(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Jialat, my girl refuse to drink my ebm from bottle and wanna latch on anyone have this problem? Worry when go to work then how. When my girl cry for milk, I give my girl drink from bottle after she suck for a few mouthful and she know is not my breast then start to cry, tried afew time until i put my breast for her to latch on and drink, then she happily sucking, normally i will let her latch on until she abit sleepy then i take out and give her that bottle of ebm, sometime she know then will suddenly awakeand cry again but sometime she will drink without knowing is bottle, maybe she is too tire. And i can give her bottle if is feeding time already and yet she is still sleeping, then she will guai guai drink from bottle, so i think she is still tire and therefore nv notice is bottle. but like that very jialat leh if i went back to work.

mummies, thakns for answering my queries re. bb threwing up. Think i will monitor for a while. he doesn't throw up at every feed and I do suspect that it is because he drank too much. He suckles real hard too, so prob swallow a lot of milk each time. oh oh I also realise yesterday that he could get to the hindmilk after just 5 min suckling!
I think he has strong sucking reflex and hence need to suck a lot. So when he has finished eating but can't sleep, he may want to suck and get irritated when he got milk instead. Think same as Melissa's bb. But he's only 11 days old, so don't want to intro pacifiers yet for fear of nipple confusion.

Marcus used to be given Infancol. Think I will get same for Nicholas.

blessedmommy, I will be Nicholas the prevaner jab when he is 2 y.o. Marcus is going for his next month.

5-in-1 jab, sorry but I have not been following.. why so expensive? I don't remember paying $590 for Marcus's jab ever. That was more like the price of ALL his jabs in total.

e-ling, very common problem for bb to prefer the breast to bottle, esp those who have been latching on well for a while. Just have to perserve and continue giving bottle. Bb will drink from bottle if she is real hungry.

littelpony, do you drink all the Mattel and DOM or use it for cooking? any recipe to share?

Eling

wow u lucky gal lor ! And the nurse is sooooooo sweet hor ?

ok even if I have two pumps, once I sterilise at home, how do I bring to ofc without contaminating them ??

my boss is quite supportive of my breastfeeding. In fact my org is very pro-family. A lot of mothers there are BF their babies so I dun see a prob. And usually i spent abt 20mins on average for each pump. My worry is what if I am in a long meeting and my milk is leaking or feel engorgement ??

I will put the pump in a big bag lor ... not specifically any bag.

But ur suggestion is good leh .. break down ur lunchtime hehe

oh i also have this dilemma, shld I pump in the middle of the nite ? actually if I dont wake up to feed my bb, i believe i can sleep thru. But if I am awake, i think i may pump lor. takes me 20mins only so shld be ok since my sleep is oredi interupted.

edksd

are those acne heat rashes ? prob ur bb is too hot ? or is ur bb sensitive to dust ?

oh btw Eling .. dont worry abt feeding ur gal with bottle. I think it takes time. Dont worry. U still have a month before u start work right ? think u have to be very heartless to insist bb drink from bottle now.

e-ling, my ger do have the problem at first. Refuse to bottle feed and wants my nipple. It takes time and now she is ok with both bottle feed and my nipple! Which brand of teats u using? I guess NUK teat is better .... u might wanna try :p

I have to discuss with my boss about expressing out BM leh....and now there's a change of management sianz....dont know they allow or not. Does ur workplace have power socket for u to express if u are using a electric one? I got so many worries sighz ...

shirlyn
my bb has not been latching on cos he refuse to do so - will cry like mad so i gave up and hv been expressing out the milk for him and hv been doing this for 5 wks oredi so far so gd then suddenly today the lump appears! i pump every 3-4 hrs so dun understd y still kena the lump... so sian

will lactation consultants be able to help with these lump issues?

yes, LC will be able to help.
but i feel that you give yourself sometime, try pump again after a hot shower/hot towel massage, the lump shld disappear.

u said it is 1 lump, so not really engorgement yet, i suppose.
don't worry!

rainie, ilovebabies,
abt sterilising pump @ work : I plan to sterilise at the office with sterilising tablets
Easy, no need hot water or steriliser, just a big bowl. Now, if I sterilise my parts at home and then go to my mum's, I will put all the sterilised parts in a ziploc bag for transportation. Plan to do that when I go back to work too. But it might be easier just to sterilise everything at work with the tablets eh!

