(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

e-ling
wow ur gal really drink alot! mine is drinking only 110ml every 2.5 hrs. i think if she doesnt hv enuf she will cry for more? so if she seem satisfied u can let her be. n yes i will compress my breast until there r only droplets when i pump. call me ks. haha..

yeah.. eling.. 190ml is super alot!!! lol.. my fren's 10kg 6 month old only drink 180ml per 4 hours!!! pengz...

blessedmommy.. ya lohz.. alot hor... sigh.. so ugly now... crap... and bfing realli wont help in losing weight lehz... eat and drink so much.. how to lose??? its only a myth.. lol... no doubt we burn lahz.. but the food intake way surpass what we burn producing the milk boi...

i went to robinson on sat lehz... brands like avent all no sale lehz... bluff pple one... make me choose all my teats and bottles for ntohing... ended up buying all from taka instead.. got 20% off... their ralph lauren also got 20% off!! hehe..

ilovebabies.. no worries.. different babies different.. my another fren's 9 month old girl is only drinking 90ml every 4 hours... hehe... v cute and pretty still.. lol...

Emma

hehe tks for assuring me !

ya I also tot my Rachel is a small eater which makes my BF less stressful

helo michelle, rainnie, oh ur baby's prev feed before 11-12 is 8-9pm ah? hmmm...i dunno how to do it leh. coz my baby's last feed is also around 8-9pm. but sometimes he sleeps past 12midnight and wakes up only at 2am. though its good in a way but that means his longest sleeping hour is not during my bedtime. and its not the middle of the night best timing either. how do you get ur babies to wake up around 11-12pm? he wakes up himself? coz i think nighttime shldn't wake them up right? last night i tried feeding him earlier at 7pm. then at 8pm he still cries for some milk. feed him about 5mins he nod off liaoz. so i tot maybe can last til midnight only. but he woke up 1plus am. though i am thankful for the sleep, but the timing all sala leh. any suggestions???

angeline, dun worry lah, breast size dun matter. the milk ducts that produce milk and the fat ducts (if thats what its called that decides ur breast size) are completely diff.

hahaha Joon, yah man i think the contraption so funny hor. but if it can help i dun mind, anyway i am not using it outside!!! hehehe.

ilovebabies, u pump so much now to store. its for preperation for work right? but at work u will still be pumping at least twice to keep up supply right? how to prevent engorgement then since that time u will be pumping/feeding less than now?

for those of you who intends to tbf even when go back to work, whats ur plan? i thought of pumping 2-3 times at work that will coincide with baby's feeding time at home. so i will bring back the fresh ebm that day to be fed by my parents to baby the next day. in that case, do i still need a store of ebm in the freezer? i will keep some for like excursions or weekend outings or if i wanna go out hiao hiao, but i dun need so many if i pumping fresh ones every day at work right? what's ur plans?

daisybuttons, my gynae taught me to wake baby up at 12 for last feed so that baby lives by our time.. he say if let baby suka suka then next time we v cham... so far so good..

hey, i also have the concern question on feeding my bb. My bb is drinking only 75ml every 3 hours. he used to be drinking 100ml but nowadays, he started puking out some of the milk and leave 25ml behind in the bottle.
Is this something that i need to be concern about?

ilovebabies,
ya.. i think i really need to cut my weekly shopping trips... i have been enjoying my shopping trips but at night, i really suffer when Wayne starts crying and want me to carry. Sigh! Really hope he gets into a normal pattern very soon so i can bring him out!!

E-ling,
I did compress my breast to make sure no milk come out d.

Daisybuttons,
You able to express so many times at work? You gonna bring the sterizer to work?

ilovebabies,
if I remember correctly Mona is in Thailand now. She did mention to me that she is planning a trip to Thailand for personal reason. You try calling her next week. You want to book her for massage???

Went VivoCity yesterday . . . it was so packed with people here and there.

Now carrying Sherilyn in the sling and chatting / surfing the net. . hehehehe

daisybuttons

hey hey i was wondering what happen to Smiley too .. maybe I send her an email or sms her.

aiyo my ger has the same sleeping pattern as ur boy. She will have her last feed at 9+pm and wake up for milk at 2+am leh ! then her 3 hourly pattern will follow .... sala timing like what u said.

