(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Sorry for MIAing these few days, Sick leh... been to the doctor twice liao... still sick. Doctor dun dare to give me strong medicine coz i still BFing... sigh...

Michelle!!
My Rhys also having his 1st mth celebration this sat!!! hee... Ethan is born on which day har? scally same as Rhys...

DomesticGoddess,
want to ask you hor, is it true that EBM should not be mixed becoz of the difference in temperature har? E.g already have 30ml in fridge liao, then after pumping now, can direct add the newly pumped milk into the cold one in fridge for later feed?? Someone in Oct thread mentioned that the difference in milk temp will turn the milk sour leh... jialat, I have been doing that... pls advise...

michelle,
I'll use a cup to catch the leaking milk and if the amount is 20ml or more, I'll store it together with the EBM, otherwise, I'll just throw it away.

mummie of Rhys,
I think you have to refridgerate the 2nd portion to the same fridge tempreture first and then only when it is cold then can mix in with the first portion. Not good to mix warm milk with cold milk.

hi mummie of rhys, what angeline said is what ive been doing too. it's rather troublesome. ive become a breastmilk storekeeper. labeling, taking note the date/time, which one to mix together, which one to freeze, which one to defreeze for bb's consumption, etc.

michelle
i dunno if my other breast leaks like mad when i latch my bb on, i suspect it leaks, but how much, not sure. coz i am wearing nursing bra.

aiyoh, u counting down to ur confinement again. so envious. tdy i juz washed my hair aft 6 days. wah shiok!
tmrw i will bath liao.

DG,
seems like u might go into labour soon. wishing u the best of luck!
juz think +ve and its half the battle won!

dumpty
i guess we juz hv to b more patient wif our babies. they cant talk so we juz hv to get adjusted to their way of communicating wif us. my CL was telling me there is wind in my boy's tummy coz we had let him drink dong gua cha the last few days in a bid to clear him of his jaundice faster. it was spoon fed and he cld hv swallowed air while drinking. so she said when i engage my masseur, can ask her if she noes how to do bb massage, as they can clear their wind immed. so u see if there is wind in ur boy's tummy like mine.

i will b doing taomaobi 4 my boy as well.

Finally I am back.....
I delivered on 3rd Oct, abt 10.30pm emergency c-section after 20hrs labour. And was warded 6 days and just discharged last saturday.

2 Oct about 11.30am, start to insert pills, stay in the labour ward for about 2hours to monitor fetal movement and contraction. Thereafter went up to ward to wait. Suppose to go down to labour ward again at 5.30pm to insert second pill if still not dilation. About 4.30pm, had some contractin, so went down to the delivery ward. Still 1cm dilated! Monitor for till about 8pm, still no sign of further dilation, so insert second pill and burst the water bag. However no water gushing out as what i expected, as bb head already very down. Monitor in the labour ward for 2hrs and sent up to labour ward. About midnight, got shows and some contraction again. Went down to labour ward again. Starting of nightmare.

Gynae decided to start drips as my dilation was very slow. PAIN PAIN and more PAIN but no dilation, probably a further 0.5cm. I start to use the laughing gas.

Gynae came to check in the morning, slightly better 2cm but she mentioned the labour going to be long, earliest evening, so advise me to consider epidural.

Abt 10am, i was given the epi, hubby was behind me watching the admistration of epi. He turns pale upon watching, even though the nurses and doctor had advised against him watching earlier on. Not so much of the blood but is the process. Anyway as we need to set some drip to maintain the blood pressure before administration of epi, the nurse couldn't locate the vein as mine was very fine. And they managed to do it after 5 tries.

I thought after the epi, i can relax and wait for the arrival of my bb, BUT is not the case, my lower body is numb but I still feel contraction and very bad pain near the vaginal area. They increased the dose till the max and the pain dun seems to go down but keep going up. About 4pm, my gynae came down, i was already 6cm dilated, I thot just bear for few hours more, everything will be ok.

But at 6pm when they checked on me, i am only 8cm dilated, so gyane suggested to wait till 9.30pm, if dilation still not good, we will go for c-section.

True enough, at 9.30pm, my dilation is still 8cm. And i was already shivering with pain even when all the pain relief was used.

At 10pm, they push me to operating theatre, in the OT, i begged them to give me GA immediately, as I really cannot tahan the pain anymore. And with the count of 10, i cannot remember anything liao.

I woke up abt 11++, and saw my mum and my brother, my hubby is with the bb in the labour ward, he is taking picture for the bb. The first thing I said to my mum is, "so late liao, why you are here, my bb got hair or not?"

Finally, baby arrived, weighing 3.7kg, 53cm! About 1hr later in the ward, they brought the bb up for me to latch on! And had been total bfing him.

