(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

daisybuttons
im the one who feed ebm cos i got nobody to help me at home lei other than my maid who is hopeless!! my mil comes once in a while n my mom stay overseas lah so when she comes to visit she will stay a mth or so then we take turn to feed. so far so good lei she alternate between breasts n bottle v well. thank God! initially i was concern abt nipple confusion also but seems like she is ok. she is those v chin chye kind, as long as she gets her milk she doesnt care where the source is from! u might wanna try with one or two bottles a day first. shld be no prob. though im a sahm i feel like as though im a working mom haha.. my baby gets ebm in the day and i only latch her on at night n midnights n weekends cos me v busy at home lei. i dun hv the time to latch her as n when she feel like it. i feed ebm easier to control her feeding pattern.

daisybuttons
he sleeping on the same mattress as his cot leh. we only brought his mattress in coz our rm cant accomodate cot... so mayb its the room he needs to get used bah. hopefully he gets better.

melody
i think 4 ur case, ur baby's sleeping habits will probably get better, not worse...

i will swaddle my bb when he sleeps at nite, but if he struggles alot, i will give in and not swaddle. sleeping face up, sometimes sleep on sides.

daisybutton, i did not do anything to make my ger sleep 5hrs one shot leh.....she started herself ... and since its night time i never bother to wake her up

ilovebabies, i sms mona 2 weeks ago for slimming massage. she is soooo bz ... replied me a few days later saying she got no free slot and will call me oncce there's free slot
till today i have yet to receive call from her!

michelle, the longest i tried never express out is 8 hrs....i dun get any engorgement...even 5-6hrs interval as well...cross fingers hopefully nothing happens. but i notice my MS did not increase much ever since i start to express most of the time.

most of u bring ur bb out shopping oreadi? i find it a chore to bring her out cuz need to carry so many stuff and also my mom and hb dun allow me to use the carrier i bought. really tempted to buy sarong sling.......any suggestion?

daisybuttons

sounds like a tiring nite for you !!!

eh i ate a few times after delivery leh ... cos I was so hungry but really no time to get food.

btw Smiley replied me via sms and says she is real busy and tiring to come into this forum as her ger need feed every 2 hrs. And she takes a long time to burp her. Anyway she says she will find time to come into this forum again and she has send her regards to all of you here .... hope to see her real soon !

btw u can try the method that Eling used ... ask ur dad or hubby to feed ur baby with your shirt. SOmehow baby will recog that it's your body smell and finish the milk faster. let me know if it works !

the foremilk is very diluted and looks very clear. The hindmilk is thicker and creamy in color. I dont know how long does the hindmilk appears .. prob it varies from individual ??

to differentiate them, just look into the bottle lor ... see the output from your breast.

eh u express for only 10 mins ? so fast ah ?

i think you shld empty the breast and not just express the amount you want. if u do, your body will only produce that amount only.

i was at vivocity last Mon ... there is a nursing room somewhere beside MANGO. It's located opposite the toilets.

Michelle

I have dual pumps so I intend to sterilise them at home and bring to office. I will use one pump for each express so the two pumps can last me for two times of express. Then i wont need to sterilise them at work. But hor.. how do we transport the sterilise pumps to work to prevent contamination ?

Melody

my ger sleep on sides most of the time cos she fell asleep fast after feed. Sleep on sides to prevent choking if she regurtitate milk.

rainnie

really ah !! aiyah .. me have been trying to locate her for so long ... cham .. need her to slim me down leh ... will try to call her next week.

if I bring my ger out, usually i have my hubby or mum as companion so they will help me to carry my ger. Dont need to bring a lot of things out lah .. just some diapers, changing mat, a few mittens/botties, bb clothes and wet tissues. Since we BF-ing, no need to bring milk powder and water which I think it's fantastic and hassle free !

ilovebabies,
if you express a few hours after DBF, isn't that time for her next feed already?

Gals, pls give me your advices :
I've been exclusively pumping and feeding EBM for the past 2 weeks. Previously it was DBF + EBM + FM. I gave up DBF cos I find that BB only suckles for a short period and drifts off to comfort sucking only, so she gets hungry again real quickly. I was also afraid that my supply was not enough. Now after weeks of diligent pumping, i am assured that my supply is enough to meet her demands, so I started to latch again these 2 days. However, I still find that she gets hungry really quickly after DFB (less than 2 hrs) whereas when fed 100ml of EBM, is can last her 3 hrs. Now I have to DBF and top up with EBM so ensure that she is well fed. This is really making me want to give up latching and just provide EBM. Pls give me your thoughts on this.

