(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

but he got worried tt day only after he touched my tummy and womb... tt's y made me worried

ur gynae says could be placenta wk or other reasons... did u ask him what other reasons?

i know for placenta aging or weak, u'll see white spots on the placenta.

by touching the tummy and womb is just to see whether bb has engaged or not right?

when's ur next checkup? maybe u can ask him for more details so as to ease ur doubts.

I asked for the reasons and wat can be done to improve, he said nothing can be done... he said to monitor closely, so Tues shd be my checkup, but I postponed to Thurs...

Hope baby will grow bigger by then.....

hi emoments, i understand your worries. just like what the doc said, monitor the foetal movements closely. if you feel that the movement has decreased, do not hesitate to go to the doc's.

at the same time, you should try to stay positive. you have come so far...

Hi Shirlyn
How do you find Dr Tan so far ?

I think he is quite nice and patient :p

No signs of labour ..... think mine is really false contraction :x

Riushiki,
Both my hubby and I like him- very jovial and patient doc. I think we were always entertained by him every visit. In fact, he was recommended by my colleagues.

Wonder if he will still crack jokes when he's delivering the baby...

Hi Shirlyn

Yup .. he is a very funny person :p He said my bb looked like Charlie Brown coz his face very round

We also like to joke with him hee hee :p

Actually he done an ovarian cyst surgery for me last year and his skill was real good :p Managed to recover fast and w/o much pain ...

WhatzUp,
Thanks for the info on confinement lady, will call the agent and check if there's any available

Riushiki,
Regarding strep B tesy, I tested negative week 35. My gynae recommend the test cos the bacteria can pass on to the baby during delivery and affect baby's brain.

emoments,
Did your gynae do Doppler ultrasound scan to check the placenta? My baby was small too (weight less than 2kg at wk 34) and gynae suspected weak placenta. He sent me to Dr.Ananda at Camden Medical for the Doppler scan and confirmed my placenta is ok and the small baby size may just due to genetic reason or lack of rest. Since then i am ordered to bedrest so that more blood flows to the placenta instead of my muscles. After bedrest for 2 weeks baby did grow a little. Doc is doing CTG everyweek to monitor baby and i'm to observe baby movement everyday, as long as baby stay active should be alright. Don't be too worried, try to eat and rest well and monitor baby movement closely.

Congrats to ilovebabies and Elaine! I have not been checking the forum lately cos spending most of the time at my MIL's place so she can take care of my meals. Manage to scan through some of the archives during the weekend and found that both of you pop

Ilovebabies, your little princess v cute
499574.gif

Elaine, didn't see your baby pic, did i missed it?

Thanks ilovebabies.. Glad to hear that Rachel is back and well! and hope I can be as successful as u in bf

cereal, Thanks for the info on the PJ.

hi dumpty

it is not nec to pack breast pump in your bag. You can ask for the pump in the hospital. They will sterilise it for you. During Rachel's stay in Mt A for her jaundice, sometimes I also expressed my milk there and passed to the nurses for her later feeds.

i asked the nurse to give her Similac on the 2nd day after she was born cos she seemed to get hungry. .. u can see from the way they move their mouths .. searching for breast ehehhe v cute one ...

as for now, bb rachel can still drink from NUK bottle and latch on me ... so I hope she maintained it this way. Day time I will latch her on if possible but sometimes I still supplement her with my expressed milk in bottle. During the wee hours, I wont latch her on cos it takes a longer time and I will be v v sleepy. And she doesnt likes AVENT bottles... luckily I prepared these 2 brands and NUK turned out to be the winner ehheh

hey has amy delivered ?? wah she sud sud .. can still come online in hospital !

i come into forum everyday hoping to see another labour story leh ehehhe ... gals, jia you ah !

ilovebabies: wow..i dun know bb also will choose the brand of bottles ar.. i always tot avent is the common brand and can't go wrong - i also bought avent bottles...