Hi all.. is it true that babies get v cranky when they celebrate full month? cos during the celebration, enzo was so cranky!!! and after that too!!! sigh... maybe he's one of those pangtang babies.... think better not celebrate his 1st birthday alr... hehe...

aniwayz... he juz came back from the 2nd dose of his hep b jab... he's now 4.95kg and 54cm long... put on 2 kgs in 33 days!!! hehe... i was still worried if he wasn't drinking enough.. lol..

hi Edksd,
well after he discharged Dr Ong ask me to bring him back 3 days later for review.
Anyway u r going to see him this wed rite... if ur baby is still yellow he will ask to to bring him for liver functioning test. As for jaundice, since ur baby is going 1 month old then should be alrite cos as baby grows older jaundice will not cos any harm to his brain development unlike when he is just born.

dont worry

Thanks edksd, Angeline,

Think i better do as you all say...
Hopefully, my son is not drink sour milk all these while... blame on his stupid careless mummie...

emma
i think bb gets cranky after 1st mth cos they r overstimulated by all the sights and sounds during the celebration lah. i dun think it's due to pantang reasons but more scientific rite? anyway he shd be ok after a while cos he will need time to settle down

pigpig
wow.. your labour story really is something! i'm glad everything is ok now and congrats on your newborn! 3.7 kg is really big bb! i think win everyone here liao he hee

angeline
how do you hold the cup to your breast while BFing ur bb? still got free hand to hold the cup meh?
edksd
haha u very funny.. i oso feel like BM supplier n logistics specialist liao. but so far i hvnt been labelling the dates cos i noticed my supply isnt THAT fantastic, ie what i express in the morning at 6am will be consumed by nite time the same day so got no chance to expire

vivian
ethan's birthday is 14/9 - is it same as your bb's? and yes, u shd refrigerate freshly expressed EBM till its the same temp as the previous bottle then combine it together

Emma

My bb got hair. The reason why i so concern because i dun remember seeing his hair during my 3D scan and i was born botak too.

Michelle,

Thank god for everything now. And this baby is really the Gift from God!!!!

michelle,
when i dbf, my other boob leak like crazy so i used the Avent breast shield. once done, i just pour it into the bottle and feed the baby. no wastage ha!

dumpty,
today my bb do that to me again (crying after 10 min of feed) i relatched her for 2 more times but still the same response so i give up. she went to sleep after that. i think she has had enough and is telling me enough i dun want your milk anymore! i just wanna zzz! hehehe.

pig2,
nice to see you back!! so sorry about being in labor for so long. poor thing you're in pain! oh no.. but congrats for a big healthy baby and congrats for TBF!!!!

domestic goddess, I find Ameda duo electric not bad. I just bought it last Wed after I decided to stop using my avent manual pump.. coz too siong already.. everytime gotta pump one hr.. With Ameda pump, i only spend 15 mins to pump the same amount as when i use avent manual. The motor is quite ok.. I tried medala mini before and the motor actually died on me and my nipple kanna stuck in the suction haha...

I recall someone made a posting about baby's weight and the amount of milk that baby should be drinking. I can't seem to find this post / link. Can someone pls put the link up again pls. Thanks.

pig2, congrats. Nice to see you back here. Do share with us your breastfeeding experience.

Yah then how about if we expressed out the EBM, can we give to baby to drink immediately sfter express without warming up the milk. The expressed milk is already warm right (with our body temp).

eling
if u can give freshly expressed BM that would be the best! definitely no need to warm u again cos its as gd as direct breastfeedin rite!

i hv a qn about burping our babies - if after 10 min of burping they still dun burp, can we put them back to bed or must continue until we hear them burp? if must continue, how long do we need to do it for?

Hi Michelle,
My baby also doesn't burb everytime after feeding. My CL sometimes just give up & I don't see her do it again. She just commented "some babies just don't burb everytime"...
Noted baby usually has hiccups if he does not burb after feed. Curious on your qn too!

E-ling,
I think no need to warm EBM up if you intend to feed straight after. I have tried that before already (so hectic trying to catch up the expressing with baby's demand).

I do get comments from my mum why the cold is so cold. I will have to argue with her that this is freshly squeezed mother's milk and at just the right tempreture. If baby were to drink straight from my breast it would be at this tempreture too.

My bb is on TBF, and he gain about 300g 2 days after discharge from the hospital. My gynae and nurses in NUH is very supportive about BF during my stay in the hospital, so each time I bf, the nurses will come in to check if bb latch on well! According to the them, my Malcolm is an agressive nurser! As I had c-section, I tried laying down method, but i dun quite like it, so second day, when the LC came to my room, she taught me football and cradle method! Inititally i am using football on my left and cradle on my right, but when I got home, my mom teach me cradle method for my left, as she thought will be more convenient. Anyway i am using cradle method on both side, so far so good.