Just bought some nursing bras from OIO. Buy 1 get 1 free. The $19.90 model's material is a little corser, but I think its ok for home use. The $32 model is a good buy for me.

Mummies who have BF BB outdoors, I got a question to ask. How come we need to use the nursing room to BF? I thought I always see on TV and all the marketing for sling carriers that mummies can BF out in public discreetly? I am bringing BB out tomorrow for checkup and intend to go shopping afterwards. I have especially went to buy a nursing top tonite in preparation for tomorrow's outing. Is it b'cos our BB's are still so young that's why we need a nursing room? Pls advise.

Michelle.. u are not the only one.. i find that expressing is so much less pain than latching on.. lol.. we are realli weird, the both of us..hehe...

rainnie.. i got spare sling lehz.. u wanna try first??? see ur lil rainnie like or not first lahz..

melody,
i still swaddle my bb at night when she's having difficulties sleeping. else i don't. she's still sleeping face up. i will never let her sleep back side up.

daisybuttons,
i think for 10 mins of pumping, u have already gotten yourself an even dose of foremilk and hindmilk. i second what michelle said. foremilk is very diluted, like barley and hindmilk is thick and white. my foremilk disappears fast, probobly after 3 minutes or so. then hindmilk took over quick. my bb has been having yellow stools.

zz,
pumping shouldn't hurt. when i used my cheapo manual pump, it hurts like hell even when i used it for 5 minutes but when i switched to Medela Mini Electric, there's no turning back. i can go on and pump for 30 mins and end up with 140ml of milk with no problem. if it's not working out for you, experiment with other pumps.

don't force your girl to sleep longer and when she needs to suckle, let her. don't even hold back from giving the pacifier. babies at this stage can only express their needs, not wants. get it? there were times when my girl did not sleep the whole night so me and hubby took turn to hold her or nurse her or give her the pacifier. good thing is, my bb do not depend on the pacifier. once she's asleep, she will spit out the pacifier.

angeline,
i don't pump after DBF. there are times when i am engorged and i pumped b'cos bb didn't wake up. but sometimes after pumping bb suddenly wake up crying, so i latch her on and feed her as per normal. no problem so far. i keep the EBM in the fridge for emergency use. i guess my breasts are never empty.

i also read that mommies can BF their bbs discreetly using the sling, but i dunno how to use it. i will always try to find the nursing room or BF in the car. while BF is a natural thing, i am always apprehensive about letting strangers see my nipple, so i will always ensure that nobody else see my boobs except my hubby. if u're an expert at doing it discreetly, you can do it in public without pple noticing. i really salute mommies who can do this. i still need a lot of practise.

e-ling,
my bb takes 15 minutes to feed and goes to sleep. she will wake up after 3 hours for next feed. i didn't even bother to double nurse her. don't feel pressured by the time taken to nurse the bb. some babies are effective suckers and some boobs have fast let down and powerful shooting jets. it really depends. do what you think is right for your bb. your instinct should guide you well.

littlepony,
i wish i could bf my bb till she won't take it anymore. breastfeeding has been such a positive experience for me i actually look forward to such sessions everytime. i intend to pump at work and once i'm back from work, i will directly latch her. that's my wish but i don't know how things will really work out in the future but i'm still hopeful.

babyzucchini,
wow you setting a bedtime for your bb? i did not. i let my bb run her own schedule b'cos I want her to feel secure and let her develop her own personality. your bb is still young right? not yet 6 weeks? then 1.5-2 hrs interval is normal. mine is >6 weeks, she's feeding every 3-4 hours now. she takes about 120ml of milk.

tbf mummies, can i ask whether is ur bb still poo-ing many times a day?

i noticed tt big poo is abt once or twice a day. the rest (oso abt twice or thrice a day) is like little bit only.

i rem during 1st mth checkup, PD asked me whether bb is still poo-ing frequently. at tt time was. then he said if it reduces to once a day is normal.

