your baby to bed and nurse." This relaxes both you and your baby and stimulates longer and more frequent nursings. It also increases your milk-producing hormones and reminds you that breastfeeding your baby is the most important thing you can do at this stage of your life together."

---------------------------------------------

"After the first few months, your baby will begin to associate the breast with far more than just a way to satisfy hunger and thirst. It becomes a place of comfort, security, warmth, closeness, and familiarity. The act of nursing is not just nourishing; it is nurturing. Keep in mind that these needs are every bit as real as baby's physical ones, and having them met is every bit as needful to baby's overall development."

ilovebb,
wat's pseudo constipation? sound serious or not? i mean sometimes, wayne don't poo everyday leh.. and i don't like the idea that he don't poo everyday becos there is intake, no out.. u get wat i mean hoh!

PrincessEmma, thanks for telling me about the adidas bag.. perhaps i should go and check it out as well.....

Shirlyn, the teat i am using is Pigeon one.. traditional kind.. but yes, i know NUK also not bad. give it a try.

Whatzup, hey.. milksupply low? tell me about it.. me too! And i am planning to stop BF really soon. Reason being, starting work really soon and my workplc not convenient to express milk out and I have to travel.. so plan to stop BF.. and besides, after confinement, I have been eating all kinds of junk food and I don't want bb to take that kind of food as well... so today, i told my bb that he has to get adapt to FM.

Little pony, me too eating those junk food. I wondering whether i should supplement with some FM, maybe during night feed although i got enough breastmilk.

know that most of you dun wake baby up for night feed,but will you all feed baby only when they cried or when they start to be in light sleep mode with alittle movement(like licking hand, stretching hand or leg etc) on the verge of waking up.
Normally what is ur baby hungry signal huh? Can share. Thanks

my baby's cue to being hungry is:
- sucking the pacifier vigorously and cry if there's no milk coming out of it
- cry (different kind of tone, almost shrieking)
- restless, especially when it's almost time to feed
- cry when putting him to sleep and changing diaper don't work

sometimes my bb wants feeding every hour, sometimes every 45 mins, headache liao! but this happens in the day and at night she tends to sleep through it! waking up at 5 or 6 am!

Little Pony,
I guess it's normal. My son who use to poo v v often, now only poo once every two days.

Old folks say like baby actually grow bigger n chubbier :p

princess, oh no tts not my purpose... i was talking to a fren abt latching on via sleeping position... then found some info frm the net n tot of just cut n paste to share it here...

hey mommies. i ordered the nepia S size oredi and it's great! very much softer than pampers premium n its got 3 strips of urine indicator! no leakage..

2 thumbs up fr me! wondering how come i didnt try this brand earlier :p

i find recently my son has difficulty finishing the 110ml of milk that we give him. any of u face the same situation wif ur bb? i hv not even increased his intake since 2 wks ago... y does he seem to eat lesser now ah?

Hi michelle, can u help me check ur nepia small what is the recc weight of babies to use it? and how much issit for 4 packs?

blessedmommy and Joon, i have another friend who is willing to share the 4 packs. just need to find out the price. but hor, blessedmommy u stay east ah, lagi far from me hehehee. how huh? do you happen to have ILs staying in town or in the west? or do you go town often? Joon maybe i can ask hubby to pass to her when he collects the Ergo carrier. hows that? let me know kae?

ilovebabies, u want only a few pieces ah? where u stay? perhaps u can ask the one who stay closest to u to share a few with u?

ming liew
my 2-mth old gal now poo only once a day and it's a lot! it is like accumulation of what used to be 5 separate poo combined together. i read somewhere that it is normal and there are breastfed babies who poo once a week. as long as the baby is growing well, not in pain, you shouldnt worry.

e ling
hungry signals : putting her hand to her mouth/makes sucking sounds while asleep
very hungry signal: crying
starving signal: WAILING till the face turns blue

Shirlyn

you are most welcome !!