Last night I even received a call from the staff nurse, to see how am I doing with the BF and being a new mother.

My Malcolm feeds every 2-3 hours, and each time he will take about 15-20 mins to "empty" my breast. And usually he will take 1 1/2 breast before he decided to call it a day. But usually I will burp him after he finish 1 breast. Sometimes is very fast to have him burped, sometimes it seems to take a long time. Of course, is not always he will burp, usually i will do it for awhile before i allow him to latch on another breast.

After he had finished BF, is his peeing and pooing time! So spent about another 10mins cleaning and changing him.

Everyday morning I will keep a new bottle of EBM in the fridge to stand by for the day, and discard away the previous day's bottle. And in between the hours, I will also discard away any EBM!

Michelle,
no lah. Pig2's bb not the biggest... hee.. my Rhys is 3.82kg... hee... huge bb... 1 week later already 4kg liao... now dun know eh...
My milk also the same as yours, no chance to expire. Dun even have enuff to TBF yet... haa.. still got so many glass bottles waiting for me but no chance to use at all.... sigh...
My Rhys is 18/9. 4 days later than ethan... hee... must call ethan "gor gor" liao...

Pig2,
wah... you must have good supply of BM. Can TBF and yet afford to throw away a bottle of EBM ah... envy... me still trying to catch up with his intake... sigh... envy envy....

vivian
wah ur rhys 3.82kg! woo! champion liao lor! even tho ethan older than him. i think in terms of size u rhys will sure win him ;)

so how is your expression coming along? still doing diligently every 3 hrs? for me, will stretch between 3-4 hrs and in 1 day usually can only meet 7 sessions - cant seem to get the 8th sesion in leh. the worst is at nite when i hv to drraaaag myself out of bed to pump. there was 1 nite i a bit lazy so didnt pump for more than 5 hrs and when i woke up the breasts wsa hard like stone! after tat i very scared liao so now guai guai always make sure i dun exceed 5 hrs gaps :p wait kena engorgemt then siao liao...

Angeline, I'm the one who post it but i remember someone said thats for FM and its not accurate,...she also mention it can be found on the can label.

helo ladies.......me finally back. i heard some ppl wondering where i MIA to huh? hehehee..... I gave birth on 18 Sept, resting at home all this while. shack. DBF all the way and loving it. though super tiring.

abt the qn on burping, bfd babies dun swallow as much air when feeding, so may not always burp. parentcraft instructor say burp at most 2mins can liaoz, dun need 10mins. as for hiccups, i notice my DS gets it when i change diaper for him too soon after feeds. so i lift up his legs mah, my PD says it is caused by the milk or air entering his oesophagus or something like dat. he can hiccup beri long hehehee.......

Doesn't matter whose bb biggest, most impt they are all healthy!!!!

I thought I am doing DBF, so dun need to store so much milk in the fridge, so I will just discard away any EBM for the day and the previous day bottle.

But is definately a very good experience to breastfeed baby! And I am enjoying every moment breastfeeding my bb.

My bb sometimes will hiccups too, what my mum teach me is to feed some plain water. I do not know whether is the right way or not, but somehow after some plain water, my bb will stop his hiccups.

hi pig2, i heard abt the plain water thingie too. but the babycare booklet from SBCC says that if u feed water during hiccups he may choke leh, so i dun dare to. i stop feeding him if he having hiccups too.

Any mummies doing massage for babies? Came across other thread organsing free trial lesson for BB massage, anyone knows where can we learn baby massage??

got another question about pumping. When we say to pump every 3 hours, is it 3 hours from start of session, or 3 hours from end of previous session?
Eg. if 1st session was 7 am, pump for 30 mins, next session should start at 10 am, or 10:30?

If we were to pump more frequently, (maybe every 2 hours)will we yield less from the session, or will the volume be the same?

I get average 60 - 80 ml per session now and am pumping every 3 hrs (from end of session). But still not enough to catch up with Trinity's demand. She is currently drinking 90mls and get hungry every 2 to 2.5 hrs.

