(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

hi emma, my bb ever only poo-ed once a day only. i think it's due to insufficient fluid (milk). now he's poo-ing abt 4 times a day but v little quantity each time. im oso v worried.

but what to do, my bb doesnt seem to hv a big appetite leh. everyday after breastfeeding im suppose to supplement him w 65ml of ebm, but 10ml only and he's asleep for many times and takes more than 30min to feed.

hi sha, i'll try to continue... it's really tiring... and each time i see my bb sleeping so soundly... really dun feel like waking him up every 2-3hr to bf and cup feed him w ebm...

if he could talk, maybe he can let him know he really needed sleep or milk more..

whenever i try to let him latch on, when he's not hungry, he's simply not interested.. so how? how to increase his fluid intake like tt?

today going to parentcraft again... so worried his weight remains the same or worse drop... sigh...

e-ling, thanks for sharing. I also think $43 is cheap compared to what she can do for you. Glad to know that your bf is now going well. Keep it up!

ilovebabies, my son used to drink about 80ml per feed for a long time. All babies are different, as long as they put on weight, they are ok.

FEEDING WHEN OUT
Mummies, why not just latch bb on when you are out? There are lots of nurseries in most malls these days with designated breastfeeding rooms so you can latch on in private.

emma
how old is ur bb now? is he on TBF? according to my bfg bk, babies that r more than a mth old sometimes go into this stage where they will not move bowels for several days and its normal. however, if it really worries u, better check wif PD.

edksd,
don't worry too much. . . maybe you are thinking too much as well.

Relax when the baby is hungry they will cry for more milk.

Baby cry when they want to poo poo => need to change their diaper, cry when they are hungry, cry when they want to sleep. . . so just check all three and if the cry non-stop is also okie they just want to carry around . . . so dont worry too much.

I did not weight my baby, as long as she is drinking milk it is okie. . . so don't let the "number" stuff stress you too much okie.

Joon,

How is your milk flow up or down?? After the advise and instruction you got???

Just BF my baby this morning and also pump out whatever is left in breast. Think the milk supply is going down, will still con't to BF my baby later and see if the milk flow is really going down.

domesticgoddess, if bf bb when out in malls.. that means my poor hubby will hv to wait 1hr outside ma? coz normal bf direct duration is hr leh..

Hi Sha,
Actually it has gone up a little little bit
... when my hb gives the EBM by bottle and I pump, it has increased to about 80-90ml for both breasts... used to be about 60ml... but I'm thinking my EBM store is not going to last long coz he now needs about 100ml by bottle to feel full... oh well!

Hi edksd,
Don't worry ok? I think it'd be best to seek a professional opinion coz that will help lay ur worries to rest. Before seeing ur PD or a lactation consultant, why don't u keep an accurate log of ur bb's sleeping, feeding, pooing and peeing pattern over 2 days or so, that way ur PD will have an accurate picture of what's going on.

AH! Bb crying! Gotta go!

edksd.. hmm... he juz pooed this morning after i posted the msg.. but will cont to monitor.. sigh... thing is he is drinking like 100ml every 2-3 hours.. so he should be pooing alot right.. cos drink so much.. he's 20 days old now... i never weigh him.. but carry like more heavy alr..

btw.. he has like pimples leh... do u all put any cream if ur bb has pimple-like spots??? my mom said its cos i ate too much durian during pregnancy..
everything also mother's fault one..

Emma,
My baby also have "pimples" since born. My doc say it's normal and also it will gone a way in 2 months or 3 months times. Also the pimple could because of our breast milk. So it's better to clean yr bb face after BF.

Hi Gals
I also have the same breastfeeding issues like you all so in the end I decided to just pump out the breastmilk ! :x Checked with a few of my friends who managed to breastfeed for 2 years purely by Pumping and not latch on. They claimed supply did not go down as long as we are faithful to pump out.

