(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

hi melissa, im storing up becos i nd to cup feed, so no choice lor. anyway i was told to pump after breastfeeding to empty the breasts, to prevent engorgement.

btw, chk w u, u're using nuk teat for wide necked bottle or normal bottle? latex or silicone?

Hi Joon and Chng's wife,

Wow, didnt expect to meet my neighbours-to-be here! I will be at 1G, 31st flr. I am also hoping to move in earlier, can't wait to have my own place.

Chn'g wife- SAHM?? I am looking forward to do that but dont know when is THE DAY. Now that everyday I am spending time wtih my gal, kind of reluctant to go back to work when my leave ends.

Joon- which blk did u take? Letting the babies play together is a good idea. Btw our babies share the same birthday ^.^

Joon & Shirlyn, I took #38. Haha..lift spoil, tat's it!

edksd, I'm at ward 615. Luckily also not at e noisy side.

edksd,
If u're DBF and still pumping 150-200ml everyday, that's really good I think! Kai is just past 1mth right? He shld be drinkg between 100-120ml. Der Nen is almost 7wks and when we give him the bottle, he drinks abt 110-120ml.

Chng's wife, Shirlyn,
I don't have a flat at Pinnacle.
I was saying I wish I did! My hb and I would have applied for one, but we bought a resale already... both of u are very lucky to get a flat there... they were really HOT! Balloting system right?

Anyone's bb seeing Dr Keoy Soo Shin at TMC?

Littlepony

u r welcome !! no wonder so many TCS artiste use Choz eheh ...

Eling

u r one lucky gal !! I would be v touched if someone said the same thing to me too .. well .. my hubby did !! hehe not too bad ! my ILs are very easy going too and my MIL is quite open minded though she is in her 60s already so count myself lucky. anyway my gal will be taken care by my mum so easier for me to talk to her in case of conflicts.

Sha

hehe greedy gal u r .. best features of both ah ?
oh do u take DHA supplement while BF ? i am still taking the Neurogain PB Plus daily. DHA is good for brain development.

wow good to hear thaT sherily is growing well ...
Rachel still drink 80-90ML only but she can get hungry 2 hrs later ah .... no choice her stomach is small ehhe

Rachel was 54cm a few weeks ago too .. anyway going for jab this Friday so I'll keep u updated of her growth

anyway will be seeing you this sunday mah ...

btw jia you on job searching .. slowly lah .. find one that you really like .. and pay well hahha

PrincessEmma

really pei fu u !! u can handle both baby and studies ah ??? I postpone my family planning after I got married cos I was taking my 2.5 yrs part time course also. Dont think I can handle both ...

edksd

I think it is time to intro bottle to ur baby at least a few weeks before you start work else your caregiver will have a hard time taking care of your baby. Dont ever let your baby latch on for comfort .. it is gonna be very tiring on you and the caregiver as mentioned abv.

in fact i intro bottle to Rachel before she turns 1 mth old cos she was admitted for phototherapy and her milk intake needs to be monitored. Luckily she can still latch on and take bottles as well. Phew !

domesticgoddess

i have been sterilising the glass bottles for each use. Didnt know we can reuse for > 6 times ? MAH nurses din tell me leh ...

btw you did not admit your baby for phototherapy ? tot jaundice level > 10 requires that ?

ilovebabies... no choice.. i dun wanna wait anymore... and i also wanna have a baby.. haha... so pia all the way lohz.. its realli quite tough.. but get it over and done with lah..

DG.. have u heard of bathing bb in water with added stout before?? enzo's jaundice level was 10.5, sunbathing was instructed, but there was no sun that time too... so my mom used this old wife's method.. and it worked on enzo.. maybe u can try.. juz add one can of stout to his tub of bathing water and bathe as normal... hope it helps...

gals

how long do u intend to BF your baby ? I will try TBF for 6 mths first (hopefully I can !) and monitor her growth. Anyway our milk will not be sufficient for them beyond 6 mths as they need solid foods oredi.

what do u think ?

edksd,
i'm using both latex and silicone teats for my normal bottles and silicone for my pacifier. the thing with pumping, the more i pump, the more engorged i become. strange but true for me. for your case, do continue pumping. think it's invalid to compare with me liao hehe. you must do what's best for your bb.