emoments: just to share with u..though our case may not be the same.
during about my 23 - 30 weeks timeframe, my gynae touched my tummy and commented that my bb is not big (in fact, she just said not big but did not say "small"), but that was enough to make me worry already, coz during that time I also noticed that my tummy did not seem to grow bigger too... however, there is consistent/average weight gain.. but not on bb, on me
. That time, gynae did not put me on bedrest or anything, and i just tot..bb is just not big that's all. But, as i was worried than, i decided to change my course of diet. From then onwards, i took less carbohydrates and focus more on fish/meat/vegs/fruits. I cut down on noodles/breads too, drink milk, eat cereals (that's why my nick is "cereal"
). At one point, I ate durians.
At 34 wks 4 days, I did a scan and my bb's weight was 2.5kg. I was
then coz my bb really started to grow....
In fact, i dunno what caused my bb to "slowed down" in growth during my 2nd tri, and then shot up after tat.. but i attribute it to my diet.. and figured that my bb does not like carbos..haha

ladies..anyone has been having insomnia like me

for the past 4 weeks, i have been having insomnia. Either can't get to sleep or waking up to pee and can't get back to sleep again. Gynae gave me some pills to curb insomnia but i did not take...
most nites, i have been sleeping avg. of 1hr - 5hrs

ilovebabies, so good to hear taht bb Rachel is doing great now! Take good care!

emoments, don worry so much. I am sure your bb will catch up. In fact, mine is smaller than yours leh.

cereal, talking about insomnia. I had a terrible night last night! Just couldn't fall asleep and backaches v-area aches! Alamak...now so tired.

ilovebabies,
This afternoon I will be going for my doctor appointment, moving into week 39 this week. Might ask the doctor today if induce is necessary, as he will be going away for another one week after this coming weekend.

Have been doing alot of walking. . "shopping walking" and also every morning at least 10mins walk to work hoping that she listen and be a good girl. . . . hehehehe. . .

So happy that both you and Rachel are doing are great! So far did you take any shower?? You are doing your confinement at your mum's house or in the comfort of your own house? How is your hubby coping with it and is he on leave? .

Do you all fart a lot? I do recently.

ilovebabies,
for NUK bottle, r u using latex or silicone teats? some bb get nipple confusion, so itz great that bb Rachel can adapt so well to both bottle n latching on!

cereal, bena,
i haven't been sleeping well too. Last night also terrible for me too cos of the nightmares - dreamt i was spotting badly n couldn't get to c the gynae!!
Must b due to all the discomfort I was feeling.

btw, i feel my bb's position has changed over the wkend. Not sure if she has "turned" or is engaged. She's suddenly v. heavy, i feel lots of downward pressure like something pushing down at my v. area, and when i lie on my back, itz extremely painful on my spine, like my bb's heaviest part is weighing down on it. Do u think itz 'cos she has turned?

Hi to all,
That was a lot of posts within a weekend.

I had a terrible weekend. Reason being, i had mild contraction on Friday afternoon so i went to see my gynae for checkup. Gynae say bb's head is low and suspect i may go into labour by next week. And at night, i was having a terrible contraction with an interval of 5 sec each. And each contraction was so unbearable. I didn't sleep the whole night thinking i may be going into labour. So 1st thing in the morning, i went to my gynae again. Put me on CTG machine and yes, there was signs of contractions. Gynae checked on my cervix and it hasn't open at all. Gynae suggested that i go back and rest and if the pain still persists, i should admit to the hospital for inducing.

When i went back home, the pain got mild and frequency of the pain gets lesser and lesser. Now i am on medication to ease the pain. And so i am reporting back to work again.

I am still wondering why i feel the pain and now, i don't! Sigh!! Anyway, it's my 37 weeks today and i see when my little naughty boy wants to come out. Probably , he changed his mind at the last minute.

Hi, morning mums

Have been missing so many posts
but congrats to Elaine!! And ilovebabies, good to hear that Rachel is in the clear now
So how is ur confinement so far? When is ur massage lady coming? Just curious, hee hee...

I'm on MC today coz got food poisoning over the weekend... TERRIBLE! Vomitting and diarrhoea :p

When I saw my gynae on Sat to get medicine, she did a VE and I was 1cm dilated and slightly effaced. Nurse told me to walkwalkwalk, then maybe can give birth that day, but with my food poisoning, I decided not to, not in tip-top condition, how to give birth??? Surely peng san :p Is it true that u can be dilated for days before giving birth?
499834.png

Cereal and Bena,
me too have this problem so what i did is i sat up on the bed let myself slowly fall asleep with abit of light music later then I move my pillow down and lay side way this way I tends to sleep better.

Littlepony,
Aiyoh, u shld be resting at home! Why did u go to work? Take it easy and take care ok! What medication did ur gynae give u for the pain?

Puppylove,
Is it engagement? Coz those are the signs - lower pelvic pressure, lower backache... did u notice that u're going to the toilet a lot more often now?

Cereal,
Tell me abt it! I cannot sleep well too... always going to the toilet and no position in bed is ever comfortable. Sleep on the left, ache! On the right, ache! On the back, worst!