Hi Orange03, welcome!
If ur bb is feeding more often than usual, it could be his growth spurt. He is 6 wks after all and it's supposed to occur then. If u're up to it, just latch him on. Don't worry abt ur milk supply. The growth spurt is also to signal to ur body to produce more milk coz bb is growing bigger and will need to drink more!
Don't give up on DBF!
U've come so far already!

Poor Michelle, the lumps are the worst! Shirlyn & ilovebabies are right. Latching on is the best way to remove lumps but since u cannot, massage massage massage! Use a hot towel and rub sections of ur breast in a circular motion, section by section. As u pump, u can massage the lumpy part too. My friend had lumps and went to ParentCraft@TMC. The LC there just massaged her breast until it cleared. She said it was so painful she cried, but at least the lump went away. Good luck! Be brave!

edksd,
if it's red and pimply then it could be heat rash? DN kenah today after he fell asleep on my chest. (I also fell asleep!) All that skin-to-skin contact made him sweat and the side of his face that lay against my chest broke out in red blotches and was pimply!! In just 1.5 hours!! I put a little little bit of prickly heat powder. It seemed to work
of course the best is just to air the area I suppose!

joon

tot if we sterilise the pump at home will be more conv than to do it in ofc ? i mean we will be using ofc time to express and sterilise the parts as well !!

so I guess i will sterilise my double pump at home to last for two times of express at work. Can ?

michelle, have you tried putting cold cabbage leaves on the breast? that should take away some pain. It may help to get hb to massage for you as we tend to use less strength when it hurts.

thks for all the advice .. hv been massaging the lump wif hot towel like u all suggested n it does seem to hv subsided a litte. however i had a slight fever last nite - is it cos of the lump ah? i recall some of u had fever too cos of engorgemt. wat did u do? juz take panadol n wait for the fever to go off by itself is it?

DG
cold cabbage leaves r for engorgmet rite? i only hv 1 lump leh - is that still consirdered as engorgemt?

really very tough to express BM leh. now supply oso dropped (mebbe cos of the lump) - so tempted to give up altogether n just give FM!!

Hi Michelle
I too suffered from fever in twice different occasions. I called up Mrs Wong and she asked me to take panadol, drink lot of hot drinks (I guess to melt the lump), massage with hot towel and of course Pump and Pump if your bb dun latch on.

If you are using a manual pump, bring the pump with you for a hot shower and pump out whatever you can ... of course a bit wasted but what to do :x If kena the matitis then lagi worse ....

Realized a suitable pump is also important lah. I got to use a manual Avent pump when my Ameda broke down and realize I can only pump out half the amount using the Ameda :x

Good Luck !! Beside providing good nutrients to your bb with our BM. Think of how much money we can save at the same time hee hee :D with BM.

joon, is difficult for me to sterilise at office leh..even with tablets...cuz need a big bowl ...can put the stuff in a ziplock and sterilise using that bo? btw the tablet need cold or hot water ah? Paisay i never use/buy tablet form to sterilise before ... so abit kuku heee

may i ask a question. does ur bb head still sleep sideway? If yes when can we adjust the head to sleep facing the ceiling? And when can we intro pillow to them?

michelle, depends how big is your lump and how much discomfort. but yes cabbage leaves are for engorgement. fever is most likely caused by the lump and no other way but to massage and massage. Try latch bb on after you have massaged to help you clear the lump. Have you tried different positions? I had a lump when I was in hospital and tried football position instead of cradle and the lump was gone after 5 min. Normal panadol is OK for BF mums to take. drink plenty of hot soups and drinks.

rainnie, safer for bb's head to face the side so if they regurgitate, it will flow their cheeks and bb won't be choked by it. Pillows are only safe for those above 1 y.o.

BREAST PADS
Mummies, what brands are you using and would you recommend? I have tried mothercare, medela, gerber brands and think medela brand is the softest and thinnest and absolutely hated the mothercare ones. But can't find the medela ones in shops. Anyone tried Pigeon?

Michelle.. i had the same problem as u... had that lump there and fever came along pretty soon... cos i was taking fenugreek then... but weird thing is ms did not increase.. juz caused a lump in the boob... i also massaged with all my might before i pump... take panadol when ur fever comes... if not v uncomfortable to take care of baby... hope u get better soon!!