Ilovebabies,
Me too . .. Want to call Mona for the slimming massage and wrap as well. My tummy is still flabby and ugly find it tough to fit back into my old clothing. Before pregnancy I was not that slim but at least no tummy lor. . .sian.

Sleep suite.
Someone here ask where to get cheap and nice sleep suite. I brought a few from FOX baby the other day on sales up to 70% so I brought 2 pcs at S$7 per pcs.

Sleeping Pattern
Mummies, I found out that if we feed our baby at about 12 to 1am they will only get up at about 6am in the morning for another feed then I will put her in the sarong sling and coax her to sleep and it work again.

Sarong Sling.
Mummies, the sarong sling work wonder and I believed that babies will love it. If you are planning to get one better start earlier before they know to reject to it. It is okie and safe if you get use to it.

Angeline,
If you know how to use the sling well enough, you can BF your baby anywhere. I would suggest you tried it out at home till you are comfortable with it then you will be able to do outside with even more confident.

Just remember when you put the sling tighten the one at the front that is support the baby head and loosen the one at the back which is close to you so you can lift up your nursing blouse and BF your baby and cover your baby head, dont worry about baby not breathing as long as you have latch her well she is able to breath.

It would be best to get those nursing blouse that is open half way or side way so you dont need to lift it all the way up.

edksd, my bb also poo lesser now compared to her 1st mth. now she poos abt 2-3 times a day or sometimes one BIG poo a day..or 2 BIG poos a day.. as if she has accumulated all her poo b4 she let go at once lor.. i think is normal and some mums like littlepony's bb also poo once a day...

Melissa, i always wonder how mums can BF while out with hubby/family mbrs.. u mean they will need to wait for u to BF in nursing room for as long as the feeding session is?

i agree its not ez to bf using sling. salute to those who manage to do it. i find it easier to use nursing bib if i need to bf in public. i got mine from smallsmallworld.

hello cereal

yup yup, when i BF, my hb will walk ard the shopping mall and come back when i sms him... in the suntec nursing rm, he stayed with me in the rm coz there was enough space for him

melissa,
i also got no guts to BF in public! i'm still so clumsy with everything, must wipe boob, move boob into bb's mouth, struggle with squirming bb, burp bb etc etc... surely zhao kerng one! so i go to the nursing rm and no one can see my messy bb! he always ends up with milk all over his face and chin... :p

<u>Losing Weight</u>
I also cannot lose weight! I haven't lost anything since giving birth! Feel so cheated coz I thot BFg can burn up to 800 calories a day

<font color="ff0000">$#$*&amp;%#^@*&amp;#&amp;!!!!!</font>

blessedmommy, i also thought of getting the nursing bib but my hubby said i may only wanna to nurse until 6 month only so buy liao only use afew months also waste. But i disagree with what he think lah, wondering whether it is really useful?

joon.. lol.. u damn farni... ya lohz.. me also havent lost any weight.. sigh.. its gonna be a long journey.. think after i stop bfing, will have to go to drastic measures to lose weight boi...

mommies... is it true that before we do the pap smear, we are not allowed to ahem ahem???? for how long? have u done ur pap smear alr???

Sha.. me was the one who asked abt the sleepsuits... yesterday got false info from another mommy in the forum, say KKH mothercare got 50% off.. make me rush all the way down there.. turns out.. bo promo.. sian... aniwayz.. ur sleepsuit promo still on? dun think so right? that time i went to fox baby on sat evening, i never see alr...

princessemma,
gee! i didn't know that! i did my pap smear already but anyway, tt was 6 wks after giving birth, no mood to ahem-ahem... no also no mood, every night so tired!! no one is touching my boobs except the baby!

Sha,
the Fox offer for sleepsuits is very good! is it still on?

<u>Leaking Diaper</u>
My bb's diaper leaks almost every night. I've used mamy poko, pampers, fitti, huggies, petpet and some other funny china brands, but all lead leh... any one tried nepia? is it good?

e-ling,
i'm able to wipe my boob in the nursing rm coz there's always a tap there and i always bring a few small towels out.

joon.. seems like u have tried all good brands hor... try dryper lahz.. maybe it works lehz.. btw, i heard that nepia is pretty good... maybe u can try... Enzo uses Pampers baby dry and it works for him.. but not for lil rainnie... so its realli v individual..

joon, i have tried pampers, mamy poko and drypers so far. Hate the tapes on drypers but so far it is the only one that doesn't leak.