Need advice to see how to catch up with her demands.

hi angeline, to catch up w her demands, u'll hv to latch her on before u pump. only by latching on, u'll stimulate more supply.

pig2,
its common 4 babies to hiccups. wat my CL did when my boy hiccups is to bring him to me and i BF him 4 a while. the idea is juz to let him drink some water to stop the hiccups, so DBF works the same way. i dun think feeding water is necc. and somemore coz my boy still has jaundice, a few days back i was feeding him dong gua water using spoon at the insistence of my mum & MIL, and i realised he got wind. my CL says it cld b due to the ingestion of this dong gua water as it was done using spoon since DBF babies hardly shld ingest any wind normally. when we tap on his little tummy, there is a hollow sound.
i think this causes his sudden erratic drinking cycle oso.

angeline
for me, i count it as the start of the session, eg: if pump at 3pm the next session shd be at 6pm even tho the last session ended at 3.30pm

i do notice that if i pump every 2 hrs, the volume is slightly lesser than if i pump at 3 hr intervals, but the overall yield is still higher per day. do note u need to be a bit hardworking and wake up at nite to pump too. so maybe to catch up wif trinity's dd, u can consider pumping at 2 hr intervals sometimes instead of 3hr, so u can get more than 8 sessions a day? how old is trinity now? my son is 26 days old and taking 90ml every 2-3 hrs

not sure how to increase supply oso. personally i'm taking fenugreek supplemt and it seems to work pretty well. in my 1st wk i can only get about 30 ml per session but now, in my 4th wk, i can get about 100-140ml per session (30 min per session). i take 3 capsuels per day - all at one shot
not sure if its the supplemt that works but u might wanna give it a try?

oh btw u need to drink lots of fluids too. i think that helps as well

pig2, can ask u something? i heard if bfdg cannot drink too much tang kwei and ginseng. is that true? but during confinement sure eat such things mah.

thanks ed, michelle,
I will try to pump at 2 hour interval, see if can increase overall supply not. I am also taking fenugreek for about a week now, did manage to increase from 40 ml, to 60-80ml, hopefully in a couple more weeks can get more than 100 like you guys. Trinity is now 21 days old and we started giving her 90 ml per feed today since the usual 80 seems to keep her happy only for less than 2 hours.

Ed, I do hope to be able to pump after latching, but looking at the situation, even when I pump, I can only yield 60 - 80, when she needs 90 to be full, do you think I can still pump after I allow her to latch for 1 hr?, you think I should just let her latch, then supplement with 30ml FM and still try to pump to stimulate increase supply?

What I do now is to allow her to latch on direct in the nights (say 1 - 6 am)mainly cos too lazy to get up to make FM or pump, and for the rest of the day just pump and pump and try to feed her with EBM and only give FM when EBM is not enough to catch up.

Seems like DG may really have gone into labour, haven't seen her around the whole day.

err why cant drink tang kwei? we are suppose to be eating heaty stuff and tang kwei is heaty right...my mom cooking that alternate days for me leh....

Angeline, why dont u let ur bb latch on in the day time as well? i suppose latch on will see better result den expressing....

rainnie,
reason for no latching on all totally all the time is cos I am worried baby not getting enough milk. So by pumping at least I can know that she is having adequate intake.
Also quite often, my baby doesn't let go of the breast by herself. She can continue to suck and suck for long long time (hours). I still cannot tell if she is really drinking or just comfort sucking.

Angeline, my girl also can latch as long as 2hrs if i doesnt stop her and that 2hrs is only at 1 side of the breast. Am wondering whether she really drink or not but she did suckle leh. When i pump i only managed to pump out abt 60ml-80ml per side (but everytime she is drinking 120 to 160ml of my expressed milk). So after i stop her from suckle one side of my breast she will just continue sleeping for 2 to 3hrs. And i still managed to pump some milk from that breast leh So is it mean that when we latch her on, she will drink more than what we can pump out? Eg she can get 120ml - 160ml of BM by suckle only one side of the breast but when we expressed out, we can only get 60ml -80ml?

Hi all, Domestic Goddess has given birth to her boy Nicholas on 10/10 at 1600hrs...both mum and son are very well. Son is 3.69kg and 51cm.

mebbe after she suckle fr the breast, the amt of milk is oredi reduced that's y u can only express out less? anyway for DBF babies i think the only way to know whehther they hv enuf to eat is to monitor the diapers and how many they go thro a day...

Hi Gals
I also have the same problem. My boy will suck for hours and yet he will cry within an hour to indicate he is hungry.

I checked with Mrs Wong and she said "not correct". Should be 20 minutes on each side of the breast ... if more may got to do with latching problem etc :x

So in the end I also pump out coz I can't figure out what's wrong :x stressful

I am back from MIA again. . .hahahaha.. .

Chng's Wife,
Celebrating your baby full month this weekend . . wow how time fly and we all pop and baby is alreay one month old liao.

So anyone helping you after this???

Wonder how is Joon is doing???

Domesticgoddess,
Finally you have pop. . .well done!!! Congrats!

Any mummies going back to work soon???