ilovebabies,
that's what i had in mind too. i had set a 6-months target for BF. by then baby will be on solid food and BM is purely for drinking only so I guess my supply will dwindle and bb can take formula. but of course, ideally if my body can still steadily supply BM, i will love to BF bb till 1yr old! ha! errr that is, if i can tahan BF her with teeth! kekeke..

ilovebabies, i also set a target to bf at least 6months then stop. But wondering whether i can do it cos i really dunno whether i got time to pump milk during office hr? How u plan to store breastmilk after u go work?

joon
oh sasha also has twin boys? do u know their ages?

edksd
i read somewhere that u and hubby are thal minor carriers? how is ur lil one? i myself am a minor and i only got to know abt it in my last preg. which means all along i didnt know i was a minor! hubby didnt go for the test too but all our children are all right.

pupppylove
i think someone here mention that if u using the std NUK teats (not the premium) brand, the indicator is either a quarter or half-shaded circle n not the S or M that i mention (i using the premium tat's y marking is different)

DG
i know wat u mean by incessant nagging. my mom is like tat too.. i know she means well but i can hear the same story over n over again for like 100 times!!! really drives me nuts n i'll sometimes just cut her off 1/2 way saying ya yah u told me b4!! else someteims i just too lazy i let her go on n on but i in 1 ear n out the other lor

i was oso planning to TBF unil 6 mths but now beginning to doubt if i can cos milk supply already seems quite stagnant - go back to work oredi even worse sure drop one cos where got so much time every 3 hrs go n pump? now i can only get about 700-800ml a day n its not increasing so i think by the time 3 mths is up, ethan's intake is goin to be more than tat n i will hv to supp wif FM liao. sad to do so but no choice cos supply not increasing

melissa
i envy ur engorgemt! haha cos it means u hv lots of milk

btw for those using NUK teats, when we feed bb milk, is the liquid supposed to cover the air valve or we need to hold the bottle in such a way that there's pocket of air just under the air valve ah? not really sure how the valve works leh

hi blessedmummy, my son is ok i guess. as for whether he's thal carrier or not, may hv to wait till he's slightly older to determine. i think the most he's just a minor carrier since at birth, nothing is wrong.

actually if we're a minor carrier we wont know until we go for the test. and i mean thorough test at kkh. coz i passed the test at tmc. only when i did the thorough test at kkh then found out im a minor carrier.

hi ilovebabies, for jaundice above 15 then nd phototherapy.

what do u mean by reuse the glass bottles more than 6 times? u mean can or cannot reuse more than 6 times?

edksd,
my children hv not gone for test too. but im an alpha carrier n gynae say if the baby is a major, she will be born still birth. but mine r all healthy so u r right, the most they will be minor.

u r so brave! i admire ur courage cos since u n hubby both r minors u have a 25% chance of havng a major right. but u went ahead. ur boy will surely be a champion!

edksd,
I didn't know we couldn't reuse the bottles! I too got my bottles from TMC, but the nurses didn't tell me that though... oh dear! But I really prefer using them to using bags... so easy
I hope it's ok to use them as long as we don't boil the bottles to sterilise them? Using a steam steriliser should be ok?

DG,
I have lots of glass bottles from TMC and I don't need them all. If u want, I can give u some.
But if u're going back to TMC for check-ups, then, like edksd said, might as well get 'new' ones from them

ilovebabies,
My target is TBF for 4.5 months, until I go back to work in Jan. Once work starts, I don't think I'll have the time to pump so often and my MS will definitely drop. Then I'll supplement with FM. At least some BM is better than no BM!

Blessedmummy,
Sasha's boys are 1 plus I think. I hope I remembered right! And she has an older girl.

I have some qns girls, hope anyone can help! For the past 2 nights, my bb hasn't been sleeping well at night - alert after night feeds, fusses when we put him down... I think he naps too much in the day and has his times all mixed up.

1. At his age (almost 7 wks) is it alright to wake him up from his naps in the day?
2. How many naps shld they take during the day, and for how long each time?

Edksd,
I'm using the Avent IQ Duo. I find it is comfortable and suction is just right. I especially like the IQ function where it can 'memorise' how hard I would like it to suck. If you are unsure about purchasing, you may want to try rental first.

<font color="0000ff">elaine</font>,
oh i only juz made appt w Dr Ong, will c him 2moro 11am.