DG
i got my padded nursing bra from MIM. it comes with underwire too. i know LC will discourage wearing nursing bra with underwire but my boobs look so horrible wearing normal nursing bra esp when im out shopping!

PAPAYA SOUP
i use threadfin bones, raw papaya n ginger, add a bit of wine too.

DS, u mean washable bra pad? I went to Metro last week oni saw Avent have it...bought theirs...not very gd & expensive! Yesterday at kiddy palace I saw many other brands as well. I dont remember they have medela products there ya.

Btw, thanks for the info. So when can we adjust their head ah? hehe

rainnie, i bought NUK bottle before but last time when i give to my girl cos she is still very small and the teat flow is too fast for her so she alway get choke then i change to Avent. If i use back NUK, i wondering will my girl get nipple confusion instead. Anyone using NUK bottle and at the same time can latch on baby sucessfully?

I working in NUH and there is nursing room just above my office, and there is socket for use there so i dun think i will have a problem using the electric pump.

ilovebabies, what brand of dual pump u are using?

hi E-ling,
my Zhaohui is using NUK teat n latching on well... i latch him on from day 1 to day 5 then subsequently i fully feed him EBM using NUK teat as recommended by e nurses at TMC until he turns 1 month old then i try latching him again... nv expect he can latch successfully
so now i latch him n occassionally feed him EBM.

Did u buy e small hole teat?? cos got different types?? anyway Zhaohui is using medium hole teat now.

DG, i had fish and papaya soup during my first week of confinement. The fish to use is call "Ngor Hee" and use green payapa. My mum also added in Chinese wolfberries and peanuts to boil.

Hope this helps. BTW, I HATE the taste of the soup, weird... which i believe is the taste of green papaya in soup...

my fever seems to hv subsided a little today
hope it will go away compleetly by tonite!

i tried latching bb on just now - was actually quite successful cos he suckled! can i ask how long u need to let bb suckel on each breast - is 15 min enuf? by then they shd be able to get both foremilk n hindmilk oredi rite? also, sometimes he will fall asleep so how do i tell whether he's had enuf and put him back in his cot or continue letting him suckle? another qn, if bb is sleeping, do u all wake them up to let them sucklr or wait for them to ownself wake up crying for milk?

DG
i did try football hold b4 but hving some problem adjusting to it. it always feels a bit awkward...

as for papaya/fish soup, we also used threadfin n green papaya. nuthin else. u can put in some giner to kill the 'fishy smell tho else may be quite hard to drink. but wat i heard fr my fren is this soup is 'cooling' so try not to take too much during confinemt.

i'm using pigeon disposable pads - its absorbent but feels very hot cos like no ventilation :p

riushiki
thks for sharing that info re the lump. ur sggestion to bring a manual pump into the hot shower is quite gd! i shall do that later when i hv my bath

i am down with fever and cold too and then i noticed that my bb has a bit of a cold although she has no phlegm or mucus coming out of her nose. took panadol and getting better now. i am breastfeeding as normal.

DG,
I'm using pigeon disposable. haven't used the others but i find ok lah. it's cheap and it acts like it's supposed to. at home, i'm using Avent washable. not that absorbent leh. my milk still leak through underneath my bra and shows up through my shirt. at the end of the day, i always smell like milk! haizzz..

E-ling,
wow nice pic of yourself. u got big eyes! u're competing with your bb's picture leh. next time don't put both together hor. you're stealing the limelight.. hehehehe..

Hi rainnie,

I was also concerned about the bb facing the side all the time. Yes, what DG said about not letting bb choke is right. However, my mother actually commented that bb's face is lopsided - left cheek flatter than the right cheek, if u know what I mean. My gal likes to sleep on her left. Not sure if I was affected by her comments, but I thought I really saw her flatter cheek on the left?!

After feed, I had tried to lay her on her right cheek but she would still turn to the left. In the end, just let her be lah. When she is asleep, I would use the headrest to position her head in the centre. Somehow, she will still turn to her fav side.

Both MIL and my mother said sleep in sarong would solve the problem, and her head would be 'balanced' ...