I am using NUK latex teat, M size for breast milk

you buy both S and M to try out first ? cos some babies cannot take too fast flow.

rainnie

eh u got the wrong person ah ? I am not looking for diaper bag leh ?? ahah

blessedmommy

eh simple dish is easier to prepare mah !! i dont want complicated receipe hor .. turns me off just by reading it! hahaha ...

Littpony

Pseudo constipation is the term used by Dr Ngiam ehehhe...

pseudo means something that is not real ... so what the babies are experiencing now is NOT the real constipation cos they dont poo everyday.
But i wonder what if some babies have constipation and the parents dont know ? monitor by the poo right ? hehehe ....

dont worry lah ! Rachel dont poo everyday also .. but sometimes she poo twice a day .. so play by ear lor !

Eling

I take the cue of bb crying then I feed her. Else I would be sleeping soundly leh ... ehhe ... her cry for milk would be short and frequent panting like ... how abt Amabel ?

michelle

is nepia really that good ? i tot Pampers is consider very thin and soft oredi ! aiyah I just bought a packet S size yest !!

i heard that breastfed babies after 1mth may suddenly have change in bowel movement. as long as baby alert, eating well and looks fine think nothing to worry. and of course if the poo is normal i guess.

about the nepia, i know oredi hehehe. its $14.7 or $15 per pack of 54 S. think got promo now but can't reach them to check. will let u know. for 4-8kg baby.

ilovebabies, i have not buy pampers s size yet so i dunno that one for how many kg. u have the pack, u go check and see? nepia S is for 4-8kg.

Hi ,
if i nt wrong pampers baby dry S size is from 3-8kg. but i found it's rather tight for baby tight. It will creat redness ard it.

ilovebabies, Amabel will be in a light sleeping mode, licking figure, making kissing sound, and will twist her body, making alot of movement until she can move her whole body to 90 degree (sleep vertical in the bed end up horizontal) if wait longer she will start to cry real loud for milk and that time we will have difficulties in feeding her liao. Haha she will throw temper and refuse to drink milk. But i not sure whether midnight feed we should wait until she really cry then give or not.

ladies, been such a loooooooooong time since I last posted. Glad to see most of u coping very well.

Sha, congrats on ur new job. I'm also like u. Not working full time since March and now going for interviews. Hope I can lucky like u to get a job soon.

Whatzup, I totally empathize with u on nobody helping out on the chores. The same happens to me. My MIL wants to wash baby's bottom whenever he poos and my hubby asked her to change diaper (coz he say "we" should take a break and let his mum take care but he hardly every change diaper either). If I say dun need to wash then the task of changing will fall on me coz I suppose she feels is "dirty". Then I'm taking care of baby and doing all the other chores at home as well. So siongz...

When will the baby start to sleep thru the nights? Mine is 6 weeks old already but last night he was practically waking up every hour. I wake up until blur and keep offering my breast to him since I cannot remember the time of his last feed :p Today so tired and feels like half of me gone liaoz...

Is Nepia good? Aiya. I just bought a pack of MamyPoko coz I hv a $2 discount voucher. But most of the time I try to use cloth diaper though it means I gotta wash and wash and wash.

My baby still poo almost after every feed during daytime. Night time will not happen though which I'm pretty glad of. Hope to see just 1 or 2 poos soon too. That together with him sleeping thru the night will be best gift to me. Now sometimes I feel I want to strangle him and ask him is he purposely out to torture me! :p Bad mummy... ... :D

Initially i use Pamper Premium for Newborn and recently changed to Pamper Premium S size. This brand work well for Amabel. No leak, not easy get nappy rash

dumpty

nice to see u back here !! must be busy ah ? haha whose not ?

i think every baby is different so we cant judge when our baby will sleep thru the nite based on other babies sleeping pattern.

today my ger scratch her forehead and it was bleeding man ! there are two tiny little dots where she scratched it ... haah cried so loudly !! after that I quickly put on her mittens ... and I just trimmed her nails two days ago .. it grows real fast leh ...