<font color="119911">michelle</font>,
yeah, got it!
Mine r the standard Nuk teats so no markings for "M" size at all. Hai... been lookg for somethg tatz not there all along... so silly! Found the "T" marking for "S" size too. Thanks heaps!!

hi angeline, im worried abt rental (hygenie issue). ive tried it once at parentcraft and it's really comfy. so im oso thinking of getting one if i really wanted to pump dilligently when going back to work.

Edksd,I'm also using the Avent IQ Duo. same find it is comfortable.

Joon, my girl also like that for the past one week but yesterday she is very alert in the day time even after feed unlike the past one week where she kept sleeping the whole day then alert in the whole night so i think you should keep playing with your baby in the day time only let her take nap for awhile if your baby really tire. Yesterday my girl very alert and we have to entertain her cos she dun wanna play alone and at night she slept from 10pm to this morning 5am without any feed until i scare she hungry and hungry go prepare milk for her to drink then she continue sleep until 8am then wake up herself.
wah, you ml till next year jan ah... so good. I got to go back work after 3month ml which is 13 Nov. My supply now quite good, every 3hrs will feel so engorge but sometime i like to go out can 8hrs never pump out milk only let my girl latch on which she often cannot empty my breast therefore now i think i got a big lump at right side, now everytime have to massage see can break the lump or not. Going back to work, i really dunno i can tahan the engorgement or not cos i dun think i got the time to pump every 3 hrs during work , i think i can only pump during my lunch time. How long you all take to pump milk huh? i need to take 45 to 1 hr to pump both side leh which i think i cannot do it during work lor. Really scare the supply will drop and also the pain from engorgement.

Edksd,
I'm using the Avent IQ Duo. I find it is comfortable and suction is just right. I especially like the IQ function where it can 'memorise' how hard I would like it to suck. If you are unsure about purchasing, you may want to try rental first.

michelle,
me using NUK teats. the way i use it, the air valve is on top. actually i'm not sure which way is right but when i bought the pacifier, then i know that the flat part should touch the tongue.

edksd,
currently using Medela Mini Electric borrowed from a friend. i like the pump but minus side is it's noisy so cannot pump at night. will wake up not just bb but hubby as well hehe. i am also considering avent isis duo but it's very expensive so if i'm seriously going to buy a double pump, i'm considering Ameda or buy the Medela PIS advanced from US. Same price. However I'm still thinking whether should rent the Avent ISIS Duo or not. Can rent from Cannon Avent. I'm still working on my budget and planning to rent next month. You have to pay $60 starter kit where they will give you parts that's new and you get to keep them. No hygiene issue. I think you only pay for the motor parts. When you return it, you get to keep the starter kit but must buy spare parts to convert it to manual pump. I've already heard of good reviews about Avent Isis so I'm quite keen to rent.

Sorry for the double post.

For gals intending to purchase ISIS Duo after rental, I heard that there's a 10% discount if you wish the purchase the pre-rental unit. I think the 10% discount is negotiable.

For mummies on EBM, how to you manage to pump diligently in the night? I keep missing 1 - 2 night sessions cos I always oversleep.

I am also worried about MS after returning to work. How can we justify to bosses that we have to be away from our desk for 30 mins every 3 our interval?

michelle,
when i use the Nuk teat, i let the milk cover the air valve, so as the milk becomes less, i'll be tilting the bottle more vertically. Know what i mean?
i also find that itz better to position the air valve slightly to the side of bb's mouth rather than dead centre, cos my gal sometimes takes the whole teat inside her mouth, thus covering the valve as well. Putting the valve to the side will leave a bit of the valve uncovered. Works for me loh... tried searching the Nuk website for usage instructions but dun hv...

got some questions on vaccinations... think u gals may already hv discussed this b4 but quite hard for me to search past threads... so pardon me if i'm repeating some topics here hor!

(1) Did u gals go for 5-in-1 or 6-in-1? why?
(2) Do u go to PD or polyclinic? Any idea the price difference? I called up TMC Dr Ong's clinic which subscribes to 5-in-1 and was told it costs $126...
(3) My gal's appt card has this list of vaccines... does "5-in-1" mean i pay for Hep B and pay for the remaining under "5-in-1 package"? and if "6-in-1", i pay just one lumpsum for all listed vaccines??

so confused... hope someone can advise? thanks! ;)

Sha,
My bb Wayne is still feeding on 90ml. I felt not enuff for him so nowadays, i am slowly increasing it.