I dont really pump very often now leh. I used to do it every 3 hr during the 1st mth to increase my supply. Now I pump like 4 times a day only ! I intend to pump at 10am and 4pm at work. Well, that's my plan ....not sure if i can materialise it. if my supply is ok, i may reduced to once at work only.

I will give my ger fresh EBM and frozen EBM daily which is what I am doing now. Cos I wont want to store EBM for > 6 weeks as advice by domesticgoddess. So everyday I will see how much I have in my fridge and move them to freezer if exceed today's demand.

Emma

ok so I shld wake my ger at 12 am ?? what if she doze off ?

Littlepony

I read from Aug thread that some of the babies also drinking much lesser at certain stage. Not too sure why also.

I asked BF counsellor and they say to monitor wet nappies. So far Rachel wet her diapers when I change it every 3 hrs.

Sha

ya want to get Mona for slimming massage. ok maybe I call her next week.

Vivocity is big .. though there are a lot of people but luckily the passage way is wide enough so dont feel so cramp. I din manage to finish shopping the whole mall.

emma
yah i dunno how some moms can bf n lose weight cos i can never!! i get hungry all the time n i also make sure i eat the right foods. nvm lah, we sacrifice ourselves lor. moms r the greatest haha..

i love babies
no need to stress over rachel's intake. every baby is diff. as long as she is healthy, alert and happy. maybe she small eater.

daisybuttons
my gal's last feed also abt 9pm. if i leave her be, she will wake up ard 1am plus or 2am. but i usually only get to bed ard 11.30pm after i settle all older children n doing some work. so i will only get 1 or 2 hrs of sleep before i gotta feed her again. what i been doing for the past 2 weeks is to wake her up at 11.30pm for her last feed then she will only wake up ard 4plus. at least i get 4 hrs of uninterrupted sleep.

Wah Joon, u should send the table to those parenthood magazine. Maybe, can earn some $$$. Heehee
To add on to the table,
Jurong Point: 3rd floor next to food court, 2 to 3 nursing rm (with curtain, 4 changing tables, wash area = ok lah
Causeway Point: 3rd floor, beside Metro. 2 nursing rm (lockable), sofa for hubby, 2 changing table, wash area. = Good

ilovebb,
so i shldn't be too worried abt his intake of milk huh? hmm, i will continue to monitor n c how. btw, wayne poo once now but his poo alot.
wayne wets his diapers too...

yah lor she drink alot in the middle of the night.My gal last feed is at abt 10am, and i give her slightly more(130ml) than during day time (120ml) and i thought that can last her 5 or 6 hrs throughout the nigh but who know everytime after 3hrs she will wake up again for feed, like last night last feed at 10pm then she wake up at 1am for feed and 130ml not enough for her and in the end drink 190ml but still dun wanna to sleep until 3.30am then fall asleep.Then this morning wake up at 8.30am for morning feed

hi emma and blessed mommy...hhhmmm ok so its alright to wake baby up when he is sleeping soundly at night? how u guys usually wake him up. i just worried once i do that his rhythm goes out of sync. will try tonight hehehe.

ming liew, i also not sure if i can express so often in the office. i know i will def do one during lunch time. as for the morning one, maybe do it before leave work. for afternoon one, take it as unofficial tea break? hahahahaa! really dunno, must see how. but i am determined to continue TBF for at least 6 mths. as for sterilise, hubby did say just buy another cheaper one. and put in my office. then i need to clear my office space liao oh hehehee....my cubi so messy. some ppl using sterilising tablets but i will put it as alternative coz heard its slimy slimy...

ilovebabies, yah loh, timing all out right? i will try what they say. so u not DBF at all now? only through bottle lah? thats why pumping 4 times? so how many times u feed ur baby? my boy also small eater leh. at least, i consider him small eater lah, small appetite...

ilovebabies... when i wake enzo up for feed, he still 1/2 asleep one... he will juz drink while he's zzzing lohz.. but i am feeding ebm lahz.. if u latch on then i am not so sure alr...

blessedmommy.. me dun get to eat when i am hungry lehz.. cos during office hours, my hubby work, i dun realli have much food at home unless he buys back... so me think that might have affected my ms.. cos i keep missing meals..