<u>Update on the pi sai "struggle"</u>
I bought a plastic tweezer-look-alike from kiddy palace. It has a rounded tip so no worries abt hurting her. is very easy to use and I didn't hv to worry about pushing the snot even further into the nostril. After some attempts, I finally got the BIG STICKY P.S. out.
You can imagine my triump

melissa
oh u oso not feeling well? very sian hor... not well still gotta take care of bb. makes us lagi tired! anyway hope u recover fast
for me, still battling the lump in my breast. seems to hv softened a bit (latched bb on twice today and after that went to pump too) - later will take hot shower n massage again. hope by tonite it will be completely gone.

shirlyn
the only 'danger' abt using sarong is next time bb get used to it then 4ever must be in sarong liao else wont sleep ;)

e-ling
i started off wif NUK teats and my baby initially dunno how to suckle. i subsequently introduce avent &amp; pigeon's peristaltic teats. he takes to pigeon's peristaltic one well. aft tt when we re-intro the NUK &amp; Avent ones, he can drink fr all the teats alrdy, juz tt the initial few mouthfuls he still take a while to get adjusted but overall he can take all the teats. btw i am usually on DBF. i do store EBM and gets daddy to feed him 2 times a day like when i am hvg my dinner or towel wiping myself. so daddy can hv some time wif baby too.

DG,
i am using pigeon's disposable breast pads and i find it quite gd so far. serves its purpose well.

mi also using pigeon disposable b pad....but hor .. kinda ex leh! imagine i only change once a day ... also pretty siong leh....thats why i think at home we shld use washable kind kkekeke can save abit .. go out then use disposable one! :p

e-ling/ elaine, huh small &amp; medium hole? small and medium hole is for thin liquid and milk difference right...i have been using medium size for my ger all the while leh....

BTW, someone ask abt NUK teats how to tell the difference right...NUK website got ya.... u try to click on the link for the info

http://www.nuk.de/nuk2003/html/main.php?target=_top&amp;path=%2Ftipps%2Fnuksauger&amp;lang=en

shirlyn, my ger can sleep on both left and right side but becoz my uncle comment that shld let her sleep facing the ceiling so that her head will not look weird. thats why i am thinking if i can intro pillow to her at this age or not :p

at first she prefer to sleep on her right.....but once she is back home we change her position to left. once u change the position from right to left ... stuff a folded nappy cloth on the right of her head...she wont be able to turn to the right and have to sleep on the left. do this for a few days and she will be able to adapt well. thats what my mom taught me ... u can try ya

any of u know how long our breasts will continue to leak? is it as long as we're BF'g?? Like tat very cham leh... cos next time back in office, will worry abt the leaks accidentally showing... But i read somewhere that we'll stop leaking once our MS meets demand... dunno whether true or not... but i find it quite amazing tat my body seems to time itself w my girl's feeding schedule. Juz b4 she starts crying for milk, i'll start leaking!!

<font color="0000ff">rainnie</font>,
i was one of those asking abt NUK teats. Found my answer w <font color="0000ff">Michelle</font>'s help.
Initially couldn't locate the "S" or "M".. then later realise my teats are the normal, not premium ones. So medium has no indications at all while small has a faint "T".

btw, if we buy the normal NUK bottles, think the teats are all Medium, for milk.

michelle and melissa, hope you get well soon. continue to bf as usual so you can pass antibodies to bb.

thanks mummies for your tips/recipes on fish and papaya soup. I had it at TMC and love the taste. i think they added ginger and coriander which adds nice flavour. where to buy green papaya, huh? actually i only wanted a variety to my soups, not because i want to increase ms. Don't really want to increase ms as currently ss = dd, so i don't feel engorgement and no need to express. i am thankful for that.

Any other soupy recipes to share?