LOSING WEIGHT
I've lost 10.5kg since delivery, so another 5kg to go! How to go exercise when both boobs feel sore and tender all the time! Urrghh!!!!

LATCHING vs. EBM
thanks mummies for further encouragement. Actually I prefer latching for personal SELFISH reasons lah.. I think latching is less hassle (except for the frequent falling asleep problem) for me, drains breasts better and also better bonding between mummy and baby. I just HATE expressing. I don't mind giving EBM at all and would prefer it to FM for sure, but was hoping for exclusive latching.

i have just got my massage today and guess what, my massage lady said that i have to cut down on my meat intake and rice... or else, i can't reduce weight. My weight reduction didn't drop significantly. In fact, it went stagnant. She was checking on any breast lumps as well and advise me to massage everyday during bathing time to soften the lumps. Or else, if it hardens, have to operate.

I sigh! I mean, pregnancy really change one person's body outlook! but then again, change the way i look at life as well.....

hi joon, ive been using nepia for some time. so far no leak. i rem there was once when using pampers premium it leaked. i guess i didnt fasten properly.

hi mummies, if we need to bring cold ebm out, what kind of container shld we use to store the bottle of ebm?

im wondering is there a type of container which can store both cold or hot stuff?

i lost 5kg immediately after giving birth. and lost another 4kg after tt. hoping to lose some more... im now 9kg lesser than my pre pregnancy weight. so i guess bfg does help.

For the leaking, i guess it's the way we wrapped the diapers on our bb... maybe too loose, so when they sleep..their urine will leak. I used drypers.. also leak as well.. even though bb urine only once.. and i think it's the way i put on the diaper on him.

edksd,
i bf as well.. but still don't see too much of progress! argh!! i have stubborn fats, i guess.... sob! Massage lady teased me saying... if can't lose weight, ask me go for another bb! I replied ' huh! this one already headache liao!'

For those whose bb wants carrying... i realised it's becos they could smell us (especially mums)..coz we bf them... so what we can do is to carry bb lesser.. if they cry, get help from in laws or hubby to carry instead... and giving pacificer is another way to replace our nipples...we should only give them suck when it's feeding time...

I have problem with this becos my bb will want to suck when he wants to sleep.. although he has finished his feeding, he wants to suck to sleep!

hi joon,
for pampers brand I tried baby dry n it leaks from e back so now I changed to fit &amp; dry. I used fitti before also don't leak leh. did u 'adjust' e surrounding of e diaper ard baby's thigh after u put on e diaper??

hi little pony, losing weight has never been this easy before pregnancy. coz of my hormones imbalance, im never able to lose any weight. until pregnancy. so i believe u can do it too!

DG! I wish I could lose weight like u! and edksd! u so lucky! Ligher than b4 pregnancy some more!

But I guess I am not Wong Li Lin... hmm... maybe I shld train for a triathlon... NOT!!!

Thanx edksd, I've always wanted to try nepia, but can never find it in the shops. Where do u buy urs?

Little pony,
cut down on meat? really? aiyoh i've been eating more meat and fish coz thot it'll up my milk supply... no wonder still so fat la!

ilovebabies, yep that was a tiring night. oh i do not pump to empty breasts coz i intend to pump only enough for baby's feed if i happen to be busy, massaging or for some reasons. then can let someone feed. i am not pumping to incr supply for now. so its okie. i pump only 10mins max loh.

melissa, oh so 10mins shld be enough for hindmilk to come out hor? yah i know foremilk is diluted hindmilk is creamy ah, i know i know hehehehe. but i just ask the silly question on how to tell during pumping. okie lah, i will peer intently at my pump see if i can differentiate. funny loh. i can diff when baby has drops on his mouth, some looks clear some looks creamy. but pump one somehow i can't. i try harder lah. yes my baby all along has tau suan stools so i am not worried about latching whether giving enough hindmilk anot.

edksd, baby shld have about 3-4 dirty (got poo) diapers a day. my baby has that amount, and sometimes big poo 1 or 2 times a day. the rest only small amounts. as long as total number of wet (just urine) diapers plus dirty diapers betwe 6-9 is okie oredi means have enough. dun worry. and also the colour of the stool lah.