So now, I will pump out every 3 hours and feed him on alternate feeding session. Breastmilk followed by formula ... sometimes will feed him sorely on breastmilk during daytime and sub with formula at nite. Must wake up at 3am to 4am to pump milk too. So far my breastmilk supply has went up just by pumping

This has greatly reduced my breastfeeding stress hee hee :D and both me and bb are happier ha ha :D

melissa
i didnt ask my dr y i had an episiotomy. i just assumed its cos bb's head was too big... 33cm circumference.

mine still hurts slightly too but dr said it shd go away in 2 wks fr devliery date. so that means by end of this wk our wound shd not hurt anymore. if it still does then better call your dr and go back for check up again

Riushiki.. me doing exactly the same thing as u.. hehe.. my fren also solely expressing, no latching on ever since the beginning... now her bb is 5 months old, she is pumping 500ml every session!!! hehe... more than enough for her bb... she even offered to give me her milk!!!
but my mom dun let enzo drink frozen milk..

MingLiew.. thanx... i'll clean his face more often now... think he's v hot.. my mom still insists to wrap him up...

btw.. ur babies still being wrapped up while zzzing??? or can let them zzz "openly" alr???

Emma,
WHAT? 500ml! That's half a litre of milk... oh my! Ur friend is amazing! I do swaddle my bb whenever he's not playing or feeding... he REALLY likes it
and it helps to keep him calm. If u're afraid it'll be too hot for him, use a nappy to wrap him. That's what we're using... they're really thin and light

Riushiki,
That's great to hear! I was also thinking of just pumping and feeding him EBM, but I'm so lazy with the sterilisaing and washing!!! (such a lazy mummy)

joon.. yeah.. i was so shocked too!!! that's one mineral bottle full of bm lehz.. so envious right.. dunno when then we can be lidat.. hehe...

Michelle,

Regarding the numb fingers I also got them a/f discharge from hospital. The confinement lady said because I touch water too much thus she boil some hard liquor with giner and rub for me. After 2 treatment it's better. However the slight numbness i feel at the back dosen't seem to go off. Dun knw whether it due to epidural or becus carry the baby for too long.

Melissa,
Yes, the epidural work for me well. Total numbness.

Cherrie,
Thanks alot for the contact. I got the confinement lady alr.

I'm also tinkin of rebonding the hair b/f going back to work but rebonding take 5hr. Bb always wake up 2-3 hrs later breastfeeding. Any suggestion. Right now still not enough milk to express. How to go for rebonding??

melody
thks for the tip! i'm goin to ask my MIL to do that for me and get my hubby to massage for me.. hope it works. any kind of hard liqour rite?

like some other mummioes here, my bb oso refuse to latch on cos the milk flow fr bottle is so much faster. so now i just express everything and feed to him via bottle and at nite give FM. i pump every 3 hrs and so far only mng to get about 50ml per session. wonder when or whether i can hit 500ml! such a lucky woman your fren...

Emma,
WHAT? 500ml! That's half a litre of milk... oh my! Ur friend is amazing! I do swaddle my bb whenever he's not playing or feeding... he REALLY likes it
and it helps to keep him calm. If u're afraid it'll be too hot for him, use a nappy to wrap him. That's what we're using... they're really thin and light

Riushiki,
That's great to hear! I was also thinking of just pumping and feeding him EBM, but I'm so lazy with the sterilisaing and washing!!! (such a lazy mummy)

domesticgoddes,

i bought the MIM sling.. i nurse my bb directly by latching on when i go out.. even when walking.. i juz find a discret corner, unhook my nursing bra, latch bb on, arrange my top properly (i wear nursing top liaoz) and i juz continue walking around lor.. bo chap..

Emma, Julian started to pass motion on alternate days about a week ago and I got quite worried coz he used to poo after every feed. Brought him to see PD on Sat and PD said it is normal... He has seen cases where babies didn't poo for 5 days...