BREASTPADS
thanks for your info on this too!
You are all so helpful. I am too lazy to get washable pads, so just want to use disposable. But the edges of the pads will rub against the skin on my breast and irritate it a lot.
I HATE BREASTPADS!!

puppylove, i think it depends on your ss. A lot of gf who tbf for a long time never wear breastpads and they all don't have leaks at all. No padded bras either. But I also don't know how to make them stop leaking and still be able to TBF. Going to ask my gf when i get chance and will post here.

elaine, your Zhaohui is good boy then! I am so tempted to intro pacifier as Nicholas has such strong need for sucking whenever he is sleepy and currently can only offer my breast which upsets him a lot when there is milk. But worried about nipple confusion.

i remember mummies discussing this before when your bb were smaller. what did you all do in the end??

michelle, mrs wong from parentcraft at tmc told me to wake bb up if 4 hrs have lapsed since last feed. but if he wakes earlier than that, feed him anyway. after 1030pm, just leave him to wake on his own.

puppylove, yes when u buy NUK bottles it will be meant for milk

DG, nope u cannot use NUK teats on avent bottles. I even tried NUK teats on pigeon....nono .. cant work as well. even though is abt the same size.

there's NUK pacificer ya....my ger's cheek kind of chubby .. when she suck the pacificer ... damn hard after we take of the pacificer there will be marks left on her cheeks
some more is very red .. so went to buy a pigeon one...she dun really know how to suck that.

Hi DG,
How's everything so far? Good I hope
Abt the pacifier, to be very honest, DN had a pacifier when he was 1.5 wks old!!!!! Hahaha! I thick-skinned hor? Not scared of nipple confusion! :p But thank goodness, he was fine. Took to BFg and bottle easily... phew...
I use the pigeon breastpads... tried Lansinoh, Avent, Medela, and I like pigeon the best. They were the only ones that stayed in position! They're absorbent and comfortable too
If u hate breastpads, I recommend "Lilypadz". They are SUPER comfortable, and u don't have to wear a bra! hahahaha... (i hate bras)

To Singapore PR mums,

I am going to give birth in nov. Both husband and I are Singapore PR, has been collecting info about child birth registration such as Malaysia &amp; Singapore Birth Cert, Malaysia Passport for baby and Singapore PR for baby. But not really clear for PR.

1. Heard from few ppl that application for PR for new born baby getting complicated.

2. Due to some reason, need to bring baby back to Malaysia right after confinement. but according to some pple, if baby out from Singapore BEFORE getting his PR status, the application will become more difficult. Is that true?

domesticsgoddess

I am using Pigeon breast pad. I dont really like it cos it's a bit thick. Makes the boobs look bigger haha ... so medela is thin ah ? but is it absorbent enough ?

I bought my maternity bras from OIO from KKH. It comes in plain cups, which is not easily available in the market I believe.

I took the green papaya with fish soup during my confinement and my mum only insist on NGOR HEE fish head bone.

I intro pacifier to my gal only when she turn one month old. Prior to that, I offered my breast cos I was not receptive to pacifier in the first place. It was tiring but i guess no choice.

Eling

my gal is using NUK teat and can still latch her. I think you bought the NUK bottle which comes with a M size teat. You shld get a S size teat for her for feeding BM.

I am using Medela Electric Dual Pump.

wah Eling, is that you in the pic ? VERY CHIO leh !!!!!!!

michelle

glad to know ur lump is gone ! take care ya ? pump or latch regularly to avoid same incident hor ?

i dont have fix timing for bb to latch on. She will release the nipple once she is full or in deep sleep. but sometimes after i burp her and if she is still awake, I will cont to latch her on the other breast. Sometimes it take my gal abt 10 - 15 mins to empty my breast (based on the softness of breast). I will not wake my gal up for feed ! I'll let her sleep ... good for brain development leh ..

Melissa

u feeling better now ? Drink more water ok ... must be the stupid haze !

shirlyn

if u are worried abt bb sleeping on her fav side, why not put a small bolster behind her when she sleep on her side ? This way she will not attempt to turn. I alternate my gal to sleep on both sides after each feed to prevent choking also.

Joon

how's bathing time with Der Nen ??? Did he cry with the mittens ?
rachel is behaving well for the past 3 days leh .. me so happy

ilovebabies, i am using S size that time leh but is still too fast for her. I am going to use my NUK bottle for my gal to try again later see whether she will drink milk oe not.

Pillow, i bought a newborn pillow with hole in the middle for my gal, i just make sure i dun put her to sleep in that when she just drink milk.

Melissa, eh.. hehe my hub did that put it in the ticker and put in my gal blog, i just changed the pic to my gal photo with her pacifier when she crying for milk while bathing. haha so funny to see her first time in pacifier. She dun like it at all, can see her unhappy face
552085.jpg