(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

daisybuttons

u can use any photo editor to create the montage. in this case,... becos this forum only accepts 600x600 attachement, the montage is actually make of 3 pics. I uploaded then side by side. and they are all of the same width and length.

my ZhaoHui... is e smallest.
if going to put Rhys n him together we will see a big big different

Joon!!!!
i was in delivery room 8 as well!
heee, but all was quiet in the room as i had epidural. keke...

mine is 3 hrs coz tdy 1st session. so she noticed i got sensitive skin and asked me to keep it for 3 hrs then 8 hrs for the next massage. i dun intend to keep for 8 hrs lor! uncomfy is one thing. actually u get used to the binder aft a while, its the spicy thingy she applied on my tummy tt is unbearable! smells like axe oil and i was so worried my boy wun recognise my smell leh!

but muz say can notice my tummy is firmer aft the binding. the stretchmarks, somewat, seemed to hv lighten oso. muz ask my hb to cfm if this is the case when he comes back later.

michelle
urs was 12 hrs? GOODNESS!

ilovebabies, my girl cradle cap on her eye brow already gone the next day after i apply the barrier cream. my girl scalp on her front of her head also have cradle cap and i apply barrier cream on there on it gone after 3 or 4days.

Thanks Melissa for updating, my PD is Edmund Koh and i am DBF + give EBM

Little Pony, thanks for the website. Already made my order there. Found their packages very nice!

Btw, mummies, my girl has quite some red rashes on her face in the past 4 days and also some around the neck. I'm not sure whether it's heat rashes, but I suspect so. I have a dilemma here: if I put aircon on I'm afraid the wind is not good for the baby; if I don't, baby will develop rashes. Actually I do turn on aircon from time to time, still she has rashes. Do your babies have similar problem? Should I apply something on baby's face such as baby powder? Do you all put aircon on in your baby's room 24 hours? Sigh, worrying...

edksd, I bot nepia fm Meidi-ya. Can't remember the price though cos i got it stock up before my delivery...hee..

ilovebabies, I shd say nepia is comparable to pampers in terms of thickness, size and comfort... I would suggest u give nepia a try.

hi megan, my gal also got heat rash (something like pimple) on her face and even scalp. I just leave it cos i ask PD, he said is very normal, will automatic go off one,and on and off will come back again until baby is 3month or even later. And indeed, it went off after afew day. I let my gal sleep in air-con room during night time as she sweat alot but of cos cannot on the air-con till to low. Lowest is 26 degree.

hi megan,
i think the red rashes on the face is milk rashes. u can apply cream or oil on it.

Also may i know how many times yr baby poo if on BF?
My son seems poo everytimes after i fed him..

megan, my bb too has rashes since he was abt 2-3 weeks old. It started fm his neck and spread to cheeks and then the whole face. It got quite bad and so I brought him to a PD and adv to be eczema (a term used for heat and milk rash medically)Was given a cream and wash..condition is so much better now but I understand fm other mummies too that this is common and it'll usu go away by 2 mths.

megan, mine too have rashes on her face...getting abit worst this few days...but once we on the air con not long after the red spot went off .. left with only the 'pimples'...maybe due to the weather??? and if they sweat ...

Feel much better now when reading you gals' replies.
Ming Liew, what cream or oil? Do we have to go see doc to get them? I'm so tired now since in the past 3 weeks have been in and out doc's office so often: milk supply problem, baby jundice, baby's cord issue, baby growth checkup...

melissa,
thanks for updating. saarah is on TBF! paed is Dr Joseph Gomez.

elaine,
no lah, i'm very lucky cause my hb works frm home so if i need extra help, just knock on his office door lah

i agree that at this moment my energy level is quite bad but it will improve in mths to come esp when baby starts sleeping thru the night so we mummies can get enough rest as well & that makes a whole lot of difference.
i think wt 4 kids, the most important is time management & routine wt the 3 older kids!

ming liew,
saarah used to poo after every feed until she was abt 2-3wks old. now not so often. breastfed babies tend to poo more frequent cause breast milk is easily digested if compared to babies who are on formula.