Joon, u tried all brands liaoz. what size u try? and how long do you leave it on at night? coz if ur baby wets her diapers oredi, no more absorbency left for poo mah. so gotta change more frequently? or it could be the diaper size? try experimenting with a size bigger see how? or a size smaller? i dun likme drypers, give my baby mild rash. intend to sell away the remaining unopened pack that hubby's friend bought. anyone interested? $10.

angeline, actually if u dare u can always bf in public without nursing room ah. its just that we here very paiseh leh. like joon hor, my boy sometimes has milk over his mouth and i gotta clean and risk exposing myself.

sometimes he has this habit of suck suck suck and "unplug" himself from my breast with a satisfied "suction" sound! when that happens, i wld be too slow to cover myself and sure chao gerng one. aiyoh, cannot lah, i need nursing room. though i have 2 very nice nursing tops, i will still try nursing room. at most, i will plug my boy in discreetly, then bfd in front of ppl its okie. but when i sense he has enough, i better turn away hehehee...

seems like most of us have problem losing weight.....i cant wear my old jeans/pants....cuz my thigh...butt all upgrade liaoz sobsob...

i wanted to go to those SPA shop to do slimming massage...but those have to be naked lehz......i having leaking problem .. so dont noe if i'm suitable to do right? if not later will have milky smell...

hi joon, nepia can be found in ntuc, but they only carry m and above leh. did u pull out the leak guards around ur baby thighs after putting it on?

edksd, just put the cold milk bottle in those insulated carrier. with prob some ice packs inside to maintain the temp. container can get from pigeon or avent or piyo piyo brands...

hi daisybutton, tt means i must buy an insulator carrier which is big enough to accomodate the bottle and ice packs? btw, any idea where to buy ice packs? got different sizes or not?

rainnie,
ya, i think my hips have expanded...
well, on the bright side maybe the next baby will just fall out, hahaha... hmmm, i don't think so.
ya hor! i forgot abt the leaky boobs! i'm going to body shop to do tummy wraps!

joon
ya nursing bib is just a pc of cloth, sort of a cape but it has fasterner at the top so that u can peepe at bb sucking. aiyah im bad at description, hope u get what i mean. i just hv to wear it over my neck, place my bb inside n start bf. the cloth design is stylo milo so dun look aunty la. there r few brands selling but the one i got seem the most functional cos can peep at bb. www.smallsmallworld.com

e-ling
i find the bib a v gd investment cos i can just bf anywhere. i agree with joon its diff to bf a young bb in public cos gotta make sure they latch properly, dun choke on milk etc.... sure zhao geng! with the bib i dun even need to wear nursing tops cos v hard to find nice nursing tops lei! but the bib is not cheap lor. maybe if u dun wanna use anymore can sell it? haha.. justifying my cause to hv one!

wow edksd, envy envy, u lost so much weight!!

many of my friends who had natural birth oso complained abt expanded hips.

when i was doing my postnatal massage, oso leaked. but it's ok, the lady knows this's normal, she just wipe it up for me.

daisybuttons,
yup, i adjust everything nicely, but still leak! i think it could be 2 things...

1. bb chooses to "dump his heavy loads" at night
2. bb always squirms when he's crying for milk so the diaper moves abt, and i sleep like a pig, so cannot hear him, so he ends up squirming alot!

shit, i think it's number 2. like that how??? i really sleep like a pig.

edksd,
i bought a cooler bag specially for bottles so it's the right size for 2 bottles and it came with a hot &amp; cold gel pack. can't remember the brand sorry!

blessedmommy, i agree w u it's not easy to find nice nursing clothes! most of them are auntie looking t-shirts

i noticed tt the nursing bib are all 100% cotton except one which is 35% cotton and 65% polyester. which one is more cooling i wonder?

joon!!! Guess what.. I am realli training for a triathalon leh!!!! lol.... running(more like walking)on the treadmill, cycling (to school when i start to work)and will start swimming if i have the figure!!! lol... but its realli my dream to compete in a triathalon lehz... hehe.. juz go there 2 hours after everyone has completed the race.. u will see me running toward the finishing line.. :p

angeline/michelle, no need to envy. i hate expressing 'cos the engorgement. So when i can express that kind of volume in the first morning express, it also means that my breasts are so engorged that i would be waking up in pain. That is the most demoralising part of it all.