Edksd, my bb put on 1.3kg in less than one month. His weight now is 4.8kg..... Quite worried if he is putting on too much weight...

babyzucchini.. ya lohz.... so envious right... never mind lahz.. we perservere.. think we should be there also... cos she pump.. she also couldnt tbf till like the 3rd month.... so we cannot give up!!!!!

btw anyone here giving FM to their babies? i got 2 unopened tins of enfalac HA which i need to sell off cos we bought it wrongly. let me know yah? definitely a gd price

Hi all, seems like some are having prblem with latching on....mi dun have such prbm...i have problem letting my ger use milk bottle instead. Any good advise?

I oso have numbless on my fingers....massage with liqour will that be harmful for our BM???

my ger is 12 days old...her poopoo is still very watery is that okie?

Melody, y not ask hairstylist to go ur house do rebond? I never go salon and do rebonding or highlighting one .. cuz my cousin is a hairstylist...she will cum my house do it for me. only troublesome part is u have to wash the hair ur self loh. I intend to get her to do that for me so that every 2 -3hrs i can still feed my ger

Rainnie,
I suppose you r giving your bb BM. Becos if BM, then poopoo tends to be watery. But if FM, then poopoo tends to be harder.

I also feel like rebonding but heard from my sil that better don't rebond or color for the next 3 months. So i see how.. maybb i just go for haircut after confinement.

Emma,
pimple like spots on baby are common. Yes, due to breastfeeding. Just take a cotton pad and damp it with wet water... and dry your bb's mouth after finish BF. It will go away after a few days!

Emma,
my bb is being wrapped tightly day and night. But sometimes, when he struggle.. his two hands come out from the napkin.
Reason to wrap bb tightly is because when they are wrapped up, they feel more secured. So if any noise, they wont wake up so easily or fear so easily.

I m from Dec 2006 MTB. Like to check with all mummies with CL experience. Did you use cloth diapers during confinement and CL did the washing? And one day need to use how many diapers?

Juz finished my 7 session massage today. Shiok. I felt so much lighter after massage... and my massage lady very sweet.. gave a red packet secretly to my bb...
I will still be using her .. but after i finish my confinment.. and probably ask her to come once or twice a month to massage!

This is my 4th week ... initially when I expressed .. i can't even get 10ml !!! ha ha ha My mil was beside me and kept saying "u no milk lah" I so depressed !!

I used Ameda initially to express but nothing came out. I switched to using Avent manual and managed to squeeze 30ML on and off. Now I switched back to Ameda and I managed to squeeze out 180ML after trying hard for 4 weeks !!!

Now my mil don't say anything coz she can see my bottles of milk hee :D

I bought a handfree accessories for my breast pump so now I dun have to keep holding on to my pump
Can read books and sms now and realize can squeeze more milk :p

little pony, thanks for the info.

by the way, my ger keeps on hiccup after feeding & drinking water. is there any ting wrong?

and must baby burp after each feed? cuz i pap my ger's back every time after each feed but she doesnt burp all the time!

rainnie.. yes... muz burp after every feed.... unless u try for like 15 mins.. dun have then maybe u can stop.. but its best to burp bb after each feed.. get rid of the wind...

and hiccups are normal... even feeding water may not help..

Congrats Dabee & Mae! Enjoy ur new baby and ur new life as a mommy

Littlepony, ur massage lady is so nice!

Riushiki, 30ml to 180ml is a very good improvement
Congrats! Any tips on how u did it? Ya, I understand ur MIL situation... when I first started expressing, my milk was yellowish coz of the colostrum and she was like "why is ur milk such a funny colour?" HIYAH! Can u share where u got ur "hands-free breast pump kit"? hee hee... I want one too! Sitting there is so boring!

ilovebabies,
i'm not bottle feeding anymore... now i'm latching him but everytinehalf way feeding he will cries then i got to stop n pacify him then latch again...
this can happens many times during 1 feed until sometimes i wish to give up... hai

Hi Rannie,
It is okie that the poo is watery, my baby is now coming to one month during the first two week her poo poo a lot and it is very watery. . you BF her right. . .that is rather normal.