my saarah also hv rashes on her cheeks & upper chest. its more prominent when she's feeling hot. i just apply J&J lotion on her. my girl only sleeps wt the aircon at night, in the day she sleeps wt fan on.

hi ilovebabies,

nepia is thicker than pampers but it's v soft.

it's smaller size than pampers, my son is smaller size so i find it more fitting on him than pampers.

hi e-ling, my boy also have cradle cap on his brows and front of forehead. so u apply babies n cream barrier cream on it how many times a day? i heard can apply baby oil and comb through issit? thanks for advice.

hi, there is the Nepia delivery service where u can call up and they deliver the diapers to your doorstep. for Newborn the packet contains 60pcs and the cost is $15, so works out to be 25cts each. Minimum order is 4 packets. Call before 12 noon, they deliver next day (tel 6226 2650). i'm not sure how much pampers cost, anyone can advise?

hi, can i ask the mummies here.. for those who expressed BM and store, can i ask what are u using to store? milk bags or avent milk containers? which is gd? since when i express, the volume isn't that much (ie abt 40ml after feeding), is it a waste to use those avent milk containers since they can only be resuable for 4 times??

i'm oso using glass bottles fr the hospital - that time we took home about 20 bottles so able to last quite a while

i think shd be ok to take dairy pdts even if we're BF rite? the only reason we need to stop is is bb is allergic to dairy pdts. but it's quite difficult to determine this too cos u gotta do elimination of foods fr ur diet to find out wat is causing bb to get stomach upset

hey my son has been eating quite a lot the last few days. he takes 90 ml every 2 hrs - is it normal? he's only 28 days old leh. anybody wif bb around the same age can share how much your bb is eating now?

i scared he overeating leh. and he poops real fast after each feed. he's taking EBM...

help!!

i'm using glass bottles & medela milk storage bags.

michelle,
sometimes saarah poops during her feed. in the day sometimes she feeds every hr even though she latches on for close to 30mins each time.

saarah is going to 6wks this sat & she either takes 90mls & lasts 3hrs or 120mls & lasts 4hrs.

michelle
someone gave a guideline on how much babies drink when they r at certain age.

fr my record, it seems normal tt a 4 wk old drinks 90-120ml/feed (5-6 feeds per day) so dun worry.

HI megan,
I bring my bb to polyclinic for 2nd hep B injection n the doc give me the cream only 70 cents per tub. After apply the next day rashes gone 80%.

Sasha,
My son is now 5 weeks taking ard 90ml for 3 hours but poo quit frequent, almost 6-7 times per day.

michelle,
i've been taking fenugreek for only abt 2.5 wks, less than u. if ur supply is still increasing, then maybe mine will too soon? hope so! i'm prepared to supplement with FM if necessary, have a tin standby at home.

Melissa,
Thanks for the table! My feeding method is DBF & EBM. PD is Dr Keoy Soo Shin.

Babyzucchini,
Hello fellow room 8-er! With epi u don't feel anything at all??

Ming Liew,
My bb is BM and he poos every time he feeds, sometimes even twice while feeding! I always change his diaper after feeding and that's about 8 times a day, so he poops at least 8 times lor.

Zz,
I'm using glass bottles. Tried using the bags, but I find glass bottles easier to store in the fridge. The only thing is, they take up more space compared to the bags. If u're keen on getting bags, I have a spare box for sale. (kiasu, bought too many!) It's the Avent Liners (100 bags) for $12, incl postage. Let me know if u're interested!

ilovebabies, (not Rachel!!!!)
aiyoh... i blur tiao already!
hahahahahaaaaaa... malu malu

Ming Liew,
can i ask, how much does the polyclinic charge for the hep b jabs? is it true that it's free?

Michelle,

My son also taking 80-90ml every 2 hrs. I also afraid I overfeed him but he seems hungry every 2 hrs so I just feed lor.

I wanted to stretch his feed longer to 3hrs but cannot leh... either he dun want to finish his milk when I increase his intake per feed or every 1.5-2 hrs he will ask for milk...

He is abt 3 weeks old but drinks 80-90ml/feed and total up to 10-12feeds a day leh...

Anyone can advise whether am I overfeeding him? If yes, how to stop that har?