my gf's are A cup and she can bf her BIG INFANT by just latching exclusively too. That is what I envy.

princessemma,
wahhhh! *clap*clap*clap* that's great! school? so u're a teacher too???

blessedmommy,
thanx for the link! am surfing through it now... hee hee... shopping again... very baaaaad...

emma
u r so funny! good luck for ur triathlon practice!

joon
i just went to the website again. i noticed there r a lot of old designs which have been taken out. they used to have many more nicer designs.

edksd
not sure if mine is 100% cotton or not but my bib is v light n cooling. the cloth is v thin n easy to squeeze into my bag.

DG
i hv a frd whose boobs r sooooo tiny but she manage to latch exclusively for 1 yr too n her bb is sooo chubby! envy envy!

i hate drypers too cos of the tape - so sticky n make such a loud noise that when i change bb when he's sleeping he will get a shock n wake up fr the sound of the tape being ripped open! other brands i hv tried r mammy poko, pampers premium, toys r us (especiailly for baby) - they all dun leak leh. i think the most impt thing is to adjust the gathers ard the thigh area n the ones inside. if its nicely laid out it shdnt leak

guess i got a real lousy deal then.. boob still so small and still so little milk! sian man :p

i cant lose any wt either cos feeling hungry all the time n worse still craving for sweet stuff! so hv been stuffing my face wif chocolates! i am still 10 kg heavier than pre-preg wt. so far lost 10kg after delivery oredi lah (cos i put on 20kg in total). wonder when will be able to fit back into old pants. hubby keeps asking me call the malay lady come massage again so i can lose wt - but the massage will only help shrink back the tummy rite, wont help lose wt one rite?

edksd
how much is 1 pkt of nepia and how many pcs inside if i order direct fr the contact that u gave ah?

i had my pap smear done last wk too at the 6-wk postnatal check up. then dr said everything is back to normal so if i want to hv a 2nd child i can try straigtaway! i looked at him blankly n asked isnt it bad to hv straightaway then he said yah but consideirng my age (i'm oredi 33 this yr) if i want to hv 1 more then i better get started ! haha

DG
i oso wanna latch my bb for selfish reasons cos find it so troublsome to bring all his barang out if giving ebm. imagine if can latch then i can forget abt bringing out bottles, hot water, etc... :p anyway i hv stopped trying to latch bb on oredi and now just giving ebm. cos i noticed his stools turned greenish when i tried to DBF for 1 day - too much foremilk. so forget it lor - just mommy n daddy suffer a bit more when we bring him out
i find other ways to bond wif him like bathing him, carrying him more often and playing wif him when he's wide awake - i think it's just as effective cos he seems to be able to recognise me now

melissa
yah i am trying to set a bedtime 4 him so as to establish a system. anyway he falls asleep on his own ard tt timing, so not so much we set, rather we follow him. yah mine is slightly over 4 wks old only. dunno how much he drinks as he is DBF most times, only once or twice a day he is fed EBM.

SARONG SLINGS
issit really not easy to BF using this? i am contemplating buyg it alrdy so its easier to carry baby ard and i can BF discreetly. so far when i BF o/s, i always use a nappy to cover. and my mum keep saying my baby v poor thing, needs to b covered up when he drinks milk.

and i dun wear nursing tops (i dun hv any), and in fact 90% of my clothes cant match wif nursing bras. sigh, headache man. i end up wearing my normal bras and it feels uncomfortable when i juz push down to BF my baby. but no choice leh. u ladies noe where to find strapless nursing tops?

oso, how u ladies "ahem" when still BFGg? seriously, now no mood and oso i heard BFG causes us to b v dry. anyway my pap smear in 2 wks time and if i am still spotting, cant do it. troublesome. i am staining but v little... dunno when it will go away completely.

Joon
u din lose any weight? i din monitor but at my last gynae check, i lost everything except 1 kg. and i eat like a pig now, dun dare go near the weighing scales. but i can fit into my old jeans alrdy. v happy.