aiyo me bobian leh cos my maid dunno how to go out buy food yet and is difficult for me to find time go out buy food cos got to pump milk also, sometime go out also worry my maid cannot take good care of my gal.

i oso wake my son up at 12am to feed after his last meal at 8-9pm else he will sleep all the way until 1 or 2am then we suffer cos we hv to wake up to feed him! when he drinking at the midnite feed he oso a bit drowsy drowsy half asleep one - takes longer to finish his milk but at least he finishes it n sleeps till morning ard 6am

i oso plan to TBF till at least 6 mths. planning to pump at least 4 times a day lor - 1 in the morning b4 goin to work, once during lunch time, once at tea break then the last one will be in the evening liao. hopefully can stick to this plan. i guess can kiss all nite time outings gdbye liao. btw, how long can we go w/o pumping b4 we kena engorgemt ah? if i sleep thro the nite, say 8 hrs, will i get engorged? i very scared this happens so every nite now i sure will wake up at least once to pump - usually ard 3am.

eling
ur girl really drinks a lot! mine only take 100ml every 3 hrs. at nite oso the same - the amt doesnt increase one.

i will oso compress my breast till every last drop of BM comes out.. hee hee. i do this in the hope that this will send signal to the brain that it has to make more milk!!

littlepony
ethan was also like dat few wks back. he was taking 110ml every 2-3 hrs for about a wk then one day he look like he was having difficulty finishing that so we reduced to 100ml. even now at 100ml and feeding abt 3-4hrs apart, he still seems to hv trouble finishing it. i tot it was the growth spurt at that time n now the spurt is over so his intake drop a bit lor.

elings..then muz stock up dry food at home.. lol... me got some.. but eat till sian alr.. hehe... when u go back to work, who's gonna monitor ur maid?? me wanna get maid lehz.. but when i return to work, no one monitor her.. so cannot lohz.. sigh...

mommies.. u know of any infant care in btbatok or bt panjang area???? my nanny juz backed out on me.. sigh.. muz look for infant care now...

princessemma, when going back work i will send the maid and my gal to my in law house, so is still ok.

How long all ur baby take to finish the milk? Sometime mine really take a long time to finish.

E-Ling,
I squeeze like crazy when I pump, but still get very small amount.

Mummies with big cups, me so envious. I am still a A cup ley.

daisybuttons
yah i wake my baby up gently. touch her cheek a bit she sort of auto know its time for milk and she suck v fast during this last feed. so far i bottle feed ebm for this last feed. not sure if u dbf will ur baby wake up to feed too. u try lor see if it works. then u get more zzz too. but not all babies will suck milk when they r asleep though. some will refuse.

emma
keep some healthy snacks at home lor. or cook simple meal? i find that if i miss my meal my ms drop lei. aiyoh i also wonder how i ever gonna lose weight like that. i used to think that nvm, if i eat less, my body shld be smart enuf to take from my reserves to make milk. but dun seem like it leh. what to do? so eat lor!

Angeline, me too will squeeze like crazy, everyday my figure is so painful and aching. When i got engorge, i can squeeze until my breast is very pain. Now i will often feel a shooting pain, the shoot is like the nerve is painful.

littlepony

ya seems like Wayne is taking enuff milk ah ?
Rachel also poo once a day and she really poo a lot ! there was once the poo actually flow out of the diapers ! ha !

daisybuttons

rachel requires feed every 3 hrly .. so 8 times within 24hrs. ya now I bottlefeed her more than latching .. i really afraid she reject bottle when I get back to work lor.

i can still latch her if I pump 4 times a day cos i pump every 4-5 hrs .. sometimes even 6 ! haha... lazy mum

btw I just sms-ed smileys .. still waiting for her reply.

gals

if I am at home alone with my ger, i miss my meals also. SOmetimes I dun even want to bring her down to get food .. so ma fan .. then in the end I ate instant noodle.

now with my mum at my place I get to eat regularly else she'll nag.

michelle

recently I cut off my midnight pump and wake up to heavy boobs ! So gotta express asap when I woke up. I can get 300+ML in the morning.

Angeline

I envy u that ur cup size stays the same ! mine increased and that means I cant wear almost ALL my tops ! sian man ...

Eling

I wont wake my rachel up .. she will wake up from nap like 1 hr before feeding time to play. She really "hong sim" ... hehe if u understand what I mean.