As for poo, I am not worried as long as he poos. The more he poos the faster his jaundice goes away... I am just worried that I overfeed him... he already so big size... help...

haha vivian
looks like we hv more in common besides total EBM for our sons! your son's feeding pattern oso same as mine and i'm oso damn worried that i'm overfeeding him!

Wow! I did spend half an hour reading thru the archives and learning alot through it.

Daisybuttons, welcome back to the thread! Really miss you! Haa! Congrats to you and Jovann!

Domesticgoddess, CONGRATS! and finally off the waiting bench! Welcome to the busy motherhood!

Chng's wife, you celebrating bb's 1st month this weekend? Me too! This coming Sun! :)

ilovebabies, hey! Rachel's eyes really big leh.. and such a big difference from the last time you post!

yah lor, michelle.
When i read your post, I was like "Wah.. same as Rhys leh..." So I can totally understand how you feel... think we both need help here.... Sigh...

Melissa,
Thanks as usual for updating the chart. I went through natural birth with epi + vacuum. And I am now on DBF + FM

Megan,
Don't mention about the 1st month cakes. Hey, btw.. recommended not to use baby powder on baby yet. As for heat rash, it's very common. My PD gave me a cream to apply it on my bb and after a few days, it went off.... Aircon is fine!

Lastly, show you all my bb Wayne's photo on his 1st month.
541830.jpg

Mummie of Rhys and Michelle,
my bb Wayne also drinks every 2 hours and drink 90ml as well. Don't worry about overfeeding. If you r feeding bb with BM, BM are fluid and easy to digest. The moment they poo, they get hungry easily so they want more milk to keep them full.

If you want to try extending the time to 3 hours, just try feeding them with water first and see how.. sometimes, it works! Create a habit for them and perhaps they will adapt to it.

My confinement lady is going back this coming Sunday...and I be left alone to handle my little naughty. Gosh! I am feeling quite nervous and wonder if i can handle him alone.. but anyway, dunno also muz learn, isn't it?

Btw, Wayne likes to be carried around. Does it happen to anyone of you? Whenever we thought he is sleeping and put him to his cot, he will cry and wake up.... the moment we carry him, he will stop crying and then sleep.......

littlepony
my son oso like that... always want to be carried! i guess it's just normal bb behaviour huh

ok so we're not overfeeding our sons rite.. tat's gd to know. seems that ethan poo poo quite soon after a meal so no wonder in 2 hrs time he hunry again! my MIL said mebbe there's smthg wrong wif his stomach cos he poo so often but i told her BM babies r like dat one cos they digest the BM much faster than FM. I'm right, right??

daisybutton, yes thats the cream. I applied it on my girl twice a day after clean her head.

Eh... so many of you using glass bottle from hospital. Y u all managed to get it from hospital? Is it free? I am right now using Avent bottle container to store my milk. Already used up all bottle liao, no more bottle for me to store my milk in the fridge as i managed to pump out alot of milk in the fridge. Think i going to buy the Avent disposable VIA cup. Anyone using the VIA disposable cup? Can it use to store milk in the freezer?

eling
yes the bottles are free
cos they use up so many a day feeding all the babies in the hospital and they r glad to give the empty bottles away!

looks like i'm not the only one up at this hr hee hee

Joon,
did not get the job. . .hehehehe. . it is okie lah.

Sherilyn went to the polyclinic for her Hep B jabs and it is free and she will be going for the 6 in 1 jab in December at the polyclinic as well which cost S$348.

Ilovebabies,
how much did you pay for the 6 in 1 jab???

Littlpony,
dont worry too much you will be able to cope. Sherilyn likes to be carry most of the time as well till now, she is already one month 10 days old. . . hehehehe.

for those moo moos out there who are feeding total EBM, can i find out how long we need to pump per session? is 15-20 min enough or must be 30 min? cos i realise the longer i pump the morei can get, but it never seems to end leh - so just wondering wat is a gd timing.

thks!

hi sha, i think certain ntuc has it.

it's orange packaging w japanese words.

isetan supermarket and mediya definitely hv it.

im not sure is it as gd as pampers, coz i duno how to tell leh.. but it's the only brand which has urine indicator besides pampers.