hi for those who use cloth nappies, ask u, whether does it leak? and each urination, we must change the cloth nappy?

daisybuttons

I think prob cant based on the weight range by the manufacturer. Some made it bigger and some smaller so hopefully someone who use PAMPERS S and NEPIA S can do a comparison ?

anyone of u let bb sleep on tummy side down yet?

i tried yday and today. seems like can sleep better and longer leh.

old folks told me this trick. bb feel more secure in this sleeping position and therefore wont be startled so easily.

ilovebabies, sorry cant help u, im still using nepia newborn size... i find tt it's smaller than pampers premium newborn size...

edksd

ya it is true but beware of baby face position since they are facing downwards.

no prob on the sizes ... hmm if it is true, hopefully the S size is smaller than PAMPERS S too ..

well my son is 5.2kg today n when i put the nepia S size on him it still looks oversized so i guess he can use that for another few mths ? hv not tried pampers S size yet so dunno which one is bigger ...

ethan's poo oso reduced by a few times a day liao. last time is surely poo after each feed but now somteims only

oh i paid $15 per pack of nepia. u mean now got offer ah??

ilovebabies, i only let my son sleep tummy side down in the daytime when im on the lookout all the time. night time will still be side position.

ilovebabies,

I'm using both Pampers Fit&Dry and Nepia, all small size. I really like them both. But if I were to choose one brand, will go with Nepia. Reasons being:

1. Nepia is VERY soft everywhere. The design around waist area is superb and it almost looks like a pant on baby. The tape is also so gentle that Dryers-haters will love Nepia instantly. Just like Pampers, it also has two anti-leakage tiers around the thigh area, but not as tight especially the inner tier to create the redness on baby's thigh which Pampers will. The downside is it might lead to leakage if baby poos a lot suddenly. So far I had only one incidence. I had no leakage with Pampers, but I hate the redness although it is not serious.

2. Nepia is much cheaper in the long run if you stick to it rather than Pampers.

Nepia is good enough, but I have to say Pampers has its superior sides: thinner and better absorbtion. When baby grows bigger, I will try M size on both brands again, just in case one of them is not as good as the other. So far I've tried Huggies and Drypers as well. Drypers is ok except for the tape. Huggies is not gentle and leaking a lot - will not buy it again.

megan

wow tks for the detailed comparisons!!

ya i really love pampers reason being it is thin ! which looks to me as more breathable leh...

hmmm but getting 4 packs at one go is risky ... what if my ger dont like it ? haha

hi blessedmommy, wtlow is me
thanks for the emailed recipes again. I have not been logging for long time, busy taking care of bb and house work as i'm alone at home.

ilovebabies, i'm interested in the nepia diapers newborn size, can share...i'm in SK too.

e-ling
amabel very cute leh , vertical turn horizontal , if wait longer , probably she will turn back , :> . my son will scream until his face as red as tomato with little green circle around his mouth when he gets really hungry , once pop his milk bottle into his mouth , the 'opera' stops .

little pony
which brand of FM are u using ? manage to get bulk purchase discount directly from distributor ah ?

dumpty
the job market is picking up , don't worry . keep trying and u will end up with one .

hi gals :
do u still BF when u are sick .. having slight fever , flu and cough but not taking any medic ?

cherrie

tks !! so we share 2 packs each ?? can send to 2 diff locations ??? my plc and ur plc aha....

whatzup

when u r sick, u shld bf cos your body will build up antibodies in ur BM. give ur boy so he wont get sick....i bf my ger whenever i am sick. i just wear a mask

Little Pony, my bb refuses bottle too. What i do is latch on and then wait till she fall asleep or half asleep (she always fall asleep when nursing!) slowly transfer to the bottle. Success rate is 8/10. I'm using NUK latex teats.

ilovebabies, if no one else want to share then we take 2 packs each lor...think they may not want to send 2 diff locations. Can ask them to send to one of us then we meet at a place.