Eling

ya ... luckily it didnt leak .. but heard it's not good cos supply will go down if we dont pump out in time. but i am too lazy at nite leh ..

princessemma :

infant care cost a bomb ( at least to me ) , there will not be one to one care , more like a one to five babies . there is an initial deposit ( can't remember how much , i think is equal to a month's cost ) , a none refundable registration fee , if not mistaken , the price range for infant care is around SG900 to SG 1200 ( this is taken care by registered nurse ) excluding food and toiletries ( day care only ) , if day and night ... should be SG 1500 and above ... there are some subsidies , can't remember how much ... upon careful calculation , still ex compare to a babysitter , if u have a good relationship with your babysitter , you might be able to negotiate a bit if u are late for your pick up time , have to attend dinner during weekends , go off during public holidays .

you could try this agent for babysitter :
Linda Ong
67620877 / 96996517
she charges SG60 from you upon a successful
selection ( she charges another SG250 - 350 from
the babysitter ) . all the best .

hi gals :
MIA for weeks due to family issues , glad to know that most moms here manage to TBF , i think i would be the first one drop out from BF coz my milk supply has been dropping tremenduosly .... hopefully by next week i could have a little more rest cum time for myself ...... and rebuild my milk supply again , :/ .

do you all pump right after you DBF, how much milk to you get then?

If you are pumping on a different schedule than DBF, what happens when BB gets hungry right after you pump? You feed the EBM, or latch on as usual?

ANgeline

i dont pump out after latch. I'll just wait for another few hrs before I express.

usually the breast is not empty by the pump. Baby will still get milk but dont think there'll be a lot. if not, u can feed EBM lor.

hi, all.
Mae & ilovebabies, thks for replying my post abt my cranky little angel. She still hv yet to stick to schedule, sometimes she drink from 1 breast, at times from both, thus she demands for milk at 1.5hr if she drink fr 1 breast, and 3hrs only if she drink fr both breasts. At times she drink from1 breast and wana fall zzz, no matter how i entice/tickle her. no choice so hv to give up & feed her 1.5hr later. I have not given my baby girl EBM yet, i latch her on directly everytime. I think i will train her to take EBM in 2 weeks time.

To all the mommies...
do u all hv an issue whereby your baby does not zzz 2-3 hrs at a stretch? in the daytime, after a feed, my girl would zzz 30-45 mins then she would wake up and wana be carried. She would move her mouth as if wana suckle if i carry her (guess she can smell the milk) but i dun think i should be feeding her coz if i let her suckle, she would suck 10mins then look sleepy again. my girl is 5-6 weeks old, i hv yet to give her the pacifier yet, trying not to. What should i do to make her sleep longer? pls advise.

Nursing Rm
I went to the nursing rm at Plaza Sing before 3 level, it was rather small. 1 room with a sofa (can seat 2 persons) & sink, with a door to close (but no lock). The other area has a bench & changing table with sink, thats all.

oh yeah, another qn, i tried to express my milk a couple of times, i realised quantity isnt a lot abt 50-60 ml (both breasts) only after 15 mins of pumping. Pumping for 15 mins already hurts...
however my baby when drink from both breasts can last her 2.5 to 3 hrs, which i think is enough for her. is this an issue with the pump that is not working to empty the breasts properly? i'm using a 2nd hand borrowed Pigeon electric single pump.

wow u ladies here r lucky, got babies tt can sleep at a stretch at nite. my little monster here usually feeds ard 8+pm-9pm, then we try 2 make his bed time ard 9.30pm. tt time when my CL was ard, his nite feeds interval was 3-hourly. the last 2 nites he was sleeping wif us, and he made so much noises when he is sleeping, i cldnt b sure if i did fall asleep. v distracting though i did try to ignore, esp when its sleeping noises most times. in the end, his feeding times were short, abt 1.5 to 2 hr interval instead of 3. goodness... i wonder how to get used to it.

zz,
my little monster is like tt in the daytime, esp aft he bathed and will stay like tt till say 2pm. drove me crazy! i cant even go toilet in peace!!! and usually the only way to get him to sleep is let him feed wif me in lying position and he dozed off. i noe its a v v bad habit but sometimes i am so desperate, i let him do tt!!!

