(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

ilovebabies... It feels good to be back.. heehee.. I wish I have popped secretly lah.. now still waiting for my turn, THE DAY.. heehee...

You are so lucky, nearing your end of confinement isn't it? How I envy you... :> Hope everything's fine for Rachael..

For me, the biggest worry is I don't have enough breast milk lah.. I find that my breasts have actually shrunken in size during my third trimester.. Don't know whether it is in comparison to my tummy or whether they have really shrunk.. Worry that I don't have enough milk for my baby.. :p

Smiley

yeah last week for me ... phew .. got sick of confinement food liao ..

eh my breast also shrunk in size during last tri leh .. i also find it funny

but once u BF, ur boobs will grow again ! haha.. so big now .. feel so clumsy

dun worry abt supply .. it's how u est the supply during first few weeks. good luck hor ...

ilovebabies,
Wow so nice that yr confinement gonna end soon.
This is the 1st week of my confinement... Really cannot tahan the rule of can't wash hair..

I actually wash my hair with the tonic water yesterday.. It's really a great relief.. I can't understand why have to eat so much heaty food n still can't wash hair..

melissa, good luck and all the best for tonight!

Cereal has not delivered yet.. poor gal has bad contractions and only 1.5cm dilated (an hr ago).

dumpty, 3kg is ok mah... just nice.. My gynae told a gf of mine who is 1.55cm tall that as long as her bb's head circumference is less than 35cm, she can deliver naturally. In the end she did have elective c-sect, as her bb's head circumference reached 35cm and weighed 3.5kg at 37 weeks and at birth, bb was 3.7kg.

I understand that whether bb is too big for natural delivery depends on the head circumference and mummy's height. Weight is issue, but usually only if bb is over 3.6kg. I know of many mummies who are under 1.6m tall and deliver naturally (some with epidural) though their bb are over 3.5kg.

mummie_of_rhys, did you tell gynae your preference for natural delivery?

E-ling, can drink, but should drink immediately after BF as the alcohol will appear in our blood stream and milk supply 20 min after consumption. But don't drink too much at one go.

ilovebabies, i can understand. It happened to me a lot in the beginning when bb would sleep for longer than i expected and i was so engorged that I had to express to relieve. Then bb sudddenly wake up from hunger! DOH! Actually once bb is past 1 month old, can feed with bottles already so you can give the expressed BM with no risk of nipple confusion.

ming liew, i actually washed my hair every alternate day and showered every day since day 5. My mum was upset with me, but didn't have any choice as i am very stubborn.

smiley, don't worry about supply. Our supply is not related to breast size at all. Supply is completely dependent on demand, so the more bb latch on (or you express), the more supply you get as your breasts get stimulated and your body thinks bb needs more milk. i know of mummies who have A cup size breasts and can TBF a 6 month old bb. So there must be enough milk.

Hi Smiley,
Wow long time no see! Can't believe you're still working. My EDD is 2 days after you and yet I am already on maternity leave hehehe. My mucus plug is gooey and it comes out in a gush and tainted with a little brown. It's a lot more than my usual discharge. I guess it's due to my cervical check the day before.

domesticgoddess,
My PD is recommended by my gynae. It's a woman. Forgot her name. Her clinic is also in GlenE.

I just heard from Cereal that progress is quite slow poor thing. Let's all pray that Cereal can go into active labor soon. This is my fear for induction liao. Later I will be going through the same thing as she does! I'm so nervous!

poor cereal... jia you jia you *wish u can hear all the cheers*

domesticgoddess, I'm considered tall (1.7m) but then skinny (was around 52kg pre-pregnant). So I guess my baby can still grow till quite big and yet can still go natural?

domesticgoddess,

Me told my gynae from the very beginning abt my pref for natural liao. She also agreed but she also told me her view lah... She scared that since I wanted natural, if bb too big, in the end also cannot natural. That is why she will recommend induce if bb is ready to be out. She said, "It is always better for bb to be out (when he is ready) than inside mummy as we dun know what will happen.".

I am ard 1.7m but really fat. Has been overweight before preg. Now already 82kg liao. Hopefully my big butt can let him out nicely lor...

Cereal... JIA YOU!!!

Hi domesticgoddess,

I also read that 5-6 or 6-8 soiled nappies a day means baby is having enough.. but hor, my girl, i TBF her, even at night.. she feed for 1hr (sob!) and needs feeding every 2 -3 hrs interval.. depending on her demand.. her soiled nappies r like 4 nappies? do i need to worry about her having enough?

even if i want to give her FM after BF, she sleeps liaoz.. n refuse to open her mouth even if we stroke her cheeks and carry her etc..and she can sleep for 1-3 hrs inbetween feedings lor..

I am Sooooooooooooooo frustrated over expressing milk.. really pathetic amounts..why hah? iz it the pump? i bought Avent IQ Uno, but find the suction super lousy...Isis' suction is better, but, i can get the milk out.. how how? change pump?

ilovebabies,

did mona managed to shrink back ur tummy? i just started yesterday.. the jamu damn itchy on my skin.. i buay tahan wrap 7 hrs ah.. i lost 1.5 inch 1st day..

Hi Melissa, yah loh.. it's been a while since I login :p So many of them have delivered! When will it be OUR turn???!! Is yours going to be tonight? I am a bit lost still but I saw domesticgoddess post wishing you good luck for tonight.

I am still working lah.. My boss needs me to be around still. In fact, she hinted to me to work till the day i deliver leh.. I will see how things go lah.. Very tired these days, esp when I can't really sleep well at night. No choice lah, I myself also want to save my maternity leave so that I can spend more time with baby, so I just agree to continue working loh..

ilovebabies, can you email me Mona's contact? Seems that she's really good according to you eh? Heehee.. you have my email right?
I wonder whether she's still available.

Domesticgoddess and ilovebabies, thanks for the encouragement. I am always worried I don't have enough milk for baby... :p Heehee...

Smiley,
Yeah I am to be admitted tonight. My procedure will the same as Cereal. Do admissions and go to ward or was it delivery suite. Where they will put some drugs up our wee wee and active labor should start in the morning of tomorrow. I think you should rest lah. Take leave already. I oso buay tahan b'cos my boss hinted about me working until I deliver. I said no way man b'cos I find her very demanding (even though she has two kids herself). So I actually asked my gynae for hospital leave prior to maternity leave.. hehehe.