Sha, u also having sleepless nights ar...can get quite fedup and pissed right? The body is so tired and hope to fall asleep, but the brain just doesn't seem to want to rest :p
Hhmm, should try the light music.

Yeah yeah!! Light music really helps... no lyrics. When I listen to the radio, I tend to follow the lyrics and sing in my head... no good... :p I have a "relaxation CD" that I play every night now... listening to the woman speak is SOOO boring, I always fall asleep, haha

Hi ilovebabies,

Thanks for the info on the milk bottles. Read from other threads that other babies also behave the same way. They usually develop a preference for one brand after some time, based on their perception of which brand seems closest (in terms of shape and texture and milk flow) to the mother's breast. So no point stocking up on loads of milk bottles before birth.

It's really great that baby Rachel is doing so well! And really envious that you can express so much milk. Hehe... I am kinda worried myself as to whether I have enough milk or not. My breast size dun seemed to have expanded much at all... Still a cup A. Haiz...

Hi moms,

Don't worry too much about the weight gain. As long as baby grows consistently is enough. But if you are really worried, there are 2 factors which are consistently cited in medical reports which will help. One is to increase protein intake. There is a proven link between protein absorption by the fetus and fetal size/weight. The other is of course bedrest, and lying down on your left to have optimal flow of nutrients/oxygen to baby. You can try this out if you want bigger babies.

Honestly, the fetal weight provided by the gynea is just an estimate. It is based on the abdominal circumference and is a very rough guage, since it does not take into account many other crucial factors such as length of limbs and bone density.

I spent the last weekend shopping and eating, and putting the finishing touches to the nursery...
Dunno when I can do so again after baby is out. It was the last weekend when my husband and I spent time as a couple. Come next weekend, I will most probably be pre-occupied with feeding baby... Haiz. It's a bag of mixed feelings.

Have all of you chosen a name for the baby? I haven't really decided on one yet..... Cham siah!

Bena,
Ya it is just so . . eeeeeeeeeee. . . sometime it is the baby kick and punches that is so hard that I could not sleep so my hubby on some light music to clam the baby down and distress me.

I brought Mozart effect for baby CD, so far so good.

Do you feel your figure numb and slight swollen and it get painful at the joint when you try to bend it?

Joon,
I kept thinking of not wasting my maternity leave so i am back to work. Now, i am considering taking leave at least a week earlier rather than being a hero and only go on leave when i am in labour.

I dread the contraction pain. It's really scary. It's like you feel you never want to give birth again. Maybe i have a low threhold of pain but anyway, now i know mine is a false contraction but how can false contraction be so real??

the medication that my gynae gave me is to cure any false contractions. However, if there is real labour pain, it won't stop it. And moreover, my gynae is on leave for 10 days.. that's why he gave me this medication to take. I really hope i can wait for him to come back before i deliver.

It seem like that is a big conference ongoing for almost all gyane . . . my gyane is also going on leave after this weekend for a week.

He said that he needs to go attend a conference - overseas.

From 01 to 09 September 2006 - who else gyane is going away at this time???

Hi peachie,
Me too! After this whole pregnancy, I'm now a full... A cup! So lousy :p
It must be so fun, doing up ur nursery... I wish I could start, but we have to do minor reno to create a new room and becoz of the double 7th month, cannot start until 22 Sept... bleah... :p so long... I cannot wait to decorate it!!

Littlepony,
Know what? I'm thinking of starting my ML too. Like u, I wanted to be the hero and work until I pop, but now feeling so so tired all the time! I'm due next Mon, so thinkg of startg this wk. At least got MC today, might try to get MC for the next 2 days too, then maybe start on Thurs! hee hee...

My hb and I bought the Ookie doll for the bb yest. It's part doll part securite blankie, hee hee... Now, I'm sleeping with his blanket, pillow and doll, hope to transfer some of my smell over to his stuff so hopefully he can sleep better in the crib!

Hi Sha,
Count my gynae in too! I just found out from her on Sat... can't believe she didn't tell me earlier!

I think a lot of them going on leave coz it's the Sept hols lah... time to go on holiday with the children... and my gynae has 5 kids!

aiyo. . . like tat.
next time when want to give birth must select the non-school holiday days and month. . .

me worry as my EDD is on 07 September 2006 and now me moving into week 39 week.

Joon,
Ya. i guess let's try not be a hero..and get proper rest before the real thing. Haa!

Actually, i really do hope i was in labour last week but guess bb backed out at the last minute. I still couldn't figure out why he did that. Anyway, my gynae's nurse called me and asked about me just now. So sweet of them!

Ya.. gynae on holiday. Yours also going for holiday huh???? will she be back when you deliver???