my boy is a small eater oso, at least tts wat i observed when we feed him ebm. usually can only manage like 60-75ml max. there was only once a ew wks back tt he drank 100 ml. he is now 4wks old.

angeline, dun need to envy lah. most of us when we stop bfdg our cup size will go down. some say hor, our breast may feel looser and not so firm leh. so for urs if no incr may be a blessing next time. have u tried pumping when latching on? i find that helps. if not, then latch on lah, dun need to pump til so painful. latching is less painful mah.

eling, depends on how long he naps. my boy naps around 6-7hours now, which is the correct amount for a 6weeks old (til 3 mths). so i let him be. but if u find he sleeps much longer, then wake him up if u want.

hi blessedmommy, okie i will try that. who feed the emb? u or another person? i really worried if i feed him ebm leh, coz i read that if i am the one who do it he may be confused and next time dun really wanna latch on. so i try to let hubby or my dad do it. but today my dad spent 40mins trying to coax him to drink and only managed 50ml. i fed up took over and he finish the remaining 40ml in 5mins! alamak, think its the scent? or the way i do it?

ilovebabies, yah leh my boy also got poo shooting out of his diapers one. twice so far. once i holding him sitting position, it came oozing out of his sides in the mamy poko diapers! then last night is the worst loh.
coz both me and hubby sick, so night feeds i bring him to next room lie on mattress on floor and feed. i using mask and felt so lousy and hot and tired. i feed one side then changed diaper coz its heavy. then when feeding 2nd side he pooed loud loud. i was holding him horizontal. then next moment i felt wet wet on my hands liaoz. check and its poo. gotta change his clothes in middle of night and change diapers again. then found out my pj bottom also ganna, and my bedsheet also ganna on big patch! so sian. sigh...

aiyah why u mention instant noodles!!! i craving for it now jia lat. preggie din take. now can take la hor?

hey crystallised. can ignore the sleeping noises. i know u light sleeper but try to do that. or just leave him be even if u wake up. like i said, its coz of the new changes thats why he like that. think about it, when u go overseas and sleep in foreign bed, u will not sleep well right? jia you and be patient...he will be better soon i think.

zz, if ur girl suckle 10mins oredi very good leh. mine can suckle only 5mins and refuse to do it. then later 1hr later wake up again and wanna drink. i wanna faint. aiyah, bo bian loh. so ur 10mins is oredi very good coz 10mins can drink a lot oredi.

hey girls, can check something? how do we know when baby got drink hindmilk? i know one method is through the poo lah. if its green means too little hindmilk. mine is okie lah, the tau suan kind, but when pumping i just need an indication to know whether i am pumping out hindmilk oredi? how to tell? is there a timing like after 5mins its hindmilk? coz i usually pump less than 10mins leh. neck very suan lah, and usually i get the amount i want in less than 10mins or else i also stop.

to those who went to vivo city nursing room, where is it huh?

btw tokking abt sterisling pumps when we go back to work, do we really need to sterilise after each use? i think can afford to just rinse wif hot water n use 1 more time rite? so if we pump twice during office hrs, the 1st pump will be clean parts, but the 2nd one will just be rinsed wif hot water. can rite?

oso, i think i may be 1 of the weird ones here but i actually find expressing less painful than latching bb on! mebbe cos i still cant get the latch right lah :p

daisybuttons
when u express the milk out, the hindmilk is usually creamier and whiter in colour than the foremilk
the difference is quite obvious cos the foremilk is like diluted barley colour only

hi michelle, yah i know the hindmilk is creamier. but hor, i can't tell the difference when pumping leh!! but i can tell the diff from the drops on my baby's mouth after he unlatch. silly hor?

oh michelle, reason why i can't tell is coz when u express, the milk comes out in jets right? the jets so small how to tell diluted or creamy leh?

it will flow down the funnel rite? then u can see the difference in colour mah. i using medela pump so can see lah - dunno whether other brands one can see or not

zz, crystallized,

my baby also had the same pattern as urs. her highest record is stay awake from 8am to 7pm. I'm also tinkin of ways to help her sleep better. haha me also let her lay on me till she doze off. very bad cause next time my MIL will suffer but can't tink of other ways to make her sleep leh.

dear mummies,

do u still swaddle ur baby? wat is ur baby sleeping position? lying face up or face down?