Chng's wife,
Wow! The Pinnacle... i am just working nearby..if you become SAHM and i am still working there, we can meet for lunch huh! haaaaaa! Or you cook lor!! And i go your house and makan! haa! just kidding!

Cereal,
Ya.. our constant sms keep me sane! haaa!!

i hate engorgement! it comes as and when it likes it... making pple miserable... but what to do when we all hope our supply will continue... sigh... until now ive no explaination why engorgement will happen... ive been DBF and pumping daily, and it just comes when it wants to.... alamak!

edksd, yup. i was shocked when my gynae told me im a minor. my previous gynae who delivered my 4 children didnt mention anything at all.i didnt go for test at kkh only a blood test at glen e.

i also know of someone who has 3 thal major kids. v challenging for her but v strong mom.

btw, i read that u r cup feeding ebm to ur baby? how to do it? is it difficult? time consuming?

hi blessedmummy, i believe she wasnt strong, it's her kids who made her strong... mother's love is greatest.

just warm up the ebm as per normal, then pour a little into those plastic medicine small cup and try to feed him, and then refill the plastic cup and repeat till finish.

it's more difficult than bottle feeding i believe. it's just like teaching the bb to walk even before he can crawl.

u've to make sure he doesnt take in too much at a time coz he'll spill out. u've to pour in on top of his tongue and in order to do tt, he has to open his mouth and show his tongue. sometimes kids are really smart, they'll close their lips tight or they open their mouth but curl up their tongue. so hv to patiently talk to them.

after pouring in, hv to make sure they gulp in. sometimes they hold it there, so u cannot continue pouring in, otherwise overflow. sometimes they choke on it too.

but as time passes, practice makes perfect i guess, it's not as daunting as when i initially started it esp sometimes when he spills out, me heartpain, precious limited ebm leh...

luckily each time i only feed him abt 30ml on average. takes me 15min if lucky.

edksd, u r right. mom's love is the greatest. we will do all things for our children, wont we?

wow.. u sure is a patient mom. if me, sure no patience. but why didnt u use bottle? nipple confusion?

Eling,
Thanks for sharing
Wow! Tt means ur girl slept thru the night last night! If she's a gd weight, no need to worry abt her sleepg so long. It just means her stomach is bigger now, so she drinks more and tt will naturally last her longer!
Tt's good!!!! Same here, I think I won't be able to keep up with the pumpg once work starts. I think the very most 2wice a day, but prob will only pump once

Edksd,
I don't know if there's a difference, but I guess steaming is less harsh? And takes a shorter time? Dunno! I'm guessing here!

Angeline,
U wake up to give ur bb the night EBM feeds right? When I was doing tt, I'll give the bottle and then pump after tt, so I won't miss the pump session. Tt means I pump twice every night... :p

angeline
me same as joon.. since gotta wake up to feed bb EBM, i will pump after tat so oso mng to squeeze in 2 sessions during the nite.

puppylove
so the liquid in the bottle actually covers the air valve? ok.. cos for a while i was trying to hold the bottle in such a way that the air valve does not hv any liquid filling it up but it was proving quite a challenge!

my son is 5 wks old today and taking 110ml every 3 hrs.. any one else here wif bb ard that age and is this amt of milk avg for them ah?

i kinda dread evenings the most, just b4 he goes to sleep ard 9pm or 10pm cos he gets very fussy n cries a lot and we dunno how to console him! anyone else here experience this wif their bb? any tips/tricks? even the pacifier doesnt seem to work for him

Hi Edksd,

Came back from my bb 1st mth chkup, he is currently weighing 4kg..he too lose weight when he was discharge, &amp; now slowly gain back.

Agree you are sure a patient mum

I have been bottle feeding EBM fr the 1st month, now i tried latching him at times, luckily he is okie too..so no worries, think yr baby will be able to switch to bottle easily..

Brought my Shermaine to Kidslink, Dr Winston Ng for 1st check up + 2nd Hep B jab today. Hehe, she is now 4.7kg 57cm. At birth, she was 2.89kg 49cm. So happy to see her growth. But heartache when she scream during e jab. So poor thing...she was happily talking to e doctor when she enters e room.

I realise jab at GP clinic is alot cheaper than PD. Any of u goin to GP clinic for jab?? No diff one rite? Except for cost??

Michelle,
My son (1 day older
)is still at 90ml..i tried to increase, bt he couldn't finish..