Sha,
Looks like we're in the same boat... I think a few other mummies here are also in the same boat. Anyone knows what will happen if we go into labour when our gynae's away? What will happen if we have already signed on a package with our gynae? I haven't checked with my clinic yet coz only just found out mine is going away this weekend.

Joon,
you are so cute. . sleep with your bb stuff hoping that he can get use to your smell. . . hehehehe. . .

when your baby is born he will listen recongise your voice first as he has been in your tummy for so long. . .hehehehehe. . .

My hubby keep talking to my girl scare that she dont recongise his voice when she is born and only listen to me. . . hahahahaha

When my gyane is away there is replacemeent gyane on stand by and she is Dr Chia. As least the nurse informed me earlier and I ask the gyane who is on stand by for him when he is away.

You better check with your clince just in case.

Today me got appointment with my gyane and I will also tends to check the condition of my baby and whether should I induce anot??? My hubby dont like the idea of induce lor.

Sha,
hee hee hee... just try la! if it works, great!!

Littlepony,
It IS very nice of the nurses to call u
So sweet eh? So far, my gynae going away, Sha's and urs... I wonder how many others?? Mine will be away on my EDD! (4 sept, next mon) Aiyo!

Gals, there's really a gynae conference going on ar? My gynae din say anything about his not being ard leh...

Hellobaby, did you hear anything from Dr. Lee? Is he going away?

joon,
ya, i going toilet more often now. then sometimes when bb moves, i feel both upward motion (middle part of tummy) and downward pressure. Will chk w gynae 2moro.

wah, i saw ur ticker... 7 more days!! u'll get to meet bb soon, so exciting hor!

Hi Cherrie
No leh he didnt do any Doppler ultrasound scan. He did tell me to have more bedrests, but as u r working, not possible except for weekends. I tried to make baby move more now in order to make myself not so worried.

Maybe I should try to finish as much work as I can, then take a few days off to rest.. now also very stressed up with my projects all due in Sep also

Hi Cereal
Yep I did try to change my diet when I reached Trims 2, less carbos. My tummy till now, is not big and sometimes I can still walk very fast, forgetting Im pregnant I dun feel heavy most of the time, only a few time I do. thats when I felt pain, then I feel heavy.

I ate durians too before I reached week 30, but it doesnt seem to improve much thats y gynea said eat anything also doesnt help now just need to have more bedrests and monitor babys movement

I am due this Sunday and decided to go on leave this week to "recover" all the lost sleep. Besides, the gynae said my baby might just come anytime. Kinda scared of the idea of having waterbag burst at work... unfinished work, etc. Thought better to hand over to my colleagues and take a good rest before i start this new phase :p

Sha - i think if given a choice, induce is best avoided. read that the contraction pain will be sudden and that we will not be prepared. I am going to induce on Sat if my baby still does not want to be out coz the amniotic fluid is getting low. Now I 'll try to "sweet talk" her to come out soon.

Joon,
ya.. very sweet of them to call me.. very touched especially after so much trouble i have given to them on Sat. haaa!

Don't worry. normally, people give birth before EDD date .. or if really no choice, they will appoint another gynae to take over.

emoments, if that's the case, then i think it's best to get more rest. Try to hand-over as much as possible. BB more impt than the projects on hand.

Puppylove,
I think ur bb is engaged! Keep us updated after ur appt tom
I was so convinced I was going to deliver yesterday coz of regular contractions, then they went away... hiyah...

Emoments,
I think it's a gd idea to take a few days off... I think some rest before D-Day is gd... helps us conserve energy for D-Day! I hope to start taking ML this Thurs onwards

Sha,
I agree with Shirlyn, best to avoid inducing. U can try walkingwalkingwalking to urge bb to come out earlier.

Littlepony,
Ya I heard that pple normally deliver before EDD. I hope I'm one of them! Today sounds good, hahahaha

Well, ladies, have a good time chatting today... I'm going out for lunch with my sis & bro... Crystal Jade porridge... yums!! (cannot eat much still coz of the food poisoning... chok shld be ok i hope!)

Hi Shirlyn and Joon,
Have been doing alot of walking walking walking already. Baby head is already engaged now is waiting and walking only lor.

will seek doctor advise today lor.

coz doctor going away for one week scare that it might be that week she pop lor.

Hi Shirlyn and Joon,
Have been doing alot of walking walking walking already. Baby head is already engaged now is waiting and walking only lor.

coz doctor going away for one week scare that it might be that week she pop lor.

Hi Shirlyn and Joon,