I too have the numbness on my fingers as well it is due to the water retention it will go off slowly, nothing to worry.

Baby hiccup is rather normal, my baby hiccup even before she is born. .. in my tummy. It will go away slowly. My baby hiccup as well, according to the book it is normal.

Littlepony,
How much do you pay for your massage and what is her name?

elaine,
me too have the same the problem. . .think they are used to bottle feed . . .sian. . hehehe

hi Emma,
those pimples like things on baby's face is call baby achne according to my PD is normal we just need to leave them alone n wipe baby's face more often to keep it clean unless is really a lot a lot then PD can give cream to apply (but e cream contains some steroid so PD wont give unnessarily).
PD so told me e following during Zhaohui's 1st mth jab:
- abt baby's achne
- baby might not poo everyday n is normal cos they start to develop their own pooing habits. sometimes can up to 5 days nv poo. unless u see baby struggling to poo then u might suspect is constipation.
- baby will make a lot of noise during sleep n sometimes will squeeze until face turn red red.. is normal

sha, u r also experiencing this problem ah. how r u handling it?

elaine,
I will express out the milk and feed her using bottle lor. . hehehehe. . . will still latch her on, just did that just now and she is a good girl just now and fall asleep with a full tummy. . .hahahaha. . .think it depends on their mood as well.

Riushiki,
ya that is a big improvment!!!!! Way to go!!! What is the secret???

And where do you get the hands-free breast pump kit and how much???

Hi JJ,

I used cloth diaper for my new born, have brought 3 boxes and used up all before the night come which I change to pampers.

Sometime it is not enough as well coz during the first two weeks baby poo poo alot and after that baby wee wee alot as well.

I think the confinement lady will do the washing as well, better double check again, I am not sure.

riushiki.. ya man... that's a huge improvement.. how did u do it? from 30ml to 180ml!!! if only i had 180ml every session... i'll be less gloomy...

elaine.. thanx for ur tips... enzo realli struggle alot while he's zzzing... see him i also feel uncomfortable.. lol...

btw.. drink bm will get constipation meh?? i thought his stool should be rather soft and fluid???

hi Sha

totally agree with you on golden rule number 1 hehhe it makes life easier ya ?

I was sick last weekend too ... wore a face mask today while latching my gal... dunno if she can recognise me ahhha

motherhood is really not easy. I have adapted to this hectic lifestyle .. bo bian right ?

today went to mum place and visited my gynae tonite for my Pap Smear.
and the stitches of my wound has dissolved so everything is alright.
and I brought my gal to TB plaza for shopping while waiting for appt and I latched her at the nursery room... hehe 1st time latching her outside .. not too bad

just finished hand washing bb and my clothes ... v tired ..

emma

did u consult a PD on enzo's prob ?
but I rem PD said it's normal for bb to not poopoo for a day leh ..

btw it's not good to wrap your bb in such hot weather. Their temp may go up and you may thought that he has develop a fever. In any case, bb temperature is slightly higher than adults, do take note.

edksd

did u try burping your boy ? prob it helps him to absorb the milk easier.
but I think Joon's suggestion is good. i also keep all these details of rachel in a booklet in case my hubby take over my duties and he can refer to the booklet for more details. Of cos, it helps when you bring your child to the PD.

i am not sure how much my Rachel put on weekly cos I dun have such precise weighing machine.

jasmine

dun get too stress over the express output. prob like what ur gynae say, you are more diff to achieve letdown during expressing but at least your gal is feeding well by latching on you

elaine

if it's so diff to latch on, then you may want to switch back to bottle feeding ?
as what the gals said, some mothers can achieve good milk supply just by expressing and no latching !
dont give up BF ok !