Mine is also evening, from 7pm to 11pm..sometimes drag to even 1pm.. but luckily only wake up once in the night if he sleeps late.

Mummies who is giving BM &amp; supplement with FM, are you giving water to your baby? Asked Doc during his chkup &amp; she say can give water..even the nurse also says to give water fr his milk rash..

I give mainly BM to my son (daytime) &amp; 2 FM at night. His poo is watery..

michelle, my girl will only cry when hungry or before she wanna sleep (maybe too tire). No matter how we console her also no use if she cry becos she is sleepy, only way is to carry her by resting her on shoulder then walk ard, awhile later she will fall asleep liao. But still depend on individual, perhap u can try

chng's wife
wow ur gal gain so much weight in a mth? n she incr so much in length too. my johannah born 3.26kg 50cm was 4.7kg n 57cm also at 4 wk old

blessedmommy, I was shocked too.
I'm not TBF for e 1st month and I'm Totally Not Breast Feeding now...so I'm glad she is growing well. Well...I'm a lazy mother...No determination + I often break down, so I gave up breast feeding.

edksd, ilovebabies, joon, how do you sterilise the glass bottles? boil or steam? for how long?

joon, thanks for offering the glass bottles. I plan to try out the few i have first and if need more, will take from TMC as I still have to go back for checkups. Also TMC is only 3 min car ride away from home. Thanks anyway.

chng's wife, wow.. yours put on 2kg too!! So satisfying to see our hard work pays off, isn't it.
What FM are you giving now?

joon, thanks for encouragement.. i need some nudge from time to time. Last time with first bb, I was super determined to TBF despite all the sore nipples, engorgement, 3hrly pumping and other frustrations.. but still had to give up after 4 months.. this time round, BF is a lot easier, I don't even have that much engorgement or sore nipples (still early days though), but the thought of supplementing FM crosses my mind everyday. Must PERSERVE!!

ilovebabies, don't have to bring him in for phototherapy. He was on it for 1 day before we discharged when his level was 10.1, but at checkup yesterday, though his level has climbed to >13, Dr Ong didn't say anything leh.. he said should come down naturally by end of 2 weeks. if not, then bring back for checkup. Maybe 'cos he is full term bb and gaining sufficient weight??

Emma, never heard of before leh.. you mean Guiness Stout? won't bb smell of beer later?? heehee... my hb would love the idea..

hi dg, i sterilise them using sterilising tablets.

dg, chng's wife, is it good to put on tt much weight? my PD says abt 1kg per mth is the average standard. i scare they later obese how? u know nowadays children get obese easily.

i oso used to supp wif enfalac A+ (now no need cos BM is sufficient) - bot it fr ntic.. they hv for infant range one.

eling, ilcy
thks for sharing ur stories. i guess some bb will just fuss a lot when they r sleepy n there's nuthin we can do except let them cry themselves to sleep?

i'm oso using glass bottles to store EBM. hv been re-using them over n over again cos nobody told me cannot over use leh. i use steam steriliser. someone asked wat the diff is btn steriliser and boiling? the steam steriliser cleans the bottles thro steam only while boiling is actually submerging the whole bottle in water and briging it to boil.. hmm.. wonder if i'm making sense

DG
actually i've heard of using guiness stout to bathe bb too but was told it's gd for bb's complexion, ie bb skin will be very smooth. didnt know it is gd for jaunidce oso. then again, this could be old wive's tale yah? cos different pple say diff things... i'm wondering who's version is true :|

edksd, enfalac A+ could be bought from supermarket. There are Enfapro (6mths &amp; abv), Enfalac HA. Enfalac A+'s tin is green and gold colour (0-12mths).

It's ok to put on weight now. BB's weight might drop at e 3rd mth.

Trinity is 1 month old today, I haven't brought her to the PD since we were discharged, is it OK? I keep reading that your babies have already been to frequent checkups by PD.

Joon , Michelle,
My husband does at times help with the night feeds with EBM and I may just sleep through it. Eg, usually I get so tired by 11 pm I'll plonk off to bed, and he will help me to feed the last night feed and I'll miss my 12 / 1 am pump. After getting a few hours straight napping, I will manage to get up for the wee hours feed and pump. However, then I might again miss the first morning feed / pump at 6 / 7 am again when I'm tired and he wakes up before me to help feed baby with EBM